The Sims PC

The Sims Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In "SimCity," you had the power to build and control cities ... with The Sims, you'll create and control people!
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    The uniqueness of the game, the sound, graphics and the ability to control a little Sim life hooked me almost immediately.
  2. GMR Magazine
    100
    It's impossible to categorize EA's addictive superblockbuster life simulator, just like it's impossible to stop playing it. [Feb 2003, p.94]
  3. 95
    The game isn't just addictive, it's downright dangerous.
  4. 90
    Never before have I played a game as compelling as The Sims. This game will provide you with emotional experiences that you could never imagine from a video game.
  5. Original, amusing addictive, and most of all incredibly fun and relaxing to play. If we only had more great ideas like these…
  6. It is compelling, addictive, fun, frustrating, well-designed and intriguing.
  7. It does become kind of mesmerising, but like watching waves on a beach, chances are that pretty soon you'll tire of the lack of variety on offer.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 56
  2. Negative: 10 out of 56
  1. C.Doyle
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Loved it!
  2. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Playing The Sims is a unique experience. In my opinion, neither the competitors nor the 2, 3 and 4 sequels have caught the perfect, roundedPlaying The Sims is a unique experience. In my opinion, neither the competitors nor the 2, 3 and 4 sequels have caught the perfect, rounded formula the original Sims had. Newer versions are more fancy but gameplay was way better and faster in that game. Expand
  3. ArthurP
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    I remember playing this years and years ago, it was my favorite game then, the building, the songs, looking after your family and progressing I remember playing this years and years ago, it was my favorite game then, the building, the songs, looking after your family and progressing mesmerized me. It's one of those games you get so into it you forget your playing a game. Today I got the game again and tonnes of wonderful memories came back about this game. So in summary, yes its an old game, the graphics are no way near as the modern sims, but it one of the most interesting and enjoyable games ever to be released. I was very disappointed with the sims 2, probably because it can never live upto the original sims. Expand
  4. RobertB.
    Jun 10, 2001
    9
    Mysteriously addictive. For some reason, it's fun to make someone else do all the stuff that, in reality, you should be out doing Mysteriously addictive. For some reason, it's fun to make someone else do all the stuff that, in reality, you should be out doing (cleaning up the house, working your way up the corporate ladder, etc.) Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 7 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 9 out of 10, Re-play:Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 7 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 9 out of 10, Re-play: 8 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10 Expand
  6. Uter
    May 23, 2003
    7
    I really don't see why this game is so popular. Perhaps it's because it's accessable to everyone. But the actual gameplay I really don't see why this game is so popular. Perhaps it's because it's accessable to everyone. But the actual gameplay leaves a lot to be desired. There are pretty significant glitches that can occur, and it's not as open ended as I was expecting. Good fun, but not brilliant or a must play by any means. Expand
  7. Nemisis
    May 17, 2003
    1
    EXTREMLY STUPID GAME. NO FUN.

See all 56 User Reviews