Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    71
    The first part of this series has made me hungry for more. I will be waiting for the second and third parts, as the anticipation was effectively built up in this introduction.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The controls occasionally feel clunky. [Issue#141, p.117]
  4. Aug 2, 2013
    70
    King Art manages to install an atmosphere and story that will capture the attention of Agatha Christie styled novels. But they will still have to make do with a less-than perfect interface, and some bugs. More importantly, one will have to trust while waiting for the second and third episodes to be released... and given the price of the lot, maybe it's best to wait for them to come out.
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, The Raven's underlying mystery is intriguing enough to continue traipsing back and forth between witnesses and reinvestigating crime scenes. However, the chapter ends on such an abrupt cliffhanger that you won't get much satisfaction out of the experience if you don't plan on playing the next installment.
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    70
    While the logic-based puzzles are never too perplexing, they can require a little too much back-and-forth travel between adjacent rooms, occasionally wearing out the good impression made by each gorgeously rendered setting.
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    Chase a notorious and presumed dead masterthief in this new point and click adventure game by the creators of The Book of Unwritten Tales. In the first episode you play as swiss police officer investigating the ravens latest heist. Experience exotic locations such as the famous orient express train or a luxurious cruise ship in the Mediterranean and solve mostly logical, simple riddles.
  8. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    Convincing characters, a well-realised, unusual setting and sensible puzzles. All evidence points to a strong opening for this episodic adventure series.
  9. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    A tranquil amble from the Swiss Alps to the middle of the Mediterranean, blemished by an overzealous approach to all things cinematic.
  10. Jul 29, 2013
    69
    As a three-episode game, so far we can state it is, indeed, very promising. Its story is fun and engaging, but the game is only available in English and German, which could be an issue for those unfamiliar with these languages.
  11. Sep 19, 2013
    66
    The first episode of The Raven trilogy is blink-and-you-miss-it short. The next time we’ll see the same events from the criminal’s point of view. Here is hoping that his version of the story is more interesting.
  12. Aug 15, 2013
    65
    The potential is there, but this first episode is a mess.
  13. Jul 25, 2013
    65
    The Raven is a gentle, well-crafted mystery, but it just doesn't carry enough interest or intrigue to make you fully invest.
  14. Aug 12, 2013
    60
    The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief may be a refreshing change of pace from the majority of video games on the market and a charming nod to to good, old traditional murder mysteries in the Agatha Christie vein, but as a single chapter in a three-game arc, it's too brief to satisfy, too buggy to impress, and not particularly captivating or engaging. I suppose that makes it a reasonably decent diversion then, but not one that's likely to stick with players for any length of time after the credits roll.
  15. Jul 19, 2013
    60
    While the game should be commended for its engaging plot and compelling narrative, more intuitive puzzles would have made Zellner's investigation far more enjoyable.
  16. Jul 24, 2013
    50
    The game's real problem is simply that it's boring.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    Unfortunately I let the hype get me and I bought this game. This game is soooo boring, all you
    do is run around and talk to a thousand people
    Unfortunately I let the hype get me and I bought this game. This game is soooo boring, all you
    do is run around and talk to a thousand people to get a story, a really
    boring story at that, long winded, not exciting or suspenseful at all,
    only 2-3 sort of fun thinking puzzles or things to solve....and it's not even
    the full game, it leaves you hanging off a cliff and doesn't even let
    you know this is only ONE part of a 3 part series, the other 2 are not
    out yet......so disappointed, and this game is lame. I can not emphasize how boring this game was and I'm really into nancy drew, mystery, little puzzle games which everyone keeps saying this is like. Umm no, all it is is way way way way way too much TALKING TO BORING CHARACTERS, way to slow. It's also slow and your character walks around to 7 other places before he gets to
    where you pointed him in the first place and many times he froze up
    walking in place for 5 minutes and I had to cold boot the whole computer
    to get the game to close.......
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Excellent game! Lots of fun for any mystery lover. The atmosphere is beautiful, and the characters were pretty interesting. I usually don'tExcellent game! Lots of fun for any mystery lover. The atmosphere is beautiful, and the characters were pretty interesting. I usually don't play adventure games, but was very impressed with this one. Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. One of the worst adventure games I have ever played. It sums up pretty much like this:

    The main character is a boring 65 year old Swiss guy; there is a murdering German Nazi Physician; a French Interpol-Agent with a drug addiction; and a "heroic" arab thief, that loves his white girl with her father-daughter-problems; and the Raven, an extremely aggressive but boring English dude. Put that all in a blender and you get the worst adventure story ever, with terrible writing, terrible voice acting, numerous plotholes, terribly easy puzzles and clunky and annoying movement.

    I have played numerous Adventure games, but this one probably takes the cake as probably the worst one ever. Don't read the fake reviews that the developers have written here. Don't buy this game, you will regret it.
    Full Review »