Thomas Was Alone Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thomas won't be entirely alone, he'll be joined throughout by the awesome Mr Danny Wallace (XFM, Yes Man and Assassin's Creed) who will be narrating his adventures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    90
    Simple, straightforward and brilliant indie game. Pick it up at a bargain, or even pay full price; it is worth every penny. So well executed - a definite must play for any and everyone.
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    90
    Thomas Was Alone is a new masterpiece of independent development. Essential and creative, brilliant and funny.
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    81
    Short, sweet, and entirely too touching for a platform game about bouncy squared narrated by Danny Wallace. [Oct 2012, p.96]
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Fiddly bits notwithstanding, Thomas Was Alone is a game crafted with real love and attention. It shines through most prominently in its neurotic set of blocks, a cast so delightful you'd give them a cuddle if they weren't all sharp edges. Mind you, I'm not sure Chris would like that too much. But even that grumpy old square would admit that spending time with Thomas is, actually, a whole lot of fun.
  5. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    The understated aesthetic design and unusual co-op puzzles will absorb you for the game's duration – the wit and personality of the writing, though, will stay with you for much longer.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    75
    Thomas Was Alone utilizes its diverse characters and varied obstacles to create an engaging platformer.
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    60
    An enjoyable puzzle platformer wrapped in boundless charm. [Jan 2013, p.76]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    What should i say! If you are bored and you are looking for a good game than play TWA. Great story, funny, and i think it is like an addiction! Help me bros can't stop playing Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    I just finished Thomas was Alone. For those that don't have this yet, you should really get it. The sound track is amazing, the game play is so fun and never gets repetitive, and the characters (although I thought of them as just shapes in the start) develop over the story in a wonderful way. I found myself cheering for love, gasping when they were in trouble and cheering as I neared the end. This game hit the emotional chord that I can't even remember the last time a movie did..

    Why? Because they aren't just shapes. They're people. They're dreams. They're family that we all know and love. Goddamnit, if you haven't gotten this or played it yet, three dollars during the steam sale will not account for the amount of joy you'll get out of this. The last time I felt this good playing and finishing a game was with the original Portal before anyone knew what it was about.
    Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This game's storyline is like a reincarnation of Douglas Adams. I found myself smiling through the whole game. The puzzles are easy to understand and they make you want to keep solving them to get more of the story. Collapse
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    An almost perfect composition of music, character, subtle visuals, wry humour and a surprisingly engaging and well told story. As a whole it's bordering on genius. The soundtrack will stay with you and is enjoyable outside of the game. Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    "Thomas was Alone" is revolutionary; and in the right way. It tears and strips down the modern gaming make-up and gives a "what if?" on the path of games. With brilliant narration and character lovability (which are litteraly squares and rectangles) Thomas was Alone proves a fantastic and worthwhile game and path; Now all that's left is to go further down it. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    A very cleaver and fun game with a good story and a delightful narration. It doesn't take very long to complete, but it is definitely an experience worth checking out for yourself. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2013
    3
    Thomas Was Alone is not good. I'll give it credit for being pretty to look at and modestly pleasant to listen to. Aside from that it's simply a really poor gaming experience. First of all, it's way, way too easy: I think I was only briefly challenged on maybe 5 levels. That leaves 95 that were a total breeze. Even if a solution to a particular puzzle is obvious you still have to waste time wrangling the imprecise controls and swapping between polygonal "characters" as you move them into position over and over again. Towards the end I even ran into a bug that got one block stuck. I had to restart the whole level and painstakingly move around 10 different blocks step by step into the correct spots.

    The less said about the "story" the better. The volume level of the narrator's voice fades in and out, making him hard to understand. The script's attempts at humanizing a bunch of polygons is laughable and fails miserably. The ending is a complete enigma, and not in a good way.

    In short, skip Thomas Was Alone unless you like games that are short, easy, buggy and generally irritating.
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews