Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 712 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to riseUnleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to rise to the level of the world's most lethal operative. If you are successful, the President of the United States will deny your existence. If you fail, millions will likely face their deaths. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    Splinter Cell is back on the right shadowy track.
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    91
    Blacklist sees Sam Fisher and his covert posse returning to the series’ sneaky-happy roots in good form, and it’s easily one of the best stealth offerings I’ve delved into in a long time.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    88
    Fisher’s annoyingly sulky character, questionable controls when it comes to grabbing people next to doors, traditionally daft ending level and the buggy Uplay services – these are pretty much all the sins of Blacklist. They can be easily forgiven because the rest of the game is stealth action goodness.
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Still, whether this is your first Splinter Cell or your eighth, you deserve to give it a shot because while it’s not the best Splinter Cell, it is one of them.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Splinter Cell Blacklist is one of the better entries in the long lived spy-saga. It offers great gameplay choices and sneaking is heavily rewarded. On top of that the multiplayer is also confidently crafted. The one thing lacking is the banal story with flat characterization that hinders Splinter Cell Blacklist from reaching any narrative high points.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Though it lacks the subdued intelligence of Chaos Theory, there's still some cracking good sneaking to be had. [Oct 2013, p.92]
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    Wonky mission design and technical issues drag down a solid stealth game that still has enjoyable multiplayer.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 160
  2. Negative: 54 out of 160
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    If you liked any of the previous splinter cells you will enjoy this game, the voice change takes some getting used to but its a splinter cellIf you liked any of the previous splinter cells you will enjoy this game, the voice change takes some getting used to but its a splinter cell with the stealth element back! Collapse
  2. Sep 2, 2015
    10
    Superbe jeu, immersif et qui n'a rien à envier à son concurrent MGS : The Phantom Pain.

    2 ans plus tard, Splinter Cell est toujours autant
    Superbe jeu, immersif et qui n'a rien à envier à son concurrent MGS : The Phantom Pain.

    2 ans plus tard, Splinter Cell est toujours autant parfait !
    Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    I like how Splinter Cell is goingback to the roots here. I hope Blacklist was only the beginning, this franchise got a lot of potential and isI like how Splinter Cell is goingback to the roots here. I hope Blacklist was only the beginning, this franchise got a lot of potential and is massive underrated. Go ahead Ubisoft! Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2014
    7
    Splinter cell: Blacklist is a mediocre game in the franchise but by far was the most anticipated because it brings all the stuff that was newSplinter cell: Blacklist is a mediocre game in the franchise but by far was the most anticipated because it brings all the stuff that was new in Conviction, but builds it all into one full fluid gameplay experience. Sadly this made the game too different and it didn't feel like a splinter cell game at all, but just another action game that incorporated stealth in some areas to compete with the SC series. Many problems for the PC version made it annoying to play but I felt like I had to because I needed to continue through the SC franchise even though this one was a bit of a disappointment but not so bad that it was a bad game. It still is great just doesn't feel like a SC game which is why I think this game still deserves a positive score. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    Turns out they not only removed Sam's voice, but his soul as well. If the guy in this game is Sam Fisher, then I am James Bond and I am notTurns out they not only removed Sam's voice, but his soul as well. If the guy in this game is Sam Fisher, then I am James Bond and I am not even British. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2014
    3
    I cannot get over how awful this game is. This isn't Splinter Cell. This is a cover-based action shooter with some very light stealth thrownI cannot get over how awful this game is. This isn't Splinter Cell. This is a cover-based action shooter with some very light stealth thrown in, and a big chunky helping of modern Ubisoft everything-and-the-kitchen-sink design smattered on top.

    Sam Fisher has been turned into Commander Shepard. Why do I need to buy upgrades for my ship, which now serves as a hub to access levels from? And why can I now purchase radar and regenerating health boosts? Was the core Splinter Cell gameplay not interesting enough by itself that you had to add a shallow progression system on top of it that effectively allows you to cheat?

    Why was Michael Ironside omitted from the game when he is the most important part of Sam Fisher? There is zero charm in the game now. The dialog and cutscenes are dull and the writing is not much better. Sam sounds like a bland 30-year-old now, yet he's supposed to be in his late 50's. And why can old fart Sam climb, run, jump, and attack 10 times faster than he ever could before? Can Viagra do all that?

    By the time I reached the Call of Duty-esque on-rails-grainy-camera-shooter sequence I wanted to barf. Why did Ubisoft feel the need to cater to this crowd? Splinter Cell fans never asked for this. Aside from Conviction, which was far better than Blacklist, the franchise has always been about slow, methodical stealth gameplay. Stealth first, action second. You can't even stealth-open doors in Blacklist--you just throw open every one of them like the James Bond wannabee **** you are.

    The music is awful as well, taking a little too much inspiration from Battlefield 3's jarring static fest of a soundtrack. Graphically, it's technically impressive, but artistically bland. I don't know about you, but I'm pretty tired of going to Iraq and Afghanistan in my games. Are there not hundreds of other interesting countries one could create a story around?

    We've seen it in Hitman: Absolution. We've seen it in Thief 2014. We've even seen it in Deus Ex: Human Revolution: the dumbing down of games to appeal to a "wider audience". Sometimes it works and we get to see a franchise change directions gracefully, but this time they've gone so far from Splinter Cell's roots that it does not feel like a Splinter Cell game. It just doesn't.
    Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2016
    0
    DO NOT buy this game.. useless game with enemies detecting you very easily and missions dont save and after an hour of progress, you wil beDO NOT buy this game.. useless game with enemies detecting you very easily and missions dont save and after an hour of progress, you wil be needed to start from beginnning even if a cctv spots u.

    Oh and ubisoft support SUCKS big time. no replies to my queries of game not starting with old outdated uplay app!!!

    RIDICULOUS>
    Expand

See all 160 User Reviews