The Sims 3 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 949 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Create lifelike Sims with a unique personality and take them anywhere in the neighborhood. The powerful Create-a-Sim tool allows you to create Sims that are more realistic than ever. Select from dozens of personality traits such as brave, artistic, kleptomaniac, clumsy, paranoid andCreate lifelike Sims with a unique personality and take them anywhere in the neighborhood. The powerful Create-a-Sim tool allows you to create Sims that are more realistic than ever. Select from dozens of personality traits such as brave, artistic, kleptomaniac, clumsy, paranoid and romantic. With Create-a-Sim, you can create a limitless number of truly unique Sims. The Sims 3 allows for infinite possibilities to design the interior and exterior of your Sims’ surroundings using the Create-a-style feature. Enjoy the challenge of short and long-term goals and then reap the rewards! Based on personality traits, skills and career choices, your Sims have Wishes that provide constant fun challenges and so many things to do and achieve. You have the ultimate freedom to choose whether to fulfill their destiny, giving them lifetime happiness and rewards or not! Register your copy of The Sims 3 for PC and Mac at www.TheSims3.com to enjoy the robust online and community features unique to your game including an all-new town called Riverview that you can download for no additional charge once you register. You will also gain access to 1,000 SimPoints to purchase items from The Sims 3 Store including exclusive outfits, hairstyles, furniture, home décor, and architectural items to customize your Sims appearance and houses in all-new ways. Visit The Store each month for new, never-seen-before themed items. Additionally, be the director of your Sims’ movies by capturing clips during your gameplay, visiting the official site, and editing the soundtrack, story, and transitions, then share it with the world! These easily accessible tools inspire creativity and allow you to share your masterpieces with your friends and other players on The Sims 3 official website, personal blogs, or any social media network. See what you can create with The Sims 3. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Sims 3: Generations developer diary
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    Sims 3 is the perfect example for a brilliant, fun game that works without any violence.
  2. PC Format
    91
    This game may well manage to suck some of the harder gamers into its clever paws thanks to sharp wit and genuine originality. [July 2009, p.86]
  3. If you never really "got" why people played the games, The Sims 3 might give you the answer you've been seeking.
  4. 90
    The living, breathing world of Sunset Valley, the town that comes pre-packaged with the game, is a fascinating one.
  5. 85
    It's really chuffing addictive.
  6. It's both more of a role-playing game than it's ever been before, and more of a design game than it's ever been before. It may suffer a few glaring compromises, but it's an essential play for anyone with an interest in what videogames can achieve outside of a targeting reticule.
  7. It’s only the inclusion of a much slicker set of tools to allow the recording of machinima movies and the sharing of customised content that prevents an even harsher score. While there was a significant step up both technically and in gameplay terms between The Sims and The Sims 2, the same can’t be said of The Sims 3 compared to its predecessor.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 187
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    The Sims 3 is an amazing game, that is very life like. I am looking forward to getting the new Expansion Packs. But I will agree that havingThe Sims 3 is an amazing game, that is very life like. I am looking forward to getting the new Expansion Packs. But I will agree that having no choice to have pets does kinda suck, and the graphics aren't the best. But this game will have you singing along to whatever Sim Language song is on the radio. Expand
  2. May 28, 2011
    10
    The Sims 3 is truly magnificent and an amazing peak highlight to the Sims franchise! With amazing visuals and graphics, it definitely pushesThe Sims 3 is truly magnificent and an amazing peak highlight to the Sims franchise! With amazing visuals and graphics, it definitely pushes The Sims 2 to another level. Some might argue that the Sims actually look less like Sims now, but more human... which is a somewhat legitimate complaint. However, I believe it's a great improvement since they are not as abstract as they were before as figures.
    Also, the ability to just go through the entire town is simply great, and the ability to enter other people's houses immediately, makes the game so much more pleasurable.

    Of course, the expansions will add all the things we've lost that we had accumulated in The Sims 2, so one can only get those and fully enjoy the Sims 3. Maxim managed the nearly impossible task of making a better game out of the almost perfect Sims 2.
    Amazing game!!!
    Expand
  3. seanr
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    I give this game a 9 as opposed to a 10 because it looks like EA is going to plug us with priced expansions and DLC for The Sims 3, much like I give this game a 9 as opposed to a 10 because it looks like EA is going to plug us with priced expansions and DLC for The Sims 3, much like before. Though the advent of user-made content being made free is really quite something on their part. I didn't play 2 as I felt they overkilled it with the expansions and so lost my interest...so keep that in mind..but anyway, I freaking love this game. I got it in the mail the other day and haven't stopped playing it since, pretty much. It's possibly the most addictive game I've ever played -- no lie. I agree with everyone who says this game is a masterpiece -- I wanted something different for my collection, a real full package that offered what something only like The Sims can offer, and godamn, did I get it. As noted, probably the game's greatest strength is the combination of its breadth and accessibility -- the accessibility doesn't feel "stupid", though, if you get my meaning. In short, this is a near perfect game, and I think pretty much everyone should have it. Get stupidly addicted ("I just gotta do this next thing..!") -- you'll be thankful for it. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    8
    The Sims is one of the franchises that isn't drowning in the new wave of games, and continuously releases good and fun games. Playing theThe Sims is one of the franchises that isn't drowning in the new wave of games, and continuously releases good and fun games. Playing the game, you do feel very much like you are living another life within the game. However, the franchise does need something soon to jolt it back into the life, otherwise it will inevitably die a slow death. Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    First off let me state: I never played Sims 2. I've played sims 1 and all the expansions and that's it. I have heard from various people thatFirst off let me state: I never played Sims 2. I've played sims 1 and all the expansions and that's it. I have heard from various people that Sims 2 was better - I can't comment to much on that, but I will state what I like about this game, and others can tell me (or if you already played sims 2 and know) if sims 2 had some of the features I liked or not. I will of course also express some of my dislikes.

    Sim Personalities: The whole neat, active,nice point system they had before is gone. To give your sims personality in this game you select traits and that drives them. you can select 1-5 traits, and some of them can't be combined because they contradict each other.
    I love this over the previous system. I really feel my sims are getting personality, and in the old system I didn't because I was spending to much time trying to fulfill needs. Which brings me to the second part.

    Sim Looks: Unfortunately there aren't as many choices here as I was hoping. There aren't many hairstyles in the vanilla game, and not many clothes or anything for that matter. HOWEVER the details can be customized to an extent that you have many options. While your limited by your hair style, it can be any color you like, and if you wanted, you could make your sim have steel hair or whatever other material you like. So your limited in your styles, but the materials and colors can be anything. Needs: Your sims aren't as needy in this game as they were previously, the values seem to be slower, and can be somewhat counteracted by your mood, which can have several bonuses, so that even if your hungry and stinky, your still in a good mood because your listening to music and received a promotion... etc. I find this realistic as well, since people in real life can be in a good mood even if they are hungry and need to go to the bathroom. It also allows you to focus on other goals such as skill building or making enough friends, or whatever. In the sims 1, I spent my entire time trying to put my sim in a good mood - even to the point of cheating for money to get better items, and I still didn't have enough time to make any friends to advance my career. Perhaps I was bad at the game... all I know is that the sims 3, allows me to have more fun and focus on several goals.

    The neighborhood: Compared to the sims 1, a definite improvement. There are a lot more pre-made sims to either play as or interact with your creations in the neighborhood and they were very creative with the houses that they all live in. You can also do things like seduce a rich wife, then kill them and their family so that your sim can have a much nicer place to live without having to earn money the "hard way" also better is that you don't feel trapped inside your house with your sim, People are constantly passing by and certain characters that you couldn't interact with in the sims 1, you can in the sims 3, such as the mailman, or repairman. Some of them might even turn out to live right next door! Very fun.
    if you let your sim do so, they will wander around the town as well, which gives a much more lively game than before.

    Aging: This is new, but fortunately customizable. They can't quite live forever, but you could slow down the aging process to a degree that would probably take you a year or two of solid playing to kill them from old age. You can also speed it up to the point where one day your a baby, and the next your young kid. If this weren't customizable I would have hated it. As is, I love it.

    Steam: It requires Steam-play. This a negative to me, because steam requires internet which of course means if your traveling, or have no internet for whatever reason you can't play. The Sims 3 shouldn't NEED internet to play. However... this might be more or a problem with Steam than with The Sims itself. Just mentioning for the sake of those who may have thought it can be played offline.

    another negative is that the graphics from the sims 2 haven't improved much. Personally though I think of it as a positive, since I don't play The Sims for the graphics, and it means comps with lower specs can handle it.

    Camera angles can be horrid at times, and can take quite a while to transfer from one sim to the other - even the sims 1 had better camera angles in my opinion!
    Expand
  6. AlexP
    Aug 27, 2009
    5
    The Sims 3 was very exciting at first. With all the news about it, and the advertising, it sounded pretty good. The idea of a seamless The Sims 3 was very exciting at first. With all the news about it, and the advertising, it sounded pretty good. The idea of a seamless neighborhood is amazing! Unfortunately though, the seamless neighborhood isn't complete. You arn't allowed to follow your sim inside stores, restaurants and other buildings. The building creator is worse too. You can't build stores anymore, which was one of my favorite features of the sims 2. It gets worse. There is only 1 playable neighborhood, and you can't create your own! Changing families is a drag too. It is a lot of work, as you have to go to the new"town editor" and deselect your family. On the other hand, you can walk around town, which is fun for a while, and the Create a sim has a lot of new great features. The seamless neighborhood is great too, if you dont consider what I wrote about the public lots. If they make a Sims Box like they did for sim city(we all know why ea did that) then you might have fun with the sims 3 for a few days. I recommend that you stay with the Sims 2 for now. Expand
  7. May 17, 2014
    0
    It's a good concept but the game felt dated, and most of The Sims 3 content you have to pay extra for so unless your willing to invest atIt's a good concept but the game felt dated, and most of The Sims 3 content you have to pay extra for so unless your willing to invest at least $60 this game feels very incomplete and lacking on content.

    Although Sims 3 doesn't live up to my expectations I will get The Sims 4 when it comes out later this year that way I can get the expansions as they come out.
    Expand

See all 187 User Reviews