Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    100
    Skyrim is definitely one of the best games of 2011, but if the DLC holds out, it might just be one of the best games of 2012 as well.
  2. Dec 5, 2011
    100
    Perfect games do not exist and Skyrim is no exception. Bethesda's new game is faithful to the tradition of the series - it's an extremely well built and inviting sandbox that still has some minor flaws that you cannot overlook. On the other hand it has an unparalleled freedom, great atmosphere, a ton of different quests, many beautiful places that you simply have to visit and a total freedom with creating and customizing your character... Freedom and grandeur are the keywords here.
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    100
    Bethesda's finest hour and one of the greatest RPGs of all time. [Christmas 2011, p.47]
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    100
    They've created a world as much as they've created a game, and it's utterly brilliant. If you've got a computer that can run it, and the ability to manipulate a keyboard and mouse in any way, you owe it to yourself to play Skyrim.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    100
    In its worst moments Skyrim stumbles over its confused artificial intelligence, shutting itself down and its half-done inventory system. In its best ones Skyrim is the king of the new age of the genre.
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    100
    After a trajectory of excellency with Oblivion and Fallout 3, Bethesda reaches a new level this generation, showing they have reached maturity in their unique way of making worlds. Thanks to their generosity, will and ambition, single players fans looking for huge worlds of high adventure can still keep dreaming. Skyrim is an absolute triumph.
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    100
    No other game I know of operates with this many moving parts to create such an immense world filled with this much choice in how you engage its excellent, endless fiction. It's one thing when a game offers dozens of hours of gameplay; it's quite another when that gameplay is good enough you'll want to live in its world for that long.
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    100
    The world of Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is a vast expanse of sheer beauty, danger, and adventure -- you can also terrorize townsfolk, get punched in the face by a giant, and fight a ton of dragons. Those are just a few of the reasons why we love this game so much.
  9. Nov 26, 2011
    97
    Let me clear things up by assuring you that none of the quest bugs, graphical issues, gameplay glitches, or unexplained crashes I've encountered can change the fact that I played this amazing RPG for well over 100 hours in the past couple weeks and absolutely loved it.
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is one of the most captivating role-playing games this generation. Each setting looks amazingly special and the artistic side of the game is just brilliant. This game is deeper and bigger than anything we have seen this year.
  11. Dec 7, 2011
    96
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is by far the best RPG experience of the year and even better on PC. The huge and wonderful province of Skyrim serves as a great setting for an even greater story evolving around a mystical hero.
  12. Nov 25, 2011
    96
    The fifth installment in the legendary Elder Scrolls saga is an exceptional game. Incredibly vast and detailed, the awkwardnesses of Oblivion is long gone and Bethesda brings the region of Skyrim to life in all its nordic strength. The -almost- infinite possibilities of modding are an incredible plus for the PC version.
  13. Nov 24, 2011
    96
    It's just an incredibly deep and rich experience, an entire world in which you can literally loose yourself. Bethesda did it again.
  14. Dec 5, 2011
    95
    For the explorer in all of the us, for the curious in all of us, for the adventurer in all of us, Skyrim is our game.
  15. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    Skyrim has some minor issues but as a whole is a brilliant RPG. It offers you a wonderful world full of legends and mysteries, tens of guilds and factions that you can join, freedom and myriad of side quests, a great character development and an extensive crafting system. It was very close to receiving 10/10. [December 2011, p.56]
  16. Nov 21, 2011
    95
    I may have hated Oblivion, but I utterly love Skyrim. It's fixed every problem I had with the previous game and don't think I'll be uninstalling it for a good long while.
  17. Nov 17, 2011
    95
    Skyrim is like a music album that has a few tracks that you aren't particularly fond of, but rest of the music is pure aural blliss that you can't help but think of the album as close to perfection as possible.
  18. Nov 11, 2011
    95
    Skyrim is a huge and engaging world to explore and it treats you with great moments, from your first dragon encounter to finally being able to craft dwarven armour.
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    95
    Featuring the same kind of thrilling freedom of choice The Elder Scrolls series is known for along with beautiful visuals and a stirring soundtrack, playing Skyrim is a rare kind of intensely personal, deeply rewarding experience, and one of the best role-playing games yet produced.
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    94
    The games we normally call open worlds – the locked off cities and level-restricted grinding grounds – don't compare to this. While everyone else is faffing around with how to control and restrict the player, Bethesda just put a fucking country in a box. It's the best open world game I've ever played, the most liberating RPG I've ever played, and one of my favourite places in this or any other world.
  21. Nov 13, 2011
    91
    Skyrim is probably the best open world roleplaying game out there.
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  23. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    Unfortunately, Skyrim trips and falls on its own (most probably, to make the cool-sounding deadline of 11-11-11) and just before it reaches perfection as the ultimate specimen of its genre, it self-destructs in a crucial aspect of game design: the interface and the peripheral components (inventory, journal, map, etc)... but that is not to say that Skyrim is anything but a truly majestic, epic RPG that will suck you right in its cosmos.
  24. 90
    Skyrim is the best open world RPG you can get. A true evolution of genre is not flawless but still it is the game you love to live in. [Christmas 2011]
  25. Dec 9, 2011
    90
    "Like Oblivion but far better", but after Dead Island, Skyrim blade swinging feels like shadow fighting. [Dec 2011]
  26. Nov 30, 2011
    90
    Incredibly rich story and game world with tons of content and a few bugs. This RPG will have you playing for hundreds of hours.
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    90
    Whether you're slashing a dragon's wings, raising the dead back to life, or experimenting at the alchemy table, Skyrim performs the most spectacular of enchantments: the one that causes huge chunks of time to vanish before you know it.
  28. 89
    Ultimately, Skyrim is a spectacular game. Huge, full of rewards and things to see, read and do. Still, the "console friendly" approach did leave its mark and the technical problems, coupled with some excessive simplification don't bode well for Bethesda's reputation.
  29. Dec 7, 2011
    85
    When taken in total, it must be admitted that The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim does not deviate much from the established Elder Scrolls formula. However, the painstakingly-designed world in combination with the retooled leveling system represents the most polished version of that formula to date. There's something to be said for sticking with what one knows and refining it, and in Skyrim's case, there's a lot to be said for it.
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    80
    Quests are better structured, the dramatic moments abound, and the atmosphere of the northern title is incredibly immersive. There are also, inevitably, small bugs, pathfinding problems, inconsistencies, repeated load times and other annoying issues which punctuate the experience bit by bit.
  31. Nov 23, 2011
    78
    You will have to spend dozens of hours to fully explore Skyrim. Like any other Bethesda game, it has its share of imperfections and broken promises, but it's exciting and fascinating nevertheless. Wait for a couple of patches to come out, download the best mods, tighten the screws in the SkyrimPrefs.ini file, and you're good to go for a virtual Christmas vacation.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6900 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10Subtract everything you hate about past elder scrolls games, add everything you love, add a better engine that does not crash on you every 10 minutes and is not a steaming pile of bugs, pretty up everything, make the faces cooler and make just about everything better and you have skyrim. This game is a masterpiece, its the game that we have been waiting for in 2011, (Most titles this year have been bad to say the least) This game would deserve a perfect 10 if not for the super lame secondary main quest which is the civil war, you can kill the final boss in one hit, I understand that level scaling is bad in most cases, but in some cases things have to be level scaled. The annoying part is, the civil war is about the length of the dragon questline! this game would get a 9.7 in my book now, thanks to that one little detail, but since metacritic forces me to round up my score, 10 it is!
    Also, if you really want to complain about the crappy interface of how you painfully select everything and how its built for a controller, do one of the two following things : get a mod, or use a controller, we all have USB ports!
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    To those who can't believe how somebody could rate this game so low, I know exactly how you feel, about the game and the rating. I couldn'tTo those who can't believe how somebody could rate this game so low, I know exactly how you feel, about the game and the rating. I couldn't possibly care any less though.:)
    Good WRPG is all about choices/options and involved/enjoyable character development. An epic, well written story helps as well. This game does not have any of this.
    With a large world to explore, it first felt like a lot was possible. Cave exploration, ruin exploration, underwater exploration, fight X creature, find a random town and talk to random denizen, etc. After about 10 hours, it became more obvious that, yeah there is a lot you can do on the side, just none of it was all that interesting. At a certain point it just felt like I was playing offline MMO, in that the game allows you to do so much but it's just done so poorly.
    I know that the graphics aren't the most important part of a game like this but Skyrim don't even look average. I would never be so ridiculous as to say that I would buy a game just based on the visuals, but this game look like heavily moded Oblivion.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I'm not gunna lie, this game is amazing, brilliant, outstanding, a masterpiece. I'm only filling the rest up because i need one hundred andI'm not gunna lie, this game is amazing, brilliant, outstanding, a masterpiece. I'm only filling the rest up because i need one hundred and fifty characters. Full Review »