User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1217 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My actual rating is probably 8.5, so I am going to give it a more positive review than a negative one. The game is extremely old for the technology world and it does have its flaws. The game itself is not buggy or full of glitches unless you actually go around the world trying to find them (For example, you can enter the world before completing the Census Office if you jump into the corner between the wall and the building with Sellus Gravius, but you constantly have to jump into it to get through it). The game has a lot of information to take in (and I mean a s*** ton of information) which can generally be found by reading books and adventuring as well as through the questing system. The questing does take FOREVER to complete and it is relatively linear in the sense that most quests are similar (but, hey, what do you expect it is an RPG) in some way like go kill this monster, report to this bro, etc. For anyone who says it is an MMO without the second M or O, you are an idiot (I didn't really want to go to insulting, but it is true) because the game is a SINGLE PLAYER game, not a MASSIVELY MULTIPLAYER ONLINE game. The story is intricate, and though the questing objectives are similar, the lore behind them is not. I was actually disappointed in Oblivion after playing Morrowind because of how cartoony everything became and the quests were probably just as linear (again, quests in RPG's are usually relatively linear or at least similar... Even in Skyrim). For the year this game was made it has some of the most amazing graphical detail I have seen in a game from that time period, and if you have it on the computer, you can go beyond Skyrim HD graphics. The World: The world is monstrous in Morrowind and your only form of fast travel are Silt Striders and Mages Guild teleportation (which sucks because not every place has one of these). I think it was built this way on purpose, however. It seems that Bethesda wanted people to get out and explore for things instead of stay in their comfort zones going from city to city, and only going to places quests required them to. The spell creation in Morrowind is so unlimited, that it is literally broken. You can create spells that can one shot any damned thing in the game, but you have to have a godaweful amount of money and mana to do so. Magic can also do everything for you, and is an easier way to do things then train your Lockpicking skill or whatever else (but you are supposed to try everything... Again RPG). NPC's are relatively generic because they are all based on the presets, and there are only about two voices per gender, but there are also hundreds of NPC's. I would like to see someone try to give every one of a thousand people a different voice using a thousand different voice actors. If that happened, I would commend the idiot that went out of their way to do so.
    If you want to play an RPG, then play Morrowind. Besides, it brings concepts to the other games. If you want to play a game like CoD, then play CoD. That game right there is linear. All you do is the same thing, but I don't hear complaining about that.
    All in all, if you want to play a well-made RPG, then try it out. Sure it may piss you off because you may die, and it is annoying to hit things at lower skill levels, but it has a rich culture in and of itself. Playing an RPG is all about the story and how you get to the end of it, not about how easy it is to use magic.
    Expand
  2. SolidusRaptors
    Jun 27, 2002
    9
    Fantastic game but, for me, just after baldur's gate II.
  3. ZéLuís
    Jul 6, 2002
    8
    An excellent not linear RPG. This is the best game of The Elder Srolls serie. Very, very good.
  4. Enthasius
    Mar 1, 2003
    8
    The RPG which tries to not only break the mould, but destroy it as well. It succeeds, but unfortunatly, is victim to all of the bugs of a game where it has been made unique. It also suffer's from repetition, heavy slow down on a moderate computer, and a overly simple combat system which lets it all down. The difficulty is also a problem, as it gets too easy, too fast as soon as you The RPG which tries to not only break the mould, but destroy it as well. It succeeds, but unfortunatly, is victim to all of the bugs of a game where it has been made unique. It also suffer's from repetition, heavy slow down on a moderate computer, and a overly simple combat system which lets it all down. The difficulty is also a problem, as it gets too easy, too fast as soon as you figure out how things work. Thankfully, there are so many mods to improve on this game's short-comings, and if your good enough you can make your own modification, be it a book, all the way to a whole new story. Try it, but only if you have the time and patience to immerse yourself into the world. Expand
  5. Al
    Oct 31, 2004
    9
    It is my favrite RPG ever, giving you a true feel that you are in control. A few bugs but not enough to keep me from playing.
  6. JB
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    A good, solid RPG with some interesting lore to uncover and a centuries' old mystery to solve. Everything about this game is good except for its balance: the only way to excel at playing this game is as a 'tank mage', and there is only one race that really does well at that, in essence only creating the illusion of choice in racial selection. (I.E. play Breton). The replay A good, solid RPG with some interesting lore to uncover and a centuries' old mystery to solve. Everything about this game is good except for its balance: the only way to excel at playing this game is as a 'tank mage', and there is only one race that really does well at that, in essence only creating the illusion of choice in racial selection. (I.E. play Breton). The replay value of this game becomes considerably less once you realize this. Still worth getting. Expand
  7. smejki
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Since Fallout2 and Baldurs gate2 I haven't played so huge and complex game. Just great atypical story for fantasy RPG(more political than fantasy). Original skilling. Beautiful design.
    But I found that this game is completely unreplayable after you once finish it. I tried very very hard but really I just knew to much of the wolrd.
  8. ImranA
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    The best of the ES series (Better than Oblivion too, you console kids). Epic scale and wide variety of adventures to be had. It starts a little rough for people unfamiliar with open world games and the combat is less than spectacular, but these somewhat major complaints barely scratch the gem that this game is.
  9. MarkS.
    Jul 31, 2002
    9
    Bugthesda has done it again. Great game, one of the top 5 rpg's so far, but kilotons of technical issues and picograms of support. I must say though that they had the first patch up before the shring wrap cooled, but don't try asking anyone a question.
  10. KyleR
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    This game is almost perfect. I can spend countless hours playing it, learning new things about the backstory, finishing quest, or just exploring. The thing I love most, is how endless it really is. There are just so many atrifacts, little side quest, big side quests, factions, silly characters and easter eggs. The list just goes on, and on, and on. If I were someone planning on buying This game is almost perfect. I can spend countless hours playing it, learning new things about the backstory, finishing quest, or just exploring. The thing I love most, is how endless it really is. There are just so many atrifacts, little side quest, big side quests, factions, silly characters and easter eggs. The list just goes on, and on, and on. If I were someone planning on buying this game, which I am, because I sold my Xbox, I would buy the Game Of The Year Edition, and get Tribunal and Bloodmoon. Expand
  11. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    10 for the time.

    Can we really review the classics from our standing? In this game's period it made the absolute best of the time, the best of the engine, the best of the origin (the setting was originally a notD&D campaign! lol) and managed to make something crazy, neat and dense. Yeah it took a lot of drugs and alcohol to hammer out the lore and setting, but if you read the
    10 for the time.

    Can we really review the classics from our standing?

    In this game's period it made the absolute best of the time, the best of the engine, the best of the origin (the setting was originally a notD&D campaign! lol) and managed to make something crazy, neat and dense.

    Yeah it took a lot of drugs and alcohol to hammer out the lore and setting, but if you read the books, if you follow the hints, you will realize that the game wants to be more; literally in game, it can be found that the game acknowledges itself as a game on a CD. This is lore friendly. This is canon

    If you can balance the line between unforgiving engine, creator-ego, spiderweb multi-layer hidden-layer secret code lore, then you can really get this game.

    You can lose, and lose, and really lose and still win here. I figured some of this out before there was a real internet.

    He was not born a god. He chose this path of his own free will.

    ALMSIVI
    Expand
  12. May 2, 2013
    9
    This game may be old but it can still entertain anyone who loves The Elder Scrolls series and has the patience to deal with a less user-friendly game. In my opinion, this makes it a BETTER game than Oblivion (haven't played Skyrim yet) because more is expected of you. OMG no fast travel OMG not much voice acting OMG it's so complicated...that's how it's supposed to be. Morrowind offersThis game may be old but it can still entertain anyone who loves The Elder Scrolls series and has the patience to deal with a less user-friendly game. In my opinion, this makes it a BETTER game than Oblivion (haven't played Skyrim yet) because more is expected of you. OMG no fast travel OMG not much voice acting OMG it's so complicated...that's how it's supposed to be. Morrowind offers you a chance to dive into a world that is complex and dangerous WITHOUT HOLDING YOUR LITTLE BABY HANDS along the way. You have to learn to be resourceful, find ways to avoid death and disease, figure out where to go WITHOUT A STUPID ARROW ON THE MAP. Morrowind is the raw version of Elder Scrolls, not tailored to gamers that can't think for themselves. Yes the combat is dated, graphics dated, less cool features, etc. but if you want to play an Elder Scrolls games that features (1) a unique world with unfamiliar creatures (2) no mercy or hand holding and (3) hours freedom to play as you please, then get this game! I think that it has many advantages over Oblivion and possibly Skyrim and is worth giving a try. DON'T BUY THIS GAME IF YOU SUCK AT FIGURING THINGS OUT! If you're not sure about it, wait for a steam sale! Expand
  13. May 7, 2011
    9
    Truly impressive. The game is dated, but features some elements that Oblivion lacks. And while Oblivion gives a few of those moral choices quests, Morrowind really features them like you'd expect. The world feels so real and authentic With some of the patches and mods available, the game can look more like you'd hope for this day and age. Some things like lockpicking and fistfighting areTruly impressive. The game is dated, but features some elements that Oblivion lacks. And while Oblivion gives a few of those moral choices quests, Morrowind really features them like you'd expect. The world feels so real and authentic With some of the patches and mods available, the game can look more like you'd hope for this day and age. Some things like lockpicking and fistfighting are unbalanced and lack compared to Oblivion, but both games are truly great. If they could be combined with the best features of both, we would have RPG perfection. Expand
  14. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    It takes an effort of patience to re-adjust to the 2002 production values of the game. And then it takes some play time to actually begin uncovering the plots and the possibilities. I hope many of you can find the patience to endure the reprogramming. The game that lies behind the years is truly worth the effort required to find it. Morrowind is so much better than Skyrim it's positivelyIt takes an effort of patience to re-adjust to the 2002 production values of the game. And then it takes some play time to actually begin uncovering the plots and the possibilities. I hope many of you can find the patience to endure the reprogramming. The game that lies behind the years is truly worth the effort required to find it. Morrowind is so much better than Skyrim it's positively surprising. This begins with character development that is INFINITELY more enjoyable. Then it goes on with the lore, the plots and the details of NPC writing which are far superior. One can only conclude after delving deeply into this game that superior graphics and bloom effects have made game designers lazy. Because 3Dmodels, textures and animations can make everything look so great, far far less effort and time is being spent writing and thinking about all the elements that need to flow through a game world to engage the players. The craziest thing to my eyes is that Bethesda made this game and they own it, but they seem to have forgotten the very things that made Morrowind great. How can designers be happy with character progression system of Skyrim when their own previous efforts were SO MUCH more fun? How can they have inflicted the horrible UI of Skyrim on us, when they had a near perfect and much better UI with Oblivion? Its past the time for design studios to protect their integrity and stop sucking up to the shareholders of their parent companies, with eyes only for bigger demographics, and the endless degradation of games to something ever simpler, ever less intriguing and ever easier for little kids and bored housewifes to play. The studio heads need to grow some testicles and demand the right to make the best games they can, not these gutted, superficial carcasses of games that 'anyone' can play. My case is not helped by the flippant ease with which most gamers throw a game like Skyrim a 10/10 because of the pretty clouds and butterflies, then come here and throw this game 3/10 after 20 minutes because they are spoiled by high end graphics and don't even read any of the text or care about the stories. The financial and critical success of Skyrim is worrying since it confirms a bias and invites replication. The narrative and creative achievments of Morrowind, are easily ignored and forgotten. A tragic amnesia. One answer which would satisfy ALL PLAYERS would be a powerful GAME OPTION function that actually CUSTOMISED the level of player control over character progression. Thus a game could be played with the cretin-version of levelling Skyrim was infected with (red, green blue for the win), but also to allow totally open level progress, as we had in Morrowind, as a HARDCORE option. Since gaming graphics will not go back, and are stiill headed for perfection, such a design feature would ensure that games better than Morrowind could be made, and those without a deeper interest in the mechanics of character progress could still have a fun, in a more superficial manner. Since more choice in games is always good, a profoundly different level of choice in how the game is played will always be a good thing and will ALWAYS lead to more sales, since all levels of interest and all styles of gamers are catered for. Thus the financial incentive should be a great way to twist the arms of the accountants into finding the extra budget needed. The depth of character development lost from Morrowind is the prime thing that has been lost from this era. It should be restored. I'm writing this directly to Tod Howard of course, who is probably the only person in Bethesda that Zenimax will listen to. Please Tod. Heed the grot. Orctowngrot. Tim Rawlins. timtimjp@yahoo.com Expand
  15. BasK.
    May 8, 2003
    10
    Now this is more like it!
  16. D.1
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    The best.
  17. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Open-world exploration on an island of giant mushrooms and Dark Elves. Huge amounts to do in a fabulously realised, alien world. Intriguing main quest, so long as you can imagine the characters' voices for yourself -- because there's precious little of that. The combat system is utterly knackered, but luckily almost everything is easy to kill once you've got past about level 5. ItOpen-world exploration on an island of giant mushrooms and Dark Elves. Huge amounts to do in a fabulously realised, alien world. Intriguing main quest, so long as you can imagine the characters' voices for yourself -- because there's precious little of that. The combat system is utterly knackered, but luckily almost everything is easy to kill once you've got past about level 5. It really doesn't seem to matter. Expand
  18. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    I have to be honest here this game from what i can barely remember( High Times) was just awesome it sucked you right in best Action RPG of its time huge World, Great mechanics, Story that you could follow or disregard and wreak havoc on anything that moves.
  19. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I loved Oblivion until I played Morrowind. Now I can't help but think what Oblivion could have been. Absolute masterpiece.
  20. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    I cannot stress one thing when playing Morrowind. READ READ READ READ READ!!!!

    Seriously you need to read, you actually have to read the chat. I quit many times (about 4 times?) trying to play the game over and over, to see why people think this game is so fun. It took me a long time, but on the 5th time when I actually payed attention to the text of the NPC's and everything, the game
    I cannot stress one thing when playing Morrowind. READ READ READ READ READ!!!!

    Seriously you need to read, you actually have to read the chat. I quit many times (about 4 times?) trying to play the game over and over, to see why people think this game is so fun. It took me a long time, but on the 5th time when I actually payed attention to the text of the NPC's and everything, the game isn't that bad. The Combat system isn't HORRIBLE either if you play carefully. For example if you start in the beginning with maxing two handed sword, then use a fkin two handed sword, don't use a one-handed and the missing problem will pretty much be solved.

    I haven't beat the game yet, but I well put over 15 hours now, and I'm probably only 1/10th of the way finished with everything, the game is long as crap, and it plays smoothly as well. Be patient, it really is a great game I assure you.

    By the way, READ READ READ and check your journal, make sure you actually follow the directions. That is pretty much it for me though, it is a wonderful game, but it tries your patience!
    Expand
  21. AlitaA.
    Jun 17, 2002
    10
    Wooo Hooo!!!!!!!!! (I think that says it all)
  22. kENNETHsWANSON
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    i AM WRITING THIS REVIEW IN OCT 2009. THIS WAS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVEORIT GAMES.THE GRAPHICS ARE A BIT DATED BY NOW BUT THE GAMEPLAY IS STILL THE BEST.ANY CURRENT PC CAN NOW PLAY THIS GAME FLAWLESSLY AT IT HIGHEST SETTINGS.BUT I WANT TO EMPHASIZE IT IS THE GAMEPLAY AND IMMENSE SIZE AND REPLAYABILTY THAT MAKES THIS A GREAT GAME,ALSO DOES NOT HURT THAT IT CAN NOW BE AQUIRED FOR A BARGAIN PRICE
  23. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    Alright, this game is old and was my first "real" game when I played it back on the xbox. However, get it for PC because thats where it shines. You need mods for this thing now and its what makes the game unique. The Elder Scrolls games are brilliant.

    I've got this game installed now and there are still mods being made for it. I recommend checking TesNexus for mods, the obvious
    Alright, this game is old and was my first "real" game when I played it back on the xbox. However, get it for PC because thats where it shines. You need mods for this thing now and its what makes the game unique. The Elder Scrolls games are brilliant.

    I've got this game installed now and there are still mods being made for it. I recommend checking TesNexus for mods, the obvious requirements are a few graphics mods (try Qarl's if you can run it, it will make the game look near modern) and a combat mod (the combat was outdated...). If you can get past those nicks, you get into a very deep world where you can be whatever you want to be. I can't recommend this highly enough. It's also got a very nice nostalgia factor. You can get it for pc with the expansions for 20 bucks tops. The fact that its still be offered in stores is a testament to its longevity and underscores a brilliant game. Morrowind has been hailed as one of the best PC games ever made for its open ended approach and great story and environment. Grab it, some mods, a bottle of sujamma, and say goodbye to your friends for a while.
    Expand
  24. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    I bought Morrowind in 2003. I played it for about a year. My then-girlfriend's computer went the way of all things and all my significant progress was lost. Then, last year, I re-installed the game and got lost in Vvardenfell once more. The graphics are old and dated now, but when first released, it looked fantastic. The environments are rich and varied. The characters are -- mostlyI bought Morrowind in 2003. I played it for about a year. My then-girlfriend's computer went the way of all things and all my significant progress was lost. Then, last year, I re-installed the game and got lost in Vvardenfell once more. The graphics are old and dated now, but when first released, it looked fantastic. The environments are rich and varied. The characters are -- mostly -- well written and there are flashes of quirky humour (at one point, I was accompanied by a near-naked barbarian whose clothes had been stolen by a "witch." After the initial conversation, initiating dialogue produced the response, "Chilly today, isn't it?"). There are so many paths and alliegances to choose from in the game that no gamer will have the same experience as another. Magic and crafting feel genuine and personal: there is the opportunity to create spells with several different effects, with whatever name you choose. Ditto potions. Ditto magical weapons. Even the clothes and armour options are interestingly individualised: you can wear clothes under your armour, and a robe over the top, if you're so inclined. How many other games offer that level of character customisation? Levelling up makes sense: skills improve the more you use them, rather than experience points being arbitrarily assigned for finishing quests or killing enemies. Morrowind is, without question, the most immersive game I've played. It's not perfect: combat is frustrating, because blocking is taken entirely out of the hands of the player. There are a few bugs, but a devoted modding community has fixed a good deal of them. The down-sides are few compared to the positives. I played Oblivion and I enjoyed it. But I didn't love it. Not like Morrowind. Expand
  25. May 1, 2011
    9
    This is the game that defined what the free-roaming Action RPG genre would be for the future. With over 500+ hours of gameplay, tons of lore and back story, and uncountable captivating quest lines, you truly feel like you were a force to be reckoned with. The elephants in the room, though, are the combat system and the plethora of glitches that would send you crashing to the desktop.This is the game that defined what the free-roaming Action RPG genre would be for the future. With over 500+ hours of gameplay, tons of lore and back story, and uncountable captivating quest lines, you truly feel like you were a force to be reckoned with. The elephants in the room, though, are the combat system and the plethora of glitches that would send you crashing to the desktop. Leveling is almost a chore, as casting spells or jumping up and down for hours is sometimes the only way to advance a skill. The glitches are a real problem, as well, especially if you just complete that super-hard quest just to crash and burn. Despite these setbacks, though, Morrowind is a classic of the action RPG genre, and should be played by everyone who loved Oblivion or Fallout 3. This is where it all began, and this is where story and scale were appropriate to this type of game! Expand
  26. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This game is really amazing. There is a lot you can explore.I do have to note somehow, that the landscapes can sometimes be quite boring, If you're into free-roaming.There were points in the game where you did one thing wrong, but you don't get to know about that until you get to hear a person talk about it, basically forcing you to open another save game from a time before, or failing theThis game is really amazing. There is a lot you can explore.I do have to note somehow, that the landscapes can sometimes be quite boring, If you're into free-roaming.There were points in the game where you did one thing wrong, but you don't get to know about that until you get to hear a person talk about it, basically forcing you to open another save game from a time before, or failing the main quest.There is a lot of interaction though, with all kinds things. Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    When I first played Morrowind, I knew I had something special. The unique setting, massive world, diverse quests, skills, epic music, storyline and moddability turned me on to the Elder Scrolls series. Even in 2012 it's still worth a look, and does certain things better than the later games. The only complaints I can really level at Morrowind are that the quest directions are sometimesWhen I first played Morrowind, I knew I had something special. The unique setting, massive world, diverse quests, skills, epic music, storyline and moddability turned me on to the Elder Scrolls series. Even in 2012 it's still worth a look, and does certain things better than the later games. The only complaints I can really level at Morrowind are that the quest directions are sometimes vague (the infamous Balmora fighter's guild quest comes to mind) and dice-based combat in an FPS/RPG is a little wonky. Anyway, if you haven't played this yet, go and pick it up right away. Expand
  28. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Say The Elder Scrolls to any serious RPG fan and he'll know what you mean! Morrowind! It's a vast game filled with 100's of dungeons to explore and having over 100 hours+ gameplay! The game is ridiculously long and the two DLC's, Tribunal and Bloodmoon add 80 hours+ each! It is a fantasy game that revolutionized RPG games and will never be forgotten! It immerses you like no other game everSay The Elder Scrolls to any serious RPG fan and he'll know what you mean! Morrowind! It's a vast game filled with 100's of dungeons to explore and having over 100 hours+ gameplay! The game is ridiculously long and the two DLC's, Tribunal and Bloodmoon add 80 hours+ each! It is a fantasy game that revolutionized RPG games and will never be forgotten! It immerses you like no other game ever could surprisingly fits into a 1 gigabyte download on Steam which adds to the awesome! The soundtrack fits the mood and what more can I say! It' almost perfect! Yes... Almost! When you first start the game combat is almost impossible to use as your character started off a noob (as he should) but your attack chance was so lo that even if your weapon hit your enemy it would probably still count as a miss and leveling up is a pain too as it takes so long! Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    What the people don't understand who are writing bad comments about this game is that the game was designed that way, the hit and miss combat style was a common combat style for games in 2002 and the glitches, its hard to patch a game WITH NO ONLINE its not like its connected to steam, and this game didnt have voice actors so if its SO HARD to read thats your problem, go to school kids, IWhat the people don't understand who are writing bad comments about this game is that the game was designed that way, the hit and miss combat style was a common combat style for games in 2002 and the glitches, its hard to patch a game WITH NO ONLINE its not like its connected to steam, and this game didnt have voice actors so if its SO HARD to read thats your problem, go to school kids, I personally find this game to actually be a challenge unlike the casual scrub game SKYRIM with its **** 4 hour story line that has the EASIEST boss fight I'VE EVER, so with that I conclude all negative reviews are scrub kids! Expand
  30. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start with the good. This game is amazing. It will grab you and pull you in like no other RPG. However, there are some bugs that make it fall short of being perfect.
    The Thieve's Guild is interesting. It is similar to the Thieve's Guild questline in Skyrim with the Nightingales. In my opinion it is actually better than Skyrim's Thieve's Guild thanks to its Robin Hood-ish feel, much like Oblivion.
    The Fighter's Guild is pretty standard, not much to see there.
    The Mage's Guild is pretty boring, but it gets kinda funny thanks to its... enigmatic leader.
    This game rewards exploration with unique artifacts, cool dungeons, and interesting quests. One of the most interesting quests you'll find early on is a finding a Nord in his underwear standing on the side of the road, who asks you to find a witch who stole his stuff.
    The best parts of this game, by far, are its people and its main quest. The main quest in this game is the best one I've ever played in an Elder Scrolls game. It is similar to Skyrim's Dovahkiin, but the difference is that in Morrowind, you get to become the Nerevarine. You don't just get born as it. You earn it through trial after trial, gaining the respect of the three political parties, or "houses", and the Ashlander tribes, the native Dunmer. You go and get important artifacts, which you use to destroy the source of the main villain's power, as well as the power of the so-called "gods" that are worshiped by the Tribunal Temple. There are so many forces at work, trying to sway you to join their side. The best part about the main quest is that each mission really has a purpose to help your cause.
    Overall, Morrowind is my favorite of the Elder Scrolls games, followed by Skyrim, with Oblivion in last.
    Expand
  31. Feb 17, 2012
    8
    Morrowind was my first elder scrolls game. It was the first time I was truly immersed in a game world. Do I let nostalgia dictate everything? No. While morrowind is still an incredible masterpiece of a game that I have invested hundreds and hundreds of hours in. I have actually enjoyed and apprciated each elder scrolls game more than the next. I know.. This is not the popular opinion amongMorrowind was my first elder scrolls game. It was the first time I was truly immersed in a game world. Do I let nostalgia dictate everything? No. While morrowind is still an incredible masterpiece of a game that I have invested hundreds and hundreds of hours in. I have actually enjoyed and apprciated each elder scrolls game more than the next. I know.. This is not the popular opinion among morrowind fans of which I am among. However it's the truth. Morrowind (naturally) has hundreds and even thousands of features which have aged poorly. And while it's world is the most inspired in many ways - It's still an open world rpg with everything that implies - gameplay, sound, combat, depth, and systems of immersion. There are a lot of things morrowind still does in a way i WISH latter elder scrolls games did. However when I play morrowind, it's just not the 10/10 "best game I have ever played" that it once was. And I refuse to let nostalgia say otherwise. I still return to morrowind every now and then, and love it to bits. Expand
  32. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    I have about 40 hours into this game, and here's what I can say: The game is filled with lore, beauty, HUGE towns with so much lore and interesting characters and places to go. Dungeons are great. The only thing that throws me off about this game is the combat.... I just can't play it as badly as I would love to... It totally ruins the game for me. If only there were a combat mod to makeI have about 40 hours into this game, and here's what I can say: The game is filled with lore, beauty, HUGE towns with so much lore and interesting characters and places to go. Dungeons are great. The only thing that throws me off about this game is the combat.... I just can't play it as badly as I would love to... It totally ruins the game for me. If only there were a combat mod to make it similar to Obliv/Skyrims.... Expand
  33. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Morrowind is the most deserving of cult classic status of any RPG. If you can get past the first couple hours, get the overhaul mod and don't need to sophisticated of a combat system, this game opens up and becomes the most incredible adventure ever realized in an RPG. I played this after Oblivion and Skyrim, and even in it's own dated world, it is far superior to the two proceeding ElderMorrowind is the most deserving of cult classic status of any RPG. If you can get past the first couple hours, get the overhaul mod and don't need to sophisticated of a combat system, this game opens up and becomes the most incredible adventure ever realized in an RPG. I played this after Oblivion and Skyrim, and even in it's own dated world, it is far superior to the two proceeding Elder Scrolls titles. Oblivion is notorious among ES fans for being an extremely oversimplified, bland version of it's predecessor. Skyrim, while improving on everything that made Oblivion awful (level scaling, bland environments, lack of depth in culture, terrible writing) still proved to be mindless as an RPG. Morrowind doesn't hold your hand. It's a real adventure. No quest markers, level scaling or limits in what you can do. It's engine lacks, but the world doesn't. Bethesda may be on stupid pills nowadays (hated Oblivion and FO3, Skyrim was dumbed down but still very fun) but Morrowind is a brilliant magnum opus. Actual imaginative quests, beautifully written lore and stories, amazing depth in the politics of it's world(there is so much depth and detail in the culture and politics of Morrowind's world it's frightening) and a series high Houses, Clans and guilds to join come together to make an experience that makes every other Elder Scrolls title look like a dud. I don't have any nostalgia for this game. I played Skyrim BEFORE Morrowind, but went back based on the huge following it had. I loved Skyrim when I first started playing but over the few months I played it, I began to develop a craving for more cryptic, old school RPGS. I went back to Morrowind and gave it some time. Once I saw what this game really was, I was hooked. It's fantastically written, the atmosphere and world design are incredible and make me laugh at how mediocre every Bethesda title has been since in that regard. Morrowind is beautifully composed, beautifully written, beautifully deep and has the most unique and ominous landscape possible to explore in any RPG. Ignore the combat (every ES game has swing at air combat, dont complain about the combat in this if youre a fan of the other games) and give it time. Once you get some decent loot and begin to crack into the depth of Morrowind's guild structure, world and well realized politics, you will understand why most ES fanboys still hold this title close to them as the best. it is. It's better than Oblivion by a long shot. It's better than Skyrim. Better than Arena, and prolly Daggerfall. Morrowind combines cryptic RPG playstyle and hardcore role playing roots with an incredibly detailed world. Morrowind has in atmosphere, personality and character what Oblivion and Skyrim fail to deliver. Morrowind walks with a limp, but has a heart of gold. A pleasure to experience, and if you have patience, the World of Morrowind offers an amount of depth and role playing brilliance that makes it impossible not to come back to. I may be rambling now but for any old school CRPG fan who has played Oblivion or Skyrim and laughed at it's simplicity and mind numbing dumbness, or for any already ES fan who wants to visit a world far more complex and mystical than any other ES title, get the MGS3.0 Morrowind Overhaul and start playing the game. To some it's boring and inaccessible, but get past it's technical shortcomings, and dive into what is perhaps the most unique and jaw dropping game world ever put together. RPGS are getting dumber. They treat gamers like morons. Play Morrowind. It's the closest you can get to a real adventure. Expand
  34. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Morrowind is one of my top (if not *the* top) favorite games of all time and I enjoyed it far far more than I did Oblivion. I had wanted to check out the new Sound and Graphics Overhaul and I opened my Steam account because I couldn't find any other retail shop that still had the game in stock.

    This was my 3rd or 4th playthrough of the game and along with the Overhaul Mod I used the
  35. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This was and has remained my favorite Elder Scrolls game to date. Please ignore all the chuckle heads who say this game is "too big for itself" or has "no direction". This game came out when a free roaming RPG was exactly that. Just because the game doesn't hold your hand and lead you around every corner with a motherly kiss on the forehead doesn't mean the game deserves a lesser score.This was and has remained my favorite Elder Scrolls game to date. Please ignore all the chuckle heads who say this game is "too big for itself" or has "no direction". This game came out when a free roaming RPG was exactly that. Just because the game doesn't hold your hand and lead you around every corner with a motherly kiss on the forehead doesn't mean the game deserves a lesser score. This game is worth whatever you can get it for. And now through the magic of mods you can have a much more stable experience. All the same, save often. Expand
  36. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    So far the best of all Elderscrolls titles. Skyrim: best engine; Oblivion: bad design, level scaling; Morrowind: best music, world and atmosphere. This game is so beautiful and rich. Simply one of the best RPGs ever made, if not the best. Play it as fully dedicated mage to gather it's full potential.
  37. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    10
    The best Elder Scroll game. One of the best RPGs. It had both a huge, immersing (and unique) world to explore and a great story. Set the standards far too high for the other games of the series. PS Very, very few bugs too, especially compared to Daggerfall!!
  38. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    A must play game for every RPG fan and the best elder scrolls game that been made. So if you're ok with outdated graphics (and even if you are a graphic wh*re MGE and countless mods are here for you) go and grab this one. DO IT!
  39. May 31, 2013
    10
    A fantastic game. Gameplay is a lit bit unusual for a modern gamer but I acclimatized quickly and found it liberating that there was no fast travel as it encourages one to explore the world. Brilliant world design and the story is fantastically told giving room for multiple endings if you choose, or even to avoid it if it doesn't interest you. The Bloodmoon and Tribunal add-ons are good,A fantastic game. Gameplay is a lit bit unusual for a modern gamer but I acclimatized quickly and found it liberating that there was no fast travel as it encourages one to explore the world. Brilliant world design and the story is fantastically told giving room for multiple endings if you choose, or even to avoid it if it doesn't interest you. The Bloodmoon and Tribunal add-ons are good, Bloodmoon in particular. On the whole excellent a must buy. Expand
  40. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This is what a skyrim fanboy will say to this game: ewww the graphics look like barf, you cant fast travel, and blah blah blah. This is what il say to this game the best rpg that ever existed so what if you can fast travel in the game my friend owns far cry 3 and he never fast traveled and I have played 70+ plus hours of this game without fast traveling and graphics well at least they'reThis is what a skyrim fanboy will say to this game: ewww the graphics look like barf, you cant fast travel, and blah blah blah. This is what il say to this game the best rpg that ever existed so what if you can fast travel in the game my friend owns far cry 3 and he never fast traveled and I have played 70+ plus hours of this game without fast traveling and graphics well at least they're better then today's graphics cough cod. dont worry about those negative reviews they're just skyrim fanboys whining about how awesome this game is compared to skyrim
    Definitely worth your money and its definitely the best old school game i have played besides conker's bad fur day, quake, and zelda games
    Expand
  41. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    For me, to this day, still the best RPG ever made. The world, the lore, the atmosphere, the characters, the surroundings are just fantastic. The storytelling may be so-so, but this does not really matter when you have such a stunning world to explore. Even the excellent sequels are no match, Morrowind is far better when it comes to variation in the environment, the tasks and quests, andFor me, to this day, still the best RPG ever made. The world, the lore, the atmosphere, the characters, the surroundings are just fantastic. The storytelling may be so-so, but this does not really matter when you have such a stunning world to explore. Even the excellent sequels are no match, Morrowind is far better when it comes to variation in the environment, the tasks and quests, and deserves to be called, by many players, the best part of the Elder Scrolls series. Expand
  42. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I started playing the Elder Scrolls series when I bought Skyrim around two years today, and so I molded into it's action-heavy style of RPG. I started hearing about Morrowind, so I decided to try it out and see it for myself, and personally I feel it deserves to be called the best Elder Scrolls game to date. As far as story line, Morrowind blows Skyrim out of water with a much deeper plotI started playing the Elder Scrolls series when I bought Skyrim around two years today, and so I molded into it's action-heavy style of RPG. I started hearing about Morrowind, so I decided to try it out and see it for myself, and personally I feel it deserves to be called the best Elder Scrolls game to date. As far as story line, Morrowind blows Skyrim out of water with a much deeper plot that is slowly uncovered, making quests more like an adventure. Another thing is the overall feel of a game; Morrowind seem to be much more of a true RPG, like a tabletop RPG in an immensely large world. The only con I could ever see with this game would be the graphics, which would only apply to today's standards, and can be upgraded with mods. Expand
  43. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This game basically defined my life from 2004 (when I finally decided to dive in) all the way into the present. I've always been the kind of person who would roleplay through chatrooms and forums, and this game struck all the right chords in my head as a game I could really get into. The world is vast, and the landscape breathtaking. The lore is by far the most detailed of any game I'veThis game basically defined my life from 2004 (when I finally decided to dive in) all the way into the present. I've always been the kind of person who would roleplay through chatrooms and forums, and this game struck all the right chords in my head as a game I could really get into. The world is vast, and the landscape breathtaking. The lore is by far the most detailed of any game I've played. It sucks you in, and never lets you go. You live the game for the time you interact with it.

    The other Elder Scrolls games are just that. Games They will never be able to recreated the experience Morrowind created. It is, and always will be, the best of the series, and one of the greatest games ever made.
    Expand
  44. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Not only is this my favorite game of all time, but it is the best RPG of all time. I will never forget the grand adventures Morrowind offered me and the scope of the story. I will never forget my times in Balmora. Ald-ruhn, and strange Telvanni Towers. Slaying the leaders of ancient Vampire clans, and storming the Sixth House cults. Then when the expansions came out I couldnt believeNot only is this my favorite game of all time, but it is the best RPG of all time. I will never forget the grand adventures Morrowind offered me and the scope of the story. I will never forget my times in Balmora. Ald-ruhn, and strange Telvanni Towers. Slaying the leaders of ancient Vampire clans, and storming the Sixth House cults. Then when the expansions came out I couldnt believe such a great thing could get even greater. Even though this game may look aged to newer gamers and fans of newer TES games, I would recommend getting it and installing a few mods to make it more palletable (Morrowind Overhaul). You will see why this is the Father of modern RPG's. Expand
  45. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    We all know Morrowind is the best, but why is it? Because of the imagination used to create it. The world is interesting and varied, there is enough to do and see to keep you exploring and the quests are more than 'go here and kill/fetch that'. The story is more than 'go save the world from the evil thing': the 'evil' used to be good but was betrayed by the 'good' when they sought theWe all know Morrowind is the best, but why is it? Because of the imagination used to create it. The world is interesting and varied, there is enough to do and see to keep you exploring and the quests are more than 'go here and kill/fetch that'. The story is more than 'go save the world from the evil thing': the 'evil' used to be good but was betrayed by the 'good' when they sought the power it was protecting. There are shades of grey everywhere and often you'll wonder if you're doing the right thing. Expand
  46. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This is the greatest moment in all of the early 2000s videogames

    Great gameplay, incredible story, and awesome open world to explore. I have never enjoyed a game on my PC as much as this.
  47. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    Best Elder Scrolls game ever. Still hoping they will remake it to give it shiny new graphics. Please please remake this game, it's the best game in the genre.
  48. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    I love this game. It's story, characters, and world are absolutely beautiful, and the game has aged amazingly. When I finished the vanilla world, I couldn't stop, so I got mods to continue gameplay. (and I even started making some of my own.) With most games, I play awhile and I'm done. With this, I just can't stop. I recommend this game for everyone.
  49. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Thank you Bethesda!
  50. Samael
    Aug 12, 2008
    8
    Morrowind is a game that can sometimes be frustrating. On one hand, the lore and fluff material is deeply enveloping, the sound design amazing, and the setting brilliant. On the other hand, the graphics have not aged well, NPC's are all basically the same, and many troubling bugs require frequent quickloading or console manipulation. Boring combat and samey enemies do not help this Morrowind is a game that can sometimes be frustrating. On one hand, the lore and fluff material is deeply enveloping, the sound design amazing, and the setting brilliant. On the other hand, the graphics have not aged well, NPC's are all basically the same, and many troubling bugs require frequent quickloading or console manipulation. Boring combat and samey enemies do not help this title. But if one looks past the bugs and boredom, they'll find an extremely immersive game with a lot of interesting quriks to it. Some people claim to have put 100's of hours into this title, but frankly, after a while, the content becomes tedious and repetetive. The intricacies of the politics and religious affairs, however, make this game unmissable for any gamer who seeks a more intellectually challenging adventure, and isn't concerned about pulse-pounding combat. Expand
  51. SiggiJ.
    Feb 28, 2006
    7
    A decent RPG with an incredibly amount of content. Unfortunately, quests are linear and NPC interaction is primitive. There is alot of lore and background information for the enthusiast, but the storywriting lacks quality. In some situation, the game forces the player to make specific choices to proceed which may contradict the character's personality. Feedback to player decisisons A decent RPG with an incredibly amount of content. Unfortunately, quests are linear and NPC interaction is primitive. There is alot of lore and background information for the enthusiast, but the storywriting lacks quality. In some situation, the game forces the player to make specific choices to proceed which may contradict the character's personality. Feedback to player decisisons is lacking, the gameworld feels static and lifeless. Expand
  52. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    It's a sad day when you realize that we will never see a game like this again. Oblivion and Skyrim have dumbed down the games RPG and combat elemets to "click on the quest marker" exploring and "popamole" combat. Morrowind itself is not the deepest, it's an action RPG after all, but the scope of what you can do, who you can interact with, choices with CONSEQUENCES, real value and pride inIt's a sad day when you realize that we will never see a game like this again. Oblivion and Skyrim have dumbed down the games RPG and combat elemets to "click on the quest marker" exploring and "popamole" combat. Morrowind itself is not the deepest, it's an action RPG after all, but the scope of what you can do, who you can interact with, choices with CONSEQUENCES, real value and pride in the items you find rather than every random mob wearing lootable Daedric Armour like in Oblivion (why? how dis that make any sense?). If you can get over the graphics then MW is still the best single player action RPG on the PC (or anywhere else for that matter) and like I sad at the top we will not see a game like this again....ever of that I'm certain. Expand
  53. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Greatest game i've ever played. It has amazing graphics, amazing gameplay, everything about it is amazing, I highly recommend you get it, it's worth the money.
  54. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    The only game that i would like to bother again.I saw a critic from Games Radar calling "engaged" well they said it wasnt free...How this game cant be free? U can do anything! Everything! U can change even the history or ruin it if u kill someone special and the game continues , u can choose any spells and play it anyway u want to end the main story.Side quests are not mapped u have toThe only game that i would like to bother again.I saw a critic from Games Radar calling "engaged" well they said it wasnt free...How this game cant be free? U can do anything! Everything! U can change even the history or ruin it if u kill someone special and the game continues , u can choose any spells and play it anyway u want to end the main story.Side quests are not mapped u have to find them on ur own and if u dont succeed on them u simply lose them u cant replay because history is being written already in the game.And every npc in the game has a name , has something to make it unique unlike new games that they put few people around acting like they are living normal life...But u wont see them again they dont have a name...The story is even more epic... 10 for a game of 2004 some people should really check such games and try to make better new games.this is how an open world game must be made. Expand
  55. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    I'm writing this review 10 years after the fact and I'm putting things in context for the time the game came out. This game opened my eyes to a different kind of RPG experience. This game is amazing in the aspect of being a great open RPG with an extreme amount of depth to it, the only negative on this game may also be one of its positive qualities as well, it doesn't hold your hand orI'm writing this review 10 years after the fact and I'm putting things in context for the time the game came out. This game opened my eyes to a different kind of RPG experience. This game is amazing in the aspect of being a great open RPG with an extreme amount of depth to it, the only negative on this game may also be one of its positive qualities as well, it doesn't hold your hand or explain things to the letter, it lets you figure things out on your own, sometimes the hard way. All in all Morrowind is not perfect but definitely a legendary RPG. Expand
  56. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    Still the standard. Sadly marred these days by a slightly poor control system and wads and wads of text but still one of the best computer RPGs ever made.
  57. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    An amazing game which beats oblivion in every aspect except for graphics. If only games were made like this these days. Once again the only problem that the game has is its graphics.
  58. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This game made The Elder Scrolls what it is now. A true masterpiece of RPG genre. Even in 2012, it's pretty innovative, epic, atmospheric game to play. I can't believe it has got worse rating than Skyrim or Oblivion, as this game started the era for Elder Scrolls and in my opinion it's even better than the newest TES setups.
  59. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Ah Morrowind, also known as The Elder Scrolls III:Not dumbed down. This is a deep game. There's a lot of elements and planning and thinking involved, if you want to do well and know what's going on you'll have to pay attention. If you can manage to do that your reward is a huge incredibly unique and beautiful (though admittedly dated looking) world to explore. This is a Wrpg for theAh Morrowind, also known as The Elder Scrolls III:Not dumbed down. This is a deep game. There's a lot of elements and planning and thinking involved, if you want to do well and know what's going on you'll have to pay attention. If you can manage to do that your reward is a huge incredibly unique and beautiful (though admittedly dated looking) world to explore. This is a Wrpg for the hardcore, it almost feels like a cross between W and Jrpgs. It's good great story and a great villain, it's soundtrack is average but at the very least mood setting. And any flaw you have with the game can be modded out on the PC version (the best version), from modernizing the outdated combat to making the game look better than Oblivion. Get it if you dare Expand
  60. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    It's an experience that anyone who's played it doesn't want to describe. No description could do it justice. Let's just say it's awesome and then have you go give it a try.
  61. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    I am relatively young player: when Morrowind was released I played only some educational games for kids. Still I had a chance to play it before the release of Oblivion, and still I have that oldschooler feeling "Why can't they just rerelease it with better graphics?".
    Though, it is not just nostalgia, since Morrowind there were no game with such rich mechanics (except Dwarf Fortress,
    I am relatively young player: when Morrowind was released I played only some educational games for kids. Still I had a chance to play it before the release of Oblivion, and still I have that oldschooler feeling "Why can't they just rerelease it with better graphics?".
    Though, it is not just nostalgia, since Morrowind there were no game with such rich mechanics (except Dwarf Fortress, okay) and a balance between complexity and casualty: you had not to try a number of times to complete some quest, but had a permanent feeling that 5 minutes ago you did something wrong and do not understand your stats well enough.
    The world was huge, maybe, honestly, way too huge, but there was not assumed that you complete 100% of the game, it was pretty much another life to live, and you just couldn't make it all.
    And yes, some part of me misses cliff racers.
    Expand
  62. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Game offers large variety of armor and weapons, huge load of different gameplay aspects and a large island to explore. Some people consider the ''must make'' choices as cons for the game, but I prefer them as replay value. The DLC's add nice touch and the modding community keeps the game still very alive.
  63. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    This game is absolutely adored by users, and there's a good reason for it.

    You'll have to invest your time in learning how the game operates, and in reading a lot of what characters have to say, both implicitly and explicitly. You'll have to spend a lot of time trying to mitigate your travel time. The combat may actually be one of the worst systems to have ever been used for a
    This game is absolutely adored by users, and there's a good reason for it.

    You'll have to invest your time in learning how the game operates, and in reading a lot of what characters have to say, both implicitly and explicitly. You'll have to spend a lot of time trying to mitigate your travel time. The combat may actually be one of the worst systems to have ever been used for a first-person viewpoint. Many of these things would condemn other videogames to a hell of mediocrity.

    It doesn't matter. This game had one of the biggest ingame world's of its time, and which is still large even by today's standards. The various biomes of the game are imaginative and well thought out, even if the graphics displaying them haven't quite held up over time. The characters are varied and intriguing, and the story is vastly, vastly, VASTLY superior to that of the many other video games that have come both before and after it.

    If you can't find some measure of engagement in this game, then that's okay. Not everyone will be able to penetrate its stumbling blocks. Yet for those of you can get past the cliff racers and dice-rolling, there's a story to be had here. You'd be remiss in letting it go.
    Expand
  64. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    AMAZING ON PC, doesn't have the new improved journal system that came with the expansions,
    amazing story that rivals that of the successors to the franchise.
    great voice acting
    a pure RPG game, the combat is a little unbalanced, but its because the game adds into effect your attributes and your luck, and your skill with your current weapon.
    id advise you to get the DLC/Expansions for this game
  65. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    Story: 9 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 6 out of 10, Value: 9 out of 10
  66. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    When Skyrim was released, I played the life out of it. After I was getting sick of playing it, I decided to look at the game that introduced me to the series: Morrowind. Just like it's grandchild Skyrim, I loved this game when it came out. Now that I look at it, can I say it's as good as Oblivion or Skyrim? Yes. Where do I begin with this game? It has a huge, and I mean huge open world toWhen Skyrim was released, I played the life out of it. After I was getting sick of playing it, I decided to look at the game that introduced me to the series: Morrowind. Just like it's grandchild Skyrim, I loved this game when it came out. Now that I look at it, can I say it's as good as Oblivion or Skyrim? Yes. Where do I begin with this game? It has a huge, and I mean huge open world to explore. It takes hours just to get from one side of the map to the other. Now, this game was released in 2002. The graphics haven't aged too well, but they can be very good in particular places. But on to the actual gameplay. The combat mechanics for most of the classes are kinda sucky, most can agree with that. However, the rest of the game totally makes up for that. With one character you can spend hundreds of hours doing side quests and then tackling the main story next, while still not seeing everything. And even if you do see everything in this world, you could always start over but chose a different class and have a totally different experience. This is simply one of the deepest RPGs ever, and if you ever have the time you should play this game. Expand
  67. May 23, 2014
    9
    Best action RPG i played ever. Gameplay its very inmersive, the story its very interesting, you have a lot of places to visit, to explore, a lot of people to talk or kill, and a detail that i LOVED. You can kill anyone, including the npc of the main story. You **** off the story, but you can do it. Thanks Bethesda.
  68. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    My favorite game of all time!!! This is THE GAME that sucked me into the RPG genre. So much was so well done and the depth to this game was amazing!
  69. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. TES III Morrowind is the best TES. Very good world with extended locations, and the best storyline in The Elder Scrolls. For me 10-/10
    Sorry for my English.
    Expand
  70. Apr 13, 2015
    10
    One of the best games ever made. Sure it has its flaws (bugs bugs bugs), but you can download some unofficial mods that take care of that.

    I'm still playing today, and I think it's better than Oblivion and Skyrim.
  71. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of the Elder Scrolls series. Take some time to get used to the game mechanics and you will find one of the deepest and most believable fictional worlds ever created.
  72. Nov 20, 2015
    10
    One of the greatest video game codes ever created. One of mankinds greatest achievements, a true god within the gaming industry. Rivaled by a few, but second to none.
  73. Nov 15, 2015
    10
    Best The Elder Scrolls at all times. Before the advent of pop Oblivion and Skyrim. was Morrowind. You are not an RPG aficionados, if not when played in Morrowind, its beutiful game of its time. 10/10 .
  74. RobertB
    Aug 21, 2008
    6
    The island of Morrowind is a large, well-realized world rich with lore and backstory which ties in well with the lengthy main quest and many optional side quests and guild affiliations. Unfortunately, the actual game-play is boring, one-dimensional, and extremely poorly balanced. Magic is either overpowered, with single spells making entire skills like Acrobatics or Lockpicking trivial, The island of Morrowind is a large, well-realized world rich with lore and backstory which ties in well with the lengthy main quest and many optional side quests and guild affiliations. Unfortunately, the actual game-play is boring, one-dimensional, and extremely poorly balanced. Magic is either overpowered, with single spells making entire skills like Acrobatics or Lockpicking trivial, or underpowered. In combat, magic is virtually useless unless you use really cheap tactics. Some things about the game sound good in theory, but in practice just don't work, such as skill advancement through skill use (in order to advance your magic skills to a usable level, you pretty much have to repeatedly cast spells out of combat). Fortunately, the PC version of this game has a host of mods available which patch up a lot of the game's flaws, but some of the underlying problems go unaddressed. The trick to enjoying Morrowind is not to think of it as a fun or exciting game, but more as an interactive storybook. Expand
  75. Nov 1, 2014
    10
    First let me start with saying that Skyrim's combat is sh*t. It takes away the feeling that you are developing a character, that you help contribute to your character, that this is Your character. I am talking about investing points into Agility and seeing your character hit more often, those sort of things that create attachment to the game. Skyrim lacks the attachment part because asFirst let me start with saying that Skyrim's combat is sh*t. It takes away the feeling that you are developing a character, that you help contribute to your character, that this is Your character. I am talking about investing points into Agility and seeing your character hit more often, those sort of things that create attachment to the game. Skyrim lacks the attachment part because as long as You have the skills, You can do anything (from picking master locks, to hitting every time with the bow) which leaves you without a reason to care for this world, no attachment...

    In Skyrim earlier perks completely say 'FU' to the difficulty and the need of finding better gear by giving you more damage, less mana requirements for spell usage (some perks are good).

    Why Morrowind is better: from finding your own way via reading the journal, to more interesting architecture, more diverse and interesting locations, better made dungeons, better weapons, armor and loot, loot with value (for example glass or daedric loot was nearly impossible to sell due to its high value (1 daedric bolt is 4000 gold!)), more diverse and interesting magics, better and deeper stories, harder and more interesting puzzles (lockpicking was level based and if your Security skill was low forget about lvl100 Master locks unless with a magic scroll), harsher consequences for your actions and therefore more choices (you can kill anyone for example plot characters rendering the main plot impossible to complete unless you reloaded a save or found some other way; also NPCs were interesting because you could do more with them - if you were to increase the disposition of an NPC and your Personality was high enough you might find newer quests for example and new dialog. NPCs would offend you if they didnt like you and shopkeepers wont barter with you if you had items they disapproved like Skooma; if you had no stamina and were under attack you would fall to the ground unable to act until some stamina comes back).
    Expand
  76. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    In my opinion there is no better game. It is more diverse in magic, clothing/armor, weapons, skills, and dungeons than in any other modern RPG I've ever seen. The few loading screens that do happen (when entering dungeons/buildings, not when entering towns by foot) are very quick. The "invincible essential characters" that limits the player greatly in it's predecessors is nonexistent,In my opinion there is no better game. It is more diverse in magic, clothing/armor, weapons, skills, and dungeons than in any other modern RPG I've ever seen. The few loading screens that do happen (when entering dungeons/buildings, not when entering towns by foot) are very quick. The "invincible essential characters" that limits the player greatly in it's predecessors is nonexistent, meaning that you can kill absolutely anyone in the game (although, it will still effect gameplay). There are definitely glitches in the game, but Bethesda has such great mod support that it's hardly a problem after a few downloads. Expand
  77. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    The game is just too big for itself.So many repetitive areas and identical npc's and very similar quests.It would have been better if the world was half its size and that half sized morrowind would be filled with many diffrent quests and areas but of course the game was made in 2002 so you cant blame them but as i said before,itÅ
  78. Jan 31, 2014
    6
    6/10 for a specific reason. It has brilliant moments and you think - great. Then it brings you right back down to disappointment again. That is the way the whole thing works anon anon. Speaking from about 100 hours play.

    With the Overhaul pack 3 it looks spectacular, and as beautifully detailed as any modern game. I particularly love stone buildings. Literally from the moment you arrive
    6/10 for a specific reason. It has brilliant moments and you think - great. Then it brings you right back down to disappointment again. That is the way the whole thing works anon anon. Speaking from about 100 hours play.

    With the Overhaul pack 3 it looks spectacular, and as beautifully detailed as any modern game. I particularly love stone buildings. Literally from the moment you arrive in Seyda Neen, you think 'wow look at the graphics'. (I played quite a bit of Morrowind originally in 2002.) With Morrowind Overhaul 3.0 they have really created a gritty, earthy, mystical place to be.

    It is immersive, and the main quest is good. It's main complaint about combat, really I have had little trouble with. If found by dodging and striking, my strikes mostly connect.

    My criticism is about other aspects. It's unbelievable hard work. The effort you have to apply is monumental.

    Why couldn't they put some more map markers with quests. Sometimes you get markers of a town to go to. Say you get there and do a task. The effort you have to go through to return to who gave you the task is unbelievable sometimes. Open the journal, try to determine the town, get to the town, search all the buildings. Why not just select quest, mark the givers house. This for me is just one aspect that requires so much work.

    Some quests deliver punishing enemies. Yes I know the plan is return later when levelled up. I have one quest in mind that I have recently partially completed. I left it ages until I almost completed the main quest. The enemies were rock hard. I had to return sell off loot, grab more magika, more health, and go back. Guess what all the bad guys I killed on my first foray, had been replace with new enemies. Over and over, I had to return, each time getting a bit farther along. That has to be one of my main problems. Enemies replacing themselves. Sometimes you only have to pass from one area to another and return back to find enemies repopulated. **It's hard work people** Even from the start, beasties in the wild repopulate everytime you return to an area, even in the same day (meaning sunrise to sunset) in the game. You can't travel anywhere without being endlessy harassed by cliff racers.

    Another of my main issues with it, is that is so maze like. Almost everywhere you go, you get lost. Dungeons have too many paths leading off. Each door you pass though means you map explore/reveal is in a new area. A little simplification is this would have made a striking difference.

    There is more that disappoints, however this review would become too long. These reasons and more are why people say Oblivion is easier and less confusing: it's because Morrowind is hard.

    It does however have great aspects, and you find yourself thinking, 'what a game'. That's what keeps you playing, and I still am.
    Expand
  79. Mar 22, 2016
    8
    After putting another 20 hours in and considering the age of this game, I feel the need to update my review. I got over the outdated graphics and repetitive reading and realized there is a deep RPG here that is clever and fun. You see alot of good design elements in Morrowind that are copied still to this day, and in some instances this game still outdoes modern rpgs.
  80. Mar 8, 2015
    7
    Morrowind has such a good atmosphere and story that I started it 3 times (the first 2 times I gave up because of the bad described below). That's the good part.
    The bad is its graphics which have aged terribly, its incredibly bad combat (I never feel there is a connection between my clicks and the ingame hits), the lack of voiced dialogs (which was the standard at that time) and the
    Morrowind has such a good atmosphere and story that I started it 3 times (the first 2 times I gave up because of the bad described below). That's the good part.
    The bad is its graphics which have aged terribly, its incredibly bad combat (I never feel there is a connection between my clicks and the ingame hits), the lack of voiced dialogs (which was the standard at that time) and the really bad map (try finding somebody in Vivec, I dare you).
    The miracle that allowed me to start it the third time, enjoy it and not give up is Morroblivion, which finally made it playable.
    So about a 5/10 for the real Morrowind and then 2,5 extra for the Morroblivion mod (it's still not as good as Oblivion, my favourite ES) = 7,5/10.
    Expand
  81. Aug 8, 2013
    5
    After reading many accounts from diehard TES fans about the legendary status of Morrowind, I was finally convinced. They had convinced me Morrowind was the last best "hardcore" TES RPG. No quest marker, any npc killable at any time. Multiple factions all with their own unique story like the house of Telvanni dunmer mages, fighters guild, the two warring vampire houses and much much more. IAfter reading many accounts from diehard TES fans about the legendary status of Morrowind, I was finally convinced. They had convinced me Morrowind was the last best "hardcore" TES RPG. No quest marker, any npc killable at any time. Multiple factions all with their own unique story like the house of Telvanni dunmer mages, fighters guild, the two warring vampire houses and much much more. I was convinced this was more of a RPG than an action game, which is what Skyrim is. I was sold on Spellmaking, hidden treasures and more complex puzzles. Even with all this plus the Morrowind Graphics & Sound Overhaul mod installed I simply didn't last a few hours. All the rose tinted nostalgia spewing from the die hard Morrowind fans came crashing down as I realized Morrowind was severely lacking in many areas. Having played Oblivion and Skyrim before this, it felt like a severe downgrade.

    For what it's worth, there are many features in Morrowind not present in Skyrim that I'd love. Spellmaking among countless. However these positive features can not ever hope be greater than it's flaws. In 2013, Morrowinds animations are archaic, old & clunky. The graphics & sound overhaul mod helps tremendously, but it's not quite enough to cover the deep feeling that this game has passed its time.

    Compared to Skyrim, Morrowind I would say is definitely a lot more challenging than skyrim. I just wish I could get over it's horrendous combat & animations to enjoy it. Right after my 3 hour play session I uninstalled Morrowind and bought Skyrim Legendary Edition on sale for $35. About 30 hours of playtime later I'm noticing some things I don't like about it but overall I'm enjoying it thoroughly.
    Expand
  82. May 2, 2016
    0
    this has got to be the most overrated game on the PC

    the combat is awful and uneralistic the cities feel like set pieces with no soul the world just feels empty and uninteresting every dungeon is depressingly flavorless walk/run speed is obnoxiously slow graphics are OK with all the MGE mods etc. but the animations etc have not aged well even the guards won't attack monsters that
    this has got to be the most overrated game on the PC

    the combat is awful and uneralistic
    the cities feel like set pieces with no soul
    the world just feels empty and uninteresting
    every dungeon is depressingly flavorless
    walk/run speed is obnoxiously slow
    graphics are OK with all the MGE mods etc. but the animations etc have not aged well
    even the guards won't attack monsters that run into town

    i have to say i've tried 3 times now to somehow get into this game and it is a no-go....

    if you want something to compare this game to, go play Gothic 3 which is light years ahead of this game in character, storyline, graphics and everything else..Gothic 3 (2006) came out 4 years after Morrowind (2002) but feels 20 years ahead in everything

    that fact that so many people seem to adore this game makes me wonder..it really does
    Expand
  83. Jun 26, 2011
    5
    Not for everyone. The world is vast and stunning and the plot and lore are well done. However, the gameplay can be very tedious and at times the world feels like it's dead. Many of the side quests simply send you on errands.
  84. Jan 15, 2013
    2
    I am giving this a score of 2 as it does have technical merit. The designers put a HUGE amount of work into this game and as all the other reviews state this is a massive and very intricately designed world. However, with the risk of being controversial it is an outdated game and I found it overall a very bleak and depressing experience. The world feels soulless and like some fantasyI am giving this a score of 2 as it does have technical merit. The designers put a HUGE amount of work into this game and as all the other reviews state this is a massive and very intricately designed world. However, with the risk of being controversial it is an outdated game and I found it overall a very bleak and depressing experience. The world feels soulless and like some fantasy world post nuclear apocalypse. There is so much reading to do that after a while you feel you should be curled up on the sofa with a Tolkien trilogy and a good glass of wine instead of trying to play a game. As a result tedium sets in very quickly and with the by today's standards rather ugly and disjointed graphics it just becomes too much of slog to get to the end. I think you either love or hate this game. The haters are obviously the minority but we do exist - sorry! Expand
  85. Apr 16, 2014
    6
    I bought this game in 2014. It's clearly oooolllllldddd. But I've clocked about 20 hours or so and will keep going. Some of the mechanics are silly and archaic (e.g if your skill with a weapon is too low, you swing without connecting, time and time again). But even with annoyances such as this and the fact I can't enchant a poo to smell nice (10 soulgems down, not even a 1hp damageI bought this game in 2014. It's clearly oooolllllldddd. But I've clocked about 20 hours or so and will keep going. Some of the mechanics are silly and archaic (e.g if your skill with a weapon is too low, you swing without connecting, time and time again). But even with annoyances such as this and the fact I can't enchant a poo to smell nice (10 soulgems down, not even a 1hp damage enchantment success), it's a pretty charming game. The quest system is a pain in the ass and there's a lot of empty space to traipse through for the sake of making the game feel epic (Vivec is the most awful design ever), but if you've got a spare month or two, give it a shot. Expand
  86. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    Well, it's not a bad game as such but it certainly doesn't come anywhere near the hype. Sure, the story was great, and I liked the system of magic items slowly recharging, but I couldn't finish it because the combat was just so boring. Seriously, I just had to sit there and continually LMB until it died. Also, beast legs just completely ruined the immersion for me; seeing an argonianWell, it's not a bad game as such but it certainly doesn't come anywhere near the hype. Sure, the story was great, and I liked the system of magic items slowly recharging, but I couldn't finish it because the combat was just so boring. Seriously, I just had to sit there and continually LMB until it died. Also, beast legs just completely ruined the immersion for me; seeing an argonian walking like it has a mental disorder just makes me burst out laughing. Expand
  87. Nov 25, 2013
    3
    There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going,There is a lot of content here but no direction. The majority of the island's inhabitants hate you and all foreigners (not in a "you dirty thief" way but like a black-man-in-early-1900s-south way) unless you literally pay them to play nice or dump stats into speech skills. Quests start out interesting because they force you to explore and dig in places you normally wouldn't think of going, but later devolve into fetch quests that require you to go to the other side of the world to steal something and then travel back. Guild advancement is unrewarding. I usually got 10 times more loot & gold from thoroughly exploring the area i was sent to than I received from the quest reward. Combat tends to be a damage race of spamming left click while cycling magical weapons. I didn't like this game 10 years ago when I first played it and I don't like it now. With enough mods the bad graphics (even for it's time) can be fixed, but I wouldn't recommend playing it since better games of it's type have come out since. Expand
  88. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    Morrowind is truly an amazing game, really tremendous. But I just don't like it. I really just don't understand why people see the game as visually appealing really, it just feels empty...placid, lifeless. I don't know how many NPC's there are but for me it just felt too empty. The quest so far is just so depressing and errand-like. The places all around the world are just so similar andMorrowind is truly an amazing game, really tremendous. But I just don't like it. I really just don't understand why people see the game as visually appealing really, it just feels empty...placid, lifeless. I don't know how many NPC's there are but for me it just felt too empty. The quest so far is just so depressing and errand-like. The places all around the world are just so similar and boring, some things look nice but nothing really made me gawp at the screen in admiration. I tried my hardest to get into it but in the end I just got bored, it is very difficult and very tedious. Quests are maddeningly boring, go fetch this, go get that and you just don't feel very rewarded by it. The combat is awful and tiresome but I suppose that would've been acceptable back then. The way you communicate with people is confusing and the NPC's usually treat you like dirt for no reason. However it is still fantastic, their is much depth and mystery but for me it was all to overwhelming. Get the game if your very patient. Expand
  89. DustinB.
    Oct 25, 2006
    3
    God was thing game boring. Unless you enjoy wandering across vast empty spaces filled with identical monsters and npc's jumping to raise you 'acrobat' skill, skip it. They designers created a vast world but didn't bother to create any compelling reasons to visit any of the various locals. For the most part they all look the same and contain the same generic monsters God was thing game boring. Unless you enjoy wandering across vast empty spaces filled with identical monsters and npc's jumping to raise you 'acrobat' skill, skip it. They designers created a vast world but didn't bother to create any compelling reasons to visit any of the various locals. For the most part they all look the same and contain the same generic monsters and npcs. It also has some of the most repetitive and uninteresting combat I've ever seen. Quests are boring and nearly identical. Overall this game feels like a poorly made MMO only it's missing the second 'M' and the 'O'. The 'massive' monicure certainly applies, but it ends up just feeling empty and pointless. Expand
  90. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    This game has good and bad things about it. Mostly bad.
    On the large island of Morrowind things are getting interesting. With a large population of bugs and other animals this game is mostly fighting thugs, worms, and other stupid animals. The combat in this game is probably the worst ever. Unless you are a natural at it, prepare to die. A lot. The combat made me so mad, I quit. After
    This game has good and bad things about it. Mostly bad.
    On the large island of Morrowind things are getting interesting. With a large population of bugs and other animals this game is mostly fighting thugs, worms, and other stupid animals. The combat in this game is probably the worst ever. Unless you are a natural at it, prepare to die. A lot. The combat made me so mad, I quit. After about three hours of solid gameplay, I made a good conculsion:

    This game might have been good in 2002, but now it's a disgrace to Bethesda's name and title.
    Expand
  91. Dec 15, 2010
    1
    Morrowind's combat is broken. It has no quest system. To get into cities you have to levitate into them-not walk through a door. There is no fast travel. It is a tedious and **** game, do not recommend to anyone.
  92. DavidL
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    This game is so overrated... Even if the world is vast and things like that, it's so deeply flawed that I won't even give a 1/10. The fighting system gives me nightmares, when I try to kill something I have to try to swing my weapon about 10 times to actually hit the thing. This game has an extreme amount of bugs, so many that this review would be longer than the bible if I This game is so overrated... Even if the world is vast and things like that, it's so deeply flawed that I won't even give a 1/10. The fighting system gives me nightmares, when I try to kill something I have to try to swing my weapon about 10 times to actually hit the thing. This game has an extreme amount of bugs, so many that this review would be longer than the bible if I wrote them down. Many Morrowind fans say that this game is better than Oblivion, but it simply is not. If you're reading this review, don't buy this game. Ever. Expand
  93. SalmanA.
    Aug 7, 2008
    0
    15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if 15 hours until you get to the main part of the main quest? That's not impressive, that's just poor game design. Vague instructions and directions as to where to go, piss poor combat that leaves you swinging your weapon more minutes at a time before you hit anything, so on. Trying to get some info from a NPC? Be prepared to spend a good 5 minutes getting anything out of them ,if anything. I understand that there may be a good game in here, but there's just too much misery to go through to get to it. This isn't even counting the horrible bugs abd technical issues. Expand
  94. huntercreed
    Oct 28, 2007
    1
    THIS GAME SUCKS to many fucking glitches its bullshit i sat there for 3 hours had some good shit
    then hit a glitch on a table and it saved and i couldnt move had to reset twice fuck this game ive already broken it into 18 peices and burned it its case it being melted as well AS I SAID THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!!!
  95. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    One of the best classic role-playing games to date. There is so much to do and explore; you may die a lot but you’ll learn a ton throughout your enormous adventure. You’ll barely be able to kill a rat, but you'll feel powerful once you find that magical weapon or skill which puts you at uncanny odds against your enemies. You'll feel lonely at times until you find a naked barbarian lookingOne of the best classic role-playing games to date. There is so much to do and explore; you may die a lot but you’ll learn a ton throughout your enormous adventure. You’ll barely be able to kill a rat, but you'll feel powerful once you find that magical weapon or skill which puts you at uncanny odds against your enemies. You'll feel lonely at times until you find a naked barbarian looking for his magical Axe.

    Morrowind may not be for everyone, it is an entirely different beast from other mammoths in the franchise such as TES IV: Oblivion and TES V: Skyrim but being different doesn't mean the game is bad in any way. Mechanics work differently, you'll have to use your wit to overcome challenging situations. Some mechanics may seem broken at first, but there are often techniques which you must master in order to get anywhere which is part of solving the wondrous mystery which is Morrowind. It’s not a mindless RPG like many modern games, it’s a true RPG, one which you’ll remember for a very long time.

    An adventure huge in scale; it may not be perfect (what game is), the adventures you will go on and mysteries you will solve will leave you in awe if you can overcome some of the technical limitations Morrowind has to date. Do not be put off though if you are looking for an alien yet timeless journey which you can stick your teeth into for hundreds of countless hours! To top it off, this is coming from somebody who hated Morrowind to begin with. Don’t give up, take your time and most of all enjoy yourself, you’ll overcome many of the problem’s you encounter.
    Expand
  96. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game rocks with the latest overhaul mod:
    http://morrowind.nexusmods.com/mods/36945/
    Mods have made it up there with skyrim. The wonderful thing with mods is that they can iron out issues and you get to customise the quality of the game such that it becomes perfect. This game is the benchmark for RPGs, along with baldur's gate, the original fallout, the 1st mass effect, deus ex and
    This game rocks with the latest overhaul mod:
    http://morrowind.nexusmods.com/mods/36945/

    Mods have made it up there with skyrim. The wonderful thing with mods is that they can iron out issues and you get to customise the quality of the game such that it becomes perfect. This game is the benchmark for RPGs, along with baldur's gate, the original fallout, the 1st mass effect, deus ex and system shock 2
    Expand
  97. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended.

    Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended.

    Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blank slate; a way to reforge your new life whether it's a murderous assassin or honorable paladin, the only limited parts to Morrowind is your imagination.

    Morrowind isn't like typical RPGs where you pick a role and are limited based on that role (Fighter, Cleric, etc). Morrowind allows you the freedom to be whatever you wish. During is time, Morrowind pushed even the most powerful hardware and to this day looks alien and mysterious. Morrowind continues to live on through the efforts of talented modders and fans alike.

    It is my opinion that Morrowind catches all magic and depth of every Elder Scrolls title and is the best Elder Scrolls title yet.
    Expand
  98. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended. Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blankThe Elder Scrolls series has always been known for its size, depth and story and Morrowind is no stranger to this. While not as large as Daggerfall, Morrowind makes up for it by having an engaging and deep story that keeps you entertained long after it has ended. Morrowind puts you in the roll of a Prisoner as they reach Seyda Neen and attempt to start their new life. You are given a blank slate; a way to reforge your new life whether it's a murderous assassin or honorable paladin, the only limited parts to Morrowind is your imagination. Morrowind isn't like typical RPGs where you pick a role and are limited based on that role (Fighter, Cleric, etc). Morrowind allows you the freedom to be whatever you wish. During is time, Morrowind pushed even the most powerful hardware and to this day looks alien and mysterious. Morrowind continues to live on through the efforts of talented modders and fans alike. It is my opinion that Morrowind catches all magic and depth of every Elder Scrolls title and is the best Elder Scrolls title yet. Expand
  99. May 28, 2016
    5
    I definitely struggled to enjoy this RPG classic. Understandably, it's a defining release in open world RPG gaming with excellent music and great graphics for the time, but I found it difficult to get into this game without the nostalgic sentiment that probably drives many other players in the realm of Morrowind. My biggest critiques: 1) walking everywhere takes forever (this issue isI definitely struggled to enjoy this RPG classic. Understandably, it's a defining release in open world RPG gaming with excellent music and great graphics for the time, but I found it difficult to get into this game without the nostalgic sentiment that probably drives many other players in the realm of Morrowind. My biggest critiques: 1) walking everywhere takes forever (this issue is fixed wonderfully in the sequel, Oblivion, with fast travel, horses, and a more condensed map), 2) many of the quests are extremely repetitive and involve tortuously long walks to various locations. The map is epic and huge, which is awesome, unless it takes forever to walk everywhere, which is the case. You can ride to and from major cities via the silt strider network, but I found myself still having to walk for 5, 10, even 15 or more real-time minutes just to get to a location for a quest after riding to the nearest city via silt strider. Due to the repetitiveness of many of the quests, you'll have to walk the same long path several times before you complete the quest. I really felt like 60% of my play-through of the main quest and side quests was just walking slowly through the map. That being said, I appreciate Morrowind as a great foundation for it's sequels, Oblivion and Skyrim, some of the best games the RPG genre has ever seen. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. One of those games that just visually takes your breath away. It has some of the most detailed, and well realistically rendered environments and characters ever seen in a computer game.
  2. The Elder Scrolls tech support forum is overflowing with user complaints about compatibility issues. At any rate, this is still the biggest, deepest, most detailed RPG to hit the PC since Daggerfall, and for that, earns high marks.
  3. This is a game that can stay on your hard drive for six months, still offering new experiences.