The Witcher: Enhanced Edition PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1710 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very interesting and you want to know more and more about them all the time (very much as in Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn). The story is also awesome ... I don't want to spoil anything but it really is great.

    If you like RPGs then buy this game. It's a masterpiece and one of the best RPGs ever made (Baldur's Gate II and Morrowind are the only RPGs I recon beats this game).
    Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    The developing back story of the character and the world the story is set in is very intriguing. Along with a gripping story line and many secondary quests to extend the duration of play, the Witcher is a great RPG to add to your collection.
  3. JanP.
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    Excellent game! After I have been so disappointed by latest Gothic III game which virtually wasn't playable even in latest version - this game made me absolutely excited. Somehow similar to Gothic series but more realistic, with a very nice and believable characters and sophisticated story and quests. This game is definitely worth to buy and play (for several times).
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    Great game !
    I don't understand why people hate on the control of the game they are fine by me.
    I only played for a couple of hour but already I fined the story realy good.
    So I am giving this an 8 out of 10.

    Recommended for people who love RPG's, great STORY's and fun GAMEPLAY ( this is a personal opinion).

    Thank You for reading my review.
  5. J.P.
    Apr 4, 2009
    10
    I love this game, really one of the best games I've played in a very long time. This is what an RPG should be, excellent story, excellent gameplay, stunning visuals, reaslitic dialogue, and a unique alchemy system. I really can't think of the last single player RPG I've enjoyed this much. Kudos CDProject for delivering an amazing gaming experience.
  6. LupusM.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    It astonishes me how few people know about this amazing game. It was a great story the first time around with a few minor issues but this version is better in every possible way.
  7. MatthewC.
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    One of the best games ever made. And I have played a lot of rpgs. Consistent story, original themes, choices that effect later game. This version of the witcher is by far a huge improvement, while all the details are not instantly apparent, they show themselves to you until you finally realize the scale of added details. Fantastic masterpiece.
  8. camerons
    Nov 14, 2008
    8
    I really enjoyed this game. The storyline(s) are all actually interesting (unlike most other RPGs I've played), not because of the overarching goal (kill bad guy), but because of the way you can watch it develop, if you give it attention. This isn't a game that will force everything of note into your lap, you have to go out and find it. It does not reward lazy playing. Choices I really enjoyed this game. The storyline(s) are all actually interesting (unlike most other RPGs I've played), not because of the overarching goal (kill bad guy), but because of the way you can watch it develop, if you give it attention. This isn't a game that will force everything of note into your lap, you have to go out and find it. It does not reward lazy playing. Choices are of course, in. Not "Will you eat the baby or give it candy and love" sorts, more like "Will I help the sociopathic terrorists being about racial equality and end persecution or will I help the religious zealots bring stability and order?". Decisions can be hard and have consequences impacting the rest of the game. Every choice you make can very well leave you thinking "Am I helping the right people here?". Personally, I love it. Probably not so great in terms of replayability (thus the lower score), gameplay can get tedious towards the mid-points of most of the chapters ("cmon mister mayor, don't make me run all the way back to the swamp, I just got back from there..."), but the shortcomings are made up for by the story, easily. Expand
  9. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Oh boy was I surprised when I bought this game this year and found a pearl! This game instantly became one of my fav games of all the times! Everything about this game screams fantastic! Loved the story,game mechanics and graphics are not that bad for old game like this one. If u are the fan of the RPG's and like me missed this stunning game please do me a favor go and buy it now!!!!!!!!!
  10. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    One of the most interesting role-playing games that I played. Non-trivial plot, lot of skills, charismatic characters, non-linear quests, moral choices and perfect soundtrack. Well done, CD Projekt.
  11. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    This is a game made by RPG fans for RPG fans. Unfortunately for the PC gaming layman or those coming from other genres this game will seen complex, slow, and unbalanced. But for those few with RPG game logic, patience, and willpower, that have been gained through years of BG2, Diablo, or NWN (one of course, possibly 2) this game will be a welcome breathe of fresh air that has been absentThis is a game made by RPG fans for RPG fans. Unfortunately for the PC gaming layman or those coming from other genres this game will seen complex, slow, and unbalanced. But for those few with RPG game logic, patience, and willpower, that have been gained through years of BG2, Diablo, or NWN (one of course, possibly 2) this game will be a welcome breathe of fresh air that has been absent from the mainstream gaming for the past couple of years. Those things which non-RPG fans will find so frustrating about this game are exactly what RPG fans have been missing from titles like Oblivion or Dragon Age. Expand
  12. JohnC
    Jan 20, 2009
    8
    All in all a great RPG for mature aged gamers. Your actions have real world consequences and outcomes. Their are plenty of options for character development and some strategic thinking is required to beat even the weakest opponents. The combat is good and varied making it interesting. The storyline is unique and extremely solid and supported by a well made world with great graphics even All in all a great RPG for mature aged gamers. Your actions have real world consequences and outcomes. Their are plenty of options for character development and some strategic thinking is required to beat even the weakest opponents. The combat is good and varied making it interesting. The storyline is unique and extremely solid and supported by a well made world with great graphics even on the low settings. If you like RPG's then this is a must have! The only draw back are the load times, they do take a little while. Expand
  13. DavidB.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    The best RPG I have played in a very long time. I can't possibly cover all the reasons to experience this game; please do experience it though, you will not be disappointed. Think of all the RPGs that have been over-hyped only to not deliver - bland, shallow, characterless... This game is the polar opposite. A superb game that has to rise above its obscurity.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    THE RPG for mature gamers! Great storyline, fantastic atmosphere and exciting gameplay make this game one of the best RPGs of all time.
  15. Naster
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    The game is exceptionally mature in many aspects. It doesn't hold your hand too much, but only slightly pushes you in the right direction, letting you make the decisions yourself. A game that doesn't treat you like an idiot five-year-old nowadays is a much needed breath of fresh air. The storyline is very good (despite the memory loss cliché), and the main character is The game is exceptionally mature in many aspects. It doesn't hold your hand too much, but only slightly pushes you in the right direction, letting you make the decisions yourself. A game that doesn't treat you like an idiot five-year-old nowadays is a much needed breath of fresh air. The storyline is very good (despite the memory loss cliché), and the main character is interesting. The gameworld is not a fairy tale world with a simple good versus evil nature, but is very grey, which forces you to think and sometimes make hard decisions. The gameworld is very immersive thanks to very good graphics, and a world that feels very alive. The fighting gameplay is good and varied enough to keep you entertained while the story progresses. If you are a fan of RPGs, or games with good stories in general, do not miss this modern classic! Thank you CD Projekt for developing the best game in years! Expand
  16. CoryL.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This game blew me away. The makers of the game have paid loving attention to every detail -- even the conversations you overhear on the streets are interesting, and I've never said THAT about a game before! The loving attention that's been lavished on this game reminds me of what Peter Jackson did with The Lord of the Rings movies -- this game is extremely well done. And This game blew me away. The makers of the game have paid loving attention to every detail -- even the conversations you overhear on the streets are interesting, and I've never said THAT about a game before! The loving attention that's been lavished on this game reminds me of what Peter Jackson did with The Lord of the Rings movies -- this game is extremely well done. And it's fun! It's a game for adults, and I don't mean the much-maligned sex cards. It's a game where the story really matters, where the player must make serious moral choices, where instead of Good and Bad, we have lighter grey and darker grey. The people in the slums swear, and the people in the rich section of town are stuck-up. And the fighting animations are GORGEOUS! They did motion capture with professional stunt men to do the animations for combat, and the player character is amazingly graceful in the beginning. As the game progresses, he goes beyond graceful and becomes downright acrobatic -- there were times when I wished it were possible to automate the fighting so that I could watch it more closely, and I've never thought THAT about a game before! I could go on and on, but I've said enough. This is the best RPG I've ever played, and I've played a LOT of 'em. Expand
  17. EvilErnie
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    The Witcher is the greatest momement in RPG history since Gary Gygax added more sides to his dice. The Witcher team has created a dark, stunningly realised world, full of great characters and satisfying moral choices. A 9+ is the only mark you could give this gaming achievement - its that good. The reviewers that gave this game a 4 were either not to bright or distracted with a ball of string.
  18. May 11, 2011
    8
    a great game, if you enjoyed the books pick this one up. i am looking forward to witcher 2. also be advise people this game is not for everyone. very dark and Gothic feeling. another word if your not going to do the whole game don't waste your money this game has to be played to the end to fully enjoy it
  19. rawer
    May 31, 2009
    10
    Hands on. One of the best games in the genre ever. Moral choices and atmosphere will kick u out of your schoes. A must have.
  20. ParaF.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    With few imperfections, the Witcher is one of the most enjoyable games to play. Decorated with beautiful worlds, great attention to detail and impeccable swordplay, punctuated by entertaining and well polished character interactions, sharp and original dialogue, it's unfair to give the mammoth development effort any less than an 10/10.
  21. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    I have been playing PC games for many years and I must say that The Witcher is one of the finest games I have ever played. I enjoyed it's mature story and the world it takes place in is beautiful with a rich history. Decisions you must make are complex and require thought as they have an impact on the later parts of the game. The developer, CD Projekt Red, is one of the best out there.I have been playing PC games for many years and I must say that The Witcher is one of the finest games I have ever played. I enjoyed it's mature story and the world it takes place in is beautiful with a rich history. Decisions you must make are complex and require thought as they have an impact on the later parts of the game. The developer, CD Projekt Red, is one of the best out there. They care about their games AND the fans. If you enjoy RPG's and are looking for something different you owe it to yourself to pick this game up. You will not regret it. Oh, although I like the first Witcher better, the second it also fantastic and picks up right after the first. Both brilliant games. Expand
  22. NeilJ.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    I didn't care too much for The Witcher, getting about halfway through it at release. I've since finished it as the Enhanced Edition. It's improved but still far from perfect: the overlapping quest chains can get tangled and be confusing-- sometimes a quest will bug out and be incompletable; the number of NPC models has increased only by a handful; dialogue trees with I didn't care too much for The Witcher, getting about halfway through it at release. I've since finished it as the Enhanced Edition. It's improved but still far from perfect: the overlapping quest chains can get tangled and be confusing-- sometimes a quest will bug out and be incompletable; the number of NPC models has increased only by a handful; dialogue trees with nonsensical headers have been improved greatly but you still must zone to see a new dialogue if you've done what the NPC wanted and they have something new to say, and you also have to stop your conversation if a NPC gives you a quest, even though they have more dialogue choices available; most of the truly cringeworthy voiceover has been replaced with professional-quality work, although some perfectly fine stuff from the first version was inexplicably replaced with a lesser quality iteration. Anyway, what makes the game truly great and a truly adult one (once you cut through the pretensions to maturity like profanity and casual sexual encounters and dirty playing cards featuring boobies) is the narrative. It is why the game has such a following; I didn't see it their way at first, but they were right. The dialogue is good stuff, and the themes are 'adult' in the real sense of that word: there is no good and evil, only choices. Moreover, the gameplay is old-school cool as well: The Witcher doesn't condescend to hand-hold like nearly every other game of any genre on the market today; you have to pay attention and have patience. No one will explain it all or make it easy for you. Thankfully, in The Witcher, you are not in a vicarious first-person movie in which the gameworld caters to you so much you might as well be a virtual cow in a virtual chute. Oh, and the combat system has a charm all its own; it's a simple single click mechanic that gets more complicated fighting multiple enemies; a skilled player can turn any fight into a slick ballet of death: the motion-captured swordplay, acrobatics (and the gory finishing coup de graces) are loads of fun. But this is getting too long, so I'll say it like this: The Witcher is a flawed masterpiece: 3 parts one-of the-best RPGs-ever made and, regrettably, 1 part bargain bin title. The recent controversial heir to the RPG throne, Oblivion, was technical perfection and a great game in it's own right; but in terms of truly engrossing story and depth, it can't hold a candle to The Witcher. Expand
  23. HollyC
    Feb 17, 2009
    9
    I'm sort of glad I only caught on to this phenomenal game with the Enhanced Version--after hearing about the uproar regarding crashes, bugs-etc in the original (esp given how desperately people wanted to play this game) because this game is so masterful I would have put up with it then (but ugh). However, Witcher Enhanced--was fairly solid for me. A few crashes here and there after I'm sort of glad I only caught on to this phenomenal game with the Enhanced Version--after hearing about the uproar regarding crashes, bugs-etc in the original (esp given how desperately people wanted to play this game) because this game is so masterful I would have put up with it then (but ugh). However, Witcher Enhanced--was fairly solid for me. A few crashes here and there after long hours of gameplay--but not at all bothersome. As for the game-- I haven't loved an RPG like this since the Baldur's Gate series (tho I really liked Oblivion & Bioshock). This is definitely a game for mature teens & up (i'm sure some adults aren't even mature enough to handle it). Marvelous gameplay/moral relativity and just a solid storyline even among a genre that's chalk full of cliches (this has them, but done well, you don't care). Great job and I hope they continue with a second Witcher. Expand
  24. PaulM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    I missed the original version of this game, but I am sure glad that I discovered the enhanced version. The Witcher is a mature, intelligent and brilliantly realised form of digital literature. The closest comparison I can make is with Oblivion, which is a better produced and technically proficient game, but cannot match The Witcher for storyline, dialogue and atmosphere. The Witcher looks I missed the original version of this game, but I am sure glad that I discovered the enhanced version. The Witcher is a mature, intelligent and brilliantly realised form of digital literature. The closest comparison I can make is with Oblivion, which is a better produced and technically proficient game, but cannot match The Witcher for storyline, dialogue and atmosphere. The Witcher looks great and the music truly enhances the experience, however it does not reach perfection due to long load times (even in the enhanced version) and some technical glitches with the story mechanics which required regression to an earlier save. These quibbles aside, The Witcher is a fantastic RPG experience, and for the week it took me to finish the game, I was Geralt of Rivia. Expand
  25. KostasI.
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    This game is simply awesome. The 3D version in terms of details that flesh out the world and characters of Baldurs Gate 2. At first i was disappointed with the combat system but you learn to overcome it quickly and it actually becomes very fun if you pick up the potion/ bomb and weapon coating making. The consequences of your actions are always there to remind you to be careful of what This game is simply awesome. The 3D version in terms of details that flesh out the world and characters of Baldurs Gate 2. At first i was disappointed with the combat system but you learn to overcome it quickly and it actually becomes very fun if you pick up the potion/ bomb and weapon coating making. The consequences of your actions are always there to remind you to be careful of what you say and do and the world you play in feels very alive. Its a very dark game with mature themes that do get presented believably and the language is realistically harsh as well. This is very welcome indeed. RPG bliss in all its glory even if it is a fact that you play a predetermined character. Night and day cycles, character schedules, trust and betrayal, neutrality, cause and effect, action and reaction, its all there to be experienced the way the player wishes. You have a place in the world and it shows. The game grafically is dark, gritty, realistic and especially unwelcome. You are always feeling in constant danger which is a good thing. Music is well done and fitting throughout the game and acting performances are also good enough without winning any oscars. They are just universally well done enough to not detract between great - horrible as many other games of the genre tend to do. If you can bypass the initial shock of the bemany style combat system and sink your teeth a little deeper you are sure going to find a game worth of your time and money and now with the Enhanced edition things are even better since most of the serious flaws that plagued the initial release of the game are no more (like loading times who are now at a perfectly acceptable level instead of absolutely unbearable). Just go get this game and see what the fuss is all about. Expand
  26. SkarpH
    Mar 15, 2009
    8
    Pretty engrossing game. I didn't buy the original because I was on the fence about it. But now, after quitting WoW, and having a week of free time to kill, I decided to give it a shot. Plus, you can, in fact, buy the original game and upgrade it to enhanced version for free (this saves you about 25 bucks), This is the RPG that really aged with the audience. I'm not as old as Pretty engrossing game. I didn't buy the original because I was on the fence about it. But now, after quitting WoW, and having a week of free time to kill, I decided to give it a shot. Plus, you can, in fact, buy the original game and upgrade it to enhanced version for free (this saves you about 25 bucks), This is the RPG that really aged with the audience. I'm not as old as some of these guys, but I grew up with FF6-7, Chrono Trigger, etc and as those types of RPGs progressed, they really didn't change much as my tastes mutated in leaps and bounds. I mean, you look at final fantasy and it's basically the same melodrama infested RPG it used to be, just now they take more cues from JPOP and anime (which in my mind is a severe detriment). The Witcher, on the other hand, is far more gritty and real. It's a step above the Oblivions and the Fallouts in its story and setting. The game play and graphics still need some work, and the camera takes some getting used to, but this game is just really engrossing, and it pushes the boundaries of the RPG genre to a more adult oriented ground. The main problem I had with games like Oblivion/Fallout and other types of open world games was the lack of a significantly well made plot. The Witcher has a great plot that really keeps it in the focus instead of throwing it to the backburner. In Oblivion, I really never bothered about the plot, preferring to simply do the Assassin's Guild quests and leaving it at that. In The Witcher, there's no such problem. The Witcher does have a myriad of issues though. I don't really care about loading times on my computer, they're not such a big deal. However, there are issues with the graphics/models; they're not very polished. Reviewers say this is the best the engine can do though, so whatever. Another HUGE problem is the map. It blows really bad. Another issue is the camera. Unlike WoW, where right-clicking and holding will allow you to turn the camera, the mouse in The Witcher simply turns whenever you move the mouse. This is really annoying and causes the user to pause a LOT to mess with inventory instead of doing it on the move. I also didn't find any key for auto run. In short, The Witcher is the next step in the RPG genre as it ages with its player base, and a game no RPG fan should miss out on. Expand
  27. BoM.
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    Awesome game. Some complain about not being able to hop over obstacles, or draw a sword whenever you want; to me, minor details. The storyline is great. Can't wait for the sequel.
  28. JordanR.
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    Seriously one of the best games of its genre. Aside from a few small issues with the quests and a bit of confusion traversing the map this game is a true diamond. Considering some of the rubbish out there saturating the game market this is seriously a must have for true gamers.
  29. May 4, 2011
    9
    I have played The Witcher: Enhanced Edition for the first time last week and I must say, this is one of the best game I have ever played, even if it is a 3 years old game. The setting is mature and intelligent (not all gamers are 12yo!!!), the graphics are great, the RPG elements are fun and the dialogues are realistic and compelling. The fighting action is really cool but I would haveI have played The Witcher: Enhanced Edition for the first time last week and I must say, this is one of the best game I have ever played, even if it is a 3 years old game. The setting is mature and intelligent (not all gamers are 12yo!!!), the graphics are great, the RPG elements are fun and the dialogues are realistic and compelling. The fighting action is really cool but I would have preferred a "Jedi academy 2" type of sword fighting, more based on reflex and skills than timing. This game is a MUST HAVE. Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    The main selling point of The Witcher is its great story. This game is for adults and it's made in a way that makes the story very believable. People swear, steal, **** and murder. The plot in this game is a lot darker than in most other games and it really adds to the atmosphere.

    Unfortunately, the fighting mechanics and menus/inventory are a mess and it hurts the gameplay quite a bit.
    The main selling point of The Witcher is its great story. This game is for adults and it's made in a way that makes the story very believable. People swear, steal, **** and murder. The plot in this game is a lot darker than in most other games and it really adds to the atmosphere.

    Unfortunately, the fighting mechanics and menus/inventory are a mess and it hurts the gameplay quite a bit. Managing the inventory takes too long and the fights don't really feel fluid. Switching between stances quickly becomes tedious. The game also crashed a few times.

    It's still a great RPG, especially if you are looking for a good story. Recommended.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 75
    The main adventure still has serious pacing problems, combat's still too easy for the most part, and load times -- though reduced -- continue to get in the way of the action.
  2. The new and improved package is increasingly attractive. There are still some rough edges, and moments of genuine drama are still undercut by how they're performed, but this is an agreeably driven RPG in an agreeably ornate package.
  3. PC Format
    88
    Finally, The Witcher fulfills its potential, and, best of all, it's available as a free update, just in case you bought it anyway. [Nov 2008, p.110]