User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 614 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2012
    5
    What could have been a great game is ruined by stiff mechanics and poor controls. For example, if you are crouched next to an enemy and press the melee key, nothing happens. You just sit there like an idiot. You have to press the crouch key first to stand yourself up and THEN press the melee key. This alone will cause you to fail more missions than anything else, because it will throw offWhat could have been a great game is ruined by stiff mechanics and poor controls. For example, if you are crouched next to an enemy and press the melee key, nothing happens. You just sit there like an idiot. You have to press the crouch key first to stand yourself up and THEN press the melee key. This alone will cause you to fail more missions than anything else, because it will throw off your timing. Another great example is the contextual "use" key. If you're standing next to a climbable ledge and there is a weapon on the ground that you want to pick up, you have to sit there for two minutes and rotate the camera just right until the weapon is highlighted instead of the ledge. It is very disappointing how poorly Splinter Cell: Conviction was executed, because it obvious has enormous potential. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    A decent, solid, nice stealth game. Although by no means a Chaos Theory, if you stop thinking of it as a Splinter Cell game and just another stealth game, it's fun to play. Sadly, the PC version is an obvious console port, with amazingly clunky controls and lack of refined graphics. Although the gameplay makes up for it somewhat, it does not by any means remedy this problem. That's why IA decent, solid, nice stealth game. Although by no means a Chaos Theory, if you stop thinking of it as a Splinter Cell game and just another stealth game, it's fun to play. Sadly, the PC version is an obvious console port, with amazingly clunky controls and lack of refined graphics. Although the gameplay makes up for it somewhat, it does not by any means remedy this problem. That's why I gave it a non negative, and yet non positive review. If only it had been optimized better for PC it would have gotten at least an 8. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    5
    A really good game, that you can play with a TPS or a stealth approach, and potentially this is very funny.
    But there is a big problem. The Ubisoft DRM makes this game unplayable! The Uplay Cloud Sync for SC:C is bugged from years, forums are plenty of complaints from users... but the problem remains and Ubisoft doesn't care about it.
    5 is an average between 8 (the game) and 2 (uplay)
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    its good but yes but to short just to short you where finisht so soon.
    not much gadgets and not even good wons.
    the graphics are retarded bad.
    bad strory line.
    and to the multiplayer is short and bad not fun and just boring.
    than you gat some outher mode and that is just 1-2 hours fun and than its over.
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    5
    My only complaint would be: IT'S JUST TOO DAMN DIFFICULT. I lost interest after the first two scenes. I don't like 'walk-in-a-park' type of games, but this one is rather annoying. I love the 'Chaos Theory' and 'Pandora', but this comes across as slightly less innovative right off the bet. One more thing jump key is also a grab key, use key, interact key, take cover key and what not key. IMy only complaint would be: IT'S JUST TOO DAMN DIFFICULT. I lost interest after the first two scenes. I don't like 'walk-in-a-park' type of games, but this one is rather annoying. I love the 'Chaos Theory' and 'Pandora', but this comes across as slightly less innovative right off the bet. One more thing jump key is also a grab key, use key, interact key, take cover key and what not key. I hate the controls. I will most certainly give it another go, but for now neutral rating from me. Sorry my English isn't any better. Expand
  6. May 12, 2011
    5
    SC-Conviction is disappointing. From what I have seen, the only thing that improved in this game are the character's visuals, certain graphics, objects and environments, and certain physics, among a few other things too... Not sure why(because I have a good PC system) but the sound cuts in-out and the video pauses frequently during level loading... However, SC-Conviction's overall gameSC-Conviction is disappointing. From what I have seen, the only thing that improved in this game are the character's visuals, certain graphics, objects and environments, and certain physics, among a few other things too... Not sure why(because I have a good PC system) but the sound cuts in-out and the video pauses frequently during level loading... However, SC-Conviction's overall game play is just 'mindless' and nearly automated for 'dummies', (what happened to the Free-Interaction and Total-user-control? )... and what is up with the fake illuminated projections on the walls that 'help' you to a destination(objective), such as: "Climb" or "Reach Window", or the infinite ammo... (those just aren't appealing features in a game)... Seriously, if you need to be shown exactly where to go and exactly what to do in a game, or if you need infinite ammo, etc., then your real game skills naturally STINK! ... (and it just takes out the fun and realism from the game). UBI seemed to design this game for dummy-gamers who don't have enough patience or real skills to play such a game. It's not a 'Realistic' or 'Stealthy' game, as an example: I opened a door(it made a loud enough noise) and the people were right there looking toward me but still talking to each other, yet they did not react to what I was doing in the doorway(about 7 feet away), WTF!?.. I mean come on, that is NOT realistic stealth-based interaction, and it happens too often... Also the obstruction-programmers didn't do such a good job because even though a door was completely closed the enemy's 'ghost' gun was slightly sticking out, though it was shooting at me, LOL! .... The Controls(movements) are not that steady or precise compared to other games, and it's not as easy to approach(align) to certain objects (user-character movements really stink!!), and not only that, but you're only able to jump in certain pre-programmed hot-spots, seriously WTF happened to Splinter Cell!? The designers/programmers are wrong for making and allowing this game to be this way... Also, the required online registration/log-in is total crap (thanks to all of the poor-bastard rip-off software-pirates for making it a big hassle for all of us!!)... anyway, if you Really Like the game play (surreptitiousness) of SC-Chaos Theory, you'll probably DISLIKE SC-Conviction. Overall, it's an OK game, but it's not great and it could of and should of been much better. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    5
    thankfully the harsh drm was removed (now its a one-time activation through uPlay) but that won't save a game that removes features that made splinter cell great. you cannot hide bodies anymore, sam seems totally against stealth. the cover system is pretty great and the game is pretty. the story is pretty decent too with a creative ending sequence. but the online co-op doesnt work withoutthankfully the harsh drm was removed (now its a one-time activation through uPlay) but that won't save a game that removes features that made splinter cell great. you cannot hide bodies anymore, sam seems totally against stealth. the cover system is pretty great and the game is pretty. the story is pretty decent too with a creative ending sequence. but the online co-op doesnt work without MASSIVE hassle. you have to manually open ports, that means looking at your exact make and model for your router, finding your internal ip address, logging into your router's website (which you usually need to make another account for) and generally scouring forums for hours. it is a pain, and after beating the single player game in 8 hours, there was only about 1 hour of which gave me the feeling of being sam when i got the sonar goggles. if it's on sale for less than 10 dollars and you don't mind a massive shift in gameplay, you may find the story worth checking out, otherwise this was a very bad direction for a very good series to go. here's hoping that blacklist doesn't drop the ball as hard. Expand
  8. ChristopherB
    Apr 30, 2010
    6
    I have to say that this game was really a big disappointment. This game really lacks the stealth feeling the older series hade. You can pick up a machine gun and kill everything in a room without any tactics what so ever. If your a fan off Sam Fishers story I would recommend to wait for a price drop becouse its not worth it now.
  9. FrikaseeJ.
    Aug 12, 2007
    7
    I'm all for the Splinter Cell series, but in seeing this new titles gameplay makes me pray that Ubisoft doesn't ruin the great name of Splinter Cell. I respect them for going out on an edge and trying to veer from the repeated stealthy gameplay, but that's what it's all about. They already stepped close enough to the edge on double agent and I'm afraid Conviction I'm all for the Splinter Cell series, but in seeing this new titles gameplay makes me pray that Ubisoft doesn't ruin the great name of Splinter Cell. I respect them for going out on an edge and trying to veer from the repeated stealthy gameplay, but that's what it's all about. They already stepped close enough to the edge on double agent and I'm afraid Conviction will jump off the cliff. The only three good ways in which this can end are as follows. 1. This is the last game of the series. 2. Somehow they manage to make this new outfit work without the stealth and gadgets. 3. Just stick to what they know, get Sam Fisher back into the agency. I already know what my vote will be, no matter the outcome. Expand
  10. Mar 17, 2012
    6
    If you are one of those who loves the real stealth, this one will disappoint you, so don't pay for it. But if you just want to have a fun for a while. Go ahead. its nice, i enjoy the multiplayer game. But as always I think that Ubi should improve its games before to critic PC.
    Unless in PC. the MP mode has lots of bugs, problems to connect even with friends. and is difficult playing
    If you are one of those who loves the real stealth, this one will disappoint you, so don't pay for it. But if you just want to have a fun for a while. Go ahead. its nice, i enjoy the multiplayer game. But as always I think that Ubi should improve its games before to critic PC.
    Unless in PC. the MP mode has lots of bugs, problems to connect even with friends. and is difficult playing something like THIS in difficult conditions..
