User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 761 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 761

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    The Sims 3 is an amazing game, that is very life like. I am looking forward to getting the new Expansion Packs. But I will agree that having no choice to have pets does kinda suck, and the graphics aren't the best. But this game will have you singing along to whatever Sim Language song is on the radio.
  2. May 25, 2013
    1
    Sims 3? Oh you meant sims 2 with online and micro transactions. I literally can't tell the difference between the two other than maybe the customization screen, the 3 in the title, and the online. Also, this is a PAY TO PLAY GAME with MICRO TRANSACTIONS. How much money do they need to suck out of your pocket? Not to mention how quickly you get bored of the thing. 1/10 for the 5 mins ofSims 3? Oh you meant sims 2 with online and micro transactions. I literally can't tell the difference between the two other than maybe the customization screen, the 3 in the title, and the online. Also, this is a PAY TO PLAY GAME with MICRO TRANSACTIONS. How much money do they need to suck out of your pocket? Not to mention how quickly you get bored of the thing. 1/10 for the 5 mins of mild entertainment. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    i came in on sims 3 and i am totally adicted to it. if you have never played the sims before you should love this game. i didnt think i'd be interested in it much but now its my most played game. it is a huge time sink though
  4. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    As a player sometimes i want to play a game without limits. I look through my old games and try to decide which one can satisfy my open world hunger. And at the end i always embrace my Sims games as a savior. Sims 3 is a very good game with expansions. In spite of many serious bugs and long loading times, game world is relaxing and beautiful. Gameplay is deep and diverse. Challenge isAs a player sometimes i want to play a game without limits. I look through my old games and try to decide which one can satisfy my open world hunger. And at the end i always embrace my Sims games as a savior. Sims 3 is a very good game with expansions. In spite of many serious bugs and long loading times, game world is relaxing and beautiful. Gameplay is deep and diverse. Challenge is optional and creation tools are great. This is the last maxis game which respects hardcore and casual players equally. But Sims 3 is very expansive toy and without expansion packs content is limited and repetitive. If you have money and patience to ignore serious bugs, game is worth buying. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    I enjoy the game for how life like the game is, and I never seem to get bored whenever i play it despite while most of the time the sims are either at work/school or sleeping.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    2
    The only thing I find fun about this game is to make completely opposed personalities in the same household and see what happens, other than that this game is simply too boring and slow.

    My background, I player Sims 1 a lot, I always liked it, so no, I'm not a "hater". First the game is badly programmed, filled with memory leaks that will lag your PC into oblivion, it took modders to
    The only thing I find fun about this game is to make completely opposed personalities in the same household and see what happens, other than that this game is simply too boring and slow.

    My background, I player Sims 1 a lot, I always liked it, so no, I'm not a "hater".

    First the game is badly programmed, filled with memory leaks that will lag your PC into oblivion, it took modders to fix what EA should have done. The game is extremely slow to load even on a good machine and has lots of bugs, and not the glitchy type, gameplay breaking bugs.

    Second the game gives such a low amount of personality options that you have to wonder, is this really a game about people and their interactions? No, its a game about repetitive cliches. Take almost any person you know, try to bring their traits and personality into the game, no can do, impossible, there's just no traits or combination of them to simulate most basic personalities.

    Third, the engine makes a very poor job at handling the towns, and by very poor I mean, ridiculous bad, it makes choices that make no sense whatsoever. The mechanics design of most features of the game, including expansions is completely broken, in my opinion not because it would be hard for a computer to process, but, due to very bad game engine design which limits the game into pure boredom and repetition.

    But not all his bad, like I said, there's some very few funny moments like seeing your next door crazy neighbor going through the trash at 3am. Building is also very nice and detailed.

    This game is a nice "architect for children" simulation, other than that, avoid it.
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    7
    This game would deserve a 10/10 if it wasn't so ridiculously buggy. About 75% of the bugs you come across can be fixed with console cheats if you know how. Such as, Sims getting stuck places they shouldn't be, Sims disappearing, etc. However some aren't as easily fixed such as miscalculations of the Sims in your household meaning you can't adopt, graphics glitches, stopping your Sims fromThis game would deserve a 10/10 if it wasn't so ridiculously buggy. About 75% of the bugs you come across can be fixed with console cheats if you know how. Such as, Sims getting stuck places they shouldn't be, Sims disappearing, etc. However some aren't as easily fixed such as miscalculations of the Sims in your household meaning you can't adopt, graphics glitches, stopping your Sims from finding a job, sound loops etc. It seems the longer you play one saved game the more likely you are to come across bugs.

    Aside from the bugs the gameplay is awesome. You can customise your Sims pretty much however you want, you can extend their life to ages and ages or move through generations quickly, build awesome houses. Sims 3 gives you a lot more control over the game than previous Sims games. However, the exception to this is the building which doesn't offer anything new and can be very clunky at times. If your the main thing you do in the Sims is build homes I'd suggest you play TS2 and skip all the bugs.
    Expand
  8. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have played all sims so far, excepting the mobile ones and I can truly state that The Sims series is one of the few that really brings something new at every new titles. Sims 3 is a 2009 game, and the graphics are great, but not fantastic. There are a lot of things to do, building a house, keep a family and other many, but the movement, vocal and CAS items should be improved better. Also, I appreciate that there are lots of special and hidden things, as places, relations and characters. But there is a major problem: there are no special changes from The Sims 2, and here I'm talking about things specific only in gameplay. Nevertheless, The Sims 3 is a very important game in the sims franchise and therefor I give it an 8, rating it great. Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    the only thing that i always wanted on a Sims game was, Babies, create a real family and a family tree! The only reason i don't give it a 10 is not having split screen :( my sister and i used to play together on Sims 2. The interaction the new jobs and the mods for the game were excellent, Sims 3 is an epic game that provides long hours of play and fun creating Sims or families. And thethe only thing that i always wanted on a Sims game was, Babies, create a real family and a family tree! The only reason i don't give it a 10 is not having split screen :( my sister and i used to play together on Sims 2. The interaction the new jobs and the mods for the game were excellent, Sims 3 is an epic game that provides long hours of play and fun creating Sims or families. And the expansions were very good as well. Expand
  10. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    As a former draftsman, and a fan of life simulation, I fell in love with this game. The ability to lead a fantastical second life while not being sucked into Second Life, this game really played on my hopes and dreams. While that sounds sad, it's actually a nice way to escape troubles for a short while while you "live" your dream of becoming a Blockbuster Movie Composer. Advancing yourAs a former draftsman, and a fan of life simulation, I fell in love with this game. The ability to lead a fantastical second life while not being sucked into Second Life, this game really played on my hopes and dreams. While that sounds sad, it's actually a nice way to escape troubles for a short while while you "live" your dream of becoming a Blockbuster Movie Composer. Advancing your skills in the guitar is also enjoyable. Expand
  11. Jun 28, 2012
    5
    They Just need to add more.... The game has gotten more fun with the expansions but its just not enough. They need to make it a more real life experience....
  12. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed The Sims 3. It showed some impressive development from The Sims 2. I'm very glad to see its improvement and looking forward to The Sims 4 (if any). The graphic is incredible. At some point the game gets a bit inconvenient though acceptable. I wish they work on it a little bit and this game will be flawless.
  13. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    a good game, just a few things that need sorting i think you should be allowed to go to work with them aswell... As when i purchased the game i was told you could!
  14. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    Considering the amount of money you pay for this when it comes out, the amount of "new" is very little. Many of the furniture, build mode items, hair, clothing comes straight out of Sims 2 (if not the original Sims game). The things that have changed are good, but could've been more. The step from Sims 1 to 2 was a lot bigger and way more impressive and a great improvement. Apart from theConsidering the amount of money you pay for this when it comes out, the amount of "new" is very little. Many of the furniture, build mode items, hair, clothing comes straight out of Sims 2 (if not the original Sims game). The things that have changed are good, but could've been more. The step from Sims 1 to 2 was a lot bigger and way more impressive and a great improvement. Apart from the graphics and the seamless city, new jobs etc. little has changed. Expand
  15. May 9, 2012
    8
    The Sims 3 is a really good life simulator game, but not better than The Sims 2. The SIms 3 haves some cool extras like, exploring the city, new jobs etc. The graphics are better, but the gameplay no. I miss building my own shop, I miss visiting aliens, I miss their cool expansion. So, I'm giving a positive rating, 8 points.
  16. J.S.
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    The Sims 3 is by far the best of the series. Essentially everything annoying about the previous game has been removed, and there have been many fun additions to the gameplay. The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is the apparent move to microtransactions, which rubs me the wrong way. There are very few items in-game and most items and articles of clothing cost the equivalent of $0.75 The Sims 3 is by far the best of the series. Essentially everything annoying about the previous game has been removed, and there have been many fun additions to the gameplay. The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is the apparent move to microtransactions, which rubs me the wrong way. There are very few items in-game and most items and articles of clothing cost the equivalent of $0.75 each. Fortunately, you can get most of the good ones with the $10.00 worth of free points when you buy the game. Hopefully the boxed expansions will provide more value. Expand
  17. MikeD
    Jun 3, 2009
    9
    The game is good. It feels like a solid game but is missing a few features that have always been there. The first is the fact that they skimped in some areas where they added it other. Sims don't get in there car any more they just appear in there car or bike about 5 or 6 feet away from the ride. My second issue I found that its one Sim to a neighborhood. You can have as many as you The game is good. It feels like a solid game but is missing a few features that have always been there. The first is the fact that they skimped in some areas where they added it other. Sims don't get in there car any more they just appear in there car or bike about 5 or 6 feet away from the ride. My second issue I found that its one Sim to a neighborhood. You can have as many as you want but you cant work with more then 1 family inside one neighborhood filled with a bunch of family's to pick from. This doesn't phase me all that much but it kinda is an annoyance. I haven't gotten to the point where the kids move out but who knows what will happen then. The last thought I have is how cluttered some of the options are compared to the Sims 2. It just feels to diff rent. I know some people say don't compare it to the Sims 2 but you kinda have to because sequels seek to improve not create something new. Expand
  18. Feb 11, 2011
    1
    This game is what happens when you mainstream, dumb down, and simplify a well-known franchise. Nothing really is worth the sixty dollar price tag and I honestly feel robbed and ripped off. My money might be gone to feed the greedy pigs at EA, but at least I can give my honest feedback of this game here. Only positive aspect and to start my review, the only redeeming feature is theThis game is what happens when you mainstream, dumb down, and simplify a well-known franchise. Nothing really is worth the sixty dollar price tag and I honestly feel robbed and ripped off. My money might be gone to feed the greedy pigs at EA, but at least I can give my honest feedback of this game here. Only positive aspect and to start my review, the only redeeming feature is the Create-A-Sim all else falls flat and feels hallow. Within an hour, I felt bored and just could not get into the game. I'm a veteran of Sims 1 and 2 and prefer those two in the series. The core game feels too focused and prioritized on visuals, something the previous games did not need. What actually let me down and disappointed myself was to see content resisted to The Store, a service on The Sims 3 website which you need to pay to unlock an object. This is not necessary to hold content from us and having us pay, it feels like theft. If you take a look at the forums, there is a vast majority who have problems due to bugs and/or glitches and I feel bad for them that they cannot play the game or properly. This is another problem, bugs and glitches which remain causing problems with the game. Ah well, I'm sure this new generation of simmers are having a good time because to them graphics only matter mostly and are "sick" and "epic" Expand
  19. LisaH
    Jun 5, 2009
    5
    I have had all the Sims games, but this one at present, seems to be the one I like the least! Personally I find the graphics are nowhere near as sharp as the previous games, and colours less vibrant. - so visually I find it seems messy & incompleted. I liked the simplicity of Sims 2, and some of the quirky add-ons from Sims 1 i.e. Making Magic, shame Sims3 isn't an synergy of the I have had all the Sims games, but this one at present, seems to be the one I like the least! Personally I find the graphics are nowhere near as sharp as the previous games, and colours less vibrant. - so visually I find it seems messy & incompleted. I liked the simplicity of Sims 2, and some of the quirky add-ons from Sims 1 i.e. Making Magic, shame Sims3 isn't an synergy of the best parts of Sim1 & 2. I may get used to this one - or atleast I'm hoping I will, but for me, the clarity of the graphics is disappointing! Expand
  20. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    The Sims 3 is an amazing game, that is very life like. I am looking forward to getting the new Expansion Packs. But I will agree that having no choice to have pets does kinda suck, and the graphics aren't the best. But this game will have you singing along to whatever Sim Language song is on the radio.
  21. Lloyd
    Jun 8, 2009
    6
    While its a fairly solid release with little bugs to annoy me, I can't help but feel the new direction EA has taken TS3 - which is 'take out the majority of contents useable in TS2 and make everything available on the EA Store'. Is it just me or does TS3 seem less in content then TS2 included in it's vanilla base game? Eg, the Tiki set costs a lot more than i couldWhile its a fairly solid release with little bugs to annoy me, I can't help but feel the new direction EA has taken TS3 - which is 'take out the majority of contents useable in TS2 and make everything available on the EA Store'. Is it just me or does TS3 seem less in content then TS2 included in it's vanilla base game? Eg, the Tiki set costs a lot more than i could afford on the EA store. Expand
  22. JasonBlack
    Jul 1, 2009
    9
    The Sims games have always put in a new era of life-and-style! Ive played the Sims 1 and 2 many times. Ive imagined that one day the Sims 3 would come out one day when I was younger. My friend and I even submitted many ideas about a Sims 3 game. Im still questioning whether this game was made because of me and my friends submits to the company.
  23. TM
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    The Sims 3, is just plan fun. It has taken the very best from both sims games before it and improved upon it. Though the paying to get new sets is just an money grab i am looking forward to see what new stuff the expansion will add.
  24. StevenB.
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I like how many different careers there are in the game to master. Runs really well on my laptop too.
  25. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    The sims 3 is really awesome. I love having the ability to suck up ghosts or to be a master thief. Adventures is lots of fun too, though I have trouble woo hooing the locals. I hate to say it but I can't find one thing wrong with this game... well other than lack of more expansions for me to buy. Keep it coming ea.
  26. Apr 5, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I bought this game about a year after it's release. I've been playing ever since; however, not everyday. The more I play this game, the more it disappoints me. I will first state my PROS. The graphics in the Sims 3 are much better than the graphics in the Sims 2. Surprisingly, this is my only PRO.

    Now, on to the CONS. In The Sims and The Sims 2, it was much easier to lie down a lot and build a house because there was so much space and in The Sims 2 about two or three worlds were given. The Sims 3 only gives one world, other worlds have to be purchased, and most of the space is used by rabbit holes or already laid houses. There is little space to lie down more buildings. You can renovate your world but not all of the land is flat and making it flat requires patience. In The Sims 2, you could see your Sims work. In The Sims 3 it is quite the opposite. Your sim will go to work but you cannot see any work they will do; You will only be notified that they are working. This was a huge disappoint for me.

    In The Sims and the Sims 2, almost every item in the game you could use or your sim could use. There were only very few items for display, such as statues or plants. In The Sims 3, there are many items that cannot be put to use in this game. For example; the powder bar (I forgot the name but it is located under items for the bathroom). In The Sims 2, babies were to be changed on a bar very similar to the powder but in The Sims 3 they are changed in the air. In The Sims 2, dirty diapers were left behind and so was messy baby food and bottles. Babies are a handful. The game-play is more realistic in The Sims 2 than in The Sims 3. Another example is the cash register. Placing a cash register will not result to Sims working or the fact that you cannot hire and fire. The whole business/working aspect is a complete miss in this game.

    The action in this game is a miss also. I liked when the Sims would have their first kiss or get married, the screen would show a brief moment of their happiness. By the way when the Sims get married, in the Sims 3, there isn't a preacher to wed them only an arch. There isn't even a wedding cake available. There's only one buffet table but there isn't a chef. I bought the Sims generation expansion pack because I thought it would fill these lacking elements...I was wrong. Completely wrong! Speaking of lacking elements, there isn't a butler available either.

    Simple things that were available in the previous editions are pulled from this game so you have to purchase (BUY) these objects on The Sims 3 site i.e the wedding cake and other buffet tables. A sim can gain skill to play the guitar but cannot sing unless you buy The Showtime Expansion pack. The guitar is the only instrument available. In The Sims 2, there was also a piano and the chance for your sim to sing without the purchase of any expansion packs.

    The more expansion packs I buy, the more I start to dislike the game. The expansion packs are to expand the game but instead they only add a few more objects, maybe a skill, and more rabbit holes. The expansion packs to the previous editions really expanded the game. For example, In one expansion pack, you can invent. Which is pretty cool but it's very limited; especially in action. A sim can invent a drill but only drills holes. What's the point of watching your sim drill a hole only to find more scraps and gems? Also there is a genie available in the ambitions expansion pack, the genie only grants few wishes and there are only a few things to wish about. Once the genie grants the wish, only a small segment of action happens and that is it!

    The buildings, such as a salon and tattoo parlor, are useless in the Sims 3. I was expecting for these additions to change the game play. I thought I would be able to see a sim give another sim a makeover or do another Sims hair. Negative, Your sim steps on the block in front of the mirror only for you to change his appearance. You can do that with a base mirror in your own home. The tattoo part is OK. But it still needs updating. The Sims 3 lacks creativity. Call me picky...but I like to see my sim use all of its objects. If there's a candle, I'd like to see my sim light it. If there's magazines, I'd like to see my Sims read them. If there's a clothing rack in a shop, I'd like to see my sim be able to try on and buy clothes. If there's a cash register, I'd like to see my Sims be able to work. if there's toilet paper, i'd like to see my sim use it. The Sims 3 needs more useful objects. The light up dance floor isn't available not even in the ambitions or showtimes expansion pack.

