Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 3, 2014
    90
    The game is even better than the Bill Willingham's original graphic novel series. The Wolf Among Us is a showcase of first class storytelling. [Aug 2014]
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    85
    Overall, I was a little disappointed that Telltale Games couldn’t come up with more puzzles for The Wolf Among Us, but otherwise everything about the game is first-rate.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    83
    A fantastic, morally ambiguous detective tale that sometimes struggles to make its interactivity meaningful and fun.
  4. CD-Action
    Oct 22, 2014
    80
    The last episode is a bit disappointing, but that doesn’t change the fact that The Wolf Among Us is a very solid adventure game, head and shoulders above most of other representatives of the genre published in recent years. [Sept 2014, p.62]
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 16, 2014
    80
    A grim, tight, wonderful story of prostitution, loan-sharking and power plays. [Issue#254, p.59]
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 21, 2014
    80
    An at times confronting, well spun mystery and fascinating setting. [Oct 2014, p.63]
  7. Sep 7, 2014
    80
    Great first season with great characters and coherent story. More interactive story than game though.
  8. Aug 21, 2014
    80
    The Wolf Among Us tells an engaging tale, filled with great characters, colorful graphics and clever choices. If only the choices held more meaning.
  9. Aug 19, 2014
    80
    The Wolf Among Us is yet another good game from Telltale Games. One major flaw is dismissing some characters - that's the reason the first season of The Walking Dead is and will be a better offering. Everything else - from the atmosphere to the storyline - is really good. Apparently Lee and Clementine's adventure wasn't a one-time high quality offer. I can recommend this game with a clear conscience.
  10. Jul 11, 2014
    80
    While not a hefty time investment, any player will experience a narrative that reasonably mixes fantasy with common storytelling tropes. I just felt that there could’ve been much more to absorb and more game to play.
  11. Jul 11, 2014
    80
    I think I feel for The Wolf Among Us what most people feel about The Walking Dead‘s first season, insofar as I can forgive it pretty much every fault it has because of the way it perfectly blends characters, setting, atmosphere, and plot.
  12. Jul 9, 2014
    80
    Another great work from Telltale Games. The plot, character performances, and scenarios blend perfectly to deliver an excellent game. Yes, we are talking about a niche title, but this is a good opportunity for any kind of gamer to approach the graphic adventure genre.
  13. Jul 18, 2014
    60
    While the Walking Dead demonstrated the potency of interactive fiction, there are times here where Telltale struggles to dispel a disquieting notion: that The Wolf Among Us doesn’t necessarily benefit from the player’s involvement.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 58
  2. Negative: 2 out of 58
  1. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    This is such an underrated game! It is one of the best interactive story games I've ever played. The graphics are beautiful and along with theThis is such an underrated game! It is one of the best interactive story games I've ever played. The graphics are beautiful and along with the music and atmosphere make for a superb environment (very much like an animated comic). Voice acting is flawless and superb. The story is addicting, with cliff hangers at the end of each episode and a lot of plot twists.

    The dialogue choices often don't make much of a difference but many of them do, along with some other major choices. The fighting can be pretty fun and is definitely a joy to watch.

    Overall, a pleasurable 9 hour experience, the whole way through. The ending was wrapped up nicely (no major plot holes) with a *slight* cliffhanger at the end, JUST enough to get you excited for Season 2.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    First about the technical and art aspects - they are top notch. Graphics, art direction, dialog, voice overs - all of those are at a very highFirst about the technical and art aspects - they are top notch. Graphics, art direction, dialog, voice overs - all of those are at a very high level. It definitely will give a lot of animated series and movies a run for their money.

    Now the game play has been disappointing for some as it is unlike Monkey Island or any classic adventure game for that matter. While you do have an inventory and sometimes get to use items from it there really are no puzzles to solve. The game just moves along regardless if you do things or not. I think to get full enjoyment out of it you should view this game more as one of those "choose your own adventure books" but with a great story, great characters and some though choices rather than as an adventure game. If you do that you will have a blast, if you are looking for clever puzzles then I am afraid this might not be the game for you.

    The choices are pretty hard regardless whether they really matter and so on in the end. What matters is that you know what choices you made and some of them were some of the hardest choices I have ever had to make outside of real life.

    The characters are very interesting and the game is quite mature, and not in a boobs everywhere type of way. There is poverty, forced prostitution, loan sharks, and even the bad guys are more of anti-heroes than just one dimensional evil characters.

    The whole settings, based on the Fable comics which are quite great, is awesome. But I am a sucker for fairy tales and seeing this downtrodden community of characters you grew up with facing every day life far from their home is downright heartbreaking.

    And this is what this game ultimately gave me, it gave me a good 8 hours of an emotional roller coaster filled with hard choices. I was angry, I was sad, I was happy, and I was sorry... the walking dead made me cry, but this made me feel.

    Overall, highly recommended!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2014
    1
    By far one of the worst, most boring games i've ever played.
    Characters are painfully boring and stupid.
    Dialogues are even worse - made me
    By far one of the worst, most boring games i've ever played.
    Characters are painfully boring and stupid.
    Dialogues are even worse - made me angry most of the play time.
    Action scenes are mostly redundant with no real action involved.
    You can collect a few items but without any real point - you can't use them and they don't make any difference in the story.
    They'd be better off making a movie - the graphics are the first advantage.
    The episodes are very short - an hour of gameplay - thats the other advantage
    At the end of the 5th episode the only choice i regret is playing this game. I'd be better off staring at the black screen.
    If someone offered me to jump down the witching well or to replay the game - I'd be jumping before they could finish the sentence.
    Full Review »