TERA PC

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 729 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2012
    2
    Tera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retarded player being in charge of so much). It feels like they put a lot of effort into over hyping their combat system and not enough effort into...anything else. The game would have more potential if it wasn't a standard-style MMO with the most basic cutTera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retarded player being in charge of so much). It feels like they put a lot of effort into over hyping their combat system and not enough effort into...anything else. The game would have more potential if it wasn't a standard-style MMO with the most basic cut and dry questing system available. If you want a story line, forget about it. Just expect to collect 10 boxes and kill 50 boars. Not just -any- boars though, but boars with the same model and skills you saw when you were level 5, forty levels ago. Yes, a lot of recycled mobs standing in a field. If you manage to stomach the horrible level 55 through 60 grind and make it to level cap, expect the game to be heavily dependent on gear (which you'll struggle in getting unless you know a Tank or you are a Tank). Otherwise, have fun in 2hr+ queues even if you're a healer. ==== As for the dungeons, it's probably the best part of the game, however their LFG system is flawed but it gets the job done (barely). What's wrong with the LFG system? Well, for starters, people AFK and that's not the worst part, the AFKers are usually the group leaders. Who can kick? Group leaders. By then, you'll probably have your tank leave out of frustration and your group falls apart. Another scenario, my personal favorite, is someone who "buys a tank" to tank for them in a dungeon but upon arrival, the Tank will leave as soon as everyone zones in. Again, the group falls apart. The next best part though is wiping. Since you get zoned into an instance, chances are you have no idea where this instance is, so if you wipe, you're ported back to a town somewhere in the zone. Thus, you have people leaving because 1) You wiped, 2) They're lost, 3) They're tired of waiting for the lost person to find their way. *Another* flaw is the fact that if you press "wait" before entering a Dungeon, there is no option to teleport back to the dungeon. Yeah..this wasn't thought through. ====

    Finally, I don't think Tera offers enough to be deemed as "unique." The hype of the combat system will wither away after level 40 and I promise you'll be clawing your eyes out by the time you kill your 9823794872938479824 recycled quest mob. The depth of the quests is not worth reading (not even the "story" quest), the cut scenes are awful and poorly translated. There's just not much to do at cap to even justify putting yourself through so much pain and agony. Not to mention (take it as good or bad, as a female gamer I found it weird) all the female characters look and dress like porn stars. Tera took "battle thongs" to a whole new level. ====

    PS: I hope you -really- like 100% gear based, stuns, back-to-back knockdowns, chain CC's, getting ganked/zerged, and getting two shot [unless...you're a lancer], because that's about what you can expect from Tera's PVP. So much for skill (because..aiming is hard or something?). Honestly, it's no wonder this game failed in other countries already. But don't take my word for it, try it for yourselves and make your own opinion.
    Expand
  2. May 8, 2012
    4
    FIrst, let me say, the combat is pretty amazing..for an MMO. I have to admit. However, the character races, the quests, and the general feel of the game [outside of the pretty aesthetics] is incredibly dull and repetitive. You have a pedophilia based class of little girls [creepy anyone?], as well as some random idiotic animal furries, and absurd looking humanoids.

    Typical of an Asian
    FIrst, let me say, the combat is pretty amazing..for an MMO. I have to admit. However, the character races, the quests, and the general feel of the game [outside of the pretty aesthetics] is incredibly dull and repetitive. You have a pedophilia based class of little girls [creepy anyone?], as well as some random idiotic animal furries, and absurd looking humanoids.

    Typical of an Asian mmo, and maybe it suits some people, but not me.

    All of that aside, the game is fairly shallow, focusing on little more than a slightly enjoyable combat system, that will get old fast. Should have been a single player rpg.
    Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    4
    Used to be a huge fan of the game, and paid for membership for many months. Unfortunately, the past few weeks have been a disaster. More than half of the people who used to play have completely disappeared, and the population of the game has dwindled into a small niche market. The game is worth a go in the beginning, but don't expect to be playing much longer once your reach the level cap.Used to be a huge fan of the game, and paid for membership for many months. Unfortunately, the past few weeks have been a disaster. More than half of the people who used to play have completely disappeared, and the population of the game has dwindled into a small niche market. The game is worth a go in the beginning, but don't expect to be playing much longer once your reach the level cap. I wish this game the very best, but as far as I'm concerned, there are better games out there which doesn't push out its core users. Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Class Balance ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give UI Fix ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Game Optimization
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Class Balance ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give UI Fix ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Game Optimization
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Class Balance ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give UI Fix ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Game Optimization
  5. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    garbage publisher, and garbage dev team, only releasing female only classes, and instead of working on content they work on new cash shop interface. completely ignores their player base .
  6. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    Amazing game but destroyed by Bluehole and EME (publisher). No EME staff plays the game or is at max level and they don't know what the community needs or wants. All they keep doing is more cash grab events and nothing else other than trashing the best action combat out there. Tera really has the potential to be the best game out there if only these publishers and BHS had some sort of brain..
  7. Jul 20, 2013
    2
    The game itself offers a great combat system and graphic, unfortunately the game is way too repetitive. The monster looks the same (sometimes only with different colour or type of armour). End game is very limited to its core. The character design is a little bit extreme for some people.
  8. Sep 30, 2013
    3
    Honestly all this game has going for it is the combat system. It was well done, but everything else is pretty bad. The game itself deserves maybe a 6, but the player base and gear progression bumps it down to a 3. The entire economy runs on novelty items bought with real money. The problem is that nearly all high end gear can be purchased from other players for in-game currency. BecauseHonestly all this game has going for it is the combat system. It was well done, but everything else is pretty bad. The game itself deserves maybe a 6, but the player base and gear progression bumps it down to a 3. The entire economy runs on novelty items bought with real money. The problem is that nearly all high end gear can be purchased from other players for in-game currency. Because many players buy novelty junk for real money to sell it in game, it inflates prices of gear to ridiculous levels that you can only really make from real money novelty stuff. You would think that isn't a big deal since you can just farm the items you need yourself... but you would be wrong. Trying to find a group for anything in end game is extremely difficult if you actually still need items from that instance. The players just will not invite you to an instance that drops t14 unless you are full t14. So the progression system is basically buy items from broker, run content you don't need items from simply to sell on broker, use that money to buy better stuff, etc. Really stupid. The content is also lacking, its all 5-man and no content has been released in a long time. Expand
  9. Nov 26, 2014
    3
    I find this game very boring and grindy. Quests of kill 15 of a goat mob then 10 of some other mob and repeat. Or collect some sort of item. Not really any variety in quests. The story didn't grip me and dislike the trashy races.

    It is good for making me fall asleep, so I only pay it at night with friends as it helps me get a good sleep.
  10. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    Fix the UI lag
    Optimize the game
    Stop of crating famale and gender lock classes
    Give us a real content
    Without this, that game will still a trash
    Rip TERA 2016
  11. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    Back in the pay to play days, I considered this game a lot of fun. However, now (at least the NA version of the game) its terrible. Prepare for a boring grind up to cap, or pay like 60$ to cut out the middle man and get to 60, 5 levels from cap. Once you're at cap, fight the same boss a bunch of times and hope it drops what you need. Then enchant it, probably spending all of your hardBack in the pay to play days, I considered this game a lot of fun. However, now (at least the NA version of the game) its terrible. Prepare for a boring grind up to cap, or pay like 60$ to cut out the middle man and get to 60, 5 levels from cap. Once you're at cap, fight the same boss a bunch of times and hope it drops what you need. Then enchant it, probably spending all of your hard earned gold on it, because it's literally impossible to make the in-game currency, well, IN-GAME without spending your hard earned real money in the cash shop to sell to someone. Which is hard because no one has money anymore. Content takes too long to come out, seen in the January Letter in the forums on the EME site, a much wanted/needed dungeon has been pushed back till March. We were promised it in January. This is just one of the many broken promises. This game is poorly optimized. Not even the best of the best computers can run it at 100%. The developer in Korea is more interested in milking money out of costumes. Prepare for the new classes being female (or at this point, Elin) only. The community itself is full of trolls and lots of disgusting "jokes".

    Sure, the combat is fun, but it's not worth the absolute **** that comes with it. In all honesty, do not buy into this game. If you're interested in this type of combat, look into Blade and Soul. It's coming out very soon. TERA itself has fallen.
    Expand
  12. Jan 14, 2016
    2
    I have played this game for over two years now. I have seen it at its best, and now currently its worst. The only thing that kept me playing was the action combat, but not even that is enough now. The community is incredibly toxic (given a f2p game) but what's even worse is that Enmasse Entertainment, the publisher for Bluehole is horrible now. They do less than pay attention to theI have played this game for over two years now. I have seen it at its best, and now currently its worst. The only thing that kept me playing was the action combat, but not even that is enough now. The community is incredibly toxic (given a f2p game) but what's even worse is that Enmasse Entertainment, the publisher for Bluehole is horrible now. They do less than pay attention to the community's needs, banning people from forums if they were to list a single complaint that is bashing the company. They lost their best staff and now are currently running their game into the dirt, promising players content but then pushing it back by more than two months. The only compensation is a cash grab event that only makes Enmasse more money. If you don't believe how displeased the community is, go ahead and check the forums. They are removing downvotes on the forums however, so soon enough we won't even be able to voice our displeasure. The game is going downhill as their support is getting worse by the month and there are no fixes to problems in game that are mentioned frequently. I used to love this game, but now I'm just tired. Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Don't listen to the 10/10 glowing reviews, because they are all fake, and they conveniently leave out fatal drawbacks of Tera.

    Here is a REAL Review, from an actual player: Pros: Graphics and FPS-style combat. Cons: MAJOR game-breaking bugs (reported over 50 of them so far, and this game has been out for 3 years?)! HUGE design flaws such as: Can't even enter or exit
    Don't listen to the 10/10 glowing reviews, because they are all fake, and they conveniently leave out fatal drawbacks of Tera.

    Here is a REAL Review, from an actual player:

    Pros:

    Graphics and FPS-style combat.

    Cons:

    MAJOR game-breaking bugs (reported over 50 of them so far, and this game has been out for 3 years?)!

    HUGE design flaws such as:

    Can't even enter or exit through doors of your own team's castle in PvP battlegrounds

    Teleporter menus in cities are TEXT-ONLY rather than a VISUAL MAP

    Quests are completely redundant and have little or no creative process involved (e.g. same quest, different monster)

    Quest List is very cluttered

    Quest objectives do NOT automatically show up on the map (e.g. you have to open each one manually, and find the objective, activate the link, and THEN it shows up... redundant? Lazy programmers? Yes!)

    Opening up the map does not show the current zone you're in, rather it is completely ZOOMED OUT (again, lazy programming)

    Mini-map radar in the upper right has no terrain on it, and it is completely dark, has some dots every now and then... is this a joke? (no, it's lazy programming)

    Lots of repetitive spell animations (i.e. they use mostly generic circles for every single caster AoE spell)

    No AFK command (can you believe this? I was laughing when I first found out)

    While riding a horse you CANNOT dismount by casting a spell or ability; the ONLY way you can dismount is by using the "summon horse" ability again (e.g. imagine how annoying this gets after a while, you just want to jump right into something with a spell, bam, but you can't, because you have to de-summon the horse first instead of allowing you to de-summon it by simply casting any other spell like every other MMO does... lazy programming yet again)

    When you disconnect from the game while in a dungeon, and you are kicked while offline, you still receive a 15 minute debuff that does not allow you to use dungeon or battleground matching system again; even if you were already in there for 15 minutes

    You lose all your spells and abilities from your hotkey bar after you finish a Battleground match if you're still inside of a siege tank or tower gun (this bug has been around for over a year apparently, still NOT fixed)

    There are NO MAILBOXES in this game, you must go through an NPC, which holds both Bank and Mailbox options, and the Mailbox option is labeled as "PARCEL POST" (Seriously? You couldn't even just make a simple mailbox?)

    When you die in this game, your base health upon resurrection is dramatically reduced due to low "stamina," and the only way to get it back is either drink an expensive potion, or stand by a campfire for 5 minutes (do you really, honestly, truly, want to stand by a campfire for 5 minutes in the middle of your dungeon run?)

    Another note on dying: If you "release" or "resurrect" while inside of a dungeon, it will revive you at the nearest town, all the way outside of the dungeon, and typically it would take you 5-10 minutes just to get back to the dungeon (unless of course you have a lot of money and pay for teleport scrolls, which most people do not have... do you really want to waste 5 minutes by a campfire AND 5-10 minutes running back to the dungeon?)

    Dungeon bosses have absolutely no diverse range of mechanics; it's all tank and spank, and the tank can't even hold aggro half the time (I guess that makes it a little more exciting at least? Until you die of course, then you have the 5 minute campfire or 5-10 minutes of running back)

    More on Dungeons: There are VERY FEW of them, and you have to wait until level 20 (only 60 levels max in this game just so you know) before you can try your FIRST dungeon. Also, there are GAP periods between some dungeons, where you will be unable to queue up to the instance dungeon matching system (i.e. at level 32-35), so that is yet again another period you will be forced to either manually find a group, or go back to redundant questing

    Very Low Population: This is probably the biggest drawback, despite all of the design flaws and horrendous bugs, because without other players, you can't even form groups to do anything, so you will often be stuck waiting even during the middle of the day to find a group for a dungeon, or go back to redundant questing

    Massive Server Lag due to lack of consistent maintenance (delay of up to about 10 seconds for chat messages at times) I will update this list in the near future, but this is what I have so far at nearly maximum level. Overall: This game's development team is shamefully lazy, and you should invest your valuable time elsewhere.
    Expand
  14. Jun 22, 2013
    2
    TLDR: If you like pvp, content updates, or balance, avoid Tera.

    Tera is in many ways attempting to be creative and innovative, but falls flat in the most basic of expectations. The levelling process follows the standard set by World of Warcraft. Killing x mobs, gathering y flowers, and wandering from quest hub to quest hub. Every now and then the quest path leads to a 5 man dungeon
    TLDR: If you like pvp, content updates, or balance, avoid Tera.

    Tera is in many ways attempting to be creative and innovative, but falls flat in the most basic of expectations.

    The levelling process follows the standard set by World of Warcraft. Killing x mobs, gathering y flowers, and wandering from quest hub to quest hub. Every now and then the quest path leads to a 5 man dungeon where the standard tank/healer/damage dealer trinity is required.
    As levels increase, the process gets slower, and the final step from 59 to 60 is time consuming and tedious.

    Once at 60, the endgame is composed of more 5 man dungeons, a few larger raid instances, and a single battleground where players can group up and face an opposing team in a control based scenario. All in all, it is similar, though perhaps slightly more frugal, to most MMOs in the ARPG genre.

    The game does however fail to deliver at even the most basic level in four distinct areas.

    The Economy
    Never before have I encountered a game where playing the market was absolutely necessary. Progress through the game is measured in gold. Enchanting your equipment to competitive levels requires jawbreaking levels of gold in your piggybank, and acquiring those weapons in the first place is easiest with gold as well (as few weapons are bind on pickup). Acquiring even a small portion of the materials required yourself will take a long time, and requires the assistance of a team.
    This approach is the direct opposite of how most MMOs do it, and it ruins any sense of progression or respect for that progression.

    Balance and content updates
    The european version of Tera receives very few updates, and most of these only deal with specials and price cuts in the TERA shop, a place where players can spend real money on ingame items.
    No balance changes have been applied, meaning that the state of balance in the game is unaltered. The player classes that perform at a superior level will continue to do so, and the player classes that do not perform sufficiently will continue to underperform. This creates a notably lopsided diversity, as the dedicated players continue to reroll to the functional classes. Notably, this phenomenon can be perceived in high-performance battleground teams, where only specific classes are represented. This is a direct result of the balance, and the certitude that changes will not be coming. This means that unless you picked the right class (or rerolled to one), prepare to be fodder.

    Gear based performance
    No matter how good you are, gear is more important. Never before have I encountered a game where gear accounts for such a massive amount of your performance. The difference between the damage of an ilvl145 and ilvl155 geared character can be as large as 20x in a pvp setting. That means that you have to hit your opponent 20(!) times more to achieve the effect your opponent will have with only one. As a result, unless you are at the gear top, prepare to die in one hit, and die often.

    Player vs Player
    While I have mentioned the issue of class balance, the topic of PvP deserves its own section.
    The basic layout is very simple, with classes receiving rather few talents and abilities, resulting in linear and predictable combat. There are plenty of stuns and knockdowns, and these usually last longer than the average life expectancy. Thus, if you do get stunned or knocked down, expect to die. As a result, surefire stuns can be used in lieu of skill to quickly and efficiently kill opponents, even if you only have the most rudimentary knowledge of gameplay.
    There is no way out of stuns or roots, meaning that once affected, you will suffer the duration with no opportunity for counterplay. There is also no version of diminishing returns to reduce the duration of incapacitation, meaning that stacking long duration aoe stun classes (such as warriors) allows for a stunlock that never ends on multiple opponents.
    This absolute over abundance of stuns, roots, and knockdowns ruins any form of tactical player combat.

    Conclusion
    Tera has some interesting aspects, such as the action element incorporated into the standard RPG formula. The graphics are pleasant, and if one can oversee the childish art style of weaponry and enemies, quite innovative.
    So why score the game a 2?
    While there are some good aspects to the game, the abyssal failures outlined above intrude upon the gameplay to such an extent as to make it unplayable, destroying whatever parts of the game that can be enjoyed.
    PvP is horrible. Playing the market is a superior alternative to actually playing the game. There is no hope for balance. Without toplevel gear, you are a liability at best.
    Expand
  15. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    I really dislike this game. I tried playing it some times, but every time I exited it after 20, 30 minutes because it's... uh... boring. Yeah, this game is really boring. Compare TERA to WoW. WoW is like basement for every new MMO, because everyone can see that TERA brought many ideas from WoW. Next thing is gameplay. On early levels it's, like I said before, boring. I can't tell you aboutI really dislike this game. I tried playing it some times, but every time I exited it after 20, 30 minutes because it's... uh... boring. Yeah, this game is really boring. Compare TERA to WoW. WoW is like basement for every new MMO, because everyone can see that TERA brought many ideas from WoW. Next thing is gameplay. On early levels it's, like I said before, boring. I can't tell you about higher levels, because I didn't have desire to play this game more. Now some pros: amazing graphic and sound design, cool characters and classes. Amazing, but how it will improve boring gameplay? By some way sure, but I didn't feel like it does something. Oh, one more thing. Poorly made quests aren't something special (kill X monsters, bring X items from monsters, talk to X npc, kill [name of boss] Expand
  16. May 25, 2015
    1
    This game is awful overall and the only people who should every play it are people who love endless grind or pulling out their credit cards so they can pay to win.

    I'll be nice though and start with the only positive. The gameplay mechanics itself is decently fun in PVE. Rolling around and chaining abilities can be challenging on harder bosses and offers something most MMOs don't.
    This game is awful overall and the only people who should every play it are people who love endless grind or pulling out their credit cards so they can pay to win.

    I'll be nice though and start with the only positive. The gameplay mechanics itself is decently fun in PVE. Rolling around and chaining abilities can be challenging on harder bosses and offers something most MMOs don't. However, it's largely repetitive after a while and can get old after you get halfway to the level cap. This is about all TERA has to offer.

    As for the rest of it, once you hit the level cap expect a huge gear disadvantage followed by endless grind with a horrific community and just about every other standard feature you'd expect out of an MMO falling flat on its face so hard that I honestly can't believe, after all the past examples we've had, they'd do so freaking bad at this things.

    First off, let's discuss PvP. It's not balanced. In terms of classes alone, TERA is another game which for some indeterminable reason decided to implement the god awful trinity (heals, DPS, tank) for groups. This automatically means that certain classes are going to faceroll other classes on the spot just by the nature of what their class is designed to do in 1v1. Their chosen method to fix this is to basically make healer classes have an endless supply of health, heals, mana and dodge skills which, instead of making it engaging to try to kill a healer, basically make it impossible to solo most healers and makes it a game of running around chasing them constantly. It's not fun. Not only this, but the two classes they've recently implemented are so undeniably overpowered that it's completely ruined PvP. The gunner has abilities that can completely wipe a group in 3v3 in one shot, and other abilities that require no skill at all but still wipe half of your health away while other melee DPS classes have to get off entire combos in exact order and pray the other player doesn't somehow desync while they're doing it to even come close to that kind of damage.

    Did I mention the gear grind for PvP also? Once you hit the level cap, you'll be put on a horrible, boring, and uneventful grind for gear. What's worse is that without the top gear, you'll be at such a huge disadvantage that you'll be effectively cut out from about half of the PvP content available. What's even worse is that players can pay to get this gear at such a hugely faster pace that it's effectively pay to win. Also the battlegrounds you have are awful and all broken for various reasons which I can't list here because it'd take too long. They're just bad, and you have to repeat them over and over to get end game gear, along with grinding PvE. What's even worse is that instead of fixing their current BGs or adding new interesting PvP content, they're just adding higher level armor for more grind to keep players around. Expect constant desyncs and lag spikes while you're playing too; screen freeze and then sudden death. So much fun.

    The graphics are OK but poorly optimized. It's about on the level of Aion for pure visuals but chugs like the Witcher 3.

    The combo system they tried to implement is something every player avoids because it just doesn't work like it should. Because of this, players turn to hotkey binding like WoW which, in my opinion, is awful and should have died for every MMO that came out after WoW.

    PvE is a grind and very samey. Nothing new after hitting level 30 or so. The same quests and then playing the same dungeons repeatedly just like WoW to get end game gear which is an even worse grind than PvP gear. I don't recommend it.

    The game is oversexualized. I found it hard to play at first just because of this. There's an overwhelmingly preferred race called Elin which is modeled after maybe an 8 year old anime girl which everyone dresses up in lingerie and stuff. It's obvious that there is some pedophilia infiltrating the ranks of TERA players.

    The broker is useless. Players put up stacks of consumable items which other players must buy the whole amount for sale or none at all. On top of this, the broker has a system where you have to negotiate with the player selling while they are online in order to receive a reasonable price. Otherwise, the game tacks on an extra set percentage which goes to neither player and just disappears as a tax. The negotiate option is obnoxious as it spams in chat trying to force you to answer it. People will constantly lowball your price too making you constantly hit refuse.

    The community of TERA is awful. It's not much better than **** The GMs haven't moderated the game in forever so harassment, derogatory language, racism, sexism, and pure filth are everywhere in chat. You'll be hard pressed to run into a decent group of people anywhere in the game who aren't the LOL YOU'RE SO BAD types either.

    I'm starting to run out of space so I'll just sum it up here. This is an awful game. Avoid it at all costs unless you really want a long grind.
    Expand
  17. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    This game is NOT good past end game. When you first start playing it, you will think it's AMAZING, until you finish the game.
    It's fun for temporary play up until 60, but post 60 it's a fest of what the should I do next? It's a run of the mill MMO with kill x monsters, bring back to npc quests, travel to a new location ordeal. It's a huge grind fest where you spend all your time
    This game is NOT good past end game. When you first start playing it, you will think it's AMAZING, until you finish the game.
    It's fun for temporary play up until 60, but post 60 it's a fest of what the should I do next? It's a run of the mill MMO with kill x monsters, bring back to npc quests, travel to a new location ordeal. It's a huge grind fest where you spend all your time trying to get gear (without it, you're useless) and then they re-update the gear making you get all brand NEW gear. The enchantment system in this game SUCKS. Grouping up sucks. You have to be doing the exact same quests to get any decent EXP in the game, and trust me, people aren't doing the exact same quests. You're likely to solo this entire game.

    This game is fun for the first 3 months. After that you'll be looking for something new.
    Expand
  18. Apr 5, 2013
    4
    I see 10's and 9's in the review column and I wonder why???! Seriously this game isn't that great. After playing this game and playing Blade and Soul (Yes I have a KSSN so I can get in) Blade and Soul far out does this game. In fact as long as Blade and Soul has been in development a small part of me tells me TERA stole the concept from them and rushed this game out to cash-in. Enough biasI see 10's and 9's in the review column and I wonder why???! Seriously this game isn't that great. After playing this game and playing Blade and Soul (Yes I have a KSSN so I can get in) Blade and Soul far out does this game. In fact as long as Blade and Soul has been in development a small part of me tells me TERA stole the concept from them and rushed this game out to cash-in. Enough bias hate though lets move on. First of all I must absolutely say that this games visuals and graphics are AMAZING! Holy s*** I can never get over it! It is a true wonder to see on my monitor. I couldn't get over all the details in it. That does however bring me to optimization of the game. Seriously this game makes my amazing computer look as good a damn potato as I can only get 20 to 40 FPS unless I turn off the UI which it then spikes to 80 FPS. Funnier thing of it all is when I turned the graphics to minimum it was still at 20 to 40.... wtf? No change in FPS at all?! So it obviously wasn't my computer just horrible programming. Story in this game is just... awful. I played the Korean version and I can tell you the story you see in the US version is absolute rubbish and fan made. It is non-canon garbage! The characters will never stick with you... you won't remember anyone for more than a day or two as they phase out to the sidelines. The voice acting is terrible. For the Federation? Lol no. Yet another fan addition like thing to this game. Not even 2 days in did I try and port in the Japanese Voices with the great NOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRIOOOOOOOO (Norio) in it. The combat of this game feels like WoW only without the auto target system. Don't hate me for that statement I know it shouldn't be thrown in there but face rolling 1~12 automatically lands in there for me. Although the nice part is the fact you can now run around and dodge the attacks yourself so that defiantly made up a bit for it. As I was playing this I found the challenge to be non existent... seriously 1~50 was a solo run. It was so bring that I was playing an MMO only to solo 90% of it. At the time I was playing this game they had only recently added one PvP aspect to the game (aside from being on a PvP server) and that was battlegrounds and I gotta say this in my final statement how it sums up the entire end game as soon as you reach the end. MASSIVE F***ING GAMBLING! HOLY S*** NEVER HAVE I SEEN SO MUCH RNG (Random Number Generation) IN ONE GAME THAT I ALMOST WENT BLIND! So not only do you have to upgrade your weapon to +9 (which is pretty hard btw) you have to unlock your weapon to masterwork level and you have to reidentify the weapon constantly to get good stats on it. This is the end game. Right there. You grind constantly (I did for 2 months) to try and get all your weapons and armor to Masterwork level with the proper stats and the high number. After 2 months of Grind I only got up to +5 and the best I could get for stats was 2/4 of the things. Yes it is that bad! That's when I quit. If not you cannot succeed in the RNG upgrades then you will not succeed in PvP or PvE. IT IS PART OF THE PVE PROGRESSION! THIS BROKE THE GAME FOR ME! No way was I staying here with a game so heavily dependent on luck. All your skill in PvP don't mean squat when someone with +12 armor/weapon comes along and 2 shots your +5 armor/weapon character. It is pretty much those who grind the most win. This game was a 6/10 but due to the end game being so awful it falls all the way down to a 4/10. if you don't like massive RNG then don't play this game. The forums were swarmed with complaints about this but the mods have cracked down and will not allow people to talk about how awful it is now. Pretty much covering up such awful end gameplay. I'd avoid this game unless you have nothing better to do. Expand
  19. Dec 19, 2014
    3
    This is actually a fun game - the overall concept it nothing new, but the combat system is really fun, much more fast paced / hack-n-slash than the traditional ''click-n-cast" like WoW. Unfortunately, if you're based in Europe, Gameforge - the publisher - are HORRIBLE. Frequent patch problems, launcher is really buggy, downloads are very slow, so your first install might take days (and I'mThis is actually a fun game - the overall concept it nothing new, but the combat system is really fun, much more fast paced / hack-n-slash than the traditional ''click-n-cast" like WoW. Unfortunately, if you're based in Europe, Gameforge - the publisher - are HORRIBLE. Frequent patch problems, launcher is really buggy, downloads are very slow, so your first install might take days (and I'm on a 150Mbps cable line so its not my end) and worst is the Terrible support (especially annoying if you're actually paid money through the store) Expand
  20. May 28, 2012
    4
    Combat system is okay. Just okay. The questing is horrible. Very, very, horrible. The character models are really ridiculous too. If your really into Asian stuff than maybe its for you but i find it stupid.
  21. Oct 1, 2012
    0
    Tera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retarded player being in charge of so much). It feels like they put a lot of effort into over hyping their combat system and not enough effort into...anything else. The game would have more potential if it wasn't a standard-style MMO with the most basic cutTera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retarded player being in charge of so much). It feels like they put a lot of effort into over hyping their combat system and not enough effort into...anything else. The game would have more potential if it wasn't a standard-style MMO with the most basic cut and dry questing system available. If you want a story line, forget about it. Just expect to collect 10 boxes and kill 50 boars. Not just -any- boars though, but boars with the same model and skills you saw when you were level 5, forty levels ago. Yes, a lot of recycled mobs standing in a field. If you manage to stomach the horrible level 55 through 60 grind and make it to level cap, expect the game to be heavily dependent on gear (which you'll struggle in getting unless you know a Tank or you are a Tank). Otherwise, have fun in 2hr+ queues even if you're a healer. ==== As for the dungeons, it's probably the best part of the game, however their LFG system is flawed but it gets the job done (barely). What's wrong with the LFG system? Well, for starters, people AFK and that's not the worst part, the AFKers are usually the group leaders. Who can kick? Group leaders. By then, you'll probably have your tank leave out of frustration and your group falls apart. Another scenario, my personal favorite, is someone who "buys a tank" to tank for them in a dungeon but upon arrival, the Tank will leave as soon as everyone zones in. Again, the group falls apart. The next best part though is wiping. Since you get zoned into an instance, chances are you have no idea where this instance is, so if you wipe, you're ported back to a town somewhere in the zone. Thus, you have people leaving because 1) You wiped, 2) They're lost, 3) They're tired of waiting for the lost person to find their way. *Another* flaw is the fact that if you press "wait" before entering a Dungeon, there is no option to teleport back to the dungeon. Yeah..this wasn't thought through. ==== Finally, I don't think Tera offers enough to be deemed as "unique." The hype of the combat system will wither away after level 40 and I promise you'll be clawing your eyes out by the time you kill your 9823794872938479824 recycled quest mob. The depth of the quests is not worth reading (not even the "story" quest), the cut scenes are awful and poorly translated. There's just not much to do at cap to even justify putting yourself through so much pain and agony. Not to mention (take it as good or bad, as a female gamer I found it weird) all the female characters look and dress like porn stars. Tera took "battle thongs" to a whole new level. ==== PS: I hope you -really- like 100% gear based, stuns, back-to-back knockdowns, chain CC's, getting ganked/zerged, and getting two shot [unless...you're a lancer], because that's about what you can expect from Tera's PVP. So much for skill (because..aiming is hard or something?). Honestly, it's no wonder this game failed in other countries already. But don't take my word for it, try it for yourselves and make your own opinion. Expand
  22. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    While Tera does feature some amazing graphics for a MMO, that's all it really has going for it. Contrary to the belief of western gamers, Tera does not feature original combat or content. In fact, zillions of MMOs are pumped out and kept inside Asia that we never get to see. A f-ton of these are considered to be 'action combat' just like Tera and feature more game than what Tera offers. SoWhile Tera does feature some amazing graphics for a MMO, that's all it really has going for it. Contrary to the belief of western gamers, Tera does not feature original combat or content. In fact, zillions of MMOs are pumped out and kept inside Asia that we never get to see. A f-ton of these are considered to be 'action combat' just like Tera and feature more game than what Tera offers. So what exactly does Tera offer outside of great graphics? A heavily repeating grind that rarely varies from one map to the next. Kill x monster x/x times and repeat until you do a handful of boss type monsters. You can lie to yourselves all you want, but Tera is just trying to cash in on the 'action combat' market that while extremely popular in Asia, has rarely been touched in the western market. For the reason of actually being able to have played a handful of good Asian 'action combat' MMOs throughout my time, I give Tera a solid 0 for bringing nothing new to the genre. Expand
  23. Feb 28, 2013
    4
    Tera boasts a unique combat system that they say has never been done before, but that's not true. Vindictus, C9, Dragon's Nest, Mabinogi, and RYL2 all have similar combat systems and I'm sure I'm missing many more that have combat that includes an aiming receptacle, the ability to block, directional attacks, and a combo system. The problem is not that they aren't the first to do it, butTera boasts a unique combat system that they say has never been done before, but that's not true. Vindictus, C9, Dragon's Nest, Mabinogi, and RYL2 all have similar combat systems and I'm sure I'm missing many more that have combat that includes an aiming receptacle, the ability to block, directional attacks, and a combo system. The problem is not that they aren't the first to do it, but that they didn't do it as well. Tera pales in comparison to Vindictus, C9, and Dragon's Nest. I felt like it was more on par with Mabinogi, an ancient game by today's standards, because of the stilted movement and awkward transitions. Every time you execute a skill, you stop moving. When you want to go from one skill to the next, there is often a half-second hesitation before execution. Thus, what is supposed to be a twitch-based system ends up being a more traditional MMO style experience where you button spam a mob while awkwardly kiting or blocking well ahead of time. Compare that to Vindictus's combat which is totally fluid and gives you complete control over your movement, which is required, because each mob has their own pattern of attack that can't be skirted by simply circle-kiting. Tera was appealing to many people because it does feature an open world. A very empty open world. People don't party in the fields, it seems everybody is in the instances, where you have queues! Queues that can only be made shorter if you pay $15 a month to play. In addition to the monthly fee, they also have a cash shop where prices are exorbitant. I am not a fan of $16 dollar mounts and $5 a pop for a single character slot. You might make up for all this with an interesting story, but questing is abysmal. They are your standard fetch quests with very little else going for them. There is no story worth paying attention to in this game. Your character is a hollow shell, the ultimate yes-man, who repeats the same phrases over and over in quest dialog (For the federation! etc.) I think the biggest flaw is that you cannot win against a boss mob solo. This is unthinkable for a twitch-based game. Anything should be possible if it is truly based on skill and timing, not on gear or level. But boss mobs get lock-on-target skills that will simply one-hit you. You have no way to dodge them or escape their range. Even the most crazy, high-level boss in Vindictus has been soloed by someone. It might've taken 100 hours of their life to learn how to do it, and time to completion may be beyond what any normal person would ever think of as reasonable, but it's been done. In this world, class and gear have too much impact on your playability, just like your standard MMO. This is not really a true twitch MMO. Expand
  24. Feb 24, 2014
    3
    I have found this game to be very unappealing to say the least. I played about 10 or 12 levels and found the experience repetivie already. Story-wise the game seems very weak. Immersion is almost non-existent. Graphics don't look very well either. It feels generic and cheap. I recognize why other people like TERA and there are few innovations which contribute well to the MMO genre andI have found this game to be very unappealing to say the least. I played about 10 or 12 levels and found the experience repetivie already. Story-wise the game seems very weak. Immersion is almost non-existent. Graphics don't look very well either. It feels generic and cheap. I recognize why other people like TERA and there are few innovations which contribute well to the MMO genre and which should be appretiated. As a whole, this game disappointed me greatly though. Expand
  25. Mar 5, 2014
    2
    I've played this competitively + casually from BETA all the way into the Dungeon Assault (Q4 2013) and Alliance patch (Q1 2014). With the recent patches, all PvE Lv60 dungeons are obsolete excluding the latest one.

    In terms of PvP, if you're looking for competitive PvP you're definitely not going to get it here. 3 vs 3 Team Queue takes more than 30-60 mins or more if you're not playing
    I've played this competitively + casually from BETA all the way into the Dungeon Assault (Q4 2013) and Alliance patch (Q1 2014). With the recent patches, all PvE Lv60 dungeons are obsolete excluding the latest one.

    In terms of PvP, if you're looking for competitive PvP you're definitely not going to get it here. 3 vs 3 Team Queue takes more than 30-60 mins or more if you're not playing in prime-time (solo queue is much worse). Even during prime-time, queue times are roughly 5-15 mins. Alliance PvP is just mass PvP between guilds and other alliances. Except this game is a very poorly optimized PC game. Anything more than 20+ players and even the best computers in this era can't render grey character blobs. This is not due to system performance, it is because the game was poorly constructed.

    PvP is surely lacking in every aspect. Arena PvP takes extremely long to queue for. Battleground PvP requires little to no skill. PvE content is extremely stale since you only need to do 1-2 PvE dungeons for all your PvE Gear.

    Gearing and raising your item-level for this game at a moderate to fast pace requires either a ton of gold or a lot of real-life money to convert into gold. This game monopolizes your time for very little reward.

    If you're a casual then this probably doesn't apply to you. If you're competitive at PvP and PvE and you're not located on the West Coast you will experience over 80-100 ping constantly. This game is no longer subscribe to play, so don't expect good servers. The best server on this game spikes from time to time on its populated days (such as weekends) and they are very unstable. They go up to 100-200, to maybe 300+ if you live on the East Coast. This also applies to Central and Eastern players since server spikes happen to everyone.
    Expand
  26. Dec 2, 2014
    4
    generic questing.
    Great graphics, but lame characters made to attract horny kids.
    The "action combat" wasn't very action like, honestly. The melee classes revert to a pretty generic button mashing MMO, the ranged classes aren't much different. I didn't play it very much though, honestly, the character designs and F2P tells me that it just wants easy profits from horny dudes. Sort of
    generic questing.
    Great graphics, but lame characters made to attract horny kids.
    The "action combat" wasn't very action like, honestly. The melee classes revert to a pretty generic button mashing MMO, the ranged classes aren't much different.
    I didn't play it very much though, honestly, the character designs and F2P tells me that it just wants easy profits from horny dudes.
    Sort of like scarlet blade in the sense that, unless it does some really amazing ground breaking work, its all going to be overshadowed by the cheap money grabbing character designs.
    The community is very young from what I saw.

    The f2p model isn't that bad, people who pay monthly get some pretty hefty gold/xp benefits, but its not terrible.
    Expand
  27. May 24, 2012
    4
    Absolutely NO endgame whatsoever. Takes less than a week to hit max level. After that, nothing to do. Meaningless PVP, no reward whatsoever. Looks good though.
  28. May 10, 2012
    1
    Game is nice to look at. Combat is fun, but simplistic. The rest of the game....well where is it? PVP? ok...but with such a simplistic combat system, it's not really worth the monthly sub. This game is a one trick pony. This game while nice and polished just doesn't tickle the MMORPG nerve. It's a console game masquerading as an MMO, and not even a good console game at that.
  29. Jun 8, 2012
    0
    Grindy, poor storyline, uninspired design, little content, extremely buggy. As one reviewer put it, TERA wastes your time--this game does not have enough content for even a month. I unsubscribed 3/4ths of the way through my first month, my two friends playing the game did so shortly into their second month. (Lvels 36, 42, and ~30 respectively).

    Not worth your money, it will go F2P soon enough.
  30. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    Depressing.

    I bought this hoping it would be amazing, and it's sad that this game is the equivalent of a dumb cheerleader. "Pretty, perky and new" in the looks department, but "bland, uninteresting, and slightly daft" everywhere else. Questing is the same grind, TERAfan's will defend it to the death and begin to attack other games instead of admitting it's bad. Too many "KILL X OF Y"
    Depressing.

    I bought this hoping it would be amazing, and it's sad that this game is the equivalent of a dumb cheerleader. "Pretty, perky and new" in the looks department, but "bland, uninteresting, and slightly daft" everywhere else.


    Questing is the same grind, TERAfan's will defend it to the death and begin to attack other games instead of admitting it's bad. Too many "KILL X OF Y" quests, not a lot of variety in the quest department. Rewards are a trifle compared to just grinding mobs for XP, (Unless you are on a PVP server and getting ganked by bored level 60's who consider the endgame= griefing lowbies) It's stale, and boring.

    Combat is fun, snappy, and responsive but it falls flat on it's face everywhere else. A game that's a year old (In Korea) is bringing NOTHING but a new combat system to bat. No matter how hard people deny it, this game is on a one-way path to F2P and eventual abandonment by everyone but a core group of Elin loving weirdos who think it's a "crime" that they censored the "little girl race" in the west.


    The subscription fee is high, coupled with NOTHING to do at Endgame except grief and PK other players, do GvG battles (Where the other Guild Leader hides on a level 1 alt, to avoid losing), or do the ultra lag inducing and horribly implemented Nexus raids. (EVERY PLAYER ZERG RUSH THE NEXUS! IT'S HOW YOU WIN!)

    This game deserves at least 2 points for being pretty, and running decent. Outside of that, the lack of story, lack of any substance, and the lack of anything more than a /local filled with elitist trolling jerkoffs spouting off constantly about how "TERA IS BETTER THAN X, Y, AN Z". If you need to do that in /local daily, you're obviously trolling or trying to actually convince yourself that what you are saying is true.

    The sad fact is, most of the discussion on the forums is asking EME to fix things, or petitions to ad something as simple as officers to a guild. This game WILL NOT LAST!


    tl;dr- Probably the WORST MMORPG I've ever played, Guild Wars 2 is worlds above this in terms of quests, story, combat, PvP, action, and fun!
    Expand
  31. May 1, 2012
    0
    The game is very pretty, the controls are fairly decent and the combat is very action packed but I can't recommend this game. The support is lacking due to the many bugs that have popped up, character creation and transfers have been severely limited resulting in new players being unable to join their friends on more popular servers and in general it's been a bumpy ride.

    Give it a try on
    The game is very pretty, the controls are fairly decent and the combat is very action packed but I can't recommend this game. The support is lacking due to the many bugs that have popped up, character creation and transfers have been severely limited resulting in new players being unable to join their friends on more popular servers and in general it's been a bumpy ride.

    Give it a try on a buddy pass if you can. Because I can't recommend spending $50 on the game in its current state.
    Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Tera sure makes promise on the "true action combat" that it so advertises, but that change alone to the MMORPG formula isn't enough to flip the genre on its head, especially when you've forgotten about other aspects of it.
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    75
    That being said, Tera is in surprisingly good shape for a game so early in its life cycle. The journey to level cap is mostly entertaining, endgame content is available, and the core gameplay elements are solid.
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    68
    Action-oriented combat and interesting graphics aren't enough to overcome what is overall a rather bland experience.