User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 204 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 204

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    3
    Honestly, compared to older expansions such as Knights of the Nine or Shivering Isles for Oblivion, this is absolute **** Some of the new weapons and armor are nice but other than that, the DLC is lacking in content. When I was playing through it, I became bored roaming through the generic caves and dungeons and began to care less and less about what would happen next as I just wanted it to end. Overall it's not worth $20, wait for a sale... Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    1
    wait for a steam sell if you really want this its nothing more than an elaborate mod for the price of a full add-on, I think Bethesda has really stopped trying at this point. The modding community has done more to fix the problems with skyrim than the company that eagerly took 59.99+ a peice for it. I ove the game but as usual the producing company half-asses it and charges full price then runs off and leaves you to fix a lemon. Hats off to the modding community they are leaps and bounds more talented than bethesda programmers and this add-on proves it. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Pros: It's more Skyrim. There's some cool armor, a hot new follower, more fights to get into, incentive to level up your character some more.
    Cons: Falmer ruins, fetch quests, terrible story, bugs, the penultimate quest in which you have to get a bow (don't know why I'm trying to avoid spoilers for this) is the worst most-time consuming lackluster mission I've played in a video game in
    years, $20 for only $8.50 worth of real content.
    Summation: Butts.
    Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2012
    0
    I've spent over two hours trying to fix this dlc to simply make the quests progress. I have completed about ten minutes of playtime for two hours of work and am now stopped again because another part of the quest is broken.
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    I like the base game very much. I have no idea whether or not I like Dawngaurd DLC. Dawnguard is full of MAJOR quest line stopping bugs. After I was turned into a vampire(one of the first steps in that quest line) no one but the guy who turned me would recognize me as a vampire. This prevented me from progressing in the quest line. I over-rode that step with a code I found online only to have one of the steps mess up a short time later in the quest line to keep me from progressing. The same issue occurred for two pre-existing charectors I had so I made a bran new charector and tried again. Guess what? Same thing happened with the new charector. I wrote to Steam but of course Steam doesnt care if they sell broken games. I wrote to the game support...three times. No reply. They dont cover the issue in their "common problems and answer" pages but the problem is rampant according to what I found all over the internet after a random search. Dont buy this mess and if you do, dont say you werent warned.... Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    4
    For PC I can not see the point of it really, we have better community mods for free that cover most of the stuff in the DLC, apart from a new branch of story based mission is there any need for this DLC not to be free on PC? I say nope.
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    1
    This DLC is great if you love running all over the game world doing nothing but being some person's errand boy. The main reason I played this DLC is for new loot and money, what else matters? In this story line, there is a severe lack of depth, purpose, and reward. The whole time, the suspense was building up to, "Hey, there must be something BIG at the end!" But after finishing the story, you get left with your hands empty, and your mind wondering, "Is this it?"

    This DLC is not worth $20.00 if you want my opinion. You will probably get about a day or two worth of extra game time, and a few new things to try out, but other than that, it was pretty worthless.
    Expand
  8. Mar 31, 2013
    1
    So Skyrim was a bad game to start with and needed to be patched in many ways and here comes their first DLC. And let's face it, this was just terrible. The quests was medium length and after I finished the Dawnguard's side I decided to try out the Vampires' side. So I join the vampires and after the first quest it is basically the same thing. The storyline was also down right crap. I than hoped the side-quests could redeem it. And I soon found out there was one and it wasn't very good to start with. Overall this feels just like Knights of the Nine the Oblivion expansion. Takes place in the same place and is very short. So being priced at $20 is not okay! It is worth maybe $5-10 dollars not $20. Expand
  9. May 28, 2013
    1
    I was disappointed in this DLC. The new appearances for the vampires are a total failure. They look like zombies, NOT vampires. The new armor was OK, but not spectacular. The story wasn't good, but it wasn't bad either. The new NPC vampires in Volkihar Keep were very poorly written and designed, and so were the new NPC from the Dawnguard side, again a total failure. Is Bethesda even trying at this point? I don't think I could release this DLC or Skyrim out into the world under my companies name without getting embarrassed with shame. Like what others are saying the Mod community help saved the quality of Skyrim and their 2 DLCs from utter destruction caused by Bethesda. Skyrim, Dawnguard and Dragonborn (The new and final DLC) was a total failure, and it cost the consumer well over 100 dollars. Is it any wonder why piracy is on the rise? People are fed up with buying lemon software's with their hard earn money, and companies like Bethesda refuse to accept the responsibility by refunding their customers money back for selling glitchy/buggy software's to the public. If you still want to try this DLC wait until theirs a steam sell for half price. 20 dollars is quite expensive for this DLC. Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2013
    2
    Dawnguard isn't all that big, but it adds some much needed gear to the boring Skyrim world. If Skyrim had actually been a decent game then this addon would be worth the money without a doubt. Too bad Skyrim is a poor, shallow game that is neither a good RPG, a good action game or a good adventure game. It tries to be all of that and more but it does everything far below average.
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 74
    Dawnguard basically adds a storyline/side quest of roughly ten hours, that introduces the Vampire Hunters regime of Skyrim, the notorious Dawnguards and a royal fraction of Vampires that could care less about this whole fuss. More of what we like, but hardly worth the 20 euros. [November 2012]
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    For the consumers of The Elder Scrolls universe this is a very good excuse to come back. For the Twilight fans this is a vivid experience of the vampirish soul. For the rest of you the game is offering the content that is not going to change your leave it or love it relationship with the original title.
  3. Sep 23, 2012
    59
    A bunch of fun new abilities and cool places but Dawnguard is far too glitchy to justify its steep price.