User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1421 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    6
    If you liked/played Minecraft and want to buy this game because you think this is similar, then this is the review for you.

    My very first thought was: this gotta be a Minecraft clone in 2D. I like minecraft, so why shouldnt i give this one a chance? Plus, i like Platformers, so how could i get wrong? To be honest, my first impression was a really bad one. After creating a detailed
    If you liked/played Minecraft and want to buy this game because you think this is similar, then this is the review for you.

    My very first thought was: this gotta be a Minecraft clone in 2D. I like minecraft, so why shouldnt i give this one a chance? Plus, i like Platformers, so how could i get wrong?

    To be honest, my first impression was a really bad one. After creating a detailed character for your adventure and choosing the world's size, you're dropped in a landscape with nothing but a guy next to you called "guide". The Guide gives you a few random tips, but only the first 4 or 5 are really usefull. Since the game does not provide any other form or tutorial, your first instinct is to read through all the tips. After around half of them you'll be totally confused and they'll stop making sense to someone who just played the game. The basic mechanisms of the game, such as crafting (which is REALLY essential) are not explained in detail. I had to watch tutorials on youtube in order to understand how to get started. Since there is a huge community for this game, it was not hard to find a good tutorial in no time. Still i dont think this is how it should be.

    Like in Minecraft, you can harvest ressources such as wood, stone, iron ores and so on using the right tools. The resources can be placed in order to build structures, traps and so on, or they can be crafted, for example into better tools, pieces of armor or even weapons. Unlike minecraft, this game has a remarkable focus on defeating enemies, exploring dangerous caves and areas, dungeons and even finding magic pieces of equipment that increase your character's skills. Even spells, guns and many types of weapons can be found in chests, crafted or looted from killed enemies. You can improve your maximum health and acquire mana-energy which is used to cast spells (which can be rarely found). Several random events can take place in the world, most of them will confront you with threats in form of enemies. Even strong Bosses may occur which turn out to be a real challange without being too hard to beat, provided you have the right gear.

    If you want to dig your way to the lowest levels of the game: have fun, it might take a while. The world is limited into all 4 directions (up, down, left, right) but there is more than enough space in all directions, and all of the directions (even up) has something interesting to explore. You can move around the world and find different Biomes which also have different undergrounds. Those vary in difficulty significantly, but since you always start in the "easiest biome" with the "easiest underground", thats fine.

    If you think you're done with one world, you can just create another one and play it with your old char. You, of course, keep your items and upgrades. The same works vice versa: If you cant get enough of your current world, you can create a new character and play the world again. Structures built and wholes dug of course remain in the game.

    As the Game goes on, you can even have NPCs move into your house (provided certain criteria are met or certain tasks have been fulfilled). The NPCs are mainly shops that sell potions, basic equipments, weapons and vanity items.

    Now to the "But"s. There are quite a few of them. At first, the game seems to have a lot of content and it is a hell lot of fun to explore it. But you quickly realise: as soon as you have mid-game-gear (acquireable in only a few hours if you know where to find it), you already run out of challanges. While your first boss fight might have taken you quite some time and nerves, you'll quickly find yourself spamming that boss only a few hours later. The underground levels become boring really fast since they offer even less of a challange. As soon as you have reached high end gear (which as well can be acquired in no time if you know how), nothing can stop you.

    While at first trying to acquire every little ore you find, later you'll even leave valuable ores behind because harvesting them is still unrewarding as soon as you got your gear.

    I'll draw a quick bottom line since i'm running out of characters. This game IS fun, i'll give it that. But this is not the kind of game you can play every day. This is not minecraft. It has nothing to do with it except that you can dig and craft. It is more like an RPG. And as soon as you got your gear, you'll bore yourself to hell. Starting a new character wont help because as soon as you know how to get better gear or where to find it, you'll have maxed your second char in one or two evenings, facing the same problem again you had yesterday: you got nothing left to do.

    This game needs more challanges on the long run. But for the first time playing, it will be fun, i promise it. And though this is not a long-term-burner, spending those 10 bucks on it aint the worst decision to make.
    Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    6
    At first, it's a bit difficult to understand what can be done and how, but after about one hour, and hopefully, with a friend, Terraria unravels a vast world to explore. All that digging might sound repetitive at first, but within the first few hours, you will find yourself addicted and entertained by all the subtle surprises. The character progress you make in a single player game can beAt first, it's a bit difficult to understand what can be done and how, but after about one hour, and hopefully, with a friend, Terraria unravels a vast world to explore. All that digging might sound repetitive at first, but within the first few hours, you will find yourself addicted and entertained by all the subtle surprises. The character progress you make in a single player game can be continued in a multi player game, and vice versa. There are plenty of surprises and discoveries throughout the game. Almost at every turn. You will find new enemies, new stuff to mine, new items, more to craft, and so much more. The world is huge. The developers did not feel it was important to allow players to access the key bindings from within the game. As of this writing, that controls menu is only accessible from the main menu, which can cause serious problems if you are not familiar with the key bindings. Even if you personalize the keys to your liking, the controls can be quite tricky to get accustomed to or to master. In certain areas, it is blatantly clear that your current gear is not at the same level of your enemies. They can and will easily destroy you. The chests system is not good at all. Due to the nature of the game, you will come across hundreds of items, and you will need to store them all for future use. Each chest has a limit to how much you can store, which means that you will eventually have way too many chests to keep track of and remember where you put this or that item. Even though you can reset your spawn point to different houses you have built, it is still frustrating to travel in the world without the Magic Mirror for teleportation. Looting dropped items is very interesting and fun. The amount of changes you are able to perform with your character is almost endless. When you thought you had seen it all within the game, you are repeatedly surprised and entertained at how much can change and how much can happen within only a few minutes. Playing Terraria by yourself is fine, but the game truly shines with one friend or two; people you are familiar with, and not strangers. Funny events and occurrences happen all the time, and you will not notice the hours pass. Maneuvering your characters can be a problem, as the controls for the game can be problematic at times. Terraria offers a ton of content if you are willing to give it enough hours in the long run. It is not a game for short lived experiences. There is much learning, exploration, experimenting with items, and fighting monsters/bosses. Whether you play solo or with friends, this game caters to several interests, and with the developer's frequent and large updates, there is not much room for boredom. Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    Horribly addictive. Hard to stop once you start. An important part of this game is "crafting" or making complex items out of simple items. Just finding some of those simple items turns into a full-on quest that might lead you from one end of the Terraria world to the other. While battling bosses and advancing through the game is the ultimate goal, a lot of fun can be had just craftingHorribly addictive. Hard to stop once you start. An important part of this game is "crafting" or making complex items out of simple items. Just finding some of those simple items turns into a full-on quest that might lead you from one end of the Terraria world to the other. While battling bosses and advancing through the game is the ultimate goal, a lot of fun can be had just crafting and building stuff. Some of the homes built by Terraria users are simply amazing. There are some neat features to this game. During the Christmas season, some bad guys will drop candy cane blocks which can be used to build red/white or green/white structures. A Santa Claus also makes an appearance at one point.

    Hard mode is challenging and the final bosses are a handful.
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    7
    Terraria is all about the crafting that it forgets to focus on core gameplay by offering balancing issues and bad appeal

    Terraria, at first glance will look very reminiscent of something of a 2D clone of Minecraft with a sort of Super Mario Brothers feel to it. And in a very broad sense it is virtually exactly that, and if your the style of person who throws away a game after 10 minutes
    Terraria is all about the crafting that it forgets to focus on core gameplay by offering balancing issues and bad appeal

    Terraria, at first glance will look very reminiscent of something of a 2D clone of Minecraft with a sort of Super Mario Brothers feel to it. And in a very broad sense it is virtually exactly that, and if your the style of person who throws away a game after 10 minutes of nothing, this game just isn't for you. However spill some time into it, and you can get lost in a haven of randomly generated dungeons, start building an entire town for you and your friends in multi-player, and explore the devious world of The Corrupted lands in search of world eaters of the ever increasingly annoying Eye Of Cythulu if your friends continuously spawn it.
    When you start up Terraria for the first time you are instructed to create your very first character to explore the vast expansive worlds of Terraria. Now, as well as a few similar and crazy hairstyles, there's not much at your disposal to customize your character. Besides hairstyles, there is nothing to change, merely altar the colour, and even that is a little bit frustrating, as you use those RGB sliders. Most people, unless you want to be really picky because for the majority of the time you will wear armour anyway, will just keep the character as the default look. There is nothing wrong with this though, in-fact if you move the sliders to attempt to change the character you normally end up completely ruining it anyway. On the other hand, customization of armour and weapons when you get into the game is much, and I mean much better. Think of a random weapon or armour style in your head, and it is probably craft-able in Terraria. Ranging from the simple crafted items early on such as copper swords and basic handguns found in some underground caves, to star cannons, massive lava flails and even lightsabers! Armour varies a lot too, and if you want survive after nightfall when the zombies and weird floating eyeballs are out to kill you, your going to need to know which armour as better for your style of play. Want to rummage through underground caves without the need for torches? Go for the molten armour. Or how about for moving round really quickly? How about shadow armour? The possibilities are endless! This brings me to my next point, Terraria doesn't seem to want to teach people how to play there game at all. There's no tutorial mode, only a guide there which gives you very vague hints and tips now and again on how to do things, sometimes this doesn't really help at all either. The only way your going to even learn much about Terraria is if you have numerous hours on your hands to read through an entire wiki site dedicated to Terraria.
    The game-play mainly consists of crafting better and better items to survive in your randomly generated world and fend off enemies during the night. However if you build a house to stay in at night, you probably wont have much problems with enemies during the night. Also, Terraria does a good job of adding a different variety of random events to the game to vary it up a little at night. At times a bloodshot moon will occur and enemies will spawn at twice the rate and be twice as hard to defeat and be twice as powerful. Sometimes a massive goblin army will start to march towards your house and try to defeat you. And by defeating these this can normally get you some very respectable rewards. However these events don't happen on a regular enough basis, and so you can get bored of continuously fending off zombies as you try to build your house during the night. And your first shadow orb encounter can be a fun but surprising one. Unless you read the wiki, you'll try hitting it, it will disappear and an enemy boss, the eater of worlds will appear. Now if your unprepared, then be ready to die tonnes of times before you defeat him, because he will follow you whenever you spawn until you kill him, and he has tonnes of HP.
    These random events and enemy boss fights can make multi-player and playing with friends a blast. And what's more, opening up multi-player gives you and your friends even more choices to make on were to go and what to do! As long as your friends aren't jerks, you should have no trouble with massive boss fights as long as your mate doesn't keep spawning them.
    Recently Terraria released a new patch which contained a variety of new mobs such as jungles, bats and bigger deserts. The new mobs are great, but some rarely appear, and it's frustrating when you can't find the one your looking for. Overall, Terraria is a good enough game to have you playing for a long time, and there is enough new content in there to keep you playing for a long amount of time, but some things may not appeal to the more casual gamers such as the crafting system which can be over-complicated, and the mobs need to be balanced out a lot.
    Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2014
    7
    This game is swell. But that's it. It falls flat in the combat. I loved that combat. but I also hated it but the combat was great! I loved that one time when I watched the sun set but I thought I was going to cry it was so stunning I. Don't under estimate the power of the green slime.
  6. Jun 5, 2011
    7
    Terraria is a cross between Diablo II, Super Metroid, and SimCity. The sandbox style of play is refreshing and freeing, while you are still presented with a number of quandaries you can only solve through ingenuity or, more often, consulting online resources. Either patience or greed is enough to get you to the end of this game -- while some players might be frustrated in the amount ofTerraria is a cross between Diablo II, Super Metroid, and SimCity. The sandbox style of play is refreshing and freeing, while you are still presented with a number of quandaries you can only solve through ingenuity or, more often, consulting online resources. Either patience or greed is enough to get you to the end of this game -- while some players might be frustrated in the amount of time it takes to get from point A to point B, others will take this as a challenge to discover more efficient means of travel. It's true -- the weakest element of the game's design is the digging. I wish that something besides pixeled squares had been selected as the "atom" of this universe. It creates a mathematical angle to the entire play experience, and frankly, it doesn't do it any favors besides the tired "retro" feel. Yes, I'm twenty-six and I miss my NES, but not everything needs to go back to that 8-bit world.

    I love the slow accretion of clearly tiered gear. I dislike the awkward inventory system. I love venturing into new areas once I have the requisite equipment (a la Metroid). I hate digging randomly downward for five minutes before finding another air pocket. I love crafting recipes. I love building houses and other buildings. (I haven't played multiplayer yet and probably never will.)

    When I bought this game I had high expectations. They weren't met, but I enjoyed playing anyway.
    Expand
  7. May 22, 2011
    7
    Terraria was an entertaining game from the moment I started playing. While its roots are deeply entrenched in Minecraft, the depth and gameplay definitely strive for more. The most fun I had while playing was during multiplayer online with friends on a server we created. The constant need to improve your gear and gain better loots while you dig deeper and deeper into the world was fun andTerraria was an entertaining game from the moment I started playing. While its roots are deeply entrenched in Minecraft, the depth and gameplay definitely strive for more. The most fun I had while playing was during multiplayer online with friends on a server we created. The constant need to improve your gear and gain better loots while you dig deeper and deeper into the world was fun and challenging. My only gripes with the game were with the lack of different types of enemies as you progressed and the speed at which you could gain everything in the game. After 2 days of playing I had the best armor, weapons, and other equipment equipped and found myself bored. Its too bad that the creators didn't see a need to include more than two or three different mobs to kill per biome that you progress through. Also, the difficulty in the game really can only be gauged by the amount of damage you take from the nine or ten mobs that spawn constantly. After appropriate armor upgrades which are easily obtainable through multiple low penalty deaths, you are pretty much unstoppable within 5 hours of playing. Also, after you have acquired everything that you want in the game, there is no incentive to restart a new character or to continue playing. Unless additional content comes fast and often, I could see this game falling by the wayside for many gamers as they seek entertainment elsewhere to quench the thirst for fun games. Even with these things that i have pointed out as flaws (no game is perfect) Terraria brought good ideas and freshness to the 2d plane I thought I would never have interest in again. While the game can be thoroughly combed within ten hours, and a bit repetitive at times, It was still engaging through its entirety and fun. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys Minecraft but wishes for more action oriented gameplay. For now I'll give it a 8 leaning more toward 7.5 until more content is released. The potential is there and for 10 bucks its well worth the investment. Expand
  8. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you enjoyed playing Minecraft and would like to relive the 8-bit side-scroller days, then you should check out Terraria. It starts you off a little more friendly by providing you with the basic tools for you to start mining and building your shelter. (Pick, Axe, Sword, Hammer) Once you've gathered some materials, you can scroll thru the very easy list of items that you can craft. Just that like Minecraft, you don't know how to make anything more without checking the Wiki page for all the crafting recipes. Once you've got your house built correctly, you'll have NPC's start moving into the rooms you've built. Gaining ones like the "Demolitionist" and "Nurse" after finding items deep in the caves randomly generated

