The Journey Down, Chapter 1 PC

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    87
    This first chapter serves as a truly special start for an episodic adventure game. It has many positive aspects packed together -unique looks, lovable main characters, awesome voice overs, a price that makes it a must buy- and contains a respectful number of puzzles. If some of them were a bit more challenging, its length would easily be extended. In any case, it's an ideal and very promising debut.
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    May 28, 2012
    84
    Unique presentation, flawless voice acting, interesting plot, many promises for a sequel, plentiful puzzles, smooth design and memorable characters: in a nutshell, that's the first episode of Journey Down. [June 2012]
  3. Jul 26, 2012
    83
    If you got a weak spot for goofy slapstick comedy, you are in for a treat! A smooth interface complements the old-school approach, although puzzles should have been more of a challenge.
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    80
    The 3D models are simple, but effective, and the cut scenes add a lot of extra life to the proceedings.
  5. May 22, 2012
    80
    Though only teasing the series' larger story arc for now, The Journey Down's HD remake is a short but vibrant indie adventure that far exceeds the quality of many full-blown retail games.
  6. May 18, 2012
    80
    Have you ever played a point & click adventure before? Cool, then you'll know exactly what The Journey Down has to offer. It does it great though, with just the right mix of puzzle and humour.
  7. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 13, 2012
    79
    Though it's essentially an extended prologue with very little story, the first chapter of The Journey Down shows promise. There's plenty of humor and old-fashioned adventure charm here, even though some of the puzzles are a bit too goofy. Now hurry up and make more chapters! [Aug 2012]
  8. Jun 12, 2012
    79
    Super cool characters, vibrant setting and originale take on classic puzzles. Unfortunately you could beat it in a couple of hours and we still don't know when the second episode would be released.
  9. CD-Action
    Mar 5, 2013
    75
    A beautiful homage to Grim Fandango. Not perfect though – Chapter One is short, could be funnier and the choice of some of the voices is questionable. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.66]
  10. Jan 30, 2013
    75
    After just one chapter, I'm not sure I'd put The Journey Down in the realm of classics like Grim Fandango, or with the best of its episodic contemporaries like The Walking Dead and Back to the Future. But it's worth the purchase price, and I will definitely keep an eye out for the next episode's release.
  11. Aug 9, 2012
    75
    Instilled with an obvious reverence and applied knowledge of the genre, The Journey Down is an adventure game made by people who love adventure games. The ride's a little bumpy at the moment, but it's surely going interesting places.
  12. Jul 18, 2012
    75
    The Journey Down is so heavily inspired by the LucasArts-adventures of fifteen years ago, that you'd almost call it plagiarism. But that's good news, because dear old uncle George doesn't make them anymore. Unfortunately, just the first chapter is available. And by the time the world and story manage to grab you, it's over.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Don't listen to bad critics, the game is simply amazing, great voice acting, great story, great music, the only bad thing of this game is thatDon't listen to bad critics, the game is simply amazing, great voice acting, great story, great music, the only bad thing of this game is that its simply short, probably 2-3 hours of game , but come on, its first chapter, the price is even low for this game, some puzzles are easy and theres is a lot of good humor in the game, i enjoyed too much of this game and i dont really like Point n click, just give it a try, im sure you will find a piece of gold in Journey Down. Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Pros:
    -Puzzles are logical and solvable
    -Unique characters and setting Cons: -2 hour long game! -The game doesn't have the same type of
    Pros:
    -Puzzles are logical and solvable
    -Unique characters and setting
    Cons:
    -2 hour long game!
    -The game doesn't have the same type of charm of other games of the genre.
    -Possibly too easy

    Conclusion: if the game is on sale on steam for a few bucks I'd recommend picking it up! I am excited for what is to come with the series. I like to think this is just a small glimpse and the puzzles, world, characters, and length of the game will all be expanded upon in chapters to come.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    Quite good, and even better now with the reduced price. I love the graphics, I love the music, and the gameplay is decent classic adventureQuite good, and even better now with the reduced price. I love the graphics, I love the music, and the gameplay is decent classic adventure fair. And the story is quite good, but really seemed to only give you a hint at what you will discover in episode 2. Full Review »