The Punisher PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 101
  2. Negative: 4 out of 101
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome i love it ! it was very very different and it still is ! no other game is like this ! u must play it if u like 3rd person shooter and violence XD it has a good story with nice gameplay and a lot of stuff to do after u finish it
  2. LexLuthor
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    It may not be the best shooter but it really makes you feel like the punisher.
  3. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I remember this as my favourite game of the year 2005. I do not read Marvel comics, but since I liked most of Volition's previous work I checked this out. I have played through the game three, maybe four times. It's just so... fun. As games should be. What other games let you dual wield M-60s?
    The excellent levels are probably behind this game's staying power. Straightforward, but also
    I remember this as my favourite game of the year 2005. I do not read Marvel comics, but since I liked most of Volition's previous work I checked this out. I have played through the game three, maybe four times. It's just so... fun. As games should be. What other games let you dual wield M-60s?
    The excellent levels are probably behind this game's staying power. Straightforward, but also not completely linear. I have noticed new things on every playthrough, and especially the enemy reactions are delightfully varied. The only complaint have is technical: low resolution and muddy colours. This game is also extremely brutal, probably up there with the Manhunt series (which I admit to not having played), and it could have raised quite a fuss had anyone cared.
    Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2015
    7
    In this game I have nothing to comment. The story is quite ok. It has some problems with voice acting and sound. Otherwise, it's a great game .
  5. Grez
    Jun 2, 2005
    7
    Overall, this is an entertaining game. The graphics are somewhat lacking, and the animations are a bit rigid, but much of this can be attributed to the fact the the game utilizes DirectX 8.1 instead of 9. This is the sort of thing that happens with console ports, as games come from a console system with inferior graphics, so there's not the effort involved in creating jaw-dropping Overall, this is an entertaining game. The graphics are somewhat lacking, and the animations are a bit rigid, but much of this can be attributed to the fact the the game utilizes DirectX 8.1 instead of 9. This is the sort of thing that happens with console ports, as games come from a console system with inferior graphics, so there's not the effort involved in creating jaw-dropping visuals like those seen in Half-Life 2. Still, the gameplay is fun, if a bit repetitive, and I have to admit that I smiled with evil glee when I got the chance to do a "special" interrogation (slamming a bad guy's head in a piano, anyone?) or a unique kill. The Punisher is extremely violent, and definitely not for kids under 17, but for those who grew up with the comic book and can get past the gore factor, it is a solid game, even if it's not perfect. Expand
  6. MatP.
    Apr 1, 2005
    8
    I loved Max Payne, and this game is pretty damn similar (with elements of Manhunt and The Getaway), even down to using the Havok engine. Any sequal would need to focus on hand to hand combat, and utlising the scenery more, to distance itself from Max payne. Solid game.
  7. DanS.
    Jan 22, 2005
    9
    If you love the comic you will LOVE this game.
  8. Luke
    Apr 29, 2005
    8
    I really enjoyed this game. I played the demo, and enjoyed it enough to get the full game, and was pleasantly suprised just how much fun i had with it. The graphics are not WOW worthy, especially in light of games like DOOM3 and Halflife2, but they are more than serviceable and occasionally include some nice touches. Character models are fairly decent aswell, with a special mention being I really enjoyed this game. I played the demo, and enjoyed it enough to get the full game, and was pleasantly suprised just how much fun i had with it. The graphics are not WOW worthy, especially in light of games like DOOM3 and Halflife2, but they are more than serviceable and occasionally include some nice touches. Character models are fairly decent aswell, with a special mention being the Punisher himself, he looks absolutely perfect. The action is really what it is all about and the game is very good in the multitude of ways it gives you to dispatch of enemies - U will not be left wanting for variety thats for sure. The story isnt too bad aswell and kept me intrigued enough. Sound is decent, with Thomas Jane providing the punishers voice adding that extra feeling of authenticity. The game has boss fights in it which generally werent highlights, but one in particular [recreating the battle between castle and the russian from the movie] is very well done. Gameplay wise the game is like max payne without bullet time, as the reviewers say. But, i enjoyed this game far more than the max payne franchise, i liked the punisher character more and thought the game offered more variety in it then payne. overall, i was decently impressed with what i thought would be a shoddy licenced game. well done Volition. Expand
  9. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    A fun game with some problems. The graphics are not so good in 2005. But in comparison to other Dx 8.1 using games, it's graphics are good. It's really violent. The gamplay is good and fun to play. Good for stress reduction I think. There are plenty of torture types and all of them are good (and fun). Also, there are many quick kill types. These make the game good and really enjoyable. ButA fun game with some problems. The graphics are not so good in 2005. But in comparison to other Dx 8.1 using games, it's graphics are good. It's really violent. The gamplay is good and fun to play. Good for stress reduction I think. There are plenty of torture types and all of them are good (and fun). Also, there are many quick kill types. These make the game good and really enjoyable. But there are some problems. Problems which make the game a little worse than it can be. There are some kill cams. These are really lame. Some scenes are lame too. But these are "funny lame" and not affecting the gameplay seriously. But some cripple bossfights are. Some of the bossfights are really bad and makes you angry. Anyway, it's a good game with some little funny cripple things and some irritating bossfights. But it's quite enjoyable. Expand
  10. Jun 16, 2014
    9
    Este juego me gusto mucho, aunque para basarse en una película no sigue para nada la historia de ella. Es un intento de mezclar la historia de la película con una nueva, como que algunos personajes de la película están vivos a pesar de que era imposible que sobrevivieran, Como el ruso, el jefe final si me lo puedo creer pero con el ruso es imposible, pero quitando eso este juego es brutal.Este juego me gusto mucho, aunque para basarse en una película no sigue para nada la historia de ella. Es un intento de mezclar la historia de la película con una nueva, como que algunos personajes de la película están vivos a pesar de que era imposible que sobrevivieran, Como el ruso, el jefe final si me lo puedo creer pero con el ruso es imposible, pero quitando eso este juego es brutal. Aquí puedes matar de varias formas y todas brutales. Puedes apuñalar, romper cuellos, si tienes armas potentes reventar extremidades tanto si el sujeto esta vivo o muerto en el suelo y en los interrogatorios puedes matar de formas mucho peores como quemándolos vivos, triturándolos o dárselos de comer a unas pirañas. Tiene mucha sangre me gusto eso aun que se puede poner algo repetitivo si juegas mucho muy seguido, sugiero pasar 1 o 2 niveles a la ves y no mas o te aburrirás. otra cosa positiva es que tiene traducción completa al español, cosa que la mayoría de títulos actuales no tiene. En conclusión es un gran juego y lo recomiendo le doy un 09/10, pensaba en darle un 08/10 pero me encanto el poder quitar extremidades. Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2015
    7
    Отличная возможность поиграть за одного из лучших персонажей Marvel, к тому же управление и геймплей специально сделанные для ПК. До качества Max Payne не хватило только более серьёзного сюжета. А то так получилось, что игра хороша, но ей нечем надолго приковать к экрану.Отличная возможность поиграть за одного из лучших персонажей Marvel, к тому же управление и геймплей специально сделанные для ПК. До качества Max Payne не хватило только более серьёзного сюжета. А то так получилось, что игра хороша, но ей нечем надолго приковать к экрану.
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. It's not all brutality. The Punisher is also one of the most immersive strategy games ever created. Aim for the head and enjoy.
  2. While it attempts to put its own spin on the third-person shooter genre by adding sometimes-gruesome interrogation sequences, this game is, more or less, "Max Payne" without the bullet time.
  3. Mediocre in many ways, with very little in the way of originality or true substance and with far too linear game play.