    For a game only made in 4 months and being patched constantly, This is a pretty fun sandbox game. I'm only 19 hours in and finally got a Grappling Hook made and using Gold and Silver items. -------
    Pros:
    The items on your character stay with them, regardless of starting a new singleplayer map or multiplayer.
    There is a convenient list of items you can scroll thru to see what you can make.
    Everything stacks, so you don't have single items taking up inventory space.
    There is no durability for items. They stay with you forever until you sell them.
    -----
    Cons:
    There's zero tutorial built into the game in order for you to learn how to play and advance, despite there being an NPC Guide for you to talk to. You have to goto Youtube and/or a Wiki page to look up things.
    Expand
  9. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    I was a 7, and with the 1.1 update I'm still a 7. The good side: if you start from scratch, without cheating (from using other toon's items) it can take you a couple days to get the best gear. I spent multiple hours simply getting my footing by making a quality home for me and the traders, and getting standard gear (silver helmet, iron chestplate, gold leggins, and a phaseblade from aI was a 7, and with the 1.1 update I'm still a 7. The good side: if you start from scratch, without cheating (from using other toon's items) it can take you a couple days to get the best gear. I spent multiple hours simply getting my footing by making a quality home for me and the traders, and getting standard gear (silver helmet, iron chestplate, gold leggins, and a phaseblade from a chest), and that's just the start. Since the 1.1 update, I have not even gotten molten armor (which isn't even the best armor anymore), and I have played for 12 hours. The bad side: I know from before the update that once I get the best gear, I will have to make the hard decision of either abandoning a mined out world and starting fresh in a new one (with all of my gear still), or sticking around not really doing anything more in the existing world. Definitely worth the $2.50 I paid through Steam, but it's only a "play-per-update" game, to try the new content. Play a week, tops, before you get bored. Expand
  10. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    Game was real fun and hooked me for a while, however it was mostly because of the grinding involved to get certain armor sets and weapons/tools. The game is pretty much build a home, dig into the ground, collect ore, build things, make better weapons keep digging. All the while killing monsters that spawn at the speed of a rabbit gangbang. Boss fights aren't very tough unless you have lowGame was real fun and hooked me for a while, however it was mostly because of the grinding involved to get certain armor sets and weapons/tools. The game is pretty much build a home, dig into the ground, collect ore, build things, make better weapons keep digging. All the while killing monsters that spawn at the speed of a rabbit gangbang. Boss fights aren't very tough unless you have low health and no potions

