Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    70
    A game that in many ways is the 2D equivalent of Minecraft. However, although crafting is a vital point of the game, the exploring and adventure of the game experience is just as central. Terraria therefore offers a different and compelling experience which is best served in multiplayer.
  3. PC Gamer
    Jul 14, 2011
    70
    Repetition and trial-and-error learning can be numbing. Only dedicated explorers will unearth its interesting gameplay. [Sept 2011, p.80]
  4. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1629 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 564
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest 2D platformers to come out in recent years, and the first 2D platformer to have a real open-world destructible/buildableOne of the greatest 2D platformers to come out in recent years, and the first 2D platformer to have a real open-world destructible/buildable environment, complete with dungeons and bosses. Numerous and varied weapons, armour and special items will keep you digging and fighting for hours and hours. -And i can all be played in multiplayer! It's like the beautiful freak child of metroidvania and Minecraft. Full Review »
  3. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game has had my interest for some time. After I became bored with Minecraft and stopped playing it, I found out about this game. AfterThis game has had my interest for some time. After I became bored with Minecraft and stopped playing it, I found out about this game. After buying it for a few friends and myself, we have all become addicted to it. There is so much to see and do. The art and game play are exceptional. When first starting, everything seemed so much similar to Minecraft. But after an hour of playing, I came to realize just how different the games really are. There is so much more to discover in this game, and so many more reasons to discover these things! Definitely go and buy it for the $10. It is worth it all. Full Review »