The Orange Box PC

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1500 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    The Orange box could possibly be the best valued retail game of its generation. The single player Half Life games are almost legendary in acclaim, the Multiplayer Team Fortress 2 has become one of the great shooters with a fantastic art style and has since evolved and improved, and the puzzle/shooter Portal was the surprising gem, the icing on a perfect cake. If only the rest of theThe Orange box could possibly be the best valued retail game of its generation. The single player Half Life games are almost legendary in acclaim, the Multiplayer Team Fortress 2 has become one of the great shooters with a fantastic art style and has since evolved and improved, and the puzzle/shooter Portal was the surprising gem, the icing on a perfect cake. If only the rest of the industry had the vision and design skills of Valve we wouldnt be trudging through the immaturity that bogs the gaming industry down so much. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2016
    8
    Сборник состоящий из очень хороших игр. HL тут аж 3 штуки, так же вместе с ними Portal и TF, которая уже давно бесплатная. За 300 рублей - это отличное предложение.
  3. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    No complaints here. 5 great games in one package at a price of one retail game. Half-life 2 and two of its episodes are triple A class shooters with compelling stories and great writing, Team Fortress 2 is probably the best online FPS game I have ever played and Portal is a unique puzzle platformer that is incomparable with any puzzle game and is also one of the funniest games I have everNo complaints here. 5 great games in one package at a price of one retail game. Half-life 2 and two of its episodes are triple A class shooters with compelling stories and great writing, Team Fortress 2 is probably the best online FPS game I have ever played and Portal is a unique puzzle platformer that is incomparable with any puzzle game and is also one of the funniest games I have ever played. No complaints at all. Expand
  4. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Games today are ridiculously overpriced, at most new shooters begin around $50. The Orange Box is a combination of three awesome shooters, an iconic puzzler, and one of the best multiplayer games you'll ever find. Think about that. Five games, four of which I believe have 'Universal Acclaim' on this website, for the price of one. Half Life 2 and it's episodes: some of the most funGames today are ridiculously overpriced, at most new shooters begin around $50. The Orange Box is a combination of three awesome shooters, an iconic puzzler, and one of the best multiplayer games you'll ever find. Think about that. Five games, four of which I believe have 'Universal Acclaim' on this website, for the price of one. Half Life 2 and it's episodes: some of the most fun shooters ever made. Portal: the game that revolutionized puzzlers. TF2: multiplayer at it's best. Valve took a bit of a gamble when this was released, and in doing so created one of the best deals out there. Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    As someone who hadn't already played Half Life 2, this bundle way already a really good bargain, but the addition of Portal--which was simply brilliant--and Team Fortress 2 makes it officially the best gaming value I've ever seen. Do yourself a favor and drop a few bucks for this pack: you won't be disappointed.
  6. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Let me make it clear that I'm no longer what you could call an impressionable gamer; I don't buy into the hype, I only buys games if I think I will genuinely enjoy them, or for artful reasons. Anyway, The Orange Box, and I know won't sound surprising, is probably the best bundle of games I've ever played. The Half Life games are often cited as a benchmark for game design, and it shows.Let me make it clear that I'm no longer what you could call an impressionable gamer; I don't buy into the hype, I only buys games if I think I will genuinely enjoy them, or for artful reasons. Anyway, The Orange Box, and I know won't sound surprising, is probably the best bundle of games I've ever played. The Half Life games are often cited as a benchmark for game design, and it shows. Portal on the other hand is quite short: not that I'm implying that it's bad, in terms of design it's probably the best game ever made, easily negating its short length. Some might know that I've stopped playing BF3 and MW3; I just wasn't having any fun whatsoever. Team Fortress 2 is no doubt the most fun I've ever had playing online. Even when I'm at the bottom of the leaderboard (which is all the time), I'm still having fun with the cartoony art style and addictive gameplay. I guess what I like about it is that it has a sense of humour most modern "realistic" shooters seem to ignore in favour of gun torches or incessant profanity. All you need to know is this: whether you're a single-player (like me) or into multi-player, The Orange Box is possibly the best buy you'll ever make. And for £10? I feel like I'm stealing from valve Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    If someone haven't played those games so far it's the BEST DEAL out there! I would say that it's a kind of a starter pack for regular+ gamers :) For me Portal was the biggest innovation there but it wasn't until the second part that it really spread its wings.
  8. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 9 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 10 out of 10, Re-play: 7 out of 10, Value: 10 out of 10
  9. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    What is there to complain about? You have three stellar games for the price of one. Half life 2, a game that's considered to be one of the best first person shooters. Portal, considered to be one of the best puzzle games around, and finally Team Fortress 2, a highly competitive multiplayer shooter with great emphasis on teamwork that is loads of fun. Get this package now if you haven'tWhat is there to complain about? You have three stellar games for the price of one. Half life 2, a game that's considered to be one of the best first person shooters. Portal, considered to be one of the best puzzle games around, and finally Team Fortress 2, a highly competitive multiplayer shooter with great emphasis on teamwork that is loads of fun. Get this package now if you haven't already, probably the best value for your money and the one of the best gaming experiences you'll have. Expand
  10. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    If you have a PC, you should own this. Seriously, this is the best PC game package ever. One of the best first person shooter games of all time (Half-Life 2) and its first two add-on episodes, the hilarious and challenging Portal, and one of the best PC multiplayer games (Team Fortress 2). Chances are, you already own this. If not, what is wrong with you.
  11. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This was and still is a must buy, I believe it is even cheaper now so if you don't have it ADD IT TO YOU COLLECTION NOW. Half-Life set the standard in First Person Shooters many years ago, And you are going to seriously lost if you buy the next Installment which is going to be awesome not to mention hard to find on the shelf's during its release.
  12. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Valve and the Orange Box forever! Best Game package ever! Many thanks to you Valve. HL2 = A1, Portal = A1, and Team Fortress 2 = A1 to sum it up The Orange box is A1 FUN
  13. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    The Orange Box is a great package that makes you want to play its games over and over again. In my opinion, it is one of the greatest PC gaming experiences there is. There are very few games that I personally enjoy to play all around the year and I've been playing it for two years non-stop now.
  14. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Simply the best buy ever..................................................................................................................................................
  15. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    The best game compilation ever. Includes Half-Life 2: Episode Two, the sequel of one of the best games in history, with great plot, graphics, gameplay, etc., Portal, a almost indie experiment from Valve resulting in a beautiful and simple game, and Team Fortress 2, a great cartoon FPS with 9 classes, lot of weapons, hats, and fun. Also includes HL2 and the first episode if you haven'tThe best game compilation ever. Includes Half-Life 2: Episode Two, the sequel of one of the best games in history, with great plot, graphics, gameplay, etc., Portal, a almost indie experiment from Valve resulting in a beautiful and simple game, and Team Fortress 2, a great cartoon FPS with 9 classes, lot of weapons, hats, and fun. Also includes HL2 and the first episode if you haven't played HL2 yet. With 5 excellent games, you will think that the pack will cost around $60 or something like that. NOPE.AVI, the price is $20. Twenty dollars for five excellent games from Valve. If you hadn't bought this pack yet, you sir, you are not a PC gamer. Expand
  16. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Three of the best FPS games released(With two expansions to Half-Life 2), wrapped up in an affordable bundle. Half-Life 2 is not innovative, but the story is understandable(Yet also deep), the graphics are amazing, and the gameplay needs more than two brain cells. The two expansions satisfy the fans of HL2 who wanted more, although the Episode 1 is far too short. Team Fortress 2 is one ofThree of the best FPS games released(With two expansions to Half-Life 2), wrapped up in an affordable bundle. Half-Life 2 is not innovative, but the story is understandable(Yet also deep), the graphics are amazing, and the gameplay needs more than two brain cells. The two expansions satisfy the fans of HL2 who wanted more, although the Episode 1 is far too short. Team Fortress 2 is one of the best multiplayer FPSs out there, which is based on who can use their weapons better, not who can hit the other guy's head first. I currently have over 440 ours into it, and I am willing to spend $75 on some virtual pixels. Portal is a short singleplayer FPP(First Person Puzzle) you will never forget. The humor is genuine, the momentum is deeply satifying, you need to think, and the ending song wraps it all up nicely. Overall, I can't reccomend it enough. Expand
  17. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I have one word and just one word for this game package: Awesome!!! It is a heaven for the Half-life and for the First-person shooter fans, and a very interesting Portal that await the gamer in this package. All of the spectacular games with just 20 EUR or 30 $, what are you waiting for to not have it in your collection? Oh you must be anti-gamer to not have it, :). If you are a seriousI have one word and just one word for this game package: Awesome!!! It is a heaven for the Half-life and for the First-person shooter fans, and a very interesting Portal that await the gamer in this package. All of the spectacular games with just 20 EUR or 30 $, what are you waiting for to not have it in your collection? Oh you must be anti-gamer to not have it, :). If you are a serious gamer and you are complaining about your computer doesn't have enough space for this. UPGRADE OR BUY A NEW ONE IMMEDIATELY, or you are missing a legend in game history! Expand
  18. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Half Life 2, Episode One, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress 2. Certainly a fantastic offer, Every Game that comes with it is fantastic. The Orange Box is a fantastic collection of Games that everybody should try out
  19. BMF
    Apr 7, 2011
    10
    The best gaming combo pack money can buy and for only 20 bucks. PierreB appears to be a little retarded so ignore his review and pick up this pack you wont regret it.
  20. May 14, 2012
    10
    My last but not least boxed PC game purchase. Thank you Valve for creating such an amazing collection and the digital era opened by Steam. This is a must have collection for any Valve/FPS fan.
  21. Dec 11, 2016
    10
    If you cant appreciate this offer, then there is something wrong with you. I only bought this for HL2. But I ended up enjoying portal far far more. And if that wasn't enough, you were also given TF2, which is one of the best multiplayer games out there. 5 quality games for the price of 1. Simply magnificent!
  22. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    Probably the single greatest game value of all time - three games in one and all of them are great!!! If you have not indulged yourself in this experience you are really missing a true gem - better hurray before HL3 (or episode 3) come out.
  23. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Half-life 2+Episodes, Portal and Team Fortress 2 in one package? Awesome. These games deserve all the praise they got and as a package they are great value, Great job Valve.
  24. May 6, 2013
    10
    This bundle includes 3 of the greatest games of all time.
    Half-Life 2 changed the face of gaming and is still a highly emersive, beutiful and fun experiance.
    Team Fortress 2 though free now, still remains the most balanced, creative, diverse and fun multiplayer FPS. Portal's mesh of FPS and Puzzle and flawless voice acting and story has wet to be replicated with such perfection. The
    This bundle includes 3 of the greatest games of all time.
    Half-Life 2 changed the face of gaming and is still a highly emersive, beutiful and fun experiance.
    Team Fortress 2 though free now, still remains the most balanced, creative, diverse and fun multiplayer FPS.
    Portal's mesh of FPS and Puzzle and flawless voice acting and story has wet to be replicated with such perfection.
    The Orange Box along with Steam made me switch off Consoles to PC gaming and I've never looked back. Better graphics and more games at a MUCH cheaper price; Better controls (mouse+keyboard) and customization; Endless amounts of Mods; Slightly more mature communities. You can't beat it!
    Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    What's that, you need to be convinced that 5 games for the price of less than one is worth it? Shame on you. Not only does this master piece come with Half life 2 and the first two episodes, which have amazing single player story value, it also comes with Portal, possibly the most innovative game of the year! Then on top of that, when you have to get your multi-player fix, you have one ofWhat's that, you need to be convinced that 5 games for the price of less than one is worth it? Shame on you. Not only does this master piece come with Half life 2 and the first two episodes, which have amazing single player story value, it also comes with Portal, possibly the most innovative game of the year! Then on top of that, when you have to get your multi-player fix, you have one of the most diverse, fun and chaotic team based shooters on the market! Valve really know how to make you think you're stealing from them. Expand
  26. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    How about the 5 best valve games and almost of the world.
    The Orange Box brings us 5 tons of fun with Half Life 2 , ep1 , ep2 , Portal and TF2 making this one of the best deals for a computer owner. Buy it and don't think to much about it.
  27. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This is a must-have package for PC gamers. The complete Half.Life 2 experience is great even though the episodes are quite short, Team Fortress 2 is the best of its kind and Portal is...Portal. You will surely get your money's worth on this bundle, not to mention the huge amount of great mods you can get by having HL2.
  28. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    5 of the best games ever for PC in a single package. It only lacks Portal 2 and maybe Left 4 Dead (I know it was launched before those mentioned games LOL)
  29. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    There is just so much about this game that it just can't explain everything with. It has included Half-Life 2 (a clearly more innovative game than Halo), Portal and Team Fortress 2 (an amazing multiplayer game). Half-life 2: It has an innovative game, and to whoever thinks Halo or whatever game is better, think about this. This game has physics. Not the huge explosion high quality graphicsThere is just so much about this game that it just can't explain everything with. It has included Half-Life 2 (a clearly more innovative game than Halo), Portal and Team Fortress 2 (an amazing multiplayer game). Half-life 2: It has an innovative game, and to whoever thinks Halo or whatever game is better, think about this. This game has physics. Not the huge explosion high quality graphics physics, REAL PHYSICS. There are puzzles for you to solve using the physics engine, realistic situations in a fictional world and the world fits the game perfectly.

    Portal: Simple gameplay soon to be expanded. You control a Portal gun, and zap from wall to wall, and when it ends, you'll be asking for more.

    Team Fortress 2: Let's put it in a few words: Teamwork, skill, fun, achievements, hats (lol), friends, and cartoon. Put them all together and you have a beautiful multiplayer game.
    Expand
  30. May 8, 2012
    10
    This pack shows the highlights of the gaming industry, single and multiplayer, I haven't seen anyone else make such a thing of such good quality.

    'Some people think that they can outsmart them, maybe... maybe, but I have yet met one who can outsmart bullet'
  31. Dec 5, 2015
    9
    Put 5 of THE best FPS games in one package and you have one of the greatest bundles known to man. It's so great.

    This is a MUST have for ANY PC gamer.
  32. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    A few years old, and still an absolute joy to play. All aspects of this game, from Half-Life 2 to Team Fortress 2 can literally take hours of your life without you even realising it. A particular highlight of the boxset is the inclusion of Portal, probably one of the most trippy games to play, not that its over difficult but the first time you play through it'd probably be wise to be in aA few years old, and still an absolute joy to play. All aspects of this game, from Half-Life 2 to Team Fortress 2 can literally take hours of your life without you even realising it. A particular highlight of the boxset is the inclusion of Portal, probably one of the most trippy games to play, not that its over difficult but the first time you play through it'd probably be wise to be in a sober state. TF2 has to take the biscuit though, a massively fun online shooter, nothing that takes itself too seriously like the people who sit and play CoD all day because they think its "real", this game will have you laughing as 32 characters bounce around the screen shooting rockets and using flame-throwers all on a small map. Definite Purchase for all Expand
  33. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    It's 4 full length games for the price of one, IF anyone complains about quality or quantity, the should just leave, Valve is one of the best publishers and developers in the gaming world and deserve your respect
  34. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    5 games for less then the price of 1. One of those games is considered by many the game of the year albeit short. What else needs to be said anyone rating in the red doesn't know what games are or deals. Valve has always been great towards its customers anyone who states otherwise are usually self spoiled brats that if you give them a inch they'll expect a foot and be mad with anything less.
  35. May 1, 2011
    10
    Portal=awesome, TF2=awesome, Half-Life 2, plus episodes 1&2=priceless. A MUST BUY! Especially now, since it's been out for a long time. If you don't own this, you should.
  36. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    5 fantastic games, including the best PC game of all time (HL2), the most entertaining multiplayer game I've ever played (TF2) and a truly revolutionary puzzle game (Portal). And right now you can pick the whole lot up on steam for just £8.49. What's not to like?
  37. Edd
    May 7, 2013
    10
    The Orange Box Will Remain one of the best games in History of Gaming and forever it shall be honored by most gamers in the world Fantastic and Well done
  38. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Fantastic set of games, it's just simply odd that you can get this *set* of fantastic games for the price so many lesser games individually sell for.......
  39. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Half-Life 2: Episode Two - 8
    Team Fortress 2 - 8
    Portal - 7

    Those Source Engine based games are quit annoying, every game from his own reason but with it, they all can simply get you in a beautiful adventure where your options is lots of count.
    Add for those the epic music in the games and whalla!
  40. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    The Orange Box contains two great (I count HL2 + the episodes as one in this case) and one good game for the price of one. That's amazing! With this box you get one of the best games ever made (and the best FPS of all time): Half-Life 2, one of the best multiplayer FPS: Team Fortress 2 and the puzzle game Portal.
  41. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    Well, what more does one have to say other than that this came out in 2007 and I bought it on the first day. Now, in 2011, about 5 years later, I still play Team Fortress 2 and challenge myself to Portal.
  42. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    I would have given it a 10, but since TF2 is now free, it's lost a little value. I bought this a few years ago for TF2, and it was only 5 extra dollars to get HL2 and Portal, so I thought why not? Team Fortress 2 is by far the best online FPS I've ever played. It's endless fun, and the drop system is awesome, and there's unlimited maps to play which are all free. Portal was pretty fun. AI would have given it a 10, but since TF2 is now free, it's lost a little value. I bought this a few years ago for TF2, and it was only 5 extra dollars to get HL2 and Portal, so I thought why not? Team Fortress 2 is by far the best online FPS I've ever played. It's endless fun, and the drop system is awesome, and there's unlimited maps to play which are all free. Portal was pretty fun. A little bit overrated in my opinion, but that doesn't mean it was good. The first run through it was AWESOME although short, and it's worth a second go. The challenge maps are okay. Should give you a day or 2 of playtime. Half Life 2 is great. It's got shooting combined with puzzles, and an awesome story. It's got quite a bit of playtime between the 3 Half Life games, just playing each one once takes a little while. I like how you had to think a lot, although sometimes I would have to look up what to do on the internet. Anyways, if you like single player games, this is a great buy. If you only like multiplayer games, which was pretty much me, get TF2 for free and don't bother, although I think it's worth a try if you have a few dollars. I normally hate single player games and I enjoyed them quite a bit. Anyways, if TF2 still had a price, 10/10 best value on the market. Even now that TF2 is free, still a great value. Expand
  43. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    The single greatest collection of games I've ever bought and it was less than the cost of one game. Not sure we'll ever see something Orange Box again unless Half Life 3 is waiting to be released with Team Fortress 3 & Portal 3.

    If that happens, my face my explode.
  44. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    I like it hadhidjisjdskdmskndskndksmdskcmskfmekdjskfnkenfekfnekhfekhfkefhkevjixjeifhekjdkemce kcendkenwjnwfdkwfn. Kfjelkfepfkpeifodfeoifoejfoejfoej
  45. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    You don't need a review. GET IT NOW!

    You get Half Life 2, plus episodes 1, 2, and the lost coast level and the potential to use all source engine game mods, and it's all for under $30. Do I even need to elaborate? Don't wait for it online, go to the store and buy it or buy it off of steam as soon as you can. On top of that you get 2 more fun games. Portal is a very interesting 1st
    You don't need a review. GET IT NOW!

    You get Half Life 2, plus episodes 1, 2, and the lost coast level and the potential to use all source engine game mods, and it's all for under $30. Do I even need to elaborate? Don't wait for it online, go to the store and buy it or buy it off of steam as soon as you can.

    On top of that you get 2 more fun games. Portal is a very interesting 1st person sort of puzzle platformer, that is very fun to play and is also set in the Half Life Universe. You also get Team Fortress 2, which is a classic, fun FPS that you should play if you own any FPS. On top of all that, these games use the source engine, which is relatively old, meaning that these games will run on older computers and high end laptops. The only possible con I can think of is the automatic installation of Steam on your PC, which really isn't all that bad. It automatically updates all the games, and it offers good prices for downloadable games. But this doesn't have anything to do with the games themselves.

    Why are you still reading? GET IT NOW!
    Expand
  46. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    To be blunt, this is the PC gamer's starter kit. For the low price of $30, you get five games, that's $6 a game. All of them are ranked among the best games of all time, mentioned with the likes of other gaming greats. Once you purchase it, the games within quickly become the staples of your gaming library, and the fondest remembered, most notably, Team Fortress 2. This game inTo be blunt, this is the PC gamer's starter kit. For the low price of $30, you get five games, that's $6 a game. All of them are ranked among the best games of all time, mentioned with the likes of other gaming greats. Once you purchase it, the games within quickly become the staples of your gaming library, and the fondest remembered, most notably, Team Fortress 2. This game in particular has a very laid back and generally nice community, there is plenty of fun to be had, you will be laughing even when you lose. The games within the Orange Box are all content that is generally needed to effectively run Garry's Mod, another popular game. Without the Orange Box games, red ERROR signs and the ol' pink and black checkerboards will endlessly annoy you in Gmod (though a copy of Counter Strike Source and Day of Defeat are also highly recommended).
    Even if you want just one of the games within the box, it is still a better deal to buy them all together.

    If you call yourself a PC gamer, and you haven't yet played the games with the near legendary Orange Box, you, sir/madam are missing out sorely, and, at least in my opinion, lack the right to call yourself a PC gamer.

    Also, the few negative criticisms on this fine collection of games are related to the Steam content delivery system when it was first released, which has since become the proprietary form of delivering video games to PC gamers. Though I still find Steam to be a little bit slow to load and argumentative at moments, everything on this computer has those moments.
    Expand
  47. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Why do I even have to write the minimum word count? The games included in this pack are so infinitely awesome that even saying "This is the best thing in existence." should be enough to convince people to buy it. If you like shooters, and you have even a little interest in the half-life story, than I guarantee that this will be the best buy you will ever make.
  48. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The Orange Box is by far one of the most greatest, and best deals that i have ever seen. 5 games that all got a 90 percent rating or above, (with the exception of episode 1), TF2 having a very addicting multilayer with an option to choose from 9 classes which now have new guns, and awesome hats. Portal which is sadly only 4 hours, but having an amazing story, and gameplay, and the HalfThe Orange Box is by far one of the most greatest, and best deals that i have ever seen. 5 games that all got a 90 percent rating or above, (with the exception of episode 1), TF2 having a very addicting multilayer with an option to choose from 9 classes which now have new guns, and awesome hats. Portal which is sadly only 4 hours, but having an amazing story, and gameplay, and the Half Life series. This series mixes intense FPS action, with puzzeles, and a great story. Also to top it all off it is now only 20 dollars. What more do you need. Expand
  49. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    I got this for $10 in the 2011 christmas sale on steam, I would of happily payed $30 or more if I had any idea how much fun I would have for that $10. Over 24 hours of intense and enthralling gameplay with the first 3 parts of the Half Life 2 saga and 5 hours of head scratching gameplay in portal (or more if you played it 6 times through like I did) and endless hours of fun and financialI got this for $10 in the 2011 christmas sale on steam, I would of happily payed $30 or more if I had any idea how much fun I would have for that $10. Over 24 hours of intense and enthralling gameplay with the first 3 parts of the Half Life 2 saga and 5 hours of head scratching gameplay in portal (or more if you played it 6 times through like I did) and endless hours of fun and financial strategy in TF2 this pack has drawn in more of my life then any other game that I can think of (Over 300 hours and counting in TF2 alone) Expand
  50. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    The best deal in gaming history, or possibly ever. This package will give you hundreds of hours of fun for less than 30 bucks. I, for one, have sunk over one thousand hours in TF2 alone, and I still see myself playing it for a long time to come.
  51. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Needless to say the Orange Box is a Stellar product, all of it. Valve really knows how to put together games that PC gamers can get into and play. No dumb down mechanics or gameplay just good pc gamer core fun. I for one will look forward to any product Valve puts out because they take the time to explore what PC gamers want the demand. E'nuff said 10 baby!!!
  52. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest deal ever. Five games for the price of one. And not only that. All of the games are brilliant masterpieces. You have to love this box.
  53. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    This simply is the very best what you can get. All in one for a way to cheap price! The engine still functions fantastic and the gameplay still gives you years of fun!
  54. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Five games for (as of this writing) twenty bucks seems like a scam in an era where a full game with DLC can run you into the nineties. Trust me when I say that it's not. If there are three PC games to play before you die, it's these three - the worthy sequel(s) to one of the most iconic and innovative shooters of the 90s, the greatest class-based multiplayer game in history, and the solid,Five games for (as of this writing) twenty bucks seems like a scam in an era where a full game with DLC can run you into the nineties. Trust me when I say that it's not. If there are three PC games to play before you die, it's these three - the worthy sequel(s) to one of the most iconic and innovative shooters of the 90s, the greatest class-based multiplayer game in history, and the solid, sublime hour that is the original Portal. Put simply, if the Box doesn't make you burn your consoles and join the Glorious PC Master Race, very little ever will. Expand
  55. ZekkoP.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I bought The Orange Box in early 2008. After I installed it, I played all the series of HL2, never played so much time on my PC... then a bit of Portal, then Peggle... TF2 is kinda chaotic but it can cheer you up. Price is not great, it's awesome! Thanks VALVe for this cool package! Greets from Romania.
  56. JesseB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Best thing that valve has ever made but this beats the rest of their best things. 9 years for this epic thing is worth it. Good Job Valve!
  57. [Anonymous]
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Incredible package. The new games alone are worth twice the price, but including HL2 and HL2 EP1? Probably the most involving, engaging, and innovative multiplayer game (TF2), coupled with the best single player game i've ever played(HL2, and finally the most creative and original game ive seen in a while (Portal). Simply the best.
  58. AloP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    This is just awsome! its only downside is that its short but on the upside its filled with action and a great storyline.
  59. JasonP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    I am an avid Half Life 2 fan, but with the orange box you really start to see the sheer beauty that is a HL2 game. The artwork, fluidity, and storyline in HL2 EP2 are much deeper, clearer, and more intense than any other chapter. Couple that with the uniquely addicting Portal, and TF2 and you have a solid gold game package.
  60. AlekseyT.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    All is simple, Valve has made a correct step towards to gamers. 5 games at the price of one! License games in aggregate with service Steam give a heap of positive emotions.
  61. PeterH.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Pure entertainment excellence. Very well refined. I was very pleased with how TF2 turned out. Extremely straightforward gameplay, very player friendly. Portal was an outstandingly skilled work of art; it produces many small moments of accomplishment and it's humor was a terrific surprise. Episode 2 was much more satisfying than EP1, so I'm happy.
  62. ThaTyger
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    A must have gamebox for every shooter fan. It includes the entire HL2 serie's so far, and tops it off with Team Fortress 2. The box is very, very cheap for the quality it offers. You get the complete HL2 single player experience with loads of awesome gameplay that will keep you going for several hours. And you get one of the best team based multiplayer shooters as well. The one A must have gamebox for every shooter fan. It includes the entire HL2 serie's so far, and tops it off with Team Fortress 2. The box is very, very cheap for the quality it offers. You get the complete HL2 single player experience with loads of awesome gameplay that will keep you going for several hours. And you get one of the best team based multiplayer shooters as well. The one little downside is that if you have HL2 and Eps 1 you will get them again. You can't leave them out for an additional discount! But in return Valve gives the posibility to give the game away to someone. I went for the downloadable version (as it is Expand
  63. menouxdidier
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    franchement, qui peut prétendre faire mieux que valve 1 pack comme celui la c du jamais vu.
    -1 jeu novateur pour un ou plusieurs cerveau( portal)
    +1 multi pour s eclater total avec les potes en ligne (team fortress 2)lstyle bd change totalement l ambiance en grosse deconnade generale? trop top!+ 2 jeux action reflexion ou l on simmerge jusquau cou!! (hl1 ethl2).en bref the game
    franchement, qui peut prétendre faire mieux que valve 1 pack comme celui la c du jamais vu.
    -1 jeu novateur pour un ou plusieurs cerveau( portal)
    +1 multi pour s eclater total avec les potes en ligne (team fortress 2)lstyle bd change totalement l ambiance en grosse deconnade generale? trop top!+ 2 jeux action reflexion ou l on simmerge jusquau cou!! (hl1 ethl2).en bref the game of this year
    Expand
  64. JeffL.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    This is a definite must buy game. It includes so much for you money and it's the best bang for your buck out there. Team Fortress 2 is one of the best MP games I've played in years. The Pixar style graphics are amazing and really make the game engine not feel outdated. I understand that the graphics are outdated a bit for the Half-Life 2 series but the amount of games you get This is a definite must buy game. It includes so much for you money and it's the best bang for your buck out there. Team Fortress 2 is one of the best MP games I've played in years. The Pixar style graphics are amazing and really make the game engine not feel outdated. I understand that the graphics are outdated a bit for the Half-Life 2 series but the amount of games you get for the money and then the story that you get along with the game are amazing. I've never been so satisfied with a game purchase...ever! Go buy this game NOW. Expand
  65. DaveFick
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress 2 by itself is worth the $45 entrance fee. It's an extremely well put together team based FPS. It's fun enough to be able to just screw around, while technical enough to be able to take it very seriously. Excellent for scrimmages. This is a must-have for any FPS gamer.
  66. LeeL.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    The most compelling and enjoyable gaming experience of my Life. Every asset within the orange Box was pure gold.
  67. AlexH.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    The ultimate package. I played portal for like 3 days straight over and over again. AND IT'S COMPATIBLE WITH GARRY'S MOD!!! WOOT!
