Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Episode 4 of the zombie apocalypse chronicle.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    95
    As I say in all my reviews of every episode of The Walking Dead I play, if you're a fan of a good narrative and character interactions, you need to play this series. Fans of the comic and television show should not hesitate to pick this game up.
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    The Walking Dead delivers a dramatic and emotionally exhausting experience that few, if any, games have achieved. Forming a close bond with the characters over 12 hours of game play makes the countdown clock for each decision even more stressful. As the psyche of each survivor has slowly been reduced to tatters, every choice has positive and negative impacts for all.
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    Around Every Corner is about 3 hours long and it definitely felt like the longest episode yet. And I can't wait until the next one. As terrible as things get, I can't wait to see how it all ends.
  4. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    It's worth it just to see where the story goes.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    80
    I have no idea where the story is going next, and I'm itching to find out.
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    70
    One of the weakest individual episodes but with the best ending by far, and one that suggests Episode 5 will be a finale to remember.
  7. 70
    While the impact is less than that of previous installments, Episode 4 remains a solid and well-written chapter of Telltale's The Walking Dead. Following up the chills of the last episode was always going to be a tall order, and while this entry may be free of major revelations, Telltale has done a commendable job continuing to establish such a hopeless world. At this point, though, it feels as if they're racing to an absolute conclusion.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Breathtaking. The newest addition to The Walking Dead series is a universal acclaim by every manner. The plot and the twists of the episode is five times better then the actual TV series, and the character design/moral decisions are fabulous. Few times the episode left me thinking of what just happened, and how I actually influenced the chain reaction of events. The ending of the episode however, shows exactly what this game is about: twists. The people you liked - You will not anymore, and the ones that you disliked will most likely prove to be your best friends. If the Episode 5 is just as good as this one, I really do not see why this game could not be the game of the year - It easily has the best plot I have ever seen in the gaming.

    10/10 - Amazing.
    Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    An Absolute Pleasure Of a Game.... I am a fan of the tv series walking dead, and telltale games has put it to Shame. The reason I think it works So much better than the tv series(and maybe the comics plz don't kill me for saying so.) is that you are completely involved in creating the situations and the resolutions to the world around you. The characters have Never been better in this game the writing was Top Notch. Gary Whitta has done and Amazing job at writing. blending humorous situations in the bleakest of times and just basically putting you on an emotional roller coaster. Also in the episode I have never felt such an amazing connection between Clementine and Lee and I have never felt so dedicated to protecting a fictional character.(No Spoilers) but the ending had me in emotional flames and has never had me So on the edge of my seat waiting for the next episode. CANNOT WAIT So if you want something original and a Huge step forward in storytelling in gaming pick it up Now. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    To be honest I watched this on youtube as if it was a movie. Got luck enough to find a great walkthrough by this DanQ8000 guy. And I gotta say it was an A+ game, rock solid from top to the bottom of it. A more intense experience than the last episode, and the end leaves you satisfied but hooked for the next episode. Man, they know how to do cliffhangers. Can't stand the thought how long we will have to wait for the next part. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    Much improved on episodes 2 and 3. The action feels as visceral and exciting as ever. Characters are well developed, and interaction between them, for the most part, feels organic and well-rounded. I like the idea to still introduce new characters - albeit I am slightly disappointed that another interesting plot line disappears abruptly towards the end of the episode. My biggest criticism of the last 2 episodes was that the choices you made didn't have enough weight. This episode that was rectified to a certain degree; big decisions appear around almost every corner, and most have big significance in the plot. I am wholly impressed by this episode and let's hope that episode 5 is a befitting finale. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead Around Every Corner is even better then the other episodes! Its real rare in games is that every game/part gets better and better. Choices are becoming perniment and no game over screens when you do them. All I can say in this short review is that its amazing and it almost inores fps problems. Overall amazing game. The Walking Dead: Episode 4- Around Every Corner 9.2/10. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Telltale earned a fan with this game. It is simply amazing, one of the best game experiences Ive ever had. Metacritic is making me write more but nothing else needs to be said. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    I hope you enjoy having your saves rendered unplayable because that's what this game is all about. Your hard earned progress is likely to be wiped by a faulty save system when you try to resume playing. And guess what? YOU CAN'T SKIP DIALOGUE OR CUTSCENES. Unbearable. Such a great game but so terribly implemented. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews