Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Cave is an adventure game from the mind of Ron Gilbert.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    82
    A dialogue system and a fully functional inventory would not only vastly enhance the game, we could be talking about the birth of a new sub-genre. Even so, we enjoyed it. From now on, when someone asks, what the heck of a game is The Cave, we will answer “a really great game”… after all, that’s what really matters. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    80
    The Cave may not turn out to be the genre trailblazer that Maniac Mansion was, but this modern day classic puts a new spin on many of the adventure conventions that have been around since Colossal Cave.
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    79
    The Cave is really funny, with great puzzles, but it isn't a masterpiece because of some flaws.
  4. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    GameSpy, however, is a website that gives away the answer to the riddle of whether The Cave is worth playing: yes. It doesn't hit the ability-powered platforming highs of Trine or the old-school adventure challenge of Maniac Mansion, and it appears the devs struggled to focus and define this ambiguous hybrid.
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    65
    The Cave is a game that showed lots of promise, given those pulling the strings, and when it’s great, it’s really great.
  6. Mar 12, 2013
    60
    Far from Ron Gilbert or Double Fine's best, but The Cave manages to deliver just enough satisfaction to avoid disaster. [Apr 2013, p.74]
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    40
    There is some dark-ish humour but it never goes far enough and borders on embarrassingly bad in most places. Those attuned to adventure titles will feel their puzzle sensibilities tickled but definitely not itched.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    This game is misunderstood by the press hard to imagine why. I'm grew up with maniac mansion, monkey island and all the great lucasartsThis game is misunderstood by the press hard to imagine why. I'm grew up with maniac mansion, monkey island and all the great lucasarts stuff. The Cave is different according to these old games, but its quite as funny as they were. The most puzzles are well done, they could've been a bit harder to solve, but it was okay. For some people maybe its harder if they dont have much experience in doing adventure games. Backtracking is one of the things, the press most argues about. I really don't know why. Backtracking was quite normal in the good old days. How long i ran through the forest in Monkey Island 1. I love that, Maybe u see something u missed before or some details the graphics art style is awesome... not as detailed as some other games like "trine 2", but too many details would kill the cave's atmosphere anyway. There are problems with gamepad controls for me. I think there is a little bit of input lag. But its ok as well.

    To make it short: I love the game, its humor, the voice of the cave... and all the funny things u are going through with the lovely characters. Thanks Ron Double Fine. Hope to see more things coming
    Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    It's a wonderful game. I think of it as a mix of an adventure game with "The Lost Vikings" gameplay (or maybe Trine, if you're younger). TheIt's a wonderful game. I think of it as a mix of an adventure game with "The Lost Vikings" gameplay (or maybe Trine, if you're younger). The possibility of selecting 3 from 7 characters with distinct abilities is the main positive thing about the game, because it gives you a lot of possibilities. I just think the "Cave" humour could be a little less forced. Collapse
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    First of all it is important to approach this game for what it is. Don't expect a Monkey Island because its from Gilbert, and keep in mindFirst of all it is important to approach this game for what it is. Don't expect a Monkey Island because its from Gilbert, and keep in mind this is a $15 game.

    With that being said the game is pretty bold in its mix of traditional point and click adventure aspects and jump and run mechanics. You choose 3 out 7 characters, who all come with their unique abilities, background story and areas. You move around by climbing ladders and ropes. There are common areas where you need all three characters to solver puzzles, and specific character areas that need the respective character's ability to be solved. The puzzles are never too easy or hard, but need some critical thinking. The game is not very linear, which will catch many modern gamers by surprise, who are used to heavy handed scripted playing. The humor is dark and entertaining, so are the individual stories behind the characters. The art and mood is amazing in this game. There are also countless references to old Lucasarts Adventure games, such as the Grog machine and Chuck the plant. The annoying part of this game is that you often times have to walk back and forth to solve a puzzle, which is compounded by the fact that you sometimes need to move three characters to a specific location. A character summon function would have been neat here. But that doesn't ruin a excellent gaming experience for a low price. Kudos to Gilbert for trying something money, I hope younger gamers will appreciate it despite lacking the heavy scripting from newer games.
    Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this cave is deep,hours of fun
    good return for 15$
    although only 1 GB
    so many levels
    you choose 3/7 characters each with specific special ability
    and you will come across corresponding levels
    I chose randomly 3 hilbert,adventurer& twins
    the interesting thing is the cave talks ;he is funny humour is unique to this game and everyone will love it;he's ;got very good voice unlike bit:trip runner which I personally dont like
    lots of levels;took me 2-3 sessions to complete
    You control 3 characters ,you have to think of their spl ability & act accordingly
    Make al 3 work in order to solve puzzles
    I m gonna try with other set of characters
    Overall is a good,unique experience
    and conclusion there is a message

    +ve:good visuals
    cleverly designed game levels make you thinking

    -ve: control movement bugs
    you have to play 3 characters together back & forth which makes the game lengthy
    Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    6
    Nice puzzles, loving animations, cute characters with cool voices and a great humor in a big and mysterious cave.
  6. Feb 7, 2013
    5
    An adventure game without story, dialogue, and for the most part without actual adventuring. Its genre can be more accurately described as aAn adventure game without story, dialogue, and for the most part without actual adventuring. Its genre can be more accurately described as a collection of thematical puzzles with some basic character insight as a reward for completing them. If mellow puzzle solving is your cup of tea then sure, this game can help spend couple of evenings, for anything more you'd better look elswhere.

    On a more personal note, I am a huge fan of Ron's MI1 and MI2, backer of Reds, I watched and read most or maybe even all his interviews and opinions on games, and need for some kind of innovation in adventure gaming and this was such a huge disappointment... I understand that production values were nowhere near Grim Fandango or TLJ level, so it was silly to expect real modern adventure game, but their priorities and changes they made to classic adventuring formula seem totaly wrong, unncesesary or not done properly. It has mechanics like "only one item per character" that beside being used in couple of puzzles add nothing to the rest of the game except artificially bloating playing time by adding lots of boring and usless traversing. The fact that there is a ton of fedex type puzzles only makes it worse. An inventory shared between all characters wouldn't have made things harder like Ron were saying, it would've make things easier! Not to mention provided additional opportunity for humor. Platforming they added does its job and ok for the most part but really, it is simply an additional mildly annoying obstacle to making progress. Puzzles themselves are usually pretty obvious, the only actual problem that takes time is to walk back and forth executing the solution. And there is abolutely no reason from the gameplay point of view for platforming at all! There are no fast trine-like physics puzzles, no fun arcade parts to diversify the flow of the game, no combat of course, it is not used in any meaningful way (except for couple of tinytiny moments). The way it is, it would've been much more comfortable to simply move characters with classic "click to move around doubleclick to move to next screen" fashion.

    Background music is sadly non-existant. Usualy its just "cavey" ambient noises. Occasional tunes do pop up when its appropriate, but all your running around will be done in near silence.

    Characters are mutes, and amount of dialogue roughly equals to an average FPS. Having a narrator helps, but narrator doesn't try to make characters deeper, or provide additional insigth or context to what is happening, usually he is just a vehicle for delivering occasional jokes.

    Graphics are nice, but nothing breathtaking, a cave is a cave... If it was an ordinary adventure game that would be fine, but considering amount of manual running around the same places and 2D nature of the game, I wish they'd make scenery more diverse. Story... Well you know that there is none. All you have are collectible Psychonauts style pictures, except in Psychonauts they provided an additional insight into living talking characters and here they are all that you'll ever have.

    Overall its fine for a puzzler, but disappointing nonetheless.. Note that I completely skipped describing the good parts and there definitely are some, like timetraveller bits, and occasional great animation, and some good puzzles, etc. It is far from being a 1/10 game. Its just I can't bring myself to write about positive sides properly without my general disappointment about the game still coming through...
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    2
    A mediocre game. Not surprising though. I don't get all the hype about Ron Gilbert, really. Look at any of the games he has been involved inA mediocre game. Not surprising though. I don't get all the hype about Ron Gilbert, really. Look at any of the games he has been involved in making for the past 20 years or so. All rubbish. Even if you take Lucas Arts games, the ones he worked on are nothing compared to, say, The Day of the Tentacle or Grim Fandango. Even if his idea was used for TDotT, it was Tim Schafer who brought it to realization. Now Tim brought Mr. Gilbert in... and it was a mistake. Double Fine was producing vivid original games, it was on a streak that felt like it's not going to end. And then came Ron Gilbert and ended it. I hope he won't be leading any more projects. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers