Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 534 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Wolf Among Us is a 5-episode series from the creators of The Walking Dead. Based on Fables (DC Comics/Vertigo), an award-winning comic book series, it is an often violent, mature and hard-boiled thriller where the characters and creatures of myth, lore and legend are real and exist in our world. As Bigby Wolf - THE big bad wolf in human form - you discover that the brutal, bloody murder of a Fable is just a taste of things to come, in a game series where your every decision can have enormous consequences. Your choices matter: it’s not only WHAT you choose to do that will affect how your story plays out, but WHEN you choose to do it. A mature and gritty take on characters from fairy tales, legends and folklore who have escaped into our world. These are not the characters you’d see on a little child’s lunchbox. Play as Bigby Wolf: formerly the most feared monster among the Fables, now Sheriff of Fabletown and protector of those he used to hunt. He must restrain the beast within if he is to earn the trust of those around him. Choose Bigby’s actions carefully. Will you approach a situation calmly or unleash your inner rage? The way you act will determine how others respond to you. Set before the events seen in the first issue of the comics – you don’t have to know the characters or the world to play. [Telltale Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    100
    An amazing introduction to the Fables setting, the first episode of The Wolf Among Us absorbs you fully into the character of Bigby Wolf through excellent writing and forcing the player to make engaging choices.
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    90
    Clocking in at around two hours, this is the best looking, best playing and most polished game that Telltale has created to date and while it’s a bit lacking in the idea that each choice has great weight and meaning behind them, it’s still a fantastic title and a truly promising beginning for what might become Telltale’s greatest work yet.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    90
    After playing The Wolf Among Us you can see that Telltale has a real grasp on creating amazing interpretations of comics. Even without having any knowledge or relation to the Fables comic I can't wait for the next four episodes.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    85
    A very good start. This is no pretty fairy tale, but a gruesome thriller with a fantastic parallel world New York as a background, where you meet characters from Snow White to Grendel.
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    Faith is a sterling beginning to what looks to be another feather in Telltale’s cap; a confident, slick opener to a mystery that begs to be explored. I wait with bated breath and sweaty palms for the next installment, where I’m sure to discover how my choices have only made things worse, at least if The Walking Dead is anything to go by.
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    As only the first of five episodes, it is difficult to tell how the series will play out and evolve from here. However, The Wolf Among Us: Episode 1 - Faith makes a fantastic first impression and has us eagerly awaiting the next chapter of Bigby's story.
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    70
    A solid and enjoyable opening entry into a series that, thus far, is impossible to judge. The Wolf Among Us perhaps hews a little too closely to the first arc of the comic it's based on, but it does an admirable job of translating that world to a new medium.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 87
  2. Negative: 4 out of 87
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Telltale has done it again this is definitely a must buy! The art style is yet again amazing the controls are fluid and responsive the story is compelling and the characters are loveable!
    Can't wait for episode 2!
    Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing game which will engross you in a brilliant story found myself getting episode 2 as soon as i finished this one, well worth the 10/10. The characters are brilliant, well written and interesting. And that ending...... Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    If you don't expect to solve any real puzzles, and accept the fact that this is more of an interactive story than an adventure game, then this game is pretty much the best it can get...
    Gripping story and characters, nice investigations and great graphics and music create a fantastic atmosphere. If you liked walking dead, this takes things to a new level...Play it now!
    Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    wow its amazing
    if you are a gamer you have to play this game yo will love this game
    the story is very nice
    the characters are cool
    and
    the graphic is beautiful Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Telltale Games starts out strong in the first episode of "The Wolf Among Us"(TWAU) and proves that the previous success with "The Walking Dead"(TWD) wasn't a fluke.
    The gameplay has developed and the action scenes are much smoother and fun to play this time around. This goes for most mechanics and the game feel more polished than previous titles. There is also some investigation and interrogation scenes that add variation to the gameplay.
    The story is unique and the familiar characters you meet all have some twist to them that makes them feel more human than they are. It is an interesting world we get to explore a small part of and I hope that it is expanded upon as the season plays out.
    If Telltale manages to keep the story going and the quality steady "TWAU" is going to be a strong contestant to "TWD" for the champion title. This first episode impressed me far more than the first of "TWD", but it all comes down to the overall quality of the season. I, for one, am already jumping in my chair waiting for the next episode.
    If you liked Telltales previous titles this game is a sure thing, but it is also worth the price if you like adventure games in general or unique twists to old formulas.
    Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    Its probably not correct to call this a game. It is, to my mind at least, a fully realized alternate ending story book. When D&D first came out in the 70's the boom in science fiction and fantasy was enormous. This included the creation of "alternate ending books" ones where you would read the story until you were faced with an important choice. Once you made that choice the book directed you to the next set of relevant pages.

    As a piece of storytelling and art, this first chapter is remarkable. Well written, dark cell shaded graphics (which is a style I love), great voice acting and wide variety of choice makes this another must play piece of art. To view this as a game is not really appropriate. As a piece of fiction with some limited interaction and great art its a winner.

    As such this will not be for everyone and certainly will catch a lot of die hard gamers by surprise as they find its not long in the game mechanics department. As a game, reviewing it solely as a game, I would rate it a 2. But knowing that its more about a narrative and choice and about interactive art I am easily able to rate it a 9.
    Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    I like the story but the game itself is too casual and linear. I grew up with Monkey Island and similar games which took ages to figure something out. The Wolf Among us is just too easy and its like watching a short movie where you have to spam a key sometimes. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews