Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2280 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently fromDid you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    I participated in all the beta process of The Elder Scrolls Online. Of course, there is too many bugs, and other bad things for gameplay. But,I participated in all the beta process of The Elder Scrolls Online. Of course, there is too many bugs, and other bad things for gameplay. But, I think the purpose of the beta process is to fix these errors. When players use bug feedback, Bethesda fix these errors quickly. Many players misunderstand all beta process. They always think the game would be like in beta. But, it doesn't work that way.

    Bethesda, eliminate all bad thoughts about The Elder Scrolls Online. I did not get bored of the game since the beta process. Quests, soundtracks, dungeons, the main story, the other side of the story and Alliance War of course ... These are not get bored you. Each side of the game is absolutely fantastic.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    Simply a great game !
    Goode PVE !
    Good lore ! Good combat mecanics ! Giant map ! Good PVP ! Giant PVP MAP ! And it's Elder Scrolls,
    Simply a great game !
    Goode PVE !
    Good lore !
    Good combat mecanics !
    Giant map !
    Good PVP !
    Giant PVP MAP !
    And it's Elder Scrolls, lore is so great !
    Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2014
    7
    I still have a subscription... because I had to buy game time in order to get my free time, the game store only had two month cards available.I still have a subscription... because I had to buy game time in order to get my free time, the game store only had two month cards available. I just logged on after not playing for 2 weeks to see if it had improved, I have not crashed for awhile but the game still seems just boring. I tried to ignore the buy in price of 120 when I got it just so I could see if I like it, I tried to ignore the first two weeks when I was constantly being dropped and having issues that didn't seem to exist in bug forums. But then i kept playing and I just got bored.

    Near the end of my playing I wasn't even reading what the missions were anymore, just check my map run there do whatever, get small reward, repeat. This does not feel like Elder Scrolls, the pvp was amusing for awhile and if it goes free to play might be worth it just for that, but I feel I am wasting time that could be better spent on games I will enjoy. Won't renew, might try again some day if they do a reboot like ffxiv did but otherwise I will just hope they still come out with single player games.

    ps the pvp was pretty good but not worth the near 120 price(game + time + tax) and hours of boredom to get to.
    Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2015
    5
    I just cannot bring myself to like this game and I'm a huge fan of everything elder scrolls. I love the lore associated with the game andI just cannot bring myself to like this game and I'm a huge fan of everything elder scrolls. I love the lore associated with the game and being able to explore lands you can't go to in the regular games. But even after a year this game is just unpolished.

    The combat system is all over the place because the human body only has two hands. The abilities require pressing the number keys. Attacking is done by using the mouse. And navigation is done by using letter keys. Why anyone would thing mixing three spots on a keyboard is a good idea is beyond me.

    Then questing is terrible because due to a lack of polish you often do not even know what quest you are doing or what you should be doing. This game still has hopes of being fixed but needs to handed off to another company.
    Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2014
    3
    I played Until Veteran 4.

    Combat system is MEH. Archaic class mix and match system where 75% of people end up being useless in a group .
    I played Until Veteran 4.

    Combat system is MEH. Archaic class mix and match system where 75% of people end up being useless in a group . Healers are forced to rely on the AI to know who to heal and ward. You can't select the main tank and heal him for example. There are no true power siphon classes, hybridization is forced on you.
    Loot / reward system is mediocre and generic. Randomly generated loot was past it's prime even in diablo 2.
    The game engine is simply bad and passé. 50% of what made the last 3 TES games was the engine. This is not one of those games. Period.
    Definite lack of raiding.

    Positive:
    A new and fresh approach to multiplayer pvp in the form of tower/castle capturing.
    Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2015
    0
    I bought the game yesterday and played for a couple of hours. I tried to login today and was told that my account was banned, that I wouldn'tI bought the game yesterday and played for a couple of hours. I tried to login today and was told that my account was banned, that I wouldn't be told why I was banned and that their decision is final, the customer support was extremely rude to me. This game and its developers are shameless scam artists that need to be brought to justice. Expand

See all 841 User Reviews