The Walking Dead: Episode 2 - Starved for Help Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 371 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Episode two of a five-part game series set in the same universe as Robert Kirkmans award-winning series. With starvation and bandit attacks becoming as much of a threat as the undead, the group finds themselves seeking help and food from strangers at a local dairy.
    - Feel what its like
    Episode two of a five-part game series set in the same universe as Robert Kirkmans award-winning series. With starvation and bandit attacks becoming as much of a threat as the undead, the group finds themselves seeking help and food from strangers at a local dairy.
    - Feel what its like to be a survivor, where choosing between necessities and whats right is a delicate matter.
    - Encounter human survivors who have gone down a truly horrific path.
    - Begin to see the pressures of Lillys responsibilities and get a glimpse of her tortured past as she starts to unravel as a leader.
    - Develop an understanding of what youre willing to resort to in order to ensure survival.
    - Live with the choices you made in Episode One as they continue to affect your experience in this episode.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    100
    The Walking Dead Episode 2 is a perfect, three-hour nugget of story-driven adventure gaming. The immediacy of the gameplay and writing make it easy to boot up the game and instantly become engrossed in a world where nothing is sacred, and anything can happen at any moment. No tutorials needed.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    The controls could do with a bit of work and I still think that vastly increased challenge either through puzzles or conflict would more appropriately match the tone of the game, but all of these are things I thought after I was done with it. None of them got in the way of the experience.
  3. CD-Action
    Jul 31, 2012
    90
    If the forthcoming episodes keep this emotional rollercoaster so unpredictable and surprising, we've got a strong candidate for the adventure game of the year award. [September 2012, p.78]
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    85
    More brutal and dramatic than ever, Starved for Help put the player in uncomfortable situations, forcing him to take decisions that could easily regret later.
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    82
    Simply, if you enjoyed the first game and haven't pre-ordered the rest of the episodes, then this is a must-buy. The game has only gotten better, though the true lack of choice is a little more evident.
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    80
    Luckily, action sequences have been tightened up considerably from the first episode, with interactive points actually on the object in question and not somewhere nearby. And there are just enough quick-time events to keep you on your toes, though they are less frequent than before. The focus is on the slow burn of a terrible, desperate situation; the realization that no matter how many obvious monsters you've sheltered yourself from, a worse one might be standing right next to you.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Aug 10, 2012
    70
    Even more personal and emotional than the first episode with the same random flaws in interface and playability. E2 deserves an applause but it is not standing ovations yet. [Issue#220]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Props for Telltale for the new awesome episode of the walking dead game. seriously i haven't had so much fun playing a game in ages!! I hopeProps for Telltale for the new awesome episode of the walking dead game. seriously i haven't had so much fun playing a game in ages!! I hope they don't delay Episode 3 for another month.. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    As a long time fan of telltale games, i found the first episode to be quite good but episode 2 really makes you think (if there is time)As a long time fan of telltale games, i found the first episode to be quite good but episode 2 really makes you think (if there is time) about your choices. The wait between episode 1 and 2 was worth it. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Telltale Games is doing an excellent job. This game just gets better and better with each new episode. There's something big and new in everyTelltale Games is doing an excellent job. This game just gets better and better with each new episode. There's something big and new in every episode which grabs your attention till the very end and you are tempted to go for the next episode. I am new to point and click adventure games and all i can say is "The Walking Dead" is an awesome game.One of the best games of 2012 in my opinion. Its not over-hyped.Its everything you have heard about it.Nothing less..! Go For It...! Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    This was a pretty damn creepy episode. I won't go in to too much detail anyway, but It was weird.

    There wasn't a whole focus on the zombies
    This was a pretty damn creepy episode. I won't go in to too much detail anyway, but It was weird.

    There wasn't a whole focus on the zombies in this episode. It was more to do with the creepy ass family in the farm, which wasn't a bad thing at all. But, I wished they'd done more parts where you sneak around zombies plotting how to kill them (like episode one).
    Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    Very limited gameplay and a few technical issues on the ps3 version ( some long loading screens mid gameplay ) don't prevent this being aVery limited gameplay and a few technical issues on the ps3 version ( some long loading screens mid gameplay ) don't prevent this being a whole ton of fun, great story and dialogue with some pretty damn brutal moments combine to make this zombie survival a whole ton of fun, loving the series so far, just don't make me wait so long for the next. ! Collapse
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The story continues on from the first episode with an equally promising direction. Your choices feel real and the story line continues to getThe story continues on from the first episode with an equally promising direction. Your choices feel real and the story line continues to get better.

    The attachment with the characters grows even further to a point where you cant help but want to play episode 3 straight away.
    Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    This game is basically tries to sell on a big lie, that you can impact the story.
    And not only do they lie to you in the marketing, they also
    This game is basically tries to sell on a big lie, that you can impact the story.
    And not only do they lie to you in the marketing, they also lie to you when you play the game.
    The game pretends that you have a lot of big choices but its easy to see that you cannot make any impact. If you replay the choices you will see black on white that the result is always the same.

    I cant believe this got such a high rating. Most likely it have been doped by the developer.
    If I ever see a game made by telltale ever again I will stay miles away.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews