• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 810 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 810

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Want a complex rpg a (la-Dragon Age) which forces you to make tough decisions and has a really great story line along with a few sex-cards thrown in for fun....well this game is definitely for you.
  2. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Excellent game in a deep, complex dark world and the heroes in the middle in all of this. Fantastic graphics, fantastic world, fantastic story this is how must be a modern rpg.
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    When Mass Effect and The Witcher were in planning they must have shared cheat-sheets because the central formula and release date for both games are startlingly similar. Gritty, kick-ass main character: Check. Huge, engrossing plot with plenty of opportunities for role-playing: Check. A half decent combat system and a sub-par magical system: Check. Oh yeah, and **** **** **** and more **** CHECK! Bioware, however made the successful marketing strategy of advertising its alien **** while the Witcher was more subtle about it in the promos but when the time came it went all out. This is probably why Mass Effect got better ratings in my opinion because the two are almost equal in every area. But enough about the sex, it doesn't really play that big a part in either game, I just wouldn't give The Witcher to my kids. While Mass Effect is about a 'space marine' trying to save the galaxy, The Witcher is about a guy who no-one likes trying to save/destroy a town that no-one likes and save/kill all the humans/elves or dwarves. As you can see its very non-linear and with quite a lot of options that effect the game, so much so that if you kill someone at the beginning of the game you will feel the effects of it at the end and at several places in-between. I mentioned that the combat was mediocre, however two points really make up for it. One: an excellent potions system which allows you to gain huge advantages based on which enemies you are fighting. And two: it forces you to change your tactics based on the tactics of your enemy. These two factors really make up for the lack of a decent fighting system and keep the combat interesting. The story does take a long time to get moving, and you will spend the first half of the game not really knowing what is going on (and you don't even find out whom the main antagonist is until the very moment you go to fight him) but if you keep at it you will be rewarded. There is really a bit of everything, from the classic hero type questing, to a mystery plot in which you become a detective, to conducting/preventing a bank robbery. If you can get past the initial tedium, you will be rewarded as it has one of the best endings. In conclusion, if you are the kind of person who liked the shooting part of Mass Effect, you probably won't like this game, but if you liked the story aspect you probably will. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    To me, the whole choice/consequence idea in gaming is vastly overrated and using it as a marketing point leaves me cold. Any really good game does not need such a thing and shoehorning it into a game doesn't make the game better for it either. Would The Witcher have been a worse game without it? I find it difficult to believe so. On the whole I thought The Witcher was an excellent game with only some minor faults. A decent combat system, interesting alchemy, reasonable story and some memorable characters, it held my attention almost all the way through. The locations were nicely rendered and diverse, the enemies challenging and some of the characters very compelling. The magical abilities were also worthwhile having if you wanted a break from all the swordplay. The drawbacks were some nonsensical conversations (not deliberate), risible voice acting and the extremely gratuitous sex aspect which probably only served to boost sales amongst males of a certain age. It added nothing to the game whatsoever. In addition to this chapter two seemed to drag on for a long time. Overall a good game, quite unique and well worth anyone's time and money. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    A very underrated game, mostly because a large amount of people did not really try this game before Witcher 2 came out. While this game doesn't have the amazing visuals of its sequel, it still provides an excellent story and exciting combat. A great title for any RPG fan.
  6. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    It's absolutely awesome, when polish developer took the best hero in polish fantasy and give us one of the most memorable RPG of this generation. This game still need a little bit of technical support, but the role-playing aspects showed every developers how this work should be done. Yes, i'm Pole, and so what?
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    I admit I was late getting on the Witcher bandwagon, but what can I say? I finally have a decent PC now. I have been enjoying this game for well over 30+ hours of gameplay now and I am seriously loving it. The combat is fun. The alchemy tasks are well thought out. The storyline is great. And best of all the voice acting is actually pretty good (enhanced edition). I will probably start the game over as soon as I am finished with my first playthrough. I cannot wait to pick up The Witcher 2 very soon. I strongly recommend this game to any PC RPG fan. Expand
  8. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Great game. A compelling story, dynamic (if a little bit flawed) combat system, and fantastic characters. A must for true RPG fans. Lots of difficult choices that feel like they matter (they might not influence the gameplay too much, yet you see echoes of your decisions throughout the whole game). The game's story and the situations that your character is put in are more lifelike than in any other RPG (especially modern one). There is no 'right' or 'wrong' and being cast in the middle of a war between two fractions you have to pick your side (or try very hard to be neutral, which you can never truly be).

    I am surprised to see some negative reviews, unfortunately some of them show that the reviewer hasn't really tried to play the game (someone complained about an unresponsive combat system where you have to click and hold a mouse button and hope it will work, which sometimes it did and sometimes didn't - that's not the case, the system works in an entirely different way and going through a tutorial would be enough to find this out)...
    Expand
  9. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    The Best Story. I love it En mii opinión, mucho mejor que su secuela. Totalmente recomendado. A pesar de sus fallos técnicos, la magia que te hace sentir es úncia y opaca cuaqlquier fallo que quieras encontrarle.
  10. Mar 13, 2011
    7
    First off: the things I didn't like.

    The combat system could be better. It consists of clicking the mouse at the right time for the hero to continue a combo, switching combat styles and weapon, considering what type of enemy you are facing. You do a LOT of pointless running back and forth, as there is no fast travel system, and that get really tedious. The amount of re-spawning enemies
    are - ridiculous especially low level enemies are all over the place! and it can get rather boring hacking through hordes of monsters all over the place. The dialogue scenes are just.....weired. they are poorly executed, the voice acting is dull, the characters has no animated facial expressions, and the way they express them selves with their bodies are strange to put it mildly. Personally I'm a big fan of open world games like oblivion and fallout, and this games i very restricted in the freedom of your movement and in the story. It is extremely buggy! throughout my first play-through I hardly used the quit game button, as the game crashed all the time. BUT all this considered i still really liked this game a lot.

    The visuals were good, maybe not technically, as the game is a few years old now, but the atmosphere created through the music, sounds and the visuals I thought were excellent. The whole tone of this games was done really well including the flawed personality of all the characters, the underlying conflicts and difficulties i the world the is set in (The plague, the war between races etc) made this a very interesting setting for the game. The story is good, and deep with a lot of twists and turns, minor subplots that are all connected with each other, creating a long a very deep and strong story for the game.

    The choices you have to make are.....heavy to put it mildly. all from what side to choose in a threatening civil war, to whom you save or don't to which friends to rely on or whom you alienate. That choices are many and have often unforeseen consequences, making the story even stronger, and give you a good platform for several play-throughs, playing a game with a slightly altered story every time.

    So all in all this i a very good RPG game, with som issues and flaws, most of whom is technical. I'm really looking forward to the next game, where, if they can create a just as strong story and setting, and removes the bugs and flaws of the first game will make a really strong game that will be a favourite with most gamers, fans of the RPG genre or not.
    Expand
  11. May 22, 2011
    0
    This game is awful. Mostly because of the controls. Instead of a control scheme that makes sense the devs have something which is completely counter intuitive where something as simple as spacebar which is used as the jump key for every single game ever created is twisted into a pause game key. The game doesn't tell you anything about how to actually play. The game animations are some of the worst I've ever seen. I have played porn games with better animation than this. Go look up Bonecraft on youtube, those are terrible animations but they're a lot better than the animations in this game! Don't be fooled by all the fanboys of the Witcher fantasy series who give this game a 10 out of fanboy loyalty. This game is unplayably bad. Expand
  12. Aug 6, 2011
    3
    I was looking forward to this game's storyline, but found it unplayable. OK, that's an exaggeration, but it's not an enjoyable game to play. For frame of reference, I got huge enjoyment out of Dragon Age Origins, the storyline initially, but it's the gameplay that provides the lasting value. It's hard to pinpoint where the Witcher fails by comparison. I'll admit that, when I sit down to play, I have no tolerance for bugs and idiosyncrasies. This starts with the Load Game screen. The mouse cursor is missing and you have to search the net to find that holding the shift key brings it out of hiding. The screen designs that show your characters stats, selected weapon, maps, progress, inventory etc. are poor. Too colorful and too disorganised, with no sense of where the background graphics end and the useful information begins. The combat, as has been mentioned, is atrocious and simplistic compared to other RPGs. Other things seem, at times, needlessly complicated, taking too many mouse clicks or keystrokes to accomplish.

    This is a game with an adult storyline. If you are, like me, an adult who has a job and whose time is worth something, perhaps you'll feel the same way. There are better titles out there and you'll never play them all. Don't waste your time.
    Expand
  13. Oct 19, 2011
    4
    Truth be told, this wasn't a terrible game. Key word being "wasn't". I had a decently good time (I may have rated it 8/10) playing through it right up until the swamp level. The game was inherently easy up to that point, when it became literally impossible. There was this one vine enemy that was absolutely impossible to beat, and hordes of regular enemies that would not give me even a moment's reprieve. I would've had to fight a few of them, rest and recover, move 10 feet, fight more, rest and recover, etc etc. I can understand games getting difficult, but to get SO difficult SO suddenly is ludicrous. The game became so tedious that I quit, and after trying (and failing) a few more times at later dates, never ended up playing it again. When I looked up tips on how to beat the swamp level, they all said I had to be X level (I was higher), use X potions (I had been), and fire (also had been). Games should be fun, not tedious. Expand
  14. Sep 23, 2011
    3
    I really don't get the love for this game. I caught it on sale at GOG for cheap and finally jumped on it since I had heard great things about it, and even for what I paid, I regret purchasing it. The world and story are the only things that had me somewhat interested, the gameplay itself is incredibly boring and unsatisfying. For all the talk about the fun and innovative combat system, it simply boils down to: is there more than one enemy, than use the AoE style, if not, is the enemy fast or armored and slow, then use one of the remaining two combat styles. Once you pick a style, you click on an enemy to start an attack, and there are times during your animations that you have to click to extend the combo. If you fail, you have to wait a tiny bit before you can try and start a new chain. I was hoping maybe the magic skills would make combat interesting, so I held out until I got them all, but they didn't change much. While it gets points from me for having a unique setting, and a somewhat engaging story, the combat is mind numbingly boring and offers no challenge, for something I assumed would require a bit of strategy. I can only imagine how buggy and cumbersome everything was before they patched it up, as inventory management is still annoying, and I got outright crashes and glitches, losing progress and having to redo parts here and there. You can't really alter fights either, you either win, or you lose, potions aren't reactive, they're proactive. I love RPGs, but this one is a pass, there's just no depth to the actual gameplay and I don't hold much hope for 2, as it doesn't look like combat is substantially improved. I did put about 10 hours into it, trying to see if it would turn into anything interesting, but after getting all the spells and sampling more gameplay, I couldn't justify dumping anymore time into it and decided to cut my losses. Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2012
    1
    Ok, 20 minutes of cinematic and stupid dialogs before I could make a single move. And once it's up to you, character keeps jumping everywhere to the single key you press and you have no clue what you're doing. And then, it's back for 20 minutes of cinematic and stupid dialogs.
    Also, keeps lagging for no reason when there's nobody on the screen but runs smooth when there are 10 characters
    battling. Not sure I'll have the courage to give it another chance. Too bad, you got your chance and wasted it. Expand
  16. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    One of the most interesting role-playing games that I played. Non-trivial plot, lot of skills, charismatic characters, non-linear quests, moral choices and perfect soundtrack. Well done, CD Projekt.
  17. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Excellent RPG and best storytelling since Planescape:T. It has interesting concept of blurring the lines between good and evil, there is no truly "good" or truly "evil" choice. The combat gameplay is its only flaw.
    And this game is the only one that has alchemy system that I actually wanted to use and had a lot of fun doing so.
  18. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    The best true RPG to arrive on the scene since Baldur's Gate II. Not RPG +Action. Not RPG+Strategy. Not RPG + anything else. Just pure RPG. Yes, I concur that the load times are annoying. But if that's the worst you can say about a game take your marbles and go home. In every other respect The Witcher delivers. How good is this game. Let me explain. I play the World of Warcraft. I play it a lot. You could say I'm addicted to it, if you like. The Witcher is the only game that I stopped playing WoW for. Stopped cold. If the industry would come up with more games like this maybe I would come back to playing single player RPGs entirely. If you don't like this game then it's simply the case the RPG are not your style of game. Expand
  19. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Since I passed Witcher I beginning behaves to the videogames as to art. Great nonlinear adventure story in framing of wonderful music of Adam Skorupa.I remember it and till today.
  20. May 18, 2011
    10
    wow where to start I absolutely loved this game from start to finish,sucked me in and wouldent let me go,awsome graphics memorable story,This is how rpg's for pc should be done.Quiete a long game,I put about 50 hours into it because there are just so many sidequests
  21. May 19, 2011
    9
    The Witcher is simply one of the best games I have ever played. I was waiting for the game like this for a really long time. It has some cons and not everyone will fell comfortable with it's game play (I like adventure games), but that game put me out from social life for a whole week and it was definitely worth it. 9.0
  22. May 20, 2011
    10
    awsome game great graphics great fighting system and an amazingly good musical score it has black and white morality definatly worth buying you can pick this babay up at gog.com right now for 5 dollars so what are you waiting for go out and get it! you wont regret it
  23. May 26, 2011
    8
    The game is a good game, i will give CDproject that. Its about Geralt of Rivia, a monster hunter, or witcher as the locals call him. He is the typical grunty voiced, tall and handsome protagonist, but once the storyline starts speeding up his true character shows. They have created a great protagonist with the fact that he is a complete badass, but he also has a lot of character. For the rest of the characters, not as much can be said, for it seems as if the game forces the whole entire 'all the characters have a bad side' thing on literally everyone, which can definitely get annoying eventually, but brings a new light to the black and white choices of say, mass effect. The combat is different from the regular hack and slash, but can get fairly annoying especially early on when the combos you do look exactly the same for each hit. His attacks look and get better over time, but it is still frustrating. Another great part of the game is the alchemy system, something where you collect materials to make potions, bombs, and traps, all of which are REQUIRED, not just fun to use, to win in combat at all past easy difficulty. The setting is varied, you go from swamps to cities to small villages to snowy areas, however within these areas there will always be a stalemate where it gets needlessly boring, making the game hard to complete unless your some kind of game perfectionist. The story is a good one though, one that has far reaching choices that make you feel a part of the world like no other game. The game changes according to your choices, and it makes the whole game feel under your control, almost as if your writing a novel through a game. The graphics are also great and detailed as if an artist made them, although somewhat murky. It would have been more pleasing to the eye if they were a bit more colorful, even if it were to take a bit away from the atmosphere. Another issue i have is the loot system, in which there is almost no loot. Most of the time you will be stuck with the same exact weapons throughout most of the game, and if they perhaps made a better armor system the game would have been much more enjoyable and more lengthy (in a good way). That is actually my main issue, the only loot you pick up is small weapons which aren't feasible to use, or alchemical ingredients. With the sound work, it is great in some areas, amazing in other areas, and downright bad in others. Geralt has great voicework, but some of the smaller character make it seem as if they picked a random man off the street to do the voicework. The soundtrack however makes up for it, for it is a great soundtrack. Well, because of a few detractors, this game shys from being truly great, but it is definitely worth playing, especially if you want to play the witcher 2 which is almost unplayable without having played the first game the whole way through. Expand
  24. May 24, 2011
    9
    The best game I have been played.Why innovating fighting system, beautiful world , amusing music, intelligent story, clever dialogues. Many hours spend in very special world.
  25. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Since I passed Witcher I beginning behaves to the videogames as to art. Great nonlinear adventure story in framing of wonderful music of Adam Skorupa.I remember it and till today.
  26. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    I give it 3 points for trying, and another 3 for trying kinda nice. The Witcher sucked me for the first part. But after I got to Triss I just lost my interest. I couldn't stand Witcher as detective.
  27. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    There are really some flaws in the game (but Enhanced Edition is seriously improved), but they are really minor and don't spoil game play. But I give this game 10 out of 10 because of the terrific story and character's personality development. There are a lot of situations in the game where you have to think about philosophical questions.
  28. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    When I hear the word ARPG I tend to cringe and move on. They tend to be light on story due to the increased attention to combat and the free aim combat as seen in the Elder Scrolls series just drive me nuts. Fortunately, The Witcher doesn't suffer from either of these problems. The story was interesting, something I rarely say about newer RPGs anymore and the combat isn't free aim. It does require far more clicking than any of the old infinity engine RPGs due to the combo system, which can ware on your nerves at time, but overall it works well and can be interesting to watch (for a few minutes) after you unlock new combo moves. Not as grindy and combat heavy as other ARPGs. Hitting most of the side quests I spent about 30 hours to beat it. Well worth the massively discounted price you can find it at. Expand
  29. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    2nd best polish game. One of the best RPGs ever, one of the best fantasy universes ever. : )
    I recommend this game and The Witcher Saga too! :D
    Dark and deep world with sclavinian style.
  30. Jun 15, 2012
    6
    A game well woth playing, to be sure, but far too immature to be the dark roleplaying experience it set out to be. Plus, in an attempt to compensate for the "no matter which course you choose, all is well"-attitude of other games, here you're not rewarded for your actions, but rather punished. Action have consequences, and they're not mainly positive with some negative side-effects (as might have been the intention), but always dire, and the negative sides by far outweigh the positive sides, which makes this game pretty tiring at times. Expand
  31. May 13, 2012
    3
    This must be one of those games that stereotypical PC gamers love because it's "pretty," as if graphics power can make up for clickfest gameplay, incomprehensible menus and terrible voice acting. I had heard a lot about this game on the Internet, but it isn't even worth the $10 I paid for it on Steam.
  32. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    This game was fun, entertaining, and pretty. The game kept wanting more. I will be buying the sequel. The sex cards make me feel like a pre-teen again, giggling at cards with "boobies" on them. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The game-play while repetitive, is a lot of fun. The RPG elements in this game are exactly what you'd want from an RPG.
  33. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Despite some poor voiceovers, the game delivers in almost every category. The character customization has depth, the story has meaning, and the NPC's you encounter are more than enough to fuel immersion. RPG makers of this day and age could learn a lot from CD Projekt RED.
  34. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    You can have this game on steam for a few buck. It sure is worth a try. The worst point is the combat system. Works fine but mechanic is as simple as **** Just click when the cursor turn gold. Luckily there's alchemy, two different swords (one for human, one for beasts) and three combat style that will make the experience a little better. Main quest rocks and some side quests are worth playing. During the game you will have to make choices which will affect the plot. Choices are not a simple good vs bad. Take your choice and pay the consequences!
    For those who have no sexual life there's the chance you will have a shot with some female NPCs during the game. At least something to speak about with your friends!
    Expand
  35. Nov 30, 2012
    7
    I'm in 7 hours into this game so far and I'm not into fantasy settings. The story did not really unfold yet, but the quests are interesting enough to push on. Alchemy is fun once you get the hang of it, and I found myself buying books from a traveler just to know more of the world and be better in alchemy. The fight system needs a little getting used to, but works well, alchemy makes your life 100 times easier. I like the multiple types of control schemes also, you can control with one mouse if you like, or go with the kb+mouse over the shoulder camera setup. Expand
  36. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    The Witcher Has A Great Atmosphere.
  37. Oct 29, 2012
    2
    the game has good voice acting and good music but that's it, the story is dull, the combat is boring, the quests are just uninteresting and the controls are very clunky. by far one of the worst RPG's i have ever played.
  38. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    The game art is done with style, sure, especially the starting cutscene. Unfortunately the combat system just sucks big time. I dropped the game after just a few fights in frustration.
  39. Apr 4, 2014
    5
    I really wanted to like this game, I've given it a second chance and I've given it more time this time, but I just can't get into it. The graphics look great for a game that's nearly 7 years old, there's so much to do and the storyline looks great but unfortunately the mechanics of the game are so poorly executed that I can't play for longer than 5 minutes at a time without getting frustrated.

    The biggest detracting feature from the game is the clunky combat system that feels so counter intuitive. In most RPG's clicking the mouse means the weapon swings and damage is dealt, but not in this game. You have to click on an enemy and hold-click before anything happens, then let go and hold-click as fast as possible again and rinse and repeat until the same combo's are repeated over and over again before an enemy dies. Most of the time the enemy is just standing there like a retard while Geralt is holding the sword above his head and also standing there like a retard. Then there's a bit of bumping and grinding while no weapons are being swung... then some grunting and finally some combat that feels like the fighters are completely disconnected from each other as if they were swinging their weapons in thin air. Then there's having to change the fight style for each different enemy in a mob or just having the blanket swing and hit all fight style that still looks disconnected and clunky with no smooth combat flow. Finally there's the magical right click skill that also, like the combat, doesn't always fire off when the right mouse button is clicked.

    The voice acting is a bit of a mixed bag and sometimes conveys the emotion behind the words being said, but often doesn't and the character animations while speaking could have been done a lot better. The body language is just weird.

    Next, there is the inventory, which is also weird in that Geralt can only hold weapons that he can use, none of which he can carry in his backpack.
    Expand
  40. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    The story of the witcher Geralt is an entirely absorbing tale. Visually impressive for 2007, the game has aged well. You have a multitude of options in character development and progression, every decision made has it's own merits and reasons, separating it from every other cut and paste RPG whose moral compass limits you to either evil or good.
  41. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    Very good start of the series. Game has great story, massive amount of sidequests. Fighting is a little bit difficult in the beginnig, but when you learn it, it gives much fun.
  42. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Polish best game ever made. My favourite game from all. Everything is the best. Story, combat, voice acting, characters etc. I have finished The Wicher three times and I love it.
  43. Oct 10, 2013
    1
    Bad controls, substandard plot, no character customization and trying to push through praying that adolescent boys will ignore the horrible game-play for the chance to see sex. The main character is trying desperately to present himself as a mysterious tough guy, but completely falls short when he is emasculated by every woman he meets.
  44. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    İt the most realistic and playable role playing game in the 2007's. You should give the chance this stuff. Actions and graphics are wonderfull. if you have a GREAT TİME you have to play.
  45. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    The Witcher is one of the best RPGs I ever played. I liked the combat system, the character development, the graphics, the theme and all that. Above all, the story telling and the atmosphere. It is very rare to find so much immersion and depth in a game and this one has plenty of it. The music is beautifull too. The only downside I can think of is the technical side of it. Saving the games did not work very well as far as I remember and there were some other similar minor problems too. Somehow, The Witcher games do not seem to handle the technical side so well. Apart from that, this game is a genius. Expand
  46. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    The Witcher is a game that feels dated by today's standard but strangely one game that despite its flaws, never fails to have me glued to it two to three hours a time, for me, thats a very long time to be playing games! The clicking style combat is boring for me and serves no purpose but its really the story that keeps me glued to the game for hours a time. The whole world is so alive with everything and everyone living their own lives with or without you. There's so many ways to handle everything that you can really get creative... want to buy a kickass piece of gear? You can either gamble for it, fight for it, trade stuffs for it... etc... its just how much you want it. This is truly an amazing piece of RPG which doesn't really deliver on the action side but its RPG elements are what I have never seen before... much better than Baldur's Gate. If you want good action and awesome enemy design, this is not the game for you... every other action games out there ace this game in terms of these two areas but if you want a DEEP, and I mean DEEEEEP, RPG... this is for you! Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. So if you’re looking for a dark and moody role-playing game that is different than everything else out there, and if you have a reasonably powerful computer that can handle the engine, and if you don’t mind adult themes that are more than a little male-centric, then the Witcher is certainly a game to consider.
  2. Trading more traditional, menu-drilling RPG “depth” for sheer style, action, mechanical elegance and what might be called a refreshingly grim mood, The Witcher is one of the most compelling - if not the cheeriest - fantasy excursions to come along in many a moon.
  3. The Witcher is a fantastic RPG, a perfect recreation of the world imagined by Sapkowski. Being focused in a complex story as it is, the many hours of play will make us completely disregard the absence of multiplayer of any kind.