Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In recent years, shooters have become homogenized. There used to be a wide range of different games to choose, from run-and-gun action titles to slow-paced tactical shooters focusing on strategy and tactics, but now most shooters follow the same model of big set pieces, regenerating health,In recent years, shooters have become homogenized. There used to be a wide range of different games to choose, from run-and-gun action titles to slow-paced tactical shooters focusing on strategy and tactics, but now most shooters follow the same model of big set pieces, regenerating health, linear levels, and cinematic experiences. The realistic tactical shooters with in-depth planning have almost entirely disappeared in recent years.

    This project, working title TAKEDOWN, aims to change that. This game, the spiritual successor to games like the original Rainbow Six and SWAT series, will focus on realistic weapons modeling, squad based play, in a close-quarters battle setting. To succeed in this game you need to take things slow, study your plans, and execute flawlessly. If you get shot, there are consequences. You wont be hiding behind a wall waiting for your health to regenerate. If a team member goes down, you will have to assess the situation and reallocate team members if necessary to complete the mission. Don't expect all of the tools and plans to be forced fed to you - it is up to the player to ensure their team is equipped and ready for the tasks at hand.

    AKEDOWN is a thinking-persons shooter. The player that takes things slow, aims carefully, and plans their moves right will overcome the player who runs in with guns blazing. Close-quarters battle brings the fight inside, as you would see SWAT teams or SOF units taking down small numbers of dangerous adversaries. Non-linear environments allow for multiple routes and tactics and add replayability. The operation to clear pirates from a hijacked oil tanker by Russian special forces in May of 2010 is a perfect example of the types of missions in TAKEDOWN.

    You will plan your insertions and routes before going into the scenario, outfitting your teammates with weapons and equipment of your choosing, and then execute the mission. If one of your team members is killed, they are gone, and you have lost their valuable experience, so you have to be careful! Gameplay modes include single player, co-op, and competitive multiplayer.

    If you are a fan of old school shooters where thinking meant more than running and gunning or perks, or if you are just looking for something different in your shooter games experience, this is the project for you.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 15 out of 17
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    59
    Takedown: Red Sabre was Letdown: Bad Sabre. The rebirth of tactical shooters is hereby cancelled. [Oct 2013]
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    49
    Rarely exciting, mostly disappointing. An unfinished tactical shooter let down by technical issues and terrible AI.
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    40
    There’s nothing natural about AI that faces the wrong way in combat, or a shooter who doesn’t know what gear he brought into combat, or squad members who can’t communicate. When shooting for authenticity, a half step is not enough.
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    30
    Financial issues killed an old-school promising shooter in its own cradle.
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    30
    Please, don't get fooled by Serellan's proclamations and don't fall in the trap. Takedown: Red Sabre is a terrible first person shooter, ugly to watch and painful to play. You won't get any fun from it, even if you insist on fighting against its flaws. Stay away from it.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    20
    If you burn $15 and scatter the ashes, you will have more fun than you would by playing this game.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    19
    The features that aren't missing are bugged beyond use. Takedown is a bare-bones wreck in need of substantial patching. [Holiday 2013, p.56]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 60
  2. Negative: 46 out of 60
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Yes its buggy, yes its got bad ai and yes it was released early but i have actually had so much fun playing this with a group of 6 of myYes its buggy, yes its got bad ai and yes it was released early but i have actually had so much fun playing this with a group of 6 of my friends and genuinely enjoy this Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    Its a relatively small and simple game. When I first played it on release it was ok but it was really hard to ignore how stupid the AI was. IIts a relatively small and simple game. When I first played it on release it was ok but it was really hard to ignore how stupid the AI was. I personaly think the graphics are nice. no there not bf4/bf3 but its a small release game and I like the clean style in its own way. Its awesome that a studio took the risk to get this style of game out but they should have waited long and released it in a more finished state. The actual game play is awesome when it plays as intended. More missions would be good though. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    3
    This game is awful, broken, unfinished. The developers talked a really good talk about their vision to bring back the tactical shooter in anThis game is awful, broken, unfinished. The developers talked a really good talk about their vision to bring back the tactical shooter in an innovative way, and even talked a little trash at the likes of COD. Then they released something that no competent game developer could approve as a working finished product.

    I have seen lots of bad games released, so it is no big deal, but the difference between what they said they intended to do and what they actually released is a bit surprising- this team is either very cynical or quite self-deluded about the quality of their product.
    Collapse
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    1
    I still give 1 credit for the level design. At least it take a while to build the map. Beyond that, the entire game is really a joke, funny AII still give 1 credit for the level design. At least it take a while to build the map. Beyond that, the entire game is really a joke, funny AI system, no ambient sound wtf? Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    1
    The game is horrible, i dont believe im writing this because i was hopeful in the past about the game, it really looked good and all and theThe game is horrible, i dont believe im writing this because i was hopeful in the past about the game, it really looked good and all and the way the devs were talking about i was waiting something like rainbow six 3 mix with new elements...

    But it all turned out to be pile of junk, not to mention horrible AI and horrible levels.

    I got it on early access and i know i cant refund.

    My thoughts, if youre making a game, make it but dont release on early access half broken at least make sure your game is 90% done...

    Steam shouldnt allow this kind of games on Early Access.

    Hope you make something better in future.
    Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2013
    0
    This game is pretty fun at times, fighting dozens of enemy's while you die from a bullet isn't fun. If you have friends to play with then youThis game is pretty fun at times, fighting dozens of enemy's while you die from a bullet isn't fun. If you have friends to play with then you should try this out. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2013
    0
    Such a horrible release, When the developers said that their game is going to be a spiritual succesor to a original rainbow six games i wasSuch a horrible release, When the developers said that their game is going to be a spiritual succesor to a original rainbow six games i was so happy, But then they say that no planning, no other features that 10-years old RS have. i say: ok. at least they promise a solid AI but again they lie. AI (both teammates and a tangos) are horrible. there is no tactic in singlplayer, when your team is just a your respawn-bots. Tangos are not respondig to your actions as dev's promise. and final point this game is out for a two days, and multoplayer still didn't work. i'm outta here Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers