Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 738 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to riseUnleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to rise to the level of the world's most lethal operative. If you are successful, the President of the United States will deny your existence. If you fail, millions will likely face their deaths. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 14, 2013
    92
    Splinter Cell is back on the right shadowy track.
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    91
    Blacklist sees Sam Fisher and his covert posse returning to the series’ sneaky-happy roots in good form, and it’s easily one of the best stealth offerings I’ve delved into in a long time.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    88
    Fisher’s annoyingly sulky character, questionable controls when it comes to grabbing people next to doors, traditionally daft ending level and the buggy Uplay services – these are pretty much all the sins of Blacklist. They can be easily forgiven because the rest of the game is stealth action goodness.
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Still, whether this is your first Splinter Cell or your eighth, you deserve to give it a shot because while it’s not the best Splinter Cell, it is one of them.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Splinter Cell Blacklist is one of the better entries in the long lived spy-saga. It offers great gameplay choices and sneaking is heavily rewarded. On top of that the multiplayer is also confidently crafted. The one thing lacking is the banal story with flat characterization that hinders Splinter Cell Blacklist from reaching any narrative high points.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Though it lacks the subdued intelligence of Chaos Theory, there's still some cracking good sneaking to be had. [Oct 2013, p.92]
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    Wonky mission design and technical issues drag down a solid stealth game that still has enjoyable multiplayer.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 163
  2. Negative: 53 out of 163
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    If you liked any of the previous splinter cells you will enjoy this game, the voice change takes some getting used to but its a splinter cellIf you liked any of the previous splinter cells you will enjoy this game, the voice change takes some getting used to but its a splinter cell with the stealth element back! Collapse
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Excellent game on many levels, I really enjoyed the ability to play the way I wanted through the story mission. If you really stick to theExcellent game on many levels, I really enjoyed the ability to play the way I wanted through the story mission. If you really stick to the pure stealth route the game rewards you considerably more than if you go the loud route.
    While there are many items and upgrades to spend the cash you earn between mission I wouldn't have minded some more customization options to the gear.

    The multiplayer side of things seems to be very fun but i have only spent about five hours on the spy vs mercs games so have not yet experienced everything, enjoyed what I played so far.

    I am not a fan of Uplay and i dislike having to sign in to a second program when I purchased via steam.
    Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    after a conviction we cat a game where you can chose if you wont to play as conviction or chost non lethal or just assoult and this isafter a conviction we cat a game where you can chose if you wont to play as conviction or chost non lethal or just assoult and this is fukking awsome whit easy gameplay you can mark and kill in motion this looks realy cool the story line is realy good nice charecters and solid voice acting you need to stop the blacklist with nice music and great stealh that is gone be a lot of fun the graphic on the other hand are a bit lame futher there is a nice custamasazation that gose realy deep and some nice side missions but the waves mode is realy stupid but futher a must own for sp fans and for stealth action fans Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    Seeing as how Splinter Cell is one of my all time favourite series and I was super hyped for Blacklist, I felt compelled to write my firstSeeing as how Splinter Cell is one of my all time favourite series and I was super hyped for Blacklist, I felt compelled to write my first metacritic review. God, just the thought alone makes me shudder, but here it goes.

    Now I have to start by saying, I'll NOT be reviewing the multiplayer aspects of the game, as I mainly play Singleplayer modes.

    As it stands, Blacklist is a clear improvement over Conviction, which was a fantastic game, albeit somewhat "casual". As far as SC (Splinter Cell) games go.

    Having to approach a situation with a tactical eye, rather than snapping the first guy's neck and going on an execution spree is a welcome change from the previous entry into the game. This is further emphasized by rewards for adapting a certain play style.

    Ghost, where you slip past enemy lines using non-lethal tactics, Panther, where you are still stealthy but stabbing dudes left and right, or Action where you are basically Rambo, shooting everything that moves and using a whole bunch of C4.

    Based on your style you get awarded cash and a score. Obviously, you use the cash to improve your gear and your score ranks you on global leaderboards.

    Gear customization has been improved, allowing you to get better suits, googles, gadgets and weapons. All catering to your specific playstyle. Not only that, but Sam's new flying headquarters, a modified cargo plane, the Paladin, can also be improved to unlock further customization and new gadgets. To top it all off, you can store up to 3 loadouts, to swiftly switch between gear depending on how you want to approach a mission.

    The only negatives regarding customization is that once you get your level 2 Stealth suit and a silenced sniper rifle, the game becomes a cakewalk. Snap a neck, mark and execute the rest from afar.

    Now I have to mention bugs plaguing the game as of today. It's mostly to do with collision detection and the context sensitive actions.

    Time and time again I'd try to lure a guard around the corner. As he was making his way to his death, he'd randomly get stuck on nothing, walking in place. Which gave me a laugh.

    In regards to the context sensitive actions, more often than not as I was hiding in a room by a door. As my next prey approached I pressed "E" to slit his throat and low and behold, Sam stepped into the door and decided to instead close the door. Which clipping through the enemy, which of course prompted an alarm, bringing in reinforcements and/or instant mission failure.

    However I'm afraid the negatives don't stop there.

    Regardless of Ubisoft's latest patch, Alt Tabbing doesn't work. That's a solid fact. Dare alt tab in the middle of an op, and your game has a tendency for locking up., WITHOUT saving your checkpoint. But it's a broken system in itself, as somehow, the progression of bonus objectives WOULD be saved.

    Speaking of checkpoints, they are few and far in between. Some of the more time consuming missions would throw you back some good ten to fifteen minutes if you had to quit and leave your PC.

    But I feel I bad mouthed the game long enough. Let's talk about something good again.

    Seeing as this is the PC version, and we are the PC master race, I'm happy to report that the game sports beautiful DX11 HD textures. That is if your rig can handle it. But even on lower DX settings the game still looks beautiful. The sound design and attention to detail in the environment is through the roof. Cobwebs hanging off the ceiling and that sort of stuff.

    Now, environments. Sadly, this game decided to go the Modern FPS route. The first two main missions and a good bunch of the side missions take place in the middle east. Everything is brown and full of rats. Talk about stereotypes.

    But thankfully, later on the settings change up quite a bit.

    It's safe to say that was the saving grace for this game, as I'd have demanded a refund if for the next ten hours I had to sneak around arid, brown hills hunting evil brown people who are evil because they are evil.

    But thankfully that wasn't the case. The story is solid, if not somewhat overused. Evil mercenaries wanting the US to change its ways. Twist, not really.

    Now we have to talk about this. Because everyone is talking about this. The voice actor for Sam is no longer Michael Ironside.

    The new guy, Eric Johnson does an OK job as Sam. However he is clearly not Sam. At least not the Sam we knew. He no longer sounds like a veteran who has seen some sh&t and saved the world over and over again, but instead your run of the mill American action hero. Who is out doing patriot stuff on friday nights.

    To conclude, Blacklist is an amazing stealth game. But if you look further the game clearly has some problems. Mainly stability. It is obviously a very hasty console port.

    For that, this game gets a 7 out of 10 from me. In my books, a seven means "Good". Not average, not very good. Just plain Good.
    Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2013
    5
    I've only got one thing to say: to everyone who is not American, this game is insulting. It's telling you that not accepting the US as theI've only got one thing to say: to everyone who is not American, this game is insulting. It's telling you that not accepting the US as the world's police is met with death. The Engineers have respected the Geneva Conventions. They are not soldiers per se, but they are not terrorists either.

    I though at first Blacklist would be a thin-veiled parody: most video games have you play as an American. The team could have tried social commentary; such as "this is what happens when you get too zealous with security". But no, they play it straight: the Engineers are the bad guys, Fischer, who is above the laws and fitted with the best tech ever invented (no way this could backfire... oh wait, what happened to Conviction in the timeline of the series?), is the good guy. There is no irony. There is no commentary. You are here for one thing only: kill the heretics who dare revolt against the US.

    Really strange, considering the game was made by a Canadian team owned by a French company.

    And yet, I will give Blacklist a 5. If you overlook the scenario, you will find a capable shooter. Yet, technical issues (such as gamepads not being supported correctly despite being made to play with a gamepad; or the fact that there's already a patch when the game is less than 1 week old) must be taken into account and thus, I think Blacklist deserves a bad mark, but not a 0 just because I didn't like one aspect.
    Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2014
    3
    Don't waste your time or your money that's all I have to say..........................................................................................
  7. Sep 26, 2015
    0
    Unless you make ALL the missions have a solo version instead of forcing co-op vomit down our throats your game deserves a zero.Unless you make ALL the missions have a solo version instead of forcing co-op vomit down our throats your game deserves a zero. Scrotalplayer is for a minority, cater to the majority, the single player. Expand

See all 163 User Reviews