  68. LeeG.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I am a Malaysian and bought The Orange Box for RM175.I mean,those game including Half-Life 2 and other games are Game Of The Year,and I like it!!Especially HL2 and Portal
  69. ChristofferL.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    All the 5 games is perfect games, i just play tf2 almost 20 hour each week due the great teamwork game and the taunting system is really nice. Its impossible to say this game is crap without lieing if you have tried it. Portal seems to be the most hard working game in the box, the portal device and the portals really changed between game and movie of the game. HL2EP2 is that game I have All the 5 games is perfect games, i just play tf2 almost 20 hour each week due the great teamwork game and the taunting system is really nice. Its impossible to say this game is crap without lieing if you have tried it. Portal seems to be the most hard working game in the box, the portal device and the portals really changed between game and movie of the game. HL2EP2 is that game I have been waiting for months. Excellent games in the excellent box, and the fair price of it, 50$ Collapse
  70. AaronG.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    These have to be the greatest games ive ever played and one of the most wisely spent $50 my family has ever spent. I loved the original Half Life 2 and Episode one before i even bought the orange box so much so that its one of the few games i have actually played through more than once (two to three times each to be more specific). Episode two just improves upon what the original set up These have to be the greatest games ive ever played and one of the most wisely spent $50 my family has ever spent. I loved the original Half Life 2 and Episode one before i even bought the orange box so much so that its one of the few games i have actually played through more than once (two to three times each to be more specific). Episode two just improves upon what the original set up and im still replaying it. Portal may be short but its a must play and they even extend its life more by setting up some challenges and extra ways to play each level after the first playthrough, and the commentary is a blast to listen to. Last but not least, Team Fortress 2 is almost sheer perfection in multiplayer gaming, i was a bit sceptical at first but now its one of my favorite multiplayers games and is made all the more fun by its interactions with the Steam system that runs all the Valve games. For anyone looking to buy a new PC game i HIGHLY recommend The Orange Box above all else! Expand
  71. BryanK.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Awesome games. Team Fortress 2 is the best game that I have ever played.
  72. WillB.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Everything Valve does seems to turn out to be a work of genius. Games like Half-life 2 and Team Fortress 2 and Portal belong in some kind of hall of fame. A very good title.
  73. Mr.Impulse
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    I was going to the store to buy L4D2 which was under holiday sale and I wanted to give it a shot since I have the first one. Then I saw The Orange Box for 19,99 euros. Could this be? My favourite saga and one of my favourite multiplayer games for that cheap and in front of me. I simply couldn't resist, so I bought it. And I don't regret my drastic change of purchase. This simple I was going to the store to buy L4D2 which was under holiday sale and I wanted to give it a shot since I have the first one. Then I saw The Orange Box for 19,99 euros. Could this be? My favourite saga and one of my favourite multiplayer games for that cheap and in front of me. I simply couldn't resist, so I bought it. And I don't regret my drastic change of purchase. This simple must be the best deal in gaming history ever. It just can't fail, because it is made by Valve which never fails. NEVER! Expand
  74. PDTS
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    My only complain is that this box was 66% off, 2 weeks after i bought it... Even then i give it a 10! Ill give it 12/10 if i could! Anyone who gives it under 9 should not play FPS at all... Because they dont like the genre at all.
  75. TomJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Fantastic set of games, it's just simply odd that you can get this *set* of fantastic games for the price so many lesser games individually sell for.
  76. KaiS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    8
    Fun and unique game, but sometimes a bit too challenging.
  77. TaylorS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Great action sequences, entertaining story line and characters. But another cliffhanger. Arghhhhh! My only real complaint was it was too short.
  78. AnnaK.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Well so far I've played Portals and have to say that I loved the game from start to finish. Doing the challenge missions now and the advanced and having a blast with those. I really cannot wait for the SDK. I've not really had a chance to play the other games aside from that (dling HL2 to beat it this time around xD) But from what I've heard the price was also very nice Well so far I've played Portals and have to say that I loved the game from start to finish. Doing the challenge missions now and the advanced and having a blast with those. I really cannot wait for the SDK. I've not really had a chance to play the other games aside from that (dling HL2 to beat it this time around xD) But from what I've heard the price was also very nice since I got four new games for 45 dollars. This game definitely deserves the 10 I gave it. Expand
  79. LouM.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    HL2 Episode 2 delivers! It is as good as the original (HL2) game. The graphics and game play remain top notch, while the in-game puzzles and fire fights have actually gotten tougher (but still satisfyingly fun). Along with the rest of the Orange Box, this is definitely the value of the year!
  80. TylerCannon
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    The most amazing compilation of games of all time. I've been playing HL since it was first released and I have to say that Episode 2 is the best so far. Portal is pure genious and Team Fortress 2 is hysterically funny and will give me years of enjoyment. If you haven't ever played a HL game before, HL2 and EP 1 are packed in to this awesome package for your playing pleasure. IThe most amazing compilation of games of all time. I've been playing HL since it was first released and I have to say that Episode 2 is the best so far. Portal is pure genious and Team Fortress 2 is hysterically funny and will give me years of enjoyment. If you haven't ever played a HL game before, HL2 and EP 1 are packed in to this awesome package for your playing pleasure. I recommend all these games to everyone as they are the best I've ever played in my life. Expand
  81. MarkT.
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    Team Fortress 2 has been a blast, and enjoying Episode One.. and I am sure that Episode 2 and Portal will make this a bargain - EXCEPT I cannot open them yet. Steam still tells me that they are unreleased, even though they are released. Deeply irritating, and disappointing for an otherwise great service.
  82. MIrkoDaC.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    We want the audio translate in more lenguage for the perfect! I'm Italian.
  83. JakeF.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Coming from an old school QWTF player, this game is the best thing to happen in 9 years.
  84. KyleW.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    An absolutely perfect game utalizing the source engine and todays more advanced graphics. An unbeatable deal, an amazing game, plus the extras, how could you go wrong?
  85. AviontK.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Although Portal and Episode are rather short for the Orange Box, TF2 you wil want to play for a long time and Portal is always good for a second, even third run through. Worth every penny, would've paid more if I had to!
  86. DryPenguin
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Great fun, enjoyable art direction and certainly with the mod community growing, even more fun to follow launch.
  87. AndrewG.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    You're pretty much a gaming idiot if you do not buy Orange Box. TF2 is shaping up to be one of my favorite games ever. Portal was extremely fun (if for a very short time), and my friend watches me play the episodes in the HL series just because the story is told so well. One of the best purchases I have ever made.
  88. MattH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    I'm currently loving this game. Many of the battles take place in open areas with myriad of places to take cover in or where enemies could be lurking. It makes the game feel extremely non-linear and makes the large fights much more fun. This is the most fun I have had since 2004.
  89. JohnE.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    You cannot deny that this is the best deal ever. 5 games including one game that is considered the best game ever made by many people. I do have a couple of complaints though. This orange box should have come with half life 1 since thats why they made the box orange was to comemerate the first game, and having it would make this a complete package. Another thing is that episode 2 is just You cannot deny that this is the best deal ever. 5 games including one game that is considered the best game ever made by many people. I do have a couple of complaints though. This orange box should have come with half life 1 since thats why they made the box orange was to comemerate the first game, and having it would make this a complete package. Another thing is that episode 2 is just so damn short. I hope that the reason episode 2 is so short is because they are investing all of their time into episode 3 because that game is going to have to be the most awsome climax in history. Expand
  90. HenryU.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    A bargain and a blast to play.
  91. TommyN.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    5 amazing games in 1 box. Half-Life 2 is awesome. But Portal, it's genius! Portal might be complicated to me, there puzzle is great! Team Fortress 2, their new classes are awesome. Team Fortress 2 has the best maps that are bigger than the old Team Fortress. Excellent. Thanks to Valve.
  92. MaxW.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Although all three games are epic, "The Orange Box" is not a game per se, how then is it rankable? All three games should be taken into consideration seperately not collectively. Otherwise all games developers would sell boxed sets and going by what is said here, would do very well. I did buy this boxed set and have only good things to say about it.
  93. JoelR.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Easily the best package deal in the history of gaming. All of these games are incredible in their own right. Portal is the most innovative puzzle game I've seen in a very long time. Half-Life 2 and the expansion episodes are textbook brilliance as far as first-person shooters go. Team Fortress 2 is amazingly fun. Even if you already own Half-Life 2 and HL 2 episode 1 it is a great value.
  94. ThadM
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    The Best Deal I have Ever seen in Gameing Featuring 5 of what may be the best games ive ever played TF2 is just amazing and SO FREAKING MUCH FUN u will never get off.Portal really works the brain and brings a totaly diffrent but fun game type to the source engine.Hl2 episode 2 keeps the great gameplay that made hl2 great going i cant wait for episode 3!!
  95. BarneyG.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    To Crusader: Even though the Black Box was cancelled, the orange box is selling at the same price that the Black Box was intentionally going to be sold at, so you actually get the bonus of free XMas prezzies for your mates. :) As a whole package or seperate, these games are all amazing but seeing as we are obviously rating the Orange Box in general and the obvious deal, I have to give it To Crusader: Even though the Black Box was cancelled, the orange box is selling at the same price that the Black Box was intentionally going to be sold at, so you actually get the bonus of free XMas prezzies for your mates. :) As a whole package or seperate, these games are all amazing but seeing as we are obviously rating the Orange Box in general and the obvious deal, I have to give it a 10. It not only gave me a few days of hardcore gaming playing through Portal and HL2:Ep 2 and the TF2 beta but now that TF2 is officially released, it now provides me with hours upon hours of entertainment (between school work anyway). Expand
  96. DavidK.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    All of the new items have their place, and the old items will really satisfy anyone who hasn't played them (since they can be given as gifts) Some people would just sell two of these games for $50-$60. Valve is giving you 5. Even though every one of these games is contender for a GOTY award somewhere, each one of them is $10. TF2 is ludicrously fun and has been named "an easy pick All of the new items have their place, and the old items will really satisfy anyone who hasn't played them (since they can be given as gifts) Some people would just sell two of these games for $50-$60. Valve is giving you 5. Even though every one of these games is contender for a GOTY award somewhere, each one of them is $10. TF2 is ludicrously fun and has been named "an easy pick over Halo 3 multiplayer", Portal is the first game that reviewer Yahtzee has said "These words sound ludicrous coming out of my mouth, but I can't think of any criticism for it. I'm SERIOUS, this is the most fun you'll have with your PC until they invent a force-feedback codpiece." Expand
  97. FrederikL.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    I used steam and bought this a few weeks before it was released (Pre-Purchased) i only had Half-Life 2 and one of my friends wanted to try it. Whit the box then on Steam if you own Half-Life 2 or Ep1 then you can give the extra one free to a friend, that's what i did. Although i love portal i think i spend around 1 hour or so on completing it all now, did it around 20 times, but I used steam and bought this a few weeks before it was released (Pre-Purchased) i only had Half-Life 2 and one of my friends wanted to try it. Whit the box then on Steam if you own Half-Life 2 or Ep1 then you can give the extra one free to a friend, that's what i did. Although i love portal i think i spend around 1 hour or so on completing it all now, did it around 20 times, but still it's awesome alot of websites where mappers are making Maps (What a surprice...) you can find alot of bonus maps for Portal and the advanced test chambers are very cool. For me who pre-purchased on Steam i got Team Fortress 2 (Beta) before the actual release and a week before the release i could pre-download both Ep2 and Portal (I could download Ep1 instantly). So i would say that this package contains 5 games based on one or the best gaming engine ever made. Source. Expand
  98. AaronS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    One of the best pc games to ever come out. EP 2 takes you deeper into the half life story with a cliff hanger ending that has you begging for EP 3 to come out. TF2 is a mp game that gets it all right. Thoe i do miss the nades the game makes up for it with the loads of classes to chose from. Portals is the best puzle game ever. Get all these PLUSE half life 2 and ep1 for 60 its the deal of One of the best pc games to ever come out. EP 2 takes you deeper into the half life story with a cliff hanger ending that has you begging for EP 3 to come out. TF2 is a mp game that gets it all right. Thoe i do miss the nades the game makes up for it with the loads of classes to chose from. Portals is the best puzle game ever. Get all these PLUSE half life 2 and ep1 for 60 its the deal of a life time most new games cost around 50 and your getting 3 new and 2 classics this is not to be passed up! Expand
