User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6119 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2017
    10
    10/10 for being a solid fps who differentiates it self from other FPSs, and having no p2w. You rarely see free games with no p2w or pay to progress faster so this one definitely deserves this score.
  2. Nov 26, 2017
    10
    The gameplay in this game is incredibly balanced and is amazing for playing with competitively. In TF2 all of the classes are balanced and (mostly) whenever you die you will understand why you died and can avoid it when it happens again. There is also a great art style that works perfectly with its comedy and gameplay. If you are worried that this game will look terrible because it cameThe gameplay in this game is incredibly balanced and is amazing for playing with competitively. In TF2 all of the classes are balanced and (mostly) whenever you die you will understand why you died and can avoid it when it happens again. There is also a great art style that works perfectly with its comedy and gameplay. If you are worried that this game will look terrible because it came out in 2007, you shouldn't. The graphics surprisingly hold up well, due to the art style not being realistic. Shooting people in this game feels so rewarding. Spy is a sharp dresser and has a hitbox like a rectangle with limbs and a head. The game is also free and is balanced so the stock weapons are the best in overall situations. There are also hundreds of cosmetics that allow you to express yourself in so many ways. Some people say that this game has devolved into a fashion game, but I disagree. The cosmetics in this game are just that, cosmetics, as they provide no competitive advantage. Admittedly, this game has some problems such as the toxic people, speech binds, random crits, not having access to all the weapons at the start, a very limited inventory for people that play for free, awful tutorials, and the tryhard veterans that keep killing people new to the game. You can still do well with any class if you don't have much skill. Words can not describe how much fun this game is, just go out and have fun. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2017
    9
    Really great and fun game, I've been wanting to play it for a while and had it installed on my PC for about a while but never got around to playing it much. Just started playing it again a month ago, and the game is fun with friends. I main heavy and scout, one of the main problems is that pyros can be very annoying sometimes and spawn camp.
  4. Oct 31, 2017
    9
    One of the most important games in history masterpiece of Valve
    Great team fps, combining all types of characters in one game.
    Pros + Amazing gameplay + Admirably developed characters with a lot of history + A lot of customisation options + Many game modes + Funny and with humor Cons - rarely updated last time - Can kinda feel that game is dying - Developers focus on cosmetics
    One of the most important games in history masterpiece of Valve
    Great team fps, combining all types of characters in one game.
    Pros
    + Amazing gameplay
    + Admirably developed characters with a lot of history
    + A lot of customisation options
    + Many game modes
    + Funny and with humor
    Cons
    - rarely updated last time
    - Can kinda feel that game is dying
    - Developers focus on cosmetics instead of new gameplay content
    Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2017
    9
    Super good team FPS game. It was super solid, had a lot of cool different game modes, responsive controls but not as much of a reliance on pure skill as a game like counterstrike, and best of all, it was free!
  6. Oct 6, 2017
    10
    this game, we can't describe how great it is
    so much fun
    so much content
    so many cosmetics and miscs
    so much for 0 money
    easy to play on even the **** pc's/laptops
    and a great and lovable communtiy
    it's just great
  7. Sep 26, 2017
    8
    TF2 is just one of those games that lasts 9 years flawlessly & still goes strong today. It's free to play, great art style & has it's own hat collecting community.

    Edit 27/9/2017: Moved the score down to recent game changes. (Or lack thereof)
  8. Sep 23, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Love this game is awsome.....................................................................

    Very funy........................................................................................................
    Expand
  9. Sep 13, 2017
    8
    So I was invited by a friend to this game of Team Fortress 2. All I would like to say is that this game is simply amazing based on my experience, even though I did not play it for a very long time. :s :D
  10. Sep 10, 2017
    9
    REVIEW BASED ON
    > A few hours in

    COMMENT
    You are now playing: the origins of classes based FPSs

    GAME SHAKER
    - You have to pay to play in Competitive Mode

    PROS
    + The fun gameplay
    + A lot of maps and game modes
    + The classes
    + It's F2P without P2W microtransactions

    CONS
    - The somewhat outdated Source Engine that powers this game
  11. Aug 23, 2017
    9
    Such a great game, it defines the meaning of class-based shooter genre. It's visually unique and the overall style of this game is so good. This game changed the FPS games when it came out.
  12. Aug 12, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jūjī bīng shì yīgè hěn hǎo de huǒbàn.

    Xián wèi de tuánduì hé bùnéng jiēshòu mǒu rén zài yǔyīn liáotiān zhōng chōngmǎn yuánhóu zi de rén tuòqì de shì wǒ xǐhuān zhège yóuxì de rén. Hǎo de fúwùqì zài xiūxián, dàn zhǐshì kěpà de áizhèng shèqū zhēnzhèng shòudào xīn wánjiā de dǎjí.
    Expand
  13. Jul 30, 2017
    7
    Team Fortress 2 is a game that makes FPS fun. The cartoonish artstyle and crude humor allow for the game to feel enjoyable, even when blowing an opponent's head off. It does encourage skill, and teamwork, though too often everyone just goes insane through a match. Each class is distinct, from appearance to abilities to strengths, which allows for the game to feel less repetitive than itTeam Fortress 2 is a game that makes FPS fun. The cartoonish artstyle and crude humor allow for the game to feel enjoyable, even when blowing an opponent's head off. It does encourage skill, and teamwork, though too often everyone just goes insane through a match. Each class is distinct, from appearance to abilities to strengths, which allows for the game to feel less repetitive than it would have otherwise. However, the classes are not balanced. Some classes are obviously easier to use than others. Also, the layout of some maps makes it so that one team will have an advantage, which rids any required skill. Also, the game does start to lose its charm after a while, as the gameplay is the same. Its definitely better than it could have been, but its not a game that I would put at the top of my favorites list anytime soon. Expand
  14. Jul 11, 2017
    10
    A very fun game. I have played it for nearly 400 hours and it still doesn't feel boring or repetitive.

    9 different playable characters, several game modes, fun taunts, cool cosmetic items... what else do you need to know? Go and download this game! You WON'T regret it, really!
  15. Jul 2, 2017
    6
    If you told me what I thought about this game in 2011, I would've told you it was one of the best games I've ever played in my entire life. Nowadays? The game is ****

    With a development team of less than 10 now, Valve are simply sucking all the cash they can get out of this game, with little to no updates. There is an update on the horizon, but this was after a vote we did a year and a
    If you told me what I thought about this game in 2011, I would've told you it was one of the best games I've ever played in my entire life. Nowadays? The game is ****

    With a development team of less than 10 now, Valve are simply sucking all the cash they can get out of this game, with little to no updates. There is an update on the horizon, but this was after a vote we did a year and a half ago. This game has enjoyment still, but not in the same sense as it used to.

    Just go play Overwatch.
    Expand
  16. Jun 30, 2017
    7
    If you like to play casual first person shooter games, then this is exactly what you are looking for! And the great thing is that it is completely free, without any restrictions or anything. However, a lot of questionable things happen... people hitting you from 8 meters away with a sword, "guaranteed" crits that don't crit etc.
  17. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    This is very well the best of its class, maybe tied with Overwatch. Although this game may be old, it still remains as my favorite game. It comes with many updates ( not much anymore ) and is a very light hearted, fun and casual game that I recommend for everyone. There are in-game purchases but they are all mostly worth it. For a few dollars, you can get a Mann Vs. Machine ticket whichThis is very well the best of its class, maybe tied with Overwatch. Although this game may be old, it still remains as my favorite game. It comes with many updates ( not much anymore ) and is a very light hearted, fun and casual game that I recommend for everyone. There are in-game purchases but they are all mostly worth it. For a few dollars, you can get a Mann Vs. Machine ticket which allows you to take part in a gamemode in which you fight robots and earn special weapons known as "botkillers" Expand
  18. May 31, 2017
    8
    Отличная мультиплеерная игра, с крутым сеттингом и очень разнообразными классами за которые интересно играть, куча режимов, достижений, шапок. Вообщем, в игре можно просидеть долго, особенно веселей играть с друзьями.
  19. May 27, 2017
    9
    Downloaded this game yesterday , don't ask me why in 2017
    This game is hands down the best free to play shooter to ever exist and it will probably always be like that , humoristic weapons heroes , great action , the only thing is that this game might be to addicting to kids , I think they will spend their lifetime on it ( but also addicting for adults ofcource)
    Just download it but kids
    Downloaded this game yesterday , don't ask me why in 2017
    This game is hands down the best free to play shooter to ever exist and it will probably always be like that , humoristic weapons heroes , great action , the only thing is that this game might be to addicting to kids , I think they will spend their lifetime on it ( but also addicting for adults ofcource)
    Just download it but kids be warned!!!!!
    Expand
  20. May 14, 2017
    9
    Great fps, and for free. Every character is full charisma, and it's a blast to play.
    Only down side would be the lack of a campaign, but i don't regret nothing.
  21. Apr 27, 2017
    10
    Nice Graphics and Solid Multiplayer action countless hours of gameplay and many servers to join different classes to choose from although it will take some time to master the controls and learn to control all classes but it's totally worth it IT'S ADDICTIVE,IT'S FUN you should totally get this game.
  22. Apr 26, 2017
    10
    Perfect and fun FPS probably my favorite has a lot of game modes and big and creative community creating various custom game modes for example Slender Fortress or Be With Robots 2
  23. Mar 29, 2017
    10
    I've played this game for 5 years and I have to say these 5 years have been absolutely amazing, Team Fortress 2 is a completely solid game with amazing balancing, unlike the main competitor Overwatch at the current time it is based on skill, not match-ups. In TF2 you can pick any class to go against anyone, as long as you are skilled enough you can make it work. After the introduction ofI've played this game for 5 years and I have to say these 5 years have been absolutely amazing, Team Fortress 2 is a completely solid game with amazing balancing, unlike the main competitor Overwatch at the current time it is based on skill, not match-ups. In TF2 you can pick any class to go against anyone, as long as you are skilled enough you can make it work. After the introduction of the leveling system I feel like it got a bit weak in the overall casual and competitive system, but they managed to fix it like Valve always do. Competitive isn't the same like the seasons and organised teams like before but it is still enjoyable. All classes have so much personality and feel relate able , even though they are just guys that's what makes them amazing. Again unlike Overwatch there's a reason both teams are fighting, everything in this game just MAKES SENSE. This game changed me for the better and I'm glad I discovered it, and you should to. Expand
  24. Mar 26, 2017
    10
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilstThe marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans. Expand
  25. Mar 24, 2017
    8
    Juego bastante bueno con contenido decente y muchas horas de diversión el problema es que se centra en multijugador y no tiene campaña y estaría muy bien algún que otro personaje más
  26. Mar 20, 2017
    9
    + one the best f2p games
    + variety of modes, maps
    + without buying anything you can still get most of important items + balanced classes + really addictive gamepaly + mix of colorful graphics with blood and flying body parts + strong fanbase + if your team cooperates, it's amazing and really fun - ...if not, it's can be disappointing and annoying - some updates from 2016 weren't
    + one the best f2p games
    + variety of modes, maps
    + without buying anything you can still get most of important items
    + balanced classes
    + really addictive gamepaly
    + mix of colorful graphics with blood and flying body parts
    + strong fanbase
    + if your team cooperates, it's amazing and really fun
    - ...if not, it's can be disappointing and annoying
    - some updates from 2016 weren't necessarily needed
    - 4 and more f@!$in snipers on one team
    - founding a match(especially in Man vs Machine) is taking too long, sometimes, or it's connecting you to the game that will finish in less than one minute
    Expand
  27. Mar 19, 2017
    10
    I really LOVE this game, its a F2P beautiful game, i like the graphics, it looks like a comic, the community is very active and all classes are balanced, the bad thing is that it needs a new game, team fortress 3, team fortress 2 is so old.
  28. Mar 14, 2017
    10
    I have been playing this game since 2012 and have well over 1,000 hours in the game. I still actively play the game to this day, and it never fails to entertain me. This game is a true free-to-play, and by that I mean you don't have to spend a dime on the game in order to have fun. The default weapons the game starts you off with are all you'll ever need because the other items areI have been playing this game since 2012 and have well over 1,000 hours in the game. I still actively play the game to this day, and it never fails to entertain me. This game is a true free-to-play, and by that I mean you don't have to spend a dime on the game in order to have fun. The default weapons the game starts you off with are all you'll ever need because the other items are entirely situational and are barely used by experienced players. Any item that isn't situational can be unlocked by completing fairly easy Steam achievements, so you wont have to spend any money at all. In the end TF2 is a hat simulator, so people who enjoy the game like to dress up a bit, or get weapons that count kills. Expand
  29. Mar 6, 2017
    6
    I have to admit, the game is pretty decent. Valve made an addictive game with lovable characters, that has impressive SFMs.

    But gameplay itself is not that great. Most of the time, you cannot walk 2 feet out of base without getting exploded, shotgunned, mowed down by a minigun, or whatever. It is very unbalanced and it has some times where I wonder if this is a good game at all. I
    I have to admit, the game is pretty decent. Valve made an addictive game with lovable characters, that has impressive SFMs.

    But gameplay itself is not that great. Most of the time, you cannot walk 2 feet out of base without getting exploded, shotgunned, mowed down by a minigun, or whatever.

    It is very unbalanced and it has some times where I wonder if this is a good game at all.

    I adore the game, but not at the same time, if you can understand what I mean.

    I don't have a high-tech gaming PC, but I am still able to play it, which is great, because any game I am able to play runs like garbage (Payday 2, ARK Survival Evolved etc.)

    You enjoy team-based games like this, I won't stop you playing it, but I wouldn't recommend it to people.
    Expand
  30. Mar 4, 2017
    10
    One of the first person shooters I've ever played.
    Originals, creatives.
    Decent graphics - even today :V
    Nice gaming community.
    And the best of all - fun with no limits.
  31. Mar 4, 2017
    10
    The Game is Great. It still recieves free updates with new Items. The 9 Classes with their unlockable weapons offer many possebilitys and playstyles. With its Free to Play ability its possible to play for everyone and its not a pay to win game. For playing the game you recieve possible unlockables. The unlockable weapons can be bought too but i wouldn´t recomment to buy them, depending onThe Game is Great. It still recieves free updates with new Items. The 9 Classes with their unlockable weapons offer many possebilitys and playstyles. With its Free to Play ability its possible to play for everyone and its not a pay to win game. For playing the game you recieve possible unlockables. The unlockable weapons can be bought too but i wouldn´t recomment to buy them, depending on their price. Some of this stuff isn´t Perfect but the Gameplay really helps this game to be amazing Expand
  32. Mar 3, 2017
    10
    Review en español:
    Es el mejor juego de este tipo de modo de juego y se requiere bastante de la ayuda de equipo . Un juego muy balanceado con varios modos de juego para jugar . La comunidad es una de las mejores que he visto . El sistema de comercio en TF2 es uno de los mejores que haya existido . Clases geniales e innovadoras
  33. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    Fun Fact, I Wasn't Able To Play This Game Until 2016, I Got It From Steam, Now That I Had The Chance To Play This Treasure, I Say I Got A Lot Of Items, Even One Of The Cheapest Elite Grade Cosmetics, And My Favorite Class Is The Sniper
  34. Feb 22, 2017
    9
    This is the first game i ever got on steam and it was really fun playing with friends, The only proplem is that crappy Overwatch game that everyone is Craving about its such a shame.
  35. Jan 17, 2017
    4
    Peut étre un tres bon jeu a son lancement mais aujourd'hui un simple pay2win avec une communauté cancer et des mise a jour de moindre utilité ... bref un jeu mort dépacé par overwatch.
  36. Jan 13, 2017
    9
    Dear anyone who wants to get into TF2:

    --Pros -Casual gameplay, yet contains a high skill ceiling. -Large variety of maps and available gameplay styles. -Lots of mods and customization. --Cons -Has a small dev team of 5 people -Recent updates provide little to no content, yet lots of milking the game. -Devs cater to a minority of competitive players at the cost of the majority
    Dear anyone who wants to get into TF2:

    --Pros
    -Casual gameplay, yet contains a high skill ceiling.
    -Large variety of maps and available gameplay styles.
    -Lots of mods and customization.

    --Cons
    -Has a small dev team of 5 people
    -Recent updates provide little to no content, yet lots of milking the game.
    -Devs cater to a minority of competitive players at the cost of the majority players.

    Play this game while it's still godlike. The devs might ruin it a few years later.
    Expand
  37. Dec 29, 2016
    10
    This game perfectly combines tactical play and intense action. The nine classes all work well together, while none are overpowered or unfair. Overall an amazing game!!!
  38. Dec 25, 2016
    9
    A classic, never gets old. This game is like soccer/football, no matter how long you haven't played, there's always a time where you will come back to play at least one round. It's always fun, the characters are unique and funny in their own ways. Definitely recommend to anyone, the mechanics aren't complicated at all.
  39. Dec 25, 2016
    10
    Well..My actual score is 9.5,this game is a masterpiece I can say,a kind of "5 more minute please..." game that can really make you addicted.Still you can get bored of the game after weeks of addictive gaming.But still,there are more things that's added to the game in order to make you experience more.Even if it's good or bad,this game will have a spot in your computer.
  40. Dec 23, 2016
    10
    With 1400 hours of experience playing team fortress 2 I can say that this game is one of the most entertaining that I have played, being a free game, still better than enough games in which you have to pay to play, the only thing I see a little Bad is the scale of learning, team fortress 2 has too many mechanics, some are very complex, some are not, but along not explain enough, removingWith 1400 hours of experience playing team fortress 2 I can say that this game is one of the most entertaining that I have played, being a free game, still better than enough games in which you have to pay to play, the only thing I see a little Bad is the scale of learning, team fortress 2 has too many mechanics, some are very complex, some are not, but along not explain enough, removing that aside, if you ask me to download team fortress 2, I would say You can download it, it may be difficult at the beginning, but it will be worth it, no doubt you can see that this is a valve game, very well made. Expand
  41. Dec 1, 2016
    7
    Team Fortress 2 was a PC game released in 2007. It was originally a pay-to-play game, but was made free-to-play later in it’s lifespan. It was also released for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, but these versions are obsolete. It has received many updates over the last 9 years, and has contended with the likes of Overwatch.
    Team Fortress 2 is a unique take on a first-person shooter. Unlike
    Team Fortress 2 was a PC game released in 2007. It was originally a pay-to-play game, but was made free-to-play later in it’s lifespan. It was also released for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, but these versions are obsolete. It has received many updates over the last 9 years, and has contended with the likes of Overwatch.
    Team Fortress 2 is a unique take on a first-person shooter. Unlike the majority of shooting games, Team Fortress 2 does not try to be realistic. Instead, it is very stylised and colourful. The weapons and characters all have a distinct shape, allowing you to clearly identify any class from great distance.
    The game is based around two teams, who fight over different objectives. The game itself has a backstory; however this isn’t apparent in game. Every game is a battle between RED (Reliable Excavation Demolition) and BLU (Builders League United). The colours of red and blue are well chosen, so that the two teams are very easy to distinguish. This is very important in-game, as it makes it a lot easier to identify who is friend and foe.

    All of the game’s classes are very unique. The characters themselves are designed to be distinguishable between one another, even as a colourless silhouette. This is done to ensure that the player can make a decision about their course of action, without having to get a close up view of their opponent. The shapes of the characters have implications about the combat ability of a class, allowing newer players to pick and choose who to fight.

    The characters have unique personalities. Each class talks about their environment as the games go on, commenting on objectives or kills. These comments are often humorous, and can give players an idea of who is coming around a corner, allowing them time to prepare for an assault.

    The game is highly customisable. In fact, it is a frequent joke amongst players that Team Fortress 2 is not a ‘First-Person Shooter’, but instead a ‘Hat Simulator’. Players may equip different items known as ‘cosmetics’. These, as the names suggest, have no effect on gameplay, but make each player feel unique. Each class has their own set of cosmetics, which may be bought or traded for. A small number of cosmetics are given away to players for completing certain achievements. However, since a lot of players will have these cosmetics, people will usually strive to obtain more unique items.

    Despite the obvious differences, Team Fortress 2 is just like other first-person shooters in a few aspects. It has similar weapons, such as rocket launchers and sniper rifles, and objectives to complete. These allow players familiar with first-person shooters to enjoy the game without having to immediately adapt to new and unique weapons.

    The game consists of nine characters, known as ‘classes’. Classes come in three categories; offense, defense, and support. Offensive classes are made to deal large amounts of damage. Defensive classes are generally classes who do best at defending the objective. Support classes can help deal damage from afar, pick off important targets, or heal friendly players.
    The class groups help keep the game balanced, and to give a team a way to decide which classes are needed in certain situations. For example, a team with a lot of offensive classes but no support classes is likely to suffer against a team with support classes, as the other team could have a method of healing, a person doing damage from afar, or someone to take down the larger classes in one hit.
    Despite certain classes having advantages over others, each class can be useful to a game. For example, a Scout, who has only 125 health points, can take down a Heavy with up to 350 health points, by taking advantage of the Scout’s unique attributes, such as his agility. The Heavy, on the other hand, is slow, and must track fast enemies accurately using his minigun.

    Team Fortress 2 has effective methods of giving visual feedback to the player. The main way that visual feedback is used is the red marker used to indicate the direction from where a player is getting hit. This is extremely useful, not only for determining the location of an attacker, but also to determine the magnitude of the damage done. The game also has visual feedback in the form of a useful GUI. This GUI gives the player all sorts of information about the current match, and also informs you of your health, ammunition, and player deaths. Using these different facts can give a player an idea of where to be at times of need.
    The game also has a lot of audial feedback in the form of hit sounds, something fairly unique to Team Fortress 2. Hit sounds are used as indication of successful shots, and are surprisingly informative. The pitch of the hit sound varies depending on the damage done. This information can be used to judge whether you have done significant damage to other players, and can decide your response. Other aspects of audial feedback are screaming players, and other sounds that can indicate danger or the capturing of an objective.

    Whilst the game itself is a blast to play, it is not without flaws. One of the largest flaws in the game is the lack of team balance. A team can often stray from teamwork, leading to uncoordinated efforts to capture an objective. Often, several players will play as the same class, such as Snipers. This often leads to an oversaturation of that type of player, and a lack of necessary support. One of the most infamous examples of Team Fortress 2’s balance was the autobalance feature. The autobalance feature aimed to balance teams by ensuring that each team has the same amount of players. Recently, Valve decided to do away with this feature, which has lead to unbalanced games, often with a few players facing a full team.
    Updates are few and far between, with most updates being a large disappointment for the community. Announced updates can take years to actually be implemented, and new gameplay elements are not often added, which can sometimes make the game seem stale. Most updates only add a small amount of cosmetics or ‘beta’ maps, which are never actually finished. Cactus Canyon, for example, has been in beta for over 2 years, with no word of a full release. The item servers are also frequently down, leading to a large amount of frustration.
    Despite my love for this game, the recent ‘Meet Your Match’ update has taken away a great deal of the fun for me. The forced matchmaking in this update can often take up to 10 minutes. As aforementioned, the ‘autobalance’ feature is now long gone, which initially met with approval from the community. However, after months of games without autobalance, people have stopped appreciating the removal of the system.
    The game also has a whole host of performance issues, making it hard to recommend to someone without a decent computer. The main problem with Team Fortress 2 is Valve’s refusal to port the game to their new engine, Source 2. This is understandable, as the development team is very small, but unfortunately, it’s absolutely necessary. As it stands, Team Fortress 2 can only use 2 cores of your processor, limiting performance drastically. The updates also seem to make the problem worse, with every addition to the game causing more and more lag. Even someone with a powerful computer would have trouble keeping Team Fortress 2 at a steady framerate.

    Yet another issue with the game is the fact that a player is generally judged by their appearance. Players with more expensive items are nearly always regarded as better than someone with less expensive items. This can lead to bullying, and neglect of players who have not played for as long.
    Overall, TF2 is a fairly solid experience, and is probably the best Free-to-Play game around. Unfortunately, with the recent updates, and incredible drops in performance, I find it hard to recommend to anyone. Even I have stopped playing it recently, as the drops in framerate are infuriating, often occurring at vital moments. I would appreciate the game much more, if Valve would actually show some courtesy for the game.
    Expand
  42. Nov 7, 2016
    10
    When you start playing TF2, before you know it you will be living in your basement, all your friends will never talk to you again, and you will have countless hours piled up on Steam. Why? Because it's Team Fortress 2. It began as a mod in the 1980s, and it is amazing how far it has come. Enjoy the hilarious, gory, intense, hectic, humorous, and insanely fun game and gameplay of TeamWhen you start playing TF2, before you know it you will be living in your basement, all your friends will never talk to you again, and you will have countless hours piled up on Steam. Why? Because it's Team Fortress 2. It began as a mod in the 1980s, and it is amazing how far it has come. Enjoy the hilarious, gory, intense, hectic, humorous, and insanely fun game and gameplay of Team Fortress 2, the most diverse and insane shooter ever. It is built around 9 classes-sorry, did I just say CLASSES? These 9 mercenaries are more then just classes. They are full-on characters, complete with their own personalities, backstories, and places of origin, as well as their own gameplay perks like their own arsenals of crazy weapons, and special abilities. These classes are: Scout, the mischievous quick little maniac from Boston, Soldier, the crazy bloodthirsty patriotic bazooka-wielding commando, Demoman, the head-slicing sticky-bomb-planting grenade-launching blow-everything-up black Scottish cyclops, Heavy, who is the face and symbol of TF2, AKA the tanky, Minigun-shooting mow-down Russian mercenary, Engineer, the tech genius from Texas who builds sentry turrets, teleporters, and health-and-ammo dispensers, then there's the Medic, armed with his trusty medigun and backup weapons, ready to heal all his teammates, then ubercharge them to decimate the enemy team, then there's the sniper, the Australian mercenary who picks off his enemies from afar with headshots, and also throws jars of his own piss at them, then there's the spy, the sly, shifty frenchman who turns invisible, disguises as players on the enemy team, wreaks havoc by sapping engineers' constructs, and picks off his foes with a single stab to the back. And last but not least, the pyro, the biggest mystery of Team Fortress 2. His (or her) true identity remains a mystery, but whoever he or she is, they are a maniac, setting enemies on fire with their flamethrower. So, I just covered all the classes available. But Team Fortress 2 is not complete without its amazing gallery of weapons. See, TF2 doesn't just have the average M4A1s and G36Cs and whatnot. It uses without a doubt the most bizzare arsenal EVER. Robotic arms, cans of milk, swords and shields, jars of piss, snipers that shoot darts that inject foes with piss, laser bazookas, wrenches, shovels, pickaxes, and tons of other wierd implements of destruction. This, among the crazy hats and cosmetics you can buy, make TF2 the most bizarre, funny, and fun game ever, and that is why I love it so much. Oh yeah, and it's completely free to play. So there's that. Expand
  43. Sep 24, 2016
    10
    good game if you dont agree kys fgt, coumminty can be toxic but just mute the 13 year old lenny spaming moron, hats are pointless but there nice to have, real game **** cod big up eminem
  44. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    I think this game is one of the best Valve Games. Team Fortress is best Valve MMO Game. This game like in Overwatch, but Team Fortress was release in 2008 and Overwatch was release in 2016 and Team Fortress is free to play game, Overwatch isnt free to play game. Graphics in Overwatch is better than in TF2, but in TF2 is more characters, more weapons and more fun. Overwatch is good game,I think this game is one of the best Valve Games. Team Fortress is best Valve MMO Game. This game like in Overwatch, but Team Fortress was release in 2008 and Overwatch was release in 2016 and Team Fortress is free to play game, Overwatch isnt free to play game. Graphics in Overwatch is better than in TF2, but in TF2 is more characters, more weapons and more fun. Overwatch is good game, but TF2 is better. TF2 is one of the best MMO Games. Expand
  45. Sep 1, 2016
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is a unique first person shooter game with numerous different play styles, game modes, and classes. When the game was first released in 2007, after six years in development, it was pay to play. However, within the past few years, Valve decided to make the game free to play.
    Most would think that a game that’s been out for nine years would get old, but with the constant
    Team Fortress 2 is a unique first person shooter game with numerous different play styles, game modes, and classes. When the game was first released in 2007, after six years in development, it was pay to play. However, within the past few years, Valve decided to make the game free to play.
    Most would think that a game that’s been out for nine years would get old, but with the constant rebalancing and updates that Valve releases to the community, it’s actually the opposite. Their game modes like King of the Hill, Payload, Payload Races, and Control points (just to name a few) offer the player several different ways to capture the objective and lead their team to victory. Considering all these play styles and ways of winning, it’s pretty straightforward that that’s the aspect of the game that makes it fun, and keeps drawing people in to continue playing.
    The fact that the game is free to play often entails a lot of players would just be running around clueless, and that you can’t buy items. In Team Fortress 2 (TF2), that is not the case. In fact, in this simple WASD controlled game, the stock weapons are statistically better, and generally speaking a free to play player could get around just fine once they master the general feel of the game. However, one can buy items that will get them more of a social reputation in the somewhat questionable community. It’s no secret that having better cosmetics, or even an unusual (an in-game hat that usual costs a high amount of actual real world currency), will get you more heals and intimidate the opposing team, which unfortunately makes free to play players often feel inferior to those who spend money on the game.
    While the game has been out for a whopping nine years, the graphics and sounds will likely never be considered flashy or over the top, in fact they give off a bit of a classic feel to the game, that’s not too overwhelming. TF2’s landscape and battlegrounds are pretty realistic, and while the character models have their own style that fits the game, they fit in nicely with the other aspects of the game nicely.
    This free to play game has received a lot of attention over the years, not only for it’s numerous ways of playing and having fun, but for the extremely homey and classic feel the visuals, sound, and community provide.
    Expand
  46. Aug 31, 2016
    9
    This game if fun as **** go play this game............................................................................................................
  47. Aug 22, 2016
    8
    Free to play buena optimización los mapas, objetivos y jugadores bien logrados le faltaría un inventario algo mas completo y un poco menos de monotonía por lo demás un juego con una jugabilidad muy buena
  48. Jul 29, 2016
    9
    This game is so close to perfection. With free access and a technically perfect weapon balance, the only bad thing here is the stuff that is missing. Come on, no grenades? No vehicles? Thankfully, powerups and other cool things have been added as weapons and game modes.

    By the way, this is as far from pay-to-win as you can get while still gaining good cash. Give it a try!
  49. Jul 23, 2016
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is an objective-based Team-FPS and free-to-play. Usually you fight against up to 12 other players for various objectives. It offers various classes, maps and objectives, resulting in a good diversity and long-time-fun. Its graphics are fine, from a technical point of view there is also not much to criticize.
  50. Jul 7, 2016
    10
    Best hat simulator with guns motive ever. Now, seriously, it's very fun game, with constant updates never gets old, with 1152 hours played they all were worth. Valve never disappoints me.
  51. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    As a guy who has almost one thousand hours in Team Fortress 2, I can say that this game is incredible. You will experience a lot of cool things, such as MvM (Mann Vs Machine), Competitive mode (now, by the way, officially), and public games. All of these modes are awesome, and you will enjoy it. The mechanics is unique, the game style is pretty cool too. Moreover, there will be sense ofAs a guy who has almost one thousand hours in Team Fortress 2, I can say that this game is incredible. You will experience a lot of cool things, such as MvM (Mann Vs Machine), Competitive mode (now, by the way, officially), and public games. All of these modes are awesome, and you will enjoy it. The mechanics is unique, the game style is pretty cool too. Moreover, there will be sense of humour. One of the greatest games created by Valve Software. Expand
  52. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    Before it's release in 2007, I was more psyched to play TF2 then I'd been for any other game before. I've got more hours logged into it then any other Steam game, hours spent actually playing, and plenty of time spent just messing around with friends in our personal server, playing around with mods. Time spent killing robots in man vs. machine, and slapping around randoms on 24/7 DegrootBefore it's release in 2007, I was more psyched to play TF2 then I'd been for any other game before. I've got more hours logged into it then any other Steam game, hours spent actually playing, and plenty of time spent just messing around with friends in our personal server, playing around with mods. Time spent killing robots in man vs. machine, and slapping around randoms on 24/7 Degroot Keep servers. I have predominantly fond memories of the game, even if I don't play it much at all these days... but I'd sooner play this then Overwatch. Euugh. Expand
  53. Jun 22, 2016
    10
    Better than Overwatch.
    Well balanced.
    So many to unlock.
    So many combinations.
    So much fun.
    Free to play.
    Awesome to play.
    Well optimised,
    Shame on you Blizzard!
  54. Jun 19, 2016
    9
    I was hooked on this game as soon as I got it. I demand that everyone gets this game, don't ask any questions just go out and get it now

    You want my full review? *sigh* fine. TF2 is made by the gods of game developers Valve. TF2 brings in so much stuff to make the online FPS genre feel like a new fresh idea. Tons of more classes that, unlike COD, feel like they're different with
    I was hooked on this game as soon as I got it. I demand that everyone gets this game, don't ask any questions just go out and get it now

    You want my full review? *sigh* fine.

    TF2 is made by the gods of game developers Valve. TF2 brings in so much stuff to make the online FPS genre feel like a new fresh idea. Tons of more classes that, unlike COD, feel like they're different with different appeareances and customization options.

    Gameplay is done in a sort of way to make the player, like me, get addicted to this and make them not want to move for a while, until you improve and make it so that you're the best possible. If u find a server with a perfectly balanced team, you will have tons of fun, filled with tons of tension and tons of fun.

    If any of you have seen my L4D2 review, you'll remember when I said that it mainly focuses on realism but also has a slight cartoon tint to it. TF2 throws realism out the window, goes with a full cartoon tint and cartoon gore and rarely takes anything seriously and it knows it doesn't take itself seriously at times and I respect it for doing that as I haven't seen many shooters that do this sort of thing. It's either that shooters take themselves really seriously, which is the majority of the shooters out there or shooters that take themselves so seriously that it's funny.

    The classes actually feel unique. Unlike other shooters where it feels like it doesn't really matter what class I take, in TF2 it really does dependon ur play style. If u pick a sniper, it REALLY IS harder to fight close distance. If ur playing as Heavy it REALLY IS hard to fight long distance.

    TF2 is a nice breath of fresh air and I'm glad to see that it doesn't follow what other game devs are doing which is why I really respect Valve for making this.

    Pros:
    + Addicting
    + Good classes
    + Good gameplay
    + Creative graphics

    Cons
    - A few glitches
    Expand
  55. Jun 12, 2016
    7
    After playing this game for over 170 hours I would like to make my own opinion about this game. TF2 is a great game however I would like to list some of the bad things about it. The Item dropping system is kind of okay. The problem is that I have to play for 2 hours each day just to get a weapon and it is a waste of my time. But if I would have get alot of weapons, I would have to buyAfter playing this game for over 170 hours I would like to make my own opinion about this game. TF2 is a great game however I would like to list some of the bad things about it. The Item dropping system is kind of okay. The problem is that I have to play for 2 hours each day just to get a weapon and it is a waste of my time. But if I would have get alot of weapons, I would have to buy crates and keys that costs about $2.00 if I recall correctly. But I did not waste money on weapons or HATS. Overall this is a good game, the graphics are a little bit cartoonish and the classes are unique. I love the spy and I sneak up to everyone and scare the **** out of them. Plus if you are poor, this is a right game for you I guarantee you, if you once click multiplayer, I will be sure that you will have tons of fun (Just watch out for little kids).
    7/10
    Expand
  56. Jun 12, 2016
    9
    Now that TF2 is F2P, it becomes one of the best values in online gaming. Super addictive FPS action with a class-based system. Blue and Red teams battle for control points, advance or defend payloads, capture briefcases (aka CTF), and more. I've enjoyed many hours of fun zany action with TF2. In spite of the sometimes chaotic and spastic gameplay, the skill cap with TF2 is quite high. SomeNow that TF2 is F2P, it becomes one of the best values in online gaming. Super addictive FPS action with a class-based system. Blue and Red teams battle for control points, advance or defend payloads, capture briefcases (aka CTF), and more. I've enjoyed many hours of fun zany action with TF2. In spite of the sometimes chaotic and spastic gameplay, the skill cap with TF2 is quite high. Some players can master certain classes and have a huge impact on the game. That being said, the auto-balancing system is genius. If a team is clearly punishing the other team, you can vote to scramble the teams for a fresh start. Expand
  57. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    This game will ruin your life. You'll forget to feed the dog, you may even forget to feed yourself. Your lawn will look like the amazon and the newspapers will pile up. If you don't like your job, perfect, you won't go to work once you start playing. I love this game, more than I loved my girlfriend. I'm a logical (somewhat decent) person. I have memories from 2fort. Help me.
  58. May 31, 2016
    9
    An amazing classic FPS by Valve. There are hundreds of shooters out there that are loads of fun, but nothing compares to Team Fortress 2. The game is friendly to all who want to start playing FPS and i'd recommend it to anyone!
  59. May 28, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. very very fun and cool!!! If Again, Team Fortress 2 is released after nine years this is the thing that's being still love the game even before the game like I want to like this game. Expand
  60. May 25, 2016
    9
    One of the greatest PC FPS games of all time without a doubt. The maps are hugely varied and fun, the lore is funny, and the characters are great. There is so much to love about TF2, which probably explains why I have spent over 1600 hours in this game. Not to mention that it's free and now almost 10 years after release it is better than ever, with new maps, campaigns, and content stillOne of the greatest PC FPS games of all time without a doubt. The maps are hugely varied and fun, the lore is funny, and the characters are great. There is so much to love about TF2, which probably explains why I have spent over 1600 hours in this game. Not to mention that it's free and now almost 10 years after release it is better than ever, with new maps, campaigns, and content still being added. The biggest flaw though, is that sometimes it suffers from staleness. The meta doesn't change much. There are dozens of weapons available for every class, but most classes have only one or two accepted loadouts that can be used successfully. I would love to see some balance changes made so that less-used weapons become used again. Also, Soldier and Demoman gets WAY too much love from Valve. They have the most powerful and widest viable weapon selection by far, and that kinda sucks. Especially for someone whose favorite classes are Pyro and Heavy, both of which have been nerfed into the ground in recent updates. Still, the game is good enough to bring me back time and time again. I'll keep playing it as long as there are people to play with.

    Also, **** random crits.
    Expand
  61. May 22, 2016
    1
    This monstrosity of a game is extremely ugly and terible, it is by far the worst game i have ever played. Valve made plenty of great games but this is just offensive to the gaming community. It is ugly, unbalanced, everyone trolls, laggy, near imposssible to play with friends, unclear. And don't even get me started on the worst invention since the atomic bomb. I truly advice you not to play this.
  62. May 21, 2016
    9
    Very awesome old-school game that keeps you entertained. It is made by non other than valve itself. (creators of game such as portal, counter strike and half life.)
    And, did I mention, IT'S FREE!
  63. May 18, 2016
    8
    It's rare to find a free to play shooter as legendary and praised as Team Fortress 2. Maybe that's because it didn't start off as free to play. Regardless this is some highly enjoyable class-based shooting. One with some strategic options to go alongside the frantic, chaotic action.

    There are a healthy amount of classes and modes to keep you coming back, as well as plenty of special
    It's rare to find a free to play shooter as legendary and praised as Team Fortress 2. Maybe that's because it didn't start off as free to play. Regardless this is some highly enjoyable class-based shooting. One with some strategic options to go alongside the frantic, chaotic action.

    There are a healthy amount of classes and modes to keep you coming back, as well as plenty of special items to acquire. Each with their own stats boosts and tradeoffs. You can unlock them all by playing naturally or buy them through some pretty pricey IAPs. They help add some extra depth to the game.

    It's the type of experience where running and gunning isn't always going to help you. The shooting mechanics and aiming are kind of loose and a little floaty. Knowing the classes strengths and weaknesses is the key to being more successful. Everything is remarkable balanced, meaning that skill is the key to victory and not an over-reliance on overpowered classes or items. Everyone can contribute in their own way.

    Given that this is a game that's been out for years now and doesn't do a great job of letting players in on just how deep it can be, the whole thing can be pretty rough on newcomers. Being stacked up against players who have been doing this for years and know just about all of the games secrets can be frustrating at first. However it rewards the time you put into it and those that take the time to master it's intricacies are sure to find a powerful new addition to their multiplayer rotation.

    It's a filling and thoughtful dose of competitive and cooperative multiplayer. One that's made more appealing thanks to it's free to play nature, expensive IAPs aside. If you can get past the learning curve and really dive into the deeper elements of it then you are sure to find a very satisfying game. Even if you can't the fast-paced, crazy action is very entertaining on it's own and proves reason enough to stick with it.
    Expand
  64. May 9, 2016
    10
    This is the best game ever, my fav game and I will never love a game the same way as this. TF2 forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  65. Apr 29, 2016
    10
    Any game that that's kept so many people engaged for so long deserves a score that reflects that. I've personally logged over 1000 hours into the game and have no plans on stopping. But if random crits could just not it'd be better.
  66. Apr 23, 2016
    9
    Team Fortress 2... probaly the most fun game of 2008. I mean, i've probaly only met like 2 people who doesn't
    like this game. It has a pretty big fanbase with alot of animations and their Steam Workshop ideas. I even really used to play this game all-day. It has alot of custom maps, modes and servers, which i really like. The gameplay is fun and pretty addicting with enough modes and
    Team Fortress 2... probaly the most fun game of 2008. I mean, i've probaly only met like 2 people who doesn't
    like this game. It has a pretty big fanbase with alot of animations and their Steam Workshop ideas. I even really used to play this game all-day. It has alot of custom maps, modes and servers, which i really like. The gameplay is fun and pretty addicting with enough modes and maps to keep the´game fresh. I mostly think about positive things about this game, but not every game is perfect so it still has a few flaws. But it moslty has good things and it probaly has some of the most famous sound effects in the game, including the NOM NOM NOM and Nope. So let's now have a list of the pros and cons:

    Pros:
    -Very fun and addicting
    -A lot of weapons to use
    -Also a lot of maps and modes
    -Events
    -Popular sound effects
    -Fanbase
    -Uptades

    Ok, so that's alot of good stuff. But now we have to look into the dark side: Cons. So, let's get started:

    Cons:
    -You need to buy stuff for not being a total noob
    -Alot of too overpowered stuff
    -Bugs

    So, yeah. My review on this game. I really enjoied playing this addicting game back in the day. I still like it alot. Anyways, i hope you enjoy the game as much as i did.
    Expand
  67. Apr 3, 2016
    10
    Uno dei multyplayer migliori sul mercato, con una grafica accattivante e con un retrogusto splatter. E come non provarlo dato che è anche gratis su steam?
  68. Mar 22, 2016
    9
    The best free to play game next to Path of Exile. I have been loading this game up randomly for the past 6 years and have been loving it all along. It is less punishing than Counter-Strike to jump into as a beginner and offers tons of good maps and game types, all for free.
  69. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    There's a reason 50,00 people are playing this game at any given time. It's a masterpiece of a shooter that stands the test of time with its fun art style and amazing gameplay.
  70. Feb 26, 2016
    9
    A pesar de sus años, sigue siendo uno de los mejores juegos multijugador en primera persona. Las diferentes clases y sus correspondientes armas/estrategias, lo convierten en un juego ideal para jugar realmente en equipo.
  71. Feb 17, 2016
    10
    this is my favorite fps game and all of class are balanced out in a rock ,sissier, paper style in my opinion, one class is better for killing another class but other class could kill you. there are a lot of game modes and they are beta ones that you can test. you can even make maps and weapons that could be potentially in the game.
  72. Feb 7, 2016
    10
    This game is on a whole other level for FPS games. Not only are the mechanics, physics, controls, and gameplay all spot on, but also the whole idea that 9 entirely different play styles (classes) could be balanced so extremely well by Valve is a massive accomplishment. The game has no story mode, but the 'cast' boasts a lot of humor with the banter and quotes from all the differentThis game is on a whole other level for FPS games. Not only are the mechanics, physics, controls, and gameplay all spot on, but also the whole idea that 9 entirely different play styles (classes) could be balanced so extremely well by Valve is a massive accomplishment. The game has no story mode, but the 'cast' boasts a lot of humor with the banter and quotes from all the different characters. There is some backstory, found in comics, but this is for more invested fans. Casual fans will still have a blast. The weapons are very varied, but stock weapons are a lot of fun. The map variety as well as many different game modes makes it very hard to be bored with this game like a lot of FPS shooters. Despite this game having been out for over 7 years now, Valve constantly supports this with new updates and modes. Mann vs Machine is a blast, for example. The workshop function allows for creative designers to create new items/weapons for possible integration in TF2. I would recommend staying away from training mode, the only way to truly improve your skills is online multiplayer, it really speeds up your learning. The community while sometimes having trolls is great banter, the F2P and P2P thing is kind of funny too. probably the best thing about TF2 besides the game itself is the Source Film Maker videos which allow you to take TF2 characters into many world and situations and make a little movie. The Saxxy Awards (Oscars) rank the funniest and most well made every year, this year's overall winner was hilarious (Turbulence). GET THIS GAME NOW IF YOU PLAY VIDEOGAMES AT ALL!!!! Expand
  73. Jan 24, 2016
    9
    Graphics haven't become old, gameplay hasn't become repetetive, greatness has stayed the same... but one complaint, and here my out here: If you're going to offer a single player mode, why does every bot play the same? Snipers nad scouts will be running into combat, but hey, I'll give you that it's a multiplayer oriented game, so I'll give it a pass.
  74. Jan 22, 2016
    10
    Robin Walker is a genius. TF2 is hands down one of the greatest FTP FPS games to ever cease existence. Its originality along with its amazing community has made me come back to love this game for all of high school and I don't regret one moment playing this game.
  75. Jan 10, 2016
    10
    I always got killed by some hardcore gamers with superhyperultramegaweapons but its still good. Probably only firstpersonshooter that is good. Hats are kinda useless and used only to rub your awesomeness to poor ones.
  76. Dec 26, 2015
    10
    team fortress 2 is a very fun fps game coming from the company that gave you the Half life and Counter strike games. you have 9 classes to choose from which are all unique in one way or another with different personality traits as well. the customisation is also a very good thing about this game with weapons with different upgrades to hats and cosmetics. team fortress 2 requires you toteam fortress 2 is a very fun fps game coming from the company that gave you the Half life and Counter strike games. you have 9 classes to choose from which are all unique in one way or another with different personality traits as well. the customisation is also a very good thing about this game with weapons with different upgrades to hats and cosmetics. team fortress 2 requires you to have good team working skills as a team that wouldn't work together will have more trouble winning than a team that does win the game. throughout the years the game has been gaining more popularity with the (almost) awesome community that supports the game. the game doesn't even get old IMO. I also find This game better than the COD (please don't hate, I have nothing against COD) Expand
  77. Dec 20, 2015
    10
    its like really good and **** yo yo yo i just wanna leave a positive review but i need 150 characters so just get this game its free yum yum almost done yep
  78. Dec 19, 2015
    9
    This is probably one of the best shooters i have ever played.While there are some flaws here and there it still remains one of the best shooters of today.Also there is hats!
  79. Dec 10, 2015
    6
    Team Fortress 2 is a first person shooter SQUIRT SPLURT BLOOD GORE STRATEGIC and FUN type of game from Steam. Its a huge gap between TF from Sierra and Valve, with TF2 from Steam. Can't say I didn't warn ya!
  80. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    This game has charm, something all but few shooters today lack. There are many things that make the game so fun and addictive, but the thing that draws me back is the community. If you were playing a round of Mann VS Machine and the medic didn't have a kritzkrieg I can almost guarantee someone would give you one. It's these kind of small things that make the community great. As well as theThis game has charm, something all but few shooters today lack. There are many things that make the game so fun and addictive, but the thing that draws me back is the community. If you were playing a round of Mann VS Machine and the medic didn't have a kritzkrieg I can almost guarantee someone would give you one. It's these kind of small things that make the community great. As well as the lack off Russian sweats you see in CSGO.

    TF2 is also the largest source of SFM's, by which I mean about 90% of SFM's are probably TF2 related. CSGO and DotA don't have any where near as big SFM followings.
    Expand
  81. Dec 5, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First, The dislikes need to understand that tf2 is a unique team-based shooter that is NOT realistic and would rather opt for team balance. Every class is meant to counter each other. Spies are supposed to destroy machines and backstab high value targets. Soldiers use rocket jumping as a reliable source of mobility and offensiveness. Demomen use physics and indirect means of attacking and defending. Pyros are used for crowd control, reflection and ambushing. Scouts are used for capturing objectives quicker and using hit and run tactics. Engineers are the wall separating you from your team's objective. Medics are fail safes for when things go south. Snipers are mainly used for picking off slow moving targets such as soldiers or heavies. Heavies are used for pushing, defense and clearing. It keeps going on and on. Making this game free was a good move by valve. They introduced players to this fresh new world and offered them premium, in which they receive hats and guns for life. There is a workshop filled to the brim with experimental maps, weapon models and new ideas for cosmetics and gamemodes. Expand
  82. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    3 words describe this game, Best game ever. The classes are extremely diverse, the balancing, the community, the updates, and pretty much everything about the game will keep you playing for thousands of hours. A requirement for your steam library.
  83. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    Imagine a game that was meant to be a shooter. Now throw that notion out the window but keep the guns and add nine classes of different play style and lots of hats and other customization's. Now add a pinch of Garry's mod and you have team fortress 2. Definitely play it since it's free!
  84. Nov 30, 2015
    7
    Fun, but not that engaging for me, and didn't keep me interested in the long term. It didn't do anything wrong, but it didn't do anything special really. The only really engaging and super fun part for me was the grappling hook. Man I love that thing. Still a classic, and F2P!
  85. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    This game is the most unique FPS I have ever played. IT balances fun gameplay, frantic modes and hilarious characters into one free to play masterpiece of a game. Each class focuses on a trait used in every FPS to date and are really balanced. The rusher being the scout, the Brute being the heavy, the sneaky class the spy, the crazy fun class the soldier, the laid back sniper, the up inThis game is the most unique FPS I have ever played. IT balances fun gameplay, frantic modes and hilarious characters into one free to play masterpiece of a game. Each class focuses on a trait used in every FPS to date and are really balanced. The rusher being the scout, the Brute being the heavy, the sneaky class the spy, the crazy fun class the soldier, the laid back sniper, the up in your face pyro the medic, the builder the engineer (my favorite) and the fun class which is the demoman but thats my take. The modifiers on weapons are great for each class and it gives new play styles. Whether they slow you down but make you stronger or they shoot faster and do less damage there are tons of variants for each play style. Each character has a great personality and witty insult for domination quotes for each class. Overall TF2 is the best free game ever and if you have a PC and don have it what are you waiting for??? Expand
  86. Nov 11, 2015
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is a darn good game. Controls are solid, graphics are appealing, the only real complaint I have is about micro-transactions, but all of them are completely avoidable with a little time and effort. There's a class for just about everybody, whether you're a stealthy player to an accurate player to a brute, this game will suffice your needs. I always find myself playing thisTeam Fortress 2 is a darn good game. Controls are solid, graphics are appealing, the only real complaint I have is about micro-transactions, but all of them are completely avoidable with a little time and effort. There's a class for just about everybody, whether you're a stealthy player to an accurate player to a brute, this game will suffice your needs. I always find myself playing this game when I'm bored and have nothing else to do. I haven't had too many negative online interactions, all of the bad ones just being those 9-year-old newbies. All of this for the low, low price of FREE. Expand
  87. Nov 3, 2015
    2
    Booting up TF2 I was excited to experience what many claim is greatness within this game. I was met with frustrating team mates and everyone else having special gear that made them overpowered. There was no greatness. Only a samurai sword that chopped me into a thousand pieces every match no matter what I tried to do.
    The only things I enjoyed about TF2 were the selection of classes you
    Booting up TF2 I was excited to experience what many claim is greatness within this game. I was met with frustrating team mates and everyone else having special gear that made them overpowered. There was no greatness. Only a samurai sword that chopped me into a thousand pieces every match no matter what I tried to do.
    The only things I enjoyed about TF2 were the selection of classes you could play and the different game modes available.
    Expand
  88. Oct 27, 2015
    3
    This game used to be good. From it's launch till 2011 it was good. But then Valve decided to mess the whole thing up. It went from a fantastic fun online shooter, to a worthless, incohesive cluster of junk. Now instead of a fun online shooter, it is just another pathetic 'Free to Play' cashgrab that revolves around virtual items that cost real money. Speaking of the virtual items, theThis game used to be good. From it's launch till 2011 it was good. But then Valve decided to mess the whole thing up. It went from a fantastic fun online shooter, to a worthless, incohesive cluster of junk. Now instead of a fun online shooter, it is just another pathetic 'Free to Play' cashgrab that revolves around virtual items that cost real money. Speaking of the virtual items, the balancing on most of the weapons is off, and all of the costumes look ridiculous/don't go with the games initial theme at ALL. The game used to have a fantastic & unique cartoony style, but that is now overshadowed with absurd cosmetics/items. They seriously added a My Little Pony hat! Come on, who thought that would be a good idea? I can't remember the last time they released a half decent update. Actually, nevermind that. I do remember. It was the Engineer Update...BACK IN 2010! And to top it all off, the game has gotten stupidly buggy. I remember when it was almost polished to perfection, barely any bugs at all.
    This used to be one of my favorite games of all time. But now whenever I see it, I cringe. This game has become cringe worthy.
    Team Fortress 2 has lost ALL of its soul. This isn't TF2. TF2 doesn't exist anymore. It was replaced by...whatever THIS garbage is.

    Also Meet the Pyro was awful. One of the most interesting classes in the game and they didn't even make a decent video for him.
    Expand
  89. Oct 24, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very fun FPS game that I love playing with my friends and I love using scout a lot and this game really touched me a lot.

    I won't give it a 10... but this is a game I really like to play much with my friends all the time.
    Expand
  90. Sep 26, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. team fortress 2 is one of the best games of all time. tf2 is fun, funny, and amazing. the pyro which is my favortie is a killer machine. if you like pc. tf2 is a worth to pick up. Expand
  91. Sep 8, 2015
    3
    Metagame Tactics Trash. If I opened a box, the box would be recycled from trash. Then I would open the box and the box would be filled with s**t. And I go, "NOOOOOO! TEAM FORTRESS 2!"

    True story.
  92. Sep 2, 2015
    6
    I have been playing since launch and I have played this game off and on, sometimes intensely then not touching it for months. Gun Mettle has got me playing again but I still find the same strengths and weaknesses, like the unbalanced classes and weapons, the prevalence of servers with 'VIP' accounts that give double health, damage etc and the very basic nature of the gameplay overall. AnI have been playing since launch and I have played this game off and on, sometimes intensely then not touching it for months. Gun Mettle has got me playing again but I still find the same strengths and weaknesses, like the unbalanced classes and weapons, the prevalence of servers with 'VIP' accounts that give double health, damage etc and the very basic nature of the gameplay overall. An issue for me with Gun Mettle in particular is not only that I could have waited and bought most weapons for about 5p each, but also the fact that half the drops require a further key to be bought, indicative of the need for Valve to rinse the community for every penny they have. Expand
  93. Aug 31, 2015
    10
    THE BEST GAME EVER!!! I feel sorry for someone who hasn't played this game. Tf2 is by valve who are probably the grates game devs ever. Gaben please bring me HL3!
  94. Aug 22, 2015
    10
    You can conga, while being fallowed by a unicorn made out of Ballon. BEST. GAME. EVER. Not to mention its a mostly balanced game with a variety of classes. BUT BALLONS!!!!
  95. Aug 20, 2015
    10
    The Best game ever! The Art style is very unique, the level of violence of this game is over9000! The characters have unique weapons, strengths, weaknesses and personality. Its a well balanced game which promotes teamwork. This game has dozens of endangered species(presenting the spycrab). For me it has the best multiplayer experience,best hat simulator, best graphics than any other valveThe Best game ever! The Art style is very unique, the level of violence of this game is over9000! The characters have unique weapons, strengths, weaknesses and personality. Its a well balanced game which promotes teamwork. This game has dozens of endangered species(presenting the spycrab). For me it has the best multiplayer experience,best hat simulator, best graphics than any other valve game, best art style and etc. Good job Valve for making a very great game!. 10000000000000000/10 Expand
  96. Aug 19, 2015
    9
    The definition of insanity...and i love it.!
    a refreshing change from the usual hyper realistic war shooter, TF2 is nothing more than pure fun in hats, while purchasing weapons is possible, the game is in no way pay to win , in game purchases (while annoying) are understandable since it is a free game. keep in mind that this game is not for single player lovers as it is almost
    The definition of insanity...and i love it.!
    a refreshing change from the usual hyper realistic war shooter, TF2 is nothing more than pure fun in hats, while purchasing weapons is possible, the game is in no way pay to win , in game purchases (while annoying) are understandable since it is a free game. keep in mind that this game is not for single player lovers as it is almost exclusively PVP oriented, a co-op vs A.I mode is available, but it is not free.
    Expand
  97. Aug 13, 2015
    10
    This online multiplayer game is absolutely the best shooter game ever made. It's not just go in shoot all the people and win. It's also team based combat with MANY different game modes. You can also collect all sorts of weapons and hats.Every time I play it I can never get off.
  98. Aug 2, 2015
    10
    This game, having had it for 2 years now, is by far my most favourite game that I own. The fact that it is free makes it accessible to so many people. You don't have to spend a penny unless you want to, and even if you are up against someone who has spent money, they have no advantage over you. This game is so diverse in its classes, gameplay, maps, gamemodes, items and servers that youThis game, having had it for 2 years now, is by far my most favourite game that I own. The fact that it is free makes it accessible to so many people. You don't have to spend a penny unless you want to, and even if you are up against someone who has spent money, they have no advantage over you. This game is so diverse in its classes, gameplay, maps, gamemodes, items and servers that you can play it for an entire day and still think "I wanna go have another round of payload." There are so many ways to play because all the classes have different, game-changing items that, when put together with another item or team member, can meany death or life, or winning or losing a round. You don't even have to kill people, capture the bojective or even play properly at all to have fun. You can sit in a robotic, self-building chair and drink a beer while watching bullets fly out of a sentry gun that you just built rip a scout into a million tiny pieces, sit in a corner with a bunch of other fat Russians eating sandwiches and chocolate bars, beat people to death with a frying pan or a fish, spin up a minigun and shred some people up, give a black, drunken Scot a shield and a magical sword that talks to him fly off a cliff and into a group of people and behead them all, or, most importantly, get a hat. There are rumours that are flying around saying valve has ruined the game's economy with hats and now skinned weapons, but the fact is there wouldnt be as many new or returning players if there wasn't the option to buy hats, build up a collection or look utterly badass flying into to battle with a camo rocket launcher in hand, a bright yellow shotgun on your back, a frying pan in your belt and a pair of grenades gently wrapped in a pair of bright pink christmas socks on your chest. If NONE of these things appeal to you I would sincerely suggest getting checked by multiple doctors. Expand
  99. Aug 1, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. polla polla polla polla is a polla sdfs sfdf dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddfdssfsd ff dsf sd fsd fs sd dsf s ddf s dfs f sdf fsdf sdfdsf d ssdf dsf fsd dffsd fsdf sdsdf sdfd fdf Expand
  100. Jul 25, 2015
    10
    Amazing game , really cool gameplay , easy to get into competitive scheme , 9 extremely in depth classes - with even more in depth playstyles, some may say that some games are unbalanced, but the thing is that you need skill, and strategy i poored 1000+ hours in this and i can say no class is OP a sniper can kill a heavy , a soldier can be killed by a spy , it just takes the skill,no pay 2Amazing game , really cool gameplay , easy to get into competitive scheme , 9 extremely in depth classes - with even more in depth playstyles, some may say that some games are unbalanced, but the thing is that you need skill, and strategy i poored 1000+ hours in this and i can say no class is OP a sniper can kill a heavy , a soldier can be killed by a spy , it just takes the skill,no pay 2 win weapons , if you put your time in the game you can get any item you want by trading without putting money in the game, once you go into competitive playing youll see the gameplay is manicacly fast and addicting and NO people that say this game is "unrealistic" this is how its supposed to be , a damn cartoon!The only thing that drags this game down but i wont drag down the grade for this because this is by far the most amazing game I played is that the system requierments go up over time because of the updates, in mid 2011 i could run this game on max no problems , but now it isnt the same anymore , and it can run on your day to day 2 gb of ram toaster and nvidia geforce 9800 + dual core with some fps configs and low poly packs(like me) if you train alot youll be that demon that 1 v 12 all the team in no time and trust you ARE (im playing this since mid 2011) Expand
  101. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I got this game as free-to-play. It kept me busy for some years. Nowadays I hate it. Premium players with Unusual hats and Strange weapons made me cry in anger. I was unable to buy anything. However this doesn't mean I'm saying it's bad. No. This game is superb and slick. I love graphics, sound and sense of humour. For those who like to play shooting games this is just necessary. I know II got this game as free-to-play. It kept me busy for some years. Nowadays I hate it. Premium players with Unusual hats and Strange weapons made me cry in anger. I was unable to buy anything. However this doesn't mean I'm saying it's bad. No. This game is superb and slick. I love graphics, sound and sense of humour. For those who like to play shooting games this is just necessary. I know I may sound like hypocrite, but I just can't (and don't want to) pay real money for cosmetic features but without them I feel powerless around premiums stuffed with hats. I will no longer play tf2, cause I know there will be nothing like "hat drops for free-to-play gamers" until end of the world. Still, to praise this game "as it is" and not annoy fans I will give it 10. It deserves it, despite my opinion. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.