User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3492 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. IMO one of the best cRPG's. I recommend it to everyone who seeks good story, cool characters and awesome graphics too. A "must have" game !!
  2. May 18, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is what RPGs and PC gaming are all about, this game is a must have for everyone and Iâ
  3. May 20, 2011
    10
    what else i can say for witcher 2 other than it is pure perfect? graphics? if you have the rig they are eye blowing (playing at ultra settings myself:P), and you will be happy to see what your beast pc can pull out music? perfect combat? hard yes but rewarding (no more ROARRR I CHARGE YOU DIE NPCs) story? deep and cool (no more I SAVE THE WORLD archetype) main character? geralt is one of the best created characters in the gaming industry (very close or equal to shephard)
    other story related characters? they have their own personallity and seem "real"
    dialogs? funny and mature :P the witcher2 is one of the best games ever created in the cRPG universe :)

    thnx CDProjekt keep up the good work :)

    ps. buy the game , support developers who respect their customers ;)
    Expand
  4. May 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing game.From the graphics to the combat their have been innumerable improvements from the first. Customization of the character may pass on changing race sex and face but it has a deep and well structured skills/abilities and mutagen system that provides real choice and differences in game play. The icing on the cake is the story and especially characters. CDproject RED deserves many awards for this game. The graphical settings allow for use on a wide range of systems. While the norm seems to be max everything and complain the options given here allow even slower systems to run the game and look very good in my opinion, while higher settings allow for some of the best visuals Ive have seen. It has taken a long time for crysis to be matched this games to me at least does just that is not surpassing it.

    Bugs at launch yes a few but all fixable (for me anyway),There are a few quest bugs but nothing major. There were some graphical bugs related to both nvidia and ati rather than the game, Nvidia had new drivers out on launch day and ati hot fix regularly.

    A great experience
    Expand
  5. May 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing game!!. Work that has been done by CD Projekt to give such great entertainment deserves 10. I'm just wondering why there are almost only "10" and just few "0" and nothing between?
  6. May 17, 2011
    10
    I have actually been enjoying this game so much that I felt compelled to make a metacritic account to express just how GOOD this game is. It is so obvious that this game was developed by a team that actually cares about it's story, it's settings and most importantly it's characters. This is a game built with love and it really makes this game special. I have been playing games for a long time but this is certainly one of the best games I have ever played. If you have the proper rig ( hell go buy a good one just for this game) you must play this game. You will be doing yourself, fellow gamers and independent developers a huge favor. Trust me. Go get it. Expand
  7. May 17, 2011
    9
    Well, what I can I say to be different than others already expressed? This is a RPG lesson that must be taken by Bioware and Bethesda in the near future, and I hope they caught it. This is what I call a true branching storyline, offering a fair amount of delayed consequences following your choices. They made it even better than in the first game. Combat, magic and alchemy system are greatly improved as well, making the game chalenging and rewarding. I didn't finished the game yet, but I'm almost there. Expand
  8. May 17, 2011
    10
    david gaider voted zero for this game.

    just check this link: http://dragonage.wikia.com/wiki/David_Gaider

    this is getting ridiculous and bioware is slowly becoming the most hated studio if they go on like that. terrible losers they are.

    10
  9. May 17, 2011
    10
    bioware fanboys made me register at metacritic and write this review. first of all if you havent bought this game yet then you are depriving yourself of not just one of the greatest rpg but one of the greatest game of the decade Every single thing that you want to know is evident in every single positive user review. even though i have only completed almost 10 hours of the game, but they say that the First impression is the last impression. its an amazing game a must buy! Expand
  10. May 17, 2011
    10
    Witcher 2 is an amazing game in all aspects. Beautiful graphics and landmarks.......enjoyable quests, no load screens and above all they've improved the combat system that some people were complaining about in the first game(although i liked the combat system).
  11. May 17, 2011
    10
    I had just finished Dragon Age 2 like 4 days ago, and i believed to be "great" but after playing throughout half of The witcher 2, don't take me wrong, but i just can't go back, the graphics and artistic design are too impressive, and the game play on par or better, although a sightly difficult game (to be on normal difficult setting) and very demanding on the computer, can't complain the graphics are superb, the story so far so good, just waiting for the credits to roll out but that won't change my perception of the game which i believed to be not just great but nothing short of "AMAZING". Expand
  12. May 17, 2011
    10
    this game was a fantastic blend of all things rpg, truly a mind-blowing work of passion from the people at cdp. Keep up the great work(and thank you for the love to the pc crowd!)
  13. May 18, 2011
    9
    The best RPG game since the days of ps2!! If not the GOTY will at least be in the competition for top positions! CD Projekt Red Studio is to be congratulated for the quality of your product and even more because of all the DLC except expansions are free.
  14. May 17, 2011
    10
    A crowning achievement in both development and distribution. Environments are richly colorful as they are beautiful. Combat mechanics are as simply devised as they are complexly augmentative. CD Projekt has certainly outdone themselves in every respect. With this stunning title and sister outfit, GOG.com, the Polish company has cemented themselves in the spotlight and hearts of both modern and classic PC gamers alike. Keep an eye closely on them as they understand their demographic more than any developer today (save only Valve). Expand
  15. May 18, 2011
    10
    The best cRPG game I have ever played. beautiful graphics, epic history, very good sound and perfect game play. I hope, this is the game of 2011. Noting more to say.
  16. May 17, 2011
    10
    Let's be honest. Are you looking for one of the best true cRPGs in history? You want absorbing fights with high level of difficulty? Then don't look anymore because The Witcher 2 is here. There's no way you're gonna find anything as good as this at this moment. Forget about useless c**ps from bioware- they already proved with DE2 that they have already forgotten what a true cRPG is.
  17. May 18, 2011
    10
    This game is a beautiful and atmospheric realisation of Low Fantasy that can't be found in other developer's games. The characters are not idealised, they're like real people with all the complexities and motivations that real people have.
  18. May 18, 2011
    10
    Please, check reviews i_hate_poland & Bioware (lol). Gentelmen for BioWare dontt like to lose. The witcher 2 it's probably GOTY 2011. And this is a first game with free DLC :P Michasacuer
  19. May 18, 2011
    10
    Brilliant, enough for me to sign up and leave a review. I've just made it passed the prologue, and am very very impressed. Key points for me are:
    - Graphics are subtly but firmly better than the current generation of rpg's.
    - Everything about the game feels really well produced.
    - The collectors edition is such a good show to the player base, they've thrown in everything and the kitchen
    sink. Great gesture of thanks/reward for supporting the game.

    Given that they're a pc developer, and the crap that's come out of bioware recently, awesome stuff, we need more like this game.

    What i really wanted to say is this.. being a pc gamer.. the thing that really strikes me about the witcher so far is.. graphically.. its ALMOST the Crysis 2 we should have got. The lighting effects and the amount and quality of the details in the environment have an uncanny resemblance to the original crysis, in terms of the graphical calibre.