  99. BertD.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    The orange box is a great package with the best games. As Messiah down below stated here you see how child'ish and stupid people can be. A dumb x360 fanboy as i see it. Half life 2 Episode 2 is the most innovating game of the series. Why? All the situations you are dropped into are brand new. I had great fun playing it and i'm still playing it over and over and over again. The orange box is a great package with the best games. As Messiah down below stated here you see how child'ish and stupid people can be. A dumb x360 fanboy as i see it. Half life 2 Episode 2 is the most innovating game of the series. Why? All the situations you are dropped into are brand new. I had great fun playing it and i'm still playing it over and over and over again. Compared to Halo 3 it's nothing. The Halo games are overhyped and unbalanced in the storyline with the weapons and other stuff. Halo has never beaten what Half life and Half life 2 made: a legendary reputation with quality games and a huge still growing community of gamers, mappers, modders, fans and more. Everybody would know this if they would not be so close minded and played by the illussion of a hype that is bound to die in a few months. The community of the Half life games or maybe say all the sourcegames is kept alive because of the succes of the series. Counter strike, Half life 2 and more have a huge community of gamers that Halo will never beat. Expand
  100. SeanL.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    There are few games that offer the quality that is present in each one of the games that come in the Orange Box. For those that have never played any of the Half-Life games, getting all the current ones is a great deal for only $50 - less than what it costs to get one iteration of the Halo series. For those that have followed the chronicles of Gordon Freeman through the years, Portal, There are few games that offer the quality that is present in each one of the games that come in the Orange Box. For those that have never played any of the Half-Life games, getting all the current ones is a great deal for only $50 - less than what it costs to get one iteration of the Halo series. For those that have followed the chronicles of Gordon Freeman through the years, Portal, Team Fortress 2, and Episode 2 make it worth the money anyway. My pick of the five (or really, three) is definitely Portal - although it is short, it is deliciously short - in such a way that it does not break a brilliant concept by extending it past its prime. The last level leads you on a merry chase and culminates in a thrilling (and hilarious) battle, followed by what are the best credits in that last five years, without a doubt. Although the first time through the game isn't too hard, coming back and trying some of the advanced levels and bonus challenges will try even those that consider themselves intellectual gamers. It ends, of course, but it's an ending that leaves a pleasant feeling in you - almost like the aftertaste of cake, if you will. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is an excellent continuation of the Half-Life series. The graphics have been updated, and although they probably won't blow anyone's mind away, they don't look dated - an achievement for an engine built in 2004. The storyline progresses smoothly, with its fair share of tense moments and heart-pounding battles. The score is excellently done, always adding to the mood rather than distracting players from the game. The finale is epic as promised, involving striders, hunters, a stripped down Camero, and a lot of explosions. Although the gameplay itself hasn't changed, more of a great concept is as better than a shabby new one. Finally, we have Team Fortress 2. Given the history behind Half-Life and its connection to good multiplayer games (Counterstrike, Day of Defeat, Team Fortress Classic - even though they all started out as mods) you should expect nothing but the best, and the best it is. While this won't tear away the fans of ultrarealism that play America's Army because it's sponsored by the U.S. Army, this offering of the Orange Box will pretty much tug in any other multiplayer shooter gamer. It has something for everything - the sniper for those that adore Counterstrike's AWP, the Heavy for those that like lugging around a machine gun, a scout for those Unreal Tournament players that don't stop moving, or even the medic, for the precious few that enjoy healing others. Most importantly, it mixes a lot of gameplay into a gigantic smorgasboard of fun - with unique personalities behind the characters, hilarious taunts, and a nice kill cam so you always know why you died (and hopefully don't repeat your mistakes). Competitive leagues like cevo and CAL have already added it to their list of games; it's a great multiplayer game because it's fun to watch and play. Given that Half-Life 2 and Episode 1 have both been reviewed numerous times, I won't do that here. However, I would like to note a couple things that I don't know if too many other reviewers have picked up on. The first is achievements. The replay value added to the game by adding side objectives that give you achievements when you complete them is an excellent touch. Good job, you beat the game. But did you take the gnome from the start of the game to the end? How about beating that level in Portal with four portals instead of eleven? It's good you got that opposing sniper in 2fort, but you're still a long way from getting 25 headshots, aren't you? The achievements are varied in both objective and difficulty, ranging from simply completing the game to doing insane feats that require expert tracking, hunting, and shooting skills. They're icing on a great cake that can double the replay value of the game. The other feature of the Orange Box first debuted on the tech demo Half-Life 2: Lost Coast. It was called developer commentary, and it's a great treat for anyone remotely interested in the design and production of these games. In each game, the developer commentaries remark on the design of the map, the technology that goes into it, and the overall production process. A varied and in depth look into how games are made is not something that comes standard these days, which is why it's more impressive that Valve has chosen to share with us these pearls of thought. A release like The Orange Box restores my faith in games. In an industry where the average joe will shell out $50 for a few days of mediocre gameplay, The Orange Box will gives us months, at the least, of excellent story, gameplay, and more. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. PC Gamer
    94
    Leave it to Valve to deliver the goods on such an ambitious game package...The Orange Box is one of the finest compilations of gaming content ever produced. [Nov 2007, p.58]
  2. 95
    Not only do you get the best single player first person shooter ever created, you also get the two next chapters, a 3D puzzle game that also happens to live in the Half-Life universe and a terrifically fun team-based multiplayer first-person shooter. This is a lot of game in one package for only 50 dollars.
  3. 100
    The Orange Box offers everything any fan of first-person shooters could possibly want: some of the best single-player gaming ever in the shape of Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two; wonderful innovation from Portal, and the most refined, downright fun team-based online FPS currently available in Team Fortress 2. If that doesn't warrant a 10 out of 10, nothing does.