User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1276 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertT
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    An amazing game; full of an awesome storyline that takes you through an enticing magical world... the person who reviewed before me has no idea of how great this game is...
  2. MickJ
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    How is it possible I've to read certain things... Morrowind is a RPG, unlike Oblivion. In a RPG you have to train your skills to ACTUALLY "hit the things". If anyone wants to always hit then go playing OB or any other hack'n'slash. Pros: an incredibly well-constructed story, with a very detailed politic background, a stunning enviroment diversity, a very good, quite How is it possible I've to read certain things... Morrowind is a RPG, unlike Oblivion. In a RPG you have to train your skills to ACTUALLY "hit the things". If anyone wants to always hit then go playing OB or any other hack'n'slash. Pros: an incredibly well-constructed story, with a very detailed politic background, a stunning enviroment diversity, a very good, quite balanced skill system, same for the magic system, satisfying side-quests, a great soundtrack. Cons: too many bugs (without (un)official patches), combat system sometimes a bit "scabby" switching between phis. and mag. attacks, and I preferred more RPG style weapon attacks with random damage. Conclusion:there would be many other things to say, but the fact is that THIS is a masterpiece, to enjoy little by little, without being in a hurry. Expand
  3. AlitaA.
    Jun 17, 2002
    10
    Wooo Hooo!!!!!!!!! (I think that says it all)
  4. BasK.
    May 8, 2003
    10
    Now this is more like it!
  5. J
    May 9, 2005
    10
    This is probbaly the greatest crafted RPG you could hope for, too bad it was single player only, but Elder scrolls players are not open minded and turn down the idea. The storyline took me 3 months to figure out, and a lot of moving. It also presents you with interesting challenges like not being bale to instantly travel to every city. Items were not overpowered, and many looked awesome This is probbaly the greatest crafted RPG you could hope for, too bad it was single player only, but Elder scrolls players are not open minded and turn down the idea. The storyline took me 3 months to figure out, and a lot of moving. It also presents you with interesting challenges like not being bale to instantly travel to every city. Items were not overpowered, and many looked awesome for tis time. Morrowind is definently the rpg for the average gamer. Expand
  6. UlliL.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    In my opinion Morrowind is even better than the better-looking oblivion.
  7. TynanL.
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    This game is by far one of the best games i have ever seen the graphics are amazing, the game play is involved and it just keeps calling you back to play it over and over again.
  8. BrendanT.
    Jul 2, 2003
    10
    Im nowhere near done the game but from what I have played, It kills all other Pc Games(that I have)
  9. Caticus
    Jun 5, 2004
    9
    Brilliant... A few bugs prevent it getting a 10, but still the best!
  10. MindaugasT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    BEST GAME!!!
  11. D.1
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    The best.
  12. AlistairD.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    best game EVER. Only problem is my computer isn't quite up to full specs needed. Will have to buy new computer before oblivion comes out.
  13. AsbjørnS.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    There's not much to say. The most impressive and complex RPG that I've played, and I feel so lucky to have stumbled upon it back in 2002.
  14. SavvasV.
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    Magical. I played this game so many times and I still find it magical. What I find annoying is the creatures reapearing soon after you kill them.
  15. Samael
    Aug 12, 2008
    8
    Morrowind is a game that can sometimes be frustrating. On one hand, the lore and fluff material is deeply enveloping, the sound design amazing, and the setting brilliant. On the other hand, the graphics have not aged well, NPC's are all basically the same, and many troubling bugs require frequent quickloading or console manipulation. Boring combat and samey enemies do not help this Morrowind is a game that can sometimes be frustrating. On one hand, the lore and fluff material is deeply enveloping, the sound design amazing, and the setting brilliant. On the other hand, the graphics have not aged well, NPC's are all basically the same, and many troubling bugs require frequent quickloading or console manipulation. Boring combat and samey enemies do not help this title. But if one looks past the bugs and boredom, they'll find an extremely immersive game with a lot of interesting quriks to it. Some people claim to have put 100's of hours into this title, but frankly, after a while, the content becomes tedious and repetetive. The intricacies of the politics and religious affairs, however, make this game unmissable for any gamer who seeks a more intellectually challenging adventure, and isn't concerned about pulse-pounding combat. Expand
  16. ChrisR
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Fantastic story, amazing graphics with an astonishing range of beautifully detailed environments. Literally hundreds of hours of interesting side-quests. You can master everything with one character so there's no need to play though several times. You can literally become an invincible godlike figure and still encounter various challenges. Dwarfs virtually every other RPG i've Fantastic story, amazing graphics with an astonishing range of beautifully detailed environments. Literally hundreds of hours of interesting side-quests. You can master everything with one character so there's no need to play though several times. You can literally become an invincible godlike figure and still encounter various challenges. Dwarfs virtually every other RPG i've ever played. A truely incredible feat of game engineering. My favourite game of all time. Expand
  17. PrimeXenon
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    There's games that are criticised by intelligent people for genuine reasons, and then there's games like Morrowind that are criticised by frankly daft people with an IQ clearly lower than Ned Flanders garden hedge. The main criticism seems to be the combat - (and in-game NPC's even say this about a zillion times) to hit enemies you need a high lvl of fatigue. When you think There's games that are criticised by intelligent people for genuine reasons, and then there's games like Morrowind that are criticised by frankly daft people with an IQ clearly lower than Ned Flanders garden hedge. The main criticism seems to be the combat - (and in-game NPC's even say this about a zillion times) to hit enemies you need a high lvl of fatigue. When you think theres enemies about slow to a WALK. Is that really too taxing on your brain? Nearly every "review" I've read has criticised not being "able to hit things", I cant believe theres people still criticising the game for this a Decade after its release... It truly is pathetic. Perhaps they ought to think about bringing that Rover back? Expand
  18. JohnY
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely the best RPG I ever played. I played the console version 2 times through with different characters and the PC version once through. And STILL have NOT done every quest there is to do. It is a huge open world and the expansions add to it. There is countless replayability, and endless customization for making characters. And even still has a nice graphics engine for This game is absolutely the best RPG I ever played. I played the console version 2 times through with different characters and the PC version once through. And STILL have NOT done every quest there is to do. It is a huge open world and the expansions add to it. There is countless replayability, and endless customization for making characters. And even still has a nice graphics engine for it's time. It has a long and in depth story and really indulges you into the game world. I believe this is a must buy for any RPG fan and will not disappoint. Easily a 10 out of 10. Expand
  19. Reximal
    May 31, 2002
    10
    Outstanding...
  20. KevinM.
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    Simply outstanding. Incredible breadth of character creation and gameplay options combine with hundreds of quests and a huge, hand-crafted gameworld to deliver a game that's a winner in every way. Run, do not walk, to buy this one now.
  21. SolidusRaptors
    Jun 27, 2002
    9
    Fantastic game but, for me, just after baldur's gate II.
  22. ZéLuís
    Jul 6, 2002
    8
    An excellent not linear RPG. This is the best game of The Elder Srolls serie. Very, very good.
  23. QueijoM.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    Best RPG ever. Period.
  24. SeanW.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    A wonderful game in scope and gameplay. Tech issue there are but maybe more people should take the time to read the system req. and not just the fluff about a game.
  25. Enthasius
    Mar 1, 2003
    8
    The RPG which tries to not only break the mould, but destroy it as well. It succeeds, but unfortunatly, is victim to all of the bugs of a game where it has been made unique. It also suffer's from repetition, heavy slow down on a moderate computer, and a overly simple combat system which lets it all down. The difficulty is also a problem, as it gets too easy, too fast as soon as you The RPG which tries to not only break the mould, but destroy it as well. It succeeds, but unfortunatly, is victim to all of the bugs of a game where it has been made unique. It also suffer's from repetition, heavy slow down on a moderate computer, and a overly simple combat system which lets it all down. The difficulty is also a problem, as it gets too easy, too fast as soon as you figure out how things work. Thankfully, there are so many mods to improve on this game's short-comings, and if your good enough you can make your own modification, be it a book, all the way to a whole new story. Try it, but only if you have the time and patience to immerse yourself into the world. Expand
  26. DavidL.
    Mar 18, 2003
    10
    I spend all my time playing this game!!!
  27. Al
    Oct 31, 2004
    9
    It is my favrite RPG ever, giving you a true feel that you are in control. A few bugs but not enough to keep me from playing.
  28. TweetyT.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    The best RPG game I ever played, enough for months of playing. With plugins, such as Better Bodies it looks awesome.
  29. JB
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    A good, solid RPG with some interesting lore to uncover and a centuries' old mystery to solve. Everything about this game is good except for its balance: the only way to excel at playing this game is as a 'tank mage', and there is only one race that really does well at that, in essence only creating the illusion of choice in racial selection. (I.E. play Breton). The replay A good, solid RPG with some interesting lore to uncover and a centuries' old mystery to solve. Everything about this game is good except for its balance: the only way to excel at playing this game is as a 'tank mage', and there is only one race that really does well at that, in essence only creating the illusion of choice in racial selection. (I.E. play Breton). The replay value of this game becomes considerably less once you realize this. Still worth getting. Expand
  30. ChrisE.
    May 10, 2007
    10
    This game was not only good in warfare but the graphics where at its peak.
  31. smejki
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Since Fallout2 and Baldurs gate2 I haven't played so huge and complex game. Just great atypical story for fantasy RPG(more political than fantasy). Original skilling. Beautiful design.
    But I found that this game is completely unreplayable after you once finish it. I tried very very hard but really I just knew to much of the wolrd.
  32. ImranA
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    The best of the ES series (Better than Oblivion too, you console kids). Epic scale and wide variety of adventures to be had. It starts a little rough for people unfamiliar with open world games and the combat is less than spectacular, but these somewhat major complaints barely scratch the gem that this game is.
  33. kENNETHsWANSON
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    i AM WRITING THIS REVIEW IN OCT 2009. THIS WAS ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVEORIT GAMES.THE GRAPHICS ARE A BIT DATED BY NOW BUT THE GAMEPLAY IS STILL THE BEST.ANY CURRENT PC CAN NOW PLAY THIS GAME FLAWLESSLY AT IT HIGHEST SETTINGS.BUT I WANT TO EMPHASIZE IT IS THE GAMEPLAY AND IMMENSE SIZE AND REPLAYABILTY THAT MAKES THIS A GREAT GAME,ALSO DOES NOT HURT THAT IT CAN NOW BE AQUIRED FOR A BARGAIN PRICE
  34. Serra
    May 15, 2002
    10
    Best RPG to date...cleans up a lot of junk floating around in Daggerfall to become a very tight (but open, especially with the Construction Set) game.
  35. MarkS.
    Jul 31, 2002
    9
    Bugthesda has done it again. Great game, one of the top 5 rpg's so far, but kilotons of technical issues and picograms of support. I must say though that they had the first patch up before the shring wrap cooled, but don't try asking anyone a question.
  36. DavidW.
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    Morrowind is a fantastic RPG! I prefered it to every other game I have ever played (tomb raider, half life, doom, neverwinter, etc). The world is beautifully drawn, exciting quests, and just plain fun to wander. Be sure to check out the islands far out in the oceans!
  37. GrantH.
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    This game kicks as much butt as Jet Li.
  38. TempletonT.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    I have played this game more than any other in the history of videogames.
  39. ArandomRPGlover
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    This just has to the the best ever game in the world! Everything about it is just so brill, it is faultless in every way, a beautiful game, love it to bits! Played to death, I will soon have to buy a new copy! I can't wait to get Oblivion!
  40. RyanS.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game, one of (if not THE) best game I have ever played. Open-ended and incredibly free, the sense of character development and exploration is incredible.
  41. KrisM.
    Feb 24, 2007
    8
    Morrowind is an amazing game that you can play for 10 minutes or for 10 hours. The only problem I felt was the fighting. The swordplay was a bit boring. Another is the sense of overwhelming you get when playing this. For someone indecisive like me, it's very hard to choose what to do. But overall, it's an amazing game.
  42. Ryanb
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best games ever, i compare so many games to this, and they almost never come close to being so engaging. The joy of exploring this dense and diverse world, will leave you coming back for more, and more. While today its hard to find the graphics amazing, now that the game has been out for 7 years, they are still well done, and the concepts solid. The main weakness is the This is one of the best games ever, i compare so many games to this, and they almost never come close to being so engaging. The joy of exploring this dense and diverse world, will leave you coming back for more, and more. While today its hard to find the graphics amazing, now that the game has been out for 7 years, they are still well done, and the concepts solid. The main weakness is the combat system, which in the early levels of your character will be incredibly frustrating, but as you progress this becomes less and less of an issue. You basically miss a lot until you get some decent skills. The sheer number of items, weapons and armors has yet to be matched in a game. This game is far better then its successor oblivion. If you are into a good story, and a world filled with intriguing lore then this is the game for you. This is perhaps the only game where you pickup a book and you can actually read it, and not only can you but you want to because it further immerses you in the world. Add the huge user content community and you have hands down the best RPG to ever grace the pc. Expand
  43. KyleR
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    This game is almost perfect. I can spend countless hours playing it, learning new things about the backstory, finishing quest, or just exploring. The thing I love most, is how endless it really is. There are just so many atrifacts, little side quest, big side quests, factions, silly characters and easter eggs. The list just goes on, and on, and on. If I were someone planning on buying This game is almost perfect. I can spend countless hours playing it, learning new things about the backstory, finishing quest, or just exploring. The thing I love most, is how endless it really is. There are just so many atrifacts, little side quest, big side quests, factions, silly characters and easter eggs. The list just goes on, and on, and on. If I were someone planning on buying this game, which I am, because I sold my Xbox, I would buy the Game Of The Year Edition, and get Tribunal and Bloodmoon. Expand
  44. FranckD
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    There s no game yet, that have come to the deepness and size of Morrowind. Especially for those that don tlike to be grabbed by the hand and understand the real meaning of an adventure and understand concept of P&P Role Playing Game... Oblivion compared to Morrowind is a failure. And still today 2009 due to the awesome quantity of mods, i still play Morrowind, while Oblivion has been sold There s no game yet, that have come to the deepness and size of Morrowind. Especially for those that don tlike to be grabbed by the hand and understand the real meaning of an adventure and understand concept of P&P Role Playing Game... Oblivion compared to Morrowind is a failure. And still today 2009 due to the awesome quantity of mods, i still play Morrowind, while Oblivion has been sold after 3 weeks of weak gameplay, options and tale. I hope, but surely ain t waiting, that Oblivion V will be as grand as Morrowind. IF the company can only backtrack to its RPG heart as were Daggerfall and its predecessor i´ll be happy. Expand
  45. AdamH.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This is and will remain the best game i have ever played in my entire life. If you dont like this game you can't handle a world of possibilities and freedom, therefore you are dumb.
  46. [Anonymous]
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    This is the best game in the world. Way better than oblivion, but thats my opinion.
  47. Brandon
    Dec 16, 2008
    10
    This only game that I have replayed several times using other player classes and haven't even finished the main quest! This is because, with the numerous guilds, its ridiculous, if not impossible, to experience them properly the first time through. Bought it was it was released in 02', still playing it now in 08' with unfortunately(?) nothing to replace it. I've tried This only game that I have replayed several times using other player classes and haven't even finished the main quest! This is because, with the numerous guilds, its ridiculous, if not impossible, to experience them properly the first time through. Bought it was it was released in 02', still playing it now in 08' with unfortunately(?) nothing to replace it. I've tried the better bodies mods which actually look better than Oblivion bodies but with one caveat - you must have clothes meshes. Expand
  48. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    this game was awesome. gameplay was exceptional and i couldnt stop playing it. still plenty of places to explore and ares and things i have not even yet touched on. replayable through the years and mods to keep going at for years still lol
  49. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This is one of my top 10 games that I have played. It is one of those games that defines what you look for in other games and often makes you feel something is lacking until you go back to it.
  50. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    10 for the time.

    Can we really review the classics from our standing? In this game's period it made the absolute best of the time, the best of the engine, the best of the origin (the setting was originally a notD&D campaign! lol) and managed to make something crazy, neat and dense. Yeah it took a lot of drugs and alcohol to hammer out the lore and setting, but if you read the
    10 for the time.

    Can we really review the classics from our standing?

    In this game's period it made the absolute best of the time, the best of the engine, the best of the origin (the setting was originally a notD&D campaign! lol) and managed to make something crazy, neat and dense.

    Yeah it took a lot of drugs and alcohol to hammer out the lore and setting, but if you read the books, if you follow the hints, you will realize that the game wants to be more; literally in game, it can be found that the game acknowledges itself as a game on a CD. This is lore friendly. This is canon

    If you can balance the line between unforgiving engine, creator-ego, spiderweb multi-layer hidden-layer secret code lore, then you can really get this game.

    You can lose, and lose, and really lose and still win here. I figured some of this out before there was a real internet.

    He was not born a god. He chose this path of his own free will.

    ALMSIVI
    Expand
  51. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the best games of all time in my personal list. I still play it every now and then out of pure nostalgia. I can't even begin to imagine how many hours I've poured into this!
  52. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    It's a sad day when you realize that we will never see a game like this again. Oblivion and Skyrim have dumbed down the games RPG and combat elemets to "click on the quest marker" exploring and "popamole" combat. Morrowind itself is not the deepest, it's an action RPG after all, but the scope of what you can do, who you can interact with, choices with CONSEQUENCES, real value and pride inIt's a sad day when you realize that we will never see a game like this again. Oblivion and Skyrim have dumbed down the games RPG and combat elemets to "click on the quest marker" exploring and "popamole" combat. Morrowind itself is not the deepest, it's an action RPG after all, but the scope of what you can do, who you can interact with, choices with CONSEQUENCES, real value and pride in the items you find rather than every random mob wearing lootable Daedric Armour like in Oblivion (why? how dis that make any sense?). If you can get over the graphics then MW is still the best single player action RPG on the PC (or anywhere else for that matter) and like I sad at the top we will not see a game like this again....ever of that I'm certain. Expand
  53. Aug 19, 2016
    8
    This game would easily be 10 out of 10. I've played RPG's since the mid 80's on PC and recently fired up Morrowind Overhaul (the best way to play the game) and it still suffers from clunky combat, slow movement and semi-lifeless environments. The same feelings I had about the game when it was released ages ago. Somewhat overrated IMO, its still a great RPG to lose yourself in for hundredsThis game would easily be 10 out of 10. I've played RPG's since the mid 80's on PC and recently fired up Morrowind Overhaul (the best way to play the game) and it still suffers from clunky combat, slow movement and semi-lifeless environments. The same feelings I had about the game when it was released ages ago. Somewhat overrated IMO, its still a great RPG to lose yourself in for hundreds of hours just don't expect it to have aged very well even with the improvements. Expand
  54. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    Morrowind is for passionate gamers who like the idea of deep role play. If you were to feel proud when you have served a faction or ordinary citizen, confronted and destroyed evil deities, uncovered conspiracies in religions, like the idea of fantasy politics, and more, get this game if you are a storyline centered person. If your first experience was with Oblivion and now you feel as ifMorrowind is for passionate gamers who like the idea of deep role play. If you were to feel proud when you have served a faction or ordinary citizen, confronted and destroyed evil deities, uncovered conspiracies in religions, like the idea of fantasy politics, and more, get this game if you are a storyline centered person. If your first experience was with Oblivion and now you feel as if you have run out of things to do, get Morrowind. Expand
  55. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    Alright, this game is old and was my first "real" game when I played it back on the xbox. However, get it for PC because thats where it shines. You need mods for this thing now and its what makes the game unique. The Elder Scrolls games are brilliant.

    I've got this game installed now and there are still mods being made for it. I recommend checking TesNexus for mods, the obvious
    Alright, this game is old and was my first "real" game when I played it back on the xbox. However, get it for PC because thats where it shines. You need mods for this thing now and its what makes the game unique. The Elder Scrolls games are brilliant.

