Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    100
    The Walking Dead Episode 2 is a perfect, three-hour nugget of story-driven adventure gaming. The immediacy of the gameplay and writing make it easy to boot up the game and instantly become engrossed in a world where nothing is sacred, and anything can happen at any moment. No tutorials needed.
  2. Oct 13, 2012
    94
    Episode 2 delves less on the zombies and more on the relations between humans. In that it succeeds and manages to pull off some of the best writing and atmosphere seen in games this year. Even if you don't care about the subject matter, episode 2 is most definitely worth a look. [Oct 2012]
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    91
    Not only is Starved for Death a great episode, but it also shows that The Walking Dead has more to show us than just zombie fighting. There's a story here that is unlike anything I've seen in a zombie game, which is really saying something given how many zombie games there are. It's not for everybody, but fans of the pilot will this atmospheric second episode up!
  4. Jul 31, 2012
    90
    If the forthcoming episodes keep this emotional rollercoaster so unpredictable and surprising, we've got a strong candidate for the adventure game of the year award. [September 2012, p.78]
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    90
    Episode 2 ends on a note that highlights the detail and thought behind its mechanics... (Potential spoiler omitted.) It's presented in a terribly disturbing manner, of course, but that's part of what makes it so wonderful.
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    Starved for Help more than fulfills the high expectations set for it, maintaining the tense immersion and bold story development of its predecessor.
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    The controls could do with a bit of work and I still think that vastly increased challenge either through puzzles or conflict would more appropriately match the tone of the game, but all of these are things I thought after I was done with it. None of them got in the way of the experience.
  8. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    The episode will last you around two hours, and even with the problems I had, the story, voice acting and overall tone of the game hold true throughout. Players of the first episode should not miss this one, and players that have yet to pick up the series should play this game (in order, of course). If you're looking for a great continuation of the first episode, you just found it
  9. Aug 31, 2012
    89
    If the first episode made us face difficult situations, the second one assaults us with a symphony of horror. [September 2012]
  10. 88
    Flat-out amazing. It's better than Episode 1 in every way. It's better written and more fun to play than other similar cinematic games like Heavy Rain. It's an artistic masterpiece, a pinnacle of cinematic gameplay. If you are a Walking Dead fan, or just a fan of cinematic games in general, then you owe it to yourself to play this episode.
  11. Jul 6, 2012
    87
    The story and drama are more exciting, and move in the kind of crazy direction you would expect from a game in The Walking Dead universe.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 338 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Props for Telltale for the new awesome episode of the walking dead game. seriously i haven't had so much fun playing a game in ages!! I hope they don't delay Episode 3 for another month.. Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    This episode was much more memorable than the first one, and having only seen the TV show, I did not expect the series to take such a twisted turn. And I really liked the atmosphere and tension Telltale created. The suspicious characters, the dialogue, well created settings, and good direction really created a nice ambience. Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Absolute amazing episode. This episode is well worth the entire prize for the 5 episodes. There really wasnt any thing i didnt like about it. The choses are importent and meaningfull, the story is superb. Full Review »