User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1345 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZekkoP.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I bought The Orange Box in early 2008. After I installed it, I played all the series of HL2, never played so much time on my PC... then a bit of Portal, then Peggle... TF2 is kinda chaotic but it can cheer you up. Price is not great, it's awesome! Thanks VALVe for this cool package! Greets from Romania.
  2. JesseB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Best thing that valve has ever made but this beats the rest of their best things. 9 years for this epic thing is worth it. Good Job Valve!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Incredible package. The new games alone are worth twice the price, but including HL2 and HL2 EP1? Probably the most involving, engaging, and innovative multiplayer game (TF2), coupled with the best single player game i've ever played(HL2, and finally the most creative and original game ive seen in a while (Portal). Simply the best.
  4. JasonP.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    I am an avid Half Life 2 fan, but with the orange box you really start to see the sheer beauty that is a HL2 game. The artwork, fluidity, and storyline in HL2 EP2 are much deeper, clearer, and more intense than any other chapter. Couple that with the uniquely addicting Portal, and TF2 and you have a solid gold game package.
  5. AlekseyT.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    All is simple, Valve has made a correct step towards to gamers. 5 games at the price of one! License games in aggregate with service Steam give a heap of positive emotions.
  6. PeterH.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Pure entertainment excellence. Very well refined. I was very pleased with how TF2 turned out. Extremely straightforward gameplay, very player friendly. Portal was an outstandingly skilled work of art; it produces many small moments of accomplishment and it's humor was a terrific surprise. Episode 2 was much more satisfying than EP1, so I'm happy.
  7. ThaTyger
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    A must have gamebox for every shooter fan. It includes the entire HL2 serie's so far, and tops it off with Team Fortress 2. The box is very, very cheap for the quality it offers. You get the complete HL2 single player experience with loads of awesome gameplay that will keep you going for several hours. And you get one of the best team based multiplayer shooters as well. The one A must have gamebox for every shooter fan. It includes the entire HL2 serie's so far, and tops it off with Team Fortress 2. The box is very, very cheap for the quality it offers. You get the complete HL2 single player experience with loads of awesome gameplay that will keep you going for several hours. And you get one of the best team based multiplayer shooters as well. The one little downside is that if you have HL2 and Eps 1 you will get them again. You can't leave them out for an additional discount! But in return Valve gives the posibility to give the game away to someone. I went for the downloadable version (as it is Expand
  8. menouxdidier
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    franchement, qui peut prétendre faire mieux que valve 1 pack comme celui la c du jamais vu.
    -1 jeu novateur pour un ou plusieurs cerveau( portal)
    +1 multi pour s eclater total avec les potes en ligne (team fortress 2)lstyle bd change totalement l ambiance en grosse deconnade generale? trop top!+ 2 jeux action reflexion ou l on simmerge jusquau cou!! (hl1 ethl2).en bref the game
    franchement, qui peut prétendre faire mieux que valve 1 pack comme celui la c du jamais vu.
    -1 jeu novateur pour un ou plusieurs cerveau( portal)
    +1 multi pour s eclater total avec les potes en ligne (team fortress 2)lstyle bd change totalement l ambiance en grosse deconnade generale? trop top!+ 2 jeux action reflexion ou l on simmerge jusquau cou!! (hl1 ethl2).en bref the game of this year
    Expand
  9. JeffL.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    This is a definite must buy game. It includes so much for you money and it's the best bang for your buck out there. Team Fortress 2 is one of the best MP games I've played in years. The Pixar style graphics are amazing and really make the game engine not feel outdated. I understand that the graphics are outdated a bit for the Half-Life 2 series but the amount of games you get This is a definite must buy game. It includes so much for you money and it's the best bang for your buck out there. Team Fortress 2 is one of the best MP games I've played in years. The Pixar style graphics are amazing and really make the game engine not feel outdated. I understand that the graphics are outdated a bit for the Half-Life 2 series but the amount of games you get for the money and then the story that you get along with the game are amazing. I've never been so satisfied with a game purchase...ever! Go buy this game NOW. Expand
  10. DaveFick
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress 2 by itself is worth the $45 entrance fee. It's an extremely well put together team based FPS. It's fun enough to be able to just screw around, while technical enough to be able to take it very seriously. Excellent for scrimmages. This is a must-have for any FPS gamer.
  11. LeeL.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    The most compelling and enjoyable gaming experience of my Life. Every asset within the orange Box was pure gold.
  12. AlexH.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    The ultimate package. I played portal for like 3 days straight over and over again. AND IT'S COMPATIBLE WITH GARRY'S MOD!!! WOOT!
  13. LeeG.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I am a Malaysian and bought The Orange Box for RM175.I mean,those game including Half-Life 2 and other games are Game Of The Year,and I like it!!Especially HL2 and Portal
  14. ChristofferL.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    All the 5 games is perfect games, i just play tf2 almost 20 hour each week due the great teamwork game and the taunting system is really nice. Its impossible to say this game is crap without lieing if you have tried it. Portal seems to be the most hard working game in the box, the portal device and the portals really changed between game and movie of the game. HL2EP2 is that game I have All the 5 games is perfect games, i just play tf2 almost 20 hour each week due the great teamwork game and the taunting system is really nice. Its impossible to say this game is crap without lieing if you have tried it. Portal seems to be the most hard working game in the box, the portal device and the portals really changed between game and movie of the game. HL2EP2 is that game I have been waiting for months. Excellent games in the excellent box, and the fair price of it, 50$ Expand
  15. AaronG.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    These have to be the greatest games ive ever played and one of the most wisely spent $50 my family has ever spent. I loved the original Half Life 2 and Episode one before i even bought the orange box so much so that its one of the few games i have actually played through more than once (two to three times each to be more specific). Episode two just improves upon what the original set up These have to be the greatest games ive ever played and one of the most wisely spent $50 my family has ever spent. I loved the original Half Life 2 and Episode one before i even bought the orange box so much so that its one of the few games i have actually played through more than once (two to three times each to be more specific). Episode two just improves upon what the original set up and im still replaying it. Portal may be short but its a must play and they even extend its life more by setting up some challenges and extra ways to play each level after the first playthrough, and the commentary is a blast to listen to. Last but not least, Team Fortress 2 is almost sheer perfection in multiplayer gaming, i was a bit sceptical at first but now its one of my favorite multiplayers games and is made all the more fun by its interactions with the Steam system that runs all the Valve games. For anyone looking to buy a new PC game i HIGHLY recommend The Orange Box above all else! Expand
  16. BryanK.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Awesome games. Team Fortress 2 is the best game that I have ever played.
  17. WillB.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Everything Valve does seems to turn out to be a work of genius. Games like Half-life 2 and Team Fortress 2 and Portal belong in some kind of hall of fame. A very good title.
  18. Mr.Impulse
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    I was going to the store to buy L4D2 which was under holiday sale and I wanted to give it a shot since I have the first one. Then I saw The Orange Box for 19,99 euros. Could this be? My favourite saga and one of my favourite multiplayer games for that cheap and in front of me. I simply couldn't resist, so I bought it. And I don't regret my drastic change of purchase. This simple I was going to the store to buy L4D2 which was under holiday sale and I wanted to give it a shot since I have the first one. Then I saw The Orange Box for 19,99 euros. Could this be? My favourite saga and one of my favourite multiplayer games for that cheap and in front of me. I simply couldn't resist, so I bought it. And I don't regret my drastic change of purchase. This simple must be the best deal in gaming history ever. It just can't fail, because it is made by Valve which never fails. NEVER! Expand
  19. PDTS
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    My only complain is that this box was 66% off, 2 weeks after i bought it... Even then i give it a 10! Ill give it 12/10 if i could! Anyone who gives it under 9 should not play FPS at all... Because they dont like the genre at all.
  20. TomJ.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Fantastic set of games, it's just simply odd that you can get this *set* of fantastic games for the price so many lesser games individually sell for.
  21. AnnaK.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Well so far I've played Portals and have to say that I loved the game from start to finish. Doing the challenge missions now and the advanced and having a blast with those. I really cannot wait for the SDK. I've not really had a chance to play the other games aside from that (dling HL2 to beat it this time around xD) But from what I've heard the price was also very nice Well so far I've played Portals and have to say that I loved the game from start to finish. Doing the challenge missions now and the advanced and having a blast with those. I really cannot wait for the SDK. I've not really had a chance to play the other games aside from that (dling HL2 to beat it this time around xD) But from what I've heard the price was also very nice since I got four new games for 45 dollars. This game definitely deserves the 10 I gave it. Expand
  22. LouM.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    HL2 Episode 2 delivers! It is as good as the original (HL2) game. The graphics and game play remain top notch, while the in-game puzzles and fire fights have actually gotten tougher (but still satisfyingly fun). Along with the rest of the Orange Box, this is definitely the value of the year!
  23. TylerCannon
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    The most amazing compilation of games of all time. I've been playing HL since it was first released and I have to say that Episode 2 is the best so far. Portal is pure genious and Team Fortress 2 is hysterically funny and will give me years of enjoyment. If you haven't ever played a HL game before, HL2 and EP 1 are packed in to this awesome package for your playing pleasure. IThe most amazing compilation of games of all time. I've been playing HL since it was first released and I have to say that Episode 2 is the best so far. Portal is pure genious and Team Fortress 2 is hysterically funny and will give me years of enjoyment. If you haven't ever played a HL game before, HL2 and EP 1 are packed in to this awesome package for your playing pleasure. I recommend all these games to everyone as they are the best I've ever played in my life. Expand
  24. JakeF.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Coming from an old school QWTF player, this game is the best thing to happen in 9 years.
  25. KyleW.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    An absolutely perfect game utalizing the source engine and todays more advanced graphics. An unbeatable deal, an amazing game, plus the extras, how could you go wrong?
  26. AviontK.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Although Portal and Episode are rather short for the Orange Box, TF2 you wil want to play for a long time and Portal is always good for a second, even third run through. Worth every penny, would've paid more if I had to!
  27. AndrewG.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    You're pretty much a gaming idiot if you do not buy Orange Box. TF2 is shaping up to be one of my favorite games ever. Portal was extremely fun (if for a very short time), and my friend watches me play the episodes in the HL series just because the story is told so well. One of the best purchases I have ever made.
  28. MattH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    I'm currently loving this game. Many of the battles take place in open areas with myriad of places to take cover in or where enemies could be lurking. It makes the game feel extremely non-linear and makes the large fights much more fun. This is the most fun I have had since 2004.
  29. JohnE.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    You cannot deny that this is the best deal ever. 5 games including one game that is considered the best game ever made by many people. I do have a couple of complaints though. This orange box should have come with half life 1 since thats why they made the box orange was to comemerate the first game, and having it would make this a complete package. Another thing is that episode 2 is just You cannot deny that this is the best deal ever. 5 games including one game that is considered the best game ever made by many people. I do have a couple of complaints though. This orange box should have come with half life 1 since thats why they made the box orange was to comemerate the first game, and having it would make this a complete package. Another thing is that episode 2 is just so damn short. I hope that the reason episode 2 is so short is because they are investing all of their time into episode 3 because that game is going to have to be the most awsome climax in history. Expand
  30. HenryU.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    A bargain and a blast to play.
  31. TommyN.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    5 amazing games in 1 box. Half-Life 2 is awesome. But Portal, it's genius! Portal might be complicated to me, there puzzle is great! Team Fortress 2, their new classes are awesome. Team Fortress 2 has the best maps that are bigger than the old Team Fortress. Excellent. Thanks to Valve.
  32. MaxW.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Although all three games are epic, "The Orange Box" is not a game per se, how then is it rankable? All three games should be taken into consideration seperately not collectively. Otherwise all games developers would sell boxed sets and going by what is said here, would do very well. I did buy this boxed set and have only good things to say about it.
  33. JoelR.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Easily the best package deal in the history of gaming. All of these games are incredible in their own right. Portal is the most innovative puzzle game I've seen in a very long time. Half-Life 2 and the expansion episodes are textbook brilliance as far as first-person shooters go. Team Fortress 2 is amazingly fun. Even if you already own Half-Life 2 and HL 2 episode 1 it is a great value.
  34. ThadM
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    The Best Deal I have Ever seen in Gameing Featuring 5 of what may be the best games ive ever played TF2 is just amazing and SO FREAKING MUCH FUN u will never get off.Portal really works the brain and brings a totaly diffrent but fun game type to the source engine.Hl2 episode 2 keeps the great gameplay that made hl2 great going i cant wait for episode 3!!
  35. BarneyG.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    To Crusader: Even though the Black Box was cancelled, the orange box is selling at the same price that the Black Box was intentionally going to be sold at, so you actually get the bonus of free XMas prezzies for your mates. :) As a whole package or seperate, these games are all amazing but seeing as we are obviously rating the Orange Box in general and the obvious deal, I have to give it To Crusader: Even though the Black Box was cancelled, the orange box is selling at the same price that the Black Box was intentionally going to be sold at, so you actually get the bonus of free XMas prezzies for your mates. :) As a whole package or seperate, these games are all amazing but seeing as we are obviously rating the Orange Box in general and the obvious deal, I have to give it a 10. It not only gave me a few days of hardcore gaming playing through Portal and HL2:Ep 2 and the TF2 beta but now that TF2 is officially released, it now provides me with hours upon hours of entertainment (between school work anyway). Expand
  36. DavidK.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    All of the new items have their place, and the old items will really satisfy anyone who hasn't played them (since they can be given as gifts) Some people would just sell two of these games for $50-$60. Valve is giving you 5. Even though every one of these games is contender for a GOTY award somewhere, each one of them is $10. TF2 is ludicrously fun and has been named "an easy pick All of the new items have their place, and the old items will really satisfy anyone who hasn't played them (since they can be given as gifts) Some people would just sell two of these games for $50-$60. Valve is giving you 5. Even though every one of these games is contender for a GOTY award somewhere, each one of them is $10. TF2 is ludicrously fun and has been named "an easy pick over Halo 3 multiplayer", Portal is the first game that reviewer Yahtzee has said "These words sound ludicrous coming out of my mouth, but I can't think of any criticism for it. I'm SERIOUS, this is the most fun you'll have with your PC until they invent a force-feedback codpiece." Expand
  37. FrederikL.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    I used steam and bought this a few weeks before it was released (Pre-Purchased) i only had Half-Life 2 and one of my friends wanted to try it. Whit the box then on Steam if you own Half-Life 2 or Ep1 then you can give the extra one free to a friend, that's what i did. Although i love portal i think i spend around 1 hour or so on completing it all now, did it around 20 times, but I used steam and bought this a few weeks before it was released (Pre-Purchased) i only had Half-Life 2 and one of my friends wanted to try it. Whit the box then on Steam if you own Half-Life 2 or Ep1 then you can give the extra one free to a friend, that's what i did. Although i love portal i think i spend around 1 hour or so on completing it all now, did it around 20 times, but still it's awesome alot of websites where mappers are making Maps (What a surprice...) you can find alot of bonus maps for Portal and the advanced test chambers are very cool. For me who pre-purchased on Steam i got Team Fortress 2 (Beta) before the actual release and a week before the release i could pre-download both Ep2 and Portal (I could download Ep1 instantly). So i would say that this package contains 5 games based on one or the best gaming engine ever made. Source. Expand
  38. AaronS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    One of the best pc games to ever come out. EP 2 takes you deeper into the half life story with a cliff hanger ending that has you begging for EP 3 to come out. TF2 is a mp game that gets it all right. Thoe i do miss the nades the game makes up for it with the loads of classes to chose from. Portals is the best puzle game ever. Get all these PLUSE half life 2 and ep1 for 60 its the deal of One of the best pc games to ever come out. EP 2 takes you deeper into the half life story with a cliff hanger ending that has you begging for EP 3 to come out. TF2 is a mp game that gets it all right. Thoe i do miss the nades the game makes up for it with the loads of classes to chose from. Portals is the best puzle game ever. Get all these PLUSE half life 2 and ep1 for 60 its the deal of a life time most new games cost around 50 and your getting 3 new and 2 classics this is not to be passed up! Expand
  39. BertD.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    The orange box is a great package with the best games. As Messiah down below stated here you see how child'ish and stupid people can be. A dumb x360 fanboy as i see it. Half life 2 Episode 2 is the most innovating game of the series. Why? All the situations you are dropped into are brand new. I had great fun playing it and i'm still playing it over and over and over again. The orange box is a great package with the best games. As Messiah down below stated here you see how child'ish and stupid people can be. A dumb x360 fanboy as i see it. Half life 2 Episode 2 is the most innovating game of the series. Why? All the situations you are dropped into are brand new. I had great fun playing it and i'm still playing it over and over and over again. Compared to Halo 3 it's nothing. The Halo games are overhyped and unbalanced in the storyline with the weapons and other stuff. Halo has never beaten what Half life and Half life 2 made: a legendary reputation with quality games and a huge still growing community of gamers, mappers, modders, fans and more. Everybody would know this if they would not be so close minded and played by the illussion of a hype that is bound to die in a few months. The community of the Half life games or maybe say all the sourcegames is kept alive because of the succes of the series. Counter strike, Half life 2 and more have a huge community of gamers that Halo will never beat. Expand
  40. SeanL.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    There are few games that offer the quality that is present in each one of the games that come in the Orange Box. For those that have never played any of the Half-Life games, getting all the current ones is a great deal for only $50 - less than what it costs to get one iteration of the Halo series. For those that have followed the chronicles of Gordon Freeman through the years, Portal, There are few games that offer the quality that is present in each one of the games that come in the Orange Box. For those that have never played any of the Half-Life games, getting all the current ones is a great deal for only $50 - less than what it costs to get one iteration of the Halo series. For those that have followed the chronicles of Gordon Freeman through the years, Portal, Team Fortress 2, and Episode 2 make it worth the money anyway. My pick of the five (or really, three) is definitely Portal - although it is short, it is deliciously short - in such a way that it does not break a brilliant concept by extending it past its prime. The last level leads you on a merry chase and culminates in a thrilling (and hilarious) battle, followed by what are the best credits in that last five years, without a doubt. Although the first time through the game isn't too hard, coming back and trying some of the advanced levels and bonus challenges will try even those that consider themselves intellectual gamers. It ends, of course, but it's an ending that leaves a pleasant feeling in you - almost like the aftertaste of cake, if you will. Half-Life 2: Episode 2 is an excellent continuation of the Half-Life series. The graphics have been updated, and although they probably won't blow anyone's mind away, they don't look dated - an achievement for an engine built in 2004. The storyline progresses smoothly, with its fair share of tense moments and heart-pounding battles. The score is excellently done, always adding to the mood rather than distracting players from the game. The finale is epic as promised, involving striders, hunters, a stripped down Camero, and a lot of explosions. Although the gameplay itself hasn't changed, more of a great concept is as better than a shabby new one. Finally, we have Team Fortress 2. Given the history behind Half-Life and its connection to good multiplayer games (Counterstrike, Day of Defeat, Team Fortress Classic - even though they all started out as mods) you should expect nothing but the best, and the best it is. While this won't tear away the fans of ultrarealism that play America's Army because it's sponsored by the U.S. Army, this offering of the Orange Box will pretty much tug in any other multiplayer shooter gamer. It has something for everything - the sniper for those that adore Counterstrike's AWP, the Heavy for those that like lugging around a machine gun, a scout for those Unreal Tournament players that don't stop moving, or even the medic, for the precious few that enjoy healing others. Most importantly, it mixes a lot of gameplay into a gigantic smorgasboard of fun - with unique personalities behind the characters, hilarious taunts, and a nice kill cam so you always know why you died (and hopefully don't repeat your mistakes). Competitive leagues like cevo and CAL have already added it to their list of games; it's a great multiplayer game because it's fun to watch and play. Given that Half-Life 2 and Episode 1 have both been reviewed numerous times, I won't do that here. However, I would like to note a couple things that I don't know if too many other reviewers have picked up on. The first is achievements. The replay value added to the game by adding side objectives that give you achievements when you complete them is an excellent touch. Good job, you beat the game. But did you take the gnome from the start of the game to the end? How about beating that level in Portal with four portals instead of eleven? It's good you got that opposing sniper in 2fort, but you're still a long way from getting 25 headshots, aren't you? The achievements are varied in both objective and difficulty, ranging from simply completing the game to doing insane feats that require expert tracking, hunting, and shooting skills. They're icing on a great cake that can double the replay value of the game. The other feature of the Orange Box first debuted on the tech demo Half-Life 2: Lost Coast. It was called developer commentary, and it's a great treat for anyone remotely interested in the design and production of these games. In each game, the developer commentaries remark on the design of the map, the technology that goes into it, and the overall production process. A varied and in depth look into how games are made is not something that comes standard these days, which is why it's more impressive that Valve has chosen to share with us these pearls of thought. A release like The Orange Box restores my faith in games. In an industry where the average joe will shell out $50 for a few days of mediocre gameplay, The Orange Box will gives us months, at the least, of excellent story, gameplay, and more. Expand
  41. AnonymousMC
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Wicked game! Hijacking is tonnes of fun!
  42. AndySimpson
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    The TF2 beta test is available to play right now, and it's frankly just astonishing. The Orange Box is almost worth full price just for that, then you get Half-Life 2, Episode One, Two and Portal thrown in.

    That's easily 30+ hours of some of the best quality singleplayer to be had, along with awesome multiplayer. You can't recommend this collection enough.
  43. PatrickShelley
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    stunning sequel to the Team Fortress Classic. Total revamp in-as-much as the source engine that drives it, the gameplay and the style.

    As far as sequels go - most do not live up to the mark, let alone surpass it. Well done valve - it was worth waiting 9 years for this!!
  44. ColinWright
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    I have a feeling that Adam R hasn't even played the first half-life, so of course your not going to be interested in the storyline because you have absolutley no f-ing clue whats going on. Halo has nothing better than this, No great story like hl2 and the episodes, TF2 is way more fun than halo multiplayer, and Portal itself may be better than halo and deserve a 10 by itself
  45. Kevin
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    You cannot beat the value of this collection. The whole Half-Life 2 series to date is unparalleled, Portal is one of the most original and fun games ever, and Team Fortress 2 is the best multiplayer experience i've ever had. Buy this game.
  46. LezhninD.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    The best games ever made in one box? What is it? It's Orange box!
  47. ChrisH.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    This has 5 awsome games in it so I will show you my scores for all of them: HL2-10 HL2E1-9 HL2E2-10 Portal-9 TF2-9 So overall it's a perfect 10/10!
  48. seanjhonson
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    it's just perfect... the best combo ever!!!!
    i think it's cause they'r hardly tested...imperfections are always being updated and fixed... making the game better and better ... u never get bored... it' always a new feature, a new map ....... a new game! "10" 4 u guys!!!!!!!!
  49. DylanK.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Best $40 I've ever spent.Half Life 2 is one of the best Single Player FPS out there, and will remain to be long afterwards. Portal is an amazing puzzle game, very intuitive and fresh concept for a game. Team Fortress II is my pride and joy, with amazing graphics and just the right amount of chaos to go with the cartoonish graphics.
  50. JoeB
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    At first i was annoyed when i found out that i would have to pay for half-life 2 and e1 twice, as well as tf2 and portal which i did not really want. I thought i just need e2. I was wrong. I thank valve for making me get those as they were all some of the best games i have ever played.
  51. RubenC.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    Best pack I have ever seen. I love team fortress 2.
  52. BudBlue
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    The most rewarding video game purchase I have ever made. A couple hundred hours dumped into TF2 alone.
  53. MattM.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    This package is probably the best pack and deal you would get. It is mixed with action to puzzling first person shooters. I especially loved Team Fortress 2. All the different maps and stuff would blow your mind! In the pack was most of the Half Life collection. It's a great deal!
  54. EduardoV.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    Awesome pack from VALVe, it has great singleplayer action with Half-Life 2, legendary multiplayer fun with Team Fortress 2, and a hilarious puzzle game with Portal. The Orange Box is surely the best game i ever bought! Greetings from Portugal.
  55. AnonymousMC
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    half life 2(including all the episodes) is one of my favorite games ever made- It's in my TOP 3! and to that one guy who is comparing halo 3, one of the worst games ive ever played, to half life 2, you haven't played this game yet. when u go on steam, you dont have to buy the games! its just like the xbox live marketplace(yes, i have and xbox and u could buy half life for it) buthalf life 2(including all the episodes) is one of my favorite games ever made- It's in my TOP 3! and to that one guy who is comparing halo 3, one of the worst games ive ever played, to half life 2, you haven't played this game yet. when u go on steam, you dont have to buy the games! its just like the xbox live marketplace(yes, i have and xbox and u could buy half life for it) but you can buy full games on it. i agree with you when you say that if you lose your account all your games are gone, and you can't reenter any codes you got with the game disk. but valve will probably fix that. i also have to say, if u think there is nothing innovative about half life, then tell me, whats innovative about halo? there's a sword made of energy? Gee, that's never been done before in any sci fi book, movie, game ect. and if you hate steam, go and complain to the companys, not in a review for a game that would kick halo 3's arse any day of the week. sure, halo was fun for the first few weeks it came out, but it got real old real fast. Expand
  56. MatthewL.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    OMG the orange box is so f@ &#ing. the best videogaming deal ever. many many hours of game play. the only thing that i did not like was how short Portal's story was (about 2-3 hours) if u have 30$ and a brain GO BUY IT NOW. u wont be disapointed
  57. DionisB
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    I was going to the store to give Left 4 Dead 2 a shot since the price had been lowered (but still it wasn't low) and I saw The Orange Box for 19.99 euros. Could this be? The favourite game saga of mine and one of the funniest multilplayer game ever in a box for a cheap price? Really, I don't regret not buying L4D2 since the purchase of The Orange Box might have been one of the I was going to the store to give Left 4 Dead 2 a shot since the price had been lowered (but still it wasn't low) and I saw The Orange Box for 19.99 euros. Could this be? The favourite game saga of mine and one of the funniest multilplayer game ever in a box for a cheap price? Really, I don't regret not buying L4D2 since the purchase of The Orange Box might have been one of the smartest, unregretable choices of my life! You could not fail with The Orange Box, you just can't. Because it's made by Valve, which never fails to deliever. NEVER! Expand
  58. BrandonL.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    I don't know what to say it's so good. Simply the best action/puzzle/shooter genre purchase available for the PC. Even at 1.5 times the price it would still be that good. This is a must buy for fans of these genres if there ever was one.
  59. MikeO.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    worth the money, only weak link is HL2:Episode 1 but the other games are just amazing.
