Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Probably the funniest new feature is the obsessed fan, who will pop up if you're not paying enough attention to your other fans... One of the best expansion packs. [Aug 2003, p.39]
  2. Brings the game to another new level of entertainment and challenge. [Sept 2003, p.82]
  3. This is the first time in the Sims that there’s an actual challenge gauntlet thrown down.
  4. A supercharged expansion for sims seeking the spotlight. You've really got to want it though, as achieving superstar status takes quite a bit of work.
  5. 87
    Over a hundred and fifty new objects, new interactions and actions, and a tongue-in-cheek look into the world of entertainment make The Sims: Superstar the best expansion yet.
  6. As an added treat for fans of this area of The Sims, Superstar features new simlish phrases to go along with the new careers in entertainment, most notable among these being simlish singing.
  7. The huge amount of new objects, interactions, and locations ensure that you’ll get your money’s worth out of the deal.
  8. Adds a real challenge to the game and makes things more difficult than they ever have been.
  9. 83
    At once both the most rewarding and most challenging of the expansion packs to date, at least in terms of gameplay.
  10. The first truly challenging expansion pack for The Sims... It adds lots of interesting and challenging new stuff that should keep any fan of The Sims busy for some time.
  11. This is definitely the best expansion yet released for the Sims, but certain issues still bog this title down. I'm absolutely confounded that the game clock hasn't been slowed yet. [July 2003, p.120]
  12. 80
    As close to a full-blown sequel as we've seen to the original "Sims," and is sure to hold most gamers over until 2004. More immediately enjoyable than "The Sims: Online," it's the type of open-ended game you can intensely play over time or just spend a few hours with here and there.
  13. Perhaps the best part of living the life of a celebrity is the luxuries--spa treatments, sushi dinners, and a butler await you in Superstar. [Aug 2003, p.87]
  14. As a Sims fans, I can confidently tell other fans that there's no way you won't like this game. The focus is sharp, deep and highly entertaining. It's like starring in your own reality show complete with all the idiots that make it interesting and infuriating.
  15. With one new rich location and a lot of opportunities to enter show-business, playing Superstar can be an interesting venture.
  16. Although there is not a lot of additional material beyond the Superstar job duties and goodies Superstar is a lot of fun to play and does add a new flavor to the lives of your average every day Joe SIM.
  17. It'd be a heck of a lot of fun, too, if the gameplay wasn't plagued with rampant technical issues. Between pauses, hiccups, and slow-downs in heavily populated areas of StudioTown, it's a complete lag-drag. [Aug 2003, p.62]
  18. Playing out your career is fun for a little while, but there's just too much tedium and repetition involved to inject freshness into a tired franchise. [Sept 2003, p.67]
  19. Sure, it's got plenty of new items and toys, but unless the majority of your Sims have an interest in a show biz career, this star-studded expansion is somewhat hollow and does little to bring the rosiness back into this old game's cheeks.
  20. One of the best expansions for The Sims, but as the latest in a series of six it's about as exciting as news of another "Friday the 13th" sequel.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Maria
    May 25, 2005
    5
    It is nice but itz not workin properly! Sumtimes the disc tells me that there's no data which is stupid! Sometimes it works other times it doesn't. It started doin these stuff when i added superstar 2 it! Nice game but got technical defects i believe! Full Review »
  2. SpencerS.
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    This is an excellent game! I recomend it for all Sims lovers. I myself have a few sims expantion pakcs such as, Unleashed, Hot date and Livin Large....but Superstar tops them all. Its fun to see all the famous celebrities such a Merlin Monroe, Avril Lavegne and many more. However....one of the many problems i have with my sims is their social abbilities and in Superstar you need to be good at making friends with celebtrities in order to clim up the fame food chain. But overall i think this game is good for everyone! Full Review »
  3. VincentH.
    May 24, 2004
    10
    It's a great game, a cool game, very good.