    Also This game heats up my computer and causes it to shut off. The more you add, the more it slows. I hope things are better for the Sims 4. However, I'm sure they will make you purchase things that should already be loaded onto the came. I'm still a hardcore Sims fan just a disappointed buyer.
    Expand
  27. Cherls
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Ignore the doom-mongerers, this game is such a step up. I was a huge fan of Sims 2 but Sims 3 is miles ahead. Apart from a few things which could be improved (stairs and dropping terrain) the build mode is v intuative and the 'Create Style' option lets you customise almost anything. When it comes to game-play the open neighbourhood is amazing, no more lengthy loads, you can just Ignore the doom-mongerers, this game is such a step up. I was a huge fan of Sims 2 but Sims 3 is miles ahead. Apart from a few things which could be improved (stairs and dropping terrain) the build mode is v intuative and the 'Create Style' option lets you customise almost anything. When it comes to game-play the open neighbourhood is amazing, no more lengthy loads, you can just cruise around town. Sim interaction is improved, there are more skills to learn, things to do and the opportunities addition is a great idea. I'll admit, it took me about a fortnight to make the move from 2 to 3 but now there's no question. Looking forward to great things from the expansion packs! Expand
  28. AndrewL
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    All I can say is, wow! What an improvement on the last two games! The only thing that set me back is that there were a few items missing (diving board, hot tub, pool table) but like any Sims game they're on their way shortly, and judging by how much i like this one at the moment I'm going to be investing a lot in this title. Its brilliant. Tiny install time and gorgeous All I can say is, wow! What an improvement on the last two games! The only thing that set me back is that there were a few items missing (diving board, hot tub, pool table) but like any Sims game they're on their way shortly, and judging by how much i like this one at the moment I'm going to be investing a lot in this title. Its brilliant. Tiny install time and gorgeous graphics. It can be a little confusing with selecting houses and things from the neighbourhood screen (I think it goes without saying the old systems were more simple) but it's a new touch and judging by how you now play the game, it works. You zoom out from your home, mid gameplay, click a restaurant, and within 10 seconds your Sims have responded and are on their way in a cab (or your own, very generous costing car). Behing able to put an object on a table in a grid of 9 rather than just one spot is much more appealing than you'd think. Having a lamp and a pot plant on the same side table puts that little bit more depth into your design.. the capabilities are endless. There is so much humour within the game and the new Sim character design is great, although for some reason the stock heads are awfully wide, it doesnt take much to squeeze the cheekbones in. Skill raising is even more challenging than before and the game has seriously added a whole new lifespan to it with this 3rd title. Expand
  29. HelloKitty
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    Before anyone deems "The Sims 2" and "The Sims 3" to be completely "different" games, and as such, The Sims 3 should not be judged based on it's predecessor, you should review the defininition of franchise. The Sims 3 replaces The Sims 2 in terms of funding, that means that EA will finish up whatever it has left for the platform and start funding The Sims 3 instead of The Sims 2. Now Before anyone deems "The Sims 2" and "The Sims 3" to be completely "different" games, and as such, The Sims 3 should not be judged based on it's predecessor, you should review the defininition of franchise. The Sims 3 replaces The Sims 2 in terms of funding, that means that EA will finish up whatever it has left for the platform and start funding The Sims 3 instead of The Sims 2. Now this sounds typical, but understand that if The Sims 3 simply built upon The Sims 2 there would be no problem in the transition, but as it is there are many people who are unhappy with the new product, who continue to play with the old and are being pushed aside as EA abandons its old playerbase to form a new one with this release. Honestly, the Sims 1 was a lot more rewarding than The Sims 2... it was more difficult, and items had a more... marked... effect. The Sims 2 was a rewardless sandbox with many features that could have been cooler... the Sims 3 is... something else... I don't even understand what it is suppose to be. Expand
  30. LaslowD
    Sep 5, 2009
    1
    I became bored of it within 5 days. The construction part was slightly interesting, albeit with poor graphics. It's basically the level editor section of any other game, except the actual single player is incredibly pointless and painful to watch. You watch a bunch of AI walk around and "interact" with each other. They even give you a fast-forward option, but even at full speed that I became bored of it within 5 days. The construction part was slightly interesting, albeit with poor graphics. It's basically the level editor section of any other game, except the actual single player is incredibly pointless and painful to watch. You watch a bunch of AI walk around and "interact" with each other. They even give you a fast-forward option, but even at full speed that isn't enough to make it even the tiniest bit interesting. It's a building game. "The Sims" fans -- buy literally any other game (especially FPS) and use the level editor. You'll be like "OH MY GOD, THIS IS THE BEST SIMS GAME EVER" Expand
  31. EmmaG.
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    It's a really good game,but you can't built any lots!It was my fave part,so it's a bit bad for me.The other things are really exciting.Fishing,parties are fantastic!I love the graphics! But you've got to buy a new graphic card.If you don't your game will stuck.
  32. AnonymousMC
    Jul 14, 2009
    4
    The seemless feature is okay, but a lot of simple things have been made frustratingly difficult. Placing stairs are a pain and removing a family means deleting a whole neighborhood. A lot of the simplicity has been lost and a lot of what made the sims 2 fun is missing forcing us to wait three or four years so we can buy it back.
  33. Sep 25, 2010
    6
    The Sims 3 is great, however the disability to have pets really takes it down a notch. The expansion packs are also not the best. Much better than most of the other Sims games, however.
  34. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Sims 3 is an amazing game. I got it from my father and i fell in love with it right when i pressed "Create Sims" I find this game brilliant and amazing. Its the best thing i have ever played in my life. If i could i would play it 24/7.... It's just soooooo amazing. Point covered
  35. May 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best games out there using just the simplest ideas: Create human characters and control their life. The sims series is amazing and number three is a big highlight. The art/create style tool adds a whole new customization aspect to the game, its amazing. You can take any object (except fences and stairs) and make it look like almost any material you can think of and have anyOne of the best games out there using just the simplest ideas: Create human characters and control their life. The sims series is amazing and number three is a big highlight. The art/create style tool adds a whole new customization aspect to the game, its amazing. You can take any object (except fences and stairs) and make it look like almost any material you can think of and have any color in the entire color spectrum. The new opportunities system is a great addition and the lifetime rewards are awesome! 10 out of 10. Expand
  36. DanDan
    Jun 27, 2009
    0
    This is hardly sims 3 i would more say sim 2.1. For a start the graphics are rubbish compared to sims 3, the people look odd, its looks so unrealistic and its all and well having all these new destinations just a shame we cant go into them. I personally feel that sims creators are insulting us by selling us this rubbish £35. I have been a faithful sims player from day one and saying This is hardly sims 3 i would more say sim 2.1. For a start the graphics are rubbish compared to sims 3, the people look odd, its looks so unrealistic and its all and well having all these new destinations just a shame we cant go into them. I personally feel that sims creators are insulting us by selling us this rubbish £35. I have been a faithful sims player from day one and saying I'm disappointed is an understatement. Expand
  37. beccal
    Jun 21, 2009
    1
    Merely because it is barely a step up from the sims 2. Was a huge disappointment and frankly, £35 and about six hours of my life that i'll never get back. the sims look a bit odd, the noses just don't look right, and there is a lack of content. bring out a few well priced expansion packs and i might change my mind. also, it is so SLOW. Not the loading or gameplay, but the Merely because it is barely a step up from the sims 2. Was a huge disappointment and frankly, £35 and about six hours of my life that i'll never get back. the sims look a bit odd, the noses just don't look right, and there is a lack of content. bring out a few well priced expansion packs and i might change my mind. also, it is so SLOW. Not the loading or gameplay, but the actual time goes by so slowly. you have to sit and watch your sims sleep for about ten minutes - and that's not fun. Expand
  38. AlexP
    Aug 27, 2009
    5
    The Sims 3 was very exciting at first. With all the news about it, and the advertising, it sounded pretty good. The idea of a seamless neighborhood is amazing! Unfortunately though, the seamless neighborhood isn't complete. You arn't allowed to follow your sim inside stores, restaurants and other buildings. The building creator is worse too. You can't build stores anymore, The Sims 3 was very exciting at first. With all the news about it, and the advertising, it sounded pretty good. The idea of a seamless neighborhood is amazing! Unfortunately though, the seamless neighborhood isn't complete. You arn't allowed to follow your sim inside stores, restaurants and other buildings. The building creator is worse too. You can't build stores anymore, which was one of my favorite features of the sims 2. It gets worse. There is only 1 playable neighborhood, and you can't create your own! Changing families is a drag too. It is a lot of work, as you have to go to the new"town editor" and deselect your family. On the other hand, you can walk around town, which is fun for a while, and the Create a sim has a lot of new great features. The seamless neighborhood is great too, if you dont consider what I wrote about the public lots. If they make a Sims Box like they did for sim city(we all know why ea did that) then you might have fun with the sims 3 for a few days. I recommend that you stay with the Sims 2 for now. Expand
  39. BrandonTasker
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    "Lisa H gave it a5:
    I have had all the Sims games, but this one at present, seems to be the one I like the least! Personally I find the graphics are nowhere near as sharp as the previous games, and colours less vibrant. - so visually I find it seems messy & incompleted. I liked the simplicity of Sims 2, and some of the quirky add-ons from Sims 1 i.e. Making Magic, shame Sims3 isn't
    "Lisa H gave it a5:
    I have had all the Sims games, but this one at present, seems to be the one I like the least! Personally I find the graphics are nowhere near as sharp as the previous games, and colours less vibrant. - so visually I find it seems messy & incompleted. I liked the simplicity of Sims 2, and some of the quirky add-ons from Sims 1 i.e. Making Magic, shame Sims3 isn't an synergy of the best parts of Sim1 & 2. I may get used to this one - or atleast I'm hoping I will, but for me, the clarity of the graphics is disappointing!"
    **How can you rate this at a 5, i have a 4 year old computer and the graphics are way better than "the sims" or the "sims 2", either you must have a shit graphics card with dx8 or you got a broken cracked version of sims 3, and there are also a lot more colors, so wtf?** <3
    Expand
  40. SECRETCLUE
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    A brilliant brilliant game! EA could have just stuck to the old formula of The Sims 2 (and would have still sold a lot of copies). But, they took risks with the Sims 3. These risks paid off, BIG TIME! After playing Sims 3 you wonder how we ever managed before? There is now a whole town that you can explore in (which looks incredible btw), all with no loading screens. There is new music, A brilliant brilliant game! EA could have just stuck to the old formula of The Sims 2 (and would have still sold a lot of copies). But, they took risks with the Sims 3. These risks paid off, BIG TIME! After playing Sims 3 you wonder how we ever managed before? There is now a whole town that you can explore in (which looks incredible btw), all with no loading screens. There is new music, and combined with the look of the game feels like you are playing a game of Desperate Housewives or the Stepford Wives. While this by it self is great there is a lot more. New "moodlets" keep the game much more interesting, as do lifetime wishes. I did think that I would miss all of The Sims 2 expansions, but EA have taken the best from each and put them all into The Sims 3. The game continues to impress me everytime I play it, there is so much depth. The only problem I can find is with performance. I have all the graphical options turned up, and the game runs very slow (there are few more powerful computers than mine). I suspect performance will be improved in upcoming patches. Overall I would give this game full marks...it is truely deserved! Expand
  41. SimonM
    Jul 30, 2009
    2
    EA has marred this beloved title, turning it into a a creche of progress bars and text boxes, the standard-issue of corporate apathy. Some new design toys for the player are added, as well as the ability to find rocks and do virtually nothing with them;; a glittery paste caving in upon a non-working, disjointed hollow. The Sims 3 is a derelict of titles passed, fully featured with EA has marred this beloved title, turning it into a a creche of progress bars and text boxes, the standard-issue of corporate apathy. Some new design toys for the player are added, as well as the ability to find rocks and do virtually nothing with them;; a glittery paste caving in upon a non-working, disjointed hollow. The Sims 3 is a derelict of titles passed, fully featured with families that don't autonomously show love, limited cross-connectivity between game features, and a total lack of uniqueness in animation and personality variation. Ex: "Evil" sims can "take maniacal naps" which do not even look different. This game is not only a disappointment; it is not only tear-jerking for true fans, it is a completely dangerous standard regression for our youth, who will hardly see their efforts to play creatively be rewarded by unique results, as with previous maxis games. Our young will learn and adopt this standard, bringing us to true idiocracy. Expand
  42. DKF
    Jan 28, 2011
    2
    I'm a big sims fan.... but Sim3 is a piece of c r a p.
    I mean there are a few things fine and dandy, some nice innovative things as well. The seamless zones are great. But! there are far too many things weighing this game down. The content in the game is "small".
    Then I see that you can buy the content for the game for a lot more money via expansions or the STORE. I'm insulted that
    I'm a big sims fan.... but Sim3 is a piece of c r a p.
    I mean there are a few things fine and dandy, some nice innovative things as well. The seamless zones are great. But! there are far too many things weighing this game down. The content in the game is "small".
    Then I see that you can buy the content for the game for a lot more money via expansions or the STORE.
    I'm insulted that EA tries this trickery to rape me of my money just because I'm a sims fanboi.
    This slap in the face is what now makes me wash my hands of this silly franchise, finally. Sims3 is just boring... boring boring, walk around boring, with no actual content or point to developing your sims, or house.
    Expand
  43. karenl
    Nov 27, 2009
    1
    When i play sims 2 there are no gameplay restrictions. When I played Sims 3 i felt very limited. Why is it that people think that they have to fix something that isn't broken. It's a very boring game and why can't there be sims that are gay in sims 3.
  44. Jan 28, 2011
    2
    First off, I paid £30 for this. I was expecting more, the game itself doesn't have that much to do, it's sleep, eat, work, all the time on this game, then if you manage to get money, buy a better house. THEN, they want me to pay for expansions and content from the store. Sure, they need money, but £12 for a small furniture pack and £30 for expansions?First off, I paid £30 for this. I was expecting more, the game itself doesn't have that much to do, it's sleep, eat, work, all the time on this game, then if you manage to get money, buy a better house. THEN, they want me to pay for expansions and content from the store. Sure, they need money, but £12 for a small furniture pack and £30 for expansions? Most games actually have tools to make mods and make custom weapons/furniture, but it's almost as if EA don't want any of their games modded. Took me hours to find tools, because EA don't provide all the tools needed on the Sims site, and it's very hard to make anything at all. Graphics aren't great, lack of locations, I played at the most 6 hours then never played again. Expand
  45. seanr
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    I give this game a 9 as opposed to a 10 because it looks like EA is going to plug us with priced expansions and DLC for The Sims 3, much like before. Though the advent of user-made content being made free is really quite something on their part. I didn't play 2 as I felt they overkilled it with the expansions and so lost my interest...so keep that in mind..but anyway, I freaking love I give this game a 9 as opposed to a 10 because it looks like EA is going to plug us with priced expansions and DLC for The Sims 3, much like before. Though the advent of user-made content being made free is really quite something on their part. I didn't play 2 as I felt they overkilled it with the expansions and so lost my interest...so keep that in mind..but anyway, I freaking love this game. I got it in the mail the other day and haven't stopped playing it since, pretty much. It's possibly the most addictive game I've ever played -- no lie. I agree with everyone who says this game is a masterpiece -- I wanted something different for my collection, a real full package that offered what something only like The Sims can offer, and godamn, did I get it. As noted, probably the game's greatest strength is the combination of its breadth and accessibility -- the accessibility doesn't feel "stupid", though, if you get my meaning. In short, this is a near perfect game, and I think pretty much everyone should have it. Get stupidly addicted ("I just gotta do this next thing..!") -- you'll be thankful for it. Expand
  46. BrandonT
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    This game is way better than the other two. For the graphics, I give it an 8 or 9 out of 10 because the Sims 2 has better graphics. The Sims 3 is great, though. There are so many more things to do and it's more life-like. You can play in the sprinkler, hang out on the tree house, ride your bike to school, and go to the spa. The features are fantabulous. I recommend it to anyone and This game is way better than the other two. For the graphics, I give it an 8 or 9 out of 10 because the Sims 2 has better graphics. The Sims 3 is great, though. There are so many more things to do and it's more life-like. You can play in the sprinkler, hang out on the tree house, ride your bike to school, and go to the spa. The features are fantabulous. I recommend it to anyone and everyone. It's a must!!! Expand
  47. SECRETCLUE
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    A brilliant brilliant game! EA could have just stuck to the old formula of The Sims 2 (and would have still sold a lot of copies). But, they took risks with the Sims 3. These risks paid off, BIG TIME! After playing Sims 3 you wonder how we ever managed before? There is now a whole town that you can explore in (which looks incredible btw), all with no loading screens. There is new music, A brilliant brilliant game! EA could have just stuck to the old formula of The Sims 2 (and would have still sold a lot of copies). But, they took risks with the Sims 3. These risks paid off, BIG TIME! After playing Sims 3 you wonder how we ever managed before? There is now a whole town that you can explore in (which looks incredible btw), all with no loading screens. There is new music, and combined with the look of the game feels like you are playing a game of Desperate Housewives or the Stepford Wives. While this by it self is great there is a lot more. New "moodlets" keep the game much more interesting, as do lifetime wishes. I did think that I would miss all of The Sims 2 expansions, but EA have taken the best from each and put them all into The Sims 3. The game continues to impress me everytime I play it, there is so much depth. The only problem I can find is with performance. I have all the graphical options turned up, and the game runs very slow (there are few more powerful computers than mine). I suspect performance will be improved in upcoming patches. Overall I would give this game full marks...it is truely deserved! Expand
  48. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Man oh man. This game is just ... too great. There is more customization and the sims in this game just really stands out. The graphics are beast on High settings and you can basically do whatever you want in the environment. Not much is really limited to what you want to do with your sims!
  49. Oct 16, 2011
    4
    Soy fanática de los Sims 3, pero quiero criticarlo porque deberían sacar la expansión de hacer negocios, como lo hicieron en los Sims 2, que eso fue lo que le dio la vida, y uno podía hacer muchas cosas.
    Por favor a los Sims 3 lo unico que le faltan para ser perfectos es la expansión de los negocios.
  50. Feb 6, 2012
    4
    I've been a fan of the franchise since I was a kid, and The Sims 3 further develops what the first conceptualized. This review would be completely positive if it were not for one big concern. Bugs. Oodles of them. I've played through multiple households and over time each one has become unplayable, bogged down with debilitating bugs. I've spent over a year monitoring the official communityI've been a fan of the franchise since I was a kid, and The Sims 3 further develops what the first conceptualized. This review would be completely positive if it were not for one big concern. Bugs. Oodles of them. I've played through multiple households and over time each one has become unplayable, bogged down with debilitating bugs. I've spent over a year monitoring the official community forums, and patching my game. Nothing. It's one thing if EA would keep up a dialogue with it's customers, but instead the forums go completely ignored. Meanwhile, they start work on a store for peddling digital items. I can see where EA's priorities lie. Accordingly, nothing EA produces will have priority in the future as far as my gaming budget is concerned. I suggest you all adopt the same outlook until EA seriously improves its customer service performance. At the very least DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Otherwise, all you're in for is frustration. Expand
  51. NickT
    Aug 18, 2009
    8
    Although far from perfect initially (with the inevitable onslaught of expansion packs yet to come), this game is a step up from Sims 1 and Sims 2. The game churns out bug-fixing patches and its DLC is online (some free others you have to pay for), but you need internet for both. If your sims die from old age or something else, chances are an opportunity may arise to raise them from the Although far from perfect initially (with the inevitable onslaught of expansion packs yet to come), this game is a step up from Sims 1 and Sims 2. The game churns out bug-fixing patches and its DLC is online (some free others you have to pay for), but you need internet for both. If your sims die from old age or something else, chances are an opportunity may arise to raise them from the dead (and be able to control them once more). Adoption is a must-have phone service for sims that fail to "woo hoo" before they become elderly. Child-raising is a tad easier in some places, but a tad harder in others. Before I ramble too much about the game, I might as well remind you that hating it just because you hate it isn't really a good idea. Those who want to abuse sims should look elsewhere, though, as not much options for killing them exist. In a nutshell: Pros= Graphics, sfx, bgm, customization, dlc, etc. Cons= System requirements, price of some dlc, can't go into community buildings, lack of killing options, etc. Expand
  52. Sean
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    The person who complained about the graphics... the problem with "clarity" isn't the game, its the fact that you don't know how to adjust you're settings or you have a very poorly performing computer. One of the good things about this game is the fact that they did improve on the graphical interface and character/environment design. Overall the game is the best in the The person who complained about the graphics... the problem with "clarity" isn't the game, its the fact that you don't know how to adjust you're settings or you have a very poorly performing computer. One of the good things about this game is the fact that they did improve on the graphical interface and character/environment design. Overall the game is the best in the series. No one should be allowed to complain about the graphics. Expand
  53. CristianoD
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    Well worth the wait, the Sims 3 is a masterpiece. While not perfect, it improves so completely on the Sims 2 by offering both an open world with no load screens and endless customization. It retains the charm and humor of previous games, but it is a dramatic step forward technology wise.
  54. MarkT
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    I am giving this a 10, because I believe this game really is as good as it gets. I am a huge fan of MMOs, RPGs, Action FPS, RTS - what have you, the normal fare. But every so often games in other genres come along and grab me. This is one. I must be one of the few who never spent a long time on previous Sims incarnations - a bit here and there, so was familiar with the basics but not much I am giving this a 10, because I believe this game really is as good as it gets. I am a huge fan of MMOs, RPGs, Action FPS, RTS - what have you, the normal fare. But every so often games in other genres come along and grab me. This is one. I must be one of the few who never spent a long time on previous Sims incarnations - a bit here and there, so was familiar with the basics but not much more. So I come with a relatively fresh mind; dont really judge it by its history. This is one of those game that really can keep you going til the wee hours of the morning.. the effort reward structure is perfect - always one more thing to achieve. Its funny, and alluring, and entertaining - and creative! The movie mode is golden. Games really do not come better than this. My main concern is this: that certain tools have been denied the user in order to drive a vibrant microtransactions market. But that is not so much a comment on the game, but the revenue model. Expand
  55. Dalekc
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    Very cool game, I am not a fan of the sims much although my sister is. I got this for her and she really likes it. There is 10x more things to do creating your sim and props. You get to know 'bots/players' better. It has multi-player aswel so that makes the game more epic.
  56. Aug 23, 2011
    6
    Okay, so I am huge fan of the sims series, but this version, has pros and cons. More cons than pros.
    Pros:
    Seamless neighborhoods -This was a very nice touch, adding realism. More skills -The skills give you more stuff to do when your not working--very rare occasion. Now onto the cons: Unrealistic: the first two were meant to simulate a real family, and they did, very nicely. But this
    Okay, so I am huge fan of the sims series, but this version, has pros and cons. More cons than pros.
    Pros:
    Seamless neighborhoods
    -This was a very nice touch, adding realism.
    More skills
    -The skills give you more stuff to do when your not working--very rare occasion.
    Now onto the cons:
    Unrealistic: the first two were meant to simulate a real family, and they did, very nicely. But this version, personalities seem, just, off.
    Very slow: not just loading screens, which are terrible, but also game time, it takes forever to do remidial tasks, such as eating sleeping cleaning.
    Jobs: your working all day everyday, and your out of energy by the time you get home, and when you wake up, your late for work.
    Strange personalities: something just doesn't seem right about their personalities, they all seem really dull and sad alot of the time.
    Horrid AI: set the Free Will to max, and they will die of starvation. It seems that the AI system in this version was downgraded.
    So thats about it. EA seems to be becoming the next Activisio, caring about money more than quality.
    Expand
  57. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    The Sims 3 is a brave attempt at trying to make the series head in a new direction and appeal more to actual gamers but by doing so might end up not satisfying either camp.
  58. May 7, 2012
    10
    the sims: the Funeest game it was so Fun i made them dance & tehn they woohhoed and then i kiled her and ate her body but i can't Remmember if it actualy happened or if it hpanened on sims 3 beause it is the Funeest game and its like real live
  59. AndrewS
    Jun 18, 2009
    5
    A really fun game - That is if you don't factor in the crashing that thousands of people who absolutely meet the mininum requirements are experiencing (EA has yet to create a path for this... big surprise...), EAs attempts at taking your hard earned cash with overpriced downloadable items. Oh and don't forget the $200 worth of expansions that will be coming soon to slow down A really fun game - That is if you don't factor in the crashing that thousands of people who absolutely meet the mininum requirements are experiencing (EA has yet to create a path for this... big surprise...), EAs attempts at taking your hard earned cash with overpriced downloadable items. Oh and don't forget the $200 worth of expansions that will be coming soon to slow down your CPU. Your game wont be complete without them! Other than that though... its a fun game. Expand
  60. JustinW
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    This is a great game. The stats have been refined to make more sense, the graphics are a big improvement over the prequels and the explorable towns are more than large enough and contain a huge number of activities to take part in (parties, shopping, fishing etc). I'm not sure why there are so many rabid anti sims 3 reviews here, I for one had absolutely no problem with it. This is a great game. The stats have been refined to make more sense, the graphics are a big improvement over the prequels and the explorable towns are more than large enough and contain a huge number of activities to take part in (parties, shopping, fishing etc). I'm not sure why there are so many rabid anti sims 3 reviews here, I for one had absolutely no problem with it. There's only one real problem with it; the system requirements to run this smoothly are high. You're going to need a high end multi core processor, 4gb ram and a pretty new graphics card. If you've got that this is easily one of the best games this year (so far). Highly recomended game! Expand
  61. TimJ
    Sep 6, 2009
    7
    Probably one of the only games that is fun without any kind of violence. But I must add that I am a bit disappointed by this game. I expected a lot more, they made the trailer look so much cooler than the actual game. Yeah, there are a lot more customizing options and new features but I dont see much difference from the Sims 2 apart from the slight improvement in graphics and the fact Probably one of the only games that is fun without any kind of violence. But I must add that I am a bit disappointed by this game. I expected a lot more, they made the trailer look so much cooler than the actual game. Yeah, there are a lot more customizing options and new features but I dont see much difference from the Sims 2 apart from the slight improvement in graphics and the fact that you can walk around the city without a loading screen. Verdict : Good game but could be better. Expand
  62. JonB
    Dec 20, 2009
    7
    Not as good as Sims 2. But it's a great game. It's just that Sims 2 is a really, really great game.
  63. AaronG
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    This third installment to the franchise has lived up to the lofty expectations placed upon it by fans and skeptics alike, delivering an addictive, fully-customizable experience that is superior to its predecessors in every way. Not only do your Sims have more depth with the addition of traits, you now tend to spend less time "babysitting" them as they go about their day. Your Sims are This third installment to the franchise has lived up to the lofty expectations placed upon it by fans and skeptics alike, delivering an addictive, fully-customizable experience that is superior to its predecessors in every way. Not only do your Sims have more depth with the addition of traits, you now tend to spend less time "babysitting" them as they go about their day. Your Sims are also now part of a living, breathing neighborhood that grows with them! Expand
  64. JimP.
    Jun 6, 2009
    8
    The Sims 3 adds a lot to the series in the little additions to things like conversations, skills, and career building. However, it detracts from itself in the variety of clothing and hairstyles to pick from (pretty much all of them seem to be hellbent on being "hip" rather than giving a spectrum). The gameplay gets a bit daunting since if you're trying to manage several Sims who are The Sims 3 adds a lot to the series in the little additions to things like conversations, skills, and career building. However, it detracts from itself in the variety of clothing and hairstyles to pick from (pretty much all of them seem to be hellbent on being "hip" rather than giving a spectrum). The gameplay gets a bit daunting since if you're trying to manage several Sims who are all about town. Since the world is completely integrated, visits to other lots no longer freeze time and you have to juggle your multiple sims' interactions while being almost in two places at once. Perhaps its the lower graphics settings I have on my machine, but the movement of the character seems to kind of be clanky at times. If you want to clean up a plate on the table, they stare at it for a few seconds before finally picking it up. Sometimes while walking my sims will just stop midstep for about half of a second and then continue on. The new "time bar" that's added to several actions (such as sleeping, performing a skill-leveling activity, etc.) doesn't let you switch between options of sleeping until a certain time and sleeping until fully rested (or skilled up) freely without stopping your action and re-entering into it. Also it suffers from some of the same bugs as Sims 2, such as sleeping after WooHoo will be interrupted if you initiate another action afterward. There's also some minor clipping problems I've seen when sims get out of bed (if there's a nightstand right next to the bed, you tend to be able to put your leg right through it). There's also the issue of "The Store," EA's newest way to make money off of the franchise. New items, decorating sets, hair styles, clothing, cities, will all be offered online using The Sims 3 Store. You pay real money to get Sims Points which you can spend on items to add to the game. I believe EA was including a $10 (or 1000 Sims Points) card with the game, as well as a new town to play so it gives you a little bit to start with. But the cheesiness of having to pay more for items that really aren't that amazing (most are of moderate quality and don't really add much to the game) isn't that appealing and is actually more frustrating than handy. But The Exchange is a nice touch, where people can download other players' content from around the world including lot designs, tile designs, clothing designs (primarily in the form of changing the colors of an existing item), etc. Some of the lots designed on the Exchange are amazing, albeit in different languages (which they tell you before you download). All in all, it's a very good sequel to one of the most successful franchises in gaming history. I enjoy engaging in the new challenges it offers as well as the new dynamic it gives in gameplay. However, I still go through the game used to all of the amenities I had while playing Sims 2 and find myself going back when Sims 3 is getting a little repetitive. While you have to wonder if EA is going to be responsible and fix the bugs in a timely manner, you also have to wonder if the Sims 3 expansions are going to follow the same repetitive path that the Sims 2 did with the original Sims. Expand
  65. May 28, 2011
    10
    The Sims 3 is truly magnificent and an amazing peak highlight to the Sims franchise! With amazing visuals and graphics, it definitely pushes The Sims 2 to another level. Some might argue that the Sims actually look less like Sims now, but more human... which is a somewhat legitimate complaint. However, I believe it's a great improvement since they are not as abstract as they were before asThe Sims 3 is truly magnificent and an amazing peak highlight to the Sims franchise! With amazing visuals and graphics, it definitely pushes The Sims 2 to another level. Some might argue that the Sims actually look less like Sims now, but more human... which is a somewhat legitimate complaint. However, I believe it's a great improvement since they are not as abstract as they were before as figures.
    Also, the ability to just go through the entire town is simply great, and the ability to enter other people's houses immediately, makes the game so much more pleasurable.

