Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 90
    Adventure series comes with another episode – and this one is the best one so far in every aspect. Can't wait for the finale! [Dec 2012]
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    89
    While not as gripping as the first three episodes, Around Every Corner remains a strong chapter of The Walking Dead. Unfortunately, too much of the game involves new characters that don't seem vital to the end game storyline. Still, this is an episode that sets up what is sure to be an incredible season finale!
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    Around Every Corner is about 3 hours long and it definitely felt like the longest episode yet. And I can't wait until the next one. As terrible as things get, I can't wait to see how it all ends.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    90
    This playable tale once again dares to discuss the more substantial implications of the survival-horror scenario, a setting that was once mostly defined by scarcity of ammunition. I'd lie if I professed that The Walking Dead had anything to do with "fun" in the traditional sense, but here for once, it's a glowing compliment. I'm not looking forward to accompany these Walking Dead on their last steps to the conclusion. But I wouldn't want to miss it for anything in the world.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    87
    Any detachment we may have felt as we slowly immersed ourselves into this hellish world should be lost here. Those who've hungered for each coming episode may experience some tunnel vision as they dive into their monitors and become a part of the group's lives.
  6. Oct 15, 2012
    95
    As I say in all my reviews of every episode of The Walking Dead I play, if you're a fan of a good narrative and character interactions, you need to play this series. Fans of the comic and television show should not hesitate to pick this game up.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Fans of the comic should feel a deep resonance with Episode 4, as it channels aspects of the early story directly, in the way the group explores the house, a la the Wiltshire Estates, and the inclusion of the self-obsessed, Governor-like figure briefly mentioned in the middle of the game.
  8. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead delivers a dramatic and emotionally exhausting experience that few, if any, games have achieved. Forming a close bond with the characters over 12 hours of game play makes the countdown clock for each decision even more stressful. As the psyche of each survivor has slowly been reduced to tatters, every choice has positive and negative impacts for all.
  9. Oct 10, 2012
    95
    Around Every Corner isn't simply the best episode of The Walking Dead yet – it's the single most significant game I've played so far this year, and perhaps the most emotionally devastating gameplay experience I've ever had.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Breathtaking. The newest addition to The Walking Dead series is a universal acclaim by every manner. The plot and the twists of the episode isBreathtaking. The newest addition to The Walking Dead series is a universal acclaim by every manner. The plot and the twists of the episode is five times better then the actual TV series, and the character design/moral decisions are fabulous. Few times the episode left me thinking of what just happened, and how I actually influenced the chain reaction of events. The ending of the episode however, shows exactly what this game is about: twists. The people you liked - You will not anymore, and the ones that you disliked will most likely prove to be your best friends. If the Episode 5 is just as good as this one, I really do not see why this game could not be the game of the year - It easily has the best plot I have ever seen in the gaming.

    10/10 - Amazing.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    What seems to be the best episode so far, The Walking Dead - Episode 4 got even better than the others. While it was roughly the same lengthWhat seems to be the best episode so far, The Walking Dead - Episode 4 got even better than the others. While it was roughly the same length as the others, being it too long would probably keep you depressed for the entire day. The whole plot immerses you into the game, the characters have gain more emotional contrast. Just... Before you play this, make sure your table isn't weak. Because you're going to flip a table and scream your lungs out. That's what every episode makes you do, at least.
    Brilliant job, TellTale. I can't wait for the next episode.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    To be honest I watched this on youtube as if it was a movie. Got luck enough to find a great walkthrough by this DanQ8000 guy. And I gotta sayTo be honest I watched this on youtube as if it was a movie. Got luck enough to find a great walkthrough by this DanQ8000 guy. And I gotta say it was an A+ game, rock solid from top to the bottom of it. A more intense experience than the last episode, and the end leaves you satisfied but hooked for the next episode. Man, they know how to do cliffhangers. Can't stand the thought how long we will have to wait for the next part. Full Review »