User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 8 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    The fair mark for the game is 7.5. The game feel has something in common with "Fable". The main thing that makes it different from other RPGs is the fact that it is so ironic, sarcastic and humorous overall. It makes fun of fantasy/fairy tale genre clichés. The gameplay is battle oriented, most of the game you are fighting, so there are very few "social" sidequests. The battles are prettyThe fair mark for the game is 7.5. The game feel has something in common with "Fable". The main thing that makes it different from other RPGs is the fact that it is so ironic, sarcastic and humorous overall. It makes fun of fantasy/fairy tale genre clichés. The gameplay is battle oriented, most of the game you are fighting, so there are very few "social" sidequests. The battles are pretty difficult even on a normal difficulty level. You should choose your companions carefully to stand against different enemies. To be honest the endless repetitive battles and constantly respawning enemies become boring in the second half of the game. The only thing that diversifies the battles are the summoned companions. There are a lot of them and their tactics and skills are completely different. About the dialogues, there are two types of reactions to NPCs phrases: snarky or nice. It's not rather convenient for me because you can't predict what the Bard will say. I'd prefer the standard phrase choosing. The voice acting is great, especially the main character and the Narrator. And another thing I wanted to mention the inventory system. All the loot you get converts to money right away and when you get a better armor/weapon it gets equipped immediately and the previous one also converts into money. This system is just awesome for an Action RPG game! Overall, a very decent game for ever CRPG fan. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    7
    The Bard's Tale is an hack and slash adventure with basic rpg elements; it make fun of these kind of games so it's filled with humor and Wtf moments. Graphics don't excel but you will laugh a lot guaranteed. Lately for the 10°anniversary, steam version has been updated with wide screen resolution,wasd control,bug fix,performance enhancements and include the original classic games The Bard
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    Vapid, mediocre, pointless game. Makes me concerned about the $15 I pledged for Wasteland 2 on Kickstarter...if these people consider this Bard's Tale game to be a game worth playing, who knows how they'll butcher Wasteland. Here's my guess: Dull, pointless combat. (Face your target, click him. Rinse, repeat.) The lowest common denominator of character development. Uninspired,Vapid, mediocre, pointless game. Makes me concerned about the $15 I pledged for Wasteland 2 on Kickstarter...if these people consider this Bard's Tale game to be a game worth playing, who knows how they'll butcher Wasteland. Here's my guess: Dull, pointless combat. (Face your target, click him. Rinse, repeat.) The lowest common denominator of character development. Uninspired, sometimes-obnoxious voice acting that plays right to tired gaming stereotypes. And an obsession with polygonal bosoms that only happens when you're a porn-obsessed teenager or a desparately lonely old man. What an embarassing piece of junk this game is. Glad I only spent $5 on it on Steam. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    A decent, even if kinda stiff gameplay. Excellent humor and situations like from Monty Pythons. A lot of battles (which eventually get old, since the fighting isn't all the exciting), below average graphics, solid length and three endings. Overall I do recommend this game mostly because of story, the game mechanics are flawed, but not that bad so you would just give up on the game.
  5. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    I love this new spin on Bard's Tale, I played all of the old PC games from the 80s and they always had some humor involved but this one topped them all. It was very enjoyable and the endings are cool and funny. This is a nice break from the cliche. It is good for one good play through, just make sure to save it towards the end so you can reload and see both endings.
  6. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    Has nothing original to bring to the genre, and the game play is mediocre. However, this is by far, the most comedic game I have ever played - and I still laugh at it to this day,
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    This game is not a challenger to Diablo. You will not horde items and decide whether you would like the quicker sword with a less power, or the more powerful sword that's a bit slower. You won't have to make difficult decisions about whether to save a woman or save a town. The RPG mechanics are not innovative or thought-provoking. And the quest will not demand countless hours of yourThis game is not a challenger to Diablo. You will not horde items and decide whether you would like the quicker sword with a less power, or the more powerful sword that's a bit slower. You won't have to make difficult decisions about whether to save a woman or save a town. The RPG mechanics are not innovative or thought-provoking. And the quest will not demand countless hours of your life. You will, however, enjoy every step in your (admittedly short) journey. It's funny, it's quirky, and you'll never have to worry about anything except moving forward. Everything you pick up is something you automatically equip or something that turns instantly to gold (you should still take a look at what these things are, though, as ofttimes, it's hilarious). Even new weapons, when you find one, will be automatically equipped and your old sword will turn to gold. These are not admirable designs in a deep, multiplayer adventure. In this game, though, which you play alone, they are godsends. It's $5 right now on Steam, and worth every penny. It won't change your life, but it will leave you happy. Expand
  8. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    It is very underrated game, despite simple hack and slash style combat and very limited choices (it is not really possible to play this game many times) playing Bard's Tale is very rewarding experience. Excellent plot, excellent main character great dialogues and outstanding music. Despite all its shortcomings I find it the best action-adventure game I have ever played.
  9. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    Its hard to find a game that has an excellent story-telling presention, intelligent scenes and dialogues that gives you a good laugh here and then, enjoyable musicals with entataining dancing characters and so much more. For any RPG fan who gave this game a pass, its their great loss.
  10. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    While the send up of RPG tropes is appealing and, at times, very amusing, this game is simply awful. It suffers from one of the worst combat systems I've ever had the misfortune to have been subjected to, being both extremely unresponsive and uninteresting. The graphics are primitive and dull and the art direction is uninspired to the extreme. The writing is a little uneven but, for theWhile the send up of RPG tropes is appealing and, at times, very amusing, this game is simply awful. It suffers from one of the worst combat systems I've ever had the misfortune to have been subjected to, being both extremely unresponsive and uninteresting. The graphics are primitive and dull and the art direction is uninspired to the extreme. The writing is a little uneven but, for the most part, really well done with some very funny and enjoyable comedic bits. The voice acting is excellent for the most part during the game's cutscenes, only to be offset by some atrocious voice work during combat. Cary Elwes seems wasted, often choosing to play the Bard in a bored and disengaged characterization instead of a likeably charismatic rogue. The overall sound design is also horrible, with low quality effects, out of place and repetitive ambient sounds and voiceover lines stepping on each other. The RPG elements of the game have been dumbed down to near non-existence, and the loot system (for what paltry loot there is) is unrewarding since all finds are immediately converted into money, with no management of inventory or equipment. Summoned companions have settable AI modes which have almost no effect on actual gameplay. The game also has a tendency to screw up the controls coming out of cutscenes.
    Given the inherent promise of a humorous skewering of RPG clichés, it's disappointing that a serviceable game couldn't have been produced around that premise.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. A victim of its own sneers, this is the world's first self-parodying game. [July 2005, p.90]
  2. While The Bard's Tale is told amusingly enough, the disappointing combat fails to lift it from the upper end of mediocrity.
  3. The wit present in this game is second to none and I honestly think this is what would have happened had Mel Brooks gotten into game making.