    Expand
  11. Jul 22, 2012
    6
    Worthy of more than a 4 score, however I do understand the disappointment. The game is different from the other splinter cell- You are no longer a "company man", but you are still being played and overall the storyline doesn't feel much different. The center of this game is sam fisher, not thrid echelon. Gadgets, Weapons, Items, are all replaced and you only have sam, who is now moreWorthy of more than a 4 score, however I do understand the disappointment. The game is different from the other splinter cell- You are no longer a "company man", but you are still being played and overall the storyline doesn't feel much different. The center of this game is sam fisher, not thrid echelon. Gadgets, Weapons, Items, are all replaced and you only have sam, who is now more dangerous than ever because of is rage and... Whatever. The story is not really intresting, (Maybe you will like it, Presonally I no longer consider Dead people coming back to life a twist). Sadly, the game has been simplified. The tag and execute system pretty much means that if you kill one guy in melee you can automaticly kill 2 or 4 more with gun, which is wierd idea that put some action in the game while damaging the gameplay in my opinion. no more dark or light metter- the game turns black and white when you are in shaldow. This annoyed me at first but now I think its better. Instead of the optic cable you have a broken mirror you took from a car- Works just the same, how come sam havent thought of that before/ You have portable EMP that stun everyone but you and X-vision that show you whats behind the wall but thats pretty much all that is new. The cover system works fine, but controls are sometimes annoying- too few buttons actually being used. The co-op is the best thing about this game, but if you dont have partner for it don't count on the matchmaking to find suitable one for you. All in all its a decent game that I suggest to buy if it costs 7$-2$ Expand
  12. Sep 5, 2013
    7
    The game does kind of lack stealth but it's still fun. I really enjoyed the new cover system,the story,gameplay,graphics, and on top of all the mark & execute feature. It's not a bad game but it could have been better.
  13. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    There are a lot of things wrong with this game. But overall it was good, i liked the storyline and graphics. A couple of flaws that really got on my nerves are when bullets go OUTSIDE of your crosshair, If your going to put a crosshair in a game that shows where your bullets might travel, at least have that accurate, i can't tell you how many times i have had the entire crosshair onThere are a lot of things wrong with this game. But overall it was good, i liked the storyline and graphics. A couple of flaws that really got on my nerves are when bullets go OUTSIDE of your crosshair, If your going to put a crosshair in a game that shows where your bullets might travel, at least have that accurate, i can't tell you how many times i have had the entire crosshair on someones head and then miss by a mile... Expand
  14. Chris
    Apr 29, 2010
    7
    I gave SSC a 7 because overall, it's a good game, the AI is great, and it looks good. but I did come across some minor bugs and the thing that annoyed me the most was the constant fps set to 30. and my computer is capable to do more than enough with this game. Weather they are gonna patch and improve this, I dont know. But users have been complaining about the fps only set to 30, so I gave SSC a 7 because overall, it's a good game, the AI is great, and it looks good. but I did come across some minor bugs and the thing that annoyed me the most was the constant fps set to 30. and my computer is capable to do more than enough with this game. Weather they are gonna patch and improve this, I dont know. But users have been complaining about the fps only set to 30, so I hope they do fix this. But despite the fps this game looks great and gameplay works smoothly and is easy to get used to. Singleplayer is abit short to, but Co op works great, no problem there what so ever. Expand
  15. Oct 10, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ubisoft didn't fail to amaze with this release, as they did with all of their games for the past 8 years. Tell me, can you imagine a game that is awesome AND awful at the same time? Maybe Ubisoft went to some special lessions, but they constantly create such games. It's not Splinter Cell as i played it (by being as stealthy as possible). You can't even play like that Expand
  16. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    It's alright, but I must say I found the story rather tedious and not overly interesting, plus it all takes place in obscure parts of the US with the exception of the very beginning. It places more emphasis on a COD approach to taking down your enemies, which I didn't mind per se but it didn't really give me the feel of being an agent. Worth it if you want to spend a few hours taking outIt's alright, but I must say I found the story rather tedious and not overly interesting, plus it all takes place in obscure parts of the US with the exception of the very beginning. It places more emphasis on a COD approach to taking down your enemies, which I didn't mind per se but it didn't really give me the feel of being an agent. Worth it if you want to spend a few hours taking out bad guys and it's on sale but overall a fairly enjoyable but ultimately forgettable experience. Expand
  17. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    The graphics is certainly among the PROs for this game (the performance however is not), other than that, it's sort of boring, it's short, it's story telling tedium (that's right TEDIUM) is just that. Talk about originality... What's with with all the cheesy "interrogation-something-went-wrong-recollection" story telling modes? It's always easy to write and almost always looks good andThe graphics is certainly among the PROs for this game (the performance however is not), other than that, it's sort of boring, it's short, it's story telling tedium (that's right TEDIUM) is just that. Talk about originality... What's with with all the cheesy "interrogation-something-went-wrong-recollection" story telling modes? It's always easy to write and almost always looks good and passes for being realistic but isn't it a bit too badly overused?

    Anyways, it gets a 7 for awesome graphics and well-implemented and varied combat mechanics. Everything else is meh
    Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    Splinter Cell Conviction is definately not a stealth game but it's no doubt a fun action game with a stealth mechanic. Here's hoping it's sequel will be more like Chaos Theory
  19. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    First off, if you think it's a good game but don't like the constant connection, then don't give it a low score. It defeats the purpose of this site. Now my review. It was a fun game, I enjoyed it. BUT, I do hope we see a comeback of some of the core elements in the next one. I get what they were doing here, as they put all their effort into developing new gameplay mechanics. But,First off, if you think it's a good game but don't like the constant connection, then don't give it a low score. It defeats the purpose of this site. Now my review. It was a fun game, I enjoyed it. BUT, I do hope we see a comeback of some of the core elements in the next one. I get what they were doing here, as they put all their effort into developing new gameplay mechanics. But, they need to bring back: Light meter, body dragging, the knife (silent takedowns with a pistol seem not so silent), the hanging neck snap, whistle, can/object throwing for distractions, etc. If they brought these in while keeping the current changes, it would be a great game. Oh and we played through the co-op on realistic, it was incredibly difficult. The AI is much smarter in this game, and they use their flashlights much more effectively than previous games. -The Kvlt Kitty Expand
  20. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    This game deserved more from me than Splinter Cell Double Agent did. Look, this game has a lot more to it. The graphics are much better, the third person camera adds clarity to everything, and they added more fun to it. The game modes are the best, the campaign, the co-op, and the deniable ops mode. I would rather play this than any other Splinter Cell game. I can also compare this toThis game deserved more from me than Splinter Cell Double Agent did. Look, this game has a lot more to it. The graphics are much better, the third person camera adds clarity to everything, and they added more fun to it. The game modes are the best, the campaign, the co-op, and the deniable ops mode. I would rather play this than any other Splinter Cell game. I can also compare this to Hitman: Blood Money, they are nearly the same thing. Shimmying across small ledges, climbing through windows, stealth killing people, the whole nine yards. The fact is, Conviction is better than Double Agent. But, I would not say Conviction is BETTER than Hitman: Blood Money. Hitman had the entire package, where as Conviction does not have as much as it should. I think Conviction is underrated, and it needs to be brought up to a more suitable score. For now, I am going to somewhat recommend this game, but not highly. If you're looking for a REAL and GOOD "stealthy" game, buy Hitman: Blood Money before you waste your money on a Splinter Cell game that you might not like. Expand
  21. May 4, 2015
    7
    In this game, its story has a role to have a story, a purpose for which to play. The story is one of the worst possible intalinte in all games .
  22. Jan 15, 2015
    5
    Not as mediocre as I thought it would be - it's ok.
    Yes, there is a lot of bland cover based shooting and not enough sneaking, but it did not bother me too much. The single-player story is like a typical action movie - sweeping soundtrack, big scripted set pieces, fancy cinematics, implausible but gripping plot, and a bit too short. It was a bit confusing and difficult to follow, but
    Not as mediocre as I thought it would be - it's ok.
    Yes, there is a lot of bland cover based shooting and not enough sneaking, but it did not bother me too much. The single-player story is like a typical action movie - sweeping soundtrack, big scripted set pieces, fancy cinematics, implausible but gripping plot, and a bit too short. It was a bit confusing and difficult to follow, but that's no big deal.

    Gameplay is solid but a bit formulaic, with tight linear levels lacking multiple approaches, and dumb AI that would do well to eat more carrots (they can't see in the dark). The stealth mechanics based around shadows and “last known position” work fairly well, but are a bit too arcade for my tastes. Multiplayer matchmaking is dead, which is sad as co-op missions seem like fun.

    As for those who keep saying this is much worse than the old games like Chaos theory, I slightly disagree, its not significantly better or worse. I am ok with the slightly more streamlined and faster paced direction they have taken, the difference is not as big as many make it out to be.

    As a console port, this is fairly good. There is sadly a checkpoint save system, but it is not as bad as in many other games. Otherwise, there are enough settings, no mouse acceleration and skippable cutscenes. On a geeky side note: the unreal engine used here is excellent as usual (allowing me to sleep my pc while fullscreen and later resume right back into the game in 1 sec).

    Worth getting in a sale.
    Expand
  23. Oct 23, 2013
    6
    [6.3] It's too easy to get lost in this game, and not in a good way. You might spend hours trying to figure out one level, and the game doesn't complement strategy and ingenuity. It only rewards what seems to be spy puzzle solving.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Conviction appeals to a whole new crowd that grew up on creating distractions, using every single gadget in their inventory and dragging bodies into shadows. If Conviction is evidence of where Ubisoft is taking the series, they are about to win over a lot of new fans and potentially upset a portion of those already loyal.
  2. The single-player story is short, but it's filled with a lot of great moments. The co-op multiplayer helps to give the package a lot more bite.
  3. I have no problem recommending Conviction to anyone who enjoys the Splinter Cell series or third person action/stealth games in general. I would have loved a much longer and more involved campaign, but the additional modes (including a separate co-op campaign) go a long way in making up for that.