Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Episode 3 of a 5-part game series set in Robert Kirkman’s universe. Treachery within the group leads to a devastating series of events. Will the tough choices you made in episodes one and two come back to haunt you or prove to be worthwhile decisions?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    95
    Episode 3 is the one episode that really makes you think. It's a rough emotional ride that will make you want to replay the episode to see what exactly would happen if you changed your choices. It really is the best episode in the series so far. It will be very difficult to top this one. The cliffhanger to this episode will guarantee that you will want to play the next. I highly suggest the entire series, and especially this episode, without any doubts.
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    90
    The best episode so far and easily the most emotional, personal and affecting.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    If you hate sadness and heartache, then Long Road Ahead is not for you. This is a journey fraught with triumphs and setbacks, often happening simultaneously. This is yet another strong episode that reinforces my opinion that The Walking Dead is one of the best games of the year!
  4. Sep 5, 2012
    87
    With so much action, drama and narrative twists, Long Road Ahead is the most powerful episode so far.
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    85
    Telltale Games knows what they're doing. They've managed to surprise us again and leave us waiting for the next episode. The plot is shocking and won't let us go till we finish it, and together with the evolution and the importance of the decisions of the characters make it a very recommendable title, whether you're a fan of the comics or not.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    82
    As stated earlier, Episode 3 keeps pace with the other two installments, which speaks highly of its developers – the episodes truly feel like chapters of one long story, and not parts that jaggedly fit together. Unfortunately, the gameplay staggers wantonly while simultaneously stagnating in long adventure-style fetch quests.
  7. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Speaking of puzzles, most in the episode are easy and you should have no problem finishing it in less than three hours. Another annoying case of "adventure game logic" rears its ugly head towards the end of the game, though: Lee appears to have the magical ability to fit a full-sized blowtorch and gas canister inside his back pocket and climb up a ladder unaided. In the real world, getting this contraption up the ladder would've been a puzzle in itself. For a franchise that depends on realism to sell the misery and horror of something so implausible as reanimated corpses, that disregard for authenticity is a step in the wrong direction.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Once again, i have to give another The Walking Dead Episode a full 10. In my books, i've never felt a stronger connection to the wellbeing of a character than that with clementine. As for the Episode: Its absolutely amazing once again.. i can't wait for it to see how it all turns out Collapse
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    While people disappointed that their choices don't hold the weight they thought they did are likely right, it doesn't change the fact that personally I have never been more shocked or moved by a game than I was in episode 3. For that alone it deserves an excellent rating. Regardless of whether this is a movie or a game it's a damn good one. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Things really went crazy in this episode. As food and paranoia becomes a serious issue, the people around you that you trust are now in a situation worse than ever before. Drama, death, chaos and unthinkable things will happen. This episode builds upon the two already amazing episodes before it. It tells a story that captured me and the characters around me made it feel almost real. Telltale games have a masterpiece right here and it's getting better and better by each episode Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    The Walking Dead: Episode 3- Long Road Ahead gives you an unsettling feeling. I did have the most problems with the presentation, sometimes stopping the whole game and making me start over. The ending was not the climax I was expecting, with fast-paced start and breathtaking middle act. Episode 3 would be the best episode of the series, but has a lackluster ending and the most presentation problems of the series. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    This Episode clearly showed me that nothing you ever did or said has any impact on the outcome. All choices are purely cosmetic and don't change anything. Before this I still had hopes in my game differing from a friends game when we choose different things. But as it turns out that is not the case which is a major disappointment in my book. If you want an interactive movie, a nice story, and don't care about extremely linear gameplay you will still be satisfied. Just bare in mind that choices in this game don't matter at all. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2012
    5
    I was really enjoying the script this game has, until my girlfriend decided she wanted to play too. She made a different choice in pretty much every single decision, and by the middle of chapter 3 we ended up with exactly the same outcome. As it turns out, our choices dont matter at all. So, this is not a graphic adventure, since the puzzles are way too easy (hell, everybody around tells you exactly what you have to do next, even your own character does), and this is not an interactive story either, since even if a few non important conversations play a little different in each playthrough, the major outcome will always be the same. Considering all this game had was the "make your own choices and get your own scenario" thing, chapter 3 feels as lazy as it can get. I give it a 5 because the story is still worth watching, but thats all there is: A story that demands you to click around to unfold. What you choose to click does not matter at all. Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    This game is basically tries to sell on a big lie, that you can impact the story.
    And not only do they lie to you in the marketing, they also
    lie to you when you play the game.
    The game pretends that you have a lot of big choices but its easy to see that you cannot make any impact. If you replay the choices you will see black on white that the result is always the same.

    I cant believe this got such a high rating. Most likely it have been doped by the developer.
    If I ever see a game made by telltale ever again I will stay miles away.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews