Talisman: Digital Edition PC

Talisman: Digital Edition Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Talisman Digital Edition - The Magical Quest Game for 1 to 4 players. The officially licensed multiplayer version of the classic fantasy adventure board game, Talisman. This game is available as an Early Access release and is therefore not fully complete. The full version includes a fullTalisman Digital Edition - The Magical Quest Game for 1 to 4 players. The officially licensed multiplayer version of the classic fantasy adventure board game, Talisman. This game is available as an Early Access release and is therefore not fully complete. The full version includes a full online multiplayer game for up to four players. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    70
    Charming and true to the source: The digital Talisman is no fancy interpretation but an authentic port of the board game with all its rules.
  2. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    60
    When you’re playing with three other people, session includes 1.5h of watching others make their moves. It’s not a problem when you’re sitting around the board of the original Talisman game, chatting and laughing, but it doesn’t work too well in a computer game. Otherwise it’s a great adaptation. [05/2014, p.66]
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    45
    Monopoly with monsters – what can be better than that? Well, turns out, pretty much everything else.
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    40
    As a game that endures precisely because of its easygoing, laughable nature, Talisman is far from ideal.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 10 out of 26
  1. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    Nostalgia at its finest. The digital edition of this game has brought back many memories of mine. The digital version of the game also offersNostalgia at its finest. The digital edition of this game has brought back many memories of mine. The digital version of the game also offers many features that the board game could not. Personally, it was always frustrating getting the family around to set up the board game. Now pass to play on a big game is not only incredibly fun, its a seem-less delight.

    Highly recommend.
    Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    As an old time Talisman player I was thrilled to see this come to Steam. It is as one would expect it to be, a computer game verson of theAs an old time Talisman player I was thrilled to see this come to Steam. It is as one would expect it to be, a computer game verson of the bored game which I believe has been done very well. It's the first time I've been able to play Talisman as a single player and while the AI is a little dodgy at times it does try its best to give you a fun game. This is a game I keep coming back to, to kill a little time. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Very good rendition of the board game. The game is explained very well so it's easy for novices and experts to enjoy. I've had a lot of gamesVery good rendition of the board game. The game is explained very well so it's easy for novices and experts to enjoy. I've had a lot of games online and really enjoyed them. Some can take a while to play, but it's still a lot quicker than playing the board game. Highly recommended! Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    Faithful rendition of the board game. Cheaper than the board game as well. My gaming group mentioned picking it up in lieu of playingFaithful rendition of the board game. Cheaper than the board game as well. My gaming group mentioned picking it up in lieu of playing the actual board game, and we found it faster to play online. The musical score is pleasant and doesn't seem to get old even after playing for a few hours. The in-game menus are easy to use and understand, however you'll want to spend a few minutes reading up on spell queues and how to use your cards as it isn't clear how to do it initially. Options to increase AI movement speed help expedite single player games to under an hour. My only complaint would be that game menus for graphics, and setting up a game seem clunky, you also need to manually turn on DLC which seems bizarre, although its a one time aggravation. I bought it when it went on sale for $6 on steam, and I don't regret it. Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2015
    8
    Excellent port of the board game. Very fun to play with friends and even more fun with the expansions which are being released regularly. RunsExcellent port of the board game. Very fun to play with friends and even more fun with the expansions which are being released regularly. Runs well and the cross platform multiplayer is a bonus. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2015
    3
    The bugs kill the fun. Playing for three hours, only to be slaughtered by a puny sky screecher (the equivalent of being savaged to death by anThe bugs kill the fun. Playing for three hours, only to be slaughtered by a puny sky screecher (the equivalent of being savaged to death by an earth worm) is pretty awful. It's an old bug, it's a known bug.

    You can't save the game and avoid it somehow either. If it's going to be in the game, it will always win, regardless of that it's stats say - which means the AI will try and battle it anyway.

    Also the new shapeshifter character will crash the game if it's in play. I recommend choosing characters as a work around.

    There's no proper way to debug this game either - there's no debug report that I can generate, I can't upload a buggy saved game to illustrate a problem. I think that's often a problem with coding now - quality control is generally shoddy, because the pressure is on to rush it out and fix it later- maybe - maybe not.
    Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2015
    0
    This is the slowest game I have ever played. As someone who has never played the board game, I can assure you that anyone not blinded byThis is the slowest game I have ever played. As someone who has never played the board game, I can assure you that anyone not blinded by nostalgia will quickly come to loathe this game.

    What you are doing is often very poorly explained, causing players to throw away cards they didn't realize they were tossing, no tutorial mode or in game glossary, no pop-up explanations once in game, and the final nail for me, 45 minutes were spent pressing the same button over and over again waiting for the AI to stop healing itself long enough for the game to end.

    Avoid like the plague unless you enjoy boredom and frustration.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews