Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. May 16, 2014
    70
    Despite being slightly predictable in places I really enjoyed the story of In Harm's Way and Clementine's key role in it, but it's a bit light on things to actually do.
  2. May 15, 2014
    70
    An episode of grim, despicable moments and further fascinating tests of Clementine’s morality, but one which persists with some of the weaker aspects of this second season.
  3. May 14, 2014
    70
    Probably the most thrilling and violent episode to date, but Telltale fails to provide an equally compelling storytelling and gameplay.
  4. May 13, 2014
    65
    Plenty of important things happen and there’s a lot of action, but none of it carries the weight that it should. Instead, “In Harm’s Way” is mostly a bullet point list of zombie-story cliches without many of the excellent character interactions we’ve come to expect from Telltale. It’s certainly troubling when characters get killed and the only thing you feel is indifference.
  5. Jun 6, 2014
    60
    The Walking Dead’s middle instalment begins with an overly long, slow burn, though it gradually builds toward the tense excitement that series fans have become accustomed to.
  6. May 13, 2014
    60
    A so-so episode, which relies too much on cliché and Clementine’s increasingly rapid transformation into a child superhero. But there’s still some effective drama despite it all.
  7. Sep 26, 2014
    57
    I guess Telltale wanted to show the world as seen by the child whose whole life depends on adults’ decisions. The result feels like you’re trying to play a game, but someone took your gamepad.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. May 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Its great... a little more graphic in other choices, if you stay to see Bill (Carver) get killed it gets a little graphic. That's not a bad thing though, the world is in hell right now and if you plan to survive you need to make rash decisions and this game owns it. Its my favorite episode and I recommend you get both Season 1 and Season 2 of The Walking Dead. Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2014
    10
    'In Harm's Way' got me more emotionaly involved than the season's previous episodes. I feared for some, hated others and was intrigued by a'In Harm's Way' got me more emotionaly involved than the season's previous episodes. I feared for some, hated others and was intrigued by a fresh face. And when the episode ended on a cliffhanger and the credits rolled, accompanied by the excellent track "Remember Me" by Anadell, that caused the memories of it all to wash over me again. And then I just wanted someone to talk about it. Never a bad sign! 10/10 Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2014
    10
    This episode was very different than previous episodes, in a good way. It has a driven story line with stealthy action scenes. It is a niceThis episode was very different than previous episodes, in a good way. It has a driven story line with stealthy action scenes. It is a nice change in the walking dead series, with twists at every turn yet you never feel confused. It's the perfect mix. Full Review »