User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 91
  2. Negative: 4 out of 91

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackB.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Truly a great game. I enjoy the frozen icy environment that Morrowind was missing, and the idea of building a new city instead of 'Ooh, look, a city that came from nowhere!' is cool. Even if you couldn't be a werewolf, encountering them is cool, they like, growl, and everything! Finally someone worth my Redguard fighter. Unlike in Tribunal, which was worst mod EVUH, this Truly a great game. I enjoy the frozen icy environment that Morrowind was missing, and the idea of building a new city instead of 'Ooh, look, a city that came from nowhere!' is cool. Even if you couldn't be a werewolf, encountering them is cool, they like, growl, and everything! Finally someone worth my Redguard fighter. Unlike in Tribunal, which was worst mod EVUH, this adds a new island which might look small, but it's not, believe me. And if you go to the barrows (Or whatever they are called) you might never leave. I myself, for example, moved over to Solstheim because of stronger monsters, and cool quests. If you're lower level, you shouldn't complain with some wolves or bears, and for higher levels there are those nasty Spriggans (Keep respawning after getting killed! Grah.) For extremely high levels, you might want to seek out some werewolves, and possibly become one yourself, and then kill without being suspected! Best od EVUH! Better than Tribunal all the way! PS: If you wanna real challenge, try Karstaag at the end of the game, he's tough, but Hicine's guile aspect is plain crazy. Expand
  2. Rick
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    The best of the best.
  3. Aug 2, 2014
    6
    As much as I love Morrowind to death and really enjoyed the previous DLC Tribunal that was expanding on the main story, after hearing praise on the Bloodmoon DLC, it left me a bit disappointed. The whole thing seems a bit like Skyrim demo to me, Bethesda was trying out winter environments, mountains, snow, ice, werewolves, Nord lore and while Bloodmoon is still quite enjoyable, it justAs much as I love Morrowind to death and really enjoyed the previous DLC Tribunal that was expanding on the main story, after hearing praise on the Bloodmoon DLC, it left me a bit disappointed. The whole thing seems a bit like Skyrim demo to me, Bethesda was trying out winter environments, mountains, snow, ice, werewolves, Nord lore and while Bloodmoon is still quite enjoyable, it just felt like a Skyrim betatest to me. Unfortunately for Bloodmoon, I played Skyrim before Bloodmoon, so that might have hurt my impressions, as in Skyrim all those elements were even better. Still good, but nevertheless, Bloodmoon was the least favourite part of my entire Morrowind experience, which is otherwise still one of the best RPG's ever created to this day. 6/10 Expand
  4. FredB.
    Jul 2, 2003
    3
    I'm sorry, but this is a horrible expansion. I love Morrowind, and played it through twice by itself before trying the expansions, but the quality of each seems to be exponentially poorer than the last. Tribunal was ok (and that's all it was), but Bloodmoon is outright rotten. Almost everything about it is a disappointment...the new monsters (especially the riders) are boring I'm sorry, but this is a horrible expansion. I love Morrowind, and played it through twice by itself before trying the expansions, but the quality of each seems to be exponentially poorer than the last. Tribunal was ok (and that's all it was), but Bloodmoon is outright rotten. Almost everything about it is a disappointment...the new monsters (especially the riders) are boring and incredibly amateurish, the storyline is short and weak, the environment is completely depressing from the minute you set foot in the new area, and the performance is a joke (especially with weather, as already stated). As if that wasn't enough, Bloodmoon also takes the most unbearably annoying Morrowind quests - escorting, and completely floods the game with them (and no, the AI has not been improved). Throw in the very contrived "werewolf" experience, weak scripting, and on and on, and honestly, you have something that is barely at the level of quality of a free fan-made add-on. It's shocking and disappointing, coming from Bethesda. Save your money and time, and ignore this horrible money-grab. It'll ruin your Morrowind experience, make you lose your respect for Bethesda's quality and integrity, and take an unreasonable bite out of your wallet to boot. If you feel you MUST have every Morrowind expansion, at least do yourself a favor and wait until it's in the bargain bin (though frankly it isn't worth even that). Unbelievably disappointing. Expand
  5. J.C.
    Sep 7, 2005
    5
    Morrowind was a great game.... and I would ratherplay Tribunal over and over then play any other RPG. Bloodmoon was not as brilliantly storylined as Morrowind and Tribunal. The land was very dissapointing. Creatures were built for lower level characters, along with the main quest. The last boss was difficult.... must take a level 40 or up to beat him. The concept of Werewolf waas a Morrowind was a great game.... and I would ratherplay Tribunal over and over then play any other RPG. Bloodmoon was not as brilliantly storylined as Morrowind and Tribunal. The land was very dissapointing. Creatures were built for lower level characters, along with the main quest. The last boss was difficult.... must take a level 40 or up to beat him. The concept of Werewolf waas a stretch too far out.... Vampires was a stretch I could deal with but Werewolves are such an old and bland concept. Expand
  6. SlantyME
    Jun 16, 2003
    7
    Morrowind was a great game. I have played it a few times now (never finished it though) as different characters and have been deeply engrossed in it for several months...and now that Tribunal and Bloodmoon have come out, the entertainment for this great game just continues. As for Bloodmoon as a whole, I only gave it a 7 for several reasons. The game itself is a worthy addition to the Morrowind was a great game. I have played it a few times now (never finished it though) as different characters and have been deeply engrossed in it for several months...and now that Tribunal and Bloodmoon have come out, the entertainment for this great game just continues. As for Bloodmoon as a whole, I only gave it a 7 for several reasons. The game itself is a worthy addition to the Morrowind saga as it is easy to access from Knull and the quests and NPC are well thought up. However, the game has become much more unstable than it's predecessor. I can't make it through an hour without having the game crash to my desktop (yes, I have the latest drivers and all that) and when the snowy weather starts, I can't play the game (yes, I have a not-so-good GeForce 2 MX, but that still affects my review). I have to rest until the storm subsides. Also, the creatures in this expansion are very easy to kill. The only time my character has died was because the game got so bogged down (video card again) that I couldn't move...gotta love 0.5 FPS. Overall, it is a nice add-on to an amazing game, but I would put it below Tribunal for the toughness factor and above it for the experience...and below everything due to the constant crashes. Patch please! Expand
  7. P.M.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    Cool Free Roaming Availability, 10/10!! Duu
  8. MatthieuR.
    Aug 21, 2003
    9
    Great expansion. Obviously, this is geared at Morrowind fans, so if you are just a casual gamer, beat the original game before venturing out into Solstheim. As such, it shouldn't be reviewed as anything but an add-on for hardcore gamers. In this, it delivers. It's better than Tribunal in that it actually has outdoor cells, and varied weather at that. Long live the greatest RPG ever!
  9. EricS.
    Oct 12, 2003
    8
    This is a very good expansion the quest are a little weak though. being awerewolf is the bomb if you haven't experianced it your missing out. by day there called gibbering lunatics by day. if you want try it out walk around after nine and eventually one will come.
  10. JB
    Aug 11, 2006
    7
    While it is a solid expansion, Bloodmoon is not as epic as Tribunal or as deep as Morrowind. Of all the Elder Scrolls III titles, Bloodmoon should be last on your list.
  11. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    The new werewolf questline is great and adds even more fun and open elements to an already massive world. This game and the mods added by the community is still hard to match.
  12. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    A nice expansion. Morrowind had enough places to explore. Morrowind didn't need an expansion, but it got one and it added more than I expected it would.
  13. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    Bloodmoon is DLC done right; the land is vast but varied making it interesting to explore. The entire place has a vibe to it and a different culture to make it interesting. Yes, in case you're wondering Bloodmoon's island is pretty much a smaller version of Skyrim; so if you don't like snow, glaciers, mountains or other spectacular scenery then this probably isn't for you. If you aren'tBloodmoon is DLC done right; the land is vast but varied making it interesting to explore. The entire place has a vibe to it and a different culture to make it interesting. Yes, in case you're wondering Bloodmoon's island is pretty much a smaller version of Skyrim; so if you don't like snow, glaciers, mountains or other spectacular scenery then this probably isn't for you. If you aren't boring and actually like sweeping vistas and a unique culture then Bloodmoon is a perfect piece of DLC that's more or less a smaller version of the main game. If you don't have it, then seek a copy out immediately. Expand
  14. Mar 31, 2015
    9
    One of the best expansions for a PC game I've ever seen. This adds a completely different map to your game with a very different culture, environment and climate. Keeping the good gameplay but refreshing the setting.

    The quests try to convey deeper philosophical thoughts about the relation between man and nature. And they actually succeed. The story itself is enthralling and brings
    One of the best expansions for a PC game I've ever seen. This adds a completely different map to your game with a very different culture, environment and climate. Keeping the good gameplay but refreshing the setting.

    The quests try to convey deeper philosophical thoughts about the relation between man and nature. And they actually succeed.

    The story itself is enthralling and brings the complete Morrowind to it's climax.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Maybe Bloodmoon could have been down as a free, or low cost, download, but the added value of the werewolf alone make the twenty dollar cost seem like a bargain.
  2. 89
    Bloodmoon also adds werewolves and though they're formidable opponents, the real attraction here is that you can actually become a werewolf yourself.
  3. Living as a werewolf is still pretty cool. You can inflict serious damage with those claws, leap amazing distances, and take on more enemies than would be possible in your human form. [Sept 2003, p.74]