    Will eat up quite a few hours if you want to get everything the game has to do
    Expand
  11. Jul 7, 2011
    5
    I've played 10 hours now in co-op with a friend and start to question myself where this time has gone. Terraria is one more gaming phenomenon that I fail to understand, except how much I search and try to find the worth. I don't have anything against old school DOS graphics, laid back games, original 2D-side-scrollers - I do quite like the fighting in Terraria (would it have been placed inI've played 10 hours now in co-op with a friend and start to question myself where this time has gone. Terraria is one more gaming phenomenon that I fail to understand, except how much I search and try to find the worth. I don't have anything against old school DOS graphics, laid back games, original 2D-side-scrollers - I do quite like the fighting in Terraria (would it have been placed in a better context and be a bit more diversified - someone mentioned there are only a dozen mobs in the entire game). I rreally like games that were created with some dedication, that try to deliver a good experience in any way possible. And I do respect the work of coding and everything that the developers put inside it and hoped they had fun with it, had they only worshipped the players' time a bit more. Terraria really reminds me of a section out of The Phantom' Tollbooth's novel: The Terrible Trivium, a demon in the Mountains of Ignorance who wastes time with useless jobs. By giving the protagonist a pair of tweezers with which he has to shift a whole pile of sand. That's Terraria. It won't get you anywhere important, just waste your time digging and digging and digging literally thousands of tiny little blocks to get a +X defence armor and a +X attack sword in the end with which you bash at the dozen rarely appearing mobs. Expand
  12. May 31, 2012
    7
    The 2D aspect makes exploration and especially building much less fun than Minecraft. Building a structure is boring and isn't really the main focus. Houses are basically just for NPC storage. However, the gameplay is miles beyond Minecraft, the items are great and unique, the NPC's each have a function and are a fine addition, the amount of content is super, the multiplayer is fun asThe 2D aspect makes exploration and especially building much less fun than Minecraft. Building a structure is boring and isn't really the main focus. Houses are basically just for NPC storage. However, the gameplay is miles beyond Minecraft, the items are great and unique, the NPC's each have a function and are a fine addition, the amount of content is super, the multiplayer is fun as hell. Where minecraft is an exploration/building game, this is more of an RPG and action game. As most games nowadays it's overhyped by rabid furry lovers, however fairly it is a good game and worth 7/10 Expand
  13. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Looks great, game mechanics are fun, good bit of variety in landscape, monsters and equipment. On the other hand, it can be punishingly hard, especially in the beginning. Another one of my problems is that the balance between builder and arcade fighter did not always feel right to me... Also, it feels too slow for me. I had a lot of fun for about 20 hours. After that I just couldn't getLooks great, game mechanics are fun, good bit of variety in landscape, monsters and equipment. On the other hand, it can be punishingly hard, especially in the beginning. Another one of my problems is that the balance between builder and arcade fighter did not always feel right to me... Also, it feels too slow for me. I had a lot of fun for about 20 hours. After that I just couldn't get into it anymore. Expand
  14. May 22, 2011
    7
    An interesting alternative to Minecraft but the merge from 3D to 2D takes away more than you think. Nice as harmless little addition to your game collection - but not the all-immersive, deep experience it promises.
  15. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    For the first four hours you will wonder where the time went, but after a while you begin to question "why?" Terraria is an amazing game, but it doesn't have the lasting appeal I would've liked. The developers solution to the games inevitable stagnation was to add more and more things to it, and to make things more difficult. By the time you pick up Terraria, your friends have already gotFor the first four hours you will wonder where the time went, but after a while you begin to question "why?" Terraria is an amazing game, but it doesn't have the lasting appeal I would've liked. The developers solution to the games inevitable stagnation was to add more and more things to it, and to make things more difficult. By the time you pick up Terraria, your friends have already got the best gear. If you play Terraria on a server with strangers, most of the time someone has set up that server to have a place to powertrip. Small issues in the game such as inventory organization begin to compound frustration by the time you reach over four hours of play. The games price tag is very reasonable, and I would recommend the game, but what it has in originality it lacks in lasting appeal. Expand
  16. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    I don't know what all the raving about this game is; but if you like digging, then you'll certainly get a kick out of it! Otherwise, i just see no RPG element in trying to break bricks for 90% of the game.
  17. Aug 19, 2011
    5
    First let me tell you my idea of fun so you can compare if you see things through my eyes. Call of duty is a mindless shooter that is just completely tedious, Elder scrolls FTW, Any rts game is god-like. Alright first off terraria is like an mmo. You need a friend to have fun. If you play alone, the max hours you will play is 20 hours and the average is 3 hours. This game is just a randomFirst let me tell you my idea of fun so you can compare if you see things through my eyes. Call of duty is a mindless shooter that is just completely tedious, Elder scrolls FTW, Any rts game is god-like. Alright first off terraria is like an mmo. You need a friend to have fun. If you play alone, the max hours you will play is 20 hours and the average is 3 hours. This game is just a random generator. Basically it just creates a world you strip down to bone and then restart on a new world and strip it down. If you have multiple friends the game is just funny because the most random things happen that will slaughter your friend or he will get stuck or even a cave will collapse on him and you will be dieing laughing cuz it might have taken you guys an hour to get where you were. So i give it a 5, if you have a friend its just a social game, if you have no friends than go buy something more dedicated to solo players. Expand
  18. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    TL;DR A good time waster that has been abandoned by the devs. Terraria is an interesting experience that will probably result in people not knowing what they're doing at first, and then either sticking with it or quitting. One of the only problems is the difficulty and gear curve at first, and then later when hard mode is started. The game has a very slow start due to the fact that youTL;DR A good time waster that has been abandoned by the devs. Terraria is an interesting experience that will probably result in people not knowing what they're doing at first, and then either sticking with it or quitting. One of the only problems is the difficulty and gear curve at first, and then later when hard mode is started. The game has a very slow start due to the fact that you basically need a nightmare pickaxe, which takes a while to get. The game then repeats the curve once you enter hard mode, where you'll have about 4 hits to live with the common enemy. The great things about the game are the well done 8-bit graphics, versatility of the weapons and trinkets, progressive boss fights (though there could be a lot more), and the freedom to build whatever you want. Don't forget to invite a friend or an entire party as well! The only problem is the fact that the devs have essentially abandoned the game, so there will be no further updates unfortunately. While there is still quite a bit of content, you really have very little reason to play after getting a max character.There is also a lot of potential missing with the fact that there are only 4 bosses their hardmode counterparts, and I feel like there could have been more biomes featuring their own boss. One last big thing that might get some people is the grinding you have to do. Its part of the game, but to those who hate it, you might not last through those dry spells of action where it is required. Overall, its still a fun 2D platformer focusing on building and combat, though if you hate grinding and the current fact that it has been dropped, you might not enjoy it. Expand
  19. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    I have only had 6 hours of play in this game, But I've enjoyed them. Its a bit daunting at first, As there is a lot of depth, And you are told almost nothing about what to do, But once you get it figured out, you'll want to play it a LOT. I want to say lots of people probably come here from minecraft, and a little warning. Its not about building. You'll get bored if you just want to build.I have only had 6 hours of play in this game, But I've enjoyed them. Its a bit daunting at first, As there is a lot of depth, And you are told almost nothing about what to do, But once you get it figured out, you'll want to play it a LOT. I want to say lots of people probably come here from minecraft, and a little warning. Its not about building. You'll get bored if you just want to build. Its about exploring and fighting. Expand
  20. Oct 17, 2014
    6
    The game does not support a resolution that is higher than 1920 × 1200 which is quite disappointing because my screen resolution is 2560 × 1440 (QHD). It's impossible to zoom in while playing the game, this means you have to glue your face in order to feel comfortable aiming your tiny mouse to break every single little block that measures about one centimetre on my screen. The craftingThe game does not support a resolution that is higher than 1920 × 1200 which is quite disappointing because my screen resolution is 2560 × 1440 (QHD). It's impossible to zoom in while playing the game, this means you have to glue your face in order to feel comfortable aiming your tiny mouse to break every single little block that measures about one centimetre on my screen. The crafting system is also a disappointment, if I want to craft a certain item, I have to scroll through a long list of stuff (that isn't even organized) until I find what I need. The concept of this game is cool, but the UI is absolutely terrible. Which is why I unfortunately prefer the mobile version of Terraria over the desktop version, because in the mobile version almost every feature that I listed that isn't in desktop is there.

    Game Version: 1.2.4.1
    Expand
  21. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    One thing sums it all: worse than minecraft. I bought it for myself and two other friends when it was 2,5 dollar on steam. We played for 30 hours... but the game is so POINTLESS. After 10 hours, you will have whatever equipment you're aiming for... and your character just has it. Any server, any time - you have the things you got so far. And the other thing, the biggest sin of this game:One thing sums it all: worse than minecraft. I bought it for myself and two other friends when it was 2,5 dollar on steam. We played for 30 hours... but the game is so POINTLESS. After 10 hours, you will have whatever equipment you're aiming for... and your character just has it. Any server, any time - you have the things you got so far. And the other thing, the biggest sin of this game: none of your equipment breaks. It stays forever... alright, then what's the point of playing after you got all? After 15 hours, I had tuxedo, sunglasses, molten armour, the best sword, dark lance and minishark with 5k silver bullets; not to mention full HP. Then it just got pointless.

    And other thing, building? There is no sense in building in terraria... you can achieve same effects in Gimp. Or in minecraft, but there you can have 3D buildings.

    I wanted to say that if minecraft took some elements from terraria it'd be awesome, but well, 1.9 is coming in huge leaps, so i don't need to hope.
    Expand
  22. Sep 1, 2013
    6
    It's not bad, but the mining gets tedious and boring and finding anything useful is like rolling the dice. Once you start the game you're dumped into the game world with little to no idea as to what you're supposed to do and no instructions. Your 'guide' doesn't exactly provide much in the way of help either. If I hadn't seen a video on this game by Totalbiscuit I'd have had no idea what IIt's not bad, but the mining gets tedious and boring and finding anything useful is like rolling the dice. Once you start the game you're dumped into the game world with little to no idea as to what you're supposed to do and no instructions. Your 'guide' doesn't exactly provide much in the way of help either. If I hadn't seen a video on this game by Totalbiscuit I'd have had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. As I mentioned finding useful materials is a shot in the dark... literally. You dig around at random hoping to find something useful which gets tedious and boring. When night rolls around if you're not down in the depths your options are to try and fight off waves monsters or hide in your house (if you managed to build one) and hiding in your house till morning is boring, but trying to fight off waves of monsters in the dark is a nightmare. Expand
  23. Aug 13, 2011
    6
    The 2D Side Scroller Terraria, based on Minecraft, is a very charming game that appealed in every way, now being ruined by Re-Logic's updates meant to make the game " harder ". What do they actually mean by harder? More frustrating, annoying, grindy, and trial-and-error. Get it before it turns into a grind machine Minecraft clone.
  24. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    Minecraft ripoff.
    now before you hate on me, to call somthing a ripoff of what could be considered the most sucessful game ever, ioneering (or should isay actually making popular) the block building game type, then calling terraria minecraft ripoff is a comliment.
    while minecraft uused to focus more on mining and building (now minecraft is nicking ideas from terraria) terraria is more
    Minecraft ripoff.
    now before you hate on me, to call somthing a ripoff of what could be considered the most sucessful game ever, ioneering (or should isay actually making popular) the block building game type, then calling terraria minecraft ripoff is a comliment.

    while minecraft uused to focus more on mining and building (now minecraft is nicking ideas from terraria) terraria is more about exploring and fighting bosses, and finding and crafthing a HUGE amount of loot.
    from what i heard this guy made the game for some mates that didnt like certain things about minecraft. when he released it it became hugely popular, and he did the amazing thig of then updating the game.

    its a great game, ridiculously cheap, and even though i have barely ventured from my house in it, i have already clocked 11 hours!
    Expand
  25. May 25, 2013
    5
    You know, this really had me hooked for a while. But it didn't take long for the clunky crafting interface to get annoying (and the devs have given up on improving the game without fixing that). And even more so the looooong travels through the world, which takes simply forever! There is only a rather unhelpful, limited teleport functionality and that's it. Also, a map similar to thatYou know, this really had me hooked for a while. But it didn't take long for the clunky crafting interface to get annoying (and the devs have given up on improving the game without fixing that). And even more so the looooong travels through the world, which takes simply forever! There is only a rather unhelpful, limited teleport functionality and that's it. Also, a map similar to that tools like "Terrafirma" offer should really have been included in the game (maybe combined with a "fog of war"). The world is so big that it's incredibly annoying to have to search for resources and remember the cave structure on top of that.
    So overall I like the combat, the RPG aspects, the crafting possibilities. And I would've really loved to discover more of those things. But the downsides described have absolutely destroyed my enthusiasm and make it feel like the game is wasting my time.
    Expand
  26. Jul 23, 2011
    7
    This game is very... very FUN! It is a 2d sandbox game where you can build things and fight. I think the building part of the game is taken away because of the fact that it is 2d and that i like to adventure and fight bosses. The multiplayer is very fun. Hosting the game was very easy and very fast which made the experience in multiplayer much more fun. However, the only down side toThis game is very... very FUN! It is a 2d sandbox game where you can build things and fight. I think the building part of the game is taken away because of the fact that it is 2d and that i like to adventure and fight bosses. The multiplayer is very fun. Hosting the game was very easy and very fast which made the experience in multiplayer much more fun. However, the only down side to Terraria is there isn't enough content to continue my addiction to this game. After I got the highest tier items in the game, it just got boring. But the thing is that fun was well worth the 10$. Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2011
    5
    This game is probably the most overrated thing i have ever seen. It is full of bugs, and is charging 10-20 dollars. The game needs fixing and mod support, it is boring after you get everything, as there is no point to continue, do to the bad building engine with limited materials. Very low replay value. Not worth buying unless its on sale for five dollars or less. How this is not a gameThis game is probably the most overrated thing i have ever seen. It is full of bugs, and is charging 10-20 dollars. The game needs fixing and mod support, it is boring after you get everything, as there is no point to continue, do to the bad building engine with limited materials. Very low replay value. Not worth buying unless its on sale for five dollars or less. How this is not a game still in alpha or beta is beyond me. This is NOT a finished project. 5/10 Expand
  28. May 10, 2012
    7
    This game is unique. I found it enjoyable but I didn't catch on for me. This is pretty much a 2d, more action packed survival mode for Minecraft.

    Ignore this game and just purchase Minecraft
  29. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    I remember defending this game tooth and nail from those who thought it was an opportunistic attempt at surfing on Minecraft's success. I remember advertising it as a "really good Castlevania and Minecraft mixup at a very fair price", and playing countless hours on it. I guess most of this is still true, but ultimately I realized I was just too much "into the game" to see its real worth atI remember defending this game tooth and nail from those who thought it was an opportunistic attempt at surfing on Minecraft's success. I remember advertising it as a "really good Castlevania and Minecraft mixup at a very fair price", and playing countless hours on it. I guess most of this is still true, but ultimately I realized I was just too much "into the game" to see its real worth at that time: the time where I didn't finish the game. That's right, this game is no Minecraft, it has an end, and it would be perfectly fine if it weren't for its key detail: being a sandbox game. So yeah, my complaint is that once you finished farming for the best gear, there's nothing left to do for you, unless you are into building which is not as good as other games of this kind (despite I love 2D, retro, and the fact that this game was the first to take said elements into sandbox building). There were some updates after I left: it was my understanding that they were basically just extensions of the same thing: new gear to farm for, and some additional thing here and there. It's a shame, it could have been better than this, the fact that the team admittedly abandoned it (except lately I've been hearing about an update?) didn't help. Still, it's a good game. I think of it much like GTA III, it striked me because it was a kind of game I loved brought to date with the innovations of latest gaming, but ultimately in itself it was boring and lacked features that would have been, luckily for us, added later. I still think it deserves a seven, although the negative things about it are really tempting me to click on the yellow scores, but I have to admit that it's good and not all of those 100 hours I played were out of being hypnotized by farming or something. Expand
  30. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    I had fun with this game the first time through. After that it is very boring. You would think there would be more to reach when you get down to the bottom but it is just lava. There is no real reason to gear up with obsidian etc, because there is nothing to beat. The "dungeon" doesn't yield anything worth the trip, you can craft gear that's way better, so there is no point in gearing upI had fun with this game the first time through. After that it is very boring. You would think there would be more to reach when you get down to the bottom but it is just lava. There is no real reason to gear up with obsidian etc, because there is nothing to beat. The "dungeon" doesn't yield anything worth the trip, you can craft gear that's way better, so there is no point in gearing up for it. The "world bosses" don't drop anything fabulous and are just there to see how fast you can kill them. There are hours and hours to be wasted here, but there is no point to any of it, and you will ask yourself what was it all for? There was nothing to do with all that gear, no climax, no end game, nothing. Also the developer has dropped the game, there are no more updates. What you see is what you get. Steam could remove the "free content updates" as there are no more coming. He also stated he would not release the game for open development as he may not approve in the direction it goes. Worth a pass through, worth 5-$10, but I can honestly say I will never play it again. Expand
  31. Dec 9, 2012
    5
    It gets very boring fast, not being able to create really interesting good looking structures like you could imagine. Minecraft had a payoff of a really nice looking 3-D art structure to make you feel proud of yourself, well Terraria tried it but the result didn't end good.
  32. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    When I was browsing through steam looking for a budget game to play on my spare time, I came up with Terraria. I was hooked in by the trailer. It showed me a mix of platform shooter/minecraft type of game. As a kid I loved to play platform shooters in the arcades. I must say that my first experience with Terraria was positive and the game really sucked me in and I even lost some sleepWhen I was browsing through steam looking for a budget game to play on my spare time, I came up with Terraria. I was hooked in by the trailer. It showed me a mix of platform shooter/minecraft type of game. As a kid I loved to play platform shooters in the arcades. I must say that my first experience with Terraria was positive and the game really sucked me in and I even lost some sleep because of it. I was sure that it would be a great experience, I was right and wrong at the same time.

    Pros:
    + The game is highly entertaining for as long as it lasts.
    + A perfect mix of farming materials, shooting, slashing and killing bosses
    + It has a vast variety of objects to craft
    + If the 1.2 patch will be free for PC it's a great addition to the game.

    Cons:
    - This one is a HUGE minus. The game's monster killing part for me was very short. It took my around 40 hours to be prancing around in full Hallowed armor. I didn't feel like I was rushing through it either. After killing the same bosses again in few minutes I was done with Terraria. The boss encounters didn't provide me with a challenge that I wanted in the first place. I didn't build any arenas or make the encounters easier, simply put the bosses were too easy in my opinion.
    - I felt that the balance between melee and ranged weapons was bad. There's no point in using melee weapons because ranged weapons/magic will get the job done much more easily than the melee weapons do.
    - Building in 2-D wasn't very appealing to me and discovering new caves or creating new worlds didn't add much to the game.
    - Playing an already easy game in multiplayer will just break it, since afaik the boss HP does not scale with the amount of players facing the boss. I realize this would be hard to program since servers can support so many players but still I feel it would be necessary to make killing the bosses even remotely challenging.

    Conclusion:
    I think the game was well worth the money I spent on it. I mean 40 hours of fun for 10 is something very special these days, compared to the 50€ you spend on brand new games, which can't buy you more than 12-20 hours of fun. However, I would call it a casual game for younger/inexperienced audiences. If you're looking for a game that challenges you (and your friends), look elsewhere.
    Expand
  33. Sep 30, 2013
    7
    Fantastic game with great support, though lacking a story. There is a very good progression system that doesn't have to be linear. I thoroughly enjoyed the game. I recommend playing the game with friends. To not do so is to tempt insanity due to isolation. Some game mechanics could use a optional tutorial for those too lazy to go to the wiki. I look forward to the update tomorrow. slimesFantastic game with great support, though lacking a story. There is a very good progression system that doesn't have to be linear. I thoroughly enjoyed the game. I recommend playing the game with friends. To not do so is to tempt insanity due to isolation. Some game mechanics could use a optional tutorial for those too lazy to go to the wiki. I look forward to the update tomorrow. slimes with freaking umbrellas! Need more be said people? Then I will speak more unto the creative capabilities. Sadly limited to 2d, this allows for some interesting design concepts. I am more than happy with it though, as my steam screenshots will begin to attest. "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn." H.P. Lovecraft. Expand
  34. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    I bought Terraria to fill time a resource that I had in abundance, a couple of months ago and began playing it on "medium core" difficulty. After reaching hard-mode and continuing for quite some time thereafter, I must conclude that the game is pretty good.

    My first impressions were not very positive it took a while for me to work out the controls and get a feel for the game and all
    I bought Terraria to fill time a resource that I had in abundance, a couple of months ago and began playing it on "medium core" difficulty. After reaching hard-mode and continuing for quite some time thereafter, I must conclude that the game is pretty good.

    My first impressions were not very positive it took a while for me to work out the controls and get a feel for the game and all of that could have been avoided had the developers thought fit to include a tutorial or introduction of some sort. The beginning of the game was rather slow, too, being mainly filled with clunky melee combat and mining.

    Had I been busy, I would probably have abandoned Terraria because of the slow start but, with a lot of time to waste, I played for long enough to acquire decent equipment and reach hard-mode, where the game really begins. The game play later on was well worth it.

    I did not expect to enjoy the sandbox house-building aspects that Terraria borrows from Minecraft. I was looking for a fun platformer. I was wrong the building elements drew me in completely. They're incredibly well executed, fun, cathartic and brilliantly integrated into the game play. There's nothing quite like the feeling of relief that one gets from a perfectly timed retreat to one's self-built refuge in Hell.

    I'd recommend Terraria to anyone with a lot of time to play it and patience in spades. It is both fun and rewarding.
    Expand
  35. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    My first thought was of this being a 2D copy of Minecraft, though this added many more features such as merchants (pre minecraft villager) and bosses. It also benefits from regular updating, with a massive update adding a hardmode adding extensive replayability and giving players that had left a chance to come back and experience more. I'd recommend coming back if you left pre-hardmode andMy first thought was of this being a 2D copy of Minecraft, though this added many more features such as merchants (pre minecraft villager) and bosses. It also benefits from regular updating, with a massive update adding a hardmode adding extensive replayability and giving players that had left a chance to come back and experience more. I'd recommend coming back if you left pre-hardmode and giving this game a try if you don't need a story to guide you. I had difficulty getting past the limiting 2D exploration. It's worth a sale price and a good 20 hours of play time, but it's not one of my favorites. Expand
  36. Aug 18, 2011
    7
    It's a fun game - I logged about 70 hours or so. The crafting, item grind and building of homes is really the addictive part of the game. Like every other game it gets tedious after a while. The low-level mobs spawn too frequently and are more annoying than challenging. Their combat tactics are about 80% bump and collide for damage and 20% of them lob projectiles of some sort which is veryIt's a fun game - I logged about 70 hours or so. The crafting, item grind and building of homes is really the addictive part of the game. Like every other game it gets tedious after a while. The low-level mobs spawn too frequently and are more annoying than challenging. Their combat tactics are about 80% bump and collide for damage and 20% of them lob projectiles of some sort which is very limited and repetitive for a modern game. You'll find yourself thrilled at first and soon be asking yourself when will it end... A good value if you get it at the $5 sale point on steam. Expand
  37. Apr 15, 2012
    6
    It's not a bad game at all, but the progress is kind of linear and the people you will meet online are just bunch of **** Everyone has the best armor and weapons, every second nickname contains awesome or epic... Just way too much to bear for me. But otherwise, I enjoyed playing it for few days, however I don't see it worth spending 10 Euros like i did. Tere's much more cheaper games outIt's not a bad game at all, but the progress is kind of linear and the people you will meet online are just bunch of **** Everyone has the best armor and weapons, every second nickname contains awesome or epic... Just way too much to bear for me. But otherwise, I enjoyed playing it for few days, however I don't see it worth spending 10 Euros like i did. Tere's much more cheaper games out there, that will satisfy you and keep you playing for much longer. Expand
  38. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    I'd give the game a ten if not for the confusion of the early game, which is what most people seem to get stuck on, rage quit, then come here and rate it as a 0. But as you learn how to do different things ( like crafting, and the people from Minecraft seem to forget about the time before you could go to a wiki and see the pattern for everything ) the game just gets better and better. AndI'd give the game a ten if not for the confusion of the early game, which is what most people seem to get stuck on, rage quit, then come here and rate it as a 0. But as you learn how to do different things ( like crafting, and the people from Minecraft seem to forget about the time before you could go to a wiki and see the pattern for everything ) the game just gets better and better. And it's also not a Minecraft ripoff in 2d, saying that is like saying every hot-key based MMO is a ripoff of WoW. They're from the same genre, which is relatively new and has only a few games in it so people automatically go into fan boy rage mode when seeing a trailer for it.
    So to sum it up, if you got a bit of extra cash and some free time, go get it.
    ALSO to any of you people who just despise it for no good reason who are convinced that everyone who does like it must be the devs in disguise, please do PM Pandemic on the Minecraft Forums to at least ensure I'm not a dev.
    Expand
  39. Jul 15, 2011
    5
    well.. Probably these guys who game 10 dont have more than 20 hours of gameplay... Let me say what I think: This IS a good game. It has great features, like potions, guns, magic and great dungeons... but after doing all that stuff, i sincerelly have to say that it gets TOO boring. :(

    After my 30 hours of gameplay, im sorry to say that i cant even launch the game anymore.. I mean, at
    well.. Probably these guys who game 10 dont have more than 20 hours of gameplay... Let me say what I think: This IS a good game. It has great features, like potions, guns, magic and great dungeons... but after doing all that stuff, i sincerelly have to say that it gets TOO boring. :(

    After my 30 hours of gameplay, im sorry to say that i cant even launch the game anymore.. I mean, at least not now. About Minecraft vs. Terraria, all i have to say is: Minecraft. "But minecraft also gets boring!"
    well, then u have the m ultiplayer. "BUT TERRARIA ALSO HAVE MULTIPLAYER!" well, its a crap. It doesnt have plugins and moderations.. blablabla... But its still a quite nice game, if you're going to buy it, get in a steam offer, because it not worthy the 10 buck (but that you'll see after the 20th hour of gameplay)

    my message to you: Its not a bad game, but it isnt the best game ever. Have that in mind ;D

    my score: 7.5
    Expand
  40. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The game starts out quite good. It addicted me and got me playing it for hours. Digging, building, crafting, exploring... but once you craft the best equipments kill every boss and go through all events it starts to fell like "is that all?". Well, after that you can go to multiplayer PvP but I didn't enjoyed it that much.I think the game has a good potential to expand and improveThe game starts out quite good. It addicted me and got me playing it for hours. Digging, building, crafting, exploring... but once you craft the best equipments kill every boss and go through all events it starts to fell like "is that all?". Well, after that you can go to multiplayer PvP but I didn't enjoyed it that much.I think the game has a good potential to expand and improve considerably. So, until the new promised "massive updates" show up, my opinion on it is "fun but a little disappointing in the long term" Expand
  41. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    I got this during the steam summer sale for 2.50 so its a win even if it sucked. Right off the bat it was really fun to play especially on multiplayer like at 10 hours i started to see how small it really was theres only like 10 armor sets and 8 npc's. After 20 hours i had the best gear and i started to think whats the goal there was noting really more to do. So i wouldn't recommend it forI got this during the steam summer sale for 2.50 so its a win even if it sucked. Right off the bat it was really fun to play especially on multiplayer like at 10 hours i started to see how small it really was theres only like 10 armor sets and 8 npc's. After 20 hours i had the best gear and i started to think whats the goal there was noting really more to do. So i wouldn't recommend it for any more then 6 bucks. Cool game not enough content. Expand
  42. Aug 10, 2011
    7
    Let me start by saying that no one should dismiss this game without playing it first. Yes it's a 2D platformer, but it sets itself apart from the crowd with it's rich environments which encourage exploration; vast array of equipment and customization; and the player's ability to shape the world to their whim. In a similar vein to Minecraft you can build over, destroy and sculpt the landLet me start by saying that no one should dismiss this game without playing it first. Yes it's a 2D platformer, but it sets itself apart from the crowd with it's rich environments which encourage exploration; vast array of equipment and customization; and the player's ability to shape the world to their whim. In a similar vein to Minecraft you can build over, destroy and sculpt the land around you, which really helps the game feel unique and stay that way for at least 20 hours of solid gameplay.

    I spent 26 hours with the game in total, and roughly 15 hours were spent in either 2 player or 3 player co-operative modes. Setting up a multiplayer game is much simpler than in Minecraft, and provided you have friends with the game can dramatically increase the fun you have with it. Playing it alone I felt drained quickly - you can tell it's geared towards co-operative play more than anything else.

    My issues with the game stem from it's construction. Initially the game offers little guidance; just as Minecraft does, and you are required to continually visit the wiki to understand both the basics and the more advanced aspects of the game. A tutorial would definitely not go amiss here - the AI guide you are lumped with at the beginning of the game gives you random, often cryptic clues as to what to do - why a simple, short and organized tutorial was not included remains a mystery. Still, if you (like I) manage to wade through the wiki and find the best course of action, you will eventually hit the second issue inherent in the game. Without giving too much away, much of the most advanced armor and weaponry is genuinely incredibly difficult to acquire - whilst this makes it feel more precious in your eyes, ores like Hellstone can only be mined with the best pickaxes and these are very difficult to get in the first place. It feels like Terraria has intentionally put a block in the way of your previously rapid acquirement of new stuff, and "new stuff" is really what keeps the game going.

    That's not to say it's a bad game in any way. Working out strategies to defeat the bosses and fending off blood moons and goblin invasions is genuinely fun stuff, the music is great and there is a lot out there in this world to discover. To draw a comparison to Minecraft again - even when you've discovered everything in Minecraft, you still feel compelled to build, the game still makes you want to play. The limitations of making Terraria a 2D game means what you can build is severely hampered and doesn't really draw any fresh resolve from the player to continue after a certain point. Personally, I found it great fun getting to the 20-hour mark, but beyond that my interest fell sharply. There just isn't enough to do after you've found everything you need, and the game suffers because of it.

    In short, the game is genuinely good fun for a few hours play with your friends in the evening, and few other games offer such a relaxing, engaging experience up to a certain point, after which it lacks the depth for any sort of longevity.
    Expand
  43. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    Every single negative review I've seen mentions Minecraft, when the fact is, this game has nothing to do with Minecraft. Notch himself has said he recognizes Terraria as a separate game, not as a copy of his own.

    Now as for my review, I liked the game, but it does have issues. Many issues. For instance, once you get to a certain point, everything gets far too easy and boring. It feels
    Every single negative review I've seen mentions Minecraft, when the fact is, this game has nothing to do with Minecraft. Notch himself has said he recognizes Terraria as a separate game, not as a copy of his own.

    Now as for my review, I liked the game, but it does have issues. Many issues. For instance, once you get to a certain point, everything gets far too easy and boring. It feels more like a chore when your about five hours of game play in, if you work quickly enough. The bosses are great but there are so few of them that you have to fight the same ones to get materials for the really god items. While I understand this game is technically still being developed, it should be made obvious. It's not in beta, this is a release that just updates a lot. Also, I do not agree with the pricing. It is too high for what the game is.

    Another thing about other reviews is they keep mentioning how terrible the graphics are, when that's the point. This game wasn't meant to look AMAZING. And if people can't see that, then they shouldn't have bought it in the first place, because it was obvious just looking at the games store page how it would look.

    Back to my own review, I for one think the graphics are exactly what they were meant to be, and it looks good.

    The long and short of it is, this game is not for people who buy high end computers so they can run games like Crysis 2 flawlessly. This game is, in fact, an indie game, and should be treated as such.
    Expand
  44. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    It's a decent game but gets boring after a while of playing. I by myself have played it only a total of 51 hours, and in most cases forced to. I personally do not enjoy the game as much as others do. I don't think there's anything wrong with me, it's just not my type. And I hate how you can get the best armors in a matter of 30 minutes or so, and after that you're done. Boom! Delete yourIt's a decent game but gets boring after a while of playing. I by myself have played it only a total of 51 hours, and in most cases forced to. I personally do not enjoy the game as much as others do. I don't think there's anything wrong with me, it's just not my type. And I hate how you can get the best armors in a matter of 30 minutes or so, and after that you're done. Boom! Delete your map and start over. The game is too simple to be super-duper amazing. Although I'm looking forward to the new update with lighting changes with a percentage of 50%. I'll probably give it a try, or maybe not. I'll just get another headache probably. Expand
  45. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Terraria is a great game, and despite the many accusations, it is not like Minecraft at all, except for the idea of digging, and Minecraft was definitely not the first to include this type of gameplay, just the first to make it famous. The game is pretty cool, but after beating all the bosses, you very quickly reach a point in the game where there is honestly not much to do. At this pointTerraria is a great game, and despite the many accusations, it is not like Minecraft at all, except for the idea of digging, and Minecraft was definitely not the first to include this type of gameplay, just the first to make it famous. The game is pretty cool, but after beating all the bosses, you very quickly reach a point in the game where there is honestly not much to do. At this point you can build stuff, which can be a lot of fun, but there isn't much of a sense of accomplishment. Multiplayer pvp is pretty boring, since no sane person would enter a pvp without the best armors and weapons in the game. When everyone has identical loadouts, it's just like any 2d platforming pvp game. However, I still love the game, and I like looking on Curse to see the latest build somebody has made. There are all kinds of cool adventure and rpg maps. Since the game has so much downloadable content, it is worth getting. Get it if you like a good, simple slash-everything-to-bits game with a touch of RPG and lots of building. Expand
  46. May 28, 2014
    7
    The appeal of world-builder games like Terraria is, I think, a bit limited, meaning that there is a certain type of person that will absolutely love and adore the complexity a game like this, and then a good number of people who just won't "get it". I think I fall somewhere in the middle - intellectually, I adore the idea, but often get bored with the execution. Minecraft, for example,The appeal of world-builder games like Terraria is, I think, a bit limited, meaning that there is a certain type of person that will absolutely love and adore the complexity a game like this, and then a good number of people who just won't "get it". I think I fall somewhere in the middle - intellectually, I adore the idea, but often get bored with the execution. Minecraft, for example, just really didn't do it for me at any point. Terraria, however, is a game I keep going through cycles with - I become enamored with the discovery and exploration, play a lot, but then my progress bogs down, and my interest peters out for a good long while.

    Overall, I think this game is great, and if you like world-builders, this is definitely a good choice for you. I think I might like a little more structure here and there to hold my interest at a constant level (not really a huge fan of googling things I find in the ground to see if there's anything useful I can make with it). It's a solid game at any rate, though, and worth playing with.
    Expand
  47. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Sidescrolling sandbox game with a focus on multiplayer spelunking. Devs have added tons of content since launch and is a legitimate action game with tons of armor, weapons and spells to collect. Randomized maps provide a new adventure anytime you want to start over and you can easily swap items between maps/servers. Great gameplay made even better with friends.
  48. Apr 9, 2015
    6
    It's much better than Minecraft in that it has much better (though 2D) graphics, more crafting, and more interesting fights. It's a mix of Minecraft, Diablo and 2D platformers from the 90s. Its biggest advantage over Mincraft is that Terraria actually has a purpose - in defeating bosses. So it's not just a "sandbox" game for kindergarten but rather a sandbox game where you craft betterIt's much better than Minecraft in that it has much better (though 2D) graphics, more crafting, and more interesting fights. It's a mix of Minecraft, Diablo and 2D platformers from the 90s. Its biggest advantage over Mincraft is that Terraria actually has a purpose - in defeating bosses. So it's not just a "sandbox" game for kindergarten but rather a sandbox game where you craft better weapons and armor and other equipment to defeat bigger stronger bosses. Yet the controls system is quite uncomfortable here, and on my PC the game worked pretty slowly (and I have an i7), with occasional severe drops of FPS. For a 2D game that's simply inexcusable. That's why I eventually had to just drop it in frustration. It's a good game but in no way a masterpiece or anything. E.g. even Diablo 1 from 1996 is a vastly, vastly better game. The RPG elements are rudimentary in Terraria, it's much closer to any 2D platformer like Castlevania or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles or whatever you might have played on NES. And these games, as you know, mostly rely on reaction and fast clicks, which makes them tedious, annoying, frustrating and ultimately unrewarding. I think the time of 2D platformers is long gone, and there's no use to resurrect that outdated genre. "Don't Starve" is a much better game than Terraria due to a lot more comfortable controls (Diablo-style instead of 2D platformer-style). Expand
  49. Vas
    Jun 29, 2014
    7
    You start out in a world where things are fairly easy, and need to quickly build up a small shelter. You can build quite a lot based on how imaginative you are. There are some pretty big bosses that are very difficult as well, but fun none-the-less. I think most people will enjoy the game, there is lots to do in this particular game and many unique items you can obtain. It's always aYou start out in a world where things are fairly easy, and need to quickly build up a small shelter. You can build quite a lot based on how imaginative you are. There are some pretty big bosses that are very difficult as well, but fun none-the-less. I think most people will enjoy the game, there is lots to do in this particular game and many unique items you can obtain. It's always a bit different every single time you start a new game. Expand
  50. Mar 15, 2015
    7
    I admit the fact that I enjoy playing this game more than Minecraft because it has more of a variety, but it lacks official game mode(s) and the ability to create and source user-generated content (other than just mods) in order to keep my playing this game.
  51. Aug 2, 2015
    6
    Overall impression: A rich game, but demanding

    I think this game is addressed to proper PC gamers. Not having played games like Minecraft, and preferring a controller to a mouse, I don't think I really found my place in Terraria. I felt slightly left out at first when the game drops you with no explanation. I find it strange when it assumes that you know what you're doing and gives
    Overall impression: A rich game, but demanding

    I think this game is addressed to proper PC gamers. Not having played games like Minecraft, and preferring a controller to a mouse, I don't think I really found my place in Terraria.

    I felt slightly left out at first when the game drops you with no explanation. I find it strange when it assumes that you know what you're doing and gives you only the most basic of help. So I had to go online and watch videos of people playing before I could start figuring things out for myself. Perhaps I'm a bit lazy, but that somehow felt wrong. As I played and got the hang of things, I felt conflicted between how awesome it is, and how time consuming it was. Sort of felt like if I had put that much work into playing an instrument (rather than digging virtual tunnels), that would be time better spent...

    As I said, perhaps I'm just lazy, but this game feels more for the proper gamer than for someone who just wants to play an hour or so and do something else with his day.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.