Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 3, 2014
    90
    The game is even better than the Bill Willingham's original graphic novel series. The Wolf Among Us is a showcase of first class storytelling. [Aug 2014]
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    85
    Overall, I was a little disappointed that Telltale Games couldn’t come up with more puzzles for The Wolf Among Us, but otherwise everything about the game is first-rate.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    83
    A fantastic, morally ambiguous detective tale that sometimes struggles to make its interactivity meaningful and fun.
  4. Oct 22, 2014
    80
    The last episode is a bit disappointing, but that doesn’t change the fact that The Wolf Among Us is a very solid adventure game, head and shoulders above most of other representatives of the genre published in recent years. [Sept 2014, p.62]
  5. Oct 16, 2014
    80
    A grim, tight, wonderful story of prostitution, loan-sharking and power plays. [Issue#254, p.59]
  6. Sep 21, 2014
    80
    An at times confronting, well spun mystery and fascinating setting. [Oct 2014, p.63]
  7. Sep 7, 2014
    80
    Great first season with great characters and coherent story. More interactive story than game though.
  8. Aug 21, 2014
    80
    The Wolf Among Us tells an engaging tale, filled with great characters, colorful graphics and clever choices. If only the choices held more meaning.
  9. Aug 19, 2014
    80
    The Wolf Among Us is yet another good game from Telltale Games. One major flaw is dismissing some characters - that's the reason the first season of The Walking Dead is and will be a better offering. Everything else - from the atmosphere to the storyline - is really good. Apparently Lee and Clementine's adventure wasn't a one-time high quality offer. I can recommend this game with a clear conscience.
  10. Jul 11, 2014
    80
    While not a hefty time investment, any player will experience a narrative that reasonably mixes fantasy with common storytelling tropes. I just felt that there could’ve been much more to absorb and more game to play.
  11. Jul 11, 2014
    80
    I think I feel for The Wolf Among Us what most people feel about The Walking Dead‘s first season, insofar as I can forgive it pretty much every fault it has because of the way it perfectly blends characters, setting, atmosphere, and plot.
  12. Jul 9, 2014
    80
    Another great work from Telltale Games. The plot, character performances, and scenarios blend perfectly to deliver an excellent game. Yes, we are talking about a niche title, but this is a good opportunity for any kind of gamer to approach the graphic adventure genre.
  13. Jul 18, 2014
    60
    While the Walking Dead demonstrated the potency of interactive fiction, there are times here where Telltale struggles to dispel a disquieting notion: that The Wolf Among Us doesn’t necessarily benefit from the player’s involvement.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    This is such an underrated game! It is one of the best interactive story games I've ever played. The graphics are beautiful and along with the music and atmosphere make for a superb environment (very much like an animated comic). Voice acting is flawless and superb. The story is addicting, with cliff hangers at the end of each episode and a lot of plot twists.

    The dialogue choices often don't make much of a difference but many of them do, along with some other major choices. The fighting can be pretty fun and is definitely a joy to watch.

    Overall, a pleasurable 9 hour experience, the whole way through. The ending was wrapped up nicely (no major plot holes) with a *slight* cliffhanger at the end, JUST enough to get you excited for Season 2.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2014
    8
    The Wolf Among Us starts off brilliantly with the first episode showcasing some of the best writing in all the video games I've played. The noirish setting with its unique art style had me hooked, and most of the characters that are introduced have a lot of depth and personality. Voice acting is great and the soundtrack feels appropriate for every scene, aiding whatever emotional impact the game attempts to induce. Overall, the first episode gave me a very positive impression of the game and the cliffhanger ending had me wanting more.

    Subsequent episodes are still quite decent, however I felt they weren't of the same calibre as the first episode which I consider to be the most well constructed of all five. Difficult choices are present throughout the series, however the game does occasionally feel as if there's very little progression and some glaring plot holes also start to emerge. I think most people will agree that the fourth episode was relatively weak, as not only was it the shortest, but the secondary characters that were introduced felt poorly developed and the build up to the finale was underwhelming. The final episode had some pretty epic action scenes, but the Crooked Man doesn't feel like much of a threatening antagonist, thus the trial scene wasn't as tense or climactic as I expected. I was also hoping for a better resolution between Bigby and Snow, though the final interaction with Nerissa is very eye-opening and concludes the series on an overall positive note.

    Lastly, throughout the whole game, you'll also probably encounter occasional stuttering. Some of the animations may also seem a bit jerky, particularly in action scenes, but none of this isn't very significant. Finishing the game, I couldn't help feeling slightly disappointed that the rest of the game didn't quite hold up to the very high standards of the first episode. However, the game is still very engaging and well worth the price. Anyone who has played previous games from Telltale, or anyone interested in what is a very mature and memorable setting should consider playing The Wolf Among Us.

    Individual episode ratings:
    Episode 1, 'Faith' - 8.8
    Episode 2, 'Smoke and Mirrors' - 8.2
    Episode 3, 'A Crooked Mile' - 8.4
    Episode 4, 'In Sheep's Clothing' - 7.3
    Episode 5, 'Cry Wolf' - 8.0
    Overall rating - 8.1
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    A fantastic game. Finished it in two days. It's got a great story and very relatable characters. If you're a sucker for adventure games, you probably like great stories. And if you like great stories, you'll absolutely love this game. Stellar storytelling.
    The Walking Dead is a masterpiece and so is this one. I have absolute confidence in Telltale Games. They can do no wrong.
    Full Review »