Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 80
    Varied mission objectives, nice mini-games, challenging dogfights and overall fast action make the second installment of HAWX beat its predecessor. And multiplayer…just multiplies the fun. [Dec 2010]
  2. Ultimately, H.A.W.X. 2 is a must for Tom Clancy and flight-sim fans.
  3. 78
    So even though HAWX 2 is a step forward when compared to its predecessor, it's brought down by an almost empty multiplayer, despite the numerous options, a boring single-player and a pretty "dense" AI when it comes to allies, while the enemies do their job very well, ironically. So well, in fact, that you'll be tempted to stick a fork in it and finish the story in co-op, which ultimately is a good thing. Too bad this decision is encouraged in such a brutal manner.
  4. Nov 11, 2010
    76
    In Hawx 2 there are new mission types like delivering suppression fire for allied forces or navigating spy satellites. Furthermore you can now land, start or get refueled in some missions. These new features provide a bit variety though they are not very demanding. On the downside Hawx 2 fails to create any atmosphere due to the boring and confused story. In short, Hawx 2 is an improved Hawx 1, with more variety and less story. Those who enjoyed the first game, especially the dogfights, will also enjoy the second one. Those who hoped for innovation might be disappointed.
  5. Nov 16, 2010
    75
    Firing missiles from a large distance you'll only see yellow squares and triangles disappear. But close up you'll experience dog fights, explosions and the speed rush of low level flight.
  6. Fans of the first HAWX will no doubt derive a great deal of joy from another hearty dose of solid dogfighting, but then everyone else will feel the same sort of confused indifference towards the story and will quickly grow tired of shooting down wave after wave of jet fighters.
  7. Mar 18, 2011
    71
    Some fun to be had in amongst the tedium. [Apr 2011, p.102]
  8. Dec 27, 2010
    70
    Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X. 2 seems to take a step back from the first episode of the series. The game fails to develop some of the previously introduced gameplay elements, giving the impression to be still "under construction" from that point of view. The road taken on by Ubisoft is surely paved with good intentions, but the overall result is somewhat disappointing.
  9. Feb 11, 2011
    60
    Fun without the fundamentals, a simpering sim with irritating copy protection. [Feb 2011, p.58]
  10. Jan 7, 2011
    60
    HAWX 2 is a straight rehash of the first game, with pointless minigames that add more frustration than excitement. [Feb 2011, p.72]
  11. Ubisoft really dropped the ball with this title. What should be an exciting fast-paced aerial combat game comes off more frustrating than anything because of its control issues, poor A.I, and just downright infuriating level designs.
  12. Jan 24, 2011
    30
    Even if it wasn't catastrophically broken, HAWX 2 would be a hard game to get particularly excited about. [Jan 2011, p.96]
User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 16
  2. Negative: 13 out of 16
  1. Dec 5, 2010
    4
    I enjoyed playing the original HAWX. So i invested 50 bucks in this game. I am a bit disapointed. Good: Nice gameplay, i really enjoyed the night vision levels, where you are flying a gun high in the sky and protecting the land troops.(Also seen in Modern warfare). You also get to take of and land in this game, which is pretty exciting to do. Important to know that if you want to enjoy this game you should really use a joystick or gamepad.
    Bad: It looks like i bought a beta version, there are still a few bugs that can really annoy you. For example: the Ubisoft security system does not allow the game to be played when you are offline, so every time my wireless connection drops the game is paused, and restarts from the last checkpoint when i reconnect to the internet. I am not really sure that it is my internet connection or the ubisoft server that disconnects.... still that doesn't make it less annoying. Especially when you are almost through a difficult stage of the game. Secondly i found it very difficult to use my gamepad in this game. I had to restart the game and sometimes even my whole pc to be able to use the joystick. Final complaint is the long loading time when you start the game. The security system that is build to prevent piracy is now actually making it more attractive to play an illegal copy of this game. Not a very smart move from Ubisoft in my humble opinion.
    When an update arrives that solves the problems i would probably rate it higher.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    More polished graphics and a story plot extended to other nations and the terrain is also detailed and based off real world locations. But, the good really ends here. This is a obvious console port. This game unlike the original HAWX has bugs that need to me worked out, and the added game launcher just adds additional issues. The sounds and music have not changed which is sad since the original HAWX still had poor quality music and sound effects. The overall game play mechanics have not been improved. The HUD is also overly done which can be visually obstructing. Plus the unrealistic flight characteristics of the enemy including large bomber pulling off fighter plane maneuvers will leave you asking... what? But, it is still fun to play if you love to fly and dogfight, just dont expect a real life experience. Full Review »
  3. Feb 16, 2011
    0
    This is a MEDIOCRE game! The 1st HAWX was ok and you had ERS for targeting. Now ERS is no longer ERS and used only for stupid landing and refueling??!! HORRIBLE! Cheap! And what more, in many missions, the brain dead programmer let the BOT planes have UNLIMTIED Flares? So you are stuck playing a stupid "machine gun" canon game with a stealth fighter, LOL? This game deserves a NEGATIVE score! Full Review »