Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    85
    Overall, I was a little disappointed that Telltale Games couldn’t come up with more puzzles for The Wolf Among Us, but otherwise everything about the game is first-rate.
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    83
    A fantastic, morally ambiguous detective tale that sometimes struggles to make its interactivity meaningful and fun.
  3. Aug 21, 2014
    80
    The Wolf Among Us tells an engaging tale, filled with great characters, colorful graphics and clever choices. If only the choices held more meaning.
  4. Aug 19, 2014
    80
    The Wolf Among Us is yet another good game from Telltale Games. One major flaw is dismissing some characters - that's the reason the first season of The Walking Dead is and will be a better offering. Everything else - from the atmosphere to the storyline - is really good. Apparently Lee and Clementine's adventure wasn't a one-time high quality offer. I can recommend this game with a clear conscience.
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    80
    While not a hefty time investment, any player will experience a narrative that reasonably mixes fantasy with common storytelling tropes. I just felt that there could’ve been much more to absorb and more game to play.
  6. Jul 11, 2014
    80
    I think I feel for The Wolf Among Us what most people feel about The Walking Dead‘s first season, insofar as I can forgive it pretty much every fault it has because of the way it perfectly blends characters, setting, atmosphere, and plot.
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    80
    Another great work from Telltale Games. The plot, character performances, and scenarios blend perfectly to deliver an excellent game. Yes, we are talking about a niche title, but this is a good opportunity for any kind of gamer to approach the graphic adventure genre.
  8. Jul 18, 2014
    60
    While the Walking Dead demonstrated the potency of interactive fiction, there are times here where Telltale struggles to dispel a disquieting notion: that The Wolf Among Us doesn’t necessarily benefit from the player’s involvement.
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    First about the technical and art aspects - they are top notch. Graphics, art direction, dialog, voice overs - all of those are at a very high level. It definitely will give a lot of animated series and movies a run for their money.

    Now the game play has been disappointing for some as it is unlike Monkey Island or any classic adventure game for that matter. While you do have an inventory and sometimes get to use items from it there really are no puzzles to solve. The game just moves along regardless if you do things or not. I think to get full enjoyment out of it you should view this game more as one of those "choose your own adventure books" but with a great story, great characters and some though choices rather than as an adventure game. If you do that you will have a blast, if you are looking for clever puzzles then I am afraid this might not be the game for you.

    The choices are pretty hard regardless whether they really matter and so on in the end. What matters is that you know what choices you made and some of them were some of the hardest choices I have ever had to make outside of real life.

    The characters are very interesting and the game is quite mature, and not in a boobs everywhere type of way. There is poverty, forced prostitution, loan sharks, and even the bad guys are more of anti-heroes than just one dimensional evil characters.

    The whole settings, based on the Fable comics which are quite great, is awesome. But I am a sucker for fairy tales and seeing this downtrodden community of characters you grew up with facing every day life far from their home is downright heartbreaking.

    And this is what this game ultimately gave me, it gave me a good 8 hours of an emotional roller coaster filled with hard choices. I was angry, I was sad, I was happy, and I was sorry... the walking dead made me cry, but this made me feel.

    Overall, highly recommended!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    7
    Overall a highly enjoyable and engaging experience. However many decisions are starting to not feel important in the overall outcome.
    The
    first few episodes build the characters well however it feels like it starts to drop off, especially for me the last episode being quite poor, and only trying to make up for it in the last minutes with a twist.
    Still well worth a look for fans of this style and the Fables story.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    A fantastic game. Finished it in two days. It's got a great story and very relatable characters. If you're a sucker for adventure games, you probably like great stories. And if you like great stories, you'll absolutely love this game. Stellar storytelling.
    The Walking Dead is a masterpiece and so is this one. I have absolute confidence in Telltale Games. They can do no wrong.
    Full Review »