Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    70
    A game that in many ways is the 2D equivalent of Minecraft. However, although crafting is a vital point of the game, the exploring and adventure of the game experience is just as central. Terraria therefore offers a different and compelling experience which is best served in multiplayer.
  3. Jul 14, 2011
    70
    Repetition and trial-and-error learning can be numbing. Only dedicated explorers will unearth its interesting gameplay. [Sept 2011, p.80]
  4. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1403 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 525
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest 2D platformers to come out in recent years, and the first 2D platformer to have a real open-world destructible/buildableOne of the greatest 2D platformers to come out in recent years, and the first 2D platformer to have a real open-world destructible/buildable environment, complete with dungeons and bosses. Numerous and varied weapons, armour and special items will keep you digging and fighting for hours and hours. -And i can all be played in multiplayer! It's like the beautiful freak child of metroidvania and Minecraft. Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2011
    10
    I believe that Indie developers are the key to thinking outside of the box to create games that aren't copying others entirely. Sure this gameI believe that Indie developers are the key to thinking outside of the box to create games that aren't copying others entirely. Sure this game shares similarites with Minecraft and other games, but I believe this mashup of Minecraft, RPG and adventure games makes this title quite unique. Its an absolutely awesome game that I think everyone should play. It's only $10 people, buy it now and have some fun, Terraria is excellent. Full Review »