Test Drive Unlimited 2 PC

Test Drive Unlimited 2 Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Test Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievementsTest Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievements and creations online. Unlike any other driving game, TDU2 blends the open world experience with realistic vehicles and performance dynamics and for the first time, TDU2 features vehicle damage, weather effects, day and night cycles, and a brand new island to explore. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. PC Gamer
    Feb 26, 2011
    90
    Atari's latest open-world racer serves up hotter cars, warmer climates and more torrid racing action than its predecessor. [April 2011, p.70]
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    87
    However you play TDU2, you're likely to miss out on something Eden Games and Atari did extremely well. Whether that's vehicle paint and decals, avatar fashions, car interiors, a surprisingly robust casino experience, or just some gorgeous scenery in certain out-of-the way places, there's just way too much good stuff going on in this game to have anyone yawning with a cursory playthrough.
  3. PC Games
    Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Don't get us wrong, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a very decent game. With a massive island to explore, beautiful cars and scenery that can take your breath away, it's an absolute eye candy. Still, almost every aspect of the game can use some polish. [Mar 2011, p.99]
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    Enormous and ambitious, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a good game and a truly unique gameplay-experience. It's a step forward for the series.
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    70
    TDU 2, like its predecessor, is a very self-absorbed and meditative game. It doesn't force you to dash through all the championships, to fly to the final race... But there comes an inevitable moment when you start pondering what to do next. All tasks have been completed, all cars have been tested, and you're the best in your club... And that's it?
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    68
    The developers just ignored the releases of the last four years, so everthing in this game is way out of date: AI, mission designs, physics and online mode. Get Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit instead.
  7. Feb 16, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 87
  2. Negative: 39 out of 87
  1. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Why do people love and hate this? I'll tell you.
    If you have a controller or wheel then TDU2 will be a whole heap of fun to drive around the
    Why do people love and hate this? I'll tell you.
    If you have a controller or wheel then TDU2 will be a whole heap of fun to drive around the endless roads and beautifully rendered scenery. If you are using keyboard only then there is a good chance that your tapping techniques will fail and cause you to write an explosive slamming review. PCâ
    Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    TDU2 is a must have! TDU2 is in a field of it's on. There is no other game out there like it, except TDU. Cruising and exploring two MASSIVETDU2 is a must have! TDU2 is in a field of it's on. There is no other game out there like it, except TDU. Cruising and exploring two MASSIVE and beautiful islands, alone, is worth the $20 i paid. It's TDU just bigger and better. Unrelentless cop chases where you can be the cop in on the chase. TDU2 is not the best game in the world and it is not nearly as bad as some people are making it out to be. The driving engine was geared towards the keyboard user, but if tweak the settings some it feels more controller friendly. The cars are drivable and enjoyable once you give them a fair chance. TDU2 was not intended for the IRacing, rFactor, and other hard core sim gamers only. I personally feel like the driving schools are a little too challenging for this game, but very rewarding.

    Those who choose not to buy TDU2 based on the negative opinion of others, are going to miss out on a treat.

    The only thing that really bothers me about the game, is its re-installations is limited to 4. Now that's one on the main issues Atari could easily address and needs to.
    Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2014
    8
    TDU2 is NOT a racing game at heart. It's a driving sandbox with a big emphasis on the social and community features. The car handling andTDU2 is NOT a racing game at heart. It's a driving sandbox with a big emphasis on the social and community features. The car handling and physics are...well, a little weird, but there are numerous assists to compensate--or not. You'll probably spend a while fiddling with the complete range of adjustment sliders covering the analog controls until you find something that feels right.

    Then? Just drive--do some races, explore, buy stuff, interact with the community--which is dwindling fast. Just have fun--there's no pressure here. Sadly--we'll probably never see another Test Drive, but you can always go back to Ibiza and Oahu to relax and cruise.
    Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    5
    Lack of subtitles for cutscenes has put me off. I have been lost working out what I should do in the game. Luckily, my familiarity with TDU1Lack of subtitles for cutscenes has put me off. I have been lost working out what I should do in the game. Luckily, my familiarity with TDU1 has helped me gain a basic understanding on how the game is supposed to be played. It's pretty average. Story is scored 0 because I need subtitles to help understand, even if I am a English speaker. Therefore this have no repsect for hearing impaired players like me. But bercause the gameplay is fun, I give it a 10 so 10 and 0 balances out as 5. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    4
    The Good: Cruising around with some friends or by yourself for a couple of hours. Just Cruising.

    The Bad: Can u spell Beta. This game has
    The Good: Cruising around with some friends or by yourself for a couple of hours. Just Cruising.

    The Bad: Can u spell Beta. This game has soo many bugs, completely uninspiring story, lame voice overs (the few that they bothered to do), frustrating!! level design, car upgrades that dont work, a community racing center that was down for a month let alone the online clubs issues, car dynamics wrong (on a very steep incline and stationary, pushing the brakes makes the car skid down, but let off the brakes and freewheel and the car doesn't move. so many good features from TDU1 somehow not included like:
    ability to turn engine on and off
    adjustable radial blur
    adjustable incar seat
    incar dials that actually work (the buggy's rev count is 1,2,3,4,5,6,5,6,7 - QA? tested at all?)
    ability to move cars around garages
    the list seriously just goes on and on

    not to mention that once you finish all the singleplayer races and still have lots to buy you won't be able to make money at any reasonable rate unlike TDU1. you cannot repeat entire cups to win the end prize money, it seriously is a dead game after that for singleplayer. multiplayer fails because only certain people who bought from a specific retailer (not Steam) got the Bugatti Veyron Super Sport as a preorder "bonus" and it will outstrip every other car no matter how much tuning. meaning if you didn't live in a specific country, prepare to not be able to win multiplayer games unless by chance - joy. where's the skill in that?

    such an uninspiring game, disappointment of the year handsdown!!
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2011
    2
    Quite a big disappointment considering how much fun the first game was. In fact, when the sequel was announced, I was excited. Reason - aQuite a big disappointment considering how much fun the first game was. In fact, when the sequel was announced, I was excited. Reason - a second game could just polish everything the first game had to offer and then some more. It was all set to be a much more refined and fun experience for TDU2. That's what I thought. Unfortunately, this is not the case. TDU2 has it all - bad physics, bad car handling, lackluster driving mechanics and the racing is just horrid. The online play doesn't help this game much. It can be fun to drive around in the free roam mode, but gosh, this is 2011 and we get a game that feels so dated. Not recommended. The graphics - well, there are better titles out there that completely dwarfs this. The recently released NFS: Hot Pursuit is a much better choice. Avoid this. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2011
    0
    cant play it I keep getting the blue screen of death after ten minutes and no i'm not a noob I have the most updated graphics drivers andcant play it I keep getting the blue screen of death after ten minutes and no i'm not a noob I have the most updated graphics drivers and nothing is overheating. i play other games with no problem. overall the game is buggy and I don't recommend wasting your money on it Expand

See all 87 User Reviews