    Of course, the expansions will add all the things we've lost that we had accumulated in The Sims 2, so one can only get those and fully enjoy the Sims 3. Maxim managed the nearly impossible task of making a better game out of the almost perfect Sims 2.
    Amazing game!!!
    Expand
  66. Dec 31, 2010
    8
    Just as advertised... the limit is your imagination. The Sims 3 is fun if you can keep thinking of interesting ways to make your sims interact in life. Create-a-sim was very well done, with clean menus and so many options (with more purchasable from the store). Performing actions in the game is simple, except that some are set to a near limitless time, such that your sim may end upJust as advertised... the limit is your imagination. The Sims 3 is fun if you can keep thinking of interesting ways to make your sims interact in life. Create-a-sim was very well done, with clean menus and so many options (with more purchasable from the store). Performing actions in the game is simple, except that some are set to a near limitless time, such that your sim may end up skipping school/work because the former action has not stopped. Building your home is probably the most annoying part of the game, some items fail to be placed in locations that seem logical, can be placed in mid-air, or are so insanely hard to make a spot for that you become frustrated. In all, The Sims 3 is a well polished game, but shows specks of tarnish here and there. Expand
  67. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    I am a simsholic. I love the games, now with this one it's more fun to build houses and design. So if you love that part of the game this is top notch. The sims characters can be more varied and more exciting than before. I miss playing pets and seasons from sims 2. This game will take getting used to, especially the camera angles. I love how the screen can turn more than ever before. ThisI am a simsholic. I love the games, now with this one it's more fun to build houses and design. So if you love that part of the game this is top notch. The sims characters can be more varied and more exciting than before. I miss playing pets and seasons from sims 2. This game will take getting used to, especially the camera angles. I love how the screen can turn more than ever before. This game is much better with the expansions but even without it can keep you occupied for hours. It's fun to be able to create alien sims and change eye and hair color so much more than was before possible. Creating clothing and furniture patterns and colors is fun if you like design. Expand
  68. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    There is a vast expanse of detail and characters, and the world in which you play is full of opportunities. A fantastic game with absolutely no critisisms!
  69. Jul 25, 2012
    8
    The Sims is one of the franchises that isn't drowning in the new wave of games, and continuously releases good and fun games. Playing the game, you do feel very much like you are living another life within the game. However, the franchise does need something soon to jolt it back into the life, otherwise it will inevitably die a slow death.
  70. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Good game. First release (without the update) the game was bad because off the random crashing. Now late 2011 the fixes it take them almost 2 years to find the hidden bug. However about this game is that when you play it, the time will fly :D its a great game have fun with it. Ps there are always cry ers and trolls so ignore them play this :D you will love it
  71. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    I honestly, truly have nothing bad to say about The Sims 3. The release of Expansion packs such as "Late Night" and "Showtime" have greatly improved the game since initial release of The Sims 3. It would be nice to see a Free to Play Expansion, but it doesn't matter too much. I'm satisfied with The Sims 3 and would find no way to change it (well, other than the power to burn down a rudeI honestly, truly have nothing bad to say about The Sims 3. The release of Expansion packs such as "Late Night" and "Showtime" have greatly improved the game since initial release of The Sims 3. It would be nice to see a Free to Play Expansion, but it doesn't matter too much. I'm satisfied with The Sims 3 and would find no way to change it (well, other than the power to burn down a rude neighbor's house). Expand
  72. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This game is great fun. There's so much to do in this compared to the Sims 3, plus much more easy to navigate. I love the addition of new things like Moodlets, Lifetime Wishes and Rewards and Wishes. Also, it's also overwhelmingly addictive. It's my favourite game of all time.
  73. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    How a company can make billions of real dollars by allowing people to pretend to live out a different life...Well it is brilliant. The Sims 3 is a very nice evolution of the game series. It is starting to fall into the category of love/hate with very little middle ground. The only thing that is missing is online multiplayer modes. If they figure out how to tackle that issue, they will takeHow a company can make billions of real dollars by allowing people to pretend to live out a different life...Well it is brilliant. The Sims 3 is a very nice evolution of the game series. It is starting to fall into the category of love/hate with very little middle ground. The only thing that is missing is online multiplayer modes. If they figure out how to tackle that issue, they will take over the world. Expand
  74. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I have been playing EA The Sims, 2 and 3 plus their Online Game for many years and I just have to say, its gets better and better! Each game has its perks and yes there is a repetitiveness to it but if you are already a fan of The Sims, you won't be disappointed.
  75. Sep 11, 2012
    8
    Ah...The Sims 3, great game!
    I love the music, sound effects and i also like that strange language they have, the game has some great musics! The intro music is so good to listen to, and the in-game musics are very good too!
    The game-play is very entertaining, and in the first day that you play this game you'll be amazed in the things you can do with it, the game is very fun. But
    Ah...The Sims 3, great game!
    I love the music, sound effects and i also like that strange language they have, the game has some great musics! The intro music is so good to listen to, and the in-game musics are very good too!
    The game-play is very entertaining, and in the first day that you play this game you'll be amazed in the things you can do with it, the game is very fun.
    But there's a downfall :S, the game gets boring if you play it too much, for an example if you play more then 1-3 hours a day it will get hell boring....
    But besides that the game is very good.
    But you can get new things in the game-play if you buy expansions packs at Pirate Bay.
    The best expansions out right now are Ambitions, Late Night, Pets and Supernatural, those are the best and if you want a good experience with the game get all this expansions on PB and buy the game on Ebay or Amazon and prepare your self from some fun!
    Expand
  76. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I can understand the complaints this game gets. That doesn't change the fact that this game is very fun and addicting, if only for just a week. This game implemented a lot of ideas that move the series closer to an immersive simulated reality, which is exciting. The next game is probably going to be a lot better.
  77. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    First off let me state: I never played Sims 2. I've played sims 1 and all the expansions and that's it. I have heard from various people that Sims 2 was better - I can't comment to much on that, but I will state what I like about this game, and others can tell me (or if you already played sims 2 and know) if sims 2 had some of the features I liked or not. I will of course also express someFirst off let me state: I never played Sims 2. I've played sims 1 and all the expansions and that's it. I have heard from various people that Sims 2 was better - I can't comment to much on that, but I will state what I like about this game, and others can tell me (or if you already played sims 2 and know) if sims 2 had some of the features I liked or not. I will of course also express some of my dislikes.

    Sim Personalities: The whole neat, active,nice point system they had before is gone. To give your sims personality in this game you select traits and that drives them. you can select 1-5 traits, and some of them can't be combined because they contradict each other.
    I love this over the previous system. I really feel my sims are getting personality, and in the old system I didn't because I was spending to much time trying to fulfill needs. Which brings me to the second part.

    Sim Looks: Unfortunately there aren't as many choices here as I was hoping. There aren't many hairstyles in the vanilla game, and not many clothes or anything for that matter. HOWEVER the details can be customized to an extent that you have many options. While your limited by your hair style, it can be any color you like, and if you wanted, you could make your sim have steel hair or whatever other material you like. So your limited in your styles, but the materials and colors can be anything. Needs: Your sims aren't as needy in this game as they were previously, the values seem to be slower, and can be somewhat counteracted by your mood, which can have several bonuses, so that even if your hungry and stinky, your still in a good mood because your listening to music and received a promotion... etc. I find this realistic as well, since people in real life can be in a good mood even if they are hungry and need to go to the bathroom. It also allows you to focus on other goals such as skill building or making enough friends, or whatever. In the sims 1, I spent my entire time trying to put my sim in a good mood - even to the point of cheating for money to get better items, and I still didn't have enough time to make any friends to advance my career. Perhaps I was bad at the game... all I know is that the sims 3, allows me to have more fun and focus on several goals.

    The neighborhood: Compared to the sims 1, a definite improvement. There are a lot more pre-made sims to either play as or interact with your creations in the neighborhood and they were very creative with the houses that they all live in. You can also do things like seduce a rich wife, then kill them and their family so that your sim can have a much nicer place to live without having to earn money the "hard way" also better is that you don't feel trapped inside your house with your sim, People are constantly passing by and certain characters that you couldn't interact with in the sims 1, you can in the sims 3, such as the mailman, or repairman. Some of them might even turn out to live right next door! Very fun.
    if you let your sim do so, they will wander around the town as well, which gives a much more lively game than before.

    Aging: This is new, but fortunately customizable. They can't quite live forever, but you could slow down the aging process to a degree that would probably take you a year or two of solid playing to kill them from old age. You can also speed it up to the point where one day your a baby, and the next your young kid. If this weren't customizable I would have hated it. As is, I love it.

    Steam: It requires Steam-play. This a negative to me, because steam requires internet which of course means if your traveling, or have no internet for whatever reason you can't play. The Sims 3 shouldn't NEED internet to play. However... this might be more or a problem with Steam than with The Sims itself. Just mentioning for the sake of those who may have thought it can be played offline.

    another negative is that the graphics from the sims 2 haven't improved much. Personally though I think of it as a positive, since I don't play The Sims for the graphics, and it means comps with lower specs can handle it.

    Camera angles can be horrid at times, and can take quite a while to transfer from one sim to the other - even the sims 1 had better camera angles in my opinion!
    Expand
  78. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    If I liked playing Sims I would love this game. It's got it all, real-time moving round the city, go to friend's houses, get a job, go to library, go out with your friends, go to the graveyard, build your house, furniture etc. If you love simulation games which are a copy of your own life but 100 times better, you will love this.
  79. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    The sims 3 on pc is easily the best of the series, miles ahead of any other sims game out there. Without expansions, its a fun, content filled, funny, enjoyable simulation, with tons of things to do in your beautiful town. Meet friends, make food, make your sims wishes true...You can do it all. Only down side is you can spend some time learning how to do everything. Plus ipos version sucks
  80. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    In The Sims 3, you basically create families (or play pre-made families) and live their lives as you would your own. The Sims franchise has improved throughout the years and I'm pretty satisfied with this version. If you have never played before, you can do almost everything you would in real life. Own a house, go to work, go to stores, go to friends houses, host parties, learn to cook,In The Sims 3, you basically create families (or play pre-made families) and live their lives as you would your own. The Sims franchise has improved throughout the years and I'm pretty satisfied with this version. If you have never played before, you can do almost everything you would in real life. Own a house, go to work, go to stores, go to friends houses, host parties, learn to cook, play chess, watch TV, and have relationships. It's a really fun game. The Create-A-Sim is also fantastic because you can customize basically every part of your Sim, including your build, clothes, and personality. It also has a memory book where it saves important parts of your Sim's life, such as you got a promotion or had a baby. It's also customizable. There are websites you can go to where you can download extra clothes and items.

    There are a few cons, though. The Sims 3 is integrated with EA's wannabe Facebook, so it prompts you to login in a lot. It also has a few glitches and problems, but what else do you expect with an EA game? I recommend backing up your Sims and houses in case of a problem in the future.

    Even with the cons, this is a game you will most likely enjoy and spend a lot of time playing. I hope you enjoy it!
    Expand
  81. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    4+/5 (Very Good) Ok, isn't this something we have ALL DONE when we were kids? Girls play with the barbies and make up stories, Guys play with superheroes and fighters and make up stories (violent stuff, of course, but still). PLUS, we all secretly wish we could be SO MUCH MORE (because you will never be a firefighting best-selling author with a secret life as a double agent who fronts as4+/5 (Very Good) Ok, isn't this something we have ALL DONE when we were kids? Girls play with the barbies and make up stories, Guys play with superheroes and fighters and make up stories (violent stuff, of course, but still). PLUS, we all secretly wish we could be SO MUCH MORE (because you will never be a firefighting best-selling author with a secret life as a double agent who fronts as the Mayor of CoolVille). The Sims 3 is all that, and so much more. YOU WILL PLAY IT AND WASTE YOUR TIME TRYING TO MAKE A BETTER LIFE FOR YOUR VIRTUAL SELF. NOW. Oh, and don't you dare buy any of the DLCs, they are full of game shattering bugs. Just don't. Expand
  82. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    A really impressive improvement from It's predecessor, and just addictive. The Sims 3 is a triumph of life simulator games, that not only take a huge step, but even perfected the genre. And, what's great for this game, is that you can explore the city without waiting to load,not like in The Sims 2. The exploration is so impressive and more realistic. Technically is great. It haves,A really impressive improvement from It's predecessor, and just addictive. The Sims 3 is a triumph of life simulator games, that not only take a huge step, but even perfected the genre. And, what's great for this game, is that you can explore the city without waiting to load,not like in The Sims 2. The exploration is so impressive and more realistic. Technically is great. It haves, however, some glitches that can be annoying, but still The Sims 3 doesn't lose It's charm. 94 out of 100 Expand
  83. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    The Sims series makes its first venture in a new direction now that it was abandoned by Maxis. With EA at the helm, plenty of new and excellent features have been introduced. Your Sims now inhabit a cohesive town, free of loading screens. Furthermore, all your Sims age simultaneously, and the random-pairing ability of the game makes the Sims you are not playing go about their own lives;The Sims series makes its first venture in a new direction now that it was abandoned by Maxis. With EA at the helm, plenty of new and excellent features have been introduced. Your Sims now inhabit a cohesive town, free of loading screens. Furthermore, all your Sims age simultaneously, and the random-pairing ability of the game makes the Sims you are not playing go about their own lives; other Sims will marry, move in and out of houses (sometimes even leave the neighbourhood), and die, all with their own free will. The new moodlet feature makes the intricacies of the Sims shine even more detailed than ever. But the game seems to have lost something in the transition between companies. Something uniquely Maxis is absent. Objects that have been with the entire series since its inception now no longer exist, and some of the finer details on buyable objects or background storylines for the stock Sims that the game provides seem hollow and mute. The Sims 3 is distinctly different from The Sims 2, and takes a lot of getting used to. But if you can get used to the changes, then Sims 3 will delight you for hours on end with its addictive gameplay and in-depth customizational abilities. Expand
  84. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    Though I'm not a fan of EA as a company, I love the Sims 3 in spite of myself. I played the original Sims years ago, then later the Sims 2, and despite my abhorrence of EA's customer service record and takeover and decimation of companies I loved, I couldn't resist buying this game and several expansions. I played the original Sims 3 without expansions for a few months, and I have toThough I'm not a fan of EA as a company, I love the Sims 3 in spite of myself. I played the original Sims years ago, then later the Sims 2, and despite my abhorrence of EA's customer service record and takeover and decimation of companies I loved, I couldn't resist buying this game and several expansions. I played the original Sims 3 without expansions for a few months, and I have to say...it's highly enjoyable, and I have wasted many hours neglecting my real life to develop the life of my Sim. LOL! Not only do you have your career and relationships to focus on, but the "crafting" (for lack of a better term) - gardening, fishing, logic, etc. - is a lot more fun. I also like the option of being able to run your own business (I make HELLA Simoleons as a busker) and the exploration aspect of finding new seeds, meteors and making money that way. It kind of makes me wish real life was like that. LOL! I also love how your offspring don't end up with pointed ears like they did in Sims 2, which annoyed the crap out of me. I wish EA didn't take out the ability to have children with the Grim Reaper, that added a humorous aspect to the game that I loved, though apparently you can still mate with ghosts. LOL! So though I hate EA, I love this game, and I love most of the expansions, which I will review at a later time. I wish EA would add a multiplayer aspect to this game, though I guess that would make it an MMO, and seeing how The Sims Online was a spectacular failure I'm sure that won't happen anytime soon, but it would be cool if you could instance into other people's towns and explore around. Great game if you like simulation games like this. I've always been a fan of the Sims franchise and will continue to play it. Though I don't play it every day, every now and then I get into a "Sims mood" and will play it for a few weeks before moving on to the next game. There's something irresistible about meticulously creating your ideal life in as realistic a way as you can...and then bringing a ghost home, having a baby with it and trying to save your marriage. LOL! Your Sim's life can be as close to your real life or as wild and crazy as you want - or something in between - and that's something I simply love about this game. Expand
  85. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    LOVE IT. Hey mom this rocks!---Probably the most epic super mega cool game in the existence of mankind and of all the world galaxy UNIVERSE!!! no seriosly its good!!
  86. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find myself envious of the people in Sims 3.
    Those little guys can make mac and cheese perfectly after only watching TV for a few minutes.
    What station are you tuning into man? I see some spiced pork dish or tagine pop up from time to time but never a good mac and cheese recipe.
    I'm going to have to have toast again tonight aren't I...
    Expand
  87. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favourite games and the definition of crazyness. I usually play it with a friend of mine and each time we die of laughter. It's so damn fun! And there are a lot of things to do, it's never boring. I have to say just a few things: it's REALLY a shame not seeing the inside of a shop or building. Sure, this can be fixed with expansions like ambitions, but installing 3357127This is one of my favourite games and the definition of crazyness. I usually play it with a friend of mine and each time we die of laughter. It's so damn fun! And there are a lot of things to do, it's never boring. I have to say just a few things: it's REALLY a shame not seeing the inside of a shop or building. Sure, this can be fixed with expansions like ambitions, but installing 3357127 expansions will slow down your computer and empty your wallet. Another thing I suggest is to widen the preset wardrobe and hairstyles, because I hate registering to various websites to get a dress I like. Anyway, this is really a must buy. Expand
  88. Dec 7, 2013
    2
    Its a fun game, but too many bugs. You can have the best computer ever, but thanks to the bugs and lag, this game sucks.

    Then there are the micro transactions. It doesn't matter to EA that you shelled out tons of money for any of the expansions, they still want to charge you more for things that you can not get in the expansions. So unfortunately, this game is pretty unplayable.
  89. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    You would think a game that primarily focuses on AI would have better AI but no, the AI is as simple as it can be not to mention the fact that the game comes with very little content in the base game with something like 3 hairstyles for each gender unless you're willing to buy from the sim store or buy the overpriced expansion packs which don't add enough content to be worth £30.

    There
    You would think a game that primarily focuses on AI would have better AI but no, the AI is as simple as it can be not to mention the fact that the game comes with very little content in the base game with something like 3 hairstyles for each gender unless you're willing to buy from the sim store or buy the overpriced expansion packs which don't add enough content to be worth £30.

    There is really no point in having relationships in this game because in addition to the sims being souless nonhuman robots(like EA's staff it seems) in my experience the option for proposing marriage has ALWAYS came up before 'propose going steady' and I can't play this game for very long before the AI decides to get stuck somewhere and make the game constantly freeze.

    **** EA.
    Expand
  90. TrentS
    Aug 15, 2009
    1
    This game is a major step down from Sims 2 worse graphics, horrible set up, and the cost. $50 dollars for a piece of crap like this, I don't know what i was thinking. And what really T's me off is the part where in order to get all of the content you have to go online and buy gay Sim points to get a bunch of crap that won't work and it cost even more money added to the This game is a major step down from Sims 2 worse graphics, horrible set up, and the cost. $50 dollars for a piece of crap like this, I don't know what i was thinking. And what really T's me off is the part where in order to get all of the content you have to go online and buy gay Sim points to get a bunch of crap that won't work and it cost even more money added to the already outrageously high priced $50 dollars. I will never buy another Sim game again. I'm to the point of disgust with it, it has so many problems. For $50 you would think this would be top of the line, best of ever thing but IT'S NOT. Do NOT get this game. To sum it all up its: high priced, has compatibility issues, comes with bare minimum anout of content, and you have to buy more stuff to go along with it. So just please don't cause yourself to be VERY disappointed and just stay far far far away from this game. Expand
  91. Jan 3, 2011
    0
    Long story short, the game didn't work. I am so frustrated.
  92. Feb 19, 2012
    2
    The Sims 3 introduce some good new improvements to the collection. But there are many reasons for me to think it's just a bad game option: 1. The huge amount of expansion packs with their respective negative points. We're talking about 10 expansion packs that their price varies from 20â
  93. May 4, 2011
    0
    Selling an incomplete game is a nono. A bigger nono is to sell people the rest of the game for the same price. Were it not for expansionitis The Sims would be a great addiction but EA makes it uneconomical.
  94. billp
    Jun 20, 2009
    7
    It feels a little rushed, but other then that its a nice upgrade to the sims2 just don't expect to see the same game, the openness is rather cool but it is also disappointing when you can only have one Famaly in the city that you own.
  95. JayS
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    The Problem with some people who review this game is that they compare it to it's previous form, (Sims 2) A game should be judged for what it is not what it "used to be" or "could of been"...etc Just judging Sims 3 on it's own will make you feel more then satisfy with it's content and overall game play, but don't make the mistake of thinking that all the expansions and The Problem with some people who review this game is that they compare it to it's previous form, (Sims 2) A game should be judged for what it is not what it "used to be" or "could of been"...etc Just judging Sims 3 on it's own will make you feel more then satisfy with it's content and overall game play, but don't make the mistake of thinking that all the expansions and items from the previous games would be in this 1 game. Overall The Sims 3 does what it is suppose to with a virtual life simulation, it doesn't re-make the Sims but it does take what is already good and makes it better! And that's what truly counts. Expand
  96. jonathanb
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    In some ways, less is more. While there is less overall content as far as items and clothing, there is MUCH more in gameplay! It's so much more streamlined, it feels like a different game entirely.
  97. Craig
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    Missing some of the features that the horde of Sims 2 Expansion Packs added into the game, but there's no denying that the attention to detail has made Sims 3 the most fun of any of them. ("spoilers" of features below) No loading screens across town. The ability to place objects diagonally. Adding rooms and roofs to houses are much easier (click-and-drag will automatically do it. No Missing some of the features that the horde of Sims 2 Expansion Packs added into the game, but there's no denying that the attention to detail has made Sims 3 the most fun of any of them. ("spoilers" of features below) No loading screens across town. The ability to place objects diagonally. Adding rooms and roofs to houses are much easier (click-and-drag will automatically do it. No need to add and bulldoze single sections of walls). Your Sim gets his own cellphone. You no longer need a house phone. The cell can take photos, and you can have those photos framed and put on the wall if you choose. You can pay for skill-raising classes to boost skills quicker, you can choose to purchase businesses in town to get a stake of their profit. There are also "opportunities" (basically quests) doled out over time to get extra cash and maybe a raise at work. You can also choose what your Sim does while at work or school, which has an effect on job and social performance and may also help increase skills. Your Sims don't go to college, don't have pets to play with and can't "go on vacation", but considering the graphic upgrade and great attention to detail, there's no reason to let that stop you -- your hands will be full enough. Expand
  98. geekgurly
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    I'm only giving it an 8 because there is a slew of items/articles/build sets that are not present in this installment. I really feel that Sims 3 should have had all the expansion pack items from the Sims 2 series as standard. It will be lame if I have to reacquire the same sets AGAIN for this series. That being said, I disagree with Lisa H that the graphics are not sharp on this I'm only giving it an 8 because there is a slew of items/articles/build sets that are not present in this installment. I really feel that Sims 3 should have had all the expansion pack items from the Sims 2 series as standard. It will be lame if I have to reacquire the same sets AGAIN for this series. That being said, I disagree with Lisa H that the graphics are not sharp on this game. (Note to Lisa H: change your graphics options, upgrade your GPU...the details look kickass on my pc so it can't be the game). Also like Andrew said, the grid is less restrictive. New things I love: you can place things at angles now [the lack of this feature sucked in the last games] and you can move anywhere on the map freely as well [i.e., to a neighbors house or community lots]. This added freedom makes the Sims 3 a whole new world worth exploring. Expand
  99. GrantZ
    Aug 23, 2009
    9
    The Sims 3 is a really good game. Ignore the haters. The first notable thing has to be the create-a-sim, it's much more customisable and i found myself taking 30 minutes making my sim look exactly like my best friend, beauty spots are available and hair is fully changeable. When you start it is also amazing, i do advise you not to use cheats however, it takes almost all of the fun The Sims 3 is a really good game. Ignore the haters. The first notable thing has to be the create-a-sim, it's much more customisable and i found myself taking 30 minutes making my sim look exactly like my best friend, beauty spots are available and hair is fully changeable. When you start it is also amazing, i do advise you not to use cheats however, it takes almost all of the fun away from the game. Jobs earn you a lot less money this time, but more realistic, you don't need to reach skilll requirements to progress, a good relationship with the boss can be just as useful. Skills are better too. Charisma is the most challenging, ad you need loads of friends to reach level 10. All in all this game is perfect. GIve it a 10 if you're not gonna use cheats and and 7 if you do. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. A gallant return to form and takes a direction that breathes new life into a formula that is fast reaching a decade old.
  2. The Sims 3 has immense potential as upcoming expansions start rolling into high gear. And that’s what you’re really buying: A game of potential.
  3. 78
    The Sims 3 isn't a bad game, not in slightest, and too a different group of gamers this might be all they wanted, but for me this feels like a sequel that Will Wright had nothing to do with. There is no new magic, or amazing new idea that is going to re-imagine the whole series, it's just more and better stuff that we got in Sims 1.