User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 333

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Props for Telltale for the new awesome episode of the walking dead game. seriously i haven't had so much fun playing a game in ages!! I hope they don't delay Episode 3 for another month..
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    This episode was much more memorable than the first one, and having only seen the TV show, I did not expect the series to take such a twisted turn. And I really liked the atmosphere and tension Telltale created. The suspicious characters, the dialogue, well created settings, and good direction really created a nice ambience.
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Absolute amazing episode. This episode is well worth the entire prize for the 5 episodes. There really wasnt any thing i didnt like about it. The choses are importent and meaningfull, the story is superb.
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Step aside Mass Effect 3. This game ACTUALLY reflects the choices you've made throughout the entire story. For a zombie survival game, it actually has a decent plot, well written characters and a nice dose of suspense & gore. I keep on replaying it to get the best choice possible. Only part that sucks is I have to wait again for the next episode to get my Walking Dead fix! (Hopefully it'll be released faster than this one) Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    3
    Just as bad as the first in my book, extremely limited in what you can do, it seemed like every time I had to make a decision the one I would of made was not an option. I don't feel like retyping everything I thought was wrong so if you want a list go there and see, there are several others at least with the same complaints about the game. If you want a visual book, this is the game for you, if not stay away. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2012
    6
    It's ok - but it's not actually a "game" is it? Anyone remember the film "Big" with Tom Hanks where a kid in the body of his dad (after some swap) pitches a game idea to these suits...well this is the animated version of that game - it didn't sound like a game in the mid 1980's - and it doesn't sound or play much like a game now. Nice walk through a story, but you do nothing, make little or no choices that matter, no tactics, no strategy, no action..nothing really. Looking for a story - it's pretty decent. But game it aint Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Immersive, shocking & emotionally exhausting: The Walking Dead Episode 2 is a masterpiece. It's tense from beginning to end and you can't stop playing. A near-perfect game that exceeds the quality of the previous episode.
  8. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    It just keeps getting better. I love how no matter what choice you make, it seems like something bad is going to come out of it. This chapter was so engaging that I completed it in a single sitting. The voice acting and character development continues to astound me
  9. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    I haven't seen storytelling this good since Half Life 2. Telltale really shocked us with The Walking Dead game. I'd call it their breakthrough series. The sales probably prove it. The interactivity is greatly improved in episode two. Also, all your episode one choices play a bigger role it seems. One thing you say at the beginning of the episode could affect your outcome through the (it shouldn't be spoiled, it's that good) ending. Here's to looking forward to episode 3. And trust me, when episode 5 comes out, you're gonna want to play this whole thing again. Expand
  10. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Another great addition to this series. The storyline is fantastic. This is such an awesome and unique game. I cannot wait for the next episode, hopefully we don't have to wait as long!
  11. Koo
    Jul 5, 2012
    10
    At least as good as the first episode. Riveting storytelling, superb pacing, and tension galore. My one caution would be, if you're using an XBox 360 controller for the PC, be careful what button you push! I switched between using the keyboard and mouse to the 360 controller and pressed the wrong key at a crucial point. The game informed me that the decision I made (by mistake) was taken by just 12% of all players! Ah well. I guess that's just life. Expand
  12. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    Great storyline that explores some darker themes. My only complaint is just who the heck was Mark? Beyond his couple lines of background exposition, he was a pretty underdeveloped character.
  13. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    In my honest opinion, the second Episode of The Walking Dead is a welcome improvement. All the characters have continued development and feel real. The storyline is great and is understandable for the most simplest of minds. The gameplay stays the same, the action sequences are as great as they were before. Like earlier, the game could use a bit more polish in terms of graphics, but that does not matter whatsoever. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Telltale Games is doing an excellent job. This game just gets better and better with each new episode. There's something big and new in every episode which grabs your attention till the very end and you are tempted to go for the next episode. I am new to point and click adventure games and all i can say is "The Walking Dead" is an awesome game.One of the best games of 2012 in my opinion. Its not over-hyped.Its everything you have heard about it.Nothing less..! Go For It...! Collapse
  15. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    ====================================
    Am gonna make this short and easy...

    "Well done, must have"

    Enough said...
    ====================================
  16. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    A much more deep and immersive experience than the first episode, focusing a bit more on the human survivors than the zombies. It features a great storyline that keeps you interested with some really hard decisions to make. A must buy if you liked the first episode!
  17. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    Wow... just wow! This game is possibly the most emotionally immersive I've ever played. And the key decisions you make have a very direct impact on the storyline. I have never felt a true sense of regret when I made a quick decision in a video game before. Never. But in this game, I felt emotionally connected to the consequences of the actions I choose to take, thus when I was forced to make a difficult and quick decision, there were several occasions when I truly felt a deep emotional surge of regret. While the gameplay of this game is relatively simple and may not be appreciated by video gamers who are more into the fast-paced first person shooter type games, the emotional impact and incredibly well put together story-telling elements put this game in a league of it's own. I can't wait to sit down with episode 3 (and 4 and 5) when I have another free day! That'll be a good day... Expand
  18. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    Very limited gameplay and a few technical issues on the ps3 version ( some long loading screens mid gameplay ) don't prevent this being a whole ton of fun, great story and dialogue with some pretty damn brutal moments combine to make this zombie survival a whole ton of fun, loving the series so far, just don't make me wait so long for the next. !
  19. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    As a long time fan of telltale games, i found the first episode to be quite good but episode 2 really makes you think (if there is time) about your choices. The wait between episode 1 and 2 was worth it.
  20. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    This game is basically tries to sell on a big lie, that you can impact the story.
    And not only do they lie to you in the marketing, they also lie to you when you play the game.
    The game pretends that you have a lot of big choices but its easy to see that you cannot make any impact. If you replay the choices you will see black on white that the result is always the same.

    I cant believe
    this got such a high rating. Most likely it have been doped by the developer.
    If I ever see a game made by telltale ever again I will stay miles away.
    Expand
  21. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    This is not so much a game as an animated comic. Voice acting - 9 Excellent. Story & Art - 7 Good. User dialogue options - 2 Appalling. Trite coin flipping. Users get to play the dumbest person in the world. Game Mechanics - 3 Clumsy. Poor interface interferes with execution. Usability - 3 Poor If you want to rewind, You have to watch the same sequence at real time and have no option to speed things up. Expand
  22. Feb 10, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favourite Walking Dead episode. The character development in this episode is at it's best. The canniblism was a surprise to most, but for some reason I could spot it less than half way into the episode. The characters are so realistic and creepy. As I had to save clementine from eating the human meat, I felt emotions I didn't know a game could make me feel. Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The story continues on from the first episode with an equally promising direction. Your choices feel real and the story line continues to get better.

    The attachment with the characters grows even further to a point where you cant help but want to play episode 3 straight away.
  24. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Really good story - tv series is pretty good, but i loved the comic much more, and this, while not written by Kirkman (don't think so anyway), has the tone pretty much just right. Like the first one, it's pretty much an interactive story instead of a game per se, but its awesome. I haven't felt this emotionally engaged with game characters for a long time. Like scruxty (see other review) I think this is really more of an animated comic - I for one love it. Expand
  25. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    This was a pretty damn creepy episode. I won't go in to too much detail anyway, but It was weird.

    There wasn't a whole focus on the zombies in this episode. It was more to do with the creepy ass family in the farm, which wasn't a bad thing at all. But, I wished they'd done more parts where you sneak around zombies plotting how to kill them (like episode one).
  26. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    Like the first episode, this is worth playing for the story even if you don't follow the Walking Dead comics or TV show. The only real problem with this episode is its insistence on including 'action' click-here-to-not-die quicktime events, which the engine does poorly enough to guarantee a few death/reload cycles. It's worth fighting through those to see the rest of the story though.
  27. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Just wow a must play 100 times better then the first episode, and epis
    ode 1 could hold its own as a great game! can not wait for episode 3!
    Buy buy buy buy! :-)
  28. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    this one was best one mind blowing as ever i hope this game get Goty edition hoping australia would sell it here mind u....


    i love shooting zombie part really great
  29. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    The game is absolutely gorgeous,comparing with first one Episode 2 start three months after the events of the first one,now with most of the gameplay taking place in broad daylight giving a new fresh approach of the storyline,a very well approached screenplay an amazing concept art and a great voice acting,gives you one hour and a half of pure entertainment.
  30. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was surprisingly good - I am usually not a fan of these types of games but the writing and animation is just about the best I've EVER seen in a game of this sort. The dialogue is unrivaled by any game I've ever played, characters are well thought out and believable (for the most part). The setting that it creates truly immerses you totally into the game, and you feel an actual connection for the characters. The game is not without its fair share of flaws though. For starters, in episode 1 I clearly defended Kenny's son Duck against Larry, but somehow in episode 2 it made it seem as if I hadn't, and Kenny was pissed at me for not standing up to Larry (even though I clearly did). To me this is absolutely inexcusable, something as simple as a truth table should NOT be buggy this far into the release of a game that really isn't that long, all it would take is a simple playtest to find this bug. On top of that my only other real qualm is perhaps just a stylistic choice - but the game is marketed as a game where you make difficult choices that effect the outcome of the game. While it's somewhat true, it's severely overstated. In the end, nearly every choice you make virtually ends you up at the same exact place. Most choices in the game end up being pseudo - choices. Like in episode one if you choose to go at day or night there really is no major consequences, and if you choose to save sean or duck, sean still ultimately ends up dying no matter what you do. Same goes for whether or not you trust the farmers or not in episode 2, you'll still end up going to the farm no matter what you choose, you'll still end up finding out about them eating humans no matter what you choose, and larry will still get crushed by kenny no matter what you choose. To me that's pretty lame, but the incredible character development and storywriting more than make up for it. Personally I would have liked it to be much less linear and to have the simple bugs fixed (I often also saw scenes where a gun was missing from multiple character's hands even though they clearely should be holding one) - change those 2 things and it'd be a perfect 10 (something you never see these days in games). A shame really, but still well worth the purchase, this game is awesome even though I rag on it for its flaws. Expand
  31. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    This episode is even better than the first, i don't need to repeat what others have said good about the game. It's so enticing and you want to find out what happens next all the time. I love the characters and voice acting. My only gripe costing the game full marks is the lack of changes you can actually make in the story. It seems a few scenes change here and there, but the story is still linear. Obviously a branching story would require a tonne more work and effort, but it would be awesome. They have done well though for what it is. Expand
  32. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Telltale have done wonders here. I was not expecting much after Telltale's last "serious" game, Jurassic Park, was terrible. The Walking Dead, contrastingly, manages to be an exciting, atmospheric and evocative game. The pacing is spot on; quieter, narrative parts and intense action sequences blend seamlessly together. The story is interesting and for the most part the dialogue feels organic. There are only two problems I had with the game. One of the characters, Mark, is not built upon at all and just seems to be a filler character to advance the story. The other problem is that some of your choices seem to have no significance in terms of the story, and only change a few lines of dialogue. Hopefully in the next few episodes they will give your choices some real gravity. Expand
  33. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    A very very well planned game following closely to lore and player's decisions. This makes it a very unique game since it means most play-through's will not be the same - you can have 3 different save files so you can play through with each story being different. Even though there are only two chapters available as of now, they have proven to be perfected and generous with content and storytelling.
    A marvellous game, and perfect for anyone that loves horror and a true story that is created by your choices!
    Expand
  34. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    On it's own, I'd give Episode 2 an 9. Compared to the first one, I'd say 7. The characters are as well written as in the first one, but the plot flows less naturally and the "big reveal" (no spoilers) isn't actually very surprising at all. They do follow up on your choices very well, even the really, REALLY small ones come up occasionally. The puzzles are slightly easier, but the puzzles in the first one were easy too. I'm really looking forward to Episode 3 because- again, no spoilers- they seem to be hinting at a significant conflict between Lee and the person that you don't support in one of the decisions of Episode 2, or the two people who ask you to support their decision perhaps. Either way, Walking Dead: Episode 2 is a fantastic game; it is well made independent of Episode 1 and as a successor to it. Expand
  35. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    Cool game, but a little short for my likings.. its one of those games that you play through multiple times just to explore every single story arch, but very good presentation
  36. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    Probably the best Telltale game. Good characters, nice atmosphere and great storyline.
  37. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Telltale earned a fan with this game. It is simply amazing, one of the best game experiences Ive ever had. Metacritic is making me write more but nothing else needs to be said.
  38. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Despite some logic problems within the plot, a few graphical glitches and evidently superficial interactivity, Episode 2 was surprisingly good and especially well written and that's the most important thing for such a game. I don't want to spoil anything, but everyone who likes a (really) well written story should play this.
    Only downside is that the decisions you made in Episode 1 do not
    matter as much as would be possible, guess the developers are too lazy to implement so many story branches, so the main premise of the gameplay falls a bit flat and the decisions in Episode 2 were not as hard as they had been in Episode 1, however they surprised me more. So everyone who seeks real interactive story evolvement should be warned, but there are few games who can achieve that, very very few. Those who like interesting characters, settings, stories and drama will not be disappointed. Expand
  39. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    The Walking Dead: Episode 2- Starved for Help starts off fast-paced and is filled with big decisions. The middle hour comes to a halt slowing things down a bit. The big reveal at end is worth playing through the dull moments. The presentation problems from episode 1 are still present. In the end episode 2 is a great game, but has more problems and is slower than episode 1.
  40. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    This game is like a movie, but with many fun and important actions YOU choose. This one definitely beats the first episode. I will not give this a 10 because you cannot reply the game and scene select or fast forward. Also, most of your actions do not really affect the game dramatically.
  41. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    I actually found this be quite a bit boring compared to the first episode. The story still progresses fine but I felt like this was more for that without having us do anything besides the point and click detective stuff. I wanted more action. I did enjoy the shootout though
  42. Oct 30, 2012
    5
    This isn't a game as much as a very casual "choose your own adventure" experience that will present very little challenge even to new players. I really can't imagine anyone spending more than a few minutes on any given "challenge". Each location only has a few points of interest, puzzles are very simple (you can consider your inventory cluttered if you have three items in it), and fighting zombies consists of either hammering a single key or leisurely pointing your mouse at the highlighted area. A slight spoiler here: at one point you are instructed to sneak up on a location. You press W for a few seconds and... that's it. Congratulations, Master Sneaker. Even when you are given a choice (usually in dialogues), it can only affect the details of the story, forcing you down one of several predetermined storylines. The problem is, so far none of the storylines seem bad or wrong so it seems that you can pretty much select dialogue options at random and you'll still complete the episode.
    As you can see, there's very little actual gaming here, forcing you to concentrate on the story. Unfortunately, what we get so far is standard zombie fare, and the big plot twist of this episode is so predictable, you'll really wish there was a way to warn Lee about it (the game gives you no choice but to walk right into it, which is frustrating). The characters are flat and uninteresting, and the dialogues are usually very simple, although in more heated moments things do get pretty exciting and Lee's interactions with Clementine can be genuinely affecting.
    I've been very negative in this review so far, but the thing is, this is a pretty original little game that tries very hard to give you a memorable experience and I really applaud that. If you manage to suspend your disbelief and play along, I'm sure you'll have a great time. For me, however, the very limited choices, uninteresting story, and nonexistent challenge resulted in a pretty boring time. I don't think I'll play Episode 3.
    Expand
  43. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Loved every minute. The plot is absolutely mind blowing. Choices are hard and the characters, carsimatic. Cant wait for more games from Telltale. Highly reccomended.
  44. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This episode as expected was awesome, and St. John Brothers were really horrifying 9/10 for me
  45. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    I hope you enjoy having your saves rendered unplayable because that's what this game is all about. Your hard earned progress is likely to be wiped by a faulty save system when you try to resume playing. And guess what? YOU CAN'T SKIP DIALOGUE OR CUTSCENES. Unbearable. Such a great game but so terribly implemented.
  46. May 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a note: (I played the Mac version on steam, opinion may vary). I personally already saw a walkthrough of the entire game series before buying and playing it. And I regret doing so. This game still keeps it's level of drama high, even though the game always has you go through the same routines, I'm still enjoying it, even when knowing everything that's about it happen, and that's a gem right there.

    This episode still kept me going, I made all of the opposite choices from what I saw at the walkthrough in this episode. And I had regret from everything! Kenny's now pissed at me a little more, and I felt really bad after killing Danny (Right In front of Clementine I may add), and being one of the 12% that actually shot Jolene (The crazy save lots girl)! Heck, I've yet to record the rest of the episode's for my let's play of the series, and yet I'm still enjoying it.

    And I can't wait for season 2!!
    Expand
  47. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 9 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10

    I have a low re-play score on this game because when you re-play the game (which there is a strong desire to re-play this game to try other choices) the new different choices you make either 1) don't make much
    difference and/or 2) the way the main character and other characters act/re-act for non-mainstream choices is highly unrealistic. I really loved this game and would of given it a 9 for my over-all score, but the re-play that I was anxious to try was a real dud and took away from my original experience; thus giving the game an over-all score of 8. Expand
  48. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    Telltale Games is doing an excellent job. This game just gets better and better with each new episode. There's something big and new in every episode which grabs your attention till the very end and you are tempted to go for the next episode. I am new to point and click adventure games and all i can say is "The Walking Dead" is an awesome game.One of the best games of 2012 in my opinion. Its not over-hyped.Its everything you have heard about it.Nothing less..! Go For It...! Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    94
    Episode 2 delves less on the zombies and more on the relations between humans. In that it succeeds and manages to pull off some of the best writing and atmosphere seen in games this year. Even if you don't care about the subject matter, episode 2 is most definitely worth a look. [Oct 2012]
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    89
    If the first episode made us face difficult situations, the second one assaults us with a symphony of horror. [September 2012]
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    77
    The drama is well-directed, but as soon as The Walking Dead tries to straighten its shoulders, it immediately runs into technical issues, like stiff animation, poor facial gestures, and the lack of ambient sounds.