Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2065 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience this epic adventure on your own or together with your friends, guild mates, and thousands of alliance members. Explore dangerous caves and dungeons, embark upon adventurous quests across Tamriel, and engage in massive player versus player battles, where the victors reap the spoils of war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 64
  2. Negative: 1 out of 64
  1. 90
    A few bugs and balance issues aside, it genuinely feels like its single-player predecessors rather than a cookie cutter MMO, and that in itself is enough to draw back in the weary crowd yearning for something fresh from the genre.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    83
    Zenimax had a steep mountain to climb: They had to cater to both the expectations of fans of Offline-Tamriel as well as demands of online-mechanics. And even though the result is far from perfect and seems to lose focus here or there, I don’t regret any of the rather large amount of time I’ve spent with TESO.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a remarkable MMORPG that keeps the essence of the original series. The game could have been more original in the design of its missions, but its PvP mode and the high quality of its contents are very good.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    70
    Under the surface, not enough has changed to the formula that separates The Elder Scrolls Online from existing free or established properties, and I would find it genuinely hard to recommend to anyone seeking an experience outside of a cosy, well presented, box.
  5. May 16, 2014
    70
    Something good is being brewed here by Zenimax. The Elder Scrolls Online definitely needs a lot of work just to be able to reach other MMOs, but by playing this game you get a feeling that the online version of this franchise could become a milestone for the genre.
  6. May 5, 2014
    65
    The Elder Scrolls Online is a big game with a lot of work put into its creation. ZeniMax Online has created a large world with many quests and a cool PvP mode. The game tries to satisfy both solo gamers and MMO lovers, but the end result is short of expectations. TESO can be recommended only to the fans of the genre, who accept its flaws: repetitiveness, not very exciting combat and lots of simplifications. This "Skyrim online" is well made, but not very original.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Apparently existing only to serve as a strawman for future arguments against the whole genre, Elder Scrolls Online is a game of exposed weaknesses and failed potential. If you’re hankering for Scrolls, I recommend modded Skyrim. If you’re after an MMO, I recommend any other.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    In all honesty, this is a decent MMO when you get past the bugs and the random whining TES fans thinking it would be like Skyrim with multiplayer. A lot of fun and the quest storys are interesting with great voice acting. I'd say to get this for maybe 1 month and see if you like it. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    The questing is intriguing and fun. The game developers put a work into it. Very enjoyable playing in the game world. Alliance vs alliance battle is a lot of fun.

    Zenimax stick to their vision of the game but still listen to the playing community to make good improvements. Some bugs are to be expected in the first couple months of a new MMO launch. They have been moving very quick to address the issues.

    For those who hating on the subscription model, you do know in life you get what you are paying for. This game is worth it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Did you ever play WoW and wished it wouldn't be so boring levelling up? Welcome to the Elder Scrolls Online. It plays very differently from traditional MMOs in the sense that there are not quest hubs. This means that it is up to you to find and explore and by doing so level up. The combat is fantastic, there are no cool down timers. It is up to you to dodge, block, interrupt, cast, heal. It's very hectic and very fun, but also true to the Elder Scrolls Combat formula. Being able to play in first person adds immersion. The graphics are fantastic. All quest texts are voiced. The list goes on and on, in short I couldn't be happier with this game. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    Wow. Harsh reviews are harsh. The game isn't amazing, but it's an MMO in it's FIRST THREE WEEKS. Lol. Calm down there, haters. ;) It's far from perfect, yes. Many bugs still, and the game seems to almost want you to play solo except for dungeons and raid instances, and I can't even comment on the PVP yet as I've only rolled 2 low end characters, but the game is fun! Big, pretty vistas. Good, solid combat. Quests are semi interesting and not just your usual MMO fetch or kill quests all the time. There's definitetly some things that could be fixed or tweaked, like the sense of realism they try to bring to the game sometimes makes playing it difficult (why can't we find vendors on the map?!? Why is there no auction house?!?) but for the most part the game works well. Feels a lot more like an Elder Scrolls game if you play in 1st person, but I almost never seem to find myself doing that as it's a bloody MMO and I can see more in 3rd person. Lol

    Overall, it's worth checking out if you're an Elder Scrolls or RPG fan. Good, but room to improve. Even if you just get it on sale and only pay for a month of game time, I'm sure you'll have fun. :)
    Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    5
    The game is fun at first, love the questing and story, but once you complete your first zone it becomes rather tedious levelling through the veteran levels, but you keep pushing on as you want to see if the endgame is good. Huh endgame? There isn't any endgame worth mentioning.

    After 6 months of playing and reaching max lvl there is not really any pve endgame to keep you entertained, after the story runs out, the rest of the game feels boring, you don't feel rewarded for your efforts even when completing all the quests in each of the 3 faction areas, all you get is a worthless blue necklace and I became bored. This game is severely lacking in varied gameplay. All there is to do is pvp and maybe trials and arena, which feels pointless. Overall this game is rather disappointing and lacklustre.

    A promising game that does not deliver.
    Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    3
    First of all, I did not play any of the Elder Scrolls games before Skyrim ... but I absolutely fell in love with Skyrim, so I was anxious to try this game. The only previous experience I have had with MMO's was WoW and I only played that for maybe a month if that. I did NOT enjoy ESO for several reasons. First of all, the quests are relatively uninteresting and not compelling. Second, it really isn't an open world: if you stray too far from your origin at a low level you will not survive long at all. Third, you are pretty much forced in to crafting your items because you cannot buy specific items. You cannot buy ore or ingots. You have to search for ore, mine it, then use it for crafting. If you want decent weapons or armor you have to spend hours and hours scouring the landscape to find the ore, mine it etc ... it becomes monotonous and a waste of time. Lastly the combat system is clunky and you are stuck with goofy special abilities to try to defeat your opponents. As a game, for me, it was a complete failure and I shelled out $80 to play it. Yes, I fell for the "Imperial Edition" figuring it would be a wise investment considering the hundreds (over a thousand) hours that I played Skyrim. I played this game maybe 60 hours before I gave up in disgust. I give it 3 points because the graphics are astounding, and the huge world is quite a feat of graphics and design. Unfortunately it's not a world worth staying in very long. Huge failure on the part of Bethesda and Zenimax as far as I'm concerned. I will think twice about shelling out my hard earned cash for future Elder Scrolls products, as it seem likely Skyrim was the jewel of the lot. (I have since attempted to play Oblivion and didn't last in that one more than maybe 3 hours ... I did not like it either.) Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2014
    0
    I have to admit, not played it yet! I am not willing to buy a game for £50 and I only get it for 30 DAY!!! I don't care if the actual game is good or if the graphics are amazing (and by the way THEY ARE NOT), after the 30 days I HAVE TO PAY 15 POUNDS A MONTH!! I recently looked at it on steam. I scrolled down and there was some DLC. One of them was a horse that had armour on it (OHHH BIG WOOP ITS GOT ARMOUR) and ITS £10!!! they expect people to buy this garbage DLC when they could be getting a whole other game or maybe even two games! but no I want a horse in TESO. I do apologise if you read this review and it is now a free to play game (which it should be) I would rather pay for RIDE TO HELL RETRIBUTION instead of this! I also apologise to Bethesda because they do make good games like Skyrim, Fallout 3 and The Evil Within (I don't know if it lived up to the hype). Well done Bethesda you just ended a great franchise with a cash grab. People who bought that horse should be ashamed! and the normal ones in game are 17,500 gold! In Skyrim they are 1000 gold. Get the Skyrim online mod and forget about this £10 horse garbage. Sorry to everyone who hates me now....... Expand

See all 771 User Reviews