  60. RuiF.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    BrainMelting Offbeat Genius.
  61. JohnB.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Value, thats it. Amazing games, lots of fun. All bring something to the table for a great low price.
  62. JonM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This game is so much fun! It is seriously one of the best games I have played in some time!
  63. lukaszrudnicki
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    How often do u play a PC game and think "i've never doen this before", and it's fun. I ahven't done that since I was finished with quake 1 and the respective mods. Granted iportal can be completed in under 7 hours, so can episode 2. Regardless, portal alone deserves a 10, for novelty and lots of fun. Then you add even MORE items to the orange box. 10 is an understatement.
  64. MikeM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Brilliant collection, every game in here is a AAA title, and all for £25, bargain
  65. JonathanV.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This was the best in the series by far. They really got their coreography down. The cinematics and graphics were AMAZING! I was very impressed. Can't wait for the third, shame that right as they get great at developing the game, the series'll be over. Oh, this is the first Half life with an ending that wasn't an explosion in your face! Very impressive, it's worth the This was the best in the series by far. They really got their coreography down. The cinematics and graphics were AMAZING! I was very impressed. Can't wait for the third, shame that right as they get great at developing the game, the series'll be over. Oh, this is the first Half life with an ending that wasn't an explosion in your face! Very impressive, it's worth the $50. Portal was a blast too. Collapse
  66. MatthewH.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Amazing game! So addicting, i just cant stop playing!
  67. MikeB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Half life 2 and its two episodes are amazing, the game continually puts out exactly what any good FPS player needs. Portal is an amazing game, it has lots of potential to grow. The first few maps are very easy and teach the mechanics. After these scenarios the game becomes quite challenging, and actually involves a bit of knowledge in physics to figure out where you will land with your Half life 2 and its two episodes are amazing, the game continually puts out exactly what any good FPS player needs. Portal is an amazing game, it has lots of potential to grow. The first few maps are very easy and teach the mechanics. After these scenarios the game becomes quite challenging, and actually involves a bit of knowledge in physics to figure out where you will land with your portal. TF2 is just an awesome game, though it is best played on a server with friendly fire enabled. If friendly fired is enabled it makes life as a spy much more difficult as anyone can shoot you with no repercussions. Overall I give the pack a 10/10. A MUST HAVE! I suggest the source package, or the valve package if you do not have the other games associated with valve (DoD, CS, and the like). Expand
  68. JohnS
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Every game included in the orange Orange Box is Uniquely amazing. The orange Box will set a new standard of quality and entertainment by which all games will ascribe to... only the Orange Box did it first!
  69. AlfredG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Killer game, great value. Worth the money just for Team Fortress 2 and Episode Two! The rest is icing on the cake if you never played the 1st two installments of the series. Get it!
  70. E.Cook
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    You have to got to be kidding me! Valve released a bundle of games for the price of one???? Have I hit a gaming lottery? Everyone take note: This is the best deal on the planet. You not only get a variety of games, but they have been created with the best engine on the planet! As long as Valve continues to produce games, they will have my money. Period.
  71. NikG.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This is gonna be the best game of the year, team fortress 2 is amazing and different, portal just fantastic i really enjoy the puzzle solving and episode 2, lets just say i can't waite for episode 3!
  72. AlanD.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Aside from being a bit short, Portal is by far the most fun I've had in quite awhile.
  73. BryceR.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing! This is the best deal out there! I love Half life 2 and i can't believe it all comes in one package! I've never played the first Team Fortress, but I am totally addicted to this! I play it every single day for a long time. Portal is just plain addictive. It really makes you think hard about how to go about moving along, even though i dont understand the plot Absolutely amazing! This is the best deal out there! I love Half life 2 and i can't believe it all comes in one package! I've never played the first Team Fortress, but I am totally addicted to this! I play it every single day for a long time. Portal is just plain addictive. It really makes you think hard about how to go about moving along, even though i dont understand the plot behind it, yet... it is still amazing! Expand
  74. DenisS.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    Produced with love. They are love gaming and money. And, yes, they have style!
  75. JoeL.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    It's an amazing game collection, to be sure. Pick it up. Do it. I don't want to seem like I think it's the best package of games in the world. It's not. But it's...it's creative to a point where any other game attempting something new is left in the dust. With the integration of new types of gameplay in portal, new uses of celll-shading, as in TF2, or in the It's an amazing game collection, to be sure. Pick it up. Do it. I don't want to seem like I think it's the best package of games in the world. It's not. But it's...it's creative to a point where any other game attempting something new is left in the dust. With the integration of new types of gameplay in portal, new uses of celll-shading, as in TF2, or in the gritty realism expected of most fps' with a twist of incredible storyline and maneuverability in hl2, this is most certainly a box worth picking up. Just don't count on cake. Expand
  76. DavidT
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Great games. The tf2 is addicting I play for about 3 hours a day. Then, portal is another entertaining game I played for about 18 hours straight until I was forced to sleep. Only played a little bit of Half-Life but I like the first one, so the second one seemed better. Great games.
  77. MaxM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Even though im not big on the multiplayer and EP2 doesnt stirr me up much, pOrtal alone makes this worth the experience. While it is extremly short, it still beats hundreds of other fps in gameplay value - simply because after the same old gameplayconcept squeezed till the last drop and the some more pOrtal finally creates an immersion in completly new ways.
  78. DylanP.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Even after purchasing Half-Life 2, Episode One, The Orange Box is still of great value with the single-player gameplay Episode Two and Portal, giving you many hours of sheer delight as you continue to push forward as Gordon Freeman, still on a quest with Alex to get to her father. Portal, developed under Valve by the team that created Narbacular Drop, brings a polished, comical, 3D rat Even after purchasing Half-Life 2, Episode One, The Orange Box is still of great value with the single-player gameplay Episode Two and Portal, giving you many hours of sheer delight as you continue to push forward as Gordon Freeman, still on a quest with Alex to get to her father. Portal, developed under Valve by the team that created Narbacular Drop, brings a polished, comical, 3D rat maze that will test your reflexes as you attempt to perform split-second actions. Team Fortress 2, the long-anticipated sequel, will become your next multiplayer FPS. All in all, amazing gameplay for amazing value. Whether you own a PC, XBOX 360, or (in November) a PS3, if you have played HL2, get it, if you don't yet own HL2, get it, NOW! Expand
  79. AlexF.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Half-Life is, simply, the best FPS I've ever played. And I've played a lot. Besides the incredible graphics (in my opinion full motion video is the only next step they can go from this) you have a storyline that you enjoy following. Only the first Deus Ex rivals HL2 in the storyline complexity department. And Deus Ex did not have a charming character like Alyx Vance to keep you Half-Life is, simply, the best FPS I've ever played. And I've played a lot. Besides the incredible graphics (in my opinion full motion video is the only next step they can go from this) you have a storyline that you enjoy following. Only the first Deus Ex rivals HL2 in the storyline complexity department. And Deus Ex did not have a charming character like Alyx Vance to keep you company most of the way. Alyx is a character I truly see as groundbreaking and I hope Episode 3 whenever it arrives doesn't mean the last we'll see of her. Portal deserves most of the raves it's getting. I don't consider it the best game of all time, but it is the first first-person game I've ever seen that combines the addictiveness of Tetris with the immersiveness of FPS. And the ending song is worth the effort alone. I don't do multiplayer online games, so I can't comment on TF2, but Ep2 and Portal alone are worth the money if you already have the first two HL installments (as I do). And if you are new to HL I agree with the sentiments above that this could well be the best deal in gaming since the first three Doom games were reissued on one disc. The only sad thing is that I bought these games with the full understanding that Steam's anti-piracy system basically ties the game's lifespan to the lifespan of Steam. Once it's gone, I worry we'll never be able to visit the world of Half-Life2 and Portal again. Please, Valve, if you ever decide to discontinue Steam or "upgrade" it to something no longer compatible with the current HL games, PLEASE issue a patch to let us break the Steam link so we can continue playing these games! Expand
  80. JacobH.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Insane value. HL2 is 3 years old and still has leading graphics. The single-player games can present a seriously difficult, but not impossible, challenge to the player. TF2 is a very unique and endlessly fun multiplayer. If you don't buy this, you're either a complete idiot or you live under a rock.
  81. ChristianM.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    An awesome deal for all this games including Half-Life 2. Even thou its still old, its still a legend. Portal was a fine mind puzzle game. Team Fortress is the best multiplayer game ive played in a while. Half life 2 Episode Two was awesome too and im looking foward to Episode three!
  82. StefanBleijenbergh
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Half-life2 is a great game with a creative story and psyics to make you go "wow!!"

    @ Messiah L. Where not rating Halo 3 here.. nor are we compairing these two games.. to vote a zero while stating in your comment that it is infact a good game shows you didn't consider to accually rate THIS game.. ..but just talking about halo. Also you call people who enjoy these game sheep
    Half-life2 is a great game with a creative story and psyics to make you go "wow!!"

    @ Messiah L. Where not rating Halo 3 here.. nor are we compairing these two games.. to vote a zero while stating in your comment that it is infact a good game shows you didn't consider to accually rate THIS game.. ..but just talking about halo.
    Also you call people who enjoy these game sheep wich in my oppinion is very childish..

    Oh yeah and think about this.. I'm 14!
    Expand
  83. JamesR.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt the best game package I've ever bought. Episode 2 now gives much more realistic and engaging combat encounters with incredible pacing. Taking you through a vareity of hugely detailed environments this game looks absolutely beautiful and the new cinematic physics creates many unforgettable moments as you progress through the game. As part of this package, the length of Without a doubt the best game package I've ever bought. Episode 2 now gives much more realistic and engaging combat encounters with incredible pacing. Taking you through a vareity of hugely detailed environments this game looks absolutely beautiful and the new cinematic physics creates many unforgettable moments as you progress through the game. As part of this package, the length of this game felt perfect and with such a high level of detail, replayability is very high. Portal is a perfect side-game. Every second of play is thoroughly enjoyable and leads to the most rewarding ending sequence I've experienced in a game. All of my expectations about this game were exceeded and they weren't low. Finally Team Fortress 2 is like an answer to my prayers for the perfect multiplayer game. Everyone in the game just ends up having fun together no matter what style of play you prefer with a game that is totally balanced and with outstanding visuals. Although more maps is something to look forward to I don't feel that less maps has any bad effect on the game. Every round is hugely engaging involving teamwork and tactics you could only dream of from a server with 24 random players without any of the frustration which arose from many other multiplayer games. Expand
  84. BrettB.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best compilation of all time. All 3 half life games are the top FPS of our time and portal and TF2 both are great games. Anyone saying that the half life series has no story obviously has no imagination or just got droped afew times as a child.
  85. MorganS
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    While the only game ive played so far is the beta of TF2, that game alone is easily worth the $45 pre-order. While TF2 is not a complete 10 at the moment, and does have a small number of maps to play, i can only guess that the number will incrase as players create new maps, and re-create the old maps. i personaly would only give TF2 a 9 of 10, but with the inclusion of episode 2 andWhile the only game ive played so far is the beta of TF2, that game alone is easily worth the $45 pre-order. While TF2 is not a complete 10 at the moment, and does have a small number of maps to play, i can only guess that the number will incrase as players create new maps, and re-create the old maps. i personaly would only give TF2 a 9 of 10, but with the inclusion of episode 2 and portal, i think its easily worth the one extra point. So far, the only things that bug me with this whole concept is that there is no discount for those of us who already have HL2 and episode one(allthough it is cool that they let us give them away). and the only reason i realy give TF2 a 9 out of 10 is due to a little class imbalance and the dislike of critical hits in the game. Expand
  86. EricE.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best packages of games I have ever owned/played! I had always wanted to play HL2 but never had the money. So I bought this on Black Friday for half price. I loved HL2 and both expansions. Excellent game just like the original. I also really enjoyed Portal and thought it was a awesome gem of a game hidden in the box. It was almost like opening a gift and finding This is by far one of the best packages of games I have ever owned/played! I had always wanted to play HL2 but never had the money. So I bought this on Black Friday for half price. I loved HL2 and both expansions. Excellent game just like the original. I also really enjoyed Portal and thought it was a awesome gem of a game hidden in the box. It was almost like opening a gift and finding money in the box as well! I am not much of a online fps player so TF2 isn't really my thing but I have played it for a few hours and it was fun even if I only lived for a maximum of 26 seconds at a time (really, that is my record). Expand
  87. MikeR.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    The orange box package is unlike any other package available. With TF2's awesome gameplay and HL2's unbeatable plot, the orange box rates in at a 10 on my scale. TF2 and HL2 are the cake, but the rest is a very sweet icing.
  88. ArthurL.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    This must be the best collection made by the man. -Half-Life 2 -Half-Life 2:Episode One -Half-Life 2:Episode Two -Portal -Team Fortress 2 Never in this world they gonna make a game so good like Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two.
  89. ConnorC
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    This package is just amazing. 3 great games and there is something for everyone! Half life 2 for the amazing storyline gamers. TF2 for those multiplayer loving fans and portal I found fantastic! Valve really managed to make the puzzle game genre incredibly fun and it had a awesome and funny story to go with it! Top score!
  90. Mike
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Yeah... HL2 episode 2 lasted for 2 weeks and I was done. But I am still playing TF2 to this day!!! and its been months now! a great gteat package! Excellent!
  91. ChristopherF.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Valve's Orange Box is most definitely the best gaming package ever to be released.
  92. timpayne
    May 16, 2008
    10
    this is the first purchase worth 100% of my money and 100% rewarding in gameplay. The is 2 part immense single player boxed with a long awaited team based multiplayer that just keeps on pulling out more and more features. they need to re-review this game now that the medic update has been released.
  93. Lambu
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Yeah, this is the one of the best game package! HL is the best gameserie EVER!
  94. HelderV.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Funny addictive game, the developers are always updating and upgrading the game.
  95. BobB.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    Almost any game being sold for 10 dollars is amazing, but five of the best ever created for 10 dollars each is beyond description.
  96. MarcelB
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    This mite be the best game of all time i mean like really first of all 5 games which are one of the top in the world second the price and third they fit perfectly together because first you do is play a epic and long fps campaign second you solve amazing puzzles because you finished the campaign and third you finished everything and you still have endless fun playing a multiplayer mode.
  97. JordanG
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Along with Perfect Dark this box set is the most amazign FPS experience ever. Even the Half-Life 2 package alone would get a 10 from me
  98. JJKingsly
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal package. TF2 is awesome, Portal is very, very good and Episode 2 rocks. Being able to gift out the other games to Steam accounts if already have them is cool also.
  99. ThomasGrønkjær-F.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    The compilation gets 10/10 simply because its the deal of the century. Awesome games, and awesome storytelling!
  100. RobinG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    I finished Episode two and portal in less than 9 hours This fact does not mean that the orange box was a bad deal Episode two continues a brilliant story and everyone who likes the hl story MUST buy this game Portal has a very short playtime but there's a chance, that there will be a large community creating new maps for it, the idea behind the game is really cool and the game itself I finished Episode two and portal in less than 9 hours This fact does not mean that the orange box was a bad deal Episode two continues a brilliant story and everyone who likes the hl story MUST buy this game Portal has a very short playtime but there's a chance, that there will be a large community creating new maps for it, the idea behind the game is really cool and the game itself is addictive Team Fortress 2 is one of the best multiplayer games i ever played even if you have the worst stats in the world the game is still fun because of its grapics and its gameplay. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Leave it to Valve to deliver the goods on such an ambitious game package...The Orange Box is one of the finest compilations of gaming content ever produced. [Nov 2007, p.58]
  2. 95
    Not only do you get the best single player first person shooter ever created, you also get the two next chapters, a 3D puzzle game that also happens to live in the Half-Life universe and a terrifically fun team-based multiplayer first-person shooter. This is a lot of game in one package for only 50 dollars.
  3. 100
    The Orange Box offers everything any fan of first-person shooters could possibly want: some of the best single-player gaming ever in the shape of Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two; wonderful innovation from Portal, and the most refined, downright fun team-based online FPS currently available in Team Fortress 2. If that doesn't warrant a 10 out of 10, nothing does.