Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    100
    Simply put, Torchlight II is a phenomenal game. It's incredibly polished, and everything just feels like it's in the right place when you're playing. It's tons of fun to play and never takes itself too seriously, and there are some great pop culture references sprinkled throughout. It's a great pickup for both action RPG fans and newcomers alike, at $20 it's the best bargain that there is in gaming, and something I would recommend to anyone without hesitation.
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    100
    It provides me with more loot whoring action than I can shake a stick at, and doles out a much bigger, more refined experience than the original managed to do. The inclusion of online co-op and offline co-op via LAN is certainly fantastic, but the game is still a blast even if you opt to play through it solo. It'll continue to provide me with hours upon hours of fun, and I look forward to exploring the game more fully in coming months. Definitely pick this one up if you haven't already, it really shouldn't be missed.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    100
    There's oodles more I could go into detail on about why Torchlight 2 is simply an amazing game, but I think you get the idea by now -- it's not to be missed by anyone who considers themselves a fan of the proud tradition of action RPGs. It's great, it's gorgeous, it's hugely replayable, it's multiplayer, it's moddable (with Steam Workshop!), and it's dirt cheap.
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    95
    Torchlight 2 is a giant leap forward when comparing it to its predecessor. Huge improvements have been made to every aspect of it, but it doesn't innovate within the genre. Still, Torchlight 2 manages to present itself as the best loot game of the year, especially considering its price tag.
  5. Sep 19, 2012
    95
    Torchlight II represents the perfect iteration of a series, combining solid innovation from Runic along with a deluge of feedback courtesy of fans and player mods. Runic and Perfect World have given us everything we've asked for – I can't think of a single game that can make that claim in recent memory.
  6. Sep 27, 2012
    93
    Torchlight II is an excellent game no matter how you slice it. As big of a Diablo III fan as I am, the margin between the two is razor-thin – and I have to give the nod to Torchlight II.
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    93
    Runic has done it again - delivering a lot of what we love about co-op dungeon crawlers and sparing us most of what we hate, and what's left of the latter will likely be modded away soon.
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    92
    Torchlight II is a modern fairytale and offers a surplus of great action RPG elements. Comparable to Diablo III you say? We dare to claim it's even better. An awesome, colorful dream coming to you from your computer screen. Definitely a thumbs up for developer Runic.
  9. Oct 9, 2012
    92
    Torchlight II is one of those games that may not be innovative on the whole, but that just gets so many of the little things right. Sure, it's a point-and-click action-RPG in the traditional mode, but it knows how to tap into everything that makes these types of games fun to play.
  10. Sep 24, 2012
    92
    If you had even the slightest interest in the original Torchlight, or if you're tired of Diablo III but are still itching for some more loot-grabbing RPG action, Torchlight II is well worth the asking price. In fact, you should probably feel guilty for only paying $20 for this game.
  11. Oct 10, 2012
    91
    All this is a long winded way of saying I loved Torchlight II, and I think you will too. But if you don't, at least you'll only be out $20.
  12. Sep 25, 2012
    91
    Torchlight II improves the formula and creates one of the best, cheapest RPGs of the year.
  13. Sep 21, 2012
    91
    Torchlight II doesn't do anything radically new, but does everything incredibly well. It fits all the pieces of varied monster behavior, interesting items, excellent skill design and random surprises together into a near-perfect formula, where the action never stops and rewards are never far away.
  14. Sep 20, 2012
    91
    An amazing action-rpg with a fantastic and original dungeon design and an addictive co-op. A rewarding and very addictive game.
  15. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    Sure, it might not reinvent the wheel as built by Diablo II over a decade ago, but Runic deserves props for perfectly recreating the formula. Many others have tried to bring their own take on Diablo to the market-and failed. Runic didn't, which makes Torchlight II an essential purchase for anyone who loves to crawl through dungeons while scoring phat loot.
  16. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Torchlight 2 is a distilled Diablo, a pure addictive flow of loot, gibs and skill trees. All for a third of the price. [Dec 2012]
  17. 90
    Bandage up your index fingers and brace for an extensive click-fest. Torchlight II is a polished Diablo-like action, ideal for the upcoming long autumn evenings. [Nov 2012]
  18. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    For those who are still looking to fill their pockets with coins, collect mysterious weapons from a faraway land, and carefully craft their avatar, adventurers can't go wrong with Torchlight II.
  19. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    Of all hack'n'slashes I played this year – including Diablo III – Torchlight II is the best one and it costs an equivalent of just one act of its biggest rival. [12/2012, p.80]
  20. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    Torchlight II manages to improve on its predecessor in every way and the result is a true gem of gaming fun. It manages to keep a very addictive pace throughout its campaign and then lets us dwell in endless amounts of randomized content if we wish, and most likely we do. The love and passion that has gone in to creating the game shines through in so many ways that it next to impossible not to be engulfed by it. Definitely recommended for anyone who has even the slightest interest in the genre.
  21. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    This will be the best $19.99 you've spent all year.
  22. Oct 3, 2012
    90
    If you've got a few extra bucks and want to revisit the golden age of dungeon-crawling loot-fests in a modern title, Torchlight 2 is your knight in shining armor… or in my case, butcher-knife wielding psychopath.
  23. 90
    A great game. As far as gameplay goes, this is going to bring back memories of the earlier Diablo games. The story is perhaps less interesting, but it certainly doesn't take itself as seriously as Diablo so I'm happy with that. For the price Runic are charging, this is an absolute gem - and I've got an empty socket.
  24. Oct 2, 2012
    90
    This is quite simply an action RPG that has everything for both fans and newcomers to the genre. Don't miss out on it.
  25. Oct 2, 2012
    90
    It's not the grand reinvention of the dungeon crawler, but Torchlight 2 is a great deal of fun in a nice cheap package.
  26. Oct 2, 2012
    90
    Even so, Torchlight II is one of the best examples of a dungeon raiding, isometric loot game, and should be in everyone's Steam list if you even have the slightest urge to play an action RPG.
  27. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    Torchlight 2 might not turn the genre on its head or delve drastically into any unexplored territory, but it is a fantastic action RPG and overall a blast to play, especially with friends.
  28. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    So great to beat every direct competitor.
  29. Sep 28, 2012
    90
    Torchlight 2 is the distillate of everything I have always liked about Diablo as a series. People who came to love Blizzard's hack and slash with its second iteration, Torchlight 2 might well be a better choice than Blizzard's own sequel.
  30. Sep 27, 2012
    90
    Torchlight II is a joy to experience, with vibrant landscapes packed full of interesting monsters, items, and lore just begging to be explored.
  31. Sep 27, 2012
    90
    Torchlight II is not a game about innovation - it's an extremely well-crafted traditional hack'n'slash. With its very nice visuals and a virtually infinite replay value, the latest Runic's creation is the best alternative to Diablo III.
  32. Sep 25, 2012
    90
    Loads and loads of content for a reasonable price. Not the most innovative game, but solid and well-developed. It's fun, long and offers great gameplay. Fully recommendable for those who consider themselves fans of this kind of game.
  33. Sep 24, 2012
    90
    If you're a fan of hack 'n slashes, loot fests, or dungeon crawlers, definitely pick up Torchlight II. It's absolutely worth your time and money, and should hold your attention for quite a while. There are portions of the game that could certainly use a little bit of polish, but it's unlikely these problems will turn you off from the game entirely.
  34. Sep 24, 2012
    90
    Torchlight II is great fun and it won't be long before you're playing the game late at night muttering the famous gamer mantra, "Just one more quest." This is a how a sequel should be: it reintroduces concepts and mechanics that made the game popular while making a few useful tweaks and changes to parts of the design. Although it doesn't stray too far outside the original game's shadow, it is no less wonderful for it. As the saying goes, "if it isn't broke, don't fix it."
  35. Sep 24, 2012
    90
    If the first Torchlight capitalised on the continued absence of Diablo 3, the second feels like a genuine alternative to it. It's a colourful, heartfelt and well-judged spin on one of the most reliably engrossing genres knocking around. Pick a class, choose a pet and set a course for Plunder Cove.
  36. Sep 23, 2012
    90
    Probably the best dungeon crawler in the world, including Diablo III. And what it lacks in storytelling and originality it makes up with pitch perfect design and pacing.
  37. 90
    There's little to criticize about Torchlight II, especially at such a generous price. It feels as if Runic Games knew exactly what they wanted to do with their sequel. You can almost hear the game say "welcome home" to those of us who've longed for a spiritual successor to Diablo II.
  38. Sep 21, 2012
    90
    While the story could've been better told, an addictive combat system and array of side quests make Torchlight II a dungeon crawler of immeasurable size, offering an awe-inspiring adventure that will have players coming back for more.
  39. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    A fantastically designed hack-n-slash RPG. And, because Runic released the full modding toolset it used to create the game, perhaps the best is yet to come once the modding community goes to town. Even without the potentially infinite number of player-made maps, skills, and items, Torchlight II is a worthwhile loot-fueled adventure that will soak up hours of your day without you even noticing.
  40. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    I'm giving Torchlight 2 a half-star less. The game makes some minor missteps in design, and I don't think the pacing or the scope matches up to that of Diablo 3...Those complaints aside, Runic has made a phenomenal game here, and fans of the original will be overjoyed to find that most of what they loved is still here, with lots more of it.
  41. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    An ARPG with something for everyone, and at this price, you really have no excuse.
  42. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Torchlight II succeeds in being a truly viable alternative to Diablo III. The action is faster and thicker and rewards are set to a quickened treadmill pace, resulting in an experience that is immediately rewarding and increasingly addictive. Its seamless co-op (which includes player trading) openly gives Blizzard the middle finger as it allows players to decide whether to play a solo game offline or open it up for drop-ins.
  43. Sep 19, 2012
    90
    Torchlight II is exactly the game we expected when we finished with the first game. A quantitative and qualitative jump that will delight fans of the Hack'n Slash genre, with interesting classes, great co-op and a big adventure to experience and replay. Furthermore, it offers a fantastic value for its great price.
  44. Nov 25, 2012
    88
    A slick action RPG with wit and charm, this is a genuine alternative to Diablo III. [Christmas 2012, p.93]
  45. Oct 13, 2012
    88
    Improves on everything over its predecessor, first and foremost in letting you adventure and loot together with your friends. Runic has made a smooth and enjoyable action RPG that is at the top of its genre. So how about innovating something truly new for the next installment, both in character mechanics and the setting? [Oct 2012]
  46. Oct 1, 2012
    88
    Torchlight II is a great hack'n'slash. Characterized by a deep level-up system and an huge amount of items. The strength of a videogame is the community: with multiplayer and LAN co-op, users can play together and share their items, and install mods created by users with the TorchED and Steam Workshop.
  47. Sep 24, 2012
    88
    It's a charming, sunshine-bright indie action-RPG with an old-school disregard for your time. It'll consume you with a smile, and you'll be smiling, too: but it's down to the community to turn it into something special.
  48. Oct 1, 2012
    86
    Truly there are not enough good things to say about Torchlight II even with the minor issues it does have. It is one of the most refreshingly fun action RPGs ever. Its predecessor was lots of fun too. But with the addition of multiplayer, the dungeon generator and the modding tools, the series becomes something special, something different on the scene and something worthy of your time and money to play. Runic Games has my vote for Developer of the Year.
  49. Sep 26, 2012
    86
    It's got pretty much everything the community hoped for: powerful combat, tons of loot, cool classes, fun bosses and varied environments. The main downsides are the overall lack of fresh ideas and weak storytelling. But even so, with single-player, LAN and online game modes, a fair amount of content and a mod editor to be released soon, the game comes as a complete package for a ridiculously low price.
  50. Sep 21, 2012
    86
    Especially in areas where Diablo III disappointed, this small gem from Runic Games displays its strengths: There is more than enough useful loot, thus motivating the hunt for the bigger better item, you need to make decisions when it comes to character development. Choice and balancing of the difficulty levels are also well-conceived.
  51. Oct 3, 2012
    85
    Despite a few fumbles with the new multiplayer option and the throwaway storyline, it's a polished adventure that easily justifies its reasonable $20 price tag. But, even better, this is a game that begs for multiple playthroughs.
  52. Sep 30, 2012
    85
    Torchlight II is a meaty chunk of a great hack'n'slash that appeals to all gamers disappointed with new mechanics introduced in Diablo III. The developers have added some new, interesting ideas and the game's future looks bright. Of course, there are some minor flaws, but they won't prevent you from having lots of fun. I personally think that Diablo III is an overall better production, but the most important thing in any game is to enjoy playing it, and both of them provide that.
  53. Sep 26, 2012
    85
    It's new, in the sense that it wasn't in Torchlight, but it's hardly different. What you're playing, beneath all the polish, is essentially the same. Torchlight 2 is clicky nirvana. But Torchlight 2 isn't is a step beyond the familiar. The game feels like the cumulative work of perfectionists intent on making the action role-playing game of their dreams.
  54. Sep 24, 2012
    85
    Torchlight II doesn't innovate and it doesn't surprise, and the genre may need an infusion of new ideas if it's going to stay vital. But Torchlight II serves up the old, irresistible recipe about as well as it's ever been done.
  55. Sep 24, 2012
    85
    Torchlight II is addictive, imagination-fuelled goodness. It never gets boring and its "just five more minutes" value is second to none. It may not have an engaging story but I don't think anyone twatting a zombie pirate called 'One-Eyed Willy' with a giant wrench will miss it.
  56. Sep 24, 2012
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  57. Sep 20, 2012
    85
    While two big draws are definitely the affordable price and flexible multiplayer options, the game also earns its place among the other top action-RPGS of the year. It's well made and fun, just not revolutionary.
  58. 82
    Torchlight 2 offers everything an action RPG fan wants: a huge campaign, variety of enemies, a rich system of quality loot, well-balanced and fresh classes with different build options, care-free and fun multiplayer modes. [November 2012]
  59. Oct 28, 2012
    80
    Reactionary, not revolutionary. [Nov 2012, p.78]
  60. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    Not only the multiplayer addition, but also that Torchlight II is for all of you Diablo enthusiasts, this game is a living dream. The Torchlight II authors haven't tried to bring novelties at all costs, but instead they've focused to innovate the mechanics that have stood the test of time. They've made an excellent job.
  61. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    It makes no spectacular breaks from the past, but it does reclaim the mood – if not the tone – of Diablo II. It's living proof that the values of 2001 still have worth over a decade later.
  62. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    Torchlight II's willingness to play tough is only one of its selling points, but it's arguably what sets it apart from the other good latest-gen action RPGs you could be playing right now (Diablo III, Borderlands 2, Darksiders II, and Guild Wars 2 come to mind).
  63. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    Tweaks and refinements help Torchlight II's mechanics sing beautifully together, and certain efforts to streamline the whole kaboodle go down a storm, but innovation isn't really the focus of this blisteringly colourful, entertaining but ultimately familiar romp.
  64. Sep 21, 2012
    80
    For me Torchlight II was an immensely enjoyable experience from start to finish. The game is more than welcoming for both fans of the original and newcomers to the series and is high amongst the better gaming experiences I've had this year. It might not bring anything particularly new to the genre, but those who choose to pick it up will be provided with superb value for their money.
  65. Sep 21, 2012
    80
    Torchlight II is very similar to Torchlight (who would have guessed ?) although better in almost every way. The game balancing is incredibly good (even though it's a little too easy in the beginning), and the character progression system ought to be taught in game design schools. Overall, it remains simple and pure hack'n slash, but isn't that what the fans were expecting?
  66. Oct 11, 2012
    78
    Torchlight 2 is a very player-friendly action/RPG. It could have gotten a better score if not for its truncated Act IV.
  67. Oct 2, 2012
    60
    Make no mistake, Torchlight 2 is nothing revolutionary. It favors a remix of genre conventions over any true evolution of the action RPG formula, but it is a pitch-perfect execution of those traditions that remains satisfying from start to finish and beyond
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1745 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 491
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    This game get's a 10/10, I've been playing the press release.

    First of all, graphics sound style charm blablabla we've all heard it before.
    This game get's a 10/10, I've been playing the press release.

    First of all, graphics sound style charm blablabla we've all heard it before. So let me instead say what stuck out to me.

    Somehow because of my own idiocy I lost 8-9 hours of progress on an elite DW berzerker I made. I was half way thru act 2. Needless to say this was frustrating, so I had an idea.
    I'm only allowed to show act 1-2 and everyone saw 1 from the beta, so I decided to spend my second, returning 9 hour trainride rushing 5 characters to the end of act 1.

    Thanks to a 3 hour train delay I succeeded. I made a lvl 21 dualzerker which rocks, a lvl 21 tankgineer which rocks, a lvl 21 embermage that demolishes elite, a lvl 21 melee 2h engineer I need to work on, and a lvl 21 bowlander that's starting to rock.

    Here is the important reason why the game is a ten/ten. Alone, playing single player in a train, with a malfunctioning mouse, I didn't get bored playing 5 characters through the same act. To the contrary I really enjoyed seeing my builds come to life.

    you think the repetition would kill you, but the randomized chunks are magic. Honestly diablo 2 has it easier I realized, because part of the reason it captivates me is because the crap graphics let my imagination fill in the blanks. In TL2 everything looks so good, that it's easy to get tired of seeing the same urns over and over. So Runic ingeniously made randomized chunks and they keep the game super fresh. I'd be just starting to grumble over doing the same quest, when I'd run across a little scene, nook, or area I hadn't seen before and it just seemed so wonderful and alive. Like the world evolves with my character. It's hard to describe the feeling, but it just keeps the game from getting tedious if you appreciate exploration like I do.

    The skills are IMO not perfect, but they will never be as we all want different things. I'll do a skill change request thread later. Some buffs I thought could have lasted 3-5 seconds longer and some tier bonuses I thought could have been more generous given the mana cost. However each skill has purpose, and if you build correctly you could make many of the active skills your main. I'm going to eventually make a fire bomb embermage instead of the cliche magma spear build.

    The difficulties are great now. Veteran becomes legitimately challenging and elite is freaking hard though I have conquered it with one build.

    Mainly I have to give a lot of points because I was doubtful about how far they'd come from the beta and they went over my expectations. Every single change I've noticed from the beta not only do I approve of but appreciate. They made dual wield claw berzerkers viable, they nerfed everything that trivialized elite yet unlike some companies nerfed the skills to "viable" instead of "useless."

    They are true to their word that you can become OP for moments, only to find in the next 6-8 levels that your enemies have caught back up, or even become stronger than you again.

    There is the sweet pain of letting go of a piece of armor that boosted your damage because you are in sore need of more survival based affixes.

    The act changes are also great. I won't talk about act 3, but in act 2 I felt, rightly so, that engineers and berzerkers suffered from all the slowing ice damage. Lo in behold though in act 2's desert againt physical opponents my berzerker began to thrive like no other. The acts DO feel different from eachother, and this is very good.

    Monsters are fantastic, I find myself thinking, "oh it's one of those types. I better avoid x and do y." Like when I see basilisks I keep my distance and hit and run to avoid being snared by their gaze. When I see hordes of small minions I dive in with AOE to make sure I kill them before their fast damage kills me. Some of my classes handle projectile enemies better, some handle mages better, and some handle melee better. Each play through feels different.

    The item game is super sweet. I love the new affixes. Life and mana regen are helpful. The new "cast on hits" are cool. But specifically a lot of uniques were changed since beta. Now every class specific unique has 1-2 affixes that specifically help one or 2 builds for that class. Whenever I find a class unique I get excited and can easily imagine how to best utilize it.

    The boss fights were good but I am still a little dissapointed in act 1's. Act 1 feels too fast for me. You meet the wise guy for all of 2 seconds and then he becomes [spoiler] . I was hoping to get more attached to him first.

    Every act felt different, the difficulty got progressively harder, the loot and randomization were utterly superb.

    All and all, I'm going to waste my life playing this game. I'm adoomgod on steam, feel free to add me, I'll help you min-max your character if you want. I enjoy all modes of difficulty.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    After playing Diablo 3 for four plus months, I was surprised a game for $20 could offer me so much more for my money. I'm thrilled withAfter playing Diablo 3 for four plus months, I was surprised a game for $20 could offer me so much more for my money. I'm thrilled with Torchlight II's classes, skill trees, player choices from character creation to stat allocation, and the gargantuan open world. The game is absolutely huge, has tons and tons of content, and can be played offline so no more lag deaths, or lag period. Graphics are beautiful and the amount of things to do are just shocking for such a modest price-point. Not to mention all the great features from pets to multi-player to extra difficulties to lv 100!! I can pay my deepest respect by stating one key fact, "I will be playing this game for a great portion of my foreseeable future." Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing, simply amazing. The TRUE continuation of Diablo 2. The work of Runic Games has been amazing, improving in every way and as a resultAmazing, simply amazing. The TRUE continuation of Diablo 2. The work of Runic Games has been amazing, improving in every way and as a result getting one of the best A-RPG of history. Full Review »