Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    The experience is remarkably evocative of the fairytale-like adventures of the King's Quest series, and nearly every facet of the game is remarkably well-executed.
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    88
    Dodging the reef of bugs, portraying a beautiful story, incorporating solid technical components and a plethora of riddles that will keep the gamer busy for a while, Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav, is a sure contestant for 'Adventure game of the year'. [August 2012]
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    85
    A great graphical adventure with an interesting story that will make you enjoy as a child while discovering the misteries of this tale. Also, it has a delighting visual design, although technically a bit poor, with mediocre animations. It is a bit easy, but the story is great and is a very recommended title for adventure lovers.
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    85
    Deep Silver and Daedalic Entertainment have done a great job in not trying to bring the pen & paper gameplay to the PC, but choosing the way of the adventure. Subsequently The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav is more like an interactive novel – a good one for that matter.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    84
    Chains of Satinav is a great adventure game inspired in the magic world of The Dark Eye. We love its excellent argument, puzzle design and its old school style.
  6. Jun 20, 2012
    83
    Especially with the graphical design and the music and sound of the game Daedalic did a good job. The pen&paper-gameplay has been well embedded but the facial animations are rudimental. In general the puzzles are very diversified but lack hints most of the time. Therefore the game is at some points quite challenging, but in a few places even frustrating. Although Chains of Satinav is a very good adventure game with a convincing atmosphere in the world of The Dark Eye.
  7. Oct 14, 2012
    81
    Chains of Satinav is a perfect substitute for a storybook. Absolutely beautiful hand-drawn art is combined with a predictable story and some clumsy dialogue, but the overall melancholic feel of a imaginary kingdom on the brink of it's demise make up for these angularities. It's hard to get any closer of an fairytale. Some puzzles are genius, but there are loads of boring logistic tasks too. [Sept 2012]
  8. Sep 6, 2012
    80
    A breathtakingly beautiful and inspiring adventure that no matter its faults, offers a wonderful experience to the fans of adventure games.
  9. Aug 27, 2012
    80
    Chains of Satinav isn't the cheapest game on the market, but with a good twelve or so hours of beautiful scenery and some great story and gameplay, I'd still recommend this one to adventure game fans.
  10. Jul 31, 2012
    80
    Daedalic's new game really impressed me. It's merits (great puzzles and beautiful hand drawn graphics among others) make it easy to forgive the shortcomings. [September 2012, p.74]
  11. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav is a classic adventure with a twist, built around an engaging couple of main characters who struggles against fate and darkness.
  12. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    The Dark Eye: Chains of Setinav is Just one example of a reborn genre of classic adventure games. It's a game that deals with the subject in a very typical way, but shows a technological direction for other developers to follow. It's one of a few games that draw so much from a real fable – the atmosphere amazed me. It's a very good game that lacks some final polish.
  13. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    Regardless of its technical shortcomings, CoS provides a superbly engaging story driven experience, that feels uniquely its own. When a story makes you care about its characters, it's a triumph, and in this, Chains of Satinav excels.
  14. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    An engaging and surprisingly dark fairy-tale, combined with logical and enjoyable puzzles as well as lovely 2D-graphics. This game is a must for adventurers, and Daedalic's best product so far.
  15. 80
    The Dark Eye arrived safely in the point'n'clink-world on the first go. Daedalic didn't go for crazy experiments, but instead kept to the proven formulas of the genre and also to the adapted game-world. Everybody can be happy about that, adventure-fans as well as The Dark Eye Nerds.
  16. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    Just like inject some life into a paint, each location of this Dark Eye: Chain of Satinav is truly a work of art. It's a shame that the level of difficulty is so low in the majority of puzzles, but newcomers to the genre will be pleased. And hardcore adventurers will have their day with some clever puzzles too. A great graphic adventure that could've been a masterpiece of the genre.
  17. Jul 13, 2012
    79
    The backdrops are beautifully drawn, the story evolving around Geron and his dark visions is captivating. The puzzles will get quite difficult in later stages, though. But even the slight technical problems shouldn't keep you from this adventure trip thru Aventuria.
  18. Aug 20, 2012
    75
    The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav is a good quality graphic adventure which, despite based on several clichés of the fantasy tradition, manages to pull off a strong story and a powerful emotional charge.
  19. 70
    The Dark Eye is such a beautiful adventure at first glance …but its guts are rotten. Genre-typical gameplay does not offer any remarkable new ideas and weakens the whole experience. [Issue#220]
  20. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    Chains of Satinav boasts incredible artwork and atmosphere, though it's populated by weak characters that spoil some of the appeal.
  21. Jul 23, 2012
    65
    Offers a much bigger challenge than most recent adventure games, even with its streamlined features. Despite the much appreciated highlight-all-objects function, the puzzles are still challenging and this is a game that will take even point-and-click enthusiasts a while to complete. Newcomers, however, may find the steep difficulty too much and if you don't click with the characters and their story, then you may find Chains of Satinav just too overwhelming and frustrating.
  22. Jul 28, 2012
    63
    The weak narrative sucks all the emotional drama from the game's story, while beautiful hand-drawn backgrounds are saddled with the ugliest examples of character animation.
  23. Sep 16, 2012
    60
    Slow and meandering but gently enjoyable. [Sept 2012, p.54]
  24. Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Not counting those pauses and time spent scratching my head about obvious puzzles, The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav clocks in at around six to seven hours, which makes me balk a little at its $30 price. Comparatively, Walking Dead is $25 for the season of five two-hour episodes, and Resonance is $10 -- two adventure games you really should play this year. Satinav, on the other hand, carries with it a number of disclaimers that you need to be aware of before jumping into this fantasy adventure game.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    If you enjoy point and click Adventure games then you will love this game. The story is well told. The puzzles are chalenging without being conviluted. The hand Painted art work is beautiful. It took me about 10 hours to finish the game and I only had to look up a walk-though in two occasions when I overlooked a peace of a puzzle. There are not many Adventure games these days and this one is just as good as any of the classics. I say if you care about this genre of game at all then you should pick this one up just out of principle. I only wish Adventure games had more replay value. This game was better then anything from Telltale games and Amanita Design. Maybe not quite as good as a Classic Lucus Art game but close. Defently better then anything Sierra ever made, with the exception of maybe the Quest for Glory seriese. Some of the storry is kind of lost in translation because the game was orginaly made by an indee team from Sweeden but it has enought charm to be enduring. None the less I liked it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    Wonderful, wonderful art, a well-told story, challenging, (mostly) logical puzzles and likeable characters. I confess I had to use a walkthrough a few times, but only because a few objects (like the crack in the statue of the ork-god) are easy to miss. I really love adventure games, and this is an especially good one - I am a sucker for well-told stories. I also feel like I should mention that I really liked the ending, which is where many other Adventure games failed. All in all I'd say this is something you should certainly check out if you like point & click games. I really am glad they are experiencing some kind of small revival. Full Review »
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    1
    How did this get so many good reviews? I gave it half an hour before deciding not to waste my time as well as my money. I have enjoyed dozens of adventure games including plenty that were made 10+ years before this and are still vasty superior to its cheap 2d images and laggy menus. Avoid Full Review »