The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav is a point and click adventure from the makers of The Whispered World.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    The experience is remarkably evocative of the fairytale-like adventures of the King's Quest series, and nearly every facet of the game is remarkably well-executed.
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    85
    Deep Silver and Daedalic Entertainment have done a great job in not trying to bring the pen & paper gameplay to the PC, but choosing the way of the adventure. Subsequently The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav is more like an interactive novel – a good one for that matter.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    81
    Chains of Satinav is a perfect substitute for a storybook. Absolutely beautiful hand-drawn art is combined with a predictable story and some clumsy dialogue, but the overall melancholic feel of a imaginary kingdom on the brink of it's demise make up for these angularities. It's hard to get any closer of an fairytale. Some puzzles are genius, but there are loads of boring logistic tasks too. [Sept 2012]
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    Just like inject some life into a paint, each location of this Dark Eye: Chain of Satinav is truly a work of art. It's a shame that the level of difficulty is so low in the majority of puzzles, but newcomers to the genre will be pleased. And hardcore adventurers will have their day with some clever puzzles too. A great graphic adventure that could've been a masterpiece of the genre.
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    80
    Regardless of its technical shortcomings, CoS provides a superbly engaging story driven experience, that feels uniquely its own. When a story makes you care about its characters, it's a triumph, and in this, Chains of Satinav excels.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Aug 10, 2012
    70
    The Dark Eye is such a beautiful adventure at first glance …but its guts are rotten. Genre-typical gameplay does not offer any remarkable new ideas and weakens the whole experience. [Issue#220]
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Not counting those pauses and time spent scratching my head about obvious puzzles, The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav clocks in at around six to seven hours, which makes me balk a little at its $30 price. Comparatively, Walking Dead is $25 for the season of five two-hour episodes, and Resonance is $10 -- two adventure games you really should play this year. Satinav, on the other hand, carries with it a number of disclaimers that you need to be aware of before jumping into this fantasy adventure game.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    If you enjoy point and click Adventure games then you will love this game. The story is well told. The puzzles are chalenging without beingIf you enjoy point and click Adventure games then you will love this game. The story is well told. The puzzles are chalenging without being conviluted. The hand Painted art work is beautiful. It took me about 10 hours to finish the game and I only had to look up a walk-though in two occasions when I overlooked a peace of a puzzle. There are not many Adventure games these days and this one is just as good as any of the classics. I say if you care about this genre of game at all then you should pick this one up just out of principle. I only wish Adventure games had more replay value. This game was better then anything from Telltale games and Amanita Design. Maybe not quite as good as a Classic Lucus Art game but close. Defently better then anything Sierra ever made, with the exception of maybe the Quest for Glory seriese. Some of the storry is kind of lost in translation because the game was orginaly made by an indee team from Sweeden but it has enought charm to be enduring. None the less I liked it. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    As point & click adventure games go this is one of the best! The puzzles are fairly straght forward and locical which means the game and story flows!!
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    In general I am not a huge fan of point and click adventures. I tried a lot of them but mostly I got bored pretty fast, or I was annoyed byIn general I am not a huge fan of point and click adventures. I tried a lot of them but mostly I got bored pretty fast, or I was annoyed by unlogical puzzles, or the story didn't work for me.

    Chains of Satinav is different. Right from the start the game world sucked me into it. The graphics are very well painted, I'd say it offers the best 2D background graphics I have seen in a long time. The only things that need improvement are the animations of the characters and more background animations. But again, the 2D backgrounds work so well, during my playthrough sometimes I was just sitting in front of the screen admiring the paintings. For me this is art. It perfectly fits to the medieval The Dark Eye setting.

    The game itself doesn't disappoint. The story is very well told, it is dynamic and you are not forced to stay in a place for too long. It's a journey not only in a physical way, but also in the sense of how the character of the main protagonist evolves. At first the mood of the game is light-hearted, but it gets darker and more dangerous with every step and you start caring for the characters.

    The puzzles are challenging sometimes, but in a logical way and even if you are not good at puzzle solving, you can activate some helpful options which make the game easier. I think this is a good compromise, because I am not the kind of person who likes walkthroughs.

    The music is charming and fitting it doesn't push itself forward, stays in the background and merges with the whole experience, making it whole.

