User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 392 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 392

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's at the end when you are faced with only the decision of whether or not to shoot Lee that you realise none of the decisions you made impacted the ending at all. There are only two endings and it is something you can decide at the end. However, the gameplay is just as good as the other episodes. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2015
    10
    The final episode of TTG's Game of the Year, The Walking Dead Season One, is both a nerve-wracking and emotional episode. Yes it's not full of action and panic events like the other episodes, but the finale just went so well and its tone is perfectly set to really be this game's finale.
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    oh my the final episode was mind blowing with emotions i felt like crying at ending it was heart reaching it made me sad but when the episode ended i thought something would we would see it but then it stop i was like wtf make me wanting more........

    telltale u done again perfect end for first season game hope second game more better
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    Episode 5 is solid though it feels a bit rushed compared to other episodes, and you pretty much knew how it was going to end at the end of the last one. Despite this, it still manages to be touching and have an incredible story. If I were able to rate the episodes collectively I would place them at a 9.
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    The walking masterpiece. I hate zombie games and movies, but this one just let my jaw drop, kicked my ass with emotions, smashed my imagination with a 10-ton blow, and made me yearn form more games with so well-written characters, balanced action, awesome atmosphere, superb dubbing, and engaging storyline. A must-play and the best game of 2012, which proves that even with an old engine andThe walking masterpiece. I hate zombie games and movies, but this one just let my jaw drop, kicked my ass with emotions, smashed my imagination with a 10-ton blow, and made me yearn form more games with so well-written characters, balanced action, awesome atmosphere, superb dubbing, and engaging storyline. A must-play and the best game of 2012, which proves that even with an old engine and not-so innovative mechanics, games can be mature, enriching and enchanting at the same time. The Walking Dead is bound to become a classic that will be mentioned alongside Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis, Grim Fandango, Monkey Island, Sanitarium, Broken Sword series, and all the cool adventure games that have been recently relegated to indie-game genre. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    I did not expect that a game can reproduce the excitement of the comic / TV series The Walking Dead. I did not expect that at all a game can trigger such emotions. The Walking Dead game introduces a great atmosphere for 5 episodes. Great shows a world of zombies. For the good elements of adventure and action, and choices, is really very good. It is a pity that the engine is really weak,I did not expect that a game can reproduce the excitement of the comic / TV series The Walking Dead. I did not expect that at all a game can trigger such emotions. The Walking Dead game introduces a great atmosphere for 5 episodes. Great shows a world of zombies. For the good elements of adventure and action, and choices, is really very good. It is a pity that the engine is really weak, and I wish that the elections did not produce a little more impact on the game. However, it is great. My Rating - 9/10 Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Probably the best zombie game I have ever played. When I first looked into this game, I thought it would be some shooter resident-evil wannabe, then I found out it was a graphic adventure with lots of action on it, which is really original and cool. But what I liked the most was the story, so epic and inmersive, really at the level of the TV series and more touchy. The flawless voiceProbably the best zombie game I have ever played. When I first looked into this game, I thought it would be some shooter resident-evil wannabe, then I found out it was a graphic adventure with lots of action on it, which is really original and cool. But what I liked the most was the story, so epic and inmersive, really at the level of the TV series and more touchy. The flawless voice acting helps a lot.

    The other strong point in the game is the dialogue choice options. Everything you say almost always have some kind of impact in the story, from gaining influence over some pal of your group, to trigger a whole situation that may save your life or kill you. In fact, the difficulty of the game is not killing the zombies, but preventing your group to split or fall into hysteria.

    The only thing that could be better, are the puzzles. For a graphic adventure the puzzles are quite weak, but it kind of compensates with a great dose of action. All crowned with a great and moving ending.

    This game is a must have so try it. You won't be dissapointed.
    Expand
  8. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 9 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10

    I have a low re-play score on this game because when you re-play the game (which there is a strong desire to re-play this game to try other choices) the new different choices you make either 1) don't make much
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 9 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10

    I have a low re-play score on this game because when you re-play the game (which there is a strong desire to re-play this game to try other choices) the new different choices you make either 1) don't make much difference and/or 2) the way the main character and other characters act/re-act for non-mainstream choices is highly unrealistic. I really loved this game and would of given it a 9 for my over-all score, but the re-play that I was anxious to try was a real dud and took away from my original experience; thus giving the game an over-all score of 8.
    Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I don't know what to say... This game has been quite a journey. I have never felt so into the atmosphere of a game like this before. Every moment was amazing and I will never forget this game.
    The pacing is top notch, the story-telling is unbelievably well done, the characters continue to stay as amazing as they were before.
    I don't cry during video games.
    That law just changed.
  10. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Not much I can say but this The Walking Dead has one of the best stories ever in a game.

