The Godfather PC

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 151
  2. Negative: 47 out of 151
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    The Godfather The Game is an action-adventure game that was developed and published by Electronic Arts. It is the first game in the series and is based on the movie Godfather whom it's name. The game stands out for the return of the original film actors who have lent her voice even. In the game have to listen to some order to gain respect and make New York City your city.
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    It doesn't matter whether it's as good as the film or not. The game is still very impressive in the detail, and I found the gameplay to be very fun. Taking over businesses and warehouses never got boring- especially considering the excellent combat system which isn't too easy, but isn't hard either. It's a completely different take on the sandbox genre and I, despite not having seen theIt doesn't matter whether it's as good as the film or not. The game is still very impressive in the detail, and I found the gameplay to be very fun. Taking over businesses and warehouses never got boring- especially considering the excellent combat system which isn't too easy, but isn't hard either. It's a completely different take on the sandbox genre and I, despite not having seen the films and loving GTA, still think this game deserves more credit. Expand
  3. KarlG
    Oct 31, 2008
    8
    Making a game based of a movie (or a movie based of a game) usually winds up bad. I was surprised this didn't. +Pros: Exciting story, great acting, customizeable characters, sound, music and much more. -Cons: Maybe a bit complicated controls, Cars feel REALLY fast To sum it up, I think it's a great game, definitely worth to be played.
  4. NicolasW
    May 13, 2008
    10
    I dont know what you guys are complaining about. If u just use the default controls then it works fine. With the 256mb nviddia geforce, the graphics are the best i have seen so far. I have not seen the movies and so do not know the similarity. People are complaining about how you cant get out of the car?? What the hell are you talking baout. All you have to do is press a button. If you I dont know what you guys are complaining about. If u just use the default controls then it works fine. With the 256mb nviddia geforce, the graphics are the best i have seen so far. I have not seen the movies and so do not know the similarity. People are complaining about how you cant get out of the car?? What the hell are you talking baout. All you have to do is press a button. If you cant then either you have a very slow computer or bad hand eye coordination. Because i hvae never had anyproblem whatsoever. The movies in between the action, are thirlling. The story line is great and it cannot at all be compared to GTA. GTA is modern gangsters and yuou dont have all the fun of taking over stores, becoming a don. THIS GAME DEFINITLY DOES NOT EVEN COMPARE TO GTA... Collapse
  5. AeschylusOne
    Apr 25, 2008
    9
    The atmosphere. The cutscenes. The custom characters. If you're a fan of the series, the intro should make your heart melt. Sure, it's not Brando's voice, but the face is mapped right down the smallest wrinkle. You see the characters. You recognize the faces. This game. This game...it's a beauteeful ting. It's like GTA, but looks better than the last three due to The atmosphere. The cutscenes. The custom characters. If you're a fan of the series, the intro should make your heart melt. Sure, it's not Brando's voice, but the face is mapped right down the smallest wrinkle. You see the characters. You recognize the faces. This game. This game...it's a beauteeful ting. It's like GTA, but looks better than the last three due to amazing character/car models. The environments are a little drab, but this ain't exactly Rome we're talking about here. Gameplay is pretty much a carbon copy of GTA. You could basically say this is GTA for the early 20th century. The only difference is that this game has better voice acting and, you guessed it, Marlon Brando's face. HOOOAH! The controls aren't so bad. The targeting system is fine. If you have troubles with the mouse, up the sensitivity. Driving cars is akin to the GTA series, but the car models have a little more shine to them. The soundtrack. Oh, man. The soundtrack should be commended for bringing out the pearls from the 30-40s, and mixing it with the theme songs we've all come to love. Don't look at the negative reviews. Especially if you're a fan of the series. You know you want to play it, and you should because it's WORTH it. Great game. Fuggidabouit. Expand
  6. TiagoD.
    Feb 11, 2008
    8
    Ok.. when i first saw the game trailler i thought to my self: "i must have it". I am a complete fan of The Godfather series. i have the books, including a first edition of 1972 (!), all the movies.. etc! First: the story.. well it's ok.. some details that dont match the original story... but.. thats fine! Secon: grafic issues: what a crappy game... the cars, the scenarios... Ok.. when i first saw the game trailler i thought to my self: "i must have it". I am a complete fan of The Godfather series. i have the books, including a first edition of 1972 (!), all the movies.. etc! First: the story.. well it's ok.. some details that dont match the original story... but.. thats fine! Secon: grafic issues: what a crappy game... the cars, the scenarios... it's all the same... you travel along the city and it seems that someone is "copy-past" along the scenario. the only good things are the main characters faces and voices... that's a 10!! but everything else is crapy! third: controls: for gods sake: BUY THE DAMM GAMES AND THEN COME TO SPEAK ABOUT THEM!!! Expand
  7. Novi4ekNone
    May 30, 2007
    10
    good game
  8. EScar
    Apr 29, 2007
    6
    Well the story is the best story of all time and it is smootly blended into a 1940 New York. but the controls are terrible. I just can't get out the damn car. Got completely stuck over here so any body got tips I will appreciate it.
  9. Cesco
    Apr 19, 2007
    8
    The controls are terrible! Please someone makes a patch to fix the mouse controls! If it weren't for the controls I would have given it 10! On the G-Force 7 256mb the godfather's graphics are great!
  10. JJE.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Don't listen to all those idiots saying bad things about the game this is is very good, the aiming system is better than most, graphically its very good and detailed, the fighting controls are easy to use and very amazing, I love this game so MUCH! and if you have problems with the controls buy a gamepad for crying out loud then you won't have any problems cuz it will be like Don't listen to all those idiots saying bad things about the game this is is very good, the aiming system is better than most, graphically its very good and detailed, the fighting controls are easy to use and very amazing, I love this game so MUCH! and if you have problems with the controls buy a gamepad for crying out loud then you won't have any problems cuz it will be like playin it on PS2 or Xbox. Expand
  11. BarneyG.
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    It is true that the ratings above are very graphically based and movie based. I have not seen the movie and when I played this game I personally saw nothing related to GTA, I gave it a nine not only because of the amazing story line, especially how EA Games manages to tie in Rackets, Hotels, etc into the mission you have to complete. The new aiming system is a great advance in my It is true that the ratings above are very graphically based and movie based. I have not seen the movie and when I played this game I personally saw nothing related to GTA, I gave it a nine not only because of the amazing story line, especially how EA Games manages to tie in Rackets, Hotels, etc into the mission you have to complete. The new aiming system is a great advance in my oppinion, it's very easy to use by casual gamers who haven't got the aim of a pro. The atmosphere during cutscenes and fight scenes is amazing, it really took me to the battle. What let it down was the sense of power, which wasn't there. Even once you become Don you still have to make all the hits around town, you'd swear that all the other mafia members were for show. Overall do not think of it as a GTA clone, just because a game is in "Third Person" view and contains cars which you can steal, guns that you can buy and people you can kill does NOT make it a GTA clone. Expand
  12. RazvanT.
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    A very nice game, it's very intresting.
  13. Jon
    Aug 19, 2006
    1
    Absolutely terrible controls spoiled my interest in this title. It looked like it would be fun to play if not for the fact that every time I tried to do something the opposite happened.
  14. AndrewM.
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Really enjoying it but then I loved the movie and I am not a huge games player. It works for me. I like the atmosphere of it. Its a great game.
  15. JK
    Jul 4, 2006
    5
    Could have been so much better. I tested it in the early alpha phase and it showed much potential. The final result is buggy and tends to crash despite the hefty hardware it's running on.
  16. CarlosR.
    May 27, 2006
    6
    The hole history is really good...but the game looks more like GTA than any other game. The cars are alwas the same, but, at least, the history is amazing...but is too short !
  17. LukeM.
    May 12, 2006
    9
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  18. Jeff
    May 11, 2006
    10
    Don't listen to the majority of reviewers on this page. Most of them are pissed at the fact that their free bittorrented version with a no DVD patch doesn't work correctly. Go buy it in the store, you jerks! The game, if installed and used correctly, is really fun, especially if you are a fan of the original Godfather movie. The storyline integrates you into the major events in Don't listen to the majority of reviewers on this page. Most of them are pissed at the fact that their free bittorrented version with a no DVD patch doesn't work correctly. Go buy it in the store, you jerks! The game, if installed and used correctly, is really fun, especially if you are a fan of the original Godfather movie. The storyline integrates you into the major events in the movie, such as the gun in the bathroom that Michael uses, the horse head in the bed, etc, etc... I haven't finished the game completely but I have gotten rather far and can honestly say I am having a load of fun with it. Now, that's not to say that it doesn't completely rip off GTA, but the combination of that type of engine along with the story is fantastic. Check it out! Expand
  19. Vin
    May 8, 2006
    3
    The gameplay might have beenpretty good if it wasn't for the lousy controls and the freaky mouse controls.
  20. James
    May 5, 2006
    0
    While playing the game I felt as if it was 1999 the graphics are TERRIBLE! everything looks the same, cars, people. What was EA thinking?
  21. SughiB.
    Apr 29, 2006
    1
    Worst controls I'we seen in my entire life! For God's sake!.. make a patch for those mouse movement controls!
  22. VasudevanV.
    Apr 25, 2006
    2
    I would apriciate EA Games for having traps in the game against PIRATES and Iam expecting EA would create more and more traps in the future coming games.I can see only the crime in these type of games like for eg:gta,mafia,etc .try to make games action and adventures but less crime.Any way I love GODFATHER.
  23. EverettO.
    Apr 21, 2006
    4
    I bought the game about a month ago. I only have a laptop because I travel so much, so the graphics for me aren't great cause my video is integrated in the motherboard. I would imagine the graphics look good on a serious gaming machine PC, the main characters were all very well done. Everyone (everything) else is too repetitive; as written earlier, the same bakers, same smoke shops, I bought the game about a month ago. I only have a laptop because I travel so much, so the graphics for me aren't great cause my video is integrated in the motherboard. I would imagine the graphics look good on a serious gaming machine PC, the main characters were all very well done. Everyone (everything) else is too repetitive; as written earlier, the same bakers, same smoke shops, same people on the street, same cars, same layouts in a business, etc. It really can get to be too much. The PC controls can be easily fixed by pausing, going to the OPTIONS menu and CHECKING the INVERT BOX, makes everything normal (Left is left, etc). Driving takes skill in my opinion. I was VERY frustrated the first few missions while driving, especially after getting slammed into a wall after I thought I had gotten the hang of it...stick with the small fast cars (found in Brooklyn and Midtown)-fastest speed with the best control. In my opinion the MISSIONS are great because they flawlessly intertwine you into the storyline from the movie. Once they are done though, extorting another 30 restaurants and 10 warehouses just seems boring. The weapons are cool (I've mastered the game using the Level 3 Assassin Pistol and Level 3 Street Sweeper, no other guns needed)...blowing up stuff, burning bad guys, shooting holes through trucks, and cracking people's heads open with lead pipes and baseball bats also has it's appeal. You're offered a plethora of hit contracts and various ways they must be carried out for bonus cash and respect which is VERY entertaining. You'll probably play it once stumbling through, second time going for all the bonus stuff, and then want to sell it/return it because it just becomes repetetive; you'll know exactly where every bad guy will hide in a warehouse, where to expect all the suprises like cops coming up on you, and the end just doesn't give you that sense of accomplishment. Expand
  24. Al
    Apr 19, 2006
    7
    First, The players, who experience the problem with inverted control, do so because they use the no-DVD patch. This
  25. ManasT.
    Apr 18, 2006
    0
    The game would be great if it wasnt for the stupid controls . The ouse view is awful Ill never get the hang of move right to look left and vice versa . Can anyone make a patch or a fix to give it proper mouse control. and yes!! how do you get out of a car? If I get these problems fixed Ill give a 10 rating to this game.
  26. MatthewM.
    Apr 17, 2006
    5
    Alright, so I had to try it, first thing I noticed on the PC is that it looks terrible, I dont know if its my computer(though I cranked all the settings I could on high) or what, but there is like no lighting, everything is very constant, old school, crap look. This does not look like the "screenshots" I saw when it was announced. Next is the control scheme, terrible, I know gta on the pc Alright, so I had to try it, first thing I noticed on the PC is that it looks terrible, I dont know if its my computer(though I cranked all the settings I could on high) or what, but there is like no lighting, everything is very constant, old school, crap look. This does not look like the "screenshots" I saw when it was announced. Next is the control scheme, terrible, I know gta on the pc is really easy because of the mouse, but don't try to handicap the player with the worst control scheme ever. It seems like they had an alright idea here, but excecution is poor, very poor. I returned it to get my money back, just not worth it. Expand
  27. mick2d2no
    Apr 12, 2006
    0
    What a stupid frustrating control system! You move the mouse to the right and you go left! Its like trying to ride a bicycle with your hands crossed over. It's just so dumb! I can't be bothered to spend the next couple of ours playing back to front so I'm just going to uninstall it and play something else less LAME!
  28. JohnJ.
    Apr 8, 2006
    1
    Unless you are an EXPERT gamepad user on your PC, do not even think about buying this game. The controls are so bad, you will die in every shoot-out. In fact, controlling your character down the street is practically impossible with a mouse and keyboard!! The car control is totally out of whack too! This game is so XBox and so NOT PC that it is ridiculous! Do not believe the magazineUnless you are an EXPERT gamepad user on your PC, do not even think about buying this game. The controls are so bad, you will die in every shoot-out. In fact, controlling your character down the street is practically impossible with a mouse and keyboard!! The car control is totally out of whack too! This game is so XBox and so NOT PC that it is ridiculous! Do not believe the magazine reviews either because some of these reviewers have played the Xbox version then done a PC review. They also play games on PC and console all day and have gamepads on their PC's. They are also pretty much in awe of EA's advertising budget that EA will never get an 18% review anywhere, which this game deserves.This game only gets the score of 1 because of the music and character faces. If you just want a gameplay score from me, then it's a big fat zero!!!! Never before have I given such a low score to a game. I think my lowest has been 4. Steer clear of this turkey. Even if you see it in a bargain bin (which you will in the next couple of weeks, it's still not worth it! As regards other problems with the game, see the other User Reviews. That's where you find the truth because they have paid good money for a bad game like me. Expand
  29. MichaelM.
    Apr 2, 2006
    3
    People comparing this to GTA are way off base. This stinker cant hold a candle to the gta franchise. The worst thing it does is make the greatest city in the world, New York City look like Peoria Illinois. They got the street names right and that's about it. In the beginning it looks like fun until you realise your extorting the same shops over and over and over again. They People comparing this to GTA are way off base. This stinker cant hold a candle to the gta franchise. The worst thing it does is make the greatest city in the world, New York City look like Peoria Illinois. They got the street names right and that's about it. In the beginning it looks like fun until you realise your extorting the same shops over and over and over again. They couldn't come up with 4 or 5 baker characters? Hey why bother right! and while your at it why bother creating multiple interiors just use the same freaking cake / tobacco / restaurant over and over again. Every time I extort a shop its like experiencing deja vous. Look Ill give em NYC has a lot of bakers but come on man NO TWO CAKE SHOPS LOOK EXACTLY ALIKE! Honestly ten years ago this game would have been great but today. it just stinks. Total waste of money. Expand
  30. R.A.
    Mar 31, 2006
    2
    The godfather is a vey poor atempt at this genre. The game engine is very poor compared to much better older games eg. mafia and gta. You can keep your poor console conversions EA!
  31. DimaE.
    Mar 31, 2006
    4
    The rating could be much higher if there were no Mafia game in this world. A stupid thoughtless arcade. it doesn't suit the greatest mafia story.
  32. Supershallow
    Mar 30, 2006
    5
    If it was a new genre, The Godfather would be spectacular. But when compared to the depth of the GTA series and richness of Mafia (2001(!) if you haven't played this one, pick up a cheap copy!), it's only very mediocre. Graphics are OK but repetitive. Controls are based on analog joysticks, making it very hard to play the game on PC. Sound is OK, but I liked the Django Reinhardt If it was a new genre, The Godfather would be spectacular. But when compared to the depth of the GTA series and richness of Mafia (2001(!) if you haven't played this one, pick up a cheap copy!), it's only very mediocre. Graphics are OK but repetitive. Controls are based on analog joysticks, making it very hard to play the game on PC. Sound is OK, but I liked the Django Reinhardt score of Mafia better. Driving is nothing special: only a few car models, simple damage system. The missions are quite fun to play, but I can't help thinking how much better this game could have been. Expand
  33. MacS.
    Mar 28, 2006
    4
    This game is not for PC but for XBOX or PS, just arcade style fighting, playing it with a PC makes combat difficult to control. Graphics are average but OK, a lot of good ideas but the gameplay makes them useless. The real problem is a game fully repetitive : you racket 10 times the same shop in various places with the same guys inside....quickly borring. Try Oblivion.
  34. Jason
    Mar 28, 2006
    4
    I have played this so far for a total of 10 minutes and im ready to not play again ... the controls are stupid with mouse and keyboard ... right is left/left is right ... there is no way i can figure out to get out of a car when you get in ... and why does the cars have no detail .. playing with a 7800 GT with all details on max ... lame ... the story better be good because nothing else is yet
  35. JimmyD.
    Mar 27, 2006
    0
    This game is so bad, it went on EBAY the next day! My only explaination why the controls and graphics are so bad is that the game was designed for PS2 and then convertered to the PC. Avoid this game!
  36. GarryH.
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    excellent. great graphics, great story. Controlls take a couple of hours to adjust to, This is a must buy, if you like the gta series youll love this.
  37. MobGamer
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    I think the game is great. Amazong graphics, controls are good enough and you can reconfigure, plus between the missions, shop takeover etc you'll be kept pretty busy.
  38. Tomy
    Mar 26, 2006
    7
    game play is very good, grafics are good (specialy the faces of persons) but the streets (houses) looks all te same , its not the greatest game but its a normly, average game.
  39. [Anonymous]
    Mar 24, 2006
    2
    I have to totally agree with MiKE. Graphics suck, really! Cars and environment look as this game was from the 90's. Even Mafia (2001) looks absolutely brilliant today compared to this piece of crap. And the mediocre gameplay/controls do not help it get more than 2/10 from me.
  40. MiKE
    Mar 22, 2006
    0
    I am VERY VERY disappointed by this game!! The graphics are not acceptable, they are really bad. I was expecting photo realistic face and what do we get? Cartoonist faces, with DULL looking environments!!!!! This would of been ok 5 years ago. It is basically Grand Theft Auto with the Godfather licence. SAD... The gameplay is EXACTLY as GTA. Which is ok. but the out dated graphics make I am VERY VERY disappointed by this game!! The graphics are not acceptable, they are really bad. I was expecting photo realistic face and what do we get? Cartoonist faces, with DULL looking environments!!!!! This would of been ok 5 years ago. It is basically Grand Theft Auto with the Godfather licence. SAD... The gameplay is EXACTLY as GTA. Which is ok. but the out dated graphics make this game a failure. I was expecting the graphics to be at least as in Half life 2, which dont forget came out almost 2 years ago!!! Stay away from this one! Expand
  41. JohnM.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    I've been playing it all day. Seriously deep and rich game. Love the plot. No problems with the controls. Graphics are waay better than my cousin's PS2. Does the movie proud.
  42. JoshT.
    Mar 22, 2006
    8
    A lot of people will compare this game to GTA. An important thing to remember would be that the GTA series of games has been patterned after the Godfather movie in alot of respects. This game has some features that really set it apart from the rest(The story, aiming schematics, customization of your characters apperance, Adapted score, Easy and somewhat extesive graphics customization, A lot of people will compare this game to GTA. An important thing to remember would be that the GTA series of games has been patterned after the Godfather movie in alot of respects. This game has some features that really set it apart from the rest(The story, aiming schematics, customization of your characters apperance, Adapted score, Easy and somewhat extesive graphics customization, great voice acting, and developed characters that you love and hate at the same time.) The only problems i have with the game are the controls and camera perspectives can be considered rigid at best. I also would like the vehichle controls to be cleaned up. Expand
  43. NicolasB.
    Mar 22, 2006
    4
    Graphics, are relatively good, with the exeption of the cars that looks realy ugly, too many recycled characters and rooms, controls are frustraiting, try to drive the cars is just stupid. Some missions are realy frustraiting, for example trying to kill 30 bad guys and you are all alone and they kill you with only one shot. Another anoying thing is the save system. Compared to mafia Graphics, are relatively good, with the exeption of the cars that looks realy ugly, too many recycled characters and rooms, controls are frustraiting, try to drive the cars is just stupid. Some missions are realy frustraiting, for example trying to kill 30 bad guys and you are all alone and they kill you with only one shot. Another anoying thing is the save system. Compared to mafia doesn't seem to have better graphic quality. Expand
  44. MAttB.
    Mar 22, 2006
    9
    GTA always tried to buy into the gangsta cool, The Godfather doesnt have to, it is steeped in it. EA have done justice to the film, seamlessly mixing scenes and dalogue into the fabrc of the game.
  45. RichLiquid
    Mar 21, 2006
    3
    Very weak game based on an excellent film. The overall graphic style is insipid, uninspiring and repetetive. The controls are cumbersome and the driving is just silly. The only thing decent is the aiming control, but overall this game jsut isn't fun to play.
  46. VeteranReview
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    Any gripes about the control scheme are easily solved by purchasing a $20 gamepad. The game runs very smoothly, has hardly any load time, graphics and gameplay are equal to GTA, and the plot is classic.
  47. TomK.
    Mar 21, 2006
    3
    Don't get me wrong, It's a decent game, but How hard can it be to allow for a different setup on each platform, Jeeeeez. There's nothing at all logical about the pc controls. It still seems to be a half decent game but I just don't get it? Why invest tonnes and tonnes of money and still end up with some half assed bullshit atempt on most important feature, the Don't get me wrong, It's a decent game, but How hard can it be to allow for a different setup on each platform, Jeeeeez. There's nothing at all logical about the pc controls. It still seems to be a half decent game but I just don't get it? Why invest tonnes and tonnes of money and still end up with some half assed bullshit atempt on most important feature, the controls. If the controls would have been decent this would have been a 10/10 game. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Yes, the game’s main collection of 20-plus story missions last roughly 10 hours, but after that you’ll be spending at least two or three times as many hours striving for 100% game completion and the ultimate ascension to Don of NYC.
  2. The type of gameplay has been seen a millions times before. Its sole advantage is that it relies on an extremely powerful narrative, backed up by a serious cast and admirable music. It's all about car chases, street shootouts, controlling diverse rackets and respecting fellow family members.
  3. Though The Godfather is competent, it is also bland, despite the voices of James Caan and Robert Duvall, and you rarely feel a sense of power.