Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Surgeon Simulator 2013 is a darkly humorous over-the-top operation sim game where players become Nigel Burke, a would-be surgeon taking life into his own shaky hands, performing life-saving surgical maneuvers on passive patients.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    84
    What it does is haphazardly simulate the thrill of ripping a man's heart out of his chest and replacing it with another one under the most ridiculous circumstances possible. It’s a joke of a game, sure, but for once the player gets to be in on it.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is hardly a simulation, but it makes medical malpractice an absolute delight.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I ended up hooked, playing it for hours, and I'm almost certainly not done. I also made a video of myself performing brain surgery in a moving ambulance, which I can't link to in a Telegraph review because I have a mouth like a sailor.
  4. 70
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 is engagingly ludicrous. It’s neither a substitute for actual medical training, nor will it take anywhere near as long to complete, but it’s a good way to find out where you fall between squeamish and remorseless monster. Physician, heal thy self (and stay away from me).
  5. May 6, 2013
    70
    In the guise of surgeons, you will be asked to perform complex surgical operations without knowing how and what to do. A really fun game, that will snatch more than a laugh. Try it with friends and you will not regret.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    A likeable little game with the original idea proving definitely your both hands are left. If you approach the game with exaggeration, you won't regret your time nor your money. And that you are full of remorse because you murdered your patients in cold blood? Well, everyone has to start somehow. So grab your scalpel firmly and cut where it moves!
  7. 50
    Surgeon Simulator 2013 isn’t all bad and I’m surprised I liked it as much as I did. There is a bizarre sense of exploration you get from just goofing around and seeing what exactly you can do, and at times it feels like an odd sort of point and click adventure game, where every puzzle is to use a sharp object on a man’s face

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 56
  2. Negative: 20 out of 56
  1. May 16, 2013
    10
    Thanks to Surgeon Simulator 2013 I am now on track to becoming a fully licensed orthopedic surgeon in the great state of Massachusetts. Thanks Surgeon Simulator 2013! Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Really good game, funny and entertaining. It may not be everybody's cup of tea, but I really enjoyed it. The controls seem difficult, but after a bit you get (slightly) used to them. It's easy to work out where to cut things, and I passed the first level (Heart Transplant) within 45 minutes.

    Great game.
    Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    What's to dislike about this game. It's beautifully made, runs very well, and it's is full of little bells and whistles to discover while playing.
    Most people don't take this game seriously, and don't even end up getting past the first level. However, if you take it seriously, it's addicting and you'll want to keep playing. Of course, it's hilarious at times and difficult to control your master hand, but that just adds to the fun.
    Expand
  4. ERB
    Jul 28, 2013
    7
    Addicting game. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    5
    This game is a good game to play for a good laugh at first, but as you start to get serious, you'll realize that half the tools that you have are useless or to hard or dangerous to use, and when you drop an item, it's gone, including organs. Some of the operations are also difficult, mainly the kidney transplant. Easy at first, the left kidney is blocked by a vein that is impossible to cut or move, and it blocks your guys hand from reaching the kidney. There are also many glitches, such as tools leaving the environment, getting your hand stuck in the body or rib cage. The controls are also very difficult to use. For example, when you try to grab an object that is near another one, it will either glitch around and have a disco party in your hand, fly out, or your guy will simply grab the other object. If the developers improved controls and the operations, fixed the glitches, added new uses for the tools, and even make all items that can block your way removable, I would highly recommend this game. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2013
    1
    What the hell is this? Give me my money back! This should be retitled "Mentaly handicapped Arm Simulator 2013". It's a struggle just to pick up a tool and do anything with it. I realize it's supposed to be a joke, but it's so frustrating just to do the most basic tasks. I don't find it funny, I find it super annoying. This will teach me a lesson against trying new things on steam. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    0
    This is the Worst Green light game that I have Ever had the misfortune of playing. It feels like an unfinished college project done by someone who failed their computer gaming course. It was a waste of money and wouldn't be worth downloading if it was free. I admire the programmers creativity, but they should have at least made an effort. I feel like the joke is that I would have been better off flushing the $9 down the toilet, that way at least I would have had the satisfaction of wiping my butt with it first. Collapse

See all 56 User Reviews