    I had a blast tweaking the game and seeing Geralt getting hit in the gut a few dozen times while working out the best configs.. The fact that the game didn't disappoint after this is the reason for the 10. The soundtrack is enjoyable to listen to also..
    Expand
  20. May 18, 2011
    10
    The best, complexed, and nonlinear story in cRPG since the long time. I might even say, since good old cRPG times (Baldur´s Gate, Torment, etc). Definately a game of the year. Or, perhaps, even years.
  21. Ex_
    May 19, 2011
    9
    Revised rating. Pros of the game: improved combat system that's fast paced, forces player to pay attention to enemies, doesn't spoon feed you; mistakes are also felt in the game (you die on a boss fight, you start the boss fight over again, not from a check point and there aren't frequent autosaves although some may see this as a con); engaging story and graphics; decent use of quicktime; supports the 360 gamepad with control mapping and UI. Cons of the game: has a somewhat steep learning curve that may be off-putting to impatient players; menu loading can take longer than normal a lot of the time; uses a configuration utility instead of allowing detail changes within the game; ONLY supports the 360 controller. All in all, a good game. P.S. most of the negative reviews are from people who never played the game, are Bioware fanboys, or just didn't take the time to play more than the intro quest before getting their ass kicked, discovered that the game requires skill and not mindless hacking slashing, quitting and refunding. Expand
  22. May 18, 2011
    9
    One of the best game I've ever played! Story is great and adult! Graphic is gorgeous! I've found only little glitches in controls - I'm using xbox controller and sometimes I have problem with choosing right spell or target loot/doors/chest ect. I guess it will be fixed shortly.
  23. May 18, 2011
    10
    Excellent!
    Much better than Arcania or DA2, it's not only true, pure RPG, this is great hope for this genre! Epic story, realistic combat, funny e-eggs, interesting world, charismatic hero ...and is so beautiful!
    Game of the Year, and the best RPG since Planescape!
  24. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sensational game. CD Projekt will be rubbing shoulders with Blizzard and Valve soon if they keep up this quality. The attention to detail throughout is on a new level, you can't help but stop and gaze through a markets goods or simply watch villagers as they go about their day-to-day business. The story so far is enthralling and the character design is Blizzard standard. Expand
  25. May 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ive have the privilege to play in a long time, this is the future of gaming. Well done in taking RPG to the next level. Kind of weird to see so many weirdos from BSN here rating a great game down, just feeling butthurt i guess cause DA2 was a flop.
  26. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have waited a long time for this game, and my expectations were very high. And now after playing Witcher 2, I can say that I'm satisfied with every aspect of this game. The Witcher 2 should become an example for other developers, what RPG game should be. In one word, it is masterpiece. I haven't doubt that Witcher 2 will be the game of the Year 2011. Expand
  27. May 18, 2011
    10
    Excellent game, about time we had a good RPG this year so 8 of 10 from me. BUT for all those scoring 0 I'll just have to add +2 to balance things out.
  28. May 18, 2011
    10
    Absolutely stunning game , there is no game that can compare to The Witcher 2.Coming as only 2nd from pretty fresh developer it is truly a miracle i can't wait what CDPR has prepared next for us.
    Gameplay is solid , tough it could use some improvement.Combat is definitely a huge improvement from TW1 it's both entertaining and challenging.Mini games are nothing impressive really , but those
    are nice addition to the game.
    Story is spectacular , can't say anything else without spoiling. Graphics , well i can say few things 1.It looks better than Crysis 2.It has best art style in any game to date IMO.Basically it is best looking game to date.Of course there is a difference between FPS and 3rd person game graphics , but Witcher 2 focuses more on small details than any game before (keeping in mind size of the locations).

    I can honestly say , if you don't play it , you are missing out a gem of a decade.
    Expand
  29. May 18, 2011
    10
    Witcher 2 will be simply the best RPG of all time. Wonderful graphics, deep characters and living world from Sapkowski's books. It consumes you as you play with incredible plot and addicting gameplay. Simply the best! Wonderful graphics, deep characters and living world from Sapkowski's books. It consumes you as you play with incredible plot and addicting gameplay. Wonderful graphics, deep characters and living world from Sapkowski's books.
    It consumes you as you play with incredible plot and addicting gameplay.
    Expand
  30. May 18, 2011
    10
    If I could give this game an 11 I would in a heartbeat. The Witcher 2 is what happens you some of the most quality game developers actually care about their customers, and release a game that reflects that in every way.
  31. May 18, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is a really complete RPG with loads of different elements that ensures that you get involved both with Geralt and the world of the Witcher 2. The action is tight and it actually takes some skill to kill your opponents. You may not be a juggernaut, but you can be sure that you have to the tools to kick ass. Six guards with attitude comes to kick your ass? Use the shield spell and mind control one of them to do your dirty work and BAM, the odds are now in your favor.

    Over all the Witcher 2 is a stunning looking, great playing and amazingly sounding game. Check it out or you'll be sorry.
    Expand
  32. May 18, 2011
    9
    I had to register and post my opinions on this game to counterbalance some of this dragon age/witcher stuff even though i am only 4-5 hours in. It is a real treat to play a game this loved by the developers, you can tell in every detail that it was given real thought and attention. The menus (confusing as they are) show this love and attention to detail just as much as the combat engine and the astoundingly beautiful areas (the forest especially takes my breath away).

    Combat: Hard but fair. This is not a game where you can play a tank or a spell caster or a rogue you have to play as a witcher and as such fight like one, using cunning, traps, magic and potions just as much as your sword. If you can't do that this game isn't for you. Often even during the start i found myself dying during fights only to go back and try a new strategy, its very rewarding to finally have a game that challenges you. This really is the polar opposite of other fantasy games like fable.

    Story/Voice acting. This aspect is significantly improved over its predecessor, the voice acting especially being some of the best in recent years, although there is the odd poorly done character but typically reserved for minor characters. Only 5 hours in and the story is good, once again its a chase after someone who has wronged you but seems well paced, i especially like the motion comic flashbacks.

    Dragon age: Is it better? That depends, i played both for me DA2 is a solid 7.5 as it had no real story no motive that failed to drive me. All i ask is that you look at the 0 reviews of the witcher 2 (and probably some of the 10's) with a little scepticism a quick glance shows a lot of these have given DA2 a 10 W2 a 0. If the witcher 2 continues to hold my attention for its duration then it will be one hell of a game.
    Collapse
  33. May 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best cRPG I have ever played. Stunning visuals, immersing world, great music and voice acting. Ther are some minor flaws to, but Red's showed us that they support they products like no other studio. Its 9/10 in my opinion, but someone need to balance DAII fanboys.
  34. May 18, 2011
    10
    Witcher is an icon of polish fantasy/science fiction. Thanks to CD-PROJECT we have a chance to experience it at our computer screens. So far, the best Polish game and one of the top around the globe. I could tell you that "Witcher 2" gives you wonderful experiences and sensations, bla, bla.. but I think that any of this words cannot explain it. The only way to understand what I am trying to say is to take a part
    in this amazing adventure. Its a graphic masterpiece - you cant missed it.
    Expand
  35. May 18, 2011
    10
    A real breath of fresh air in a market of dumbed down , sorry "streamlined" franchises, The Witcher 2 gives a fine example of an immersive, challenging, strategic and above all fun game with a real break from the linearity of it's counterparts.
  36. May 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs to date. It's actually rather sad that a game as superb as this one has the unfortunate honour of being the subject of trolls who write bogus reviews in an attempt to advertise another game that performed poorly in its user rating (and rightly so).

    Anyway, this game has it all. The dialogue, the characters, the graphics (superb!) and the gameplay have clearly been
    refined to the point of near perfection. The attention to detail that the developers have invested in this game is truly astounding. The backdrops are vibrant and really rather incredible, making the game an absolute pleasure to play. If your desire to buy RPGs has been crushed by the very game mentioned by the 0-rating trolls, fear not; there's no copied and pasted environments in this game. This is what a RPG should be and other developers should be taking note. Overall, I would give this game a 9.8/10 but Metacritic doesn't allow for decimal points in their review system and I feel 9/10 is too low for a game of this quality, so I'm rounding up. 10/10. Expand
  37. May 18, 2011
    10
    For a full and honest review from someone who has actually played the game and isn't a troll named anything refering to bioware check out my blog on IGN.com user kane_darkhorn. Trust me its worth it.
  38. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Witcher is an icon of polish fantasy/science fiction. Thanks to
    CD-PROJECT we have a chance to experience it at our computer screens. So
    far, the best Polish game and one of the top around the globe. I could
    tell you that "Witcher 2" gives you wonderful experiences and
    sensations, bla, bla.. but I think that any of this words cannot explain
    it. The only way to understand what I am trying to say is to take a part
    in this amazing adventure. Its a graphic masterpiece - you cant missed it.
    Expand
  39. May 18, 2011
    10
    This game is a clear example of what a good PC game is. CD Projekt RED has done an awesome job with the story, graphics, and design of the game. The graphics engine, dubbed "RED Engine", allows you to customize a myriad of features ranging from screen space ambient occlusion to depth of field. Best of all, any future DLC for The Witcher 2 will be free (just as it should be for every PC game). If you're looking for a fresh, immersive, and complex RPG... then The Witcher 2 will keep you busy for hours. Expand
  40. May 18, 2011
    10
    Well I'm just so stunned by the game, that I had to sign up and share. I believe it to be the first game since Baldurs Gate II that I just unconditionally love. I played the original Witcher and as a devoted Sapkowski's fun I liked it a lot, but was aware of and annoyed by its faults. With this game it's different. I know there are some (very few and minor) aspect that could be done better, but I just don't give a damn about them. This game is like a dog. A very nice dog that all the neighbors envy you. A pet, that will always have a special place in your heart even when it's long gone. As I said, for a decade I haven't felt like this about a game. I don't mind the lack of character customization, it never bothered me in RPGs. Back in the day of Baldur's Gate it was easy to do, no one required a game to have all the dialogs voice-acted. Now in games like the first DOA or KOTOR, it just pissed me of that almost all characters had voice and the one I'm supposed to feel the most bonded with is a fricking mute. I don't mind the difficult combat. It brings back memories of the great games of old, when you would load a save for a hundred times, mad with frustration, just to die again in what seemed to be an impossible challenge But in the end, you would win and feel pure pride and satisfaction.

    I love the story, the looks and all the small and big improvements made by the Reds. I feel like if all the errors of the original Witcher had to be made to allow the second one to be the game it is. I love the developers approach, so uncommon these days, to just ignore all the weekend gamers and just focus on us, dedicated gamers, who see games as something more than just a way to kill time or release some steam after a tough day.

    This game makes me proud to be Polish and right now I just don't care about all the things that Poland can't be proud about. You guys make us shine. I hope you continue creating games like this and remain a beacon for all gamers tired of developers treating games like a solely commercial product.
    Expand
  41. May 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs I've ever played and the only RPG I've played in recent years that has kept my attention from the beginning and held it. As for the combat, it is engaging and fun while maintaining a nice balance of strategy and action. On the "normal " game difficulty setting, the combat was just difficult enough to keep me challenged. The combination of magic / swordplay / traps & bombs is a lot of fun and gives you many options to use during the midst of combat.

    As for the graphics, they are breathtaking. The attention to detail is bar none. The uniforms and patterns are incredibly detailed and well thought out. The environments feel so real and the dungeons give me a bit of a shiver with the perfectly reverberating sound and realistic atmospheric effects like fog / haze. There have been some complaints of graphical glitches, control bugs and other bugs... but I haven't experienced any bugs whatsoever. The load times are excellent on my mid-range rig and I'm able to run the graphics on "medium" and have perfectly smooth frame rates. I'm running an Intel Core-i7 870, 8 gigs of ram, ATI 5870 and Creative Soundblaster Fatility.

    Thank you cdprojekt! THANK YOU!
    Expand
  42. May 18, 2011
    10
    For now I can only say - masterpiece...The game is so beautiful, so very well rounded. Dialogue - well written, very brilliant and sprightly, and immersive. Living world, interesting plot, all that atmosphere - great job. There are of course minor bugs, but I don't care ;) One of the best game I've ever played.
  43. May 18, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is the best-looking game ever! It kicks BioWare's ass in many aspects! First, of course, the graphics are amazing! Second, the decision we make in The Witcher 2 are way more serious and change much more than we experienced in Dragon Age 2. So think more than twice about what you are going to say/do! Third, I like the combat! It's not that easy-going combat from Dragon Age 2! When we are facing many enemies at once it's not like: "So.. that's all you got?". We are no superhero. We experience how hard it is to fight so many opponents. We have to dodge them an hit 'em from behind. Plant traps and sometimes, we even need to step back for a moment. It's way more intense. Fourth, the story! It's a suspenceful story! I really like the turns in it and the long dialogues are the best I've seen so far. I really like RPGs that have not that stupid one-liner we all now!
    What's with that stupid female crap MarianHawke is writing about? Insulting? The female character aren't insulted in any way in this game! We have strong female characters, who are smart and are fully emancipated. So, play this game again and think about it. Thanks!
    Expand
  44. May 18, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, full of graphical splendor and deep storytelling. I really can't endorse this product enough, this will be an instant classic for any RPG fan.
    I also have to mention the savegame carry-over system. Save games change EVERYTHING based on what you did in the last game, a really satisfying experience for long-time fans.
  45. May 18, 2011
    10
    This game is everything dragon age shoul have been. I love bioware but if cd project can continue to pump out this quality of a game, the gaming world will have a new rpg leader. It's very mature so do not play around the little ones if you have them. The game is near flawless if not flawless. It is also incredibly challenging. I died a few times during just the prologue. That's not a bad thing. It makes it not feel like such a hack n slash. In dragon age 2 u feel like u can jump into 10 enemies and walk away with ease. Not here. If you jump into more than 2 it makes u sweat. I love that about this game. Graphically it is also really well done. The detail they put into it is astonishing. Foe example,If u bump a bucket of tomatoes it actually falls and the tomatoes fall everywhere. If you have the computer to play it and aren't afraid of nudity or very mature language I can't recommend this game enough Expand
  46. May 18, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best games I've ever played. So far this year has not been released game RPG that can be better. Gives it 10/10 And this is GOTY 2011.
  47. May 18, 2011
    10
    10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best RPG game so far this year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  48. May 18, 2011
    9
    Graphics, dialogues (I'm playing with polish dubs), animations, the world - all of that is made of pure win, just as everyone says. So let me tell you what I did NOT like about the Witcher 2 so far (about 10hrs of gameplay).

    Combat system is a huge downer for me, because even though there seems to be a decent sytem underneath, the super-fast pacing of the combat does not really give me
    any time to properly learn and utilize it. I am dying a LOT because of that (medium diff.) and combat often feels like a semi-random button smashing.
    Interfaces, while slick in design, are lacking in functionality - ability to compare equipment you are about to buy with stuff you have equipped at the moment is nonexistent, better recipes/plans sorting would be handy, but is absent as well, junk is only visible in "all" section of the inventory and you cant sell it all with one click, etc...
    Oh, and the HW requirements.. I was just fine with my GTS250 1GB until now >_< but W2 looks appropriately good, so... never mind that :)

    Well, it will probably still manage to snatch best RPG of 2011 title, since Bioware does not even try these days (and their RPGs are basically just Kotor clones anyway), Skyrim will likely end up sterile and empty as any other TES game so far, Dark Souls..is a bit different kind of beast, and who knows when Risen 2 is going to be released.

    I also have to say that so far, I liked the first Witcher more, mainly because it did not punish me for my slow reflexes all the time, just for my bad decisions. (Which is just fine and bioware (and western rpg makers in general) should learn to punish players for bad decisions, not just hand them everything on a silver platter.) Sure, Witcher 2 looks, sounds, is animated and voiced much better, but the first one is pretty decent in these areas too and nothing of that makes the core of RPG gameplay.
    Expand
  49. May 18, 2011
    10
    I am trying to think of an accurate way to describe this game, which has completely blown me away. How about the best RPG I have played since Planescape Torment? I hope that says enough.
  50. May 18, 2011
    10
    An amazing game. Not just on a technical level, but on an artistic level as well. You can tell people had a lot of passion for this game when thye made it.
  51. May 18, 2011
    10
    The new gold standard for RPG games, Witcher 2 is to the RPG genre as half life was to the FPS genre. The bar has just been set and the king throned.

    Amazing graphics with cutting edge technology to push and punish the PC hardware that is rarely thought about by multiplatform games designed around consoles.

    An immersive dynamic world where time of day matters and isn't simply a gimmick
    thrown in with reduced brightness. Cities are alive during the day with people doing what people would do instead of just standing around in place for hours like most other games. People interact with each other, go to work, and at night time hit up the pub and whore houses. Find yourself stumbling around in the dead of night down a dark alley and you'll probably run into bandits, drunks stumbling around, and increase monster presence in the wild.

    Items, crafting, books, and more items; this game is rich with items. There are tons from different weapons such as halberds to junk items such as handcuffs. Crafting matters and you aren't limited to a single profession but rather you're able to use whatever you please. This means picking up herbs for potions and still being able to upgrade weapons even creating new armors. No restrictions allowing the player to enjoy and do what they please. If you enjoy item aspect of RPG games this game delivers 10 fold.

    Engaging and skill based combat. Although Witcher 2 is more action oriented especially the combat that doesn't mean it's a simplistic bush masher where 50 clicks equates to a win. The combat is very tactical and requires timing to succeed. A lot of people find the combat to be difficult but once you've failed a couple of times and get the hang of its uniqueness it is very rewarding. Combat requires thought and planning so trying to play it like typical action based RPG's will result in failure. With 6 different magical abilities, 4 different skill trees, ranged weapons, items, and traps every battle is different and requires it's own solution.

    Customization is very alive and well in Witcher 2. With 4 different progression trees that allow players drastically change what their character is an expert in every type of player can find their calling whether it's a something who relies heavily on magic abilities or a player whom decides creating strong potions to add in combat and the creating of powerful bombs the Witcher 2 has you covered. Although you can't customize your character's appearance via different hair, face options, or race the customization in this game via the skill trees and dialogue options like intimidate/influence is anything but frivolous and really adds to the game whereas different hair colors certainly doesn't. Story and re playability. Without spoiling anything and that's hard to do since there are so many choices that affect several other options, questions, and even the world you play in I'll just say it will require several entire play throughs to do it and see all Witcher 2 offers. Unlike other RPG games that pride themselves on "choice" and "consequences" which are clear cut good and bad scale the Witcher 2 is 500 shades of grey where whatever you choose it will probably end badly for someone. This is a dark mature low fantasy world where people are blunt and that rpg status quo doesn't apply. Forget the typical racial stereotypes and get ready for adult language and even nudity. CD Projekt Red decided to offer a truly unique experience for gamers tired of posh fancy elves, the knight in shining armor, and bad guys you couldn't ever relate to. I could never give a game a perfect 10 because there is always something the developer could have done better but in the case of Witcher 2 I'll give it a 10. I do this because of what the developer gives for the money. An actual game manual that is more than 3 pages of legal shenanigans, free game soundtrack, a game guide, and the option for your game to be entirely DRM free. It's the little things which are nonexistent now days for most developers unless you pay more but in the Witcher 2 you get standard which makes this game an excellent value. Did I mention FREE DLC and never having to pay for it? No release day paid DLC here folks. Enjoy your game you paid for it!
    Expand
  52. May 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really think that CD Project made an grateful experience. The Witcher connect best parts of RPG. I'm hope Witcher became best game 2011... and now i back to play. :) Expand
  53. May 18, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games i've ever palyed. Form interesting characters to incredibly deep story. I'm playing the game all the time and cant wait to see mode DLC and official addons.
  54. May 19, 2011
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!! I've played Witcher 1 and believe me all Kotors, Dragon Ages, Mass Effects are nothing compared to Witcher. Maybe the first one has some flaws but Witcher 2 is a masterpiece.
  55. May 18, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best RPG of all time! I played Witcher 1 few years ago and I'm shocked how different second game is. I have never seen a sequel that is better from previous game with every aspect. Now I am in act 2 (near end of an act). I think it's 50-60% of the game. It was the best 20 h with video game since I don't even remember :) Story is mature and with a lot of humour in dialogues. NPC are the most interesting characters that video game can provide. Graphics looks astonishing. Even on my 2 years old computer I can play on High settings. If you like RPG - you must buy it! Last time I had such good time was when I played Mass Effect 2. Sorry Bioware but after Dragon Age 2 it's new king in town. Cd Projekt I am waiting for Witcher 3 ! :D Expand
  56. May 18, 2011
    10
    LOL @ Bioware fanboys rating this down. Expect a lot more 0s in the next days. This game is everything DA2 should have been but failed. Suck it down. FTW 10.0
  57. May 18, 2011
    9
    Are you kidding me? Did someone actually say, that developers of the Witcher 2 are from nineteenth century? This game is supposed to resemble a medieval setting with monsters and such. Try 7 centuries earlier. Mysoginistic? How about realistic? If you think today's world is a man's world, how do you think it looked like in the 1200s? Add monsters and magic into the mix, and basicly any women that have any say in what goes on in the world are witches, sorcereses, and noblewomen. And female monsters of any kind. :) That's it, and you, Bioware, dare bash the realism? And there are at least a few notable females in this game. In fact, if you'd read the book, there is a whole semi-secret organization of female-only mages, that is pulling the strings and deciding the fate of almost all northern kingdoms (more or less successfully, but I don't know if they are involved heavily in this game's plot though) And Bioware is bashing a truthful depiction of that time's society? Have they ever read a history book? Let alone watch the history channel? Yeah Bioware, it was totally believable to have a female captain of the guard, that is so tolerant and cool. You think combat is weak Bioware? The environment uninspiring? How do you call your rehashing dungeons, and "we'll do it for you" combat in DA2 then? You should be ashamed of what type of product you pushed to the shelves and applaud a better job done by CDProjekt RED. The world of the witcher is one I can believe in. And that's the type of fantasy, or sci-fi I, and many people, enjoy the most. Go and make another Origins, instead of feeling **** because someone produced a better cRPG than you did. I can't even believe Bioware would be so anal, as to attack a fellow game developer for creating a superior game. Concentrate on creating something better than DA2 yourselves, instead of trying to backstab a better product to artificially stay on top of the genre, by attacking it on review sites. Instead, make more games like the Witcher 2, adult storyline, non-linearity, deep combat, great visuals and music, deep alchemy, and character development systems...People, do not be deceived. If you've ever enjoyed a cRPG and if you enjoy a true, gray and bittersweet world instead of a lazy turd, that just bears a respected developers seal (yes, I'm talking about DA2 and Bioware again), than buy this game. It's brilliant, simply brilliant. It has it's flaws, like the AI at times (not always mind you, and we'll see about the patches, because unlike many developers, CDProjekt RED is actually supporting their games long after launch with tweaks and patches, and release their games DRM free) The negatives however pale in comparison to the positives. This game is an absolute delight. Just not for anyone below 18 years old. It's doesn't cater to everyone, but it's still an amazing achievement. Buy it. Expand
  58. May 19, 2011
    10
    I add this comment just to tell all those who complaints about the specs of the game that my two years old computer is totally able to run the game with ultra options. The only deactivated option is ubersampling, which is an option that requires a really high end cpu+gpu combination. In fact, this option can´t offer any differece on a mid-high pc, like mine (on graphics I mean, fps reduction is very noticeable). So, please stop crying about this. The game is almost perfect for me, the only issue for me is in the combat system, which is a bit unprecise I think, despite of that, great game. (Sorry about my english) Expand
  59. May 19, 2011
    10
    I love F:NV, but after playing TW 2 all i can say is: The Witcher 2 is the best RPG i ever played.... in my opinion it is Game of the Year 2011. Story is great and nonlinear. Music, world, choices , graphics - everything looks amazing! it is masterpiece from CDP Red. That is how should looks modern RPG! I belive it starts new chapter for RPG genere. No more crap like DA2, no more milking players by stupid DLC. Expand
  60. May 19, 2011
    10
    Do not let the trolls fool you, TW2 is a great game, probably GOTY. Awesome graphics, if your PC can handle it, great story and fast paced combat that is actually difficult. So far the only thing I didn't like were the stealth sections, but that's only my opinion.
  61. May 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is fantastic. Amazing graphics and music, fast paced and demanding gameplay, and story which is truly better than any other new RPG game including Mass Effect 2! The game has 16 endings, ton of moral choices which means there's a lot of replayability value in the game. Simply perfect. A 10 out of 10. Expand
  62. May 19, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is a game for which i was waiting almost since i launched The Witcher 1. In comparison with the first one there is HUGE difference in almost everything. I've never seen such wonderfull graphics running on older computers. As for the story i donlt want to write any spoiler, Only thing i am obligated to write is that depth of the story is unbeliveable. Every choice you make have consequenses. Whats funny there are no easy ones. Most of the moral choices are very hard to make, cause sometimes there is just no right way, you need to judge situation and choose less evil one, and that decision will affect the story line many many hours of playing later. There are often retrospections to remind us of our previous decisions and show us consequenses of them. Story line also changes if you travel with different companions, because with everyone of them happens something completly diffrent. For me its best RPG with amazing storyline, graphics and combat system. Expand
  63. May 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What is difference between "RPG" and RPG. If you want best description you must try Witcher 2 and "all" others game in this tape of game. For many people, not only me its definitly GAME OF THE YEAR 2011. Breathtaking graphic and music, great non-linear plot with many consequences about your choices. I fall in love in witcher 2. For me its BEST game EVER. I know that there are a few bugs etc, but its imposible to fix everyting in so huge game. Want more, want more Gearlt, Zoltan, Triss. If someone grading this game below 9, he or she is absurd and shouldn't use the computer. For all maniac RPG - its best choice in this year. If you still dont have the game, go fast to shop to get it! Expand
  64. May 19, 2011
    10
    Unequivocally the prettiest game I've ever played. The attention to detail is amazing. I didn't absolutely love the prologue, but everything is great from there. This can be a difficult game and the pacing is very old school RPG, so make sure to take your time and expect to die from time to time (unless you play on easy). Best RPG to come out in years.
  65. May 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs I have ever played. Yes you may need a higher end PC to run this game, but they did a fantastic job making this game look as good as it does using DX9. TW2 improves on almost every aspect of TW1. There are so many (different) choices to make through out the game that you can't help but want to playthrough it more than once. Kudos to CD Projekt Red for making us such a great game, I can only hope all their future titles have the the same time and care put into them as TW2 had. Expand
  66. May 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm thinking that the Witcher 2 is one of the best rpg ever. This game have everythink what do you want in action-rpg game. Graphic is brilliant I never see better graphic in rpg game Expand
  67. May 28, 2011
    10
    beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeest game ever
  68. May 20, 2011
    10
    This is the best game i've ever play.
    I think this is the best game in this decade. (no, sorry the witcher 2 will be better^^)
    The Witcher 2 has very good plot and combat system.
    I recommend that game for every player who like RPG games
  69. May 20, 2011
    10
    I haven't played all the way through obviously, but so far everything is great. Graphics are amazing, combat is fun and challenging. Easily ten times better than either Dragon Age one ore Dragon Age two.
  70. May 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely breathtaking game, that constantly keeps you interested and immersed within the game world to such a degree that even while your not playing it, your thinking about it! I haven't encountered a game that is as addictive and graphically stunning as this and hopefully it will be a new benchmark for future games to meet. Aside from the graphics, the content within the game itself is top-notch, not just the main quest but also the side-quests as everything builds up into one large adventure. The voice acting and dialogue is up there with the best, but one thing pushes this game infront of the others. That is the amount of choices you, as a player are overwhelmed with throughout the game. You may be like me and spend as much time in your inventory screen as you do when deciding which option to pick in an important conversation. The combat has a fairly steep learning curve which in my opinion is a positive aspect of the game, considering that it actually feels like a challenge and not one of those games you can just hack and slash your way through without much care and it also adds to the replayability (not just the 16 different endings). Once you gain the hang of it you'll be smiling as you send the limbs of your opponents flying off into a pool of blood with some awsome swordplay. For me this game has rekindled my love for the RPG genre and PC games in general. A definate favourite for the year and look foward to the free DLC.
    One bit of advice..... pick it up if you haven't, definatley a game thats worth the dolla!
    Expand
  71. May 22, 2011
    10
    Game looks absolutely fantastic... Great writing... The well narrated non-linear story.. Nice... very nice... I'm love it :) Well done CD Projekt Red !!!!!!
  72. May 23, 2011
    9
    Excellent game, worth the money + they really pushed the boat out with basic hard copy extras! Well done guys keep it up! cant wait for the witcher 3. lol @ how well the boobs and vagina have been textured, obviously very well researched! On a side note, love how they have used the northern irish accent! good too see that we are rubbing off on the polish that come to live/visit here!
  73. May 23, 2011
    10
    Kudos CD Project. Awesome game, GOTY in my book. It is what an RPG is all about, in depth story and amazing game play. Choices impacts the game so much that you can see different towns all together. Graphics are amazing and it's by far the most gorgeous, I'm on GTX560 Ti and its really beautiful on medium specs (if you can run it on High, you're in for a treat). Dragon Age 2 was a huge letdown, but this game definitely brought a tear to my eye. GO GET IT! Expand
  74. May 24, 2011
    10
    The best cRPG of decade. GOTD (Game of the decade) Amazing story, brillant graphic- This game is must-buy!!!! and i agree with @RogerEbertJr Bioware fanboys ratting game down.
  75. May 24, 2011
    10
    This game is groundbreaking and unique. Best RPG I have ever played!
    Difficult! Demanding! Intelligent! Funny! Intriguing! Epic and beautiful!
    Heh ... The Witcher 2 "Assassin of Kings. "
    Yes! Witcher Geralt of Rivia - Assassin of RPG "Kings" such as Bioware:)
  76. May 24, 2011
    10
    I am a bit disappointed with the second part of The Witcher Saga. It's still a great game but some things really piss me off. My biggest problem is the length of the game, its shorter than the first one but at least the authors got the balls to admit it (watch dev diary). My only hope lies in those free DLC's with extra side quests. The story tries to be as much enjoyable as the original books by Sapkowski but fails miserably in some points along the way. Anyone who read the books will admit that some dialogues feel clumsy and totally unnecessary. Bestiary is full of monsters but what about some regular animals that can be dangerous as well, no wolves, no bears no other predators. Even monsters are limited in variety. Again, there were much more types of monsters in the book, heck even the first game had them more. Some people bash the meditation system (drinking potions before the fight no potions in the actual battles) but that how it works folks read the books and you will know.
    Overall the game is good but I'm thinking about Extended Edition like with the first one. Improved inventory, better locking system, more balanced difficulty levels, smaller saves (16MB for a single save WTF??). Until then only 8.0 but a real strong one.
    Expand
  77. May 27, 2011
    10
    I must admit that I am not a hardcore RPG fan and that might be why the high tempo fighting was a huge pro for me. The inventory system can be a bit tedious at times but it doesn't take anything away from this masterpiece.

    In a nutshell, The Witcher 2 has great interactive story, fluent exiting combat and a lot of room to develop your character towards your desired path.
  78. May 24, 2011
    9
    Quality game. Has it flaws, but idea and story is refreshing. The wither's 1 plot was a bit unconvincing, there were good dialogues, and characters but in sequel they developers made huge step towards greatness. For me the best of fantasy RPG since Planescape: Torment.

    I give it 9, (although it deserves 9.5)
  79. May 24, 2011
    9
    I can't say yet whether it's GOTY material but it is certainly one of the best games I've played this year. The graphics are beautiful and the characters were engaging. The combat is a bit challenging and the prologue can get a bit overwhelming for players not used to the Witcher world. The best part about the game is the re-playability factor because different choices you make will expose you to a different environment altogether. I'm already about to start with my second play-through. The DRM-free and free DLCs of the game is also a big plus in my book! :) Expand
  80. May 24, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is simply one of the best games ever made! Very complex story, awesome fighting system, really beautiful graphics - this game has it all. Game of the year IMO.
  81. May 25, 2011
    10
    Sensational game. CD Projekt will be rubbing shoulders with Blizzard and Valve soon if they keep up this quality. The attention to detail throughout is on a new level, you can't help but stop and gaze through a markets goods or simply watch villagers as they go about their day-to-day business. The story so far is enthralling and the character design is Blizzard standard. Hat's off to CD Projekt, I've not been so happy with a purchase in as long as I can remember.â Expand
  82. May 25, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game after the disappointment of Dragon Age 2. An involved Story with memorable characters, stunning graphics and an immersive world where the residents actually feel alive. The combat takes some getting used to and makes you plan for encounters before jumping in.

    Not a fan of the 'quick time events' particularly and would recommend a thorough read of the manual before
    playing. The standard premium edition box makes a pleasant change from the usual crappy standard plastic DVD case and disc and represents brilliant value for money.

    I'm already looking forward to the next game
    Expand
  83. May 25, 2011
    10
    I'm writing this little review simply because I believe that you can never say enough positive things about this game. I run a mid-range PC (with a 3.2 Ghz phenom x4 cpu and Radeon HD 5770 gfx card) and I played this game at the recommended (high) settings and I never ran into any problems. The game is gorgeous, the characters are believable and sympathetic, the story is enthralling, and it's a helluva lot of fun. You'll feel like your choices have impact and you'll want to play again and again to see how the story can unfold. It's clear that the developers put a lot of love into this game. If you're a fan of well-made, mature RPGs, then this game is right for you. Do yourself a favor and pick this game up. Expand
  84. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bioware fanboys trying to lower score of Witcher , its only shows how this game is great. CDP RED is new king of cRPG's and nothing change that... This game is a absolutely brilliant. 10/10. Expand
  85. May 27, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It is beautiful, challenging and rewarding. The attention to detail is incredible and it contributes to the creation of an amazingly lively world - the best I've ever seen in a game. Keep in mind though that the game requires involvement and willingness to learn how to use the many options and abilities that it has to offer. Otherwise it might just become frustrating to play, because it will not hold you hand. It
    challenges you to think for yourself, it will not show you every step of the
    way. Few games these days treat you like an intelligent person, not like a
    moron. It is a very special experience, which is why I warmly recommend it.
    Expand
  86. May 27, 2011
    10
    This game is the best RPG I've ever played. Though now that I think of it, that's not so much (other RPG's I've played are Oblivion, Morrowind, Nehrim and Mass Effect 1). The beginning was hellishly difficult, but in that satisfying way. Don't get me wrong, you WILL die, a lot in fact. I always hoped for a game in which the amount of effort you put in your skills and equipment pays out- in the end of this game you will feel divine, as the 3 soldiers who killed you oh-so-many-times in the prologue, can be slayed with an epic cut-scene after one click of the x button. In most games you hardly get to feel the effect of your decisions, in this game I had to spend hours thinking of my next move, and my next choice (I'm so so sorry Roche). The ending, though rushed to some, was suitably epic, violent yet peaceful, settling yet cliffhanging. With no doubt, Skyrim is going to have one hell of a time trying to beat this king of the hill in RPGs.

    (And if someone manages to complete the game in Insanity mode, a thousand Internets to you)

    P.S: What's with this error saying that Score (10.0) id must be a floating point number? For future reference, I'd give to game a 10/10
    Expand
  87. May 27, 2011
    10
    I won't go into plot details to avoid spoilers. Let's just say the story is mature (political intrigue, racism, etc.). There is no corny white vs. black decisions, and the decisions you do make WILL impact your gaming experience. The story, like the game overall, is immersive.

    INCREDIBLY IMMERSIVE.

    The graphics are stellar, not only the best of any RPG that I've seen, but any game
    period. They are that good.

    The combat takes some getting used to. I personally found using an XBOX controller superior to using a keyboard and mouse. To some, this may scream streamlining for consoles. Believe me, that's not the case. We had controllers for the PC long before game consoles appeared. You will find it challenging in the early going even on easy. You will get your butt kicked.

    Which is good.

    Lately it seems even nightmare and hard levels are too easily conquered (see Dragon Age). For me, that takes away the satsifaction of playing a game. There must be challenge, and here, oh boy, there is.

    The best feature of the Witcher 2 isn't singular. This is an incredible game. It is evolutionary, challenging, beautiful, dark and immersive doesn't cover how much it will suck you into the world of Geralt.

    If you buy one game this year or even in the next ten, buy this one. It is a masterpiece (and that's something I've never said about ANY game).
    Expand
  88. May 27, 2011
    9
    Game is awesome so far, only issue I had was a few bugs but barely noticed. it's not perfect but it's damn close. Graphics are amazing! but you need a lot of hardware. The story is very engaging.
  89. May 28, 2011
    10
    The Witcher 2 is a masterpiece, an epic adult story controlled by the player, its not an open world game because it doesnt have to be, yes you can explorer huge areas and admir the scenary but its the decisions you make and the no right or wrong, just different paths to take that make this game replayable many times. The Graphics are amazing, huge detail, great design, The gameplay has Mass effect controlls which they changed as they were originally like W1 I don't mind that, the combat is amazing but very hard to master, you just can't run in hacking and slashing as you will die in seconds (someone Score it 2 saying it's a hack n slash action game, anyone who's played and complete it would know that is a rubbish statement, why don't these reviewers just play it and stop supporting their faviourite game, be a whore and like other games) The choice and consiquence system is amazing (C&C) I chose to walk away at the end and thats just what Geralt did with the story left right open (witcher 3 or DLC)but there are 16 ends, I guess I'll have to play through 16 times, it took me 50 hrs the first time, how the hell did people complete it in 20 to 30 hrs, I didnt finish 25 quests and did 50+, I guess they are masters of rpgs. The Sound wow, great voice acting, background ambience, the music score is simply the best I have ever heard for a game and maybe even film. The presentation is also very good. The Witcher 2 does have some minor flaws but theyre not game breaking and with the patches it will keep improving + free DLC. Only one game (RPG) can be as great as The Witcher 2 this year, Skyrim and I hope it is. Expand
  90. May 28, 2011
    10
    ALMOST GAME OF THE YEAR but MOST DEFINITELY(for now, until Skyrim and Deus Ex come out since they are possible contenders as well) BEST RPG this year and many more before it.

    I'll apologize in advance to my constant debunking and referencing DA2 since it's a good game to compare TW2 with, at least in the sense that it succeeds in many aspects DA2 failed to deliver in. And I am putting it
    mildly since DA2 disappointed me more than any other game to date.

    To be perfectly honest, I love rpgs, play them hell out of them.. from JRPGs like SMT, persona series, tales series to final fantasy. Betheseda's oblivion, fallout and all of Bioware's games.

    Long story short, I LOVE rpgs and I've been in love with them since I was a child. I love complex mechanics, deep gameplay, challenges and character progression, and similarly I adore strong stories with plenty of momentum. And recently, with the recent trend in western rpgs, a large element of choice and moral ambiguity, with the repercussions that follow. And to be perfectly honest TW2 surpassed every expectation.

    To be honest, when I first heard about it, I didn't give it much thought, DA2 was over the horizon and I was expecting it with bated breath following DAO, which was a strong(though flawed) successor to Baldur's Gate. Though, following the string(and a very long one at that) of disappointments with DA2, and the incredibly bad taste in my mouth after playing through it, I started to look hopefully towards TW2.

    To start off with, the graphics are the BEST graphics you'll ever see in any rpg. Though true, most RPGs tend to have weak graphics to begin with, TW2 actually outshines many games with the high level textures, dynamic shadows, SSAO and a myriad of other lightning, rendering and processing effects that truly make the game shine.

    Furthermore, the design of the areas and locations is very well done and you can see the amount of work done to make it that way. As you walk through forests, you can see lots of bushes, foliage and grass tucking in and out around the pathways or the trees in the distance with sordid detail. Unlike other RPGs like DA2, where the areas are dull, bland with flat terrains, without anything but dirt moss textures under them. The terrain and environment in TW2 features an attention to detail that is difficult to find in many games and this is one of the main reasons it can be very immersive.

    Next up, the combat is fun and engaging, FAR from perfect though, mainly due to technical issues. The developers took inspiration from Demon's Souls, which means enemies hurt, with even meager enemies being able to destroy you if you get surrounded and they all attack at once. Unlike games like Assassin's Creed, enemies don't wait while you hack down their companions, they attack and don't mind interrupting you. This could get very frustrating combined with the poor targeting system and technical drawbacks

    :for some users, there is input lag, which accompanies the performance issues, especially on ATI cards for the moment, then sometimes there is a delay between actions that hav random durations, implying that there may be problems with the combat engine. Though I haven't experienced either of these myself, it is worth noting.

    Though moving past it, the combat is deeply satisfying with the hits really really feeling powerful(unlike in DA2, where on harder difficulties, you can thwack enemies with POWERFUL looking hits while taking out.. .1% of their lifebar?) while looking very majestic(think Assassin's Creed in a way). Also, the game provides many ways to tackle your foes. From using the magic to rain death on enemies, to swords, to blasting opponents to hell with an arsenal of bombs and traps as you fight a war of attrition against your foes.

    The story is also well done, though it isn't brilliant. It'll be hard getting all the references, nods and such to the original game as well as some plot points. Though it plays its cards well, wherein you aren't a hero, just an apparently special Witcher that is trying to regain his memory and clear his name. The real shining point in this game however is the depth in the choices you make. Geralt is, for the most part, who you want him to be. And it's much deeper than Dragon Age 2, with some key decisions made in the first Act changing everything about how you'll trudge through the next few, changing allegiances, characters and entire quest lines. Also, the sidequests don't feel like boring fetch quests like DA2 with rehashed dungeons(4 times or more), they feel more significant(like a self contained story), with many being morally ambiguous, with some spanning more than one chapter. And there are also many ways to finish a quest, which is a refreshing change of pace.

    Though I could elaborate more, I think it would suffice to say that TW2 is certainly one of the best RPGs out there and it's a real MUST buy
    Expand
  91. May 28, 2011
    10
    I recommend. If you have the option, play The Witcher 1 first (still an amazing game), and then buy The Witcher 2.
    Just know that this games are for serious gamers... You will have to learn the mechanics and read the texts and so on... Or you will get lost very fast.
    The reviewer from "the escapist" wrote: ...died so easily and so many times in the first seconds of the game that I began to
    wonder if I was just an idiot...
    He is just an idiot.
    Expand
  92. May 29, 2011
    9
    The Witcher 2 is a great game. I wont be a fanboy and pretend it is perfect, because simply put, it isn't, but that doesn't change the fact it is one of the biggest and best games 2011 has to offer.

    PROS:

    Combat - the combat is really diverse and just to survive on Normal Difficulty or harder, you WILL need to employ your alchemy and magic as well as your sword play tactics. Running in
    and just slashing the crap out of enemies doesn't work in this game because it forces you to be much smarter in how you approach to deal with enemies and scenarios.

    Story - The story is fantastic and really draws you in. If you haven't played or beaten the first Witcher, rest assure that you will be able to get a basic sense of whats going on and so on and so forth. However, it does help knowing the back story since it makes events, characters and certain missions much more important and personal. The only people who will be truly at home with the story will be those who read the books, but this doesn't require you to do so.WORD OF WARNING: If you are interested in playing this game, then you should have already seen the M rating it has received, but for the few who are unaware, this is by far a very adult game. It has sex scenes [you are given options for partners depending how you deal with scenarios], bloody violence [decapitations and so forth], mature topics [such as incest, rape, murder], and harsh language. There are definitely elements which would offend some, but the reasons these are part of the game and story isn't for a so-called 'shock value' but a real and stoic representation of a mature world where good and evil are not so easily divided. Because of that, this game is great because its rare that adults get a good story but one that is not geared towards a younger generation [BTW the games that are geared for younger people aren't necessarily bad, it's just appropriate for those settings].

    Gameplay - Fun but requires thinking [this game is literally more of a RPG compared to Dragon Age 1 and so on and so forth]. You make decisions that do seriously affect the outcome of where the second and third chapter could take place and from what I understand, there are 16 different endings based on your decisions. What makes this fantastic is that decisions aren't necessarily GOOD and EVIL, but gray areas in which you might have to pick the lesser of two evils or decide how to take advantage of a situation which would be bad for many but help you and your cause. This is a mature approach to a serious game and I give it heart felt approval for the developers going down that path.

    Music/Sound - Fantastic. Has dark themes as well idyllic music that helps to really flesh out the world and nothing that's annoying or out of place.

    CONS:

    Story - The ending leaves a bit to be desired and mature themes will definitely be towards a more adult audience.

    Combat - As fun and inventive the combat was, it will be difficult for a select few to approach. This game really emphasizes complete control and for some it can be frustrating when they keep on dying because they weren't fast enough for a dodge or other things.
    Sound/Graphics - While yes, the graphics and animations are SUPERB, you need to keep in mind that you need hardware to run this game. This is not Crysis 2 but then again that doesn't mean you need less powerful hardware. Make sure that you check thoroughly that you can run this game smoothly because I can see frame rate issues and other things seriously messing up combat.
    ALSO: While the world is beautiful and the clothes and people look lifelike and real, voice-speaking animations do hiccup a bit and lag every once in a while [but is more of a minor annoyance]. Don't forget that this game was made in Europe with the native tongue being recorded in some other language and while, yes they do English dubbs and so forth, the voice acting is great but then again, it doesn't do miracles at other parts. Still good all things considered.

    Yes, this was a long review, but hopefully this gives ideas to those who are eying this game on the fence and are unsure whether or not it is for them. I personally LOVE this game and everything it has to offer. It is extremely re-playable and a fun world to traverse through but there will be a few people who may be turned off by its difficulty and how hard the combat and quests can become. But hey, that's why we have game guides right? ;) Must have for RPG/Fantasy lovers!
    Expand
  93. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Visceral combat, gorgeous graphics, engrossing story. CD Projekt gives us the experience Bioware failed to deliver with DA2. I heard some disappointment about the conclusion of the story, but I don't share those sentiments. It could've been longer of course, but that can be said of any good thing.
  94. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    It expands upon The Witcher in every possible way, and The Witcher was by far the best rpg of this generation. A true and spectacular sequel, a game that shouldn't be missed by anyone who calls himself a gamer. It's not flawless but it's also as close to the perfect rpg as it can be. Congratulations to CDProjekt Red
  95. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    I could easily put it on my top5 rpg games of the decade... and I played them ALL. A game that brings the epicness of Baldur's Gate story telling along with astonishing graphics as a cherry on the top. Don't you dare not getting yourself a copy.
  96. May 30, 2011
    10
    Definitely comparable to Dragon Age. This RPG offers a great amount of game play in a beautiful and gritty world. Up with one of my favorites! Bioware has competition.
  97. May 30, 2011
    10
    Trolls are still working! I have to, I just have to write what I think. Rating 1 - 4 can not be serious.
    I read game scores written by "gingerbill. He has not played this game! Or playing in something else. Rating 4? It's a farce! This opinion is the same crap! I do not understand these people. Combat is too simple? Ha .. ha .. ha ... Play the "difficult" "
    And there's very little
    character development .. "Man, you do not know what you're talking Or not completely understand the game. This is not another game in the" dressing "a hero. Kid, grow up!

    Now, seriously:
    Game is pretty much the best game I've played in about 5 years.
    This game is so god dam deep. Chapter 2 in itself becomes completely different if you side with the other person. Now that is what I call decision making.

    Everything about this game is just amazing. The combat is deep yet intuitive once you get the hang of it. It may be difficult at times but its one of the reasons why its so good. The story so far is really good and filled with interesting characters, monsters, and locations. Even in the first chapter you can see how the story can branch off and change things.
    The atmosphere in this game is also great. Seeing enemies crawling down trees to attack you, or hearing a loud roar behind you and then seeing a bunch of humanoid monsters running at you. Its all really well done. I've even just spent time walking around the towns listening to conversations and people telling stories. I hope other developers take notes, because this is how an RPG should be made.
    Expand
  98. May 30, 2011
    10
    Great game! It is something more than the usual RPG.
    I recommend to all who are looking for unforgettable entertainment. Beautiful graphics, interesting story, exciting combat. Sometimes I forget that this is a game. :) Maybe too short. But ... has 16 endings.
    My rating 9.5 -10.
  99. May 31, 2011
    9
    Despite some minor flaws and disappointing epilogue TW2 is a very good game. Challenging combat system, intriguing story, no black-and-white world, interesting characters, great dialogues, no-linear story, absolutely amazing animations and stunning graphics. That's more than enough to give it very good score. I read some reviews and it seems most people who are rating it low are too lazy to read manual. Expand
  100. May 31, 2011
    10
    No fantasy RPG this year will come close to what this game achieves. It is pretty, challenging, mature and fun and on top of that it has the best graphics on a PC game right now. It is an accomplishment that will be remembered for years to come.
  101. May 18, 2011
    0
    I had to register and post my opinions on this game to counterbalance some of this dragon age/witcher stuff even though i am only 4-5 hours in. It is a real treat to play a game this loved by the developers, you can tell in every detail that it was given real thought and attention. The menus (confusing as they are) show this love and attention to detail just as much as the combat engine and the astoundingly beautiful areas (the forest especially takes my breath away).

    Combat: Hard but fair. This is not a game where you can play a tank or a spell caster or a rogue you have to play as a witcher and as such fight like one, using cunning, traps, magic and potions just as much as your sword. If you can't do that this game isn't for you. Often even during the start i found myself dying during fights only to go back and try a new strategy, its very rewarding to finally have a game that challenges you. This really is the polar opposite of other fantasy games like fable.

    Story/Voice acting. This aspect is significantly improved over its predecessor, the voice acting especially being some of the best in recent years, although there is the odd poorly done character but typically reserved for minor characters. Only 5 hours in and the story is good, once again its a chase after someone who has wronged you but seems well paced, i especially like the motion comic flashbacks.

    Dragon age: Is it better? That depends, i played both for me DA2 is a solid 7.5 as it had no real story no motive that failed to drive me. All i ask is that you look at the 0 reviews of the witcher 2 (and probably some of the 10's) with a little scepticism a quick glance shows a lot of these have given DA2 a 10 W2 a 0. If the witcher 2 continues to hold my attention for its duration then it will be one hell of a game.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    93
    Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings. A true, polished diamond. Watch and learn Bioware. [May 2011]
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    92
    The Witcher 2 easily stands amongst the big boys in the CRPG crowd and is also the best Action RPG to come out since Mass Effect 2.
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    90
    The Witcher 2 offers awesome sword fights, cool graphics, charming characters, a compelling story, lots of bare skin and a decent shot of vulgar conversations. Damn good.