Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    82
    A dialogue system and a fully functional inventory would not only vastly enhance the game, we could be talking about the birth of a new sub-genre. Even so, we enjoyed it. From now on, when someone asks, what the heck of a game is The Cave, we will answer “a really great game”… after all, that’s what really matters. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    81
    The Cave is a disappointment. You're allowed to expect more from the famous industry veterans. [Feb 2013]
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    80
    The Cave may not turn out to be the genre trailblazer that Maniac Mansion was, but this modern day classic puts a new spin on many of the adventure conventions that have been around since Colossal Cave.
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    79
    The Cave is really funny, with great puzzles, but it isn't a masterpiece because of some flaws.
  6. 79
    The Cave's built from the same bedrock as Maniac Mansion and Day of the Tentacle, after all, and the trademark Double Fine humour is here in abundance. If some repetition is the price to be paid for hours of clever conundrums and charming gags, it's a deal well worth striking; a few lumps of coal in a goldmine of entertainment.
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    75
    The Cave is clearly the 2013 heir to mythic LucasArts point'n click games of the early 90's. The fun in the writing and the great balance of the puzzles will surely make you feel nostalgic if you're 30 or more. As simple as efficient, Double Fine's game could have done better technically and some players won't be patient enough to keep round tripping again and again. Others could well feel like playing Day of the Tentacle again.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    So far, I'm enjoying the hell out of this game! I'm a long-time adventure fan and huge fan of Double Fine's titles. I'm a few hours in and soSo far, I'm enjoying the hell out of this game! I'm a long-time adventure fan and huge fan of Double Fine's titles. I'm a few hours in and so far I am not disappointed. I really like the idea of several different characters with their own back story and the execution, presentation and puzzles overall is brilliant. Only minor quibble is the control precision, but that's easily overlooked. I just wish they could make more frequent and larger scale games of this type. All in all, cool and very funny adventure game! Recommended. Full Review »
  2. Jan 25, 2013
    4
    A pale comparison to the monkey island/maniac mansion-esque throwbacks. The puzzles are far too simple and linear. The humour is not great,A pale comparison to the monkey island/maniac mansion-esque throwbacks. The puzzles are far too simple and linear. The humour is not great, and feels forced. The game looks good but has little replay value. I finished it the first time in 3 hours. Far too short of expectations. The promised cave "world" is but a few character-oriented puzzle rooms. Full Review »
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    First of all it is important to approach this game for what it is. Don't expect a Monkey Island because its from Gilbert, and keep in mindFirst of all it is important to approach this game for what it is. Don't expect a Monkey Island because its from Gilbert, and keep in mind this is a $15 game.

    With that being said the game is pretty bold in its mix of traditional point and click adventure aspects and jump and run mechanics. You choose 3 out 7 characters, who all come with their unique abilities, background story and areas. You move around by climbing ladders and ropes. There are common areas where you need all three characters to solver puzzles, and specific character areas that need the respective character's ability to be solved. The puzzles are never too easy or hard, but need some critical thinking. The game is not very linear, which will catch many modern gamers by surprise, who are used to heavy handed scripted playing. The humor is dark and entertaining, so are the individual stories behind the characters. The art and mood is amazing in this game. There are also countless references to old Lucasarts Adventure games, such as the Grog machine and Chuck the plant. The annoying part of this game is that you often times have to walk back and forth to solve a puzzle, which is compounded by the fact that you sometimes need to move three characters to a specific location. A character summon function would have been neat here. But that doesn't ruin a excellent gaming experience for a low price. Kudos to Gilbert for trying something money, I hope younger gamers will appreciate it despite lacking the heavy scripting from newer games.
    Full Review »