• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2008
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1227 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very
    The Witcher: Enhanced Edition is the most underrated game ever.
    It's perfection. The graphics are amazing: if you compare with Dragon Age they are so much better even though this game is older. The music is a masterpiece and fits perfectly everywhere ... it really makes you feel like the places actually exist and gives the game a very unique and special feeling. The characters are very interesting and you want to know more and more about them all the time (very much as in Baldur's Gate II: Shadows of Amn). The story is also awesome ... I don't want to spoil anything but it really is great.

    If you like RPGs then buy this game. It's a masterpiece and one of the best RPGs ever made (Baldur's Gate II and Morrowind are the only RPGs I recon beats this game).
    Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    The developing back story of the character and the world the story is set in is very intriguing. Along with a gripping story line and many secondary quests to extend the duration of play, the Witcher is a great RPG to add to your collection.
  3. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    I have been playing PC games for many years and I must say that The Witcher is one of the finest games I have ever played. I enjoyed it's mature story and the world it takes place in is beautiful with a rich history. Decisions you must make are complex and require thought as they have an impact on the later parts of the game. The developer, CD Projekt Red, is one of the best out there.I have been playing PC games for many years and I must say that The Witcher is one of the finest games I have ever played. I enjoyed it's mature story and the world it takes place in is beautiful with a rich history. Decisions you must make are complex and require thought as they have an impact on the later parts of the game. The developer, CD Projekt Red, is one of the best out there. They care about their games AND the fans. If you enjoy RPG's and are looking for something different you owe it to yourself to pick this game up. You will not regret it. Oh, although I like the first Witcher better, the second it also fantastic and picks up right after the first. Both brilliant games. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    This review really captures how I feel about this game: http://www.gainsense.com/2012/07/the-witcher-review-commentary.html. Basically, this game is AMAZING. I got it for less than $3 on Steam and I gotta say, CD Projekt Red looks like the new Bioware. Can't wait to fire up Witcher II after I finish this!
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    Playing through the first couple of hours might not get you hooked, but if you come back just once then you might as well write off the next few weekends. This game is tremendous - detailed story, characters and environments. Lots of possibilties to explore, and so much variation as you craft your way through the game. Completely nonlinear, and lots of distractions, including taverns,Playing through the first couple of hours might not get you hooked, but if you come back just once then you might as well write off the next few weekends. This game is tremendous - detailed story, characters and environments. Lots of possibilties to explore, and so much variation as you craft your way through the game. Completely nonlinear, and lots of distractions, including taverns, hookers and dice poker. Top marks, and it looks like the sequel is going to somehow be just as awesome. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    First of all, I need say that I finished the game around December 2011. Although this is an old game, this is a very well-crafted game. Not to say it's the best, but very well crafted. Some complain that the combat is repetitive, but I think the combat of games are always repetitive. ( You don't fight A boss with turn-based, and fight B boss with Real Time Strategy in games, right?) ThisFirst of all, I need say that I finished the game around December 2011. Although this is an old game, this is a very well-crafted game. Not to say it's the best, but very well crafted. Some complain that the combat is repetitive, but I think the combat of games are always repetitive. ( You don't fight A boss with turn-based, and fight B boss with Real Time Strategy in games, right?) This game also has a nice story with multi endings. Graphic is still acceptable for a game this old. Took me around 45 Hours to complete. If you find this game with discount, it worth a try. P.S. I bought this from steam. Only cost me $4.99. Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I have played recently. Of course, there are bugs, glitches and it's not that non-linear as was expected, but the quality of the story telling is simply awesome! I never seen a game like this, where you fall into the story, like you read a book.
    If you want to love this game - read the book first. Unfortunately, the whole book series is not available in
    This is one of the best games I have played recently. Of course, there are bugs, glitches and it's not that non-linear as was expected, but the quality of the story telling is simply awesome! I never seen a game like this, where you fall into the story, like you read a book.
    If you want to love this game - read the book first. Unfortunately, the whole book series is not available in English yet (only two first novels). I am from Ukraine, so I had a chance to read all the books and watch TV series made by Polish TV. Maybe, that's a reason why it is great game for me. Try it and open yourself for this great story.
    Expand
  8. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Its awesome game with awesome storyline and original action system. One of the best RPG ever. Impressive graphics as for 2007 and nice atosphere made this game
  9. May 17, 2011
    9
    Ok so it had a couple of issues. I never expected I would like a largely third person game this much. I loved oblivion and like to immerse myself in the world and scenery from time to time playing from behind the characters eyes etc but much to my surprise I also greatly enjoyed the witcher. Its not as non linear as I would like but its not totally linear either. The characters andOk so it had a couple of issues. I never expected I would like a largely third person game this much. I loved oblivion and like to immerse myself in the world and scenery from time to time playing from behind the characters eyes etc but much to my surprise I also greatly enjoyed the witcher. Its not as non linear as I would like but its not totally linear either. The characters and story combined with the world created for them make this an extremely enjoyable game. Well worth buying. I just pre ordered the witcher 2 and cant wait Expand
  10. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game all round just a few minor flaws for me, on one particular map you find yourself fighing the same group of monsters over and over, it did get a little bit of a grind as they where quite easy to kill and just seemed like an obstacle rather than fun but this was rather early on in the game and what was to follow made me forgive this slight flaw in the game.

    The only other
    Fantastic game all round just a few minor flaws for me, on one particular map you find yourself fighing the same group of monsters over and over, it did get a little bit of a grind as they where quite easy to kill and just seemed like an obstacle rather than fun but this was rather early on in the game and what was to follow made me forgive this slight flaw in the game.

    The only other complaint would be about boss fights, the dont really seem like boss fights, they lack a little bit of "epicness" and "challenge".

    Beyond this i found the game to be brilliant, there are a few other very small matters that could be addressed but it would really be nit picking and i dont want to give the impression that the game is bad as i loved (almost) every minute of it.

    There is a lot of adult themes such as drinking gambling and sexual references so its one to keep the kids away from but if your an adult and want a game to treat you as such then i think you will find a lot of laughs joy and excitement from this title, i know i certainly did.
    Expand
  11. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Excellent RPG and best storytelling since Planescape:T. It has interesting concept of blurring the lines between good and evil, there is no truly "good" or truly "evil" choice. The combat gameplay is its only flaw.
    And this game is the only one that has alchemy system that I actually wanted to use and had a lot of fun doing so.
  12. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. The Witcher is a new kind of RPG; one that allows the player to make choices that actually affect the world. Some modern RPGs, such as Mass Effect (2) allow some of this, but with The Witcher, you are making choices left and right. And these choices change how later levels play out. One particularly important one changes how the final 5 hours ofOne of the best games I have ever played. The Witcher is a new kind of RPG; one that allows the player to make choices that actually affect the world. Some modern RPGs, such as Mass Effect (2) allow some of this, but with The Witcher, you are making choices left and right. And these choices change how later levels play out. One particularly important one changes how the final 5 hours of the game plays. I also loved the combat, and if you play the game enough, you will too. Most people who say that they dislike it are right in doing so, because the whole concept revolves around combos which you unlock as the game goes on. And if you only play until the second chapter, then there is no unlocking being done, and therefore the combat is depthless.

    Another area where the game excells is in story. Though the english translation can be a bit spotty at times, and voice acting can be a bit poor, all the important characters are well voiced. The story is rich with backstory, and there is a living world behind you. This is the only game where I have ever considered going back two hours in saves so that I could change one of the choices I made.

    The graphics are also quite nice, though compared to modern standards, they are a bit behind the times. Of course, the game is now 4 years old, so that is to be expected. The lighting is beautiful, and there is a full day/night cycle.

    There are only two areas which I dislike: There are some "impossible" boss fights. If you fail to prepare for them, they are quite hard, and the game doesn't do a very good job of warning you that they are about to occur. The other thing that I take issue with is how easy it is to miss some quests. If the quest isn't a primary quest, then it is usually given by some NPC. How was I to know that I should randomly go into the blacksmiths' house? I don't know. You can sometimes miss large parts of the story, or atleasty backstory due to this. Luckily, there is a good wiki for the game, where you can check to see that you have done all required. Just watch out for spoilers on there, they seem to be in the most mundane places!

    To close this up, The Witcher is a great game for any RPG fan. If you don't have it, get it.
    Expand
  13. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    First big game from small polish developer. Game was created on old engine bit it looks really good for 2007 RPG of the year! I didn't know what to expect after TW1 was recommend to me by my friend. Game starts slow but picks but closer to middle of the game so you have to patent ..if you survive first 2 chapters you start to enjoy very well told story. Combat could be better but it'sFirst big game from small polish developer. Game was created on old engine bit it looks really good for 2007 RPG of the year! I didn't know what to expect after TW1 was recommend to me by my friend. Game starts slow but picks but closer to middle of the game so you have to patent ..if you survive first 2 chapters you start to enjoy very well told story. Combat could be better but it's something new! never been tried before system so I give them points for trying also character development is very rich and let you play how you want you play. Highly recommended if you love RPG games. Also I have to add game goes for around 5£ (huge value for the money!) Expand
  14. May 4, 2011
    9
    I have played The Witcher: Enhanced Edition for the first time last week and I must say, this is one of the best game I have ever played, even if it is a 3 years old game. The setting is mature and intelligent (not all gamers are 12yo!!!), the graphics are great, the RPG elements are fun and the dialogues are realistic and compelling. The fighting action is really cool but I would haveI have played The Witcher: Enhanced Edition for the first time last week and I must say, this is one of the best game I have ever played, even if it is a 3 years old game. The setting is mature and intelligent (not all gamers are 12yo!!!), the graphics are great, the RPG elements are fun and the dialogues are realistic and compelling. The fighting action is really cool but I would have preferred a "Jedi academy 2" type of sword fighting, more based on reflex and skills than timing. This game is a MUST HAVE. Expand
  15. May 27, 2011
    9
    Great RPG! Great story, brutal and cruel world, fantastic atmosphere , moral choices and much much more.

    minus... not many ways of building up your character, not very challenging and sometimes boring combat.
  16. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    This book, err, I mean game is based on a Polish book called Blood of Elves. The story is very immerse, which was expected since it was made from a book to a game, with many characters who you begin to feel emotion for right after meeting them. The combat system of this game is very different from traditional RPG's. You have to click on at the right time to continue your over animatedThis book, err, I mean game is based on a Polish book called Blood of Elves. The story is very immerse, which was expected since it was made from a book to a game, with many characters who you begin to feel emotion for right after meeting them. The combat system of this game is very different from traditional RPG's. You have to click on at the right time to continue your over animated combos and you have three different attack styles, Strong, Fast, and Group which you must use depending on the enemy you're versing. You also have Steel Swords and Silver Swords. Steel Swords are most effective against humans, dogs, and wolves while the Silver Sword is most effective against monsters. The combat system is simple but very fun and engaging! The graphics are very good for the time the game was made but I was expecting to see cinematics with the graphics of the introduction but I believe those graphics are reserved for the first and final cinematic of the game. I wouldn't know, I'm still plying through it now, after months of addiction an family reunions avoided! The game really could have done without the sex scenes and cards. They add a cheesy touch that I hated! I haven't done any of them and don't intend to. Still a great game, missing 10 because of the unneeded sex. Expand
  17. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This is a game for real rpg fan. If You like Slavic climate You will found here the best world You ever dreamt of. Fighting system is like a poetry. Plot is marvelous like original A. Sapkowski books. Main character is a true hero with past and something to say in present. Sense of humor, music and surroundings will make You love this game. Also game is quite long but it doesn't getThis is a game for real rpg fan. If You like Slavic climate You will found here the best world You ever dreamt of. Fighting system is like a poetry. Plot is marvelous like original A. Sapkowski books. Main character is a true hero with past and something to say in present. Sense of humor, music and surroundings will make You love this game. Also game is quite long but it doesn't get boring. If You didn't play, You just have to. Expand
  18. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    To Put It Simply This is the one of the best rpgs ever mage witcher 2 is more amazing than 1 but if you have a normal gaming rig you can play the witcher in maxed out settings stunning graphics compared to any other rpgs till 2010 stunning story and gameplay highly addictive
  19. Mar 20, 2015
    9
    The democratisation of dark-fantasy in video-games, just like Game Of Throne did with TV shows. Great graphics at the time, complex, well written and engaging story with choices that have true consequences in a true living world. The first entry in the series is remarkable: 40 hours of gameplay, good alchemy system, amazing story and universe but not flawless: the combat system is tooThe democratisation of dark-fantasy in video-games, just like Game Of Throne did with TV shows. Great graphics at the time, complex, well written and engaging story with choices that have true consequences in a true living world. The first entry in the series is remarkable: 40 hours of gameplay, good alchemy system, amazing story and universe but not flawless: the combat system is too simple and shops are useless and it would have been better if it was a true open-world instead of zone per act.
    I really did enjoy my time, but I know that the second and probably the third entry are even better and close to perfect, those one will deserve a 10, for The Witcher 1 I think 9 is more fair.
    Expand
  20. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    I give the Witcher (Enhanced Edition) a 5/5. I do not know where to begin. This is by far one of the most fantastic RPGs that I have ever had to pleasure to experience. Although the awkward animations and somewhat dull voice acting may take some time to get used to, it is most definitely worth your time. I became to immersed into this game that as soon as I beat it, rather than going on toI give the Witcher (Enhanced Edition) a 5/5. I do not know where to begin. This is by far one of the most fantastic RPGs that I have ever had to pleasure to experience. Although the awkward animations and somewhat dull voice acting may take some time to get used to, it is most definitely worth your time. I became to immersed into this game that as soon as I beat it, rather than going on to the second game (which I had already purchased in my steam library) I started the first game over on the hardest difficulty setting. I just could not get enough. Buy this game. Beat it. Beat it again. Play part two. Expand
  21. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    My original favorite game. I got it at some random shop I walked into for 2 bucks, mainly because of the wolf head on the cover. Man, did I luck out. No idea what it was about prior to buying it. Of course, there are a few issues, like not being able to jump/ walk over small bumps. I just bought it again on steam for 2.50 because I like the convenience of steam, and figured I should pay atMy original favorite game. I got it at some random shop I walked into for 2 bucks, mainly because of the wolf head on the cover. Man, did I luck out. No idea what it was about prior to buying it. Of course, there are a few issues, like not being able to jump/ walk over small bumps. I just bought it again on steam for 2.50 because I like the convenience of steam, and figured I should pay at least 4.50 for such an awesome game. Expand
  22. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Got the game on Steam with a rather low expectation due to the low price and the sometimes negative feedback here. After completing the game I must say it is one of the best games I have ever played. Yes there are some glitches. Sometimes you feel like running a little too much around. Some of the bosses in the game are very difficult etc.
    But the beautiful setting, the deep storyline and
    Got the game on Steam with a rather low expectation due to the low price and the sometimes negative feedback here. After completing the game I must say it is one of the best games I have ever played. Yes there are some glitches. Sometimes you feel like running a little too much around. Some of the bosses in the game are very difficult etc.
    But the beautiful setting, the deep storyline and artistic graphics totally compensates. And if you are a little bored with the "run to the next exit and shoot some monsters on the way" games the market is full of then pick up this game, it is still available on steam at a rather low price and I promise you a very interesting journey. On the other hand if you like to learn tricky keyboard combinations to fight with very special moves, if you like to snipe, or just enjoy exploring "high tech" places, this game is not for you. The fighting engine is very special with your character doing all the moves and you just have to click the mouse at exactly the right time. In the beginning this is kind of frustrating until you learn but after a while I actually appreciated this action style very much.

    Can't wait to play the sequel. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  23. May 22, 2011
    9
    I had never heard of this game until a little while ago. It came out right about the time Dragon Age: Origins came out and I was way too busy with that game. Now I have to look back and wonder if I should have been way too busy with this game. This game is a breathe of fresh air in the RPG category. I wanted to see if it was any good before I played the sequel to it and I was amazed. ItI had never heard of this game until a little while ago. It came out right about the time Dragon Age: Origins came out and I was way too busy with that game. Now I have to look back and wonder if I should have been way too busy with this game. This game is a breathe of fresh air in the RPG category. I wanted to see if it was any good before I played the sequel to it and I was amazed. It didn't try to cover more than it should have with it's storyline and gave the player enough. Every decision you make will count at some time or another. You will be rewarded in a good or bad way for the things you do at some time or another. The story doesn't leave you wanting more and it actually closes what it started which is pretty unheard of in this gaming age. The combat system is unique and I want to say skill based but I can't really because by the time you are ~30 hours into the game you will hear the same sound and know when you attack again. Some of the later sequences are bit harder to listen for though which was a nice change. The quests in this game are diverse and many. There are the standard kill this and get X from it on every act but those are optional and are usually completed by doing other optional quests or primaries. If you want to take a break from questing you can do dice poker or bar fighting which was fun to do every so often. I didn't really have high hopes from an indie game company to produce something of this quality but I was blown away. The only really thing I can say negatively about this game is the fact that it is easy. Once you know what to do with your spells it makes things a push over. I was playing on the hardest difficulty and relied on alchemy. I was hoping it would be harder to obtain the mats for said pots but they were littered everywhere on the acts. It made the hard version of the game very easy being able to be potted all the time. With that aside I would absolutely recommend this game to anyone even if they don't like RPGs it is just that good. Expand
  24. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    This game comes very close to the perfect game. It's actually mature, it's realistic in decisions and never resorts to black and white "good" "evil" choices. The only small issue is that some quests are of a far lower standard than other quests - whereas in the witcher 2 - all the quests are of a high standard. However this game is almost twice the length. So it evens out in the end. TheThis game comes very close to the perfect game. It's actually mature, it's realistic in decisions and never resorts to black and white "good" "evil" choices. The only small issue is that some quests are of a far lower standard than other quests - whereas in the witcher 2 - all the quests are of a high standard. However this game is almost twice the length. So it evens out in the end. The combat is a little more methodical than the witcher 2, it's different. Although I probably prefer the witcher 2's combat. Expand
  25. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    first off i recommend reading the books first as it will help immerse you in the world better. the writing and interactions between the characters is dark and witty. the atmosphere and art design captured the grim nature of the witcher's world. geralt is one of the biggest badasses in gaming. neutral, intelligent, and lethal. only reason i'm not giving this a 10 is the combat seemed a bitfirst off i recommend reading the books first as it will help immerse you in the world better. the writing and interactions between the characters is dark and witty. the atmosphere and art design captured the grim nature of the witcher's world. geralt is one of the biggest badasses in gaming. neutral, intelligent, and lethal. only reason i'm not giving this a 10 is the combat seemed a bit limited and boring. sure you can spice it up with spells, potions, coatings but it really boiled down to the timing of one button over and over. i can't wait to play the second game as it supposedly does pretty much everything better than the original. Expand
  26. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Good game. The writing is well balanced, and the graphics are outstanding. Carries a few loose bugs, however, and I even encountered a game-breaking one that forced me to restart the game. The voice acting is also a little bit sloppy. Despite all this, what really makes the Witcher stands out is its incredible atmosphere and engaging characters, and its enough to make me want to pushGood game. The writing is well balanced, and the graphics are outstanding. Carries a few loose bugs, however, and I even encountered a game-breaking one that forced me to restart the game. The voice acting is also a little bit sloppy. Despite all this, what really makes the Witcher stands out is its incredible atmosphere and engaging characters, and its enough to make me want to push through again even after having to restart. A great game all-and-all. Expand
  27. May 21, 2011
    9
    After I have seen the movie based on Sapkowskich books... I told my self, that I will not waste my time on these books... but some time after the release of the enhanced edition I gave it a try... and I got drawn into this world within minutes. The cursing dwarfs, the shady elves, the false priests, the corrupted officials and the sultry prostitutes shaped a world, which was unique amongAfter I have seen the movie based on Sapkowskich books... I told my self, that I will not waste my time on these books... but some time after the release of the enhanced edition I gave it a try... and I got drawn into this world within minutes. The cursing dwarfs, the shady elves, the false priests, the corrupted officials and the sultry prostitutes shaped a world, which was unique among the fantasy worlds I came across. (After my first playthrough I read all the 7 books in an instance...)
    Ok, this game does not offer a character creator, but instead You get a well defined and interesting anti-hero, whose story and background is a far superior feature, than a tabula rasa character. The music is so dense and folklore, the graphics are so stunning, especially compared to the great Dragon Age: Origins. I have to admit, that the facial animations are very stiff, and a lot of faces are the same, but that is the only downer in terms of graphics. The night and day cycle, the living towns and the dynamic weather are so immersive, that you cannot not play for hours. This game also features the most interesting choices, were every choice means sacrifice, were all one can do, is choose the lesser evil, where a Hollywood-style happy ending is not an option. Many people complained about the combat... It needs to get used to, yes. But it is not bad, it is a lot of fun, and when you add the potions, the bombs and Geralts skills to it, the combat becomes a very strategic gameplay, where the intelligence of the player is tested. In short... If you know what you are doing, you can defeat the game on the highest difficulty with ease, but the hard part is actually remembering and mastering all of it.
    So... in it's time, this was the second to Mass Effect 1 best looking RPG, it was definitely the most mature story-based game (I know... the sex cards... but I do have a deck of Playboy-cards myslef and I still consider my self mature) with a very deep combat system, it featured the most difficult choices, it was not afraid to punish you.

    What shall I say... I love CD Project games as much as I love Bioware games, and I am not a fan of this recent troll-war between the fans of these games... people, do yourself a favor and enjoy those games... in the end, it is of no importance which is better... they are all great and they ARE worth your money!
    Expand
  28. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    Short version - One of the best RPG's I have ever had the pleasure of playing in my 12 years of gaming.

    Long(er) version - When I started up the Witcher after buying it extremely cheap on Steam, I have to admit, I wasn't expecting much. Something to throw a few hours into and entertain me for a little while.. but I was so wrong! This ended up being one of the most superb RPG experiences
    Short version - One of the best RPG's I have ever had the pleasure of playing in my 12 years of gaming.

    Long(er) version - When I started up the Witcher after buying it extremely cheap on Steam, I have to admit, I wasn't expecting much. Something to throw a few hours into and entertain me for a little while.. but I was so wrong!

    This ended up being one of the most superb RPG experiences I have ever had, the story and immersion are second to none and the setting is just absolutely excellent.. Who doesn't want to be a professional monster hunter, hunting everything from vampires, werewolves to things you have never heard of like Kikimores and Graveirs.. you really get the feeling that you are Geralt, the white wolf, a witcher.

    I see no faults whatsoever with this game and give it a 10/10, it deserves it.
    Expand
  29. May 17, 2011
    10
    I only started playing the game after I'd read the books by Sapkowski, as a way to extend my stay in the world of The Witcher. Honestly, I thought I was up for a disappointment, but I was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere was still there, the riveting plot, interesting characters and snappy dialogue were up to standard. I particularly liked the fact that the moral choices were always inI only started playing the game after I'd read the books by Sapkowski, as a way to extend my stay in the world of The Witcher. Honestly, I thought I was up for a disappointment, but I was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere was still there, the riveting plot, interesting characters and snappy dialogue were up to standard. I particularly liked the fact that the moral choices were always in the gray scale, never good or bad, but rather a matter of the lesser evil. I can only hope the second game will be as good as the first! Expand
  30. May 20, 2011
    10
    Belongs to top 3 RPGs I have ever played, along with Mass Effect 1 and Dragon Age 1.
    Story is mature and complex, I felt like I was playing a full-blown novel, with lots of side stuff going on simultaneously with the main story.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 75
    The main adventure still has serious pacing problems, combat's still too easy for the most part, and load times -- though reduced -- continue to get in the way of the action.
  2. The new and improved package is increasingly attractive. There are still some rough edges, and moments of genuine drama are still undercut by how they're performed, but this is an agreeably driven RPG in an agreeably ornate package.
  3. Finally, The Witcher fulfills its potential, and, best of all, it's available as a free update, just in case you bought it anyway. [Nov 2008, p.110]