    You can't name many games that have made you cry, I can't but this is one of them and I'm happy to have played it. Yeah there isn't much gameplay but it isn't about that and if thats what you were hoping for, well sorry. Also I don't get why people keep saying this episode is rushed, NO TIME
    Not much I can say but this The Walking Dead has one of the best stories ever in a game.

    You can't name many games that have made you cry, I can't but this is one of them and I'm happy to have played it.

    Yeah there isn't much gameplay but it isn't about that and if thats what you were hoping for, well sorry.

    Also I don't get why people keep saying this episode is rushed, NO TIME LEFT!
    Kinda says it all, you're running out of time. This is it, all we've been leading up to, there is no time to stop and think just do what needs to be done.
    Expand
  11. 4DI
    Nov 21, 2012
    10
    What can I say? I'm speechless.
  12. Koo
    Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Episode 5 is the last episode of the Walking Dead: Season 1. I found this episode very moving, with great dialogue and action sequences (as throughout the series). The ending is also worthwhile, which is nice. But my favorite part of this series is just playing through it. I feel like I was there with these people: Lee, Clementing, Duck, Kenny... all of them. And not too many gamesEpisode 5 is the last episode of the Walking Dead: Season 1. I found this episode very moving, with great dialogue and action sequences (as throughout the series). The ending is also worthwhile, which is nice. But my favorite part of this series is just playing through it. I feel like I was there with these people: Lee, Clementing, Duck, Kenny... all of them. And not too many games can do that. Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Wheezy247
    9
    I am going to be honest. Until the Walking Dead game series that Telltale has brilliant crafted, I cannot remember the last time I played a point and click adventure game, but I sure am glad I tried it again. Throughout the entire series, I saw my choices have an influence on what happened later in the episode or in later episodes, but never as much as that that is seen in
    Wheezy247
    9
    I am going to be honest. Until the Walking Dead game series that Telltale has brilliant crafted, I cannot remember the last time I played a point and click adventure game, but I sure am glad I tried it again. Throughout the entire series, I saw my choices have an influence on what happened later in the episode or in later episodes, but never as much as that that is seen in the final episode "No Time Left." Telltale has successfully created a game that blends a unique art style, wonderful voice acting and a story that is probably the best story you'll play this entire year to create a series that, I believe, will have an impact on the future story development of video games. After playing through all of the episodes, I can definitely say that this was the most enjoyable episode, previously episode 2. It is such a delight to see how Telltale managed to bring the entire story together. The emotion that is brought out by the story and voice acting is so powerful, I almost cried at certain parts. I don't want to spoil the ending, but let's just say I can't wait for Telltale's newly announced Season 2. If you haven't played this game yet, you owe it to yourself to play all of the episodes. Telltale's series is not perfect, but the way they brought it all together at the end makes you understand why this game should be considered for game of the year. I would give it a 9.5/10.
    Expand
  14. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    The half life series was what I always considered my all time favorite game, nothing else matched it though few came close namely wind waker, metro 2033, oddworld, heart of darkness, and a few more. Telltale's walking dead however makes me question what my favorite game of all time is. Holy sht this game was indescribable. If ever a game was deserving of a perfect score, this is it. GameThe half life series was what I always considered my all time favorite game, nothing else matched it though few came close namely wind waker, metro 2033, oddworld, heart of darkness, and a few more. Telltale's walking dead however makes me question what my favorite game of all time is. Holy sht this game was indescribable. If ever a game was deserving of a perfect score, this is it. Game of the year easily (to me at least). Expand
  15. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Such a disappointment. All of you need to stop judging it on the ending. I'll look at the whole level. It has a great opening, but after the boat stolen scene, it starts to unravel a bit. When you see the dead couple, Kenny claims suicide is bad, but if you saved Ben, he pretty much locks himself in a alley with walkers to DIE. WTF? And his other death is clearly rushed. It picks up after the part where Lee is seperated, and I like the Stranger reveal, definatly unexpected. I actually started to sympathise with him, and when I killed him, I shot him out of sympathy. But the end was a mixed bag. It evoked emotion out of me a game never had and still hasn't. But it made no sense. What was the point of cutting your arm off? It doesn't matter as you still die. And no matter how bad you are to Clementine, she still cries like a baby when Lee dies. It pulls a ME3, as in your choices don't matter. A good episode, but disappointing as a finale. Expand
  16. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am absolutely speechless, this series has evoked more emotional response than any other game i have ever played, the final scene between clementine and lee was so heartbreaking but beautifully done,i am not ashamed to admit that me, being a legal adult was sobbing and in tears by the final scene, i really hope they do another season as it ended on a pretty big cliffhanger, bravo telltale, you have created a masterpiece of a game. Expand
  17. May 8, 2013
    10
    This episode is a masterpiece, although short it was totally breath-catching, depressing and emotionally engaging.....................................
  18. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    What an epic conclusion to an epic series. In my top 3 games of the year. I thought I was going to cry during the final scene. Wouldn't have minded waiting a couple of extra weeks for them to create more content as I do think (at around a quarter of the length of the others) it represents poor value for money when compared to the other episodes. For this reason, I give it 9.5. I hopeWhat an epic conclusion to an epic series. In my top 3 games of the year. I thought I was going to cry during the final scene. Wouldn't have minded waiting a couple of extra weeks for them to create more content as I do think (at around a quarter of the length of the others) it represents poor value for money when compared to the other episodes. For this reason, I give it 9.5. I hope season 2 can live up to the huge expectations that will surely be placed on it after all the GOTY's it will scoop. On a side note, the characterisations are so good that when me and the gf watch the series, we comment how bland they are compared to the game. Expand
  19. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    This game, as a whole and this finale especially, is storytelling at its finest. There are many branching paths possible for this final episode and Telltale games made it difficult for themselves with the ridiculous combination of options they gave you leading up to this point. They did a terrific job, though. Few faults exist for this game, if any. If you want a story-driven/choice-drivenThis game, as a whole and this finale especially, is storytelling at its finest. There are many branching paths possible for this final episode and Telltale games made it difficult for themselves with the ridiculous combination of options they gave you leading up to this point. They did a terrific job, though. Few faults exist for this game, if any. If you want a story-driven/choice-driven gaming experience, this is perfect. Expand
  20. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Episode 5 is simply amazing. I've been gaming since the 8-bit era and this game has the most well crafted story I've ever played. No ending could have been more appropriate for the series and I honestly believe it tops Episode 2. Can't say much more without spoiling it, but grab this game as soon as you can. Oh, and tell all your friends about it too. No one should get left out of this one
  21. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I'm rather reviewing the whole series than just episode 5 because I think you have to look at the big picture here.

    Yes the game has it's flaws: technical errors (had to play the series with shadows turned off despite my more than decent rack) and, as stated by many others, the choices you make don't change the outcome like some might've wished they would. The comic-look is a pure
    I'm rather reviewing the whole series than just episode 5 because I think you have to look at the big picture here.

    Yes the game has it's flaws: technical errors (had to play the series with shadows turned off despite my more than decent rack) and, as stated by many others, the choices you make don't change the outcome like some might've wished they would. The comic-look is a pure matter of taste, I can understand that some people might not like it, but I do.

    BUT apart from it's deficiencies this here is something unique and I'm glad there's gonna be another series. This is not about 20 different endings or alike, it's about hope and how you're not to loose it and more importantly pass it on to and raise it in somebody else, especially the young ones.

    It's GRIPPING by every meaning of the word. And I can't remember any game that touched and/or moved me like this one, especially no point 'n' click adventure.

    I for one don't think the decisions one makes are pointless. I can't fight the feeling that many people have gotten so used to seeing people die on the screen (and I mean everywhere: the news, the movies and video-games) it just doesn't do anything for/with them anymore. I actually felt terrible and sorry for some of the decisions I made and many of the things I've seen in this game.

    All in all this game tells a great story with convincing characters and is a stunning, gripping experience. 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  22. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    This will game will have a permanent spot on my top list of games i would recommend. this game was one of the biggest emotional roller coaster rides i have ever taken. this last chapter was a satisfying conclusion to the walking dead episodes. aside from a few graphical glitches and some choices that feel a bit to forced this game always gave me the feeling that i was in control of eachThis will game will have a permanent spot on my top list of games i would recommend. this game was one of the biggest emotional roller coaster rides i have ever taken. this last chapter was a satisfying conclusion to the walking dead episodes. aside from a few graphical glitches and some choices that feel a bit to forced this game always gave me the feeling that i was in control of each situation and that the consequences were my fault. And clementine, my favorite character made me feel very protective of this cute little girl that i would risk my life for. if you're looking for a game with an easy to use interface and a story that keeps you wanting more then pick this one up. you will not regret it. Expand
  23. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    One of those pieces of art which will get in the deepest corner of your heart and never leave. Telltale's masterpiece has set a new standard in the interactive storytelling and all gamers should celebrate this since we all are witnessing a birth of a new era of story-driven gaming.
  24. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    One of the best ending of all time, that's for sure. And I'm keeping it real, I cried. I really cried at the ending. Congrats Telltale Games for making this awesome game. And my last words: Game of the Year.
  25. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    i'll be damned if this game doesn't win the Game Of The Year award though its unusual for an adventure game to win a GOTY award and even more so for a point-and-click adventure game. A poignant yet phenomenal finish to an epic game which has set new standards for story telling in videogames.
    I really had given up on videogaming after hours of Call of Duty,Medal Of Honor,Assassin's Creed
    i'll be damned if this game doesn't win the Game Of The Year award though its unusual for an adventure game to win a GOTY award and even more so for a point-and-click adventure game. A poignant yet phenomenal finish to an epic game which has set new standards for story telling in videogames.
    I really had given up on videogaming after hours of Call of Duty,Medal Of Honor,Assassin's Creed and craved for something new. This game stunningly surpassed my expectations. I feel it worth mentioning here that i am completely new to point-and-click adventure games,so i was quite skeptical about the idea of a point-and-click adventure game having as much to offer as a fast paced FPS or a thrilling action/adventure game. This game might even seem graphically unappealing to a chunk of gamers but its storyline really overshadows its shortcomings if any. Since its second season will be hitting the shelves soon,i recommend it as a MUST BUY!!!
    P.S : If my review seems too exaggerated to some people,i'd recommend a look at the bar above which says "47 positive" and just "1 negative" review.
    P.P.S: Telltale Games. you've got a new fan :)
    Expand
  26. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Bloody masterpiece... this game is a howto on making interactive movies. Probably one of the best, if not the best game I've played this year.

    Also, the ending, without revealing too much... very touching. Bravo.
  27. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This is the best episode of the season by far. You've been building up Lee character as well as his relationships with others through your choices and this is the episode where everything comes to a head. NOTHING will stop Lee from saving Clementine.

    The action starts right at the beginning of the episode and never lets up, it may be the shortest episode but it has both the best
    This is the best episode of the season by far. You've been building up Lee character as well as his relationships with others through your choices and this is the episode where everything comes to a head. NOTHING will stop Lee from saving Clementine.

    The action starts right at the beginning of the episode and never lets up, it may be the shortest episode but it has both the best dialogue and action scenes of the entire series. It's true that you choices don't have a huge affect on the overall events of the narrative, but instead they succeed in making every choice feel personal, every choice you make is based on your personal morals and ethics in situations where there is no right answer. it's without a doubt the best story I've every played through in a game, though it's probably closer to a visual novel than traditional games.
    Expand
  28. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Episode 5, the finale... without spoiling anything, it's a satisfying conclusion, even if you think you already know what's going to happen. I'll remember this game for a very long time.
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I think this is the best episode of the series. It's simpy amazing, and sad, and it's a very good ending to one of the best game in this year. It is for certain my game of the year.
  30. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Very satisfying and very very emotional ending. I won't state if the ending was very happy or sad because I don't want to put any spoilers. Thus, I will state that the ending felt very emotionally powerful to me. I will be purchasing season 2 of this game.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    78
    No Time Left is Telltale's best effort to date. It has the longest heart-to-heart talk in the entire game, the most exciting action sequence featuring Lee, a hatchet and a horde of zombies, and a quiet, emotional climax.
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    80
    The last episode of The Walking Dead is a worthy finale for a well crafted and emotional adventure game.
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    100
    It's extraordinarily rare for a game to possess scenes of such powerful emotion, but Telltale have managed something special with The Walking Dead finale, and it'd be a tragedy to miss it.