    I've got this game installed now and there are still mods being made for it. I recommend checking TesNexus for mods, the obvious requirements are a few graphics mods (try Qarl's if you can run it, it will make the game look near modern) and a combat mod (the combat was outdated...). If you can get past those nicks, you get into a very deep world where you can be whatever you want to be. I can't recommend this highly enough. It's also got a very nice nostalgia factor. You can get it for pc with the expansions for 20 bucks tops. The fact that its still be offered in stores is a testament to its longevity and underscores a brilliant game. Morrowind has been hailed as one of the best PC games ever made for its open ended approach and great story and environment. Grab it, some mods, a bottle of sujamma, and say goodbye to your friends for a while.
    Expand
  56. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this classic First Person RPG. This game is beyond epic. Any serious RPG fan must play this. Oblivion may have better graphics but Morrowind has true heart and soul. It's just a must-play! So buy this, download mods, then play for 100+ hours. This game deserves a Metacritic score of around 95; it's that good.
  57. May 29, 2012
    9
    I can, honestly, say there is only one bad thing about this game, and at this point it is easily overlooked due to a couple mods that can fix this. In all reality it is my second favorite game of all time.

    If you like oldschool rpgs, a very large world, tons of things to do, all quest lines give you only moderate direction of where to go forcing you to have to hunt, and an overall
    I can, honestly, say there is only one bad thing about this game, and at this point it is easily overlooked due to a couple mods that can fix this. In all reality it is my second favorite game of all time.

    If you like oldschool rpgs, a very large world, tons of things to do, all quest lines give you only moderate direction of where to go forcing you to have to hunt, and an overall challenge, then pick this up.

    While it is true the hit and miss system is a pain there are so many easy ways around this if you know how, if not look it up. Here is a hint, "master trainers."

    The only thing I can say about this game, and its the reason I must give it a 9 out of 10 instead of a perfect score, is that on release the graphics were not even close to dos related 3d graphics. The whole character models look terrible even by standards set 6 to 10 years before the game came out. This alone is the reason it got knocked down one point.

    Again the only issue can be resolved by mods at this point in time, the better bodies mod, better heads (discontinued but still able to be found) and morrowind enhanced (type mods) actually can make this game look graphically appealing and honestly, lets just say this, I have wasted so much time on this game and I still have not completed everything there is to do, I always find something new and I have played for ages.

    The modding community is, quite possibly, larger than oblivion and skyrim combined but this is to be expected. It is now 20 dollars on steam but I can say it is worth a lot more.

    Just be careful, if you like to be hand fed everything, please go play a bad game now and don't waste your time trying to rate this poorly or play this game, you wont look intelligent.

    Overall playtime for real gamers is expected to be around 1260 hours, give or take.
    Expand
  58. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is still the best elder scrolls game, even after skyrim, how can I word this any other way? I cant put this game into words, thats how cool it is. PS : This game does not have COD AIDS (cod aids is an infection in the video game industry that makes the entire game about shooting anything that moves and ducking behind explosive barrels to magically heal, IN OTHER WORDS, ITS NOT AThis is still the best elder scrolls game, even after skyrim, how can I word this any other way? I cant put this game into words, thats how cool it is. PS : This game does not have COD AIDS (cod aids is an infection in the video game industry that makes the entire game about shooting anything that moves and ducking behind explosive barrels to magically heal, IN OTHER WORDS, ITS NOT A MAINSTREAM FPS, ALL THE PEOPLE VOTING THIS DOWN WANT A MAINSTREAM FPS) Expand
  59. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    Morrowind is one of best open world RPGs, maybe skyrim will be better but I do not know right now. As usual for a elder scroll title, the main story line is non-existence. But this game does give you extensive choices to customize your character. your character may pursue every skill in the game regardless of class and can learn a large number of spells and may even design his/her own. youMorrowind is one of best open world RPGs, maybe skyrim will be better but I do not know right now. As usual for a elder scroll title, the main story line is non-existence. But this game does give you extensive choices to customize your character. your character may pursue every skill in the game regardless of class and can learn a large number of spells and may even design his/her own. you may play your character as a good or evil character depending on your choices. The exploration in this game has lots of rewards. you most likely will find some unique items after some very tough situations. The faction setting in this game is fun too, you can establish relations with them to get benefits. Expand
  60. May 17, 2011
    10
    A true classic of legendary proportions. Brilliant game made even better by tons of modding community support.

    A much loved classic which always brings back good memories of actually having something fun to do on Sundays. *and just about every other chance I got.
  61. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    (9)
    Great game. I have played Morrowind hundreds of hours and I haven't bored yet.. Vast world is very captivating but I have to give Morrowind 9/10 because of the numerous glitches and several crashes.
  62. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    A fabulous, unique, imaginative and very immersive world to explore which will intrigue you all the way. Concern yourself with the politics of the gods or find a peasant's lost trinket, or maybe just do a million things in between, the scope of this game is staggering. The architecture, the landscape, the inhabitants, it's all believable. So believable that armour made out of glass seemsA fabulous, unique, imaginative and very immersive world to explore which will intrigue you all the way. Concern yourself with the politics of the gods or find a peasant's lost trinket, or maybe just do a million things in between, the scope of this game is staggering. The architecture, the landscape, the inhabitants, it's all believable. So believable that armour made out of glass seems completely natural as does travelling about on the back of a giant flea type creature. Far far better than Oblivion and the only thing preventing a '10' is the end game which I felt was hugely anticlimactic ,and a final boss whose appearance reminded me of a humorous children's tv character from long ago. Also, high level characters tend to turn out very similar to each other no matter how you started them. But enough criticism - A groundbreaking game in many ways and still worthy of anyone's time even now. Surely you've tried this game at least once already? Expand
  63. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Fantastic. Best Action-RPG I've ever played. Story was intricate and there was seemingly no limit to where you could explore. The variety of weapons is nice. I played this game long before oblivion, and I'm disappointed to see that oblivion didn't have spears or throwing weapons.
  64. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    I bought Morrowind in 2003. I played it for about a year. My then-girlfriend's computer went the way of all things and all my significant progress was lost. Then, last year, I re-installed the game and got lost in Vvardenfell once more. The graphics are old and dated now, but when first released, it looked fantastic. The environments are rich and varied. The characters are -- mostlyI bought Morrowind in 2003. I played it for about a year. My then-girlfriend's computer went the way of all things and all my significant progress was lost. Then, last year, I re-installed the game and got lost in Vvardenfell once more. The graphics are old and dated now, but when first released, it looked fantastic. The environments are rich and varied. The characters are -- mostly -- well written and there are flashes of quirky humour (at one point, I was accompanied by a near-naked barbarian whose clothes had been stolen by a "witch." After the initial conversation, initiating dialogue produced the response, "Chilly today, isn't it?"). There are so many paths and alliegances to choose from in the game that no gamer will have the same experience as another. Magic and crafting feel genuine and personal: there is the opportunity to create spells with several different effects, with whatever name you choose. Ditto potions. Ditto magical weapons. Even the clothes and armour options are interestingly individualised: you can wear clothes under your armour, and a robe over the top, if you're so inclined. How many other games offer that level of character customisation? Levelling up makes sense: skills improve the more you use them, rather than experience points being arbitrarily assigned for finishing quests or killing enemies. Morrowind is, without question, the most immersive game I've played. It's not perfect: combat is frustrating, because blocking is taken entirely out of the hands of the player. There are a few bugs, but a devoted modding community has fixed a good deal of them. The down-sides are few compared to the positives. I played Oblivion and I enjoyed it. But I didn't love it. Not like Morrowind. Expand
  65. May 1, 2011
    9
    This is the game that defined what the free-roaming Action RPG genre would be for the future. With over 500+ hours of gameplay, tons of lore and back story, and uncountable captivating quest lines, you truly feel like you were a force to be reckoned with. The elephants in the room, though, are the combat system and the plethora of glitches that would send you crashing to the desktop.This is the game that defined what the free-roaming Action RPG genre would be for the future. With over 500+ hours of gameplay, tons of lore and back story, and uncountable captivating quest lines, you truly feel like you were a force to be reckoned with. The elephants in the room, though, are the combat system and the plethora of glitches that would send you crashing to the desktop. Leveling is almost a chore, as casting spells or jumping up and down for hours is sometimes the only way to advance a skill. The glitches are a real problem, as well, especially if you just complete that super-hard quest just to crash and burn. Despite these setbacks, though, Morrowind is a classic of the action RPG genre, and should be played by everyone who loved Oblivion or Fallout 3. This is where it all began, and this is where story and scale were appropriate to this type of game! Expand
  66. Feb 17, 2012
    8
    Morrowind was my first elder scrolls game. It was the first time I was truly immersed in a game world. Do I let nostalgia dictate everything? No. While morrowind is still an incredible masterpiece of a game that I have invested hundreds and hundreds of hours in. I have actually enjoyed and apprciated each elder scrolls game more than the next. I know.. This is not the popular opinion amongMorrowind was my first elder scrolls game. It was the first time I was truly immersed in a game world. Do I let nostalgia dictate everything? No. While morrowind is still an incredible masterpiece of a game that I have invested hundreds and hundreds of hours in. I have actually enjoyed and apprciated each elder scrolls game more than the next. I know.. This is not the popular opinion among morrowind fans of which I am among. However it's the truth. Morrowind (naturally) has hundreds and even thousands of features which have aged poorly. And while it's world is the most inspired in many ways - It's still an open world rpg with everything that implies - gameplay, sound, combat, depth, and systems of immersion. There are a lot of things morrowind still does in a way i WISH latter elder scrolls games did. However when I play morrowind, it's just not the 10/10 "best game I have ever played" that it once was. And I refuse to let nostalgia say otherwise. I still return to morrowind every now and then, and love it to bits. Expand
  67. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Morrowind is such a strange, backwards experience. Most games start out flashy, and then after a while you realize how boring it really is. Morrowind is sort of the opposite. You start in the ugliest, dingiest town in the game, and it builds its way up from there. You don't really know what you're supposed to be doing when you start out--the main quest isn't even really revealed tilMorrowind is such a strange, backwards experience. Most games start out flashy, and then after a while you realize how boring it really is. Morrowind is sort of the opposite. You start in the ugliest, dingiest town in the game, and it builds its way up from there. You don't really know what you're supposed to be doing when you start out--the main quest isn't even really revealed til later--so the game motivates you to try different things and go exploring. But boy when that main quest line starts revealing itself, it is one epic tale, and it would have made as great a novel as it does a game. The sheer attention to detail in this is mind-blowing. Every area of the game feels hand-crafted, with hidden areas to explore; items, weapons and armor to collect; all sorts of enemies to test your power against; a story full of religion, politics, and conflict; and an extremely complex and rich society. It doesn't hurt that you can explore every region of the map at any point (you just might not live through the encounters you face) and uncover some very strange and exotic locales. And on that note, it's hard to have strong diversity in a game and still keep it feeling like a uniform and unique region all on its own. Once again this game succeeds, with desolation, swamp, coastline, open pastures and the like. The only criticism I have for this game is the combat. I personally do not mind the by-the-numbers real-time combat, where a low skill means you might miss, but I think transitions between melee/ranged and magic could have been better. I also would have appreciated a reason not to simply click the "best attack" button on options, and in this respect I think Daggerfall had better combat. Overall however, Morrowind is classic. Anybody who has the patience for reading a great novel would love this game, as it winds up being a game of epic proportions. Expand
  68. May 7, 2011
    9
    Truly impressive. The game is dated, but features some elements that Oblivion lacks. And while Oblivion gives a few of those moral choices quests, Morrowind really features them like you'd expect. The world feels so real and authentic With some of the patches and mods available, the game can look more like you'd hope for this day and age. Some things like lockpicking and fistfighting areTruly impressive. The game is dated, but features some elements that Oblivion lacks. And while Oblivion gives a few of those moral choices quests, Morrowind really features them like you'd expect. The world feels so real and authentic With some of the patches and mods available, the game can look more like you'd hope for this day and age. Some things like lockpicking and fistfighting are unbalanced and lack compared to Oblivion, but both games are truly great. If they could be combined with the best features of both, we would have RPG perfection. Expand
  69. May 20, 2011
    10
    Probably the best, or one of the best games I played in my life. I was lost to the world for 2 or 3 weeks when playing Morrowind. Ooops, sorry - not playing. I was LIVING in there for these 2 weeks... Huge area to visit (I totally LOVE to tour nice game worlds), filled with creatures living their own lives and stories, filled with both farms, houses, regular villages, as well as mysteriousProbably the best, or one of the best games I played in my life. I was lost to the world for 2 or 3 weeks when playing Morrowind. Ooops, sorry - not playing. I was LIVING in there for these 2 weeks... Huge area to visit (I totally LOVE to tour nice game worlds), filled with creatures living their own lives and stories, filled with both farms, houses, regular villages, as well as mysterious ruins, caves, crazy buildings. I also live the background of this world - history, races, religion, etc. Every cRPG fan (and I think also every RPG fan ;) ) that has 2 or 3 weeks of free time should play this game. Expand
  70. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    this is the best game I've ever played. I guess modern gamers don't like it because the combat system is bad, also they want lots of action and don't want to wait very long in order to get a character that cannot miss enemies. for me the story is interesting and rich. the feeling and the adventure are best parts of this game.

    you should find help in the unofficial elder scrolls pages
    this is the best game I've ever played. I guess modern gamers don't like it because the combat system is bad, also they want lots of action and don't want to wait very long in order to get a character that cannot miss enemies. for me the story is interesting and rich. the feeling and the adventure are best parts of this game.

    you should find help in the unofficial elder scrolls pages website if you need help with this game
    Expand
  71. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This game is really amazing. There is a lot you can explore.I do have to note somehow, that the landscapes can sometimes be quite boring, If you're into free-roaming.There were points in the game where you did one thing wrong, but you don't get to know about that until you get to hear a person talk about it, basically forcing you to open another save game from a time before, or failing theThis game is really amazing. There is a lot you can explore.I do have to note somehow, that the landscapes can sometimes be quite boring, If you're into free-roaming.There were points in the game where you did one thing wrong, but you don't get to know about that until you get to hear a person talk about it, basically forcing you to open another save game from a time before, or failing the main quest.There is a lot of interaction though, with all kinds things. Expand
  72. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Morrowind is one of the best RPG games on PC. Ever. The game is incredibly immersive. Without fast travel the game forces you to explore, in a good way. Combat is hard and challenging, perfect for old-school players. The lands of Morrowind are huge and art design does not fail, but provides beautiful scenery. Graphics are outdated but when the game was new it had one of the best engines onMorrowind is one of the best RPG games on PC. Ever. The game is incredibly immersive. Without fast travel the game forces you to explore, in a good way. Combat is hard and challenging, perfect for old-school players. The lands of Morrowind are huge and art design does not fail, but provides beautiful scenery. Graphics are outdated but when the game was new it had one of the best engines on the market. Must buy for hardcore RPG players. Expand
  73. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    I'm writing this review 10 years after the fact and I'm putting things in context for the time the game came out. This game opened my eyes to a different kind of RPG experience. This game is amazing in the aspect of being a great open RPG with an extreme amount of depth to it, the only negative on this game may also be one of its positive qualities as well, it doesn't hold your hand orI'm writing this review 10 years after the fact and I'm putting things in context for the time the game came out. This game opened my eyes to a different kind of RPG experience. This game is amazing in the aspect of being a great open RPG with an extreme amount of depth to it, the only negative on this game may also be one of its positive qualities as well, it doesn't hold your hand or explain things to the letter, it lets you figure things out on your own, sometimes the hard way. All in all Morrowind is not perfect but definitely a legendary RPG. Expand
  74. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Open-world exploration on an island of giant mushrooms and Dark Elves. Huge amounts to do in a fabulously realised, alien world. Intriguing main quest, so long as you can imagine the characters' voices for yourself -- because there's precious little of that. The combat system is utterly knackered, but luckily almost everything is easy to kill once you've got past about level 5. ItOpen-world exploration on an island of giant mushrooms and Dark Elves. Huge amounts to do in a fabulously realised, alien world. Intriguing main quest, so long as you can imagine the characters' voices for yourself -- because there's precious little of that. The combat system is utterly knackered, but luckily almost everything is easy to kill once you've got past about level 5. It really doesn't seem to matter. Expand
  75. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    I have to be honest here this game from what i can barely remember( High Times) was just awesome it sucked you right in best Action RPG of its time huge World, Great mechanics, Story that you could follow or disregard and wreak havoc on anything that moves.
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Morrowind has a couple of features that make it stand out above any other RPG I have played. First the story is intertwined with history as set out in books and quests and is just like reading human history. There are different accounts, different opinions, ambiguous reports. The picture you build up is incomplete and often makes you revise your judgements about which historical charactersMorrowind has a couple of features that make it stand out above any other RPG I have played. First the story is intertwined with history as set out in books and quests and is just like reading human history. There are different accounts, different opinions, ambiguous reports. The picture you build up is incomplete and often makes you revise your judgements about which historical characters are good and which are evil. Eventually you realize that just as in real life, there is often no clear boundary. Second, the game world is so convincing and lifelike, it draws you in until you feel like you have actually been there and witnessed the events. All RPGs try to do this but Morrowind (and Oblivion) do it better because the physics is better. Most games impose limits on what a character can do e.g. there is an object, therefore you cannot go there. In Morrowind, you can move anything if it is light enough and not fastened, jump on anything if your jumping skill is good enough, climb any terrain if your you have the capability. You have to try this. It is very realistic, and fun. Expand
  77. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    When I first played Morrowind, I knew I had something special. The unique setting, massive world, diverse quests, skills, epic music, storyline and moddability turned me on to the Elder Scrolls series. Even in 2012 it's still worth a look, and does certain things better than the later games. The only complaints I can really level at Morrowind are that the quest directions are sometimesWhen I first played Morrowind, I knew I had something special. The unique setting, massive world, diverse quests, skills, epic music, storyline and moddability turned me on to the Elder Scrolls series. Even in 2012 it's still worth a look, and does certain things better than the later games. The only complaints I can really level at Morrowind are that the quest directions are sometimes vague (the infamous Balmora fighter's guild quest comes to mind) and dice-based combat in an FPS/RPG is a little wonky. Anyway, if you haven't played this yet, go and pick it up right away. Expand
  78. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I loved Oblivion until I played Morrowind. Now I can't help but think what Oblivion could have been. Absolute masterpiece.
  79. Nov 22, 2015
    9
    Again, one of those games that revolutionized my Game awareness :) i was not ready man, i was not ready for such scale and for such involving depth. It was overwhelming at first, but once i got used to it - there was no turning back, man :))
    A superbly magnificent example of not only the RPG genre, but an epitome of what a dedicated game design can accomplish.
    Are there titles out there
    Again, one of those games that revolutionized my Game awareness :) i was not ready man, i was not ready for such scale and for such involving depth. It was overwhelming at first, but once i got used to it - there was no turning back, man :))
    A superbly magnificent example of not only the RPG genre, but an epitome of what a dedicated game design can accomplish.
    Are there titles out there today that can compare with such humble nobility as Morrowind?
    Expand
  80. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Say The Elder Scrolls to any serious RPG fan and he'll know what you mean! Morrowind! It's a vast game filled with 100's of dungeons to explore and having over 100 hours+ gameplay! The game is ridiculously long and the two DLC's, Tribunal and Bloodmoon add 80 hours+ each! It is a fantasy game that revolutionized RPG games and will never be forgotten! It immerses you like no other game everSay The Elder Scrolls to any serious RPG fan and he'll know what you mean! Morrowind! It's a vast game filled with 100's of dungeons to explore and having over 100 hours+ gameplay! The game is ridiculously long and the two DLC's, Tribunal and Bloodmoon add 80 hours+ each! It is a fantasy game that revolutionized RPG games and will never be forgotten! It immerses you like no other game ever could surprisingly fits into a 1 gigabyte download on Steam which adds to the awesome! The soundtrack fits the mood and what more can I say! It' almost perfect! Yes... Almost! When you first start the game combat is almost impossible to use as your character started off a noob (as he should) but your attack chance was so lo that even if your weapon hit your enemy it would probably still count as a miss and leveling up is a pain too as it takes so long! Expand
  81. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    My favourite game of all time. It took me a while to get into it, because it is so confusing at first, but well worth it. I enjoyed being part of the guilds much more than in Oblivion and Skyrim because: foremost that you had to be a certain skill level to rise the ranks, secondly that it had ranks at all (Skyrim), and thirdly because of the long time you spent with the guild made you moreMy favourite game of all time. It took me a while to get into it, because it is so confusing at first, but well worth it. I enjoyed being part of the guilds much more than in Oblivion and Skyrim because: foremost that you had to be a certain skill level to rise the ranks, secondly that it had ranks at all (Skyrim), and thirdly because of the long time you spent with the guild made you more loyal to them, and your guildmates. Expand
  82. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    What makes Morrowind so brilliant? It's very hard to define what makes this game stand out for many people; often it's something which needs to be experienced rather than explained. The actual mechanics of this game are actually quite bad; the combat is so abysmal that you'll be tempted to cheat just to avoid slogging though it and the controls feel clunky and difficult. So if you wantWhat makes Morrowind so brilliant? It's very hard to define what makes this game stand out for many people; often it's something which needs to be experienced rather than explained. The actual mechanics of this game are actually quite bad; the combat is so abysmal that you'll be tempted to cheat just to avoid slogging though it and the controls feel clunky and difficult. So if you want good combat and tight mechanics then Morrowind isn't for you. But let's actually move onto positive thoughts. You start the game as an unknown prisoner being transported to the mysterious island of Vvardenfell: upon your arrival you are slowly introduced to the different mechanics and pick each aspect of your character (name, race, class) before you're given the simple task of delivering a letter to a certain individual a few miles down the road. That's it. That's the entire opening sequence that introduces you to this strange world. The main quest, like may parts of the game, is like a jigsaw puzzle; at first obscure, all the different pieces come together to reveal the bigger picture. Even the simplest of quests have a hand-crafted feel to them, making each and every one special in their own way. The design of the world is fantastical; one moment you might be wandering through a washed-up village and then find yourself in a forest of giant mushrooms with surreal 'cattle' roaming the fields. It's hard to describe here why all this is significant; the subtleties are what made Morrowind so special. Neither the technology nor the graphics are what define this game; it's that sense of being a small part of a big world, being in a land like no other, doing more than just grinding a set of numbers and stats. Everything feels unique and that feeling of awe as you wonder what lies beyond this village is what draws you in. This is something the later games (particularly Oblivion) didn't quite get; setting defines the story. It's not about how advanced the graphics are whether there are spears or stats in the game; it's about the world. How does it look? How does it feel? What part are we to play in it? This Bethesda, is why we play these games: we want to enter this alien, conflicting land and more importantly, become a part of it. Expand
  83. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game after all these years. The depth of the game and lore are astounding. The open world holds hundreds of hours worth of entertainment and even more can be added with the mods from the still-active community. This is the sandbox game that all other open world rpgs should aspire to be.
  84. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    Still the standard. Sadly marred these days by a slightly poor control system and wads and wads of text but still one of the best computer RPGs ever made.
  85. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    One of the best classic role-playing games to date. There is so much to do and explore; you may die a lot but you’ll learn a ton throughout your enormous adventure. You’ll barely be able to kill a rat, but you'll feel powerful once you find that magical weapon or skill which puts you at uncanny odds against your enemies. You'll feel lonely at times until you find a naked barbarian lookingOne of the best classic role-playing games to date. There is so much to do and explore; you may die a lot but you’ll learn a ton throughout your enormous adventure. You’ll barely be able to kill a rat, but you'll feel powerful once you find that magical weapon or skill which puts you at uncanny odds against your enemies. You'll feel lonely at times until you find a naked barbarian looking for his magical Axe.

    Morrowind may not be for everyone, it is an entirely different beast from other mammoths in the franchise such as TES IV: Oblivion and TES V: Skyrim but being different doesn't mean the game is bad in any way. Mechanics work differently, you'll have to use your wit to overcome challenging situations. Some mechanics may seem broken at first, but there are often techniques which you must master in order to get anywhere which is part of solving the wondrous mystery which is Morrowind. It’s not a mindless RPG like many modern games, it’s a true RPG, one which you’ll remember for a very long time.

    An adventure huge in scale; it may not be perfect (what game is), the adventures you will go on and mysteries you will solve will leave you in awe if you can overcome some of the technical limitations Morrowind has to date. Do not be put off though if you are looking for an alien yet timeless journey which you can stick your teeth into for hundreds of countless hours! To top it off, this is coming from somebody who hated Morrowind to begin with. Don’t give up, take your time and most of all enjoy yourself, you’ll overcome many of the problem’s you encounter.
    Expand
  86. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Thank you Bethesda!
  87. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    What the people don't understand who are writing bad comments about this game is that the game was designed that way, the hit and miss combat style was a common combat style for games in 2002 and the glitches, its hard to patch a game WITH NO ONLINE its not like its connected to steam, and this game didnt have voice actors so if its SO HARD to read thats your problem, go to school kids, IWhat the people don't understand who are writing bad comments about this game is that the game was designed that way, the hit and miss combat style was a common combat style for games in 2002 and the glitches, its hard to patch a game WITH NO ONLINE its not like its connected to steam, and this game didnt have voice actors so if its SO HARD to read thats your problem, go to school kids, I personally find this game to actually be a challenge unlike the casual scrub game SKYRIM with its **** 4 hour story line that has the EASIEST boss fight I'VE EVER, so with that I conclude all negative reviews are scrub kids! Expand
  88. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Damn this game!! This was my original video game heroin. Before I played this game I only played video games very rarely, like during a long vacation. But this game gave me a glimpse of what a video game can be when it's at it's best. Ever since I seem to always be on a search to find games that allow me to sink into the world within the game so deeply. There's only be a few games since IDamn this game!! This was my original video game heroin. Before I played this game I only played video games very rarely, like during a long vacation. But this game gave me a glimpse of what a video game can be when it's at it's best. Ever since I seem to always be on a search to find games that allow me to sink into the world within the game so deeply. There's only be a few games since I played this one a few years back that have captured me so fully. Deus Ex, Gothic 1&2, Mass Effect 1&2 are probably the only other games I've played that would be anywhere near as good as this one. And yes, I like Morrowind a lot more than Oblivion. Oblivion was good, maybe even deserving of a 10 rating also, but the story in this one is much more interesting, and my desire to explore the nooks and crannies of the universe were much greater in this game. I don't know how many hours I spent on this game, but I do remember taking a day or two off from work just so that I could play this game. There's never been another game that has made me quite so lazy. Damn this game! Expand
  89. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    Morrowind is probably the best RPG I've ever played. It's truly free-roaming with almost no bounds. The game play is addicting. The drawback is the ridiculous amount of walking around, trying to reach places without fast-travel. Plus many of the towns and regions are pointless or repetitive, limiting the seemingly free-roam feel.
  90. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    An amazing game which beats oblivion in every aspect except for graphics. If only games were made like this these days. Once again the only problem that the game has is its graphics.
  91. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start with the good. This game is amazing. It will grab you and pull you in like no other RPG. However, there are some bugs that make it fall short of being perfect.
    The Thieve's Guild is interesting. It is similar to the Thieve's Guild questline in Skyrim with the Nightingales. In my opinion it is actually better than Skyrim's Thieve's Guild thanks to its Robin Hood-ish feel, much like Oblivion.
    The Fighter's Guild is pretty standard, not much to see there.
    The Mage's Guild is pretty boring, but it gets kinda funny thanks to its... enigmatic leader.
    This game rewards exploration with unique artifacts, cool dungeons, and interesting quests. One of the most interesting quests you'll find early on is a finding a Nord in his underwear standing on the side of the road, who asks you to find a witch who stole his stuff.
    The best parts of this game, by far, are its people and its main quest. The main quest in this game is the best one I've ever played in an Elder Scrolls game. It is similar to Skyrim's Dovahkiin, but the difference is that in Morrowind, you get to become the Nerevarine. You don't just get born as it. You earn it through trial after trial, gaining the respect of the three political parties, or "houses", and the Ashlander tribes, the native Dunmer. You go and get important artifacts, which you use to destroy the source of the main villain's power, as well as the power of the so-called "gods" that are worshiped by the Tribunal Temple. There are so many forces at work, trying to sway you to join their side. The best part about the main quest is that each mission really has a purpose to help your cause.
    Overall, Morrowind is my favorite of the Elder Scrolls games, followed by Skyrim, with Oblivion in last.
    Expand
  92. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece, truly. I played many games and many RPG. But it is really hard to find a game, in which you actually want to return to. Now, even RPG started to be simple. Just another game to entertain you for a dozen of hours. Meh. Morrowind offer you a world so deep, that you can drown in it. There was a lot of games after Morrowind. It all better looking (Morrowind was released in 2001,A masterpiece, truly. I played many games and many RPG. But it is really hard to find a game, in which you actually want to return to. Now, even RPG started to be simple. Just another game to entertain you for a dozen of hours. Meh. Morrowind offer you a world so deep, that you can drown in it. There was a lot of games after Morrowind. It all better looking (Morrowind was released in 2001, many people forgetting it). Some of them quite interesting. But here I am again, making my way through Ashlands, keeping my eye on this cliff racers or trying to sell a stolen silver vase to a Breton trader in Peligiad... Its a nostalgia, that making players to start this game over and over again. To dive in a world of fading beauty, immerse landscapes, loneliness and adventures, waiting for you to make few steps toward it.
    Is it boring? Well, yes. If you used to hack and slash games, that pretending to be RPG, and waiting for game to spit a world right into your face, this one is not for you.
    Try to understand, that Morrowind truly offer you a different world. Explore it. Live in it. And you will be rewarded with one of the best RPG of generation.
    P.S. Than, if you want to try something new - try Tamriel Rebuilt (or other mods). Or create your own mod for Morrowind with TES Construction Set)
    Expand
  93. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Hands down, the best open-world RPG to date. A huge world with many hidden secrets to explore. The side quests can keep you entertained for hours, and there are several factions that you can join and rise through the ranks. You have absolute freedom in building your character and progressing through the game. It's possible to put in hundreds of hours of gameplay without even touching theHands down, the best open-world RPG to date. A huge world with many hidden secrets to explore. The side quests can keep you entertained for hours, and there are several factions that you can join and rise through the ranks. You have absolute freedom in building your character and progressing through the game. It's possible to put in hundreds of hours of gameplay without even touching the main quest line. There are mods that make the game even better. Definitely superior to Oblivion; can't say anything about Skyrim, as I haven't played it yet. Expand
  94. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    I have about 40 hours into this game, and here's what I can say: The game is filled with lore, beauty, HUGE towns with so much lore and interesting characters and places to go. Dungeons are great. The only thing that throws me off about this game is the combat.... I just can't play it as badly as I would love to... It totally ruins the game for me. If only there were a combat mod to makeI have about 40 hours into this game, and here's what I can say: The game is filled with lore, beauty, HUGE towns with so much lore and interesting characters and places to go. Dungeons are great. The only thing that throws me off about this game is the combat.... I just can't play it as badly as I would love to... It totally ruins the game for me. If only there were a combat mod to make it similar to Obliv/Skyrims.... Expand
  95. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I loved this game. As older game in modern gaming society, it seems really tedious and boring. But as a more classic RPG, this game is the best. What I like most about it is not so much the combat, but the imagination, history, and freedom put into it. Plus when you've played it a million-something times (like i have) you can just download a mod/ quest pack, and the game becomes new again!I loved this game. As older game in modern gaming society, it seems really tedious and boring. But as a more classic RPG, this game is the best. What I like most about it is not so much the combat, but the imagination, history, and freedom put into it. Plus when you've played it a million-something times (like i have) you can just download a mod/ quest pack, and the game becomes new again! Personally, i rate all other RPG's against this game. Expand
  96. May 4, 2012
    10
    I signed up just to post a review after seeing the complaints of some people, Morrowind's charm is not the same charm oblivion, or skyrim has exactly, the combat is indeed flawed, though normal for the time, people are comparing a 2001 game with 2011 Skyrim. But the real strength of Morrowind is the world, I truly believe the devs went balance be damned, lets make a world.

    From the very
    I signed up just to post a review after seeing the complaints of some people, Morrowind's charm is not the same charm oblivion, or skyrim has exactly, the combat is indeed flawed, though normal for the time, people are comparing a 2001 game with 2011 Skyrim. But the real strength of Morrowind is the world, I truly believe the devs went balance be damned, lets make a world.

    From the very start you can find very powerful items just by chance, or you can go though the entire town and rob everything in sight, turn around and buy gear. In Oblivion rare items were tied to your level so not to be unbalancing, and everything had a "Reasonable price" but in morrowind if you are smart enough, and quick enough, while exploring a random cave, find a very powerful artifact, worth more then every merchant in the game owns. Balanced? Probably not, but that sort of incentive to explore every cave, collect every artifact, makes this game truly a gem. In the two following games, the reason to explore is just simply gone, As artifacts are really not worth the effort made to obtain them, Nor are they hidden away.
    Expand
  97. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    It's my favorite game of all time, despite its drawbacks. Open, diverse and climatic world, full of mysterious places wants to be discovered. Also the music is awesome.
  98. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just do not understand those people who do not like the Elder Scrolls series and the third part of this magnificent epic Morrowind in particular.Ð Expand
  99. May 15, 2012
    10
    My first 10, really one of the best games Ive played. Was disappointed with Oblivion and Skyrim, but they had tough shoes to fill...
    My only complaint is the **** cliff racers!
  100. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    AMAZING GAME! Great story, Bloodmoon and Tribunal were excellent expansions. A huge open world, many unique factions to join. Still, was a little bugged that I couldn't join House Dagoth and rule as a God-King without a mod.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. One of those games that just visually takes your breath away. It has some of the most detailed, and well realistically rendered environments and characters ever seen in a computer game.
  2. The Elder Scrolls tech support forum is overflowing with user complaints about compatibility issues. At any rate, this is still the biggest, deepest, most detailed RPG to hit the PC since Daggerfall, and for that, earns high marks.
  3. This is a game that can stay on your hard drive for six months, still offering new experiences.