    Conclusion: Whoever is a fan of adventure games or The Dark Eye, buy this game. You will not be disappointed. Yes, it is a traditional adventure, but this game shows how traditional game mechanics can be very appealing and exciting if done right. It's a lot about the game world, the lovely characters, the interesting story and setting.
    Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2016
    8
    After spending twelve hours, I finally managed to finish this wonderful game and can finally write a review for it!

    Story: It's a very
    After spending twelve hours, I finally managed to finish this wonderful game and can finally write a review for it!

    Story: It's a very charming story and although the ending was bittersweet, it made the whole thing seemed even more beautiful in a sad way. There's always been an air of apprehensiveness and fear of wondering if Geron and Nuri would end up together or be forced to part. The ending was something not completely unexpected but it was still surprising. Anyways, the pace wasn't too fast or too slow. It was done well enough for one to get to be fond of the characters and sympathize with that they were going through. The story here, was probably the best feature of the game. I loved it and thought it was very well written. You were always on the edge of your seat, wondering about what would happen next or what was Nuri's reason for not wanting to return home to fairyland.

    Characters: The characters here were diverse and Geron and Nuri in particular, were very detailed and in depth. There was a vibrance with their interaction with each other, and it highlighted their differences which somehow ended up complimenting each other. Geron is a sarcastic, grouchy, slightly pessimistic but good man. Nuri was a sweet, nice and understanding fairy. She was kind of naive but there was a doting innocence about her that made her very endearing.

    Art: What can I say, the landscape is gorgeous. Plenty of colors and details. My favorite was the inside of the caravan actually. The lighting and arrangement on the inside was lovely. Kinda wish we could have seen the same amount of details with the character models but it's good enough.

    Voice: Convincing performance here. The voice actors did their job well enough. Too bad the lips don't synchronize so it looks choppy at times. Oh, and I liked everyone's voice actors except for the seer. It sounded like the voice actor was totally disinterested and just couldn't put his heart into it.

    Puzzle: If you're new to point and click adventure game, you might be put off since the puzzles are quite complicated at times. If you're familiar with these kind of games, these will be hard enough to keep you occupied, but not too mind blowing hard that would make you want to cheat or quit the game. I found that as long as you noticed absolutely everything, you should be fine. Otherwise, you'll wander around an area all confused and it's because you didn't see a mirror or something.

    Music: I adored the music in this game. It matched with the settings and story well and overall, the entire ost was very good.

    Animation: Sometimes the animation freezes or Geron ends up walking kind of laggy manner. But it's not game breaking or anything. Just something that might make you sigh every once in awhile.

    Conclusion: This is a game that I would totally recommend. But buy it when it's on sale. There's not much replayability and it is quite short. But it is totally a 'short and sweet' game. From the story to characters to the music and to the art, it ranks very high with me and I know I'll remember this game for some time to come. I'm already eagerly playing its sequel.
    Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    I love adventure games, I think they tell the best stories and this game just proves my point. The story is this game's most positive point.I love adventure games, I think they tell the best stories and this game just proves my point. The story is this game's most positive point. It is a very well told if not well written fantasy story that gives you that incentive to keep on playing just to find out what happens next. The art style is amazing and some of the locations that you visit throughout the game are really well created. The puzzles of this game aren't hardcore and relatively easy compared to other point and click adventures, and this is a good thing because it just makes the game more accessible.

    It really is a wonderful experience, one that I personally enjoyed quite a bit despite a few bugs and crashes. If you like adventure games or even if you're just a fan of good stories as a whole the check this game out.
    Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    For lovers of point-and-click. The tone is moving and the story, although a bit obvious sometimes, is catchy. Graphics and music areFor lovers of point-and-click. The tone is moving and the story, although a bit obvious sometimes, is catchy. Graphics and music are beautiful. The story lacks a little bit of depth, for which you have to wait until the last part of the game, probably the best. The locations are a bit repetitive and I wish there was more of them, more beautiful art.

    Bad: some glitches, hard puzzles are rare.
    Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    1
    How did this get so many good reviews? I gave it half an hour before deciding not to waste my time as well as my money. I have enjoyedHow did this get so many good reviews? I gave it half an hour before deciding not to waste my time as well as my money. I have enjoyed dozens of adventure games including plenty that were made 10+ years before this and are still vasty superior to its cheap 2d images and laggy menus. Avoid Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings