• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 947 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 947

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkO.
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    One of the most captivating rpgs that I have ever played. Something that I truly appreciate about the game is that it is often difficult to predict future events. This game is not focused entirely on loot, skills (although there's a wide variety), and other distracting (though important, I know) features. The game is all about the story. The developers intentionally put less loot One of the most captivating rpgs that I have ever played. Something that I truly appreciate about the game is that it is often difficult to predict future events. This game is not focused entirely on loot, skills (although there's a wide variety), and other distracting (though important, I know) features. The game is all about the story. The developers intentionally put less loot into the game so that the player would not be distracted by superficial materials. The main character, Gerault, instead, grapples with challenging decisions during the course of the game. In most games today, it is a matter of good vs. evil (take Oblivion, Mass Effect, or Dragon Age for example), in which good usually prevails in a concrete, simple fashion. But, here we have a game where the line between good and evil is difficult to draw and define. You really need to analyze the plot to get a sense of Gerault's purpose in the game and whether his actions are good or bad. You might think that the main character is this nice guy that sets out to destory some evil nemesis (sadly the plotline of most games today), but you're really dealing with a much more complicated plot (which makes it interesting of course). Gerault commits wrongdoings like gambling, drinking, adultery, and etc. which shows how he is flawed despite his heroic deeds (he is indeed a tragic figure). I also found the ending very profound and philosophical. Unlike most video games, you'll actually find some insights into the human character. You'll question whether it is right to interfere with nature, and ask whether it's right to live in an ideal world. The quality of the artistry, dialogue, music, and gameplay is also very good. Overall, good game. At least give it a try. It will stick with you, I promise. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    When Mass Effect and The Witcher were in planning they must have shared cheat-sheets because the central formula and release date for both games are startlingly similar. Gritty, kick-ass main character: Check. Huge, engrossing plot with plenty of opportunities for role-playing: Check. A half decent combat system and a sub-par magical system: Check. Oh yeah, and **** **** **** and more ****When Mass Effect and The Witcher were in planning they must have shared cheat-sheets because the central formula and release date for both games are startlingly similar. Gritty, kick-ass main character: Check. Huge, engrossing plot with plenty of opportunities for role-playing: Check. A half decent combat system and a sub-par magical system: Check. Oh yeah, and **** **** **** and more **** CHECK! Bioware, however made the successful marketing strategy of advertising its alien **** while the Witcher was more subtle about it in the promos but when the time came it went all out. This is probably why Mass Effect got better ratings in my opinion because the two are almost equal in every area. But enough about the sex, it doesn't really play that big a part in either game, I just wouldn't give The Witcher to my kids. While Mass Effect is about a 'space marine' trying to save the galaxy, The Witcher is about a guy who no-one likes trying to save/destroy a town that no-one likes and save/kill all the humans/elves or dwarves. As you can see its very non-linear and with quite a lot of options that effect the game, so much so that if you kill someone at the beginning of the game you will feel the effects of it at the end and at several places in-between. I mentioned that the combat was mediocre, however two points really make up for it. One: an excellent potions system which allows you to gain huge advantages based on which enemies you are fighting. And two: it forces you to change your tactics based on the tactics of your enemy. These two factors really make up for the lack of a decent fighting system and keep the combat interesting. The story does take a long time to get moving, and you will spend the first half of the game not really knowing what is going on (and you don't even find out whom the main antagonist is until the very moment you go to fight him) but if you keep at it you will be rewarded. There is really a bit of everything, from the classic hero type questing, to a mystery plot in which you become a detective, to conducting/preventing a bank robbery. If you can get past the initial tedium, you will be rewarded as it has one of the best endings. In conclusion, if you are the kind of person who liked the shooting part of Mass Effect, you probably won't like this game, but if you liked the story aspect you probably will. Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    It's absolutely awesome, when polish developer took the best hero in polish fantasy and give us one of the most memorable RPG of this generation. This game still need a little bit of technical support, but the role-playing aspects showed every developers how this work should be done. Yes, i'm Pole, and so what?
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    I admit I was late getting on the Witcher bandwagon, but what can I say? I finally have a decent PC now. I have been enjoying this game for well over 30+ hours of gameplay now and I am seriously loving it. The combat is fun. The alchemy tasks are well thought out. The storyline is great. And best of all the voice acting is actually pretty good (enhanced edition). I will probably start theI admit I was late getting on the Witcher bandwagon, but what can I say? I finally have a decent PC now. I have been enjoying this game for well over 30+ hours of gameplay now and I am seriously loving it. The combat is fun. The alchemy tasks are well thought out. The storyline is great. And best of all the voice acting is actually pretty good (enhanced edition). I will probably start the game over as soon as I am finished with my first playthrough. I cannot wait to pick up The Witcher 2 very soon. I strongly recommend this game to any PC RPG fan. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Great game. A compelling story, dynamic (if a little bit flawed) combat system, and fantastic characters. A must for true RPG fans. Lots of difficult choices that feel like they matter (they might not influence the gameplay too much, yet you see echoes of your decisions throughout the whole game). The game's story and the situations that your character is put in are more lifelike than inGreat game. A compelling story, dynamic (if a little bit flawed) combat system, and fantastic characters. A must for true RPG fans. Lots of difficult choices that feel like they matter (they might not influence the gameplay too much, yet you see echoes of your decisions throughout the whole game). The game's story and the situations that your character is put in are more lifelike than in any other RPG (especially modern one). There is no 'right' or 'wrong' and being cast in the middle of a war between two fractions you have to pick your side (or try very hard to be neutral, which you can never truly be).

    I am surprised to see some negative reviews, unfortunately some of them show that the reviewer hasn't really tried to play the game (someone complained about an unresponsive combat system where you have to click and hold a mouse button and hope it will work, which sometimes it did and sometimes didn't - that's not the case, the system works in an entirely different way and going through a tutorial would be enough to find this out)...
    Collapse
  6. TimB.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    The Witcher is a great RPG, definitely comparable to the Greats (Baldur's Gate, Planescape). The Eurogamer review is right to point out that the game is more of a narrative rpg than anything else -- though that makes it no less of an rpg. The tiniest details are accounted for in this game world: Potion/oil making is immersive, the character development system is complicated and The Witcher is a great RPG, definitely comparable to the Greats (Baldur's Gate, Planescape). The Eurogamer review is right to point out that the game is more of a narrative rpg than anything else -- though that makes it no less of an rpg. The tiniest details are accounted for in this game world: Potion/oil making is immersive, the character development system is complicated and interesting and, above all, the world feals real. Forcing the player to actually rent a room at an inn to rest at night (rather than the usual mechanic of just setting camp whenever and wherever) because the night gets dangerous is just a small example of the little things that make the world truly immersive. My review isn't a 10 as a matter of technical issues: Forcing the computer to reload the main level after exiting from a building on that level is probably the dumbest technical decision ever made. Otherwise, it's pretty impressive how smoothly the game plays on even lower to mid-range systems. Expand
  7. M_Alex
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    A very good game. not as monotonous as the hack and slash's, which i don't care much for. has a story, and good, addictive gameplay.
  8. LukeG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    9
    Excellent Game. Inovative and well crafted. Epic story unique RPG. instant hit.
  9. Rymdkejsaren
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    This game is excellent overall. Beautiful graphics, wonderful settings, lovely music, good sound effects and very nice combat animations for the main character. The story has a slow start, the old amnesia trick is used but the story grows on you slowly until you are deeply involved. Unfortunately I think the dialog has lost a lot in translation from polish, it seems fragmented and This game is excellent overall. Beautiful graphics, wonderful settings, lovely music, good sound effects and very nice combat animations for the main character. The story has a slow start, the old amnesia trick is used but the story grows on you slowly until you are deeply involved. Unfortunately I think the dialog has lost a lot in translation from polish, it seems fragmented and illogical at times. Some plotlines could also use some work, there seems to be a lot of unmotivated actions and random. I'm not overly impressed with the advancement system, because in the end most characters will have a similar build. The alchemy is great fun though, and I love playing on hard difficulty where you really have to plan ahead of the big battles. Combat is fun, although could use some polishing since it seems sometimes your character refuses to behave the way you expect him to. Overall the game is excellent, but gets a slightly lower grade because with just a little more work in some areas it could have been absolutely perfect. I considered an 8 but then I remembered how much I enjoy playing the game, which is the most important thing after all. Expand
  10. AndreasO.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    Great visuals, beautiful and thoughtfully placed music, upstanding voice acting and a story that, while familiar, is still complex and engrossing marks this game as the RPG of the Year 2007. The gameplay gets it all right, taking the immersion factor from the Gothic series' timed combo attacks, the necessity of choosing appropriate attack tactics from Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy and Great visuals, beautiful and thoughtfully placed music, upstanding voice acting and a story that, while familiar, is still complex and engrossing marks this game as the RPG of the Year 2007. The gameplay gets it all right, taking the immersion factor from the Gothic series' timed combo attacks, the necessity of choosing appropriate attack tactics from Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy and the style from Neverwinter Nights. Probably the best RPG combat I've seen in my life. However, and this is a big however, if you want to play this game, bring a book. (Buying the books the game is based on would be very fitting, and I can easily recommend them as they're quite good) The load times are stuff of legend . . . As in, future archeologists will find computers three thousand years from now [i]still[/i] loading the Temple District. Expand
  11. Skeez187S
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Best RPG since Fallout 2. Its also easing its way into my top 10 games ever. Its a shame when review sites and overall gamer opinion differ so heavily. Shows the "Pro" Reviewers have lost their way, maybe the devs didn´t throw enough money at them in the form of ad placement.
  12. Rashid
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    For old school gamers who liked Balder's Gate series, Icewind Dale, KOTOR, NWN, Planscape: Torment, those who play games for the plot and the choices facing the player, this is the game for you! If your into rubbish like Oblivion (and I had high hopes for that game) mindless hack and slash adventures etc, you may not like it. The game takes the 'RPG' back to its classical For old school gamers who liked Balder's Gate series, Icewind Dale, KOTOR, NWN, Planscape: Torment, those who play games for the plot and the choices facing the player, this is the game for you! If your into rubbish like Oblivion (and I had high hopes for that game) mindless hack and slash adventures etc, you may not like it. The game takes the 'RPG' back to its classical roots. If you want a complex game with lots to read, 'role-play', investigate, nice fighting and things do, this is the game for you. One gripe folks have it loading times, but I didnt find it to be much of a bother and it didnt take much away from my overall experience personally. Expand
  13. RobR.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Fine action and an nteresting story. Pretty solid combat system. Fantastic mood music and graphic. MUST HAVE GAME!
  14. BürstlK.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Best Rpg in 2007. I hate dwarves, trolls, little nice elves and fairies. The Witcher has none of these RPG Elements and thats ok.
  15. IustinianP.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Excellent game. One of the best RPGs I have played since Oblivion. Un-missable for any RPG fan. So far, best graphics, best story. As far as I can see it won't be any better RPG this year, so, for those looking for the perfect (adult) PC-Gme gift THIS IS IT.
  16. JulieH.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant game..... cant wait for the add ons and tool guide!!
  17. VikramP.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Graphics and gameplay are good and very well-done considering this is not a big budget title. The story is excellent (with some hokeyness) and the atmosphere will suck you in - points added for originality. Music is amazingly good. Add a party system and this is what NWN2 should have been. All in all, a great throwback to days of Baldur's Gate, NWN, and classic Ultima.
  18. Novahawk
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    11 is what I'd give this game, even though the max is 10. Despite the stretched out zone loading, this game is simply amazing and makes up for it. This is like having Billy Crystal at your house laughing your heart out til your mother-in-law passed away the very next day. Among the contenders, this game ought to be praised as the best award RPG for 2007 in its class. Well done Atari, 11 is what I'd give this game, even though the max is 10. Despite the stretched out zone loading, this game is simply amazing and makes up for it. This is like having Billy Crystal at your house laughing your heart out til your mother-in-law passed away the very next day. Among the contenders, this game ought to be praised as the best award RPG for 2007 in its class. Well done Atari, Bioware, CDProjekt . Expand
  19. LecksC.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Best RPG I've ever experienced. Great non-linear mature story, great gameplay, great graphics. A real suprise, I wasn't expecting much from this.
  20. BobS.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Best game i've played in a VERY long time. Nothing like a good story to get me interested in games again. I must be getting old since I feel like i've played every game before. Not this one though!
  21. Micha?S.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Best RPG ever! Moreover based on my favorite book, you have to read them to understand this game, this character and this world!!
  22. Ingvarr
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    As I'm fan of Sapkovski I was waiting IT for 5 years. "Witcher" is one of the most atmospheric games I've ever played. Strongly recommended in huge doses with book. P.S. Console owners must cry.
  23. NealV.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game from an unknown company fills the RPG void after the relative failures of NWN2 and Gothic 3. Unique setting, fascinating characters, above-average voice acting, beautiful visuals, and many other well composed elements. Your standard high fantasy setting done in a remarkably fresh way, the likes of which Forgotten Realms and the BG series could never achieve. The game puts Fantastic game from an unknown company fills the RPG void after the relative failures of NWN2 and Gothic 3. Unique setting, fascinating characters, above-average voice acting, beautiful visuals, and many other well composed elements. Your standard high fantasy setting done in a remarkably fresh way, the likes of which Forgotten Realms and the BG series could never achieve. The game puts you in the middle of conspiracy and political intrigue and allows you to actually play a part in influencing major developments. The major problem is that combat can dry up if you take too long to move to a new area, but luckily the game moves quickly enough and introduces enough new enemies and combat skills that this will rarely be a problem. I've never heard of GameDaily and chances are neither have you. Pay attention to IGN's review instead, GameDaily clearly awards scores based on ad sales. Andreas, the archaeologist comment must be because you bought an artifact from one and called it a PC. I have never had a loading screen for more than 20 seconds. Expand
  24. JoeF.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    I'm truely amazed at some of the professional review scores I'm seeing here. It's rare for a game to live up to the hype surrounding it's release (even when that hype is limited). "The Witcher" has been one of the most fun RPG's I've played in recent memory (that includes NWN2, The Mask of the Betrayer NWN2 expansion, and oblivion). I'm finding it I'm truely amazed at some of the professional review scores I'm seeing here. It's rare for a game to live up to the hype surrounding it's release (even when that hype is limited). "The Witcher" has been one of the most fun RPG's I've played in recent memory (that includes NWN2, The Mask of the Betrayer NWN2 expansion, and oblivion). I'm finding it refreshing to advance the story line after finishing the side quests. There are alot of "Sherlock Holmes" moments in act I, where if you pay close attention to the things people say you can figure out alot about the storyline before it's full out shown to you after advancing the storyline later down the line. The click style combat is simple but unlike diablo isn't going to cause anyone carpel tunnel as the mouse is clicked at specific times in a combination rather than repeatedly. The games not perfect. It is a huge system hog, load times are horrible at times, and there are random crashes. However, I haven't been this drawn into a game since Knights of the Old Republic. Expand
  25. PeterS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Game of the year, hands down. At first I was sceptical abotu this title, but mere 5 minutes into playing it, I felt like falling in love. Immersive setting and gameplay, interesting characters and a gritty feel like no US-made game could provide... they've really made a treat for us roleplaying fans.
  26. RobertL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Great game, great atmosphere. Very few weak points, and they don't bother me at all.
  27. KristoffV.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The Witcher is a gem amongst the dirt. While it comes with its fair share of chips and scratches, it's beautiful none the less. If a darker, grittier, twist of modern fantasy sounds appealing to you, give this game a go.
  28. AdamD.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Best RPG since the blackisle days of Fallout and baulders Gate. The combat system takes some getting used to but is actually fun, unlike Oblivion's combat ( I find it obscene that anyone could give Oblivion a 9 and then say the witcher was too boring for them) and the loading times are up there (about 30 seconds to load a saved game) but its all worth it. If you like single player Best RPG since the blackisle days of Fallout and baulders Gate. The combat system takes some getting used to but is actually fun, unlike Oblivion's combat ( I find it obscene that anyone could give Oblivion a 9 and then say the witcher was too boring for them) and the loading times are up there (about 30 seconds to load a saved game) but its all worth it. If you like single player rpgs with a gorgeous, deep, living world where interactions with npcs matter and even the straight forward quests have twists and surprises this is a must buy. (I ordered the UK version since the US one got all censored up.) Expand
  29. JohnK.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    A fantastic RPG both for mature gamers more interested in uncovering a teriffic, well-paced story than power leveling and selling loot. Easily the best RPG of 07 and second overall only to Stalker.
  30. PhilippN.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    This game is the best rpg for years. The Witcher has got a great atmosphere. It's not without flaws but the good sides make that up. It has all a rpg should have and is a most enjoyable experience.
  31. SomeBodyElse
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Unique atmosphere - 10+ playability - 10 graphics - 9,5 music/sound - 9,5 inventory and equipment - 5 :( Overall - 10 as I am a bit old fashioned and love complex mature story that requires me to think not to increase mouse-click speed or my hero to run here and there around the map to complete quests PS - in case you hate loading time - increase your RAM - in my case upgrade from 1GB to Unique atmosphere - 10+ playability - 10 graphics - 9,5 music/sound - 9,5 inventory and equipment - 5 :( Overall - 10 as I am a bit old fashioned and love complex mature story that requires me to think not to increase mouse-click speed or my hero to run here and there around the map to complete quests PS - in case you hate loading time - increase your RAM - in my case upgrade from 1GB to 3GB cut the loading times at least by a half and now it does not disturb me anymore. Expand
  32. MikeP.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    A must have for the fans of Andrzej Sapkowski, and a very good cRPG overall. Minor technical difficulties surely will be resolved.
  33. AdrianH.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    This is simply the best CRPG game I played since Planescape:Torment and Baldur's Gate II. I must admit, I'm a big fan of Sapkowski's books about The Witcher, so my opinion may be a bit biased, but still... it's a really great game with deep, immersive story - even if it still has a few technical problems, like long loading times etc.
  34. DavidK.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    I just bought it and i'm playing like 10 hours straight already. The game is great, long waiting was worth it, we got a game with graphics slightly better than in Oblivion and Gothic 3 but with storyline and climate as great as in the old RPG's ... it's like Baldurs Gate 2 in full 3D! I recomend this game to EVERY rpg/action genres fans without any hestitation!
  35. VoytekK.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    This product is that rare gem of a game which has had someone's soul put into it and thus belongs in the same category as classics such as Fallout and Planetscape Torment. Excellent story telling and very good execution of gameplay and production values. The only rough spot in the game is the somewhat 'rough around the edges' UI. If you're a fan of Sapkowski's This product is that rare gem of a game which has had someone's soul put into it and thus belongs in the same category as classics such as Fallout and Planetscape Torment. Excellent story telling and very good execution of gameplay and production values. The only rough spot in the game is the somewhat 'rough around the edges' UI. If you're a fan of Sapkowski's books don't hesitate to buy this game. If you haven't read them, get the game for the sheer pleasure of enjoying an excellent grown up tale. Expand
  36. DiegoN.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Best RPG in long time, the adult aspect of story, the complex but credible enviroment, the great work made with main character, who is really 'alive'... and the great world created by Sapkowski. It must have a 10.
  37. JeremiahG.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best rpg/adventure I've played in years. The atmosphere of the setting, the quest lines, the voicework and dialogue are all very well done for the most part. Especially for the main character, Geralt. The combat is more hands on then your usual rpgs, though there are a few problems where you seem to just "not" attack when you click for some reason (read the This is one of the best rpg/adventure I've played in years. The atmosphere of the setting, the quest lines, the voicework and dialogue are all very well done for the most part. Especially for the main character, Geralt. The combat is more hands on then your usual rpgs, though there are a few problems where you seem to just "not" attack when you click for some reason (read the official boards, many people are having this problem) but it doesn't happen too often for me so it's not a huge deal. There's a ton of skills to learn, I mean you literally have like 5 tier's of skills for every combat stance (six total, 3 for each of your two swords) then 5 tier's for all your signs, then 5 for all your attributes (Sta/dex/int/str). So many to learn and some that sound great too. I went mostly with Dex so far because of the skills that just sounded fitting for the type of character I want to build (IE deflect arrows, higher dodge, etc). Speaking more of the atmosphere of the game and characters. The game, even though it features dwarves and elves, is told in a much more "realistic/gloomy" matter, not your usual high fantasy stuff. The dwaves/elves are treated as outsiders and "lower class" of humans and racism among other things you will see throughout the game. The characters themselves are brought to life with some overall good voicework which just goes to show how far a good writer (for the dialogue) and voice actor can take a game that much further. Some models are used over and you will notice "clones," even sometimes standing right beside each other. However after you get into the game this won't be an eyesore really as the characters you converse with and talk to are generally very well done. The world itself has a more late middle-ages germanic countryside feel to it. Some great time of day effects that are not only cosmetic but actually affect things in the world (IE certain monsters come out only at night, some only lwheln it's raining, etc). The world itself is filled with more mature things that rpg's have been lacking since games like Fallout/Daggerfall/Baldur's gate left the scene. You'll encounter the things you'd expect, Violence, sex, coarse language among more importantly, the storylines and context of the world and characters. I have only a few minor gripes in the whole so far. The lack of a screenshot button (have to use fraps or alt-tab) and no ability to hide the hud that I can find are a bit annoying, especially because of some of the beautiful scenes and environments you'll see exploring the world. For some reason the cutscenes sometimes lag. At first they were doing really really bad lag, but I turned off Depth of Field (which is only used in cutscenes) and put things to medium and now it runs fine for the most part. The loading in and out is the biggest hit to the game. Having to load a small hut going in, then turning around after just a few seconds inside to have to reload the exterior cell can take a while, and if you like to explore every nook and cranny in rpgs as I do, it will annoy you from time to time. In closing, even with the loading problems and other ones they are dwarfed by how fun and great the game as a whole is. This is one of the best rpg's I've played in some time and I hope it won't be the last from CD Projekt. Expand
  38. ZO
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Not as open ended as some other major RPGs lately such as Oblivion or Gothic 3. However, it never loses focus and will always keep you interested (unlike the previous 2 games mentioned) so I don't see that as a bad thing. How can any 'professional' self respecting reviewer rate this game less than an 8? Obviously, they can't see a great game if it hit them in the head. Not as open ended as some other major RPGs lately such as Oblivion or Gothic 3. However, it never loses focus and will always keep you interested (unlike the previous 2 games mentioned) so I don't see that as a bad thing. How can any 'professional' self respecting reviewer rate this game less than an 8? Obviously, they can't see a great game if it hit them in the head. This is a game for true RPG fans, if you are then you wont be dissapointed. Support developers that make great games by buying this one! I thought about taking a point off due to loading times, but realized it never really distracts from the game (for me atleast). Expand
  39. MichaelZ.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Best epic adventure in the games history, and the world wich actually lives.
  40. DrewH.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    Graphic are fantastic, camera can take getting used to unlike other rpg. fighting is great fun though, all in all. will buy this game.
  41. RobertW.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Everything that can be said about this game surely has been by now so i'll simply reaffirm most of it. The patch version 1.2 solves the long loading and saving time (from 60 seconds prior to the patch to 20 tops). Graphically stunning with fluid animation and nice use of dynamic lighting/weather. Once hearing the voice acting you will never be able to play a game again which employs Everything that can be said about this game surely has been by now so i'll simply reaffirm most of it. The patch version 1.2 solves the long loading and saving time (from 60 seconds prior to the patch to 20 tops). Graphically stunning with fluid animation and nice use of dynamic lighting/weather. Once hearing the voice acting you will never be able to play a game again which employs a 'silent protagonist' plot device. The music is ambient and inspiring. Gameplay is regular for a RPG, with the exception of the combat system; which makes a welcome change. Storyline wise this has been the best RPG of 2007 in my opinion (and that of many prestigious awards such as IGN, Gamespy etc). The ONLY negative about this game is when run in vista there are memory leak issues, which will cause the game to crash - rectified very simply by visiting the forum and half a minutes work. Buy the game and enjoy ;) Expand
  42. DzsordzsK.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    As a non-fan of the RPG genre, I took a chance and got this game on the recommendations of others. Unlike some past disappointments the Witcher delivers in spades. Workable, some times spectacular graphics, great gameplay, and an excellent story combine to make a wonderful engrossing game that could probably not have been realized on any other platform but the PC. Congratulations to CD As a non-fan of the RPG genre, I took a chance and got this game on the recommendations of others. Unlike some past disappointments the Witcher delivers in spades. Workable, some times spectacular graphics, great gameplay, and an excellent story combine to make a wonderful engrossing game that could probably not have been realized on any other platform but the PC. Congratulations to CD Projeckt but BOO to Atari for the horrible localization. Expand
  43. DanyT.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    The best of this genre, I love every thing about it exept the random crash to desktop, but the game is so good that I don't mind that much as you can save anytime anywhere.
  44. MichaelJ.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    One of the best RPGs I've ever played. It is an original, great game.
  45. JesusofNazareth
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Best plot ever, Geralt is at least an interesting character.
  46. AngusX
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    This Game is brilliant. Since KOTOR, KOTOR 2 and NWN i didn't have so much fun palying. Looking forward to Witcher 2.
  47. SchalkW.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Incredible. Just shows when a game is built with care. Every piece of this game is a marvel to look at. And ontop of it all the story is as if you are playing inside a movie. Well Done Cd-Project!
  48. MikkoK.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Fantastic RPG game for adult taste - blood, swearing, drinking and women - Witcher is far more fun than those puritan D&D etc. computer rpg games. Great story line (politics, mystic, suspense...), fine combat system (different fighting styles, timing is important and not too much combat/endless enemies) and a lot of doing. Geralt, Zoltan, Dandelion etc. are nice and likeable characters. Fantastic RPG game for adult taste - blood, swearing, drinking and women - Witcher is far more fun than those puritan D&D etc. computer rpg games. Great story line (politics, mystic, suspense...), fine combat system (different fighting styles, timing is important and not too much combat/endless enemies) and a lot of doing. Geralt, Zoltan, Dandelion etc. are nice and likeable characters. Nice and mystic ending :) I recommend for all rpg fans who want more than mindless left clicking diablo clones. Expand
  49. S.B.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    It's been a long time since I've enjoyed a RPG game so much. The story is gripping, the combat is well-done and the character development is interesting. I haven't seen any crash or had a big technical issue after 30 hours of playing either. Incredible game.
  50. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    One of the most interesting role-playing games that I played. Non-trivial plot, lot of skills, charismatic characters, non-linear quests, moral choices and perfect soundtrack. Well done, CD Projekt.
  51. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    The Witcher is a game that feels dated by today's standard but strangely one game that despite its flaws, never fails to have me glued to it two to three hours a time, for me, thats a very long time to be playing games! The clicking style combat is boring for me and serves no purpose but its really the story that keeps me glued to the game for hours a time. The whole world is so alive withThe Witcher is a game that feels dated by today's standard but strangely one game that despite its flaws, never fails to have me glued to it two to three hours a time, for me, thats a very long time to be playing games! The clicking style combat is boring for me and serves no purpose but its really the story that keeps me glued to the game for hours a time. The whole world is so alive with everything and everyone living their own lives with or without you. There's so many ways to handle everything that you can really get creative... want to buy a kickass piece of gear? You can either gamble for it, fight for it, trade stuffs for it... etc... its just how much you want it. This is truly an amazing piece of RPG which doesn't really deliver on the action side but its RPG elements are what I have never seen before... much better than Baldur's Gate. If you want good action and awesome enemy design, this is not the game for you... every other action games out there ace this game in terms of these two areas but if you want a DEEP, and I mean DEEEEEP, RPG... this is for you! Expand
  52. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Want a complex rpg a (la-Dragon Age) which forces you to make tough decisions and has a really great story line along with a few sex-cards thrown in for fun....well this game is definitely for you.
  53. G.S.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A great game, and an even better RPG. Contenders should step aside, because no other title deserves the 2007 RPG award. I miss the chance to create a character, but Geralt made up for that by being fun to follow. Choices make a difference, and there is nevere a "best way" to do things. NPC art is great, and the NPCs themselves are very interesting. The story has a nice twist to it and the A great game, and an even better RPG. Contenders should step aside, because no other title deserves the 2007 RPG award. I miss the chance to create a character, but Geralt made up for that by being fun to follow. Choices make a difference, and there is nevere a "best way" to do things. NPC art is great, and the NPCs themselves are very interesting. The story has a nice twist to it and the illusion of a living world around the character is the best I've seen. Expand
  54. PHE
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    This is simply the most enjoyable RPG experience I've had since the golden era of Ultima. It makes some other RPGs released in the last few years almost seem shallow in comparison.
  55. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Excellent game in a deep, complex dark world and the heroes in the middle in all of this. Fantastic graphics, fantastic world, fantastic story this is how must be a modern rpg.
  56. PaulF
    May 30, 2009
    10
    I thing this game is so good. I've played it many times and I know that is not last one of CDProjekt's good games!
  57. Mike
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Load times are the only negative - this game is engrossing, interesting, and FUN
  58. Jez
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Draws from Diablo, KOTOR and Jade Empire and beats them all. Best combat in an RPG ever... Involving story, deeper quests than oblivion. Most of all it has gameplay the "mojo" of all games. At least 9/10 for this classic. RPG of the year imo
  59. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    The Best Story. I love it En mii opinión, mucho mejor que su secuela. Totalmente recomendado. A pesar de sus fallos técnicos, la magia que te hace sentir es úncia y opaca cuaqlquier fallo que quieras encontrarle.
  60. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    A very underrated game, mostly because a large amount of people did not really try this game before Witcher 2 came out. While this game doesn't have the amazing visuals of its sequel, it still provides an excellent story and exciting combat. A great title for any RPG fan.
  61. JarrodL.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    This is absolutely the greatest RPG I've ever played honestly i think it has a great story and game play thats actually enjoyable! Go out and buy it now definitively worth every penny you will get every dollar out of it trust me I've played it through three times without ever getting bored.
  62. IvanT.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best video game surprises in the last several years. Despite some technical and translation problems (which are partialy solved by patch 1.2, and will be completely solved with Enhanced patch), the Witcher is one fantastic role-playing experience, and shouldn't be missed even if you are not a fan of the genre.
  63. AdH.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The story and sideplots in this game are better than even the Baldurs Gate and Neverwinter Nights series. It looks good, got great voice acting and cool things such as people moving under houses when it's raining and complaining about it, and shoving people out of the way when you're running.
  64. AlessandroS.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Great RPG! Fantastic atmosphere and setting, great characters and a world which you won't leave for a long time! First RPG I really enjoyed since Gothic 2!
  65. AndyC.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Definitely the best rpg of 2007. Never heard about Sapkowski before so I went to library and got some his book. I was so supriced how great story it has. Its definitely must to read story. You think Tolkien is the best? Read Sapkowski! And play this amazing game. Never had so much fun in a game since Baldurs Gate and Planescape Tormen. I want The Wicher 2. Please CD Projekt I count on Definitely the best rpg of 2007. Never heard about Sapkowski before so I went to library and got some his book. I was so supriced how great story it has. Its definitely must to read story. You think Tolkien is the best? Read Sapkowski! And play this amazing game. Never had so much fun in a game since Baldurs Gate and Planescape Tormen. I want The Wicher 2. Please CD Projekt I count on you, although I never heard about you before. Expand
  66. Auro
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    The main character - i think Gerald is the most amazing character that was ever created in computer RPGs. The storyline, dialogues, monsters, NPCs all of them are so much much much enjoyable.
    Today, only three of computer RPGs i really respect: Baldurs saga, Fallout 1 & 2, The Wither, yep it is definitely The Big Trio of rpg's.
  67. Jcdx
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    You should see a Polish version - much better than the English one, storyline is much richer due to the fact that Sapkowski is one of the most revered fantasy authors in Poland and Atari cut quite much dialogues out of Eng version of the game.
  68. JH
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Very good overall. I find it a bit difficult to call it a rpg, when you can't choose your character, but that doesn't affect my enjoyment. Beautiful graphics and surprisingly fast. Good combat system, though not without its problems. Tone and atmosphere interesting and consistent, though the English dialogue doesn't flow perfectly. Details mostly right: like Journal that Very good overall. I find it a bit difficult to call it a rpg, when you can't choose your character, but that doesn't affect my enjoyment. Beautiful graphics and surprisingly fast. Good combat system, though not without its problems. Tone and atmosphere interesting and consistent, though the English dialogue doesn't flow perfectly. Details mostly right: like Journal that really works as a knowledge building tool, without feeling like a spreadsheet. Expand
  69. Socketboy
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Great game so far, very original and fun. Love the combat system and the non black and white choices. Some may complain about the loot being mostly related to alchemy stuff, but I think everything about this game including how the potions work, the loot system, etc is a fresh take on the genre. Well done game - highly recommend!
  70. MichaelM.>
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    I wait for this game for two years and I must said that the product is wonderfull I put this game on the same shelf as Baldurs Gate and I realy encourage to try this to everyone and of course to read Sapkowskis books.
  71. BrianA.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    This just barely loses out to Diablo 2 for best point and click RPG ever, due to the lack of multiplayer. It's combat is innovative and fun, the storyline is genuinely interesting, and there's just so much to do. Get this game!
  72. Gabriel
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Very good RPG game. Mysterious, dark and bloody. Like life. Full of hard decisions. For real rpg maniacs - not only those who like only good graphics. Outstanding game!
  73. KrzysztofB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Well it seems we have a game, that is better than Gothic III and Oblivion together. I have seen very few bugs (most of which are physics-relatted), and I'm already halfway through the game. Combat system is pretty ok, a nice balance between simple click-as-fast-as-you-can and Gothic-alike personally controling type of attack. Story is great, with many connections to the book of Well it seems we have a game, that is better than Gothic III and Oblivion together. I have seen very few bugs (most of which are physics-relatted), and I'm already halfway through the game. Combat system is pretty ok, a nice balance between simple click-as-fast-as-you-can and Gothic-alike personally controling type of attack. Story is great, with many connections to the book of Sapkowski. Dialogues are kind of natural, also with many allusions to books, movies... and political life. And Geralt is just as he shall be: lethal, cynic and in great form. Expand
  74. MattV.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This has got to be one of the best role-playing experiences ever to grace a PC. It's got elements of Baldur's Gate, Daggerfall, Fallout, and Gothic... but it's more brutal and gritty than all four of those series combined (especially if you have the uncensored UK version).
  75. RupertM.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Up there with Baldur's Gate, Fallout and Planescape: Torment. An instant classic. Rich in atmosphere, story and action. Gives me goosebumps every time I play it. Actually, I'm getting goosebumps right now by just thinking about it. Some minor bugs and long loading times will hopefully soon be fixed. Must buy for any RPG-Fan!
  76. AndreP.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    The best RPG since gothic 2. The only real flaws are technical ones, I suffered a few crashes, and you need a relatively new computer to enjoy a smooth frame rate with high settings. Of course, it's no worse than any of the latest FPS games around, so I don't know what people are complaining about. Great characters, great story, with engaging and challenging combat. What's The best RPG since gothic 2. The only real flaws are technical ones, I suffered a few crashes, and you need a relatively new computer to enjoy a smooth frame rate with high settings. Of course, it's no worse than any of the latest FPS games around, so I don't know what people are complaining about. Great characters, great story, with engaging and challenging combat. What's not to love? Expand
  77. JanS.
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    A truly marvelous epic game. Easily the most engaging rpg story ever. Best voices in a game so far. Few flaws, just leave room for improvement.
  78. MarkR.
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    I don't know if you can really say this is the best RPG ever...it's just fun and tries to be different. The developers did what they could to make it so the fighting styles weren't just endless clicking. The different fighting styles keep you on your toes as well. The sex is unnecessary, but it will be in all good games, and is thrown in there for fun. The game moves along I don't know if you can really say this is the best RPG ever...it's just fun and tries to be different. The developers did what they could to make it so the fighting styles weren't just endless clicking. The different fighting styles keep you on your toes as well. The sex is unnecessary, but it will be in all good games, and is thrown in there for fun. The game moves along at a good pace and many quests are not of the "go fetch this for me" variety. The load times were fixed in the patch. I have 2 GB of ram and going into a small place takes about 5 sec., and into larger places maybe 10 sec or so which includes an autosave. If you like RPG's, you will have a good time playing this game. Expand
  79. RyanS.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Great game considering the low budget heavily modified engine. This game delivers where all others fail, a intriguing and fun storyline that keeps you on the edge of your chair. It needs technical polishing for low end computers, but anyone who has kept up to date and downloaded the latest patch will have less then 30 second load times in every area and minimal crashes.
  80. MichaelR.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    One of the best roleplaying games that I have ever played.
  81. DagE.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Great game. Storyline is great with no typical good or evil plot. Some boring parts because you had to run a lot between npc to complete quests.
  82. AndyS.
    Feb 20, 2008
    9
    A great game. The graphics when on high are clean and quite pleasing, though the old neverwinter nights 2 engine is starting to show its age. The audio is generally very good, the music especially deserves a mention, though i must admit as stated by other users that there are a few cringe worthy cases of bad voice acting/translation. The gameplay has a few flaws with the controls A great game. The graphics when on high are clean and quite pleasing, though the old neverwinter nights 2 engine is starting to show its age. The audio is generally very good, the music especially deserves a mention, though i must admit as stated by other users that there are a few cringe worthy cases of bad voice acting/translation. The gameplay has a few flaws with the controls occasionally being slightly jerky and lootable items sometimes refusing to show up until the character moves. Despite this however the story is excellent and more than makes up for the games flaws, if youre an rpg fan I'd say this is a must buy. Expand
  83. MarkWilliams
    Feb 29, 2008
    9
    Pros:
    Absolutely Epic feel to this game, amazing story.
    Insane twists and turns, not black and white gameplay. Fun weapon combo/style system. Play this game. Definitely. Cons: Load times are the suck, but every game has them. Spells aren't all that needed, they can be fun to mess around with, but I'm usually the caster class, so that was a bit disappointing.
    Pros:
    Absolutely Epic feel to this game, amazing story.
    Insane twists and turns, not black and white gameplay.
    Fun weapon combo/style system.
    Play this game. Definitely.

    Cons:
    Load times are the suck, but every game has them.
    Spells aren't all that needed, they can be fun to mess around with, but I'm usually the caster class, so that was a bit disappointing.
    Boundries can get frustrating. You tend to get roped off from places and have to go around, alot.
    Don't let these cons stop you from playing, the good points far outweigh the bad. It's amazing.
    Expand
  84. MichaelF.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    What to say? It's the best RPG since Gothic 1 and much better than Oblivion, Two Worlds and Gothic 3. The story is great, I don't remember a better atmosphere since Baldurs Gate 2. Fantastic!
  85. JohnS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This Game ROCKS! BEST RPG OF THE YEAR!
  86. MichaelR.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    One of the best roleplaying games that I have ever played.
  87. KarlG.
    Nov 22, 2007
    9
    A real RPG at last. More linear than Oblivion but definately a thumbs up for creativity and imagination. Left me feeling sorry to end the game after playing through for a long while!
  88. PeterT.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Great graphics, interesting story, a real-time combat system that isn't retarded like the one in Oblivion, real choices and consequences instead of fake dialogue options like you have in Bioware games... On the negative side: long loading times, an awful inventory and some minor scripting inconsistencies. Hands down one of the strongest CRPGs in years.
  89. Wampbit
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    A beautiful game, filled with intense action, great combat (although it takes a while to get used to), and an amazing depth, creating a mature and intriguing RPG, leaving the action RPG genre that appeals to children and adult, leaving an adult, but enjoyable, experience.
  90. coldred
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    In RPG most important is story and The Witcher has one of the best story line ever! The world of The Witcher is based on Sapkowski's books - fantasy, but not so full of sugar like Tolkiens, it is ratcher dark and realistic. Adding great characters, music, fabulous intro/outro. We have best RPG in 2007, and one of the best RPG ever. When you play The Witcher you realy see that many In RPG most important is story and The Witcher has one of the best story line ever! The world of The Witcher is based on Sapkowski's books - fantasy, but not so full of sugar like Tolkiens, it is ratcher dark and realistic. Adding great characters, music, fabulous intro/outro. We have best RPG in 2007, and one of the best RPG ever. When you play The Witcher you realy see that many people did great work. Thanks CD projekt, i count on sequel :) The Witcher - recomended for every fan of RPG. Expand
  91. JoesbkS.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    The atmosphere thoughout the entire game is chillingly life-like and cinematic at every turn. despite the extremely long and frequent load times, the witcher is so gripping that you'll willingly stare at the very frequently encountered load screens with a certain sense of inquisitive anticpation and constant hunger for more. the kinematics within geralt fight scenes are The atmosphere thoughout the entire game is chillingly life-like and cinematic at every turn. despite the extremely long and frequent load times, the witcher is so gripping that you'll willingly stare at the very frequently encountered load screens with a certain sense of inquisitive anticpation and constant hunger for more. the kinematics within geralt fight scenes are mind-blowingly spectacular in a way that is cool rather that downright unbelievable. (yup, no flying here) all in all, the witcher is one of the definite must have for all you medieval junkies out there =). Expand
  92. JC
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    An excellent CRPG without any of the usual fluff. Geralt is a likeable, intelligent hero forced to make some tough calls which affect the game world and the way people react to him. The only drawbacks are the load times between sections of the game and some dodgy feedback in fights.
  93. MikeC.
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    Brilliant immersive RPG based on a modified Bopware Aurora engine. Strides above NWN2 and MOTB, brilliant storyline, impressive graphics and just after a few hours play, you're totally engrossed.
  94. DavidO.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Amazing game, i am not sure why this game is so unknown, its amazingly fun, i put about 20 hours into it in the last 2 days. Loving every moment of it from the attack system to the story to the cutscenes.
  95. RobE.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    This is a great game in the vein of Neverwinter Nights, but with an original storyline. The prologue is a poor example of this games normally very high production value. 20 hours into it, I am still impressed by the high quality of visuals, and 100% spoken dialog. The only thing that keeps this from being a 10 is long load times, even on a modern PC.
  96. GuyM.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    Hi just wanted to say I have been playing NWN2 for the best part of 2007 and find The Witcher as being a ray of light,the graphics are second to none the game play very good and look forward to more like this a big thumbs up for all involved in the production of this groundbreaking game.
  97. AZawada
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Very good and captivating game, a few bugs and slightly long loading times slightly annoying but other than that you can get entirely engrossed in the world that the 'Witcher' lives in
  98. JimM.
    Mar 12, 2008
    9
    Just what the doctor ordered for us hard line RPG fans, who don't want to play on line.
  99. JasonC.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    While not perfect, this is by far one of the greatest rpgs made. Though before you play I recommend reading the Last Wish Novel which you can order off of amazon's uk site. The game still has crashing bugs and the load times are somewhat excessive at times, but this is the first RPG since Baldur's gate 2 that has held my attention throughout the whole game. I am now replaying on While not perfect, this is by far one of the greatest rpgs made. Though before you play I recommend reading the Last Wish Novel which you can order off of amazon's uk site. The game still has crashing bugs and the load times are somewhat excessive at times, but this is the first RPG since Baldur's gate 2 that has held my attention throughout the whole game. I am now replaying on hard. A MUST BUY for any fan of RPG games. Great job CD Projekt. Expand
  100. AdamC.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Ok the good, the bad and the beautiful, good: the game is a dark deep immersive and unmissable experience it combines an excellent combat system with lots of imaginative and interesting npcs the story line is sublime and the game addresses many adult themes. where the game shines is in the decisions you will make throughout its course that you may think insignificant at the time but will Ok the good, the bad and the beautiful, good: the game is a dark deep immersive and unmissable experience it combines an excellent combat system with lots of imaginative and interesting npcs the story line is sublime and the game addresses many adult themes. where the game shines is in the decisions you will make throughout its course that you may think insignificant at the time but will have effects on the later stages of the game it runs surprisingly well on a variety of machines new and old bad: loading times are horrendously long up in the 30 second bracket depending on your machine it goes up to 5 minutes which will occur everytime you enter a house or new area beautiful: ever played neverwinter nights 2 if so get a picture of that games graphics in your mind and now look at the witcher which is using th same aurora engine (modified obv.) Expand
  101. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    Great game. A compelling story, dynamic (if a little bit flawed) combat system, and fantastic characters. A must for true RPG fans. Lots of difficult choices that feel like they matter (they might not influence the gameplay too much, yet you see echoes of your decisions throughout the whole game). The game's story and the situations that your character is put in are more lifelike than inGreat game. A compelling story, dynamic (if a little bit flawed) combat system, and fantastic characters. A must for true RPG fans. Lots of difficult choices that feel like they matter (they might not influence the gameplay too much, yet you see echoes of your decisions throughout the whole game). The game's story and the situations that your character is put in are more lifelike than in any other RPG (especially modern one). There is no 'right' or 'wrong' and being cast in the middle of a war between two fractions you have to pick your side (or try very hard to be neutral, which you can never truly be).

    I am surprised to see some negative reviews, unfortunately some of them show that the reviewer hasn't really tried to play the game (someone complained about an unresponsive combat system where you have to click and hold a mouse button and hope it will work, which sometimes it did and sometimes didn't - that's not the case, the system works in an entirely different way and going through a tutorial would be enough to find this out)...
    Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. So if you’re looking for a dark and moody role-playing game that is different than everything else out there, and if you have a reasonably powerful computer that can handle the engine, and if you don’t mind adult themes that are more than a little male-centric, then the Witcher is certainly a game to consider.
  2. Trading more traditional, menu-drilling RPG “depth” for sheer style, action, mechanical elegance and what might be called a refreshingly grim mood, The Witcher is one of the most compelling - if not the cheeriest - fantasy excursions to come along in many a moon.
  3. The Witcher is a fantastic RPG, a perfect recreation of the world imagined by Sapkowski. Being focused in a complex story as it is, the many hours of play will make us completely disregard the absence of multiplayer of any kind.