User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 116

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jok`RdeMo
    Dec 3, 2005
    5
    Have not anybody noticed, that this game is boring? It is all the same throug all the game, just come new sets where to shoot movie and new speceffects. And about realism - were have you seen, that big movie companie cannot find enough janitors etc (because nobody comes to apply for job?)
  2. Bass
    May 1, 2006
    5
    This Movies is such a disappointment. What Lionhead have done is create a game that mixes scaled down elements from The Sims and Theme Park, with a poor quality movie editor thrown in as well. It almost feels as if the game was made 5 years ago, and that the developers have rushed its production, most probably to coincide with the releases of Black & White 2 and Fable. Graphics This Movies is such a disappointment. What Lionhead have done is create a game that mixes scaled down elements from The Sims and Theme Park, with a poor quality movie editor thrown in as well. It almost feels as if the game was made 5 years ago, and that the developers have rushed its production, most probably to coincide with the releases of Black & White 2 and Fable. Graphics aren't ugly but only ever bland at best, sound is very tongue-in-cheek and quickly becomes annoying due to the insesent narration throughout, and the interface feels like it had been designed for anyone 10 years old or younger. However the real frustration I have with the game is that it could have been excellent. I'm a huge fan of Lionhead and after completing Fable was eager to play the next big release from the developer, however The Movies is not what I was hoping for. I only hope that in the next few years there is a sequel that makes up for the obvious flaws in the game and provides players with a deeper, more pollished movie-making experience. Expand
  3. malthe122
    Aug 1, 2008
    7
    its a very good game but there is 2 very anyiong things

    1:if you make a video and use 1 backdrop in 1 scene then it dont take same backdrop next scene and therefor i only take the normal backdrop and that somethime smahs my movies 2:there is some scenes you can select you cdont have a system wer you by youself play the persons on the map and select all about wer they are going to and
    its a very good game but there is 2 very anyiong things

    1:if you make a video and use 1 backdrop in 1 scene then it dont take same backdrop next scene and therefor i only take the normal backdrop and that somethime smahs my movies

    2:there is some scenes you can select you cdont have a system wer you by youself play the persons on the map and select all about wer they are going to and stuff like that.

    but all at all good game.
    Expand
  4. MikeG.
    Dec 8, 2005
    7
    Boring Cinema Tycoon with Sims elements No realism. Frivolous... Disappointment. Peter, the greed is one of the se7en sins. Black&White2, Fable and The Movies - developing all together was big mistake - this three games was crippled :( They could be masterpieces, but they came just regular average games. It's a pity... :(
  5. MikeG.
    Dec 8, 2005
    7
    Boring Cinema Tycoon with Sims elements No realism. Frivolous... Disappointment. Peter, the greed is one of the se7en sins. Black&White2, Fable and The Movies - developing all together was big mistake - this three games was crippled :( They could be masterpieces, but they came just regular average games. It's a pity... :(
  6. S.Omer
    Feb 19, 2006
    6
    The tycoon part is pretty boring.. big disappointment... I know people are having fun making movies, but the reviews are right about there not being a connection between the two.... how about if the developer hosted some movies for an in game cost, and the producer got cash for real clicks on their movies? We need more Sid Meier like developers out there.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 70
    Few games in recent years have been laugh-out-loud funny, but The Movies generates so much random silliness that - even when things are going wrong - you can still have a good time.
  2. The heavy micromanagement necessary in The Movies may not be for everyone, but it’s easy to see that this is a good game. There are enough unique touches so it never feels stale or derivative, even though parts of it may seem familiar to some gamers.
  3. From the gorgeous detailed graphics, humour, wonderful on-set animation and the entertaining radio news system, The Movies is a landmark game.