User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 189

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 20, 2013
    1
    What the hell is this? Give me my money back! This should be retitled "Mentaly handicapped Arm Simulator 2013". It's a struggle just to pick up a tool and do anything with it. I realize it's supposed to be a joke, but it's so frustrating just to do the most basic tasks. I don't find it funny, I find it super annoying. This will teach me a lesson against trying new things on steam.
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    This is definitely a game to play with a friend. It is silly and stupid in a good way. I played the first level 3-4 times and had a lot of fun losing. The novelty started to wear off when I realized I could not try other levels until I beat the first level. When you start trying to play seriously, the game loses a lot of it's entertainment value. If the devs allowed level selection at any time, it would be a better game. If they had included some kind of hilarious briefing or optional tutorial it would have been a better game.

    A few minor improvements and this is an 8. But for the Steam sale price of $6.99 it is a worthwhile purchase.
    Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Hilarious and fun! If you've played games like "Octodad" and enjoyed them, you'll love this.

    Differences from the free original version are more surgeries (6 in total), a much more polished experience, and many secrets/easter eggs. I've played for a few hours already and the laughs haven't stopped. They've also tightened the controls enough where the surgeries are actually beatable.


    For those who have no idea what this game is you control the arm of a "surgeon" similar to a puppeteer controlling a marionette. Fingers are mapped to buttons and arm/wrist controls are done via mouse. The physics on everything is overly exaggerated. Combining this with the hilariously awkward arm controls means every movement you make is a recipe for disaster and some great laughs. Example: I picked up a drill accidentally by the drill bit and not the handle...the drill handle started spinning out of control, flailing about and obliterating the poor patient's ribcage in the process. I proceeded to use a hammer to open the rest of the ribcage, which got stuck in the patient between a lung and a rib.

    This is NOT a serious simulator game! I REPEAT: THIS IS NOT AN ACTUAL SIMULATOR! What this is, is a hilarious time waster that has been polished up enough to be an actual game. Not everyone enjoys these types of products, but if you're like me you'll be laughing until you cry and your sides ache.
    Expand
  4. May 16, 2013
    10
    Thanks to Surgeon Simulator 2013 I am now on track to becoming a fully licensed orthopedic surgeon in the great state of Massachusetts. Thanks Surgeon Simulator 2013!
  5. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    Anyone posting a negative review complaining about the controls is simply impatient and maybe a bit slow on the uptake. The controls, while sometimes frustrating are perfectly operational if you'll put in a few minutes to figure them out. Besides a bit of frustration with the controls this game is great fun, although not realistic. I enjoy going through the surgeries and seeing how little blood I can lose and how good a score I can get.

    I'm certainly happy with my purchase and if you enjoy gory comedy and a bit of a challenge I advise you to pick it up on steam.
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    1
    As a pre-med student, I was excited to see what would be in this game. I knew it was kind of a joke, but the controls were so bad the game was unplayable for me. Could have been a fun game if they would have simplified the controls a little bit.
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    0
    Made in 48 hours you get exactly what you paid for (and why anyone would pay more then $0.01 for this is beyond me) it's not fun, it's not funny and it's not clever. It's annoying and frustrating. Even the web browser demo is clumsy, buggy and makes you slam your keyboard from unresponsive keys to framerate drops that move you when not moving. Not for anyone yet those who have $9.99 to waste I beg you to actually spend it on something else. Play the free web version but even that's not fun. Expand
  8. May 29, 2013
    1
    What could have been a fun and funny Surgeon Simulator ends up becoming a horrible, sloppy mess of a game because the controls are awful.

    People claim that's part of the "joke" of the game and I have to disagree, the game could still have been fun and rewarding without the retard-ly stupid controls it offers.

    Pirate it and try it before you buy it, because if not, you might be very
    unpleasantly surprised. Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    I agree with the guy who said they should've named this "The Broken Arm Simulator." Yeah, yeah, I get that you're not supposed to be able to perform flawless surgery, and that it's supposed to be funny to butcher the body in front of you, but the controls and physics are so sloppy that any humor dies very very quickly. The only game I can really compare it to, by virtue of being in the same genre, is Adult Swim's Amateur Surgeon a game which is 100 times better in every way. Expand
  10. Jul 10, 2013
    0
    Probably one of the worst games I have ever played.

    It's somewhat funny if you get the Team Fortress 2 references but that gets old quick once you make an attempt at the controls.

    Would not recommend this to anyone.

    Would be better off spending that 10$ on a movie.
  11. May 7, 2013
    8
    Great game. The hilarity that you'll have with this game is totally worth the full price. I recommend you to play this with your friends, because it's as fun to watch as it is to play! Only bad thing about this game is only a few operations. I hope the developers will work on this game and add some more operations (dentist?, plastic surgery?)
  12. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    *Minor spoilers* This is a truly amazing game. You must remember not to take it seriously, and well, if you actually do take it seriously, there must be something wrong with you and I'd advice you consult a real doctor. The original web-version was made in 48 hours and was a bit of a viral hit, the developers spent 50 days making a full version with fully textured tools and objects. The controls are hard at first, and for the new set of levels taking place in an ambulance, you have to be lucky and just hope that the new heart or organ falls out the back. The game has 6 different operations, if you finish them all, you will unlock a new operation, which takes place somewhere you probably never expected. If you get the controls down, the game is rather short, and it only took me about 3-4 hours to finish all 7 tasks. However, even for such a short game, there are 48 achievements, some which are really, really challenging, but very enjoyable to obtain. A few examples would be to finish an operation while drugged (by touching the syringe) or being electrocuted (by putting one of your tools in the electric outlet), and how about both these combined? Challenging, but fun. No game has made me laugh so much already on the main menu, which is like an interact-able sandbox. If you love to laugh and try something challenging, this game is great for the small price. Expand
  13. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    What's to dislike about this game. It's beautifully made, runs very well, and it's is full of little bells and whistles to discover while playing.
    Most people don't take this game seriously, and don't even end up getting past the first level. However, if you take it seriously, it's addicting and you'll want to keep playing. Of course, it's hilarious at times and difficult to control your
    master hand, but that just adds to the fun. Expand
  14. May 7, 2013
    6
    Ok this game is a fun and a nice game to play in between your call of duty's and your Battlefield's. This game is "simple stupid fun" don't expect an engaging story or in depth characters, this isn't one of those kind of games. After 3 or 4 hours your gonna get bored. This game has 7 surgery's. Heart,Kidney,Brain surgery. They are also repeated in the more difficult ambulance mode. There is also a secret surgery which is heart surgery but in a cool concept area. Expand
  15. Jun 29, 2013
    1
    Omg, this game is so bad and it was a free online web app for the longest time, now for some reason they think they can sell it and people will buy it......wait WOW...people are buying it. I have just lost some faith in gammer humanity lol
  16. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    It's actually painful to see people complaining about this game's controls too hard or complicated. This game was made with this in mind. The quirky controls, the stupidly weak engine, the unnecessary objects (like lemonade) all must be viewed as a satire, a parody. It is also not for anybody, for example, people with no friends might find it hard to enjoy this game. Surgeon Simulator 2013 is best played by two people, one of which screaming into the other's ear "DON'T PUT THE LEMONADE BOTTLE IN THERE! WE WILL PUT HIS LUNGS HERE!" while the other is laughing like a maniac. I have enjoyed myself more in this game than both Dragon Age games, Dishonored and Mirror's Edge combined, and I loved those games. My only complaint is that it is rather short, but for those 20 minute breaks with your friends, and considering the price, it is worth it. Expand
  17. May 29, 2013
    3
    No tutorial, terrible menu screens, and controls so bad they are verging on broken, at times it seems like you are positively unable to use your fingers and thumb at the same time. honestly the games a bit of a mess, not a lot of content for your money, especially when you consider you HAVE to beat each level to even attempt the next. Avoid like genital warts.
  18. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    I was ready for goofy dark fun, but not completely crap controls. I gave this game almost two hours of my life trust trying to learn the control scheme and even after all that I still couldn't pick up one instrument and make and use of it other than gouging the green cloth draped on the patient. I was really excited for this and for it to turn out this way is just ridiculous.
  19. May 15, 2013
    2
    The game i pretty useless, i can't remove the heart and controls are very bad cant operate like real, organs move like objects instead of really disecting, the human it is alredy dissected. i though it was going to be funny but instead just boredoom and a lose of money not funny not even nothing. it is just so lame sorry
  20. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Really good game, funny and entertaining. It may not be everybody's cup of tea, but I really enjoyed it. The controls seem difficult, but after a bit you get (slightly) used to them. It's easy to work out where to cut things, and I passed the first level (Heart Transplant) within 45 minutes.

    Great game.
  21. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Basura Expand
  22. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    I played the free flash version about half a year ago and wasn't impressed but the way they have immensely upgrade the graphics, the gimmicks, the tools and the operational circumstances etc I have changed my mind. The controls take a lot of getting used to, and while it feels like QWOP Surgery in the beginning I actually managed to get used to the controls and do semi-accurate moves.The surgeries can get a lot of fun when changing locations. While a heart transplant in the hospital may seem simple it get's a whole lot more complicated when performing a double kidney transplant in a running ambulance, with fire extinguishers getting knocked around or even brain operations in space while trying to grab your floating tools. Overall I had a great deal of fun with the game but I can see when people don't get into it. Overall it's a nice fun gimmicky game with great humor. The content is yet limited for it's price so be aware. Expand
  23. Jul 17, 2013
    1
    Absolutely terrible controls and physics. I get that it's not a real simulator and that messing up is the joke, but controlling the arm in the game is like trying to do anything with your own arm after you've been lying on it wrong for an hour and it's gone to sleep. A lot of times objects will get stuck or go rocketing off the table. I gave it a 1 just for the concept, but the game is definitely not worth paying any money for. Expand
  24. Jul 17, 2013
    2
    The videos on Youtube are more fun than the game. I found the videos hilarious and couldn't resist buying the game, once playing, you realize just how bad the controls are, which I understand is intentional, but when it comes to getting stuck on level 2 for 90mins because the controls are so bad, you quickly lose interest and any "fun" value is long gone. I do not regret buying the game as I believe this company has potential and would like to see what their next endeavor is; I do like to support the intention behind the humour in gameplay, hopefully next time it can be a little more refined. I think it's unfortunate that they seem to pride themselves on how fast this was produced, it would have been better if more time was put into it. Expand
  25. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    I will say without a doubt that I love how people can could up a crazy concept (Octodad, etc) and make it into a rather surprising great game. Yes, It's suppose to be making a joke of simulator games. A good joke infact. This game is crazy and funny at the same time. For example: Grabbing the end of the drill then slapping the guy in the head with it is PRICELESS.
  26. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    I would not recommend getting this game if you don't like novelty, as that is entirely what this one is built around, but don't dismiss it as a "bad" game because of its clunky controls. Complaining that the control is bad is like ordering food you do not like at a restaurant and then complaining about the taste.

    The whole game's humor, charm, and difficulty stem from the awkward
    controls. If it were easy to control the arm it would barely have any challenge, plus you wouldn't see so many hilarious mistakes. Also, it really isn't nearly as hard as most people make it out to be. Like anything else, with a little practice and patience, you'll eventually get the hang of the control and easily pull of the surgeries with few errors.

    Bottom line, this game is not meant to be taken serious. It's basically one of those titles to have in your library to force on friends when they come for a visit. It's a good conversation piece, and it makes for a great drinking game. Personally, I find it refreshing to see a game that tries something new instead of going with the done-to-death formulas that are present in so many other games. My only complaint is that I wish it had at least 6 different surgeries instead of 3, but considering it's only a 10 dollar title I guess its fair to have less content.
    Expand
  27. May 13, 2013
    7
    I shall tell upfront that I am not a fan of simulation games. They tend to just bore the living crap out of me. But every now and then, from any genre, comes a game that catches my eye and my full attention (sometimes some money in my pocket). In this case, It was Surgery Simulator. I played the original, free version and found it quite comical, the silly controls reminiscent of Octodad levels of derpy. When I saw a full version for sale on Steam, I bought it in a heartbeat before the drugged doctor cut my heart out. I come back to tell you I feel... slightly satisfied, but also a bit disappointed. The basic premise is that you are Nigel, a recently hired doctor, or a med student (I never could guess which) who takes lots of drugs, making you do surgeries quite stupidly in your odd status. You must do heart surgery, kidney surgery, and brain surgery in a few different locations, each harder to handle. The laughs and the comedy is still there, if anything, better than ever. It's hilarious to smash a patient's ribcage open, throw their lungs onto the floor, cut out the heart, then try replacing it with a radio or giving the guy two hearts, making him a Time Lord, but the game seems a bit like a joke told too long. It's price doesn't really make me feel justified for it's content. The game is too small for how much is asked for. The frustrating controls also leads to a water cooler experience. No one has the same results and everyone will have a story. But for one last gripe, it's on the controls. They're fine, but sometimes, they seem, unresponsive or spazzy on occasions. The game isn't bad by any right, but couldn't this be cheaper? Expand
  28. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    This game was originally a flash game made for a contest that was then made into a full game in 48 days. The game is quite hilarious fun and very rewarding when you are able to finish a surgery. It also encourages you to experiment in the main menu and in the surgeries with its awesome secrets. Though the physics engine is quite buggy and and there are many times where the scalpel would clip right through other stuff (sitting in the table and flying through the patient's body are two examples). There are also only three surgeries available to complete (heart, double kidney, and brain transplant) After these are completed, you can do them again in the back of an ambulance in ambulance mode (and the heart transplant again in a secret mode). It also can get frustrating when essential tools or the replacement organs fall on the floor or out the back of an ambulance because you then have to restart the operation no matter how far into it you are. The game has some hilarious fun and encourages experimentation but the lack of content and the many bugs keep it from greatness. 7/10 Expand
  29. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    It's hard to choose a score for this game, but I went with a 7 mainly because it does exactly what it's trying to do, and does it solidly. However, by it's very nature this game is the kind you will play for a few minutes to a few hours, being outrageously entertained, then completely forget about it.
    Think the preposterously difficult control system of QWOP in a 3D physics environment in
    which you must perform surgery with wildly inappropriate tools.
    Hilarious, mindless fun.
    Expand
  30. AWG
    Jun 30, 2013
    7
    You won't be ever able to imagine a most annoying and frustrating than Surgeon Simulator 2013.
    This said and considered, I must admit this game is interesting and well-made and the Team Fortress update adds chaos (and fun) to an already enough chaotic (and funny) simulator.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    A likeable little game with the original idea proving definitely your both hands are left. If you approach the game with exaggeration, you won't regret your time nor your money. And that you are full of remorse because you murdered your patients in cold blood? Well, everyone has to start somehow. So grab your scalpel firmly and cut where it moves!
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    60
    It is hilariously awkward to control. [Issue#136, p.111]
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    50
    It’s a toy that you buy to show to your friends. Completing the game takes about 2 hours and then at best you can occasionally laugh with your buddies at the mess you can make with the saw, scalpels, hammer